Bloomberg Law vs Intelligize+ AI: how they compare in 2026
Bloomberg Law and Intelligize+ AI both put generative AI over securities and transactional research. Bloomberg Law is a full legal research platform with 75 million EDGAR filings, and Intelligize+ AI is a LexisNexis product built on more than 17 million SEC filings. Intelligize+ AI sits in the top two bands on twelve of fifteen axes and Bloomberg Law on nine of fifteen, identical on nine. Intelligize+ AI leads on contract terms. The LexisNexis general terms bar training any large language model on prompts and files, require advance notice before compelled disclosure, and indemnify customers against infringement claims outside the liability cap. Bloomberg Law's lead is its own citator, BCITE, which reports whether a holding is still good law, and a documented rule that its AI abstains when no content covers a question. Its privacy policy collects search history and describes advertising uses of collected data, without saying whether research inside the product is excluded. Neither publishes a price, though Bloomberg Law states its flat, all inclusive charging model.
At a glance
All 15 axes, side by side
The same grid applied to every vendor in the index, graded from public sources. Hover a grade to see what the letter means on that axis.
AI Centrality
How much of the product is actually AI. Whether the machine learning is the mechanism the buyer is paying for or a feature layered onto conventional software, and whether the vendor is specific about which is which.
The machine learning is deep, long-standing and genuinely load-bearing for several tools, and the product it serves is a legal publishing business that stands without it. The vendor's own framing settles it: its approach page lists differentiated content as one of four pillars and says plainly that the AI does not generate answers on its own but looks through a large collection of vetted information. Strip the models out and 15.5 million court opinions, 200 million dockets, 5 million statutes and regulations, 8,200 practical guidance documents and a legal newsroom remain, which is the product Bloomberg has sold since 2009. What would not survive is a real set of tools rather than a veneer, and that is why this is not lower: BCITE, Docket Key, Points of Law and Litigation Analytics are built by machine learning and do not exist without it. The flat all-inclusive subscription reinforces the reading, since a buyer does not purchase the AI separately or meter it. Graded level with Docket Alarm and one band below UniCourt, where the machine-derived dataset is the whole deliverable rather than an access layer over one.
The AI is a core layer on a research platform that still works without it. Protégé carries the product's new capabilities: multi-turn questions across SEC filings, peer benchmarking, structured comparison tables and grounded first drafts. The AI page states that traditional Boolean and conceptual search remain available, and the filings database, tagging, filters and redlining that Intelligize was built on function without the models. Verified 22 September 2026.
Citation Accuracy and Hallucination Disclosure
Whether the vendor publishes measured accuracy on citations and assertions, grounds output to primary sources, and says plainly what its system does when it does not know. Legal has a documented public record of fabricated citations reaching filed briefs, so an untested claim of accuracy is not evidence.
Three of the four things this axis asks for are published and the fourth, the measurement, is not. Grounding is documented with an architecture attached: the vendor names retrieval-augmented generation alongside a proprietary guardrail service, states that generated content is grounded in its own expert-written or primary source material rather than the internet at large, and says Bloomberg Law Answers provides citations and links to the supporting authorities used in producing an answer, with inline citations offering one-click verification. Citation status is checked, which almost nothing else in this pull can say: BCITE is the platform's own citator and reports whether a holding is still valid law. The system states when it has no support, abstaining where no content covers the topic or the query is outside legal scope. What is absent is any number. The page describes an extensive benchmarking process with former attorneys evaluating accuracy from development through beta and into the life of the product, and no result, test set, sample size or error rate from that process was located on 31 Aug 2026. The gap is sharper than a simple omission, because the same page commits the vendor to providing customers with clear documentation of the benchmarking and validation process for its AI, and no such documentation was found. To the vendor's credit it states directly that AI responses are never fully trustworthy and pose a hallucination risk, and advises customers to validate answers against primary sources.
Grounding is described and checkable. The AI page states that the product uses a proprietary retrieval-augmented approach to ground responses in authoritative sources, with links to supporting citations, and that users can review the specific SEC filings behind each result and examine the search logic used to build the analysis. No accuracy figures, test set or error rate are published, and the LexisNexis general terms state that AI systems may not be accurate or error-free. Verified 22 September 2026.
Autonomy and Oversight Model
What the system decides on its own, what a lawyer must approve, and whether the vendor documents where the review point sits. A tool that drafts under review and a tool that files without one are different products and different risks.
The design posture is stated in a sentence most vendors would not write: the vendor says it wants its AI to make the job easier, not to do it for the user, and describes a deliberate building-block approach addressing one task at a time rather than producing the end work product. Real control surfaces sit behind that. Answers carry inline citations with one-click verification to the source, the abstention behavior is documented with two named triggers, all generative tools are beta tested before release, and customers are advised to validate responses against primary sources and use their own judgment. What is not published, checked across the approach-to-AI page, the AI product page and both agreements on 31 Aug 2026: nothing describes what happens after an answer proves wrong, no correction or error-reporting route is documented, and no confidence threshold or configuration is exposed. The gap matters most on Deep Thinking, described by the vendor as automatically planning and executing multi-step research across its content before synthesising results, which is the least supervised thing on the platform and has no described checkpoint between the request and the finished answer.
