Derwent Patent Monitor vs Questel: how they compare in 2026
Derwent Patent Monitor and Questel both help IP teams review patents that may block a product, though at very different scale. Derwent Patent Monitor is Clarivate's review platform launched in November 2025; Questel sells a full IP suite of search, management and filing services with AI assistants throughout. Questel sits in the top two bands on eight of fifteen axes and Derwent Patent Monitor on seven of fifteen, identical on five. Derwent Patent Monitor puts its AI at the center. Its Threat Analysis ranks each document in a review by risk, explains the ranking by mapping product features to claims, and logs every decision in an activity history. Questel's lead is written policy about its AI. Its AI Policy commits to the EU AI Act and describes an AI Committee, and it names OpenAI and open model families. It says inference inputs do not train its models and its services do not replace a lawyer's judgment. Derwent Patent Monitor names no customer and says nothing on the unreleased product descriptions reviewers enter.
At a glance
All 15 axes, side by side
The same grid applied to every vendor in the index, graded from public sources. Hover a grade to see what the letter means on that axis.
AI Centrality
How much of the product is actually AI. Whether the machine learning is the mechanism the buyer is paying for or a feature layered onto conventional software, and whether the vendor is specific about which is which.
The models are the engine of the headline capability, layered on a review workflow that would function without them, which is the B band. Threat Analysis ranks the documents in a review by risk and explains each ranking by mapping product features to claims, and the vendor calls it the only AI-powered threat analysis in patent review. Around it sits a collaboration platform that stands on its own: project-based reviews, role-based feeds, document assignment, comments on patent text, annotations carried across related families and projects, alert ingestion from Derwent Innovation and Innography, human-initiated actions (oppose, monitor, acquire) and a full activity history. Product page and January 2026 product blog read through the search index (clarivate.com refuses direct fetch); launch release read 18 September 2026.
This is the incumbent-with-an-AI-layer case in its purest form, and the layer is genuine but plainly peripheral to what is being sold. The core is a patent and trademark database business, an IP management system handling docketing, renewals, forecasting and e-billing, and a large human services arm covering filings, EP validation, translation, recordals and renewals through a network described as 320 agents and 1,200 translators. The AI features are discrete and separately marketed: an AI-Classifier, Sophia as a cross-platform agent, Qthena for prosecution workflow, generative patent drafting, Markify ProSearch for trademark screening, and office action and goods-and-services drafting assistants. Strip all of them out and the databases, the IPMS and the services business remain intact. The one component that would not survive is the generative patent drafting module, which is model-native and arrived through the acquisition of qatent, but it is one product inside a suite of roughly thirty. Third consecutive ip-and-patents incumbent at this grade, against IPRally at A on the same axis.
Citation Accuracy and Hallucination Disclosure
Whether the vendor publishes measured accuracy on citations and assertions, grounds output to primary sources, and says plainly what its system does when it does not know. Legal has a documented public record of fabricated citations reaching filed briefs, so an untested claim of accuracy is not evidence.
Grounding is described and tied to the source text, short of any measured accuracy, which is the B band. R15 shapes the row: the product ranks real patent documents drawn from Derwent alerts and DWPI, so fabricated authority does not arise in the usual form; the risk is a wrong ranking or a wrong mapping. Threat Analysis explanations connect product features directly to specific claims, and the vendor says it pairs generative AI with more explainable AI for transparency. No accuracy, recall or false-negative figure is published for the ranking, which matters because the stated use includes confidently discarding documents. Product page and product blog read through the search index, 18 September 2026.
Accuracy is discussed at length and measured nowhere located. The Trusted AI page carries a heading on a duty of transparency in the accuracy of results, but the text under it is written as intention rather than description: it says users need to be informed of uncertainty and given the means to verify, and that this will be achieved by providing sources and explaining the reasons behind answers. Future tense is not evidence of a shipped behavior and it is not credited here. The AI Policy is more candid than most, stating that Questel does not guarantee the absolute accuracy of AI content and acknowledging the potential for hallucinations, which is an honest disclosure but not a measurement. A press release on the home page announces that the Questel AI Lab created a proprietary model for patent search to benchmark and enhance semantic retrieval; that release was not opened on 1 September 2026 and no benchmark figure, test set or error rate was located on the home page, the AI Policy, the Trusted AI page or the AI-in-IP solutions entry. If the AI Lab release carries a measured number with the test set described, this row moves up.
Autonomy and Oversight Model
What the system decides on its own, what a lawyer must approve, and whether the vendor documents where the review point sits. A tool that drafts under review and a tool that files without one are different products and different risks.
The AI ranks and people decide inside a published review structure, short of any threshold or constraint, which is the B band. Threat Analysis prioritizes the first pass; reviewers are assigned documents through role-based feeds, annotate and comment in context, and initiate actions such as opposing, monitoring or acquiring a patent themselves, with every action recorded in a full activity history the vendor describes as an audit trail. Nothing states what happens to documents the ranking scores as low risk, whether a person must review before a document is discarded, or at what score the product stops recommending. R124(2) applied: no categorical limit is attached to a named mode. Product page and product blog read through the search index, 18 September 2026.
Oversight is asserted repeatedly and no mechanism is described. The Trusted AI page states that full automation is ideal in some instances while in others AI should act as a supportive tool or human judgment is necessary, and that the balance must be found, which names the question without answering it for any product. AI Policy Article 5 places the duty on the buyer, saying use of the Services remains under the professional responsibility of each client and that clients are responsible for reviewing and verifying accuracy and completeness. The products are marketed as copilots and assistants, which implies supervision without documenting it. What was not located on any surface read on 1 September 2026 is a statement of what any feature runs unattended, where a reviewer sits in the workflow, what threshold stops the system, or what happens after it is wrong. This matters most on the office action response and patent drafting assistants, where the output is a document heading toward a patent office deadline.
Operational and Outcome Evidence
Named, dated evidence that the product works in production at real firms or legal departments. Case studies with figures and identified customers count. Unattributed testimonials and launch announcements do not.
No production evidence located for this product, which is the D band. The launch release (24 November 2025) quotes a Clarivate vice president and states intended benefits; the product page and blog describe use cases in the abstract. No named customer, deployment or result was located on any surface read. The adoption of the Derwent World Patents Index by patent offices belongs to the search product and data, not to this review platform, and announcements are excluded by the band. Searched the product page, product blog and launch release on 18 September 2026.
Customers are named against specific products, and no figure attaches to any of them. The home page and product navigation carry dated client announcements pairing an organization with a named product: ELT Group selecting Orbit Intelligence, Fideon selecting Equinox Law Firm, TALKUAL selecting Markify Watch, Pointon Partners selecting the Markify platform, and HGF expanding Qthena for firm-wide patent practice after what is described as years of successful deployment. A separate case study describes how Equinox Law Firm supports Redchip Lawyers. That is more than a logo strip, which is what keeps this above the band below, although the home page also runs one of those, showing Sanofi, PepsiCo, Dow, Novartis and Danone without attribution. The scale claim of more than 20,000 clients in 30 countries is stated with no basis. This grade rests on the announcement headlines and their product pairings as they appear on the pages fetched; the client stories library at questel.com/clients-stories and the individual announcement bodies were not opened on 1 September 2026, so no dated measured outcome was either found or excluded.
Privilege and Confidentiality Posture
How client confidences are handled: attorney client privilege and work product treatment, segregation of one client matter from another, whether client data trains any model, and what the vendor commits to in writing rather than in marketing.
Confidentiality is asserted in general corporate terms and the question this product raises is unaddressed, which is the C band. The published material is Clarivate's: a privacy policy treating Clarivate as processor for customer-entered data under separately concluded data processing agreements, personnel bound by confidentiality, and Clarivate Terms that protect each party's confidential information (as read for Derwent Patent Search at pull 8). The product-specific exposure is sharper here than on the search product: Threat Analysis works by mapping a customer's product features to patent claims, so reviewers supply descriptions of unreleased products, and attorneys' annotations on freedom to operate are work product. Nothing published addresses how those inputs are stored, who at Clarivate can see them, or privilege. Verified 18 September 2026.
The substantive commitments are published and readable in advance, and they sit in policy rather than in a contract a buyer can hold. The Trusted AI page commits that information a user submits to an AI inference is not used to train or fine-tune Questel models, gives AES-256 encryption at rest and TLS 1.2 or better in transit, limits access to authorized employees needing it for engineering support, abuse investigation and legal compliance plus named categories of contractor bound by confidentiality, confirms the customer owns inputs and outputs, and states zero data retention on leaving with deleted conversations removed within 30 days. AI Policy Article 3 adds that third-party providers undertake not to use client data to train their own models. The page even reaches the professional dimension, saying the design removes the risk of revealing information relating to the representation of a client. What is missing is the rest of the picture: nothing addresses segregation between users, teams or matters inside a customer account, which matters because Equinox Law Firm is sold to firms, and the Master Services Agreement and Data Processing Agreement that the AI Policy says govern this are referenced as signed with clients and are not published anywhere on the property.
UPL and Professional Responsibility Posture
Whether the vendor is clear that it supplies a tool rather than legal advice, who its audience is, and how it addresses unauthorized practice of law, competence and supervision duties, and jurisdiction limits. ABA Formal Opinion 512 is the reference point. Where the advice line is not the duty a product raises, the axis is read through the nearest professional duty it does raise: judicial conduct rules and the reviewing duty for products sold only to courts, and the duty to bill for time actually spent for products that draft time entries.
A contractual disclaimer sits in the parent's terms while the product is marketed in decision terms, which is the C band. The Clarivate Terms (read through the search index at pull 8) disclaim all warranties other than those stated, naming accuracy, completeness and currentness. The launch release presents the product as accelerating critical IP decisions on freedom to operate, opposition and patent filing, and the product page invites users to confidently discard documents. No statement places the legal judgment with the attorney or addresses reliance on a ranking in a freedom to operate opinion. Verified 18 September 2026.
A real position on advice versus tooling is published, and it is unusually direct for this lane. AI Policy Article 5 states that Questel's Services are not intended to replace or substitute the expertise and judgment of legal professionals, that clients should seek professional legal advice before relying on AI-generated outputs, that the use of the Services remains under the professional responsibility of each client, and that clients should not submit confidential information they do not wish the AI engine to process. That is a published advice line rather than a boilerplate disclaimer buried in website terms, and it appears in a document about the product rather than about the site. What is absent is the rest of the treatment. No jurisdiction limits are named, nothing addresses a practitioner's supervision or competence duties, and no engagement with ABA Formal Opinion 512, USPTO practitioner guidance, EPO guidance or any national patent attorney regime was located on the AI Policy, the Trusted AI page, the law firm solutions entry, the legal notice or the privacy policy on 1 September 2026.
AI Governance and Bias Disclosure
Published governance over model behavior: who owns it inside the vendor, what is tested before release, and what is disclosed about disparate output across matter types, parties, or populations.
Governance is described at company level as a structure under construction, with a transparency claim for the product and no mechanism, which is the C band. Clarivate reports multi-functional committees building an AI Governance Framework (as read for Derwent Patent Search at pull 8). The product page says it uses more explainable AI alongside generative AI to ensure complete transparency and explainability, which is a design claim rather than a disclosed test, owner or result. Nothing covers how Threat Analysis is evaluated before release or how its ranking performs across technologies or jurisdictions. Verified 18 September 2026.
This is the most developed governance framework located in the ip-and-patents lane. Questel publishes a dedicated Artificial Intelligence Policy issued at group level across Questel SAS and its affiliates, structured in six articles. It commits to complying with the EU AI Act, naming the regulation and its entry into force on 12 July 2024, which is a named external regime rather than a slogan. Article 6 describes a real internal structure: an AI Committee and a dedicated AI taskforce drawing representatives from the Legal, Information Security, Data Privacy and Business Development functions, plus ongoing employee training on ethics, data privacy and security. The Trusted AI page adds an AI oversight committee and states that every conversation starts with whether the company should do something rather than whether it can. Article 4 commits to safeguards preventing bias among other misuse. What holds this below the top band is exactly what that band asks for: no individual inside Questel is named as accountable, no pre-release testing regime is described, and no evaluation results of any kind have been disclosed, so the commitment to prevent bias is asserted rather than evidenced.
AI Safety and Data Stewardship
Retention, deletion, access control, and what happens to prompts and documents after they are processed. Whether the vendor states its subprocessors and its incident practice, or leaves the buyer to assume.
A corporate security program is published without addressing what happens to what users put into this product, which is the C band. Clarivate states an ISO 27001-based information security management system and publishes a Trust Center and an incident response process at company level (as read at pull 8), and its Trust Center says certifications vary by product. For this product nothing states where review data, product feature descriptions and annotations are stored, how long they persist, who can access them or which subprocessors handle them. Verified 18 September 2026.
The AI-specific stewardship is specific and the general estate around it is thin, so this sits below the band above on three of the five limbs. What is published and good: the Trusted AI page gives zero data retention once a customer leaves, deletion of removed conversations within 30 days unless legally required otherwise, AES-256 at rest and TLS 1.2 or better in transit, and access restricted to authorized employees needing it for engineering support, abuse investigation or legal compliance plus specified contractors. Against that, the Data Privacy Policy updated May 2026 declines to state a retention period at all, saying data is kept as long as necessary and directing the reader to email for more information. No subprocessor list for the products exists: the policy's third-party section names thirteen website marketing and analytics tools including Google Analytics, LinkedIn Ads, Salesforce Pardot, AdRoll and SEMRush, and no processor touching customer IP data. Incident practice is described only as notifying the supervisory authority and, where required, data subjects, with no customer-facing commitment. A Questel IT Security Policy is referenced in the privacy policy and was not located as a published document. Worth flagging that AI Policy Article 2 claims full transparency on third-party providers as outlined in the personal data policy, and that policy does not deliver it for the product.
AI Liability and Recourse
What the vendor stands behind contractually when its output is wrong. Indemnities, caps, carve outs, insurance, and whether any of it is published or only reachable through a negotiated agreement.
A real published liability position at parent level, short of standing behind output, which is the B band. The Clarivate Terms (read through the search index at pull 8, 13 September 2026, for Derwent Patent Search, and governing Clarivate software generally) identify stated and order-specific warranties as exclusive, give a cancellation and pro-rated refund remedy where a valid software warranty claim is not rectified, and cap liability, while disclaiming accuracy, completeness and currentness. Nothing addresses a wrong Threat Analysis ranking specifically. The Terms page refuses direct fetch today; the limbs are those recovered five days ago. Verified 18 September 2026.
No customer agreement is published, and unlike the comparable case in this lane something about the product's failure mode still is. AI Policy Article 5 states that Questel does not guarantee the absolute accuracy of AI content generated by its Services and expressly disclaims any liability for inaccuracies, given the potential for errors or hallucinations inherent to AI. That is an allocation of loss a buyer can read before signing and it is scoped to the Services rather than to the website, which is the distinction from Anaqua, whose only published contract was a website Terms of Use that did not reach its software. Everything else is absent. The Master Services Agreement and Data Processing Agreement are referenced in AI Policy Article 2 as signed between Questel and its clients and neither is published. No indemnity, liability cap, carve-out, warranty on output or insurance position was located. The legal notice is a French mentions legales scoped by its own text to the corporate website and disclaims liability only for the site and its materials. Searched the footer legal set, the AI Policy, the Trusted AI page and the privacy policy on 1 September 2026.
Practice Systems Integration Depth
How deeply the product reaches into the systems legal work already lives in: document management such as iManage and NetDocuments, Word and Outlook, contract lifecycle management, matter management, e-billing, and court filing systems.
Real integrations with what flows described, but only within the vendor's own suite, which holds the row at the B band. The product blog describes native integration with Derwent Innovation and Innography: alerts and DWPI data flow directly into review projects, search results can move straight into a project, and project details export for analysis; the product page adds dedicated alert feeds for first-pass review, follow-ups and critical watch items. No integration with a firm's document management, docketing or IP management system is described, and no configuration detail is published. Product page and product blog read through the search index, 18 September 2026.
Integration is a named commercial position rather than a logo wall, and the direction of movement is stated for the specific cases. Questel markets an Integrated IP Ecosystem entry and describes its IPMS as directly integrated with leading IP renewal services and top-tier IP databases to eliminate data gaps. Two connections are described concretely enough to assess: PAVIS Connect, sold as a renewals connector explicitly for companies and law firms that already have an IP management system, which is an integration into a competitor's system rather than a demand to migrate; and the Markify Watch integration into Equinox, described as accessing trademark watches directly from within Equinox. An IP Services Portal handles service ordering and monitoring, and the IPMS entry lists e-billing and blockchain tooling. What is missing is depth of the kind an implementer could work from: no public API reference, developer portal or integration documentation index was located on the site navigation, the integrated ecosystem entry or the IP management software pages on 1 September 2026, and no named connection to a document management system such as iManage or NetDocuments was found.
Deployment Model and Data Residency
Where the software runs and where the data sits. Multi tenant cloud, single tenant, private deployment, on premises, and whether region of residence is a published option or an enterprise conversation.
Hosted delivery is evident and neither the tenancy model nor the region is stated, which is the C band. The product is an enterprise web platform inside the Derwent suite. No data center region, residency option, tenancy model or processing location is published for it, and Clarivate's company-level material does not connect any hosting detail to this product. Verified 18 September 2026.
Cloud delivery is implied throughout and neither the tenancy model nor a region is stated. The products are described as SaaS software solutions in the AI Policy, and the Trusted AI page refers to business data stored on Questel systems, but nothing located names a hosting provider, a data center location, a country or region option, or whether customers share infrastructure or receive a dedicated instance. The only geography published is in the privacy policy's transfer section, which says Questel is a global business, that data may be transferred to countries with different protection laws, and that transfers out of the European Union are covered by intra-group agreements incorporating Standard Contractual Clauses and by clauses executed with third parties. That describes the legal basis for movement rather than where anything sits, and it is scoped to personal data rather than to the IP portfolios and unpublished applications the platform holds. Searched the home page, the AI Policy, the Trusted AI page, the privacy policy, the legal notice and the integrated ecosystem entry on 1 September 2026.
Security Certifications and Trust Center
Independent attestation a buyer can pull without a sales call: SOC 2, ISO 27001, penetration test summaries, a trust center with current reports and named scope rather than a badge image.
A named standard at company level, short of any scope covering this product, which is the B band. Clarivate states that ISO/IEC 27001 is the basis of its information security management system and that its program aligns with ISO 27001 and SOC 2, and it publishes a Trust Center; the Trust Center itself says certifications and reports vary by product and are available from an account representative (as read for Derwent Patent Search at pull 8). Nothing ties an attestation to Derwent Patent Monitor. Verified 18 September 2026.
The standard is named in prose rather than shown as a badge, which is what separates this from the band below. AI Policy Article 3 states plainly that Questel is an ISO 27001-certified company adhering to international standards for information security management, and an ISO mark also appears on the home page against a line about transparency and consistency. That is a real, stated certification. Everything that would let a buyer act on it is absent: no scope statement covering which entities, products or infrastructure are certified, no certificate date or validity period, no auditor or certification body named, and no SOC 2 or other attestation claimed. There is no trust center or security portal anywhere on the property, and no route to request a report or a completed questionnaire was located. The privacy policy points to a Questel IT Security Policy that is referenced but not published. Checked the footer, the AI Policy, the Trusted AI page, the privacy policy and the home page on 1 September 2026.
Model Supply Chain Disclosure
Which models sit underneath, whose they are, where they run, and whether the vendor commits to telling customers when that changes. A legal buyer inherits every dependency it cannot see.
The vendor refers to its AI without identifying what sits underneath, which is the C band. The product page says Threat Analysis uses generative AI alongside more explainable AI and that the product is built on the Derwent World Patents Index; no architecture, model, version or provider is named, and no change notice is committed. This is one band below Derwent Patent Search, whose pages at least describe a transformer model trained on DWPI. Product page read through the search index, 18 September 2026.
The providers and the model families are named, and the currency of that disclosure is the problem. The Trusted AI page states that Questel leverages generative models from OpenAI through API integrations, linking the OpenAI API Platform, and that it also uses open-source models identified as Mixtral, Falcon and Llama 2, fine-tuned and trained on proprietary data sets, with prompts optimized in-house. It adds that all models are fine-tuned using public patent, trademark and design text or Questel's own data. That is more than most of this corpus publishes. Three things keep it below the top band. No commitment to notify customers when the model set changes was located. Where the models run is only partly answered, since the OpenAI relationship is described as an API integration while nothing states where the open-source models are hosted. And the named models are dated: Llama 2 and Falcon are generations behind, while a 2026 press release on the home page announces a new proprietary Questel AI Lab model for semantic patent search that appears nowhere on this page, so the disclosure a buyer reads may no longer describe the system they would use.
Commercial Transparency
Whether a buyer can learn what this costs without entering a sales process: published rates, the unit being charged, what sits behind an enterprise tier, and what implementation adds.
No pricing information is published at any level, which is the D band. The product page routes to demonstration and contact requests, no pricing page or unit of charge exists for the product, and the Clarivate Terms treat pricing as confidential information (as read at pull 8). Searched the product page, product blog and launch release on 18 September 2026. No pricing row owed.
The shape of the offering is unusually visible and the number is nowhere. Tiering is published across the range: Equinox is sold as Corporate, Corporate+, Law Firm and Law Firm+, with the plus editions marked for enterprise organizations, and Orbit splits into Intelligence, Express, Insight, Intellixir, BioSequence and Chemistry, with Markify separated into ProSearch, Comprehensive Search, Full Pharma Search and Watch. A buyer can therefore see the packaging and roughly which segment each tier addresses. No rate, band, unit of charge, currency or statement of what implementation adds was located anywhere, and the commercial route on every page read is Request a call or Contact. Two products carry a BUY ONLINE label in the navigation, Defensive Publication and Markify Comprehensive Search, indicating a self-serve purchase path that would ordinarily display a price; neither of those pages was opened on 1 September 2026. This grade is therefore rebuttable upward if either carries a published figure, and that check is the single cheapest thing a future pass could do on this record.
Firm and Practice Coverage
Who the product is actually built for. AmLaw, midlaw, small firm and solo, in house departments, government and courts, and which practice areas are supported rather than merely claimed.
Uses and users are described with substance, boundaries left open, which is the B band. The product covers freedom to operate reviews, patentability, opposition and assertion decisions, and competitor monitoring, for IP professionals, attorneys, technical reviewers and R&D teams, on data from the Derwent World Patents Index (67 million invention summaries written by more than 850 Clarivate specialists, per the launch release). Which jurisdictions, technologies or document types Threat Analysis handles well or poorly is not stated. Verified 18 September 2026.
Segment coverage is documented with more substance than anything else in this lane, and the boundary is still left open. Questel publishes dedicated solution entries for law firms, life sciences and R&D and innovation teams, and the product line itself encodes the segmentation rather than merely describing it: Equinox ships as separate corporate and law firm editions, each with an enterprise variant, and the trademark side mirrors the same four-way split. Practice coverage is genuinely broad and specific, spanning patents, trademarks, designs, domain names, standard-essential patents, biosequences, chemistry, innovation management and legal translation, with named use cases including patentability, freedom to operate, invalidity, clearance, watching, prosecution, renewals and recordals. The life sciences entry names the products that serve that vertical individually. What is not stated anywhere located is where the product stops: no statement of firm size, portfolio size, minimum engagement, or the practice areas and jurisdictions the suite does not serve was found on the solutions pages or the home page on 1 September 2026.
The 12 legal signals, side by side
Recorded rather than graded. These are the questions a practitioner has to answer before a tool touches a client matter, and the answers are taken from public material only.
Client Data in Training
Can material a lawyer puts into this product be used to train a model?
The parent's published privacy policy and Terms exist and none of the material read addresses whether what users put into this product trains or improves models, in either direction. The input matters here: Threat Analysis maps a customer's product features to claims, so reviewers supply descriptions of products not yet released. Nothing on the product page, product blog, launch release or the Clarivate material read for Derwent Patent Search says whether those inputs or reviewers' decisions are used to improve the ranking.
The commitment is clear and it sits in policy rather than in an agreement, which is what decides this value. The Trusted AI page lists it as the first of several commitments covering information a user provides for AI inference, described as a question, an invention description or an action query and acknowledged as often related to confidential client information. AI Policy Article 3 extends the same requirement outward, stating that third-party providers undertake not to use client data to train or improve any of their own AI or machine learning models.
Separately the page says all Questel models are fine-tuned using public patent, trademark and design text or the company's own data. No published agreement containing a matching term was located: the Master Services Agreement and Data Processing Agreement are referenced in AI Policy Article 2 as signed with clients and neither is available on the site, so the prohibition cannot currently be read as contractual.
Prompt and Output Retention
How long does the product keep what a lawyer typed, and can that be set to zero?
No located public material states how long review projects, product feature descriptions, annotations or Threat Analysis outputs are kept, or whether a customer can delete them. Searched the product page, product blog, launch release and the Clarivate material read for Derwent Patent Search on 18 September 2026.
Customer control is stated directly and a concrete deletion window comes with it. The Trusted AI page says the customer controls the retention period, that zero data retention applies once a customer leaves, and that any deleted conversations are removed from Questel systems within 30 days unless retention is legally required. Zero retention is not offered as a setting available during use, which is why this is not the value above.
Note that the Data Privacy Policy updated May 2026 takes the opposite approach for personal data, stating only that it is kept as long as necessary and directing the reader to email for details, so the specific commitment here belongs to AI inference data rather than to the wider account.
Ethical Walls and Matter Segregation
Does retrieval respect the firm’s ethical walls, or can the model read across them?
Segregation within a customer is described in outline without published detail on enforcement. The product blog (read through the search index) says reviews run as separate projects with folders and subfolders, and that role-based feeds let patent analysts, attorneys and R&D reviewers see only what is relevant to their responsibilities; it also says annotations and decisions carry forward across related projects, which cuts the other way. No permission model, administrator controls or walls between projects are documented.
Access control is claimed and no enforcement detail is published. The privacy policy lists roles-based data access alongside encryption, firewalls, intrusion-detection software and physical access controls to data centers, and the Trusted AI page limits access to authorized employees and specified contractors. Neither describes a permission model, how it is administered, or whether it operates per user at query time.
Nothing addresses walls or matter-level segregation inside a customer account, which is a live question here because Equinox is sold in dedicated law firm and enterprise law firm editions, and because Sophia is marketed as a cross-platform agent reaching across a range of Questel software. Searched the privacy policy, the AI Policy, the Trusted AI page and the law firm solutions entry on 1 September 2026.
Third Party Request and Subpoena Notice
If someone subpoenas the vendor for a firm’s data, does the firm hear about it first?
Disclosure is contemplated and notice is not. The Data Privacy Policy lists duly authorized public authorities, judicial and control, among the recipients of personal data in the framework of Questel's legal and regulatory obligations, and separately names regulated professions including lawyers and bailiffs who may intervene in guarantees, collection or litigation. No commitment to notify the customer before or after such a disclosure was located, no carve-out for where notice is legally prohibited, and no transparency report exists.
The documents that would ordinarily carry this, the Master Services Agreement and the Data Processing Agreement, are referenced as signed with clients and are not published. Searched the privacy policy, the AI Policy, the Trusted AI page and the legal notice on 1 September 2026.
Primary Law Corpus Provenance
Where does the law in this product come from, and does the vendor have the right to use it?
The corpus is named and owned by the vendor. The launch release says the product is built on the Derwent World Patents Index, which it describes as 67 million invention summaries written by more than 850 Clarivate subject matter experts; DWPI is Clarivate's own proprietary asset, so the rights position is ownership (the Derwent Patent Search precedent). Alerts also arrive from Derwent Innovation and Innography, both Clarivate products.
The product does not retrieve case law; the corpus is patent, trademark and design registry text, and Questel is itself a database publisher, describing its own offering as a unique collection of IP databases. The Trusted AI page identifies what the models learn from, saying they are fine-tuned and optimized using public information covering patent, trademark and design texts, or Questel's own data. It also states a rights principle rather than a rights position, committing to acknowledge the source of training data and confirm permission to use it, giving open-source data or data provided by users as the examples.
No license or rights basis is stated for any individual source, no coverage figure such as jurisdictions or document counts was located on the pages read, and no update cadence is published. Checked the home page, the Trusted AI page, the AI Policy and the Orbit product entries on 1 September 2026.
Good Law Verification
Does the product tell you when the authority it just cited has been overruled?
The patent analog of good law is whether a patent is still in force. The product page, product blog and launch release do not say whether a review shows legal status for the documents Threat Analysis ranks; status determination is described for Derwent Patent Search, a separate product, and is not credited here. Searched 18 September 2026.
No citator applies and the row is recorded rather than skipped. The suite manages and searches registered rights rather than returning legal authority whose subsequent history could be checked, so there is no treatment signal to surface. The nearest analog is registry currency, which the product does address: Prosecution Pack is described as providing grant statistics and detailed legal status analysis, and the IP management system exists to keep portfolio status aligned with patent and trademark office records.
That is the status of a registration rather than a judgment about whether an authority still stands. Searched the Orbit entries, Prosecution Pack, the AI Policy and the Trusted AI page on 1 September 2026.
Refusal and Uncertainty Behavior
What does the product do when the answer is not in the corpus?
Threat Analysis explains each ranking, but nothing published describes a confidence signal, a threshold below which it declines to rank, or what it does with documents it cannot assess, on a product whose stated use includes confidently discarding documents. Searched the product page, product blog and launch release on 18 September 2026.
Nothing located describes what any Questel AI feature does when it cannot support an answer. The Trusted AI page comes close to the subject and then states an intention rather than a behavior, saying users need to be informed whenever there is AI use and uncertainty regarding the AI's responses and given the means to verify them, and that this will be achieved by providing sources and explaining the reasons behind answers.
That is written in the future tense and describes what the company considers necessary, not what any product currently does. No abstention path, confidence score, grounding indicator or low-certainty flag is documented for Sophia, Qthena, the AI-Classifier, the drafting assistant or the office action assistant. Searched the Trusted AI page, the AI Policy, the AI assistants entries for patent and trademark, and the AI-in-IP solutions page on 1 September 2026.
Fabricated Citation Record
Does a public court record exist addressing fabricated or hallucinated legal citations in output from this product?
Searched web and trade press reporting on court sanctions for AI-fabricated citations on 18 September 2026, and the Derwent Patent Search search of 13 September 2026 covering Clarivate and Derwent. None located naming Derwent Patent Monitor, Derwent or Clarivate; the patent sanctions case of December 2025 does not name the tool used. This signal does not record litigation history of any other kind.
Searched the AI Hallucination Cases database maintained by Damien Charlotin at HEC Paris, together with 2026 sanctions trackers and trade coverage, on 1 September 2026, on the company name and on the product names Orbit, Sophia and Qthena. No court order, opinion or disciplinary record naming Questel or any of its products was located. This is a statement about the public record rather than a finding about the product.
The failure mode fits this suite only partly: most of the AI here classifies, searches or manages registry data, but the generative patent drafting and office action response assistants do produce text that enters patent office proceedings, so the risk is not entirely absent even though it sits outside the litigation filings this tracker principally captures.
Bar Guidance Alignment
Has the vendor engaged in public with the ethics opinions its buyers are bound by?
No located public material engages with bar, patent office or professional conduct guidance, including guidance on AI use in patent practice. Searched the product page, product blog and launch release on 18 September 2026.
Professional responsibility is engaged in general terms with no guidance named. AI Policy Article 5 states that the use of Questel's Services remains under the professional responsibility of each client, that the Services are not intended to replace or substitute the expertise and judgment of legal professionals, and that clients should seek professional legal advice before relying on AI-generated outputs. That is a real acknowledgment of the obligation and it names no source for it.
No reference to ABA Formal Opinion 512, USPTO practitioner guidance on artificial intelligence, EPO or national patent attorney conduct rules, or any bar opinion was located, which is a notable gap for a vendor selling prosecution assistants into law firms across roughly 30 countries. The EU AI Act is named in Article 1, but that is technology regulation binding Questel rather than the professional conduct guidance binding its buyers.
Billing and Fee Posture
Does the vendor address what happens to the bill when the work takes an hour instead of six?
The primary buyer is a corporate IP and R&D team reviewing its own freedom to operate and monitoring, which bills no client for the work. The vendor's savings claims (less time on irrelevant documents, faster first-pass review) are aimed at that team's own cost. Where outside attorneys review in the platform, nothing addresses how AI-assisted review is billed or disclