Alexi vs Midpage: how they compare in 2026
Both of these submitted to the same independent evaluator. The 2025 Vals Legal AI Report ran 200 United States legal research questions against a rubric published in advance, weighting accuracy at 50 percent, authoritativeness at 40 percent and appropriateness at 10 percent, and both vendors opted in. That shared willingness to be measured is the most important thing this page can tell you. They separate on everything around the answer. Alexi states that nothing leaves the firm's private environment, and that a firm's data never trains global models and never mixes with other firms. Midpage is narrower and says so: it is purpose built for litigators, and it publishes almost nothing about oversight. Alexi is the safer institutional purchase.
At a glance
All 15 axes, side by side
The same grid applied to every vendor in the index, graded from public sources. Hover a grade to see what the letter means on that axis.
AI Centrality
How much of the product is actually AI. Whether the machine learning is the mechanism the buyer is paying for or a feature layered onto conventional software, and whether the vendor is specific about which is which.
The AI is the product. The vendor describes itself as a private single tenant AI engine, built originally to generate evidence backed research memos, with a proprietary model layer and a retrieval first architecture. Remove the models and there is no product: memo generation, precedent finding, chronology building and workflow automation are all model driven.
The artificial intelligence is the product. Midpage is a legal research and brief generation platform where retrieval, synthesis and drafting are all model driven; there is no underlying workflow or document management system that would remain if the models were removed. The company was founded in 2022, after the generative wave rather than before it, and the product is distributed both standalone and as an integration inside ChatGPT, which is a distribution model only an AI native product can have.
Citation Accuracy and Hallucination Disclosure
Whether the vendor publishes measured accuracy on citations and assertions, grounds output to primary sources, and says plainly what its system does when it does not know. Legal has a documented public record of fabricated citations reaching filed briefs, so an untested claim of accuracy is not evidence.
Accuracy is independently measured with a published method. Alexi submitted to the 2025 Vals Legal AI Report legal research study, run by an outside evaluator that published its rubric and weights in advance. Accuracy carried 50 percent, authoritativeness 40 percent and appropriateness 10 percent, across 200 US legal research questions from attorneys at named firms. In the evaluator's published results, Alexi scored a 77 percent weighted aggregate, second of the four systems measured, against a lawyer baseline of 69 percent. The architecture is described as retrieval first, to ground output in primary law rather than model memory. Two qualifications apply, though the figures themselves are independent and can be checked. First, the vendor's own account is selective. It leads with 80 percent overall accuracy against a 71 percent lawyer baseline, and 79 percent accuracy on single jurisdiction questions described as tied for the highest. It does not state that it placed second on the weighted aggregate. Second, several major vendors declined to take part and at least one withheld permission to publish, so the field is self selected. All systems measured struggled on questions spanning several jurisdictions and trailed a generalist model on fifty state statutory surveys.
Accuracy is independently measured, with a published method and published figures for each criterion. Midpage submitted its standalone research product to the 2025 Vals Legal AI Report legal research study, run by an outside evaluator. The evaluator published its rubric and weights in advance: accuracy 50 percent, authoritativeness 40 percent and appropriateness 10 percent. The study used 200 United States legal research questions from attorneys at named firms, including Reed Smith, Fisher Phillips, McDermott Will and Emery, Ogletree Deakins, Paul Hastings and Paul Weiss. Midpage scored 78 percent accuracy, 74 percent authoritativeness and 70 percent appropriateness, a 76 percent weighted aggregate. That beat the lawyer baseline by 7 points on accuracy and 6 on authoritativeness. The figures sit on the evaluator's own site, where anyone can check them. The evaluator also published the failures: three cases where Midpage returned no response because of technical issues, and eight where it explained it could not locate supporting documents. All evaluated systems, this one included, did worse than a general model when asked to survey all fifty states for a single statute, and struggled on questions spanning several jurisdictions.
Autonomy and Oversight Model
What the system decides on its own, what a lawyer must approve, and whether the vendor documents where the review point sits. A tool that drafts under review and a tool that files without one are different products and different risks.
Autonomy is claimed and oversight is asserted without a described mechanism. The product runs workflows of several steps that carry legal principles and citations through successive stages. The vendor states that consistent, verifiable accuracy is what makes that automation safe, which is an argument for trusting the system rather than a control structure around it. The CEO has spoken publicly about human oversight in the context of a long term vision for AI assisted arbitration. The vendor site, the FAQ, the workflow and product pages and the blog were searched. No description is published of what a workflow does unaided, a threshold at which it stops or escalates, a review surface given to a lawyer, or what the vendor commits to when an output is wrong. The product's stated advantage is that accuracy carries through each stage of an automated chain, so the absence of a published stopping rule is the main gap.
No published position is published on what the system does unaided, what a lawyer must review, where a workflow stops, or what the vendor commits to when an output is wrong. The evaluator's report records that the product sometimes explained it could not locate supporting documents rather than answering, which is observed behavior rather than a published oversight model, and it was not treated as one.
Operational and Outcome Evidence
Named, dated evidence that the product works in production at real firms or legal departments. Case studies with figures and identified customers count. Unattributed testimonials and launch announcements do not.
Customer claims stand in for evidence. The vendor states it is trusted by leading law firms and names buyer roles: CIOs and CTOs, knowledge management leaders, innovation teams, practice group leaders and managing partners. That is a market description rather than a deployment record. The vendor site, the blog, the FAQ and the news announcements were searched. No named customer is published, no case study pairing an organization with figures and a date, and no method that could be assessed. The strongest quantified material is benchmark performance rather than production outcome. The Vals figures show how the system performs on a test set, not what changed at a firm that deployed it.
Independent benchmark results stand where deployment evidence would go. The strongest evidence attached to this vendor is test set performance measured by an outside evaluator. That is real, but it is not a production outcome: it shows how the system performs on 200 constructed questions, not what changed at a firm that adopted it. The vendor site, product pages and third party coverage were searched. No named customer, case study pairing an organization with figures and a date, or assessable deployment method is published. The study questions came from attorneys at named firms, but those firms supplied test material and were not disclosed as customers.
Privilege and Confidentiality Posture
How client confidences are handled: attorney client privilege and work product treatment, segregation of one client matter from another, whether client data trains any model, and what the vendor commits to in writing rather than in marketing.
Two of the three parts are fully answered. On training, the vendor's FAQ states that nothing leaves the firm's private environment and that a firm's prompts, documents and workflow data never train global models and never mix with other firms. A document management partner's listing separately records no training on customer data. That answers both the training and pooling questions in plain terms. Segregation is the strongest element. Every firm on the private cloud model receives a fully isolated single tenant instance, and the vendor lists what is isolated: retrieval, workflows, memory, security protocols and governance. Naming memory matters, because a platform that learns from firm usage could otherwise carry one firm's accumulated intelligence toward another. Supporting controls are AES-256 encryption, TLS 1.2 or higher, single sign on, role based access control and audit logs, under SOC 2 certification. The third part is not answered: no retention period or deletion commitment is published.
The vendor's security page answers two of the three questions precisely. Training is addressed at both layers: Midpage does not use customer data to train or fine tune AI models, and its agreements with model providers do not let them train on Midpage customer data. Retention is published with actual periods. Web app data, including queries, uploads and outputs, is held while an account is active and deleted within 60 days of account deletion or a valid deletion request. Plugins and integrations store no queries, uploads or outputs, though those workflows may share queries with model providers, who may keep them for up to 60 days. The page discloses the providers' retention window as well as its own. Encryption is AES-256 at rest and TLS 1.2 or higher in transit, subprocessors must maintain measures no less protective, and an annual SOC 2 Type II audit validates the controls. The third question is unanswered. No separation model between customers, users or matters is published, and attorney client privilege and work product are not addressed directly.
UPL and Professional Responsibility Posture
Whether the vendor is clear that it supplies a tool rather than legal advice, who its audience is, and how it addresses unauthorized practice of law, competence and supervision duties, and jurisdiction limits. ABA Formal Opinion 512 is the reference point. Where the advice line is not the duty a product raises, the axis is read through the nearest professional duty it does raise: judicial conduct rules and the reviewing duty for products sold only to courts, and the duty to bill for time actually spent for products that draft time entries.
The audience is clearly lawyers and law firms, with named buyer roles inside firms and no consumer or non lawyer surface located. The vendor engages publicly with the problem of hallucination in filings and treats accuracy as a question of professional risk. The vendor site, the FAQ, the blog and the product pages were searched. No published position is published on the advice line, on competence or supervision duties, or on jurisdiction limits, although the product spans Canadian and US law, where the professional rules differ. The position can be inferred from who the product is sold to, but it is not published.
The stated audience is litigators and law students, a population of lawyers and trainees rather than consumers, and the vendor is explicit about it. The student audience is worth noting, because it includes people who are not yet admitted, which raises a professional responsibility question of a different shape rather than an unauthorized practice problem. The vendor site, product pages and third party coverage were searched. No published position on the advice line, no treatment of competence or supervision duties, and no jurisdiction limits are published. The audience is stated clearly and the position is not.
