AscentAI vs FinregE: how they compare in 2026
AscentAI and FinregE both build a firm's regulatory obligations register and then tell it which changes hit which obligation. They are close, and each publishes something the other does not. AscentAI publishes its terms, and they set out its professional boundaries in detail. It is not a law firm or an attorney, and no attorney client relationship is created or implied. Privilege can arise only between the user and their own attorney, and the subject matter is stated to vary between jurisdictions and regulators. It also names its attestation candidly as SOC 2 Type I rather than blurring it into a Type II. FinregE's answer is who relies on it. The Financial Conduct Authority selected it to redesign, host and manage the FCA Handbook website, which is a regulator adopting the product to publish its own rulebook. FinregE also holds a strategic investment from Moody's and ISO/IEC 27001:2022 certification.
At a glance
All 15 axes, side by side
The same grid applied to every vendor in the index, graded from public sources. Hover a grade to see what the letter means on that axis.
AI Centrality
How much of the product is actually AI. Whether the machine learning is the mechanism the buyer is paying for or a feature layered onto conventional software, and whether the vendor is specific about which is which.
Beyond regulatory news, the platform derives a register of obligations specific to each firm from the rule corpus, then assesses automatically which incoming changes hit which obligation, with summaries of what changed generated automatically. The company describes itself as delivering fully processed information ready for action, unlike document based vendors, and a 2022 announcement describes patented AI and natural language processing technology as the mechanism. Without the models, a real product would remain: a global regulatory content database across a stated 98 countries and 1,000 sources, a manually maintained obligations register, collaborative workflows, audit trails and GRC integrations. The company rebranded from Ascent Technologies to AscentAI in March 2025.
AI RIG is named as a distinct engine and reaches across all seven modules rather than sitting in one: classification, tagging, prioritization, summarization, obligation extraction, obligation to control mapping, policy drafting assistance and question answering. The vendor states production AI since 2018 and holds an Innovate UK AI grant and an Imperial College NLP research collaboration, so the model work is evidenced rather than asserted. The spine underneath is a regulatory registry and workflow system that would still function as a rules inventory, task tracker and control testing tool with the AI removed. The AI makes it fast; it is not the only thing being sold.
Citation Accuracy and Hallucination Disclosure
Whether the vendor publishes measured accuracy on citations and assertions, grounds output to primary sources, and says plainly what its system does when it does not know. Legal has a documented public record of fabricated citations reaching filed briefs, so an untested claim of accuracy is not evidence.
Product pages promise a high confidence regulatory register, a rock solid inventory of obligations, a single source of regulatory truth, that users will never miss an update, and that AI powered change management eliminates human error. No benchmark, error rate, test set, precision or recall figure for obligation extraction or applicability is published. Rule Compare shows the new and former versions of a rule side by side with changes redlined, so a user can open the actual regulatory text. The terms say all Content is for information only, may not reflect the latest regulatory developments, and is not guaranteed to be correct, complete or up to date. The History Views clause calls the register Ascent's best guess of the rules that apply to the customer.
The claim is made plainly and the evidence behind it is not published. The vendor says every AI output is fully source cited for audit defensibility, and that governance documents stay traceable to regulatory requirements. Source citation on generated output is the right design for this use. But nothing public gives an accuracy figure, precision or recall for obligation extraction, a hallucination rate, an evaluation or test set, an independent benchmark, or a statement of what the system does when it cannot answer. Obligation extraction from regulatory text is a measurable task, and nothing measured is published.
Autonomy and Oversight Model
What the system decides on its own, what a lawyer must approve, and whether the vendor documents where the review point sits. A tool that drafts under review and a tool that files without one are different products and different risks.
The pitch is automation: changes are captured in real time, applicability against the obligations register is assessed automatically, and summaries are generated automatically, with the vendor saying every update is assessed and presented ready for action. Nothing describes a review point in the product, a confidence threshold at which the system defers, or what happens after an assessment is wrong. The audit trail records activity but does not control it. The one oversight statement is in the contract, not the product. The terms tell users to consult a Compliance Professional if a problem is too complex for Ascent, and make the user solely responsible for legal compliance and any use of the Solutions.
The oversight model is documented in product terms rather than asserted as a principle. Output is framed throughout as AI assisted and AI guided rather than autonomous: the AI proposes obligations, suggests policy language and recommends control alignments, and FinregE Workflows routes every regulatory assessment to named stakeholders through defined approval chains with assigned ownership. The audit trail records who assessed, what changed, when, why it was actioned, the supporting evidence and the routing history, so a human decision point is recorded rather than implied. No autonomy threshold is published: nothing states where the system acts without review, and no confidence score or escalation rule is described. The oversight is structural, from workflow design, rather than a stated policy a buyer could test.
Operational and Outcome Evidence
Named, dated evidence that the product works in production at real firms or legal departments. Case studies with figures and identified customers count. Unattributed testimonials and launch announcements do not.