Review is placed on the user in writing and supported by real surfaces. The LexisNexis general terms that govern the product make users responsible for verifying any information the AI provides; the AI page shows the sources and search logic behind each result, describes output as first drafts, and offers a customer research team to help validate findings; and the product states its AI is developed with human oversight. No threshold, categorical limit on use without review, or account of what happens when an answer is wrong is published. Verified 22 September 2026.
Operational and Outcome Evidence
Named, dated evidence that the product works in production at real firms or legal departments. Case studies with figures and identified customers count. Unattributed testimonials and launch announcements do not.
Testimonials stand in for measurement. The pricing page carries three quotes, and one is better than most in this pull because it names an organization and describes an outcome: a corporate counsel at Synovos, Inc. says the platform let the team pull state summaries of laws and regulations without calling outside counsel, reducing tens of calls on minor issues and so reducing annual legal fees. That is a real deployment account with a real effect, and it has no figure, no timeframe and no date attached. The other two are attributed only by role and segment, a practice area leader in small law and a partner in large law, and both speak to the flat-fee pricing rather than to outcomes. Searched the home page, the AI product page, the approach-to-AI page, the pricing page and the site navigation on 31 Aug 2026 and located no case study with a stated method, no customer count, no named law firm, and no quantified result of any kind. The solutions pages for law firms, in-house, government and law schools were not opened and are the most likely home for anything stronger.
Named customers without measured results. The case studies page carries five named, dated studies from January and February 2024, covering Uniqus, Lightbridge, Accel Entertainment, Compensation Advisory Partners and Cohen & Company, describing how they use the research platform; all predate the AI and state no figures. Named testimonials run across the site, including one from Resideo recommending Intelligize+ AI itself, and the company claims to serve nearly 60 percent of the Fortune 500, 87 percent of the Am Law 100 and all of the Big Four accounting firms, without a basis. No outcome of the AI features is measured anywhere. Verified 22 September 2026.
Privilege and Confidentiality Posture
How client confidences are handled: attorney client privilege and work product treatment, segregation of one client matter from another, whether client data trains any model, and what the vendor commits to in writing rather than in marketing.
The documents are detailed, readable before signing, and what they disclose about research activity is the concern rather than the reassurance. The privacy policy states that the information collected includes user content, usage information, browsing history and search history, along with reading habits and inferences drawn to create a profile reflecting a user's preferences and behavior. It then describes an advertising regime over that material: creation of lookalike or matched audiences for targeted advertising on social platforms, sharing of a hashed email address with third-party advertising companies, and Sharing for cross-contextual behavioral advertising under California and Virginia law, with opt-outs offered. The policy applies to the marketing site and to the products together and does not say whether in-product search history is carved out of any of it, which is the ambiguity a litigator would need resolved, because the cases and statutes a lawyer searches disclose the matter. Alongside that, the subscription terms state that the site is not designed or intended as a repository of personally identifiable or health-related information and give no warranty as to how such information would be held, and reserve a right to audit and monitor use of the services. Real commitments do exist and are graded here: a subpoena notice undertaking, Standard Contractual Clauses and an intra-group data protection agreement, data centers stated to be dedicated to the vendor's own operations. What is missing is the whole confidentiality core: no statement either way on training with customer input, no retention period, no segregation model between users or matters, and no privilege or work product treatment anywhere.
Contractual commitments on the points that matter most. The LexisNexis general terms, effective 5 June 2026, warrant that prompts and files submitted to the AI services will not be used to train any large language model and will be treated at least to the standard of confidential information, and the confidentiality clause requires advance notice before any disclosure compelled by law so the customer can seek a protective order. The AI page adds that the generative AI runs in a privately hosted environment and is never shared with third parties. Nothing addresses privilege or work product by name, or separation between matters or users. Verified 22 September 2026.
UPL and Professional Responsibility Posture
Whether the vendor is clear that it supplies a tool rather than legal advice, who its audience is, and how it addresses unauthorized practice of law, competence and supervision duties, and jurisdiction limits. ABA Formal Opinion 512 is the reference point. Where the advice line is not the duty a product raises, the axis is read through the nearest professional duty it does raise: judicial conduct rules and the reviewing duty for products sold only to courts, and the duty to bill for time actually spent for products that draft time entries.
A clear advice-line position, published twice and reinforced outside the contract. Both the website terms and the subscription terms of service carry a capitalized clause stating that none of the services constitutes actual legal advice, opinion or recommendation, that a competent professional should be sought where legal assistance is required, that the user assumes all responsibility for decisions, conclusions and opinions reached as a result of using the services, and that no attorney-client relationship is formed with the vendor or any content supplier. Who may use the product is defined rather than assumed: the terms require a user to be eighteen, a member of a professional, business or academic community whose primary purpose is professional research, working in a court, government agency, corporation or similar entity, or enrolled as a law or business student, and exclude bots outright. The competence and supervision dimension appears where a buyer will actually read it, on the public approach-to-AI page, which advises customers to validate responses against primary sources and use their best judgment and says the AI is meant to make the job easier rather than do it. Two things hold this short of the top: no bar or ethics guidance is named anywhere, including ABA Formal Opinion 512, and no jurisdictional limit on the product's answers is stated.
A product-wide disclaimer with a verification duty attached. The LexisNexis general terms state that the online services are not legal, accounting, financial or other professional advice or a substitute for an attorney or accountant, and the AI services clause adds that AI is not a substitute for independent professional advice and that users are responsible for verifying what it provides. Nothing addresses a lawyer's own professional obligations when relying on the output, and no jurisdiction or ethics guidance is named. Verified 22 September 2026.
