ClaimMaster vs PatentPal: how they compare in 2026
ClaimMaster and PatentPal both help patent drafters turn claims into application text. ClaimMaster is a Word add in that proofreads claims and specifications and adds optional AI drafting, while PatentPal generates a specification, figures and abstract from the claims. ClaimMaster sits in the top two bands on nine of fifteen axes and PatentPal on four of fifteen, identical on three. ClaimMaster's lead is control over where client text goes. The software runs on the user's computer, sends text to a model only on command, and lets the customer choose OpenAI, Anthropic, its own Azure endpoint or a model running locally. It names those models, gives privilege waiver as its design reason, and publishes its tiers and discounts. PatentPal's counterweight is a short, clear data position. Its terms say patent documents are processed in memory on AWS in the United States and shared with no other third party. Its site has no product page, and both of its legal documents date from 2022.
At a glance
All 15 axes, side by side
The same grid applied to every vendor in the index, graded from public sources. Hover a grade to see what the letter means on that axis.
AI Centrality
How much of the product is actually AI. Whether the machine learning is the mechanism the buyer is paying for or a feature layered onto conventional software, and whether the vendor is specific about which is which.
The AI is an add-on layer on a product whose value stands without it, which is the C band. ClaimMaster's core is rule-based proofreading of claims, specifications and Office Action responses, template and NLP-based drafting of sections and flowcharts, Office Action shells, USPTO forms and patent data downloading, all of which run without a language model. The generative tools (drafting and rewriting text, figure descriptions, Office Action analysis and response generation, an LLM chat) come with the +Drafting and +Shells add-ons. Verified 18 September 2026.
The generation model is the entire product. PatentPal takes a set of claims and produces the specification language, the figures, the detailed description of each figure and the abstract, and there is nothing else in the offering: no repository, no search, no docketing, no matter management. The founder's own account on the About page describes the origin as writing the code for an initial summary generator and watching pages of writing appear at the push of a button. Remove the model and there is no product to sell, not a diminished one. Checked 4 September 2026.
Citation Accuracy and Hallucination Disclosure
Whether the vendor publishes measured accuracy on citations and assertions, grounds output to primary sources, and says plainly what its system does when it does not know. Legal has a documented public record of fabricated citations reaching filed briefs, so an untested claim of accuracy is not evidence.
Grounding is described without source links or measurement, which is the C band. The vendor says its drafting tools use a local workspace of selected document sections for retrieval-augmented generation, that example documents can be supplied to reduce hallucinations, and that users should review responses for factual correctness, especially at higher creativity settings. Output does not cite the source passages it drew on, and no accuracy figure or test is published. Verified 18 September 2026.
No accuracy content of any kind is published, and the only statement on the subject is a disclaimer. The terms of service state that PatentPal makes no guarantees or warranties on the outcome of a patent application or on the quality of its output including the generated language, and specifically do not warrant that the service will be accurate or reliable or error-free. There is no accuracy figure, no test set, no evaluation, no description of how generation is constrained, and hallucination is not addressed anywhere under any name. Nothing describes the relationship between the input claims and the generated specification, which is the grounding question for this product class and the one a drafter would most want answered, since generated support that does not match the claims creates written-description problems. The site inventory is the reason this cannot be softened: the navigation carries only About and an external Medium blog, so there is no product or technology page on which such material could sit. The Medium blog was not opened in this pass. Checked 4 September 2026.
Autonomy and Oversight Model
What the system decides on its own, what a lawyer must approve, and whether the vendor documents where the review point sits. A tool that drafts under review and a tool that files without one are different products and different risks.
A written commitment that the drafter controls every AI step, with real review surfaces, short of a threshold or constraint on output, which is the B band. The help pages say GPT features transmit data only on the user's explicit command and that the user controls exactly what is sent; the guided drafting workflow lets the user preview and edit generated text before it is inserted, with a creativity setting for each prompt. The user is the patent professional. R124(2) was applied: the explicit-command rule governs what data leaves the machine, not what the output may be used for. Verified 18 September 2026.
Autonomy is the selling point and oversight is asserted only through a legal disclaimer. The published framing is one-click generation, with the founder describing pages of writing produced at the push of a button, and the product's value proposition is that the drafter does not do this work. Against that, the terms place the whole burden on the user by three separate routes: no attorney-client relationship arises, output is not legal advice and is not a substitute for advice from a qualified attorney, and the service is used solely at the user's own risk. None of those describes a mechanism. Nothing published identifies a review point in the workflow, no confidence or uncertainty signal is described, nothing states which parts of a draft a professional must check, and nothing addresses what happens when generated support conflicts with the claims. The profile feature that tailors generated phrasing is a configuration control rather than a review surface.