The home page quotes a compliance executive at a large financial services firm on how hard it is to find vendors that identify a firm's obligations rather than just stating the rules; no organization, name or date is given. No customer logos appear on the home page. The partner logos there, MCO, LogicGate, Onspring, Resolver and Corestream, are GRC integrations, not customers. Claims of scale concern the content, not the customer base. Vendor announcements describe partnerships with Halo Ai and Diligent, not deployments at named customers.
The vendor was selected by the Financial Conduct Authority to redesign, host and manage the FCA Handbook website. A regulator adopting the product to publish its own rulebook is a different class of evidence from a customer logo, because the buyer is the body whose text the product structures. Also named: a strategic investment from Moody's Corporation, FSQS registration, and a published case study claiming a 60 percent reduction in cost and a 100 percent reduction in risk at a UK bank. Two gaps remain. The case study figures have no method, baseline or measurement period, and a 100 percent risk reduction is an absolute claim that cannot be tested. Every customer testimonial is anonymized by tier and sector. The home page counters for jurisdictions covered, weekly change volume, uptime and user numbers load in the browser and showed zero on 29 Aug 2026, so those figures were not captured.
Privilege and Confidentiality Posture
How client confidences are handled: attorney client privilege and work product treatment, segregation of one client matter from another, whether client data trains any model, and what the vendor commits to in writing rather than in marketing.
The security page describes the perimeter in detail: AES-256 at rest with FIPS 140-2 validated hardware security modules and automatic key rotation, TLS 1.2 or 1.3 in transit, secrets injected at runtime rather than hardcoded, single sign on with phishing resistant WebAuthn factors, role based staff access and automatic removal of access on termination. No position on training is published. No retention or deletion commitment for customer content, data processing agreement, or description of separation between customers, users or matters is published either. The terms advise against sending confidential information in response to the Site, and say Ascent cannot guarantee the confidentiality of anything sent through the Site or by email, disclaiming liability for interception. Those cover communications rather than platform data, and they are the only confidentiality statements in the terms.
Nothing is published that a buyer could check. No confidentiality commitment, statement on how customer content is handled, data processing agreement or privacy policy is published. The only legal document on the site is a Terms of Use for the marketing website, not the platform, which disclaims the accuracy of site content and excludes liability for relying on it. Checked the site navigation, the full footer, the company page, the contact page, the sitemap page and the Terms of Use. This is an absence of publication, not a finding about the product. The platform serves Tier 1 banks and a regulator, so contractual protections almost certainly exist in the paper a customer signs, but they are not public.
UPL and Professional Responsibility Posture
Whether the vendor is clear that it supplies a tool rather than legal advice, who its audience is, and how it addresses unauthorized practice of law, competence and supervision duties, and jurisdiction limits. ABA Formal Opinion 512 is the reference point. Where the advice line is not the duty a product raises, the axis is read through the nearest professional duty it does raise: judicial conduct rules and the reviewing duty for products sold only to courts, and the duty to bill for time actually spent for products that draft time entries.
The terms deal with professional responsibility in four separate headed sections. Ascent says it is not a law firm or attorney and does not give legal advice, and that a user who needs legal advice agrees to contact their attorney. A section headed that the Site and Solutions are not legal services says no attorney client relationship is created or implied. It addresses privilege directly: any such relationship and related privileges can only be formed between the user and their own attorney under that attorney's engagement and conflict procedures. Another section says Ascent is not a law or compliance firm, may not perform the services of a Compliance Professional, and that its Solutions, forms and templates do not replace one. Jurisdiction limits are named. The subject matter varies by jurisdiction and regulator and is open to differing interpretation by courts and regulators, no general tool fits every case, and users should consult a Compliance Professional in their area. Nothing addresses supervision, competence or how the product supports a practitioner's own duties, and no bar or ethics guidance is named.
Not addressed in any located material. The product outputs regulatory interpretations, obligation extractions and drafted policy language, and the vendor markets to Legal and General Counsel as one of six named stakeholder audiences, so the question of whether output constitutes advice is live. Nothing states that output is not legal advice, nothing addresses the role of the qualified professional reviewing it, and no professional responsibility positioning of any kind is published. The workflow design does require human assessment and sign off, which is the substance of the protection, but the vendor never says so in these terms.
AI Governance and Bias Disclosure
Published governance over model behavior: who owns it inside the vendor, what is tested before release, and what is disclosed about disparate output across matter types, parties, or populations.
Nothing on the AI capability page, the security page, the platform, AscentHorizon and AscentFocus pages or the company section addresses how the AI itself is governed. There are no responsible AI principles, no model governance framework, nothing on what is tested before a model ships, and no named owner for AI decisions. Nothing addresses uneven output across jurisdictions, regulators or obligation types, although the platform decides which of a stated 400,000 obligations across 98 countries apply to an institution. The security page covers infrastructure: AES-256 at rest with FIPS 140-2 validated hardware security modules, TLS 1.2 and 1.3 in transit, yearly penetration testing, and a program aligned to the NIST Cybersecurity Framework. The AI page says in house compliance experts verify all regulatory data. The Vanta trust center at trust.ascentregtech.com holds the SOC 2 Type I attestation.