AI Governance and Bias Disclosure
Published governance over model behavior: who owns it inside the vendor, what is tested before release, and what is disclosed about disparate output across matter types, parties, or populations.
A published framework with a described mechanism behind it, and no results and no bias work at all. The approach-to-AI page, last modified 18 June 2026, sets out four pillars and puts substance under the accuracy one: retrieval-augmented generation plus a proprietary guardrail service, generative output grounded in vetted first-party or primary material rather than the open internet, beta testing of every generative tool before release, and an accuracy evaluation carried out with former attorneys running from development through internal testing, beta and customer testing and onward through the life of the product, with continuous tuning against model drift. It commits to documenting where and when the products use generative AI, the sources the AI uses, and the benchmarking and validation process. That is a mechanism a buyer can ask about, not a set of principles. What is not there is the other half of this axis. No accountable owner inside the vendor is named. No testing result is published, so the benchmarking commitment is unredeemed by anything located on 31 Aug 2026. And nothing addresses bias or uneven output, across matter types, jurisdictions or populations, on a platform whose analytics profile named judges, attorneys and firms. The trust center carries a document titled AI Frequently Asked Questions whose contents were not read and which is the most likely place for any of this.
A published framework connected to the product. The AI page links the RELX Responsible AI Principles and restates them for Intelligize+ AI: development with transparency, accountability and human oversight, prioritizing privacy, reducing bias and maintaining data governance throughout development. The LexisNexis trust center adds AI entries on training data and bias, AI monitoring, the EU AI Act and an AI system development and evaluation policy. No accountable owner for this product, pre-release test results or bias findings are published. Verified 22 September 2026.
AI Safety and Data Stewardship
Retention, deletion, access control, and what happens to prompts and documents after they are processed. Whether the vendor states its subprocessors and its incident practice, or leaves the buyer to assume.
Most of the ground is covered in public, with the retention period the notable hole. The privacy policy, updated 9 July 2026, states that personal information is kept on secure servers under administrative, technical, personnel and physical measures, and sets out how long it is held by naming the criteria rather than a number: the time needed for the collection purpose, whether the user has stopped using the products, the existence of relevant legal proceedings, and legal or regulatory requirements. Its intra-group statement is more specific than most, describing a personal data governance program, a maintained data map inventory documenting flows within the vendor's systems and disclosures to third-party systems, ongoing monitoring and testing of safeguards, company-wide privacy training, and data centers stated to be dedicated solely to the vendor's own products and operations with monitored access controls. Standard Contractual Clauses and an intra-group data protection agreement cover cross-border transfer, and additional processing terms including SCCs are made available where the vendor acts as processor. The trust center adds data erasure, backups, access monitoring, least privilege and logging as named control areas, and publishes a full responsible disclosure policy with a reporting address and stated expectations on both sides. Missing: no retention period for anything, no subprocessor named on any page read, and no breach notification commitment located.
Most of the ground is covered through the parent. The LexisNexis trust center, linked from the product footer, publishes controls for encryption, access monitoring, data erasure, breach notification, designated incident responders, penetration testing and business continuity; the general terms warrant no training on AI inputs, allow a file of customer data to be returned on request up to 60 days after termination, and then permit its deletion. Two gaps remain: no retention period is stated for prompts or files during the subscription, and the LexisNexis Legal & Professional subprocessor list, last updated 17 September 2026, names subprocessors for many LexisNexis products but not for Intelligize. Verified 22 September 2026.
AI Liability and Recourse
What the vendor stands behind contractually when its output is wrong. Indemnities, caps, carve outs, insurance, and whether any of it is published or only reachable through a negotiated agreement.
The allocation is published in full, is precise, and runs almost entirely one way. The subscription terms of service, updated November 2025, cap aggregate liability at 500 dollars regardless of the form of action, disclaim all express and implied warranties including merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose and non-infringement, provide the services as is and as available, and state that the vendor does not guarantee the accuracy, correctness, completeness or timeliness of the services. One exclusion is written for this product class specifically and is worth a buyer's attention: liability is excluded for any inability or failure to perform legal or other research or related work, or to perform it properly or completely, even where assisted by the vendor. The terms also place the burden squarely, saying the user is solely responsible for the accuracy and adequacy of the data used and the resulting output, and impose a one-year limitation period on any action. Governing law is Virginia with exclusive jurisdiction in Arlington County. The only carve-out from the cap is death or personal injury from negligence where the law forbids limiting it. Nothing runs toward the customer: no indemnity, no warranty on output, no AI-specific liability term. The trust center lists a certificate of liability document, which was not read and is the one route to an insurance position.
Recourse is real but partial. The LexisNexis general terms give an indemnity and defense against third-party patent, copyright, trademark and trade secret claims arising from use of the service, which sits outside the liability cap; otherwise liability is capped at the lesser of direct damages or the fees paid in the preceding 12 months. AI output is left to the user: the terms say AI systems may not be accurate, make users responsible for verifying what they receive, and disclaim accuracy of reports generated from customer files. Verified 22 September 2026.
Practice Systems Integration Depth
How deeply the product reaches into the systems legal work already lives in: document management such as iManage and NetDocuments, Word and Outlook, contract lifecycle management, matter management, e-billing, and court filing systems.