Operational and Outcome Evidence
Named, dated evidence that the product works in production at real firms or legal departments. Case studies with figures and identified customers count. Unattributed testimonials and launch announcements do not.
Unattributed testimonials and scale claims stand in for evidence, which is the C band. The site quotes satisfied users and says thousands of customers use ClaimMaster globally, and a 2022 release claims 20 to 30 percent drafting time saved per application; no named firm, dated result or method was located on the surfaces read. Verified 18 September 2026.
No production evidence was located. What the About page publishes is investor and competition standing, not deployment: a financing round led by Foothill Ventures, first place among 190 Harvard-affiliated startups at the Harvard China Forum, top five among 43 at the Harvard New Venture Competition, and first place among 15 startups at Plug and Play. Those are credible third-party validations of the company and say nothing about how the product performs in a practice. No customer is named anywhere, no logo strip appears, no testimonial is published, no case study exists and no figure for time or cost saved is attached to anyone. One clause implies customers exist without identifying any: the privacy policy reserves the right to publicize that a user's company is a PatentPal customer, with an opt-out on request. The Medium blog was not opened in this pass and is the only remaining surface that could carry deployment material.
Privilege and Confidentiality Posture
How client confidences are handled: attorney client privilege and work product treatment, segregation of one client matter from another, whether client data trains any model, and what the vendor commits to in writing rather than in marketing.
Published commitments cover training, segregation, privilege, retention and the model provider position, which is the A band. The Security page says the add-in runs locally and never collects or transmits work product when proofreading, warrants that nothing is sent to a GPT service without the user's explicit direction, and gives the risk of waiving attorney-client privilege in cloud processing as the design reason. The help pages say GPT calls go straight from the user's computer to OpenAI or Azure OpenAI with no intermediate servers, that API data is not used to improve the models and is kept at most 30 days for abuse monitoring, that ClaimMaster has not opted in to data sharing and never will, and that private endpoints and fully local models are available. These commitments sit on published pages rather than in the EULA. Flagged for sampling. Verified 18 September 2026.
Two substantive commitments, both aimed squarely at the risk this product actually creates, and three limbs absent. The risk is that an unfiled invention disclosed to a third party can destroy novelty, and the terms address it directly on both fronts. Storage: the privacy policy states that patent documents are processed in memory and not otherwise stored, and neither the documents nor any content generated from them is retained except as necessary to provide the service. Third parties: both documents state that the contents of patent documents and any generated output are not shared with any third party other than for processing on Amazon Web Services, which is a direct answer to what an underlying provider may see and a stronger one than most subprocessor lists give. Processing is stated to occur wholly within the United States and to travel over HTTPS. What is missing holds it at B. Nothing addresses training on customer content in any form. Nothing addresses privilege or attorney work product, on a product handling unfiled applications. And segregation is covered only by a prohibition on sharing an account, with no role or permission model described.
UPL and Professional Responsibility Posture
Whether the vendor is clear that it supplies a tool rather than legal advice, who its audience is, and how it addresses unauthorized practice of law, competence and supervision duties, and jurisdiction limits. ABA Formal Opinion 512 is the reference point. Where the advice line is not the duty a product raises, the axis is read through the nearest professional duty it does raise: judicial conduct rules and the reviewing duty for products sold only to courts, and the duty to bill for time actually spent for products that draft time entries.
The audience is professional and the position on advice versus tooling is unstated, which is the C band (Reveal precedent). ClaimMaster is sold to patent attorneys, agents and paralegals; the EULA makes the user solely responsible for content created with the software, and the help pages tell users to review GPT responses for factual correctness. Nothing addresses competence or supervision duties, USPTO guidance on AI use, or jurisdiction. Verified 18 September 2026.
A real position is published on advice versus tooling, in a dedicated clause rather than buried in a warranty section. The terms carry a heading of its own, No Attorney-Client Relationship or Legal Advice, and state that the services are not provided as part of an attorney-client relationship, that using them does not give rise to one, and that information received does not constitute legal advice and is not a substitute for obtaining legal advice from a qualified attorney. That covers both limbs a patent drafting tool needs, since the product generates text that goes into a filed instrument. What is missing from the top band is the supervision and competence dimension and any statement of scope: nothing describes what a professional must check before filing, no rule of professional conduct or duty of candour to the patent office is named, no jurisdiction limit is stated although the product generates United States-style specification language, and nothing states who may use the service beyond a representation of authority to bind an entity.