Nothing is published about the vendor's own model governance. That stands out because the vendor writes at length about AI governance as a customer problem: blog material on AI governance frameworks for banks, coverage of the EU AI Act and AI governance regimes as tracked subject matter, and a public sector offering that helps agencies ensure AI governance. None of that discloses anything about FinregE's own system. Nothing is published on model evaluation, bias testing, human review of model behavior, drift monitoring, an AI policy or ISO 42001. One answer could not be read: the home page FAQ asks whether the AI is suitable for regulated environments, but the answers load in the browser and did not appear, so that answer may say more.
AI Safety and Data Stewardship
Retention, deletion, access control, and what happens to prompts and documents after they are processed. Whether the vendor states its subprocessors and its incident practice, or leaves the buyer to assume.
The security page lists AES-256 at rest with FIPS 140-2 validated hardware security modules and automatic key rotation, RSA-2048 and SHA-256 as accepted algorithms, TLS 1.2 or 1.3 in transit, and secrets injected at runtime with keys held in hardware modules. Testing includes yearly penetration tests and regular vulnerability scans. Devices are centrally managed with enforced disk encryption and screen lock and round the clock alerting, remote access runs through Tailscale on WireGuard, DNS blocks malware, and staff take Vanta security training at onboarding and yearly after. No retention period for customer content, deletion commitment or route, subprocessor list, or incident or breach notification practice is published. The privacy policy covers website visitors and says customer data is mainly stored in the United States but may be moved and accessed worldwide.
No stewardship position is published for customer content passing through the AI. Nothing says whether customer documents, policies and control libraries uploaded to the platform are used to improve models, how long inputs and outputs persist, whether processing is segregated by tenant, or what happens to derived artifacts. Checked the home page, the horizon scanning page, the company page, the site footer and the Terms of Use; no privacy policy, data processing agreement or security page is published. For a platform taking in a regulated institution's internal policies, procedures and control libraries, this is the disclosure a buyer most needs, and it is absent from public material.
AI Liability and Recourse
What the vendor stands behind contractually when its output is wrong. Indemnities, caps, carve outs, insurance, and whether any of it is published or only reachable through a negotiated agreement.
Liability is capped twice. The limitation clause caps it at the previous six months of customer payments where outright exclusion is not allowed, and a separate Liability Cap section caps total liability at the annual fee paid, expressly including indirect and consequential damages in any jurisdiction. Warranties are disclaimed in full: Ascent does not guarantee the accuracy, completeness, timeliness, reliability, suitability or usefulness of any part of the Site, and puts the whole risk of accuracy on the user. The limitation clause opens by saying Ascent is not liable for any loss caused by reliance on information from the Site. The only indemnity runs from customer to vendor. There is no vendor indemnity, warranty on output or insurance position. The History Views clause adds a disclaimer of all liability for the obligations history the platform shows.
No product liability position is published. The only published legal document is a website Terms of Use, which excludes liability to any user for loss from using or relying on site content and makes no representation that content is complete, accurate or up to date. That is a marketing site disclaimer and says nothing about the platform, its output, or recourse when an obligation extraction or policy mapping is wrong. Nothing is published on indemnity, warranty, service levels or a remedy for incorrect AI output. The operative terms are in a signed contract that is not public, so this is an absence of published product terms, not a limit the vendor has imposed.
Practice Systems Integration Depth
How deeply the product reaches into the systems legal work already lives in: document management such as iManage and NetDocuments, Word and Outlook, contract lifecycle management, matter management, e-billing, and court filing systems.
The platform integrates with GRC platforms so that obligations, policies and controls reflect current requirements: obligations flow from the register into policy and control records held elsewhere. Five GRC partners are named on the home page (MCO, LogicGate, Onspring, Resolver and Corestream), and a policy and control engine is described for pushing changes through and overseeing them in GRC. Vendor announcements describe two more integrations in substance. Diligent's regulatory compliance product takes in Ascent's monitoring and interpretation so obligations update automatically and alert the user to assess impact. Halo Ai takes Ascent's enriched regulatory data through named endpoints into its own workflow engine. The site navigation lists no public API reference, developer portal or integration documentation, and the endpoints in the Halo Ai announcement are not publicly documented.
The claim is made at architecture level and no integration is documented. The vendor describes an API first architecture, states that infrastructure is only valuable if it connects, and positions the platform as the brains of the compliance function feeding intelligence into tools teams already use. A customer testimonial from a global legal professional services firm specifically credits access to the regulatory data feed through customized APIs with filtering. What does not exist in public: any named integration or connector, any GRC platform the product sits beside, any API documentation, any authentication or scope detail, and any statement of what moves in which direction.
Deployment Model and Data Residency
Where the software runs and where the data sits. Multi tenant cloud, single tenant, private deployment, on premises, and whether region of residence is a published option or an enterprise conversation.
A hosted application runs at app.ascentregtech.com, and the terms describe Ascent hosting its Solutions as a backend service. Nothing names a hosting provider or data center region, or says whether customers get a dedicated or shared environment. The privacy policy is the only place a location is published: the company mainly stores customer data in the United States and may transfer and access it worldwide. The policy makes no residency commitment, offers no choice, and concerns personal data rather than the obligations registers and policy mappings the platform holds. Processing location is not addressed separately from storage.