Integrations are named in passing and nowhere documented. Two are identifiable: Bloomberg Law Contract Solutions is described in the vendor's own newsroom as integrating with Microsoft Word alongside a centralized contract repository, and the subscription terms carry a special provision for users who reach Bloomberg Law through the Bloomberg Professional service, meaning the Terminal, whose own agreement then governs. Beyond that, nothing. Checked the full primary navigation covering products, solutions, insights, events and about, the AI product page, the approach-to-AI page and the site footer on 31 Aug 2026: there is no integrations page, no developer or API documentation, and no named connection to a document management system, matter management, e-billing or court filing. Dashboard Legal is offered as a project management and collaboration product rather than as a bridge into systems a firm already runs. This is the least well evidenced row on this record and the limit is worth naming: the Contract Solutions and workflow tools product pages were not opened, and either could carry integration detail that would move this grade.
A real data API, documented for customers. The API page describes delivering SEC filings, comment letters, ESG reports and M&A data into customer portals, dashboards, internal websites, CRM products and matter management tools, with API documentation and a developer advocate team for implementation. No named connector to a specific document, matter or reporting system is listed, and the documentation itself is not public. Verified 22 September 2026.
Deployment Model and Data Residency
Where the software runs and where the data sits. Multi tenant cloud, single tenant, private deployment, on premises, and whether region of residence is a published option or an enterprise conversation.
One infrastructure statement, no product deployment position. The privacy policy's intra-group data protection statement says the vendor's data centers are dedicated solely to its own products, services and operations and have secure and monitored access controls, which is more than the cloud-by-implication most of this lane offers and is the reason this is not lower. Cross-border movement is acknowledged rather than hidden: the policy states that uses and disclosures may involve transferring and processing personal information in various countries with differing levels of protection, including the United States, and that Standard Contractual Clauses and an intra-group agreement identifying exporters and importers are used as safeguards. What is not published anywhere located on 31 Aug 2026: no region or residency option for a customer to select, no tenancy model for the platform, no distinction between where processing happens and where data is stored, and no statement of where the generative features run. The trust center lists a data center item whose contents were not read. The statements that do exist sit in an annex about personal data protection rather than in any product or security material a buyer would be pointed to.
Cloud, with little else stated. The product is delivered online through a customer login, the AI page says the generative AI runs in a privately hosted environment, and the LexisNexis trust center lists Amazon Web Services as infrastructure. No region, residency option, tenancy model or processing location for Intelligize is published. Verified 22 September 2026.
Security Certifications and Trust Center
Independent attestation a buyer can pull without a sales call: SOC 2, ISO 27001, penetration test summaries, a trust center with current reports and named scope rather than a badge image.
A trust center that is easy to find and thin on the one detail that makes an attestation an attestation. Every Bloomberg Law page footer links to it directly, under the label Trust and Security, with a product identifier in the URL, which is a materially better position than the unlinked parent portals seen elsewhere in this lane. The portal is a SafeBase instance reachable without a sales conversation and its document set is the richest located in this pull: a penetration test report, a security whitepaper, SOC 1 and SOC 2, a SIG Lite self-assessment, a certificate of liability, a business continuity management system document and an AI frequently asked questions document, alongside named control areas across product security, access control, application security, network security, business continuity and training, and a responsible disclosure policy published in full. What is missing is the substance of the attestation. SOC 1 and SOC 2 are named without a Type, no auditor is identified, no coverage period or report date is given, and no scope statement was located. Documents are split into public and private with an access request whose tier the portal does not state. One retrieval note: the overview section returned on fetch on 31 Aug 2026 described the group's tax and accounting software rather than Bloomberg Law, most likely because the product selector resolves in the browser, so it is recorded as a limit rather than graded.
Named attestations through the parent's trust center, with the product's coverage unstated. The product footer links the LexisNexis Trust Center, which lists SOC 2 Type 2, SOC 3, ISO/IEC 27001 with its statement of applicability, ISO 22301, SOC 1 Type 2, a HIPAA attestation and a penetration test report, with reports available by secure download. Its 2026 announcement of SOC 2 Type 2 and SOC 3 reports names Lexis, Lexis+ AI, Lexis+ with Protégé and CaseMap+, not Intelligize, so whether the product falls within scope is not stated. The trust center also publishes the company's own notice of a security matter affecting legacy, mostly pre-2020 customer contact and support data, stating that no customer client or matter information was involved. Verified 22 September 2026.
Model Supply Chain Disclosure
Which models sit underneath, whose they are, where they run, and whether the vendor commits to telling customers when that changes. A legal buyer inherits every dependency it cannot see.
The architecture is described and the providers are not, which is the shape this band exists for. What is published: retrieval-augmented generation named as the framework, a proprietary guardrail service named as the layer over it, an explicit statement that generation is grounded in the vendor's own expert-written and primary source content rather than the internet at large, and a statement that its large language models train on that specialized content. The vendor also describes the wider technology base, naming machine learning, natural language processing, information retrieval, recommendation systems and large language models, and says Bloomberg Industry Group employs hundreds of AI researchers and engineers who publish research annually. What a buyer cannot learn from anything located on 31 Aug 2026: whether any third-party foundation model sits underneath and whose, since the phrase used throughout is our large language models without stating they are first-party; no model name or version; no processing location for inference; no subprocessor named; and no commitment to notify customers when the model or its training data changes. The trust center carries a subprocessors item and an AI FAQ, neither of which was read, and either could name what is missing here.