AI Governance and Bias Disclosure
Published governance over model behavior: who owns it inside the vendor, what is tested before release, and what is disclosed about disparate output across matter types, parties, or populations.
No AI governance position was located, which is the D band. Searched the EULA, Security page, generative AI and drafting pages, help files and release notes on 18 September 2026. Nothing describes how the prompts and AI features are tested before release, who is accountable for them, or how output quality varies across technologies. Verified 18 September 2026.
No governance position is published for a system that writes text into filed patent applications. There is no responsible AI statement, no governance framework, no named owner accountable for model behavior, no description of evaluation or testing before release, no published results and nothing on bias. The site inventory makes the absence structural rather than an oversight of placement: the navigation carries About and an external blog only, and the two legal documents are the entire published estate, both dated 1 August 2022. Nothing in either addresses how the model is developed, monitored or corrected. Searched the About page, the terms of service and the privacy policy on 4 September 2026; the Medium blog was not opened.
AI Safety and Data Stewardship
Retention, deletion, access control, and what happens to prompts and documents after they are processed. Whether the vendor states its subprocessors and its incident practice, or leaves the buyer to assume.
Published practice covering most of the ground, short of an incident practice, which is the B band. The vendor holds no customer documents because the add-in runs locally; GPT calls go directly to the provider, whose API retention (30 days for abuse monitoring) and no-training terms are stated; API keys for private models are stored encrypted with Windows cryptography libraries; private Azure endpoints and local models remove the provider from the path. No breach notification or incident practice was located. Verified 18 September 2026.
Two limbs are genuinely well answered and the rest of the set is absent. Retention is addressed in specific technical terms, with patent documents processed in memory and not otherwise stored beyond what is necessary to provide the service, which for this product class is a stronger position than a stated period would be. Subprocessors are named rather than gestured at, and named by data type, which is unusual: account and website information may be shared with Amazon Web Services, Google, LinkedIn and Stripe, while the contents of patent documents go to no third party other than AWS, and payment data is handled by Stripe rather than stored. What is missing is most of the rest. Access control is described only as HTTPS in transit, with no encryption at rest stated, no multi-factor authentication, no role model and no logging. No incident or breach notification practice was located anywhere. There is no security page in the site inventory at all. Both documents carry an effective date of 1 August 2022, four years before this check, and the site footer still reads copyright 2022.
AI Liability and Recourse
What the vendor stands behind contractually when its output is wrong. Indemnities, caps, carve outs, insurance, and whether any of it is published or only reachable through a negotiated agreement.
A published warranty and cap, short of standing behind output, which is the B band. The EULA warrants that the software conforms to its specifications for one year, with repair, replacement or refund as the remedy, and caps liability at the amounts paid; it disclaims accuracy and makes the user solely responsible for content created with the software and for indemnifying ClaimMaster against misuse. Nothing addresses AI-generated text specifically. Verified 18 September 2026.
Liability is addressed only through a limitation clause, and the clause goes further than the usual one. The terms disclaim all warranties, expressly state that no guarantee or warranty is given on the outcome of a patent application or on the quality of the generated language, and record that the service is used solely at the user's own risk. The limitation itself excludes not only indirect, incidental, special, consequential and exemplary damages but direct damages as well, and does so without stating any cap, so there is no figure a buyer can point to as the floor of their recourse. No indemnity runs in either direction, and no insurance position was located. What keeps this off the bottom of the band is that the allocation is published, short, and readable in full before signing, and that the exposure the product creates is named rather than left implicit: the terms address the outcome of the patent application specifically, which is the loss a drafter actually fears.
Practice Systems Integration Depth
How deeply the product reaches into the systems legal work already lives in: document management such as iManage and NetDocuments, Word and Outlook, contract lifecycle management, matter management, e-billing, and court filing systems.
Real, documented integrations short of full depth, which is the B band. The product runs inside Microsoft Word, where drafting happens; its help file documents downloading of bibliographic data, file wrappers, family trees and PDFs from the USPTO Open Data Portal, Patent Center and EPO, and configuration of OpenAI, Azure OpenAI and local LLM endpoints. No docketing, document management or IP management system integration is described. Verified 18 September 2026.
No integration into practice systems was located on any first-party surface. There is no integrations page, no API reference and no developer documentation, and the site inventory is exhausted by About, an external Medium blog, a login and two legal documents. No document management system, IP management system, docketing platform or patent office filing interface is named anywhere. Export to Word and to Visio or PowerPoint is described consistently across third-party reviews and is plainly a real capability, but it appears on no first-party surface read and is in any case export rather than integration. The product is used through a separate application at draft.patentpal.com, and nothing describes how drafts move between it and the systems a firm already runs. The Medium blog was not opened in this pass and is named so the limit is visible. Checked 4 September 2026.
Deployment Model and Data Residency
Where the software runs and where the data sits. Multi tenant cloud, single tenant, private deployment, on premises, and whether region of residence is a published option or an enterprise conversation.
The deployment model and processing location are stated, short of regions for the vendor-supplied model access, which is the B band. The add-in installs on each user's Windows computer and processes documents locally; shared server installs need separate licenses; GPT calls go to OpenAI, to a customer's own Azure OpenAI endpoint, or to a model running on the user's machine. Where the complimentary model access provided to subscribers is hosted is not stated. Verified 18 September 2026.
Residency is stated plainly and tenancy is not addressed. The terms record that all data processing is done within the United States, and both the terms and the privacy policy identify Amazon Web Services as the environment in which patent documents are processed, with data sent over HTTPS. A country and a named infrastructure provider is a real residency position rather than a region label, and it is the limb that matters most to a buyer worried about where an unfiled invention travels. What is absent is the rest: nothing states whether the platform is single or multi-tenant, no dedicated or private option is offered, no AWS region is named, and nothing distinguishes where processing happens from where anything is stored, although the in-memory processing statement makes the storage question largely moot by design.
Security Certifications and Trust Center
Independent attestation a buyer can pull without a sales call: SOC 2, ISO 27001, penetration test summaries, a trust center with current reports and named scope rather than a badge image.
No independent security attestation was located, which is the D band. The Security page argues that local execution avoids cloud risk and describes encrypted key storage, but names no SOC 2 report, ISO certification or audit. Searched the Security page, help files, EULA and release notes on 18 September 2026. Verified 18 September 2026.
No independent security attestation was located, and no certification is claimed. There is no SOC 2, ISO or other framework named anywhere, no auditor, no report at any access tier including on request, no penetration testing mentioned, and no trust center or security page: the site navigation carries About and an external blog, and the footer carries the two legal documents and an email address. Because nothing is claimed, there is also nothing unsupported on display, which is why this rests on absence rather than on overclaiming. The only security-adjacent third-party evidence points at the host rather than the vendor: the terms direct the reader to Amazon's service terms, customer agreement and privacy notice and state that Amazon is similarly committed to data privacy, which is AWS's posture and does not travel to PatentPal. Checked About, terms, privacy policy and footer on 4 September 2026.
Model Supply Chain Disclosure
Which models sit underneath, whose they are, where they run, and whether the vendor commits to telling customers when that changes. A legal buyer inherits every dependency it cannot see.
Models, providers and where they run are named, short of a commitment to notify changes, which is the B band. The vendor names OpenAI GPT-5 and GPT-4o, Anthropic Claude 4.5, Azure OpenAI endpoints and local models such as gpt-oss, Llama 3 and Mistral through Ollama, and says cloud calls go directly from the user's computer to the provider with no intermediate servers. Model changes appear in release notes, but no notice of changes is committed. Verified 18 September 2026.
The vendor answers who does not touch the data and never says what does. Both published documents state that the contents of patent documents and any generated output are not shared with any third party other than for processing on Amazon Web Services, which read against the in-memory processing statement implies that generation runs on models PatentPal controls within its own AWS environment. That is a real negative disclosure and it is the half a patent drafter cares about most. The positive half is entirely absent: no model is named, no version or family is given, no third-party model or inference provider is identified, no AWS region or service is specified, and no commitment to notify customers if the model or its hosting changes was located. Naming the cloud says where the software runs, not whose model writes the specification. Both documents are dated 1 August 2022, which predates the current generation of language models, so even the implication rests on a four-year-old statement.
Commercial Transparency
Whether a buyer can learn what this costs without entering a sales process: published rates, the unit being charged, what sits behind an enterprise tier, and what implementation adds.
The unit and structure are published while the figures could not be read, which holds the row at the B band. The pricing page sets out tiers (Lite, QA, Pro, and Shells and Drafting add-ons) with feature splits, pricing per user per month billed monthly or annually with 20 percent off annually, volume discounts of 5, 10 and 15 percent by seat count, a 30-day full-feature trial and self-serve checkout. The price figures render client-side and were blank in the page as served; third-party listings carry figures and are not used. Verified 18 September 2026.
No pricing information is published at any level, including the unit of charge. There is no pricing page in the site inventory: the navigation carries About and an external Medium blog, and the footer carries the terms, the privacy policy and an email address. Nothing states whether charging is per seat, per application, per generation or per subscription period, and no figure, band or range appears anywhere. What the terms do establish is only the shape of the commercial relationship, not its cost: payment is required before the services start, for example at the beginning of each subscription period, all payments are non-refundable, and prices and payment terms may be updated at any time with changes applying prospectively. A trial and a price point are described in third-party software directories and reviews; those are not first-party and are not credited. No VendorPricing row is written, because nothing lifted this axis off the floor. Checked 4 September 2026.
Firm and Practice Coverage
Who the product is actually built for. AmLaw, midlaw, small firm and solo, in house departments, government and courts, and which practice areas are supported rather than merely claimed.
Users and technical coverage are described with substance, short of stated limits on the AI, which is the B band. ClaimMaster serves patent attorneys, agents and paralegals, supports drafting across electrical, software, mechanical and biochemical technologies, and builds its forms and shells for USPTO practice with EPO data downloads; it runs in Word on Windows, with separate licensing for shared servers. Where the generative tools perform less well is not stated. Verified 18 September 2026.
No coverage documentation was located. Nothing published describes who the product serves, what technology fields it handles, which jurisdictions its output is written for, or where it stops. The buyer is identifiable only by inference from the About page, which says the company builds software to auto-generate language for patent applications and describes the founder's background as a patent attorney, and from the terms, which contemplate agreement by a law firm, company or other entity. No segment page, no practice page, no firm size, no in-house or government treatment, and no statement of limits exists. The absence is structural rather than a matter of placement: with no product page anywhere in the site inventory, there is nowhere for coverage material to sit. This is one of the thinnest published estates in the corpus, and R20 applies: a thin site is a finding about the vendor rather than a limit on the researcher, since every page that exists was reached and read.
The 12 legal signals, side by side
Recorded rather than graded. These are the questions a practitioner has to answer before a tool touches a client matter, and the answers are taken from public material only.
Client Data in Training
Can material a lawyer puts into this product be used to train a model?
Published help pages state no training on customer content, with no matching term in the EULA. The vendor never receives documents, since the add-in runs locally; its OpenAI page says data sent through the API is not used to improve the models and that ClaimMaster has not opted in to data sharing and never will. The EULA addresses only feedback and suggestions submitted to the vendor, not training.
No located term or policy addresses training either way. Both published documents were read in full on 4 September 2026 and neither uses the word or engages the concept. What they do address is storage and sharing, and tightly: patent documents are processed in memory and not otherwise stored except as necessary to provide the service, and their contents and any generated output are not shared with any third party other than for processing on Amazon Web Services.
Those constrain what happens to a document without stating whether it contributes to model improvement, and a document processed in memory can still inform a model during that processing. Recorded as silent rather than as a commitment, because neither document says what a buyer would need it to say. Searched the About page, the terms of service, the privacy policy and the site footer; there is no security or product page in the site inventory.
Prompt and Output Retention
How long does the product keep what a lawyer typed, and can that be set to zero?
The customer chooses the retention path, including none. ClaimMaster keeps no prompts or outputs because the add-in runs locally; prompts sent to OpenAI's API are kept up to 30 days for abuse monitoring, and the customer can instead use its own Azure OpenAI endpoint or a locally running model, which keeps prompts and outputs on its own machine.
Retention is addressed in technical rather than temporal terms, and no period is stated because the position is that nothing is kept. The privacy policy states that patent documents are processed in memory and not otherwise stored, and that neither the documents nor any content generated from them is retained except as necessary to provide the software services; the terms of service repeat the same commitment. For a tool handling unfiled applications that is a stronger answer than a stated window would be.
What keeps this from the top of the scale is the qualifier: except as necessary to provide our services is undefined, nothing states how long that necessity lasts for a draft in progress, no deletion route or confirmation is offered, and zero retention is not presented as a customer-selectable setting. Both documents carry an effective date of 1 August 2022.
Ethical Walls and Matter Segregation
Does retrieval respect the firm’s ethical walls, or can the model read across them?
Searched the Security page, help files and EULA on 18 September 2026. The add-in runs per user on a local computer and shares no matter data, so there is no multi-user store to wall off; no matter-level permissions are described.
No located public material addresses walls or matter level segregation. The only access provision is a prohibition in the acceptable uses section of the terms on sharing an account with any other person or entity, which allocates responsibility rather than describing separation. Nothing states whether the platform is single or multi-tenant, no role or permission model is described, no administrator function is mentioned, and nothing addresses how one drafter's work is kept from another's inside a firm account.
The question has real weight for this product class because a patent firm routinely drafts for competing clients in the same technology field. The in-memory processing statement reduces the exposure without answering the question. Searched the About page, the terms and the privacy policy on 4 September 2026.