The hosting platform is named and nothing beyond it is. The vendor states hosting on Microsoft Azure, single sign on, role based access control and a four to twelve week implementation. No region or data residency commitment is published, which is a live question for a London vendor selling to Tier 1 banks, insurers and regulators subject to UK and EU data localization expectations. No single tenant, private instance or in perimeter deployment option is described, and nothing states where regulatory data or customer policy libraries are physically processed. Naming the cloud provider is a real disclosure; residency is what is missing.
Security Certifications and Trust Center
Independent attestation a buyer can pull without a sales call: SOC 2, ISO 27001, penetration test summaries, a trust center with current reports and named scope rather than a badge image.
AscentAI says it holds a SOC 2 Type I attestation, the report on design at a point in time, rather than a Type II examination of how controls operate over a period. A trust center runs at trust.ascentregtech.com, and the security page says the attestation is available there, so a route to the report is published. The security program is also described as aligned to the NIST Cybersecurity Framework, and the security page was last modified in April 2026. The security page names no auditor and gives no examination date or period, and no scope statement says which entities or systems are covered.
Three credentials are named and none is evidenced. The vendor names ISO/IEC 27001:2022, with the standard version and a dated announcement quoting its COO, plus Cyber Essentials Plus and FSQS registration. Naming the 2022 revision rather than the withdrawn 2013 one is a real signal. But nothing behind the claims can be reached: no auditor or certification body is named, no certificate number, scope or expiry date is published, no SOC 2 of any type is claimed, and there is no trust center, security page or route to request documents. The certifications appear on the home page as badge images rather than as text a reader can verify.
Model Supply Chain Disclosure
Which models sit underneath, whose they are, where they run, and whether the vendor commits to telling customers when that changes. A legal buyer inherits every dependency it cannot see.
A 2022 vendor announcement describes patented AI and natural language processing, and the product pages refer to AI powered automation, AI summaries and AI impact assessment without naming a model, model family, provider or architecture. Nothing says whether any third party foundation model is used at any point. Where inference runs is not stated, and no commitment to notify customers of model changes is published.
Nothing located. No foundation model provider is named anywhere in public material, no statement distinguishes proprietary models from third party models, and no subprocessor list exists. The vendor describes machine learning and natural language processing built since 2018 and an Imperial College research collaboration, which implies meaningful in house model work, but implication is not disclosure and the platform's generative and question answering features are not attributed to any named model. For a buyer in a regulated institution, the identity of the model provider is a subprocessor question their own regulator may ask, and it cannot be answered from public sources.
Commercial Transparency
Whether a buyer can learn what this costs without entering a sales process: published rates, the unit being charged, what sits behind an enterprise tier, and what implementation adds.
No pricing information is published at any level, including the unit of charge. The site navigation, which covers the platform, difference, buyer, partner, resource and company sections, has no pricing page or entry. Every commercial route on the property is a contact form or a request to talk. The terms of service describe a priced self service route without publishing any part of it: a user signs up for a duration of their choice ranging from one month to three years and pays by credit card, with pricing terms and procedures deferred entirely to a separate Individual Service Agreement, and recurring ACH debit authorized against charges described in that agreement. The only figure published anywhere is a 25 dollar fee for a transaction returned for insufficient funds, which is a penalty rather than a price. No rate, range, tier name, unit per seat or per obligation, or statement of what implementation adds is published.
No pricing at any level of abstraction. No price, no range, no tier structure, no unit of charge, and no statement of what drives cost, whether that is users, jurisdictions monitored, modules licensed or regulatory sources ingested. Every commercial route on the site is a demo request or a booking link to a calendar. The one adjacent figure published is a case study claiming a 60 percent cost reduction at a UK bank, which describes the customer's savings rather than the vendor's price and is not transparency about what the product costs. Common for enterprise RegTech and still an absence a buyer cannot work around.
Firm and Practice Coverage
Who the product is actually built for. AmLaw, midlaw, small firm and solo, in house departments, government and courts, and which practice areas are supported rather than merely claimed.
Segments are described as regulatory scope rather than a logo wall: banks and credit unions; mortgage services, consumer finance and fintech platforms; electronic payments and money services; investment advisers, broker dealers and funds; crypto and digital asset businesses; and market infrastructure such as exchanges, clearing and settlement organizations and repositories. Topics include consumer protection, consumer privacy, anti money laundering, countering the financing of terrorism and ESG, across a stated 98 countries and 1,000 data sources. Every segment is in financial services, and nothing states firm size, obligation volume or where the product stops. The Who We Serve section has pages for Compliance, Risk and Digital Transformation but none for Legal, though the platform page and the rebrand announcement both position the product for legal teams.