Placement is described; the model is not. The AI page says the generative AI runs in a privately hosted environment, is never shared with third parties, and uses a proprietary retrieval approach. No model, version or provider is named for Intelligize+ AI, the LexisNexis general terms say AI services may be proprietary or supplied by a third-party provider, and no commitment to notify customers of a model change is published. Verified 22 September 2026.
Commercial Transparency
Whether a buyer can learn what this costs without entering a sales process: published rates, the unit being charged, what sits behind an enterprise tier, and what implementation adds.
The shape of the deal is published and the number is not. The charging model is stated clearly and repeatedly, and it is real information in a market where competitors meter: one platform at one price, flat and all-inclusive, with unlimited access rather than per-search or per-document charges. The pricing page makes the consequence explicit through a customer quote, that flat all-inclusive pricing means occasional use of a tool carries no additional expense, and the request form splits the purchase into two named lines, Bloomberg Law Research and Bloomberg Law Dashboard Legal. That is where disclosure stops. Searched the pricing page, the getting-started entry, the AI product page and the full navigation on 31 Aug 2026 and located no figure at any level, no unit of charge, no tier names or feature splits, no term length and no statement of what implementation adds. Every route to a number is a form: the primary navigation item is Request Pricing and the page it opens is a lead capture form. The firm-size bands in that form, from solo through fifty or more practitioners, imply price varies with headcount, but they are form fields rather than a published band structure.
Checked the home page, the AI, API and solution pages and the request-a-trial route on 22 September 2026. No price, tier or unit of charge is published; access starts with a trial or demo request. Verified 22 September 2026.
Firm and Practice Coverage
Who the product is actually built for. AmLaw, midlaw, small firm and solo, in house departments, government and courts, and which practice areas are supported rather than merely claimed.
Segments are documented and the boundary is not. Four buyer segments each have a dedicated solution page, covering law firms, in-house counsel, government and law schools, and the government page states unlimited access to state and federal coverage. The organization types the vendor sells to are enumerated in its own forms as law firm, tax and accounting firm, corporation, nonprofit or association, consulting firm, education institution and government, with firm size bands from solo to fifty or more practitioners. Content coverage is quantified with unusual precision for this lane: more than 15.5 million court opinions growing by around 50,000 a month, roughly 200 million dockets with more than 21 million associated pleadings, more than 5 million codified statutes and regulations, 75 million EDGAR filings and more than 8,200 practical guidance documents, with Docket Key classifying over 200 motion and brief types across all federal district courts and Chart Builders supporting state-by-state rule comparison. What is absent is any statement of where it stops. No practice area list with supported and unsupported areas, no jurisdiction-by-jurisdiction coverage table, no statement of state court depth, and no acknowledgment of a gap anywhere. Checked the home page, the four solution page descriptions in the navigation, the AI product page and the approach-to-AI page on 31 Aug 2026.
Four buyer segments each have their own page: public companies, private companies preparing for an IPO, law firms advising on SEC compliance, disclosure drafting and transactions, and accounting and consulting firms. The scope is set by the corpus, which covers SEC filings and correspondence, US and international accounting standards, ESG reporting and M&A data. What the product does not cover is not stated. Verified 22 September 2026.
The 12 legal signals, side by side
Recorded rather than graded. These are the questions a practitioner has to answer before a tool touches a client matter, and the answers are taken from public material only.
Client Data in Training
Can material a lawyer puts into this product be used to train a model?
No located term or policy states whether customer input is used to train or refine any model, either way. The privacy policy lists improving, upgrading or enhancing the products and developing new ones among its purposes for collected information, which covers the ground without naming training. The approach-to-AI page says the vendor's large language models train on its own specialized content, meaning its court opinions, guidance and news, and says nothing about customer material.
The asymmetry is explicit in the agreement: the subscription terms prohibit a customer from using product content in prompts or for training, tuning or incorporating into any language model without the vendor's written consent, and define language model broadly enough to catch any generative system. The prohibition runs one way. Read 31 Aug 2026.
The LexisNexis general terms that govern Intelligize, effective 5 June 2026, warrant that prompts and files submitted to the AI services will not be used to train any large language model and will be treated at least as confidential information. The LexisNexis trust center states the same position as a policy.
Prompt and Output Retention
How long does the product keep what a lawyer typed, and can that be set to zero?
Retention is addressed with criteria instead of a period. The privacy policy states that personal information is kept for as long as necessary for the described purposes and legitimate business reasons, and names four factors used to set the window: the time needed to achieve the collection purpose, whether the user has stopped using the products, the existence of relevant legal proceedings, and legal or regulatory requirements.
Search history and user content are expressly within the categories collected, so questions put to the AI features fall inside this framework, but no period attaches to them and no customer-configurable or zero-retention setting is offered. The subscription terms point the other way on uploads, stating the vendor has no obligation to retain or store user generated content. Checked the privacy policy, both agreements and the approach-to-AI page on 31 Aug 2026.
The general terms let the customer request a file of its data before or within 60 days after termination, after which LexisNexis may delete it; the trust center lists a data erasure control. No retention period for prompts, outputs or files during the subscription, and no zero-retention setting, is stated for Intelligize.