Third Party Request and Subpoena Notice
If someone subpoenas the vendor for a firm’s data, does the firm hear about it first?
Disclosure is addressed and notice is not. The EULA lets ClaimMaster disclose information provided by or about the user, or about their use of the software, in compliance with lawful process or law enforcement requests, with no commitment to notify the user. The vendor holds no document content, which limits what it could disclose.
The privacy policy addresses disclosure under legal compulsion and commits to no notice. It provides that PatentPal may share information it collects to comply with legal obligations and to enforce its terms of service, with no notice commitment to the customer and no discretion over notice reserved. One tension is recorded rather than resolved, because it cuts in the customer's favor: the same policy states separately that the contents of patent documents and any generated output are not stored or shared with any third party other than for processing on Amazon Web Services, and that sentence carries no legal-process carve-out on its face.
So the compelled-disclosure clause plainly reaches account and website information, and its application to the patent documents themselves is left unresolved by the drafting. No transparency report was located.
Primary Law Corpus Provenance
Where does the law in this product come from, and does the vendor have the right to use it?
Searched the drafting pages, help files and release notes on 18 September 2026. The AI works on the user's own documents and selected workspace sections, so no legal corpus is expected; the USPTO and EPO sources used by the downloading tools are public patent data, not a corpus behind AI answers.
One sentence touches the question and identifies nothing. The privacy policy states that PatentPal may collect publicly available patent data and other information from public sources, which acknowledges that a corpus beyond the user's own claims exists without naming any part of it. No database, patent office feed, publisher or aggregator is identified, no jurisdictional coverage is described, no update cadence is given, and no licensing basis is stated for any of it.
The product's primary input is the user's own claims, from which the specification is generated, so the corpus question bites less hard here than on a search product, but the public-sources sentence shows the vendor knows the question exists and leaves it unanswered. Searched the About page, the terms and the privacy policy on 4 September 2026.
Good Law Verification
Does the product tell you when the authority it just cited has been overruled?
Searched the same surfaces on 18 September 2026. The generative tools draft and analyze patent text and cite no legal authority; no good-law check is described.
Nothing on any located surface addresses whether authority is checked for subsequent history. The product does not retrieve or cite prior art, case law or patent status: it generates specification language, figures and an abstract from claims the drafter supplies. The question does not bite on this product class and the honest value is the absence rather than a penalty. Searched the About page, the terms and the privacy policy on 4 September 2026.
Refusal and Uncertainty Behavior
What does the product do when the answer is not in the corpus?
Searched the generative AI and drafting pages, GPT help pages and release notes on 18 September 2026. Users preview output before insertion and are told to check it for factual correctness, but nothing describes what the tools do when the source material does not support a draft, and no confidence signal is shown.
No located public material describes what the product does when it cannot generate reliably. Nothing describes an abstention path, a no-answer state, a confidence or coverage signal against generated text, or any flag where a claim element lacks adequate support in the generated description. The published framing runs the other way, presenting one-click generation of a complete draft, and the terms handle the risk by disclaimer rather than by behavior, stating that no warranty is given that the service will be accurate or reliable or error-free and that use is solely at the user's own risk.
Searched the About page, the terms and the privacy policy on 4 September 2026; there is no product page in the site inventory and the Medium blog was not opened.
Fabricated Citation Record
Does a public court record exist addressing fabricated or hallucinated legal citations in output from this product?
Searched web and trade press reporting on court sanctions for AI-fabricated citations on 18 September 2026 for any court record addressing fabricated or hallucinated content in output from ClaimMaster. None located; a December 2025 patent case involving AI-generated citations does not name the tool used. This signal does not record litigation history of any other kind.
The AI Hallucination Cases database maintained by Damien Charlotin was searched on 4 September 2026 on both the product name PatentPal and the corporate name PatentPal Inc. No court order, opinion or disciplinary record naming the product was located. The database tracks fabricated legal citations in court filings; this product generates specification prose from claims rather than citing authority, so its exposure to that specific failure is structurally low, though generated support that does not match the claims is a distinct risk the database does not capture. This records the state of the public record on that date and is not a finding about the product.
Bar Guidance Alignment
Has the vendor engaged in public with the ethics opinions its buyers are bound by?
Searched the Security page, help files, EULA and blog on 18 September 2026. No ethics opinion, USPTO guidance on AI use, court order or bar guidance is referred to; the privilege-waiver discussion on the Security page is credited on the privilege axis.
Public materials engage professional responsibility in general terms without naming any authority. The terms carry a dedicated clause stating that no attorney-client relationship arises from use of the service and that its output does not constitute legal advice and is not a substitute for advice from a qualified attorney, which addresses the subject squarely. No bar association, patent bar, regulator, rule of professional conduct or ethics opinion is named anywhere, and nothing addresses the duty of candour to the patent office or the drafter's own obligations when filing generated text over their signature, which are the professional duties this product most directly engages. Searched the About page, the terms and the privacy policy on 4 September 2026.
Billing and Fee Posture
Does the vendor address what happens to the bill when the work takes an hour instead of six?
Savings are claimed without addressing billing or disclosure. The drafting page tells patent professionals to beat their hours budget and reduce costs to clients, and a 2022 release claims 20 to 30 percent drafting time saved per application; nothing addresses how AI-assisted drafting should be billed or disclosed to clients.
No located public material addresses billing or fee disclosure, and unusually there is not even a savings claim on the record to record. The About page describes the aim as giving valuable time back to the attorney so it can be directed towards maximizing client value, which is a purpose statement rather than a quantified saving, and no figure for time or cost saved appears anywhere. Nothing addresses what happens to a fixed drafting fee or a billed hour when specification writing is automated, and no per-matter record of AI-assisted work is described.
The gap is notable because patent drafting is frequently billed at a flat fee per application, so the compression this signal was written for lands directly on this product's economics. Searched the About page, the terms and the privacy policy on 4 September 2026.
Outside Counsel Guideline Readiness
Can a firm get this vendor through a client’s AI clause without a bespoke negotiation?
The model providers that can see client content are named. The help pages say document text reaches only the model the customer selects (OpenAI, Azure OpenAI, Anthropic, or a local model) directly from the user's computer, with no ClaimMaster servers in between, and set out the provider's and retention terms. There is no DPA or forwardable disclosure pack, because the vendor itself processes no content.
Some of the material a firm would forward exists, published rather than gated, and the model layer is missing. The privacy policy names the third parties that receive information and does so by data type, which is better than most: account and website information may go to Amazon Web Services, Google, LinkedIn and Stripe, while the contents of patent documents and any generated output go to no third party other than AWS.
Both documents are public and could be sent to a client as they stand. What is absent is the disclosure a client's AI clause actually asks for: no model provider is identified anywhere, no model is named, there is no data processing agreement, no consent or notification pack, and no security documentation at any access tier. Naming the cloud and the marketing vendors does not tell a client whose model saw the invention.
Court Disclosure Support
If a judge’s standing order requires an AI disclosure, can the product produce one?
Searched the drafting pages, help files and release notes on 18 September 2026. Output goes into patent applications and Office Action responses filed with the USPTO, but nothing addresses disclosing AI use to the Office or a court, or records which text a model produced.
No located public material addresses producing a record of AI-assisted work. Nothing describes an export, log or audit trail recording which text was generated, which model produced it, what the drafter changed before filing, or when any of it happened. The in-memory processing position makes such a record structurally unlikely, since nothing is retained to export from. The question is live for this product class rather than academic: generated specification text is filed over a practitioner's signature at a patent office, and a firm may need to account for how a description was prepared.
Nothing published engages that, and no disclosure guidance or template was located. Searched the About page, the terms and the privacy policy on 4 September 2026.
The questions both sides leave open
Derived from the records above rather than written, so it cannot favor either vendor. Take these into both conversations and ask each side the same question.
- AI Governance and Bias Disclosure
- Security Certifications and Trust Center
- Ethical Walls and Matter Segregation
- Primary Law Corpus Provenance
- Good Law Verification
- Refusal and Uncertainty Behavior
- Court Disclosure Support
Which one fits
Choose ClaimMaster if
- You want to choose which model sees a client's application, or none at all. ClaimMaster sends text only on your command, directly from your computer to OpenAI, Anthropic, your own Azure OpenAI endpoint or a local model through Ollama, with no ClaimMaster servers in between.
- You want claims and specifications proofread inside Word. ClaimMaster's rule based checks review claims, specifications and Office Action responses, generate Office Action shells and USPTO forms, and download file wrappers and family data from the USPTO and EPO.
- You want a warranty and a trial before buying seats. ClaimMaster's license warrants the software conforms to its specifications for a year with repair, replacement or refund, and it offers a 30 day full trial with per user monthly or annual plans and volume discounts.
Choose PatentPal if
- You already have claims and want the specification written. PatentPal generates flowcharts and block diagrams, a detailed description of each figure, and the abstract and summary from your claims, with saved profiles that follow a drafter's or firm's preferred phrasing.
- You need unfiled inventions kept out of storage. PatentPal's terms state that patent documents are processed in memory and not otherwise stored, and that their contents and generated output go to no third party other than AWS for processing.
- You want the advice line in a dedicated clause. PatentPal's terms state that no attorney client relationship arises from using the service and that its output is not legal advice and not a substitute for a qualified attorney.
In summary
ClaimMaster
ClaimMaster, from ClaimMaster Software LLC of Maryland, is a Microsoft Word add in for patent attorneys, agents and paralegals that proofreads claims, specifications and Office Action responses, automates drafting of sections, figures and flowcharts, generates Office Action shells and USPTO forms, and downloads USPTO and EPO data. Its optional drafting add ons connect to OpenAI, Anthropic, a private Azure OpenAI endpoint or a local model. The AI Legal Index grades it in the top two bands on nine of fifteen capability axes, with an A on privilege and confidentiality. It runs on the user's computer and sends text to a model only on command. As of 18 September 2026 the index located no security attestation or readable price figure.
PatentPal
PatentPal, from PatentPal Inc., founded in Silicon Valley and led by former patent attorney Jack Xu, generates the supporting text of a patent application from the claims a drafter supplies: flowcharts and block diagrams, a description of each figure, and the abstract and summary, with saved profiles for preferred phrasing. The AI Legal Index grades it in the top two bands on four of fifteen capability axes, with an A on AI centrality. Its terms state that patent documents are processed in memory on AWS in the United States and shared with no other third party, and that its output is not legal advice. As of 4 September 2026 the index located no named customer, security attestation, training position or price.
Questions buyers ask
ClaimMaster vs PatentPal: which is better for patent drafting?
ClaimMaster sits in the top two bands on nine of fifteen AI Legal Index capability axes and PatentPal on four of fifteen, identical on three. ClaimMaster adds optional AI to a proofreading and drafting add in and publishes more on data handling, models and licensing. PatentPal is built entirely around generating a specification from claims and states a tight in memory processing position. Practitioners who want to pick their own model have more to read from ClaimMaster.
Does ClaimMaster send patent text to the cloud?
Only when the user tells it to. ClaimMaster runs locally and does not transmit work product when proofreading. Its generative features send selected text directly from the user's computer to the chosen provider, OpenAI, Anthropic or the customer's own Azure OpenAI endpoint, or keep it on the machine with a local model. It says its OpenAI account is not opted in to data sharing. Graded by AI Legal Index against 15 capability axes and 12 legal signals, including privilege handling and citation accuracy, from each vendor's own published materials, verified September 27, 2026. No vendor pays for placement.
Does PatentPal store or train on patent documents?
PatentPal's terms and privacy policy state that patent documents are processed in memory and not otherwise stored, except as necessary to provide the service, and that their contents and generated output are shared with no third party other than AWS. Neither document addresses training either way. Both carry an effective date of 1 August 2022. Graded by AI Legal Index against 15 capability axes and 12 legal signals, including privilege handling and citation accuracy, from each vendor's own published materials, verified September 27, 2026. No vendor pays for placement.
How are ClaimMaster and PatentPal priced?
ClaimMaster prices per user per month, billed monthly or annually with 20 percent off annual billing, across Lite, QA and Pro tiers with drafting add ons, volume discounts of 5 to 15 percent and a 30 day free trial; its figures did not render for this index. PatentPal publishes no pricing, and its terms say payments are non refundable. Graded by AI Legal Index against 15 capability axes and 12 legal signals, including privilege handling and citation accuracy, from each vendor's own published materials, verified September 27, 2026. No vendor pays for placement.
What do ClaimMaster and PatentPal both leave unpublished?
A security certification and any AI governance. Neither names a SOC 2 report, ISO certification or audit, and neither describes testing before release or who is accountable for its AI. Neither publishes an accuracy measure for generated text or describes what it does when claims lack support, and neither records which text a model produced. Graded by AI Legal Index against 15 capability axes and 12 legal signals, including privilege handling and citation accuracy, from each vendor's own published materials, verified September 27, 2026. No vendor pays for placement.
Three readings to weigh. PatentPal's terms exclude direct as well as indirect damages without stating a cap, and warrant nothing about the quality of generated language; those are published terms. Neither vendor names a security certification. ClaimMaster's price figures did not render for this index, and its data commitments sit on help and security pages rather than in its license. ClaimMaster was verified on 18 September 2026 and PatentPal on 4 September 2026. Neither vendor reviewed this page.
Neither vendor paid for inclusion, placement or a grade, and neither reviewed this page before it published. Everything above comes from public material on the dates shown. How the index grades.