AI Governance and Bias Disclosure
Published governance over model behavior: who owns it inside the vendor, what is tested before release, and what is disclosed about disparate output across matter types, parties, or populations.
Principles and evaluation results are published without a governance mechanism. The vendor submitted to an independent third party evaluation and published the results, and it argues publicly that transparency and accountability in legal AI require exactly that rather than marketing claims. Submitting to outside measurement is a governance act, but it is an evaluation at one point in time rather than a management system. The vendor site, the FAQ, the blog and the news announcements were searched. No AI governance framework, AI management certification such as ISO 42001, named owner of model governance or testing gate before release is published, and nothing addresses uneven output across matter types, parties or populations.
Submitting to independent evaluation is the governance act here, and it is a real one. Midpage was one of only four systems that agreed to be measured and named in the Vals legal research study. The evaluator and trade press both recorded that major vendors declined to take part, and at least one took part but withheld permission to publish its results. Agreeing to publication, including your own failure cases, is a meaningful accountability position. But it is a single evaluation, not a management system. The vendor site and third party coverage were searched. No AI governance framework, AI management certification, named owner of model governance or testing regime before release is published, and nothing on uneven output across matter types, parties or populations.
AI Safety and Data Stewardship
Retention, deletion, access control, and what happens to prompts and documents after they are processed. Whether the vendor states its subprocessors and its incident practice, or leaves the buyer to assume.
The vendor's security page and FAQ supply the control detail. Published: AES-256 encryption at rest, TLS 1.2 or higher in transit, single sign on, role based access control, audit logs, support for private VPC deployment, and deployments in specific regions for firms operating across offices. Architectural isolation is the strongest element: a fully isolated single tenant instance per firm covering retrieval, workflows, memory, security protocols and governance. SOC 2 certification underpins the control set, and a Trust Center offers a request route to a security addendum, architecture whitepaper, data processing agreement and audit reports. Not located: a stated retention period or deletion control for research queries, uploaded case files and generated memos, a named subprocessor list, and an incident or breach notification practice.
The vendor's security page covers most of the ground. It publishes AES-256 encryption at rest and TLS 1.2 or higher in transit using industry standard algorithms. It states a retention and deletion practice with a 60 day outer limit after account deletion or a valid deletion request. Queries, uploads and outputs from plugin and integration workflows are not stored at all, and the page discloses that model providers may keep submitted queries for up to 60 days. Subprocessors are contractually required to maintain security measures no less protective than the vendor's own, and the whole control set is validated by an annual SOC 2 Type II audit. More detail on service providers and data handling is available on request. Three things are not published: a named subprocessor list, as distinct from the contractual requirement; a hosting provider or region; and an incident or breach notification practice.
AI Liability and Recourse
What the vendor stands behind contractually when its output is wrong. Indemnities, caps, carve outs, insurance, and whether any of it is published or only reachable through a negotiated agreement.
No published indemnity, liability cap, carve out, warranty on output or insurance position is published, and no customer terms of service or master agreement is published as published on the property. Recorded as a pure absence on the surfaces reached. Worth noting the shape of the gap: this vendor stakes its positioning on measured accuracy and on reducing the risk of hallucinated citations reaching a filing, and publishes nothing about who bears the loss if one does.
No published indemnity, liability cap, carve out, warranty on output or insurance position is published, and no customer terms of service is published as published on the property. Recorded as a pure absence on the surfaces reached. The exposure is worth naming: this is a litigation research product whose output is authority bound for filings, in a market where the published sanctions record for fabricated citations is growing, and nothing published addresses who bears the loss.
Practice Systems Integration Depth
How deeply the product reaches into the systems legal work already lives in: document management such as iManage and NetDocuments, Word and Outlook, contract lifecycle management, matter management, e-billing, and court filing systems.
One integration is named and none is documented. A product integration with iManage is announced, which is the document management connector that matters most for a research product used inside firms. The vendor site, the FAQ, the product pages and the news announcements were searched. No integrations index is published, no other named connector for practice management, court filing or Microsoft Word, and no documentation of what the iManage integration moves, in which direction, or what an administrator configures. The connection is announced rather than documented.
One integration is named and none is documented. The product is available inside ChatGPT through what the evaluator calls a bespoke integration, which is a distribution channel into a general assistant rather than a connection to a firm's own systems. The vendor site, product pages and third party coverage were searched. No document management connector such as iManage or NetDocuments, practice management or court filing integration, or Microsoft Word add-in is published, and nothing documents what the ChatGPT integration passes or what an administrator configures. For a product sold to litigators inside firms, the lack of any connector to firm systems is the main gap.
Deployment Model and Data Residency
Where the software runs and where the data sits. Multi tenant cloud, single tenant, private deployment, on premises, and whether region of residence is a published option or an enterprise conversation.
The deployment model is stated clearly, with partial residency detail. Two models are published. A private single tenant environment per firm is the default, and private cloud deployment is offered for firms wanting complete ownership and control of their own data. Single tenancy is stated as architecture rather than as an enterprise upsell. Geography is missing. The vendor site, the FAQ and the product pages were searched, and no named regions, customer selectable residency, or statement of where processing happens as distinct from where data is stored is published. That matters for a vendor operating across Canadian and US jurisdictions.
The vendor site, product pages and third party coverage were searched. Nothing is published on the deployment model: no tenancy statement, hosting provider, region, residency option or statement of where processing happens, and the security page names no host or region. The product is evidently delivered from the cloud, through a browser and through ChatGPT, but that is inferred from how it is sold, not a published position.
Security Certifications and Trust Center
Independent attestation a buyer can pull without a sales call: SOC 2, ISO 27001, penetration test summaries, a trust center with current reports and named scope rather than a badge image.
The vendor publishes a dedicated security page stating SOC 2 certification and operates a Trust Center reached through a request access flow. It states the Trust Center carries a security addendum, an architecture whitepaper, a data processing agreement and audit reports. That is a self serve request route to substantive diligence material rather than a sales gate. SOC 2 certification is also stated on the vendor's platform pages, about page and FAQ, and in a document management partner's technology listing. Supporting controls published on the FAQ: AES-256 encryption, TLS 1.2 or higher, single sign on, role based access control, audit logs and support for private VPC deployment. No coverage period, audit scope, report date, SOC 2 type or named auditing firm is published. The certification is asserted on marketing pages, and no certificate was seen.
The vendor states directly on its security page that its controls are independently validated through an annual SOC 2 Type II audit, which supplies the cadence as well as the standard, and states that on request it can provide SOC 2 documentation, questionnaire responses and additional detail on service providers and data handling. That is a published request route to substantive diligence material rather than a sales gate. A customer of this vendor, GC AI, separately publishes that Midpage is SOC 2 Type II compliant, which corroborates the vendor's own statement. No coverage period, audit scope, report date or named auditing firm is published, and no trust portal exists; the route is a request to the vendor.
Model Supply Chain Disclosure
Which models sit underneath, whose they are, where they run, and whether the vendor commits to telling customers when that changes. A legal buyer inherits every dependency it cannot see.
The vendor refers to proprietary models without identifying what sits underneath them. Published: a proprietary model layer the vendor brands as Alex, described as trained specifically on law rather than general purpose, and a retrieval first architecture. That tells a buyer the shape of the stack and that a specialist layer exists. Searched the vendor site, the FAQ, the product pages and the blog and located no named foundation model or provider underneath the proprietary layer, no statement of where models run, no subprocessor list, and no commitment to notify customers when the supply chain changes. A private single tenant environment narrows the exposure question without answering it.
No model, provider, hosting location or subprocessor is published, and no commitment to notify customers of supply chain changes. The evaluator's report distinguishes Midpage's standalone research product from its ChatGPT integration, which tells a reader the product runs independently of that channel, but nothing published identifies what powers the standalone product. A buyer cannot determine from published material which company processes their research queries.
Commercial Transparency
Whether a buyer can learn what this costs without entering a sales process: published rates, the unit being charged, what sits behind an enterprise tier, and what implementation adds.
No pricing page is published, no rate is published, no unit of charge is stated and no tier structure appears. Every commercial path located terminates in a demo or contact request. No free trial or self serve entry point is published, and no third party pricing figure is published either.
No pricing page is published, no rate is published, no unit of charge is stated and no tier structure appears. No free trial or self serve entry point is published on the vendor's own property, and no third party pricing figure is published either. Noted for a reader: the product being reachable through a ChatGPT integration may mean some access runs on that platform's commercial terms rather than the vendor's, which published material does not clarify.
Firm and Practice Coverage
Who the product is actually built for. AmLaw, midlaw, small firm and solo, in house departments, government and courts, and which practice areas are supported rather than merely claimed.
Segment and practice coverage are described with substance, without stated boundaries. The buyer is law firms, and the vendor names the roles inside them: CIOs and CTOs, knowledge management leaders, innovation teams, practice group leaders and managing partners. Practice coverage spans litigation, transactional, operational and administrative work, with a published treatment of personal injury covering case file summarization, chronology building and memo drafting. Jurisdictional scope is Canada and the United States. Not located: any statement of which firm sizes or practice areas the product is not built for, and any list of coverage at state or provincial level, which for a research product is the boundary a buyer needs most.
Practice focus and jurisdictional coverage are both stated with substance. The practice position is narrow and explicit: the product is built for litigators, and the evaluator independently confirms it focuses on litigator workflows, with responses suited to the research questions litigation produces. Jurisdictional coverage is listed by court system: United States federal and state courts, tribal courts and military courts, plus statutes, regulations and selected administrative decisions. Naming tribal and military courts is precise. Two things are missing. The segment is described by practice type without addressing firm size. No statement of what the product does not cover is published; the measured weakness on fifty state surveys and questions spanning several jurisdictions comes from the evaluator, not the vendor.
The 12 legal signals, side by side
Recorded rather than graded. These are the questions a practitioner has to answer before a tool touches a client matter, and the answers are taken from public material only.
Client Data in Training
Can material a lawyer puts into this product be used to train a model?
The FAQ states that nothing leaves the firm's private environment and that a firm's prompts, documents and workflow data never train global models and never mix with other firms. A document management partner's technology listing separately records no training on customer data. Together these answer both questions: whether customer content trains the vendor's models, and whether one customer's material can benefit another.
The commitment sits on a public FAQ and a partner listing rather than in a customer agreement. The Trust Center is stated to carry a data processing agreement, which was not opened and may say more. The vendor's language about compounding intelligence is consistent with this: a firm's accumulated intelligence stays inside its own single tenant instance, which the vendor states includes memory.
The vendor's security page addresses training at both layers. Midpage says it does not use customer data to train or fine tune AI models, and that its agreements with model providers do not let those providers train on Midpage customer data. The second is a contractual limit on third parties rather than a policy the vendor could change alone. The product is also reached through ChatGPT. For plugin and integration workflows, the vendor says it stores no queries, uploads or outputs, while acknowledging those workflows may still share submitted queries with model providers, who may keep them for up to 60 days.
That is a candid account of what happens when the product is used through another surface. The commitment sits on the security page rather than in a published customer agreement.
Prompt and Output Retention
How long does the product keep what a lawyer typed, and can that be set to zero?
Searched the vendor site, the FAQ, the product pages and the blog on 29 Aug 2026, and ran a targeted search for a security page or trust center. No public material states how long research queries, uploaded case files or generated memos are retained, whether a firm controls the window, or whether deletion is available. The vendor states the firm owns and controls its data within its private environment, which addresses who controls it rather than for how long it is held.
Material here includes uploaded case files and medical records by the vendor's own description of personal injury use, so the retention question is sharp.
The vendor's security page publishes retention in detail. Web app data, expressly including user queries, uploaded materials and generated outputs, is held while an account is active and deleted within 60 days of account deletion or a valid deletion request. The customer triggers deletion, and a published maximum applies to it. Plugins and integrations store no submitted queries, uploads or outputs at all. Model providers may keep submitted queries for up to 60 days, a disclosure about a third party's window.
Deletion on demand with a published maximum is control over how long data persists. Zero retention, though, belongs to the plugin and integration surface; it is not a setting a customer can choose for the web app.
Ethical Walls and Matter Segregation
Does retrieval respect the firm’s ethical walls, or can the model read across them?
The product maintains its own documented separation model, and between customers it is architectural rather than a matter of policy. Each firm receives a private single tenant AI environment, with private cloud deployment available. That is strong separation between firms. Separation inside a firm, where ethical walls operate, is not addressed. No material was located on whether retrieval respects permissions per user at matter level.
The iManage integration is announced without any statement that it inherits that system's access model at query time. For a product used inside firms that connects to a document management system, that is the open question.
Searched the vendor site, the product pages and third party coverage on 29 Aug 2026. No vendor material addresses segregation of any kind: not between customers, not between users, not between matters. No document management integration was located whose permissions the product could inherit at query time. Noted for context: a research tool that retrieves from published primary law rather than from a firm's own repository raises this question less sharply than a product indexing client documents, though brief generation from uploaded material would raise it.
Third Party Request and Subpoena Notice
If someone subpoenas the vendor for a firm’s data, does the firm hear about it first?
Searched the vendor site, the FAQ, the product pages and the blog on 29 Aug 2026, and ran a targeted search for published terms, a privacy policy or a trust center. No clause committing to notify a firm of a government or law enforcement request for its data was located, and no transparency report was located. No published customer agreement or data processing agreement was reached on the property.
Searched the vendor site, the product pages and third party coverage on 29 Aug 2026, and ran targeted searches for published terms or a privacy policy without reaching one. No clause committing to notify a customer of a government or law enforcement request for their data was located, and no transparency report was located.
Primary Law Corpus Provenance
Where does the law in this product come from, and does the vendor have the right to use it?
Coverage is described by jurisdiction, and the underlying corpus is not identified. The benchmark the product was measured on asks questions requiring reference to US federal and state laws, regulations and judgments. Vendor material describes analyzing millions of documents, including case law, statutes and secondary sources, across Canada and the United States. The vendor site, the FAQ, the product pages and the blog were searched on 29 Aug 2026.
No named source or publisher for the primary law was located, no license or public domain basis, no coverage list by jurisdiction, and no update cadence or lag. For a research product provenance matters most here, and the strongest published statement is a volume claim.
Coverage is described by jurisdiction and court system with precision, and the sources behind it are not identified. Published coverage spans case law from United States federal and state courts, tribal courts and military courts, plus statutes, regulations and selected administrative decisions. What is missing is provenance. The vendor site, product pages and third party coverage were searched on 29 Aug 2026. No named source or publisher, license or public domain basis, completeness statement for each court system, or update schedule or lag was located.
The word selected in front of administrative decisions is itself an undefined boundary. Coverage is stated while its basis is not.
Good Law Verification
Does the product tell you when the authority it just cited has been overruled?
The vendor site, the FAQ, the product and workflow pages and the blog were searched on 29 Aug 2026. No material was located on whether returned authority carries a treatment signal, whether subsequent history is checked, or whether any commercial citator is licensed. The vendor's published accuracy work concerns whether a cited authority is valid and real, measured as the rate of valid primary law citation. That is a different question from whether the authority is still good law. For a research product, this check sits inside the product's own design.
The vendor site, product pages and third party coverage were searched on 29 Aug 2026. Nothing addresses whether returned authority carries a treatment signal, whether subsequent history is checked, or whether any commercial citator is licensed. The independent evaluator measured authoritativeness, defined as whether cited sources are relevant and valid and support the statements made, and scored this product at 74 percent.
Valid in that sense means the source exists and supports the point, which is not the same as the source still being good law. For a research product, this absence sits inside the product's design rather than outside it.
Refusal and Uncertainty Behavior
What does the product do when the answer is not in the corpus?
Searched the vendor site, the FAQ, the product and workflow pages and the blog on 29 Aug 2026. No published material describes what the product does when it cannot ground an answer, and no explicit no answer path was located. The vendor does state that each firm gets its own accuracy signals, which suggests some confidence surface exists in the product, but nothing located describes what those signals are, whether they are exposed to the user, or how they behave when retrieval returns nothing.
Recorded as not addressed rather than at the confidence value because the signals are mentioned without being described.
Abstention behavior was observed and measured by an independent evaluator rather than documented by the vendor. The Vals legal research study recorded eight cases where Midpage said it could not locate the right documents and explained why the available sources did not support an answer, rather than inventing one. The evaluator gave partial credit for the quality of those explanations. It separately recorded three technical failures where no response came back at all, which is not principled abstention and is not counted as such.
The vendor itself publishes nothing on this: the vendor site and product pages were searched on 29 Aug 2026, and no described no answer path or confidence signal was located. The observed behavior is favorable, but nothing commits the vendor to keeping it.
Fabricated Citation Record
Does a public court record exist addressing fabricated or hallucinated legal citations in output from this product?
No court order, opinion or disciplinary record naming this product has been located as of 29 Aug 2026. The AI Hallucination Cases database maintained by Damien Charlotin was searched; it tracks court decisions worldwide involving hallucinated AI content and records the AI tool implicated where known. Published 2026 sanctions summaries and secondary sanctions trackers were also checked. The entries located name filers, and in some rows other products, rather than this one.
This is a statement about the public record on the date shown, not a clearance. The exposure is real: this is a litigation research product whose output is memos and precedent for filings, so its output can reach a court as cited authority.
No court order, opinion or disciplinary record naming this product has been located as of 29 Aug 2026. Instrument searched: the AI Hallucination Cases database maintained by Damien Charlotin, which tracks court decisions worldwide involving AI generated hallucinated content and records the AI tool implicated where it is known. Also checked published 2026 sanctions summaries and secondary sanctions trackers. The entries located name filers, and in some rows other products, rather than this one.
This is a statement about the public record on the date shown and not a clearance. The exposure is direct for this vendor: a litigation research and brief generation product produces exactly the material that reaches filings as cited authority.
Bar Guidance Alignment
Has the vendor engaged in public with the ethics opinions its buyers are bound by?
Searched the vendor site, the FAQ, the blog and the news announcements on 29 Aug 2026. No engagement with any named ethics opinion or professional guidance was located, including ABA Formal Opinion 512, US state bar guidance, and Law Society of Ontario or Federation of Law Societies of Canada guidance given the vendor's Canadian base. The vendor publishes substantial material on the rise of hallucinated citations in filings and on the professional risk that creates, which engages with the consequence the guidance addresses without engaging with the guidance itself.
Searched the vendor site, the product pages and third party coverage on 29 Aug 2026. No engagement with any named ethics opinion or professional guidance was located, including ABA Formal Opinion 512 and state bar guidance. Worth noting given the stated audience includes law students, where a published position on supervised use in an academic setting would be a natural place for such engagement and none was located.
Billing and Fee Posture
Does the vendor address what happens to the bill when the work takes an hour instead of six?
Savings are claimed and nothing is published on the client's side. The vendor cites fewer corrections and fewer write offs, a stated 13 percent accuracy lift that reduces the time lawyers spend revising AI output, and cutting costs while freeing time for more valuable work. Write offs are a billing concept, so the vendor is explicitly linking AI quality to what a firm can bill. The vendor site, the FAQ, the blog and the news announcements were searched on 29 Aug 2026.
No per matter record of AI assisted work intended for fee purposes was located, and no guidance on billing, fee or client disclosure treatment. The buyer is a law firm billing clients by the hour, so the question applies squarely.
The vendor site, product pages and third party coverage were searched on 29 Aug 2026. No per matter record of AI assisted work for fee purposes was located, and no guidance on billing, fees or client disclosure. No time savings or efficiency claim was located either. The vendor's positioning and the evidence attached to it are about research accuracy rather than speed, so there is no savings claim to weigh against the client's side of the bill.
Outside Counsel Guideline Readiness
Can a firm get this vendor through a client’s AI clause without a bespoke negotiation?
A Trust Center exists, reached through a request access flow on the vendor's security page, and the vendor states it carries a security addendum, an architecture whitepaper, a data processing agreement and audit reports. A DPA and audit reports are what a firm responding to a client AI clause needs. The specific item such a clause asks for was not located as of 29 Aug 2026: no subprocessor list and no statement identifying which model providers see client content.
The private single tenant architecture is a partial answer, since it bears on where client content goes, and the vendor offers a route through which a firm could obtain the supporting documents.
The vendor states that on request it can provide SOC 2 documentation, questionnaire responses, and additional detail on service providers and data handling, which is an explicit offer of the three artifacts a firm most often needs. Published without any request at all: an express no training commitment binding both the vendor and its model providers, retention periods including the model providers' own 60 day window, encryption specifics, and a contractual flow down requiring subprocessors to maintain measures no less protective.
A firm could answer most of a standard client AI clause from the public page and obtain the rest through the stated route. No subprocessor list is published and no model provider is named; only the terms binding them are.
Court Disclosure Support
If a judge’s standing order requires an AI disclosure, can the product produce one?
Some elements of a disclosure record are available. Output is evidence backed by design: memos cite primary law, and the vendor publishes an independently measured rate of valid primary law citation. What was relied on is visible in the work product, and its reliability has an external figure attached. Vendor material also describes citations carrying through each stage of a workflow. Two elements are missing. No export per document covering model used, sources retrieved and human verification together was located, and the model is described only as a proprietary layer, so the model used could not be stated. Output from this product plausibly reaches a filing, so a judicial order requiring AI disclosure could apply to it.
The vendor site, product pages and third party coverage were searched on 29 Aug 2026. Output carries citations to primary law by design, so what was relied on is visible in the work product. No export for each document covering model used, sources retrieved and human verification together was located, and no model is named anywhere, so the model used could not be stated. Nothing beyond the citations in the output was located. This output is likely to reach a court, which makes the absence of a disclosure trail more consequential.
The questions both sides leave open
Derived from the records above rather than written, so it cannot favor either vendor. Take these into both conversations and ask each side the same question.
- AI Liability and Recourse
- Commercial Transparency
- Third Party Request and Subpoena Notice
- Good Law Verification
- Refusal and Uncertainty Behavior
- Bar Guidance Alignment
Which one fits
Choose Alexi if
- Confidentiality is the gating question. Alexi states that nothing leaves the firm's private environment and that prompts, documents and workflow data never train global models and never mix with other firms.
- You need a document management connection. Alexi has an announced iManage integration. Midpage's only named integration is availability inside ChatGPT, which is a distribution channel rather than a connection into your systems.
- You are buying for a firm rather than for individual litigators. Alexi names the buyer roles it serves, from CIOs and knowledge management leaders to practice group leaders and managing partners.
Choose Midpage if
- Your work is litigation and nothing else. Midpage is purpose built for litigators and the outside evaluator independently confirmed its responses are tailored to the questions litigation practice actually produces. Narrow focus is a feature when the focus is yours.
- Jurisdictional reach has to be enumerated rather than claimed. Midpage lists coverage by court system, including federal and state courts plus tribal and military courts, statutes, regulations and selected administrative decisions.
- You want a product that says it cannot find something rather than producing an answer anyway. The evaluator recorded Midpage sometimes explaining it could not locate supporting documents, which is observed behavior rather than a marketing claim.
In summary
Alexi
Alexi is a legal intelligence platform for law firms. It was built originally to generate evidence backed research memos and now covers litigation, transactional, operational and administrative workflows, with a retrieval first architecture and a proprietary model layer. According to the AI Legal Index, Alexi's case rests on confidentiality and measured accuracy. The vendor states that nothing leaves the firm's private environment and that a firm's prompts, documents and workflow data never train global models and never mix with other firms. It submitted to the independent 2025 Vals Legal AI Report legal research study, whose rubric and weights were published in advance. It publishes no pricing and no described oversight mechanism.
Midpage
Midpage is a legal research platform built for litigators and law students doing in depth research. It covers case law from United States federal and state courts plus tribal and military courts, statutes, regulations and selected administrative decisions, and it generates briefs. According to the AI Legal Index, Midpage submitted its standalone research product to the independent 2025 Vals Legal AI Report, which published per criterion figures against a rubric set in advance. Its practice focus is explicit, and the evaluator independently confirmed it as tailored to litigator workflows. It publishes no position on what the system does unaided, what a lawyer must review, or where a workflow stops.
Questions buyers ask
Alexi vs Midpage: which is better for legal research?
Both submitted to the same independent evaluator. Alexi is the stronger institutional purchase, with a far stronger confidentiality position and an iManage integration. Midpage is narrower by design, purpose built for litigators, and the evaluator confirmed that focus independently. From the AI Legal Index, based on each vendor's own published materials as of August 30, 2026. No vendor pays for placement.
Have Alexi and Midpage been independently tested?
Yes, both. Each submitted to the 2025 Vals Legal AI Report legal research study, run by an outside evaluator that published its rubric and weights in advance: accuracy at 50 percent, authoritativeness at 40 percent and appropriateness at 10 percent, across 200 United States legal research questions sourced from attorneys at named firms. From the AI Legal Index, based on each vendor's own published materials as of August 30, 2026. No vendor pays for placement.
Which one is safer for confidential client material?
Alexi, on published commitments. It states that nothing leaves the firm's private environment and that a firm's prompts, documents and workflow data never train global models and never mix with other firms. Midpage publishes a security page addressing training in the negative, which is still substantive. From the AI Legal Index, based on each vendor's own published materials as of August 30, 2026. No vendor pays for placement.
Does Midpage integrate with a document management system?
Midpage names no document management integration. Its one named integration is availability inside ChatGPT, described by the independent evaluator as a bespoke integration, which is a distribution channel into a general purpose assistant rather than a connection into a firm's own systems. Alexi has an announced iManage integration, though it too publishes no wider integrations index. From the AI Legal Index, based on each vendor's own published materials as of August 30, 2026. No vendor pays for placement.
What do Alexi and Midpage both leave unpublished?
Neither publishes a rate, a unit of charge or a tier structure, and neither offers a free trial or self serve entry point. Neither publishes a position on liability or recourse when an output is wrong. Neither publishes a position on the advice line or on competence and supervision duties. Midpage additionally publishes nothing on oversight, which for a research product used to build filings is the most important gap. From the AI Legal Index, based on each vendor's own published materials as of August 30, 2026. No vendor pays for placement.
Neither vendor paid for inclusion, placement or a grade, and neither reviewed this page before it published. Everything on it comes from public material on the dates shown. How the index grades.
One material asymmetry, and it favors Alexi. Midpage publishes nothing on what the system does unaided, what a lawyer must review, where a workflow stops or what the vendor commits to when an output is wrong. For a research product used to build filings, that is the gap that matters most. Midpage's stated audience also includes law students, people not yet admitted. That is a professional responsibility question of a different shape rather than a problem. Neither vendor reviewed this page.