Ethical Walls and Matter Segregation
Does retrieval respect the firm’s ethical walls, or can the model read across them?
Nothing addresses walls or matter-level separation, and one published provision runs against the idea. The privacy policy states that personal information may be disclosed to the party who authorized the user's access, naming the employer or educational institution, which means a subscribing firm is a potential recipient of information about what its own users did rather than a party walled off from it. The subscription terms treat each registration as single-user and require credentials to be kept confidential, which is account hygiene rather than a permission model.
Searched the privacy policy, both agreements, the trust center landing page, the AI product page and the approach-to-AI page on 31 Aug 2026 and located no statement on separation between customer organizations, no access model within a subscribing firm, and no matter-level concept anywhere in the product.
Checked the Intelligize home, AI and API pages, the LexisNexis general terms and the LexisNexis trust center on 22 September 2026. Nothing addresses separation between matters, clients or users within a customer's account.
Third Party Request and Subpoena Notice
If someone subpoenas the vendor for a firm’s data, does the firm hear about it first?
A real notice commitment, published and qualified. The privacy policy addresses disclosure to unaffiliated third parties in response to a subpoena, court order or other legal process, and states that in such an event the vendor will use reasonable efforts to give the user reasonably prompt written notice so the user has an opportunity to comment or object and to preserve the confidential nature of the information, and to cooperate at the user's expense with the user's efforts to do so.
That is the substance this signal asks for. Three qualifications a buyer should carry: the undertaking is reasonable efforts rather than an unconditional commitment, cooperation is at the user's cost, and the subscription terms contain a separate provision reserving the right to use and disclose information obtained from or input by the user as part of any legal process or as required by law, with no notice attached, which nothing reconciles. No transparency report was located on 31 Aug 2026.
The confidentiality clause of the LexisNexis general terms allows disclosure required by law, regulation or court order only with advance notice to the other party so that it can seek a protective order, and the terms apply that confidentiality standard to prompts and files submitted to the AI services.
Primary Law Corpus Provenance
Where does the law in this product come from, and does the vendor have the right to use it?
The corpus is identified by type and quantified in detail, with the rights basis unstated. Published figures cover more than 15.5 million court opinions growing by around 50,000 a month, roughly 200 million dockets with more than 21 million associated pleadings, more than 5 million codified statutes and regulations, 75 million EDGAR filings and more than 8,200 practitioner-written guidance documents, so both the primary law and the vendor's own editorial layer are described and a cadence is given for the opinions.
No upstream supplier is named. The privacy policy refers only to third party data suppliers as a category, and discloses something a buyer should note in passing: the databases available to registered users contain public records, publicly available information and non-public information from those suppliers. The subscription terms acknowledge third-party content providers whose own rules attach to their material without identifying any. No license, public domain basis or rights statement for any part of the corpus was located on 31 Aug 2026.
The sources are named: more than 17 million SEC filings, over 450,000 SEC comment letters and responses, more than 28,000 ESG reports, M&A data, FASB, PCAOB, AICPA and IFRS accounting standards, SEC regulations and guidance, news, earnings call transcripts and law and accounting firm guidance. How the licensed material is licensed, and how current each source is kept, is not described.
Good Law Verification
Does the product tell you when the authority it just cited has been overruled?
The platform operates its own citator and says how it is built. BCITE is described as Bloomberg Law's court opinion citator, using machine learning and natural language processing to let a user determine quickly whether the holding of an opinion is still valid law. That is a first-party treatment signal with a stated method rather than a licensed commercial citator or a prompt telling the reader to go and check. The description is where the disclosure ends: no coverage statement for which courts or date ranges BCITE treats, no accuracy or error rate, no explanation of how a treatment determination is reached beyond naming the techniques, and nothing published on whether the generative features surface BCITE status alongside authority they cite. Read 31 Aug 2026.
Checked the Intelligize home, AI and API pages on 22 September 2026. The product cites SEC filings and accounting and regulatory guidance; nothing addresses whether a cited rule, standard or piece of guidance has been superseded or amended.
Refusal and Uncertainty Behavior
What does the product do when the answer is not in the corpus?
An abstention path is documented with its triggers named. The vendor states that the Bloomberg Law Answers and AI Assistant features will abstain from answering when there is no available content covering the topic in question, or when the query falls outside legal scope. It sets that alongside an unusually direct acknowledgment that AI-generated responses are never fully trustworthy and carry a hallucination risk, and advice that customers validate responses against primary sources.
What is not published is any demonstration: no worked example of a refusal, no evaluation or measurement of how often the behavior fires or fails, and no confidence or grounding score surfaced to the user. Documented rather than demonstrable on that basis, checked 31 Aug 2026.
Checked the Intelligize home and AI pages and the LexisNexis general terms on 22 September 2026. Results show their sources and search logic, but no confidence indicator or path in which the assistant declines a question the filings do not answer is described.
Fabricated Citation Record
Does a public court record exist addressing fabricated or hallucinated legal citations in output from this product?
No court order, opinion or disciplinary record naming this product has been located as of 31 Aug 2026. Instrument searched: the AI Hallucination Cases database maintained by Damien Charlotin, which tracks decisions worldwide where a court addressed hallucinated AI content and records the tool implicated where known, searched on the product name and the publisher's name, alongside 2026 sanctions trackers, law library commentary and trade press.