Coverage is stated specifically, by named regulators and regimes rather than a jurisdiction count alone. Regulators named include the PRA, ECB, EBA, Basel Committee, SEC, FCA and CFPB. Regimes named include MiFID II, AIFMD, Solvency II, PSD2, MiCA, DORA, AMLD6 and Consumer Duty. Themes run across prudential regulation and conduct, AML, sanctions, data protection and information security, operational resilience, consumer protection, competition, health and safety, tax and reporting, and ESG. Sectors listed include banking, payments, insurance, asset and wealth management, fintech and digital assets, lending and credit, accounting and tax, healthcare and pharma, public sector and development finance, energy, aerospace and defense, and automotive and transport. The ISO certification announcement gives the scale as more than three million regulatory data points from over 2,000 sources in more than 160 jurisdictions. But the jurisdiction list itself is not published, so a buyer cannot check whether their own is covered, and no update lag or refresh frequency is given for any source.
The 12 legal signals, side by side
Recorded rather than graded. These are the questions a practitioner has to answer before a tool touches a client matter, and the answers are taken from public material only.
Client Data in Training
Can material a lawyer puts into this product be used to train a model?
Model training or improvement using customer content has no provision in the terms of service, which govern the Site and the Solutions and run to roughly twenty sections covering warranties, liability, indemnification, service rules and payment. The security page, the privacy policy, the home page, the RLM Platform page and the Compliance page do not address it either, and no data processing agreement is published. The nearest statement concerns a different subject: as between the parties the customer owns and retains all right, title and interest in its Account Information, which is a statement about ownership rather than about training use.
No customer agreement is published, and no policy page states a position on training. No agreement addressing customer content was located, and the only published legal document is a website Terms of Use whose scope is the marketing site, as the quoted phrase shows. It says nothing about the platform, customer uploads, or model training. No privacy policy and no data processing agreement exist on the site. Checked the site navigation, the full footer, the company page, the contact page, the sitemap page and the Terms of Use on 29 Aug 2026.
Recorded as no agreement published rather than as a negative commitment: a vendor that does not say it trains on client data has not said it does not.
Prompt and Output Retention
How long does the product keep what a lawyer typed, and can that be set to zero?
The terms of service, the security page, the privacy policy and the platform pages do not state how long customer inputs or generated outputs are retained, and no zero retention or customer configurable option is described. The privacy policy addresses website visitor data rather than platform content. One clause touches the subject: the History Views section of the terms provides that where new information changes Ascent's assessment of a customer's history of rules and documents, the prior history may not be accessible to the customer and may be replaced by an updated view.
That describes a presentation policy rather than a retention window, and the record a customer sees is not guaranteed to persist unchanged.
Retention is defined for audit records and left open for AI exchanges. No retention period is stated for AI prompts, generated summaries, extracted obligations or question answering exchanges, and nothing indicates whether a customer can configure or zero retention. The platform does publish that it retains a permanent audit trail of assessments and decisions, which is a deliberate retention commitment in the opposite direction and is a product feature rather than a privacy disclosure.
What is missing is any statement about the AI interaction layer itself. Checked the home page, the horizon scanning page, the workflows page, the site footer and the Terms of Use on 29 Aug 2026.
Ethical Walls and Matter Segregation
Does retrieval respect the firm’s ethical walls, or can the model read across them?
The Information Sharing section of the terms says users with the right permissions can share access to their accounts, with a law firm working for the customer as the example, and makes the customer responsible for anyone it shares access with. So per user permissions exist and sharing outside the organization is supported. Nothing says how the model is enforced, how fine grained it is, or whether shared access can be limited below the whole account.
The role based access controls on the security page govern AscentAI staff, not customer users. Nothing addresses walls or separation between teams or matters within a customer account.
Claimed and not documented. The vendor names role based access control and single sign on as platform capabilities, and describes routing assessments to specific stakeholders with assigned ownership, so an access model exists and is asserted. Nothing documents how it works: no permission granularity, no statement of whether access is enforced at query time against the AI layer as well as the record layer, and no description of segregation between business units within a single institution.
This product has no document management system to inherit permissions from, so the inherits value does not apply and a second model is the only available shape. Checked the home page, the horizon scanning page and the workflows page on 29 Aug 2026.
Third Party Request and Subpoena Notice
If someone subpoenas the vendor for a firm’s data, does the firm hear about it first?
The terms of service, the privacy policy and the security page publish no commitment to notify the customer of a third party request for its data. The terms have no confidentiality section in the usual sense, so the clause that ordinarily carries this obligation does not exist. One provision addresses disclosure to authorities and contains no notice undertaking: the terms state that user activity may be monitored, that users expressly consent to such monitoring, and that if monitoring reveals possible criminal activity security staff may provide the evidence to law enforcement officials.
That concerns monitoring of system use rather than a subpoena for customer content. No transparency report is published.
Authority requests for customer compliance records meet no notice commitment. No government or law enforcement request clause was located, no commitment to notify a customer before producing their data, and no transparency report. The website Terms of Use contains no such clause because it governs the site rather than the service. Checked the site footer, the Terms of Use, the company page and the sitemap page on 29 Aug 2026.
Worth noting for a later reader that this vendor holds regulator relationships, including hosting the FCA Handbook website, which makes the question of what it does with a customer's compliance record when asked by an authority more pointed than usual rather than less.
Primary Law Corpus Provenance
Where does the law in this product come from, and does the vendor have the right to use it?
AscentAI's home page states 98 countries, roughly 1,000 data sources and 400,000 obligations, and the RLM Platform page breaks coverage down by segment and by cross segment regulatory topic including consumer protection, consumer privacy, anti money laundering, countering the financing of terrorism and ESG. None of the 1,000 sources is named on those pages, the Compliance page or the terms of service, no regulator, publisher or feed is identified, and no license or rights basis is stated for any of it.
The terms confirm that third parties are involved without naming them, describing the Content as relating to and provided by Ascent Technologies Inc. and its third party content providers. No update cadence is published, although the product is marketed on capture in near real time.
Sources are named at regulator and regime level, with no license basis stated. Named regulators include the PRA, ECB, EBA, Basel Committee, SEC, FCA and CFPB, and named regimes include MiFID II, AIFMD, Solvency II, PSD2, MiCA, DORA and AMLD6. The stated scale is more than three million regulatory data points from over 2,000 sources in more than 160 jurisdictions. Most of this material is government published regulatory text, where licensing matters less than for case law, but the vendor never says so.
There is no license or public domain basis, no source list a buyer can open, and no update lag or refresh frequency for any source. The full jurisdiction list is not published, so a buyer cannot confirm their own is covered.
Good Law Verification
Does the product tell you when the authority it just cited has been overruled?
Rule Compare shows the new and former versions of a rule side by side with changes redlined. The change management engine detects in near real time when a tracked rule has changed and which of the customer's obligations it affects, with automatic summaries of what changed. The vendor computes and shows later history for its own content rather than licensing a treatment service, and describes the method at the level of what the user sees.
The terms say Content may not reflect the latest regulatory developments, and nothing published evidences the currency of the underlying content. The History Views clause says an earlier version of a customer's rule history may stop being accessible and be replaced by an updated view.
Own treatment signal, operating on regulatory text rather than case law. The vendor states that mappings are dynamic and that when a regulation changes the system automatically flags the affected policies and controls for review, and describes version history maintained against regulatory requirements so governance documents stay traceable as rules move. That is the regulatory equivalent of a currency check: it tells a user that the authority underneath their policy has moved.
It is the vendor's own mechanism rather than a licensed commercial citator, and no accuracy or completeness measure is published for change detection.
Refusal and Uncertainty Behavior
What does the product do when the answer is not in the corpus?
Nothing on the home, platform, compliance or security pages or in the terms describes what the system does when a question or rule falls outside its scope. No abstention path, confidence score, coverage indicator or low certainty flag is published for the applicability assessment or the generated summaries, and nothing describes what a user sees when the platform cannot tell whether a change affects them. The terms answer the question contractually instead: if a problem is too complex for Ascent and its Solutions, the user should consult a Compliance Professional in their area. That puts the escalation duty on the user.
A question the sources cannot support has no defined way out. Nothing describes what the system does when it cannot find support for an answer, and no path for declining to answer, abstention behavior or confidence score is documented. The vendor says AI works within controlled workflows and that output is source cited, which bounds the output without describing the uncertain case. Checked the home page, the AI Regulatory Expert page, the horizon scanning page and the blog index on 29 Aug 2026.
The home page FAQ entry asking whether the AI is suitable for regulated environments did not load, so its answer is unread and may bear on this.
Fabricated Citation Record
Does a public court record exist addressing fabricated or hallucinated legal citations in output from this product?
The AI Hallucination Cases database maintained by Damien Charlotin at HEC Paris records no case naming AscentAI or its former name, Ascent Technologies, and no court order, opinion or disciplinary record naming either appears in 2026 sanctions trackers or trade coverage. This is a statement about the public record rather than a finding about the product. The platform's output is a regulatory obligation assessment used inside a compliance team rather than a citation filed with a court; the same risk would take the form of a fabricated or misattributed regulatory citation reaching an examiner rather than a judge.
None located; the method is stated so the result can be weighed. General web searches on the vendor name with court, opinion, sanction and enforcement terms returned nothing on 29 Aug 2026. No named docket database or court record tracker was searched. FinregE is a UK vendor selling compliance tools to institutions, not a litigation product filing in courts, so its exposure differs from a research or drafting tool. This records what was found, not a clearance; a search of a named tracker would strengthen it.
Bar Guidance Alignment
Has the vendor engaged in public with the ethics opinions its buyers are bound by?
The terms say Ascent is not a law firm or attorney and does not give legal advice, that no attorney client relationship is created or implied, and that privileges from such a relationship can only arise between the customer and its own attorney. They also say Ascent is not a law or compliance firm and may not perform the services of a Compliance Professional, and that using its forms is neither legal advice nor the practice of law. No ABA Formal Opinion 512, state bar opinion or regulator guidance on AI in compliance work is named.
Lawyers using the platform get no professional conduct framing. No named ethics opinion, no ABA Formal Opinion 512, no Solicitors Regulation Authority or Law Society guidance, and no bar guidance engagement of any kind was located. The vendor addresses Legal and General Counsel as a named stakeholder audience and produces drafted policy language and regulatory interpretations, so professional guidance is relevant to how that output is used.
The vendor writes extensively about regulatory obligations owed by its customers and nothing about the professional duties of the lawyers using it. Checked the home page, the company page, the stakeholder sections, the blog index and the news index on 29 Aug 2026.
Billing and Fee Posture
Does the vendor address what happens to the bill when the work takes an hour instead of six?
The home page markets lower costs from removing manual processes, and the compliance page says automation reduces the need for extra full time staff and outside services to track and act on regulatory change. That saving is in headcount and outside spend for an in house compliance team, not hours a firm bills to a client. Nothing addresses how AI assisted regulatory analysis is disclosed when an adviser does the work and bills for it, although the terms expressly allow a law firm to be given shared access to a customer's account. No record of AI assisted work by matter is described.
The buyer is an in house compliance function that bills no client, so the product sits outside the fee relationship; the savings claim is recorded here. The published case study claims a 60 percent reduction in cost and a 100 percent reduction in risk at a UK bank, and the wider pitch is built on removing manual and duplicated work. Nothing addresses the client's side: no statement on billing for AI assisted time, no record a firm could disclose to its own client, and no fee position of any kind. The 100 percent risk reduction is an absolute claim that cannot be tested.
Outside Counsel Guideline Readiness
Can a firm get this vendor through a client’s AI clause without a bespoke negotiation?
Outside the trust center at trust.ascentregtech.com, which carries the SOC 2 attestation, no subprocessor list is published in the terms of service, the security page, the privacy policy or the site navigation. No model provider is identified, and the AI is described only as Ascent's own patented artificial intelligence and natural language processing, so whether any third party model sees customer content is not stated.
No data processing agreement, consent pack or client facing disclosure material is published, and the only route to request any of it is a general contact form. The terms disclose that third party content providers exist without naming them.
Certifications are named, but the pack a firm would forward is missing. No subprocessor list, no model provider disclosure, no data processing agreement, no trust center and no security documentation request route were located. A firm could not forward anything to its own client without opening a sales conversation. The vendor does publish ISO/IEC 27001:2022, Cyber Essentials Plus and FSQS registration, which is the raw material for such a pack, but names no auditor, scope or certificate and provides no route to the underlying documents.
Checked the home page badge row, the ISO certification announcement, the company page, the full site footer and the Terms of Use on 29 Aug 2026.
Court Disclosure Support
If a judge’s standing order requires an AI disclosure, can the product produce one?
The platform markets full audit trails that track every activity automatically, traceability for audit readiness, and documentation support for regulatory audits and examinations, so a customer can show what was reviewed, when and by whom. Here the relevant tribunal is an examiner rather than a judge. Nothing says the audit trail captures which assessments or summaries were machine generated, what content they drew on, or who verified them. The History Views clause also says an earlier history may become inaccessible and be replaced by an updated view.
Partial record, strong for its real forum, which is a regulatory examination or internal audit rather than a court. The vendor describes an immutable audit trail recording who assessed a change, what changed, when, why it was actioned, the supporting evidence and the workflow routing, and says it exists to show compliance to regulators, auditors and boards. The rule applied, path taken, human sign off and evidence are all recorded and can be exported into board ready reports.
The model used for a given AI output is never named, and no document level export of model, sources retrieved and human verification is described.
The questions both sides leave open
Derived from the records above rather than written, so it cannot favor either vendor. Take these into both conversations and ask each side the same question.
- AI Governance and Bias Disclosure
- Commercial Transparency
- Prompt and Output Retention
- Third Party Request and Subpoena Notice
- Refusal and Uncertainty Behavior
- Outside Counsel Guideline Readiness
Which one fits
Choose AscentAI if
- You want a register of your own obligations rather than a library of the rules. AscentAI builds and maintains the obligations inventory itself, identifies gaps and duplicates in it, then automatically assesses which incoming regulatory changes affect which obligations, with rule comparison showing old and new versions side by side and changes redlined, across a stated 98 countries, roughly 1,000 sources and 400,000 obligations.
- You want the professional boundaries stated. AscentAI's terms state that it is not a law firm or an attorney and does not dispense legal advice, that no attorney client relationship is created or implied and that privilege can arise only between the user and their own attorney under that firm's engagement and conflict procedures, that it is not a compliance firm and is not a substitute for one, and that the subject matter varies between jurisdictions and regulators.
- The obligations have to reach your GRC system. AscentAI names five integration partners in MCO, LogicGate, Onspring, Resolver and Corestream, with obligations flowing out of the register so that policy and control records reflect current requirements. It also publishes a detailed security page covering AES-256 at rest with FIPS 140-2 validated hardware security modules, TLS 1.2 or 1.3 in transit, annual penetration testing and a program aligned to the NIST Cybersecurity Framework.
Choose FinregE if
- You want to know who else relies on it. The Financial Conduct Authority selected FinregE to redesign, host and manage the FCA Handbook website, which is a regulator adopting the product to publish its own rulebook rather than a customer logo, alongside a strategic investment from Moody's Corporation, FSQS registration, an Innovate UK AI grant and a natural language processing research collaboration with Imperial College.
- Every assessment has to survive examination. FinregE states that every AI output is source cited for audit defensibility and that the platform preserves an immutable audit trail recording who assessed a change, what changed, when, why it was actioned, the evidence supporting the decision and the workflow routing history, with mappings that are dynamic so a regulatory change flags the affected policies and controls for review.
- Your coverage question is about named regimes rather than a jurisdiction count. FinregE names the regulators it tracks, including the PRA, ECB, EBA, Basel Committee, SEC, FCA and CFPB, and the regimes, including MiFID II, AIFMD, Solvency II, PSD2, MiCA, DORA and AMLD6, across a stated three million regulatory data points from over 2,000 sources in more than 160 jurisdictions, and holds ISO/IEC 27001:2022 with Cyber Essentials Plus.
In summary
AscentAI
AscentAI is a regulatory lifecycle management platform for financial institutions. It is built around a register of the obligations that apply to a particular firm rather than a library of the rules at large. Global horizon scanning is filtered to declared interests, an obligations inventory identifies gaps and duplicates, and the platform assesses automatically which changes affect which obligations. It adds rule comparison with redlined versions and an audit trail. According to the AI Legal Index, AscentAI's terms set out a detailed professional responsibility position, and it names its attestation candidly as SOC 2 Type I. No model provider, accuracy figure or price is published.
FinregE
FinregE is an AI powered regulatory compliance platform for regulated institutions, sold as seven modules. They span horizon scanning, a machine readable rules library, mapping rules to internal policies and controls, impact assessment workflows, policy governance, regulatory project management and control testing. Its AI engine classifies, summarizes, extracts obligations and maps them to controls while highlighting gaps. The AI Legal Index records that the Financial Conduct Authority selected FinregE to redesign, host and manage the FCA Handbook website. FinregE publishes no privacy policy, data processing agreement, security page or price.
Questions buyers ask
AscentAI vs FinregE: which is better for regulatory change?
On published evidence they are close. AscentAI publishes its terms, including a detailed professional responsibility position, and names its integrations and its security controls. FinregE publishes who relies on it, including a regulator that chose it to publish its own handbook, and names the regulators and regimes it covers. From the AI Legal Index, based on each vendor's own published materials as of September 3, 2026. No vendor pays for placement.
What can you read before signing?
On AscentAI, a full terms of service covering the professional boundaries, liability caps at the annual fee paid, warranty disclaimers and the informational purposes limitation, plus a security page and a trust center route to its attestation. On FinregE, a website terms of use and nothing else: no privacy policy, no data processing agreement and no security page is published, so the confidentiality and liability position sits entirely in a signed contract. From the AI Legal Index, based on each vendor's own published materials as of September 3, 2026. No vendor pays for placement.
Who else relies on each of them?
FinregE publishes the stronger answer. The Financial Conduct Authority selected it to redesign, host and manage the FCA Handbook website, and it holds a strategic investment from Moody's. AscentAI names no customer. The logos that appear are its GRC integration partners rather than customers, and its single testimonial is attributed only to a compliance executive at a large financial services firm. From the AI Legal Index, based on each vendor's own published materials as of September 3, 2026. No vendor pays for placement.
Do either publish an accuracy figure?
Neither does. FinregE states that every AI output is source cited and AscentAI shows old and new rule versions side by side with changes redlined, both of which let a user check a claim against the regulatory text. Neither publishes an accuracy figure, a precision or recall number for obligation extraction, a test set or an evaluation, on a task where the failure mode is an obligation that never surfaces rather than a visible error. From the AI Legal Index, based on each vendor's own published materials as of September 3, 2026. No vendor pays for placement.
What do AscentAI and FinregE both leave unpublished?
Neither publishes a price, a unit of charge or what drives cost, whether that is users, jurisdictions monitored or modules licensed. Neither names the model or provider behind its AI, which in a regulated institution is a subprocessor question the customer's own regulator may ask. Neither publishes an AI governance position, a named owner of model behavior or any evaluation of uneven output across jurisdictions or obligation types. From the AI Legal Index, based on each vendor's own published materials as of September 3, 2026. No vendor pays for placement.
Neither vendor paid for inclusion, placement or a grade, and neither reviewed this page before it published. Everything on it comes from public material on the dates shown. How the index grades.
AscentAI's marketing and its agreement describe the same product differently. The product pages promise a single enterprise wide source of regulatory truth, a rock solid inventory of corporate obligations and that a user will never miss a regulatory update. The terms of service state that all content is for informational purposes only, may not reflect the most current regulatory developments and is not guaranteed to be correct, complete or up to date. The history views clause describes the register as reflecting Ascent's best guess of the rules applicable to the customer. The agreement governs. FinregE publishes only one legal document, a website terms of use covering the marketing site. It publishes no privacy policy, data processing agreement or security page, so its confidentiality, retention and liability position cannot be read in advance. Neither vendor names the model provider behind its AI. Neither vendor reviewed this page.