This is a statement about the public record on the date shown rather than a clearance, and it is bounded by what that database covers. Two appearances should be distinguished from a hit, since the name recurs constantly in this literature: practitioner guidance repeatedly names Bloomberg Law as one of the databases against which a citation should be verified, and the vendor's own newsroom covers the sanctions phenomenon as a reporting subject.
Searched the AI Hallucination Cases database maintained by Damien Charlotin on 22 September 2026 for Intelligize, and no recorded case was returned. No court order, opinion or disciplinary record naming the product was located. This is a statement about the public record rather than a finding about the product.
Bar Guidance Alignment
Has the vendor engaged in public with the ethics opinions its buyers are bound by?
Searched the approach-to-AI page, the AI product page, the about page, the pricing page, both agreements, the privacy policy and the trust center landing page on 31 Aug 2026. No bar or ethics authority is engaged with anywhere in the vendor's product or policy material, including ABA Formal Opinion 512 and any state bar guidance, and nothing maps the product to a professional conduct obligation a firm could hand to its risk committee.
The advice-line disclaimers in both agreements and the validation guidance on the approach-to-AI page are the vendor stating its own position rather than addressing the rules its buyers are bound by, and neither cites the guidance those rules come from. One distinction worth drawing, because it cuts the other way superficially: Bloomberg Law's newsroom covers legal ethics and AI sanctions extensively as an editorial subject, which is journalism about the guidance rather than the product being measured against it.
The LexisNexis general terms state that the services are not legal or other professional advice or a substitute for an attorney, and that AI is not a substitute for independent professional advice. No bar or ethics opinion is named on the Intelligize estate.
Billing and Fee Posture
Does the vendor address what happens to the bill when the work takes an hour instead of six?
Efficiency claims without a word on the client's side of the bill. The vendor's material is built around time and cost saved: AI applications that help customers maximize efficiency and complete research faster, summarization to speed consumption of news and research, and a flat all-inclusive subscription pitched on the basis that occasional use of a tool costs nothing extra. A customer quote on the pricing page goes further, describing reduced annual legal fees from fewer calls to outside counsel.
Searched the pricing page, the AI product page, the approach-to-AI page and both agreements on 31 Aug 2026 and located no per matter record of AI-assisted work intended for fee purposes, and no guidance on billing, fee or client disclosure treatment where an AI answer informs advice. The flat pricing model does remove the disbursement question that metered research platforms create, which is adjacent to this signal without meeting it.
Checked the Intelligize home, AI, API and law firm pages on 22 September 2026. No savings figures are claimed for the AI, and nothing addresses how law or accounting firms bill or disclose AI-assisted research to their clients.
Outside Counsel Guideline Readiness
Can a firm get this vendor through a client’s AI clause without a bespoke negotiation?
The artifacts a firm would need are cataloged on the trust center and their contents could not be established from outside. The portal, linked from every product page footer and reachable without a sales conversation, lists a subprocessors entry, a data processing agreement, a data subject requests entry, a security whitepaper, a SIG Lite self-assessment and a document titled AI Frequently Asked Questions. None of those rendered its contents on fetch on 31 Aug 2026, no subprocessor or model provider is named anywhere on the portal landing page or on any Bloomberg Law page, and the document library is split into public and private with a get-access request whose tier the portal does not state.
Recorded at the lower tier on that basis: the material demonstrably exists and is cataloged, and whether a firm can obtain it without an executed agreement is not stated. That is a better position than nothing published and short of a list a firm could forward to its client today.
The LexisNexis Legal & Professional subprocessor list, last updated 17 September 2026, names subprocessors product by product, including AI providers for several LexisNexis products, but has no entry for Intelligize, and no Intelligize-specific list or disclosure pack was located on the product site or in the trust center on 22 September 2026.
Court Disclosure Support
If a judge’s standing order requires an AI disclosure, can the product produce one?
Sources are traceable per answer and the AI provenance a standing order asks for is not recorded. The vendor commits that when generative AI provides an answer or suggests text it includes links to source material or an explanation of why it returned that result, that Bloomberg Law Answers provides citations and links to the supporting authorities used in producing an answer, and that inline citations offer one-click verification to source, so a lawyer can produce the authorities behind an answer and check each one.
It also commits to documenting where and when its products employ generative AI, which is the disclosure question at the platform level. What cannot be established: no model is identified or versioned anywhere, so which system produced a given passage is unknowable; nothing records who verified an answer; and no export designed for an AI-use disclosure or certification was located on 31 Aug 2026.
For work that ends in an SEC filing, the product shows the specific filings behind each result and the search logic used, and describes its research as traceable and suited to audit-ready and compliance-driven standards. No export of a record of AI involvement, model, sources and human check is described, and no disclosure guidance is published.
The questions both sides leave open
Derived from the records above rather than written, so it cannot favor either vendor. Take these into both conversations and ask each side the same question.
- Ethical Walls and Matter Segregation
Which one fits
Choose Bloomberg Law if
- You need to know whether an opinion still stands. Bloomberg Law's own citator, BCITE, uses machine learning to report whether a holding is still valid law, alongside Docket Key's classification of more than 200 motion and brief types across federal district courts.
- You want research that is not metered. Bloomberg Law sells one platform on a flat, all inclusive subscription with unlimited access rather than per search or per document charges, covering opinions, dockets, statutes, EDGAR filings and practical guidance.
- You want the AI to say when it cannot answer. Bloomberg Law states that Answers and AI Assistant abstain when no content covers a topic or a query falls outside legal scope, and link each answer to the authorities behind it.
Choose Intelligize+ AI if
- You draft and benchmark SEC disclosures. Intelligize+ AI searches more than 17 million SEC filings and 450,000 comment letters, and its Protégé assistant benchmarks disclosures across peer groups, builds comparison tables and drafts with links to the filings behind each result.
- You need the training bar and notice in the contract. The LexisNexis general terms warrant that prompts and files will not train any large language model, treat them as confidential, and require advance notice so you can seek a protective order before compelled disclosure.
- You want the data in your own systems. Intelligize+ AI offers an API delivering SEC filings, comment letters, ESG reports and M&A data into portals, dashboards and matter management tools, with documentation and a developer advocate team.
In summary
Bloomberg Law
Bloomberg Law, published by Bloomberg Industry Group of Arlington, Virginia, since 2009, is a legal research platform combining more than 15.5 million court opinions, about 200 million dockets, statutes and regulations, 75 million EDGAR filings and practical guidance with a legal newsroom. Its machine learning tools include the BCITE citator, Docket Key and Litigation Analytics, and its generative layer includes Answers, AI Assistant and Clause Adviser. The AI Legal Index grades it in the top two bands on nine of fifteen capability axes. It is sold on a flat, all inclusive subscription and links a trust center listing SOC 1 and SOC 2. As of 31 August 2026 the index located no price figure, training position or named model.
Intelligize+ AI
Intelligize+ AI is the AI enabled version of Intelligize, a LexisNexis platform for SEC disclosure, reporting and transactional research, covering more than 17 million SEC filings, comment letters, ESG reports, M&A data and accounting standards, with the Protégé assistant for multi turn questions, peer benchmarking, comparison tables and grounded drafts. The AI Legal Index grades it in the top two bands on twelve of fifteen capability axes. It runs under the LexisNexis general terms, which bar training on AI inputs and require notice before compelled disclosure, and offers an API. It names customers including Uniqus and Resideo. As of 22 September 2026 the index located no price or named model.
Questions buyers ask
Bloomberg Law vs Intelligize+ AI: which is better for securities research?
Intelligize+ AI sits in the top two bands on twelve of fifteen AI Legal Index capability axes and Bloomberg Law on nine of fifteen, identical on nine. Intelligize+ AI is focused on SEC filings and runs under LexisNexis terms that bar training and require notice before disclosure. Bloomberg Law is a broader research platform with its own citator and flat pricing. Securities specialists have more depth in Intelligize+ AI; generalists have more breadth in Bloomberg Law.
Does Bloomberg Law use search history for advertising?
Its privacy policy, updated 9 July 2026, lists search history and user content among the information it collects and describes advertising uses of collected information, including lookalike audiences and sharing hashed email addresses with advertising companies, with opt outs. It applies to the marketing site and the products together and does not say whether research inside Bloomberg Law is excluded. Graded by AI Legal Index against 15 capability axes and 12 legal signals, including privilege handling and citation accuracy, from each vendor's own published materials, verified September 27, 2026. No vendor pays for placement.
Do Bloomberg Law and Intelligize+ AI train AI on customer input?
The LexisNexis general terms governing Intelligize+ AI warrant that prompts and files submitted to its AI services will not be used to train any large language model. Bloomberg Law publishes no statement either way; its approach to AI page says its models train on its own content, and its privacy policy lists improving products among its purposes. Graded by AI Legal Index against 15 capability axes and 12 legal signals, including privilege handling and citation accuracy, from each vendor's own published materials, verified September 27, 2026. No vendor pays for placement.
How are Bloomberg Law and Intelligize+ AI priced?
Neither publishes a figure. Bloomberg Law states a flat, all inclusive subscription with unlimited access rather than per search charges, and its pricing form asks for firm size. Intelligize+ AI publishes no price, tier or unit, and access starts with a trial or demo request. Graded by AI Legal Index against 15 capability axes and 12 legal signals, including privilege handling and citation accuracy, from each vendor's own published materials, verified September 27, 2026. No vendor pays for placement.
What do Bloomberg Law and Intelligize+ AI both leave unpublished?
A measured accuracy figure and a named model. Neither publishes an accuracy or error rate for its generative answers, and neither names the model or provider behind them. Neither states where its AI processes requests or offers a region choice, and neither describes separation between matters or users inside a customer. Graded by AI Legal Index against 15 capability axes and 12 legal signals, including privilege handling and citation accuracy, from each vendor's own published materials, verified September 27, 2026. No vendor pays for placement.
Three readings to weigh. Bloomberg Law publishes no position on whether customer input trains its models, and its terms cap liability at $500. Intelligize+ AI relies on LexisNexis terms and its parent's trust center; the LexisNexis subprocessor list has no Intelligize entry and its 2026 SOC 2 announcement does not name the product. Neither names the model behind its generative features. Bloomberg Law was verified on 31 August 2026 and Intelligize+ AI on 22 September 2026. Neither vendor reviewed this page.
Neither vendor paid for inclusion, placement or a grade, and neither reviewed this page before it published. Everything above comes from public material on the dates shown. How the index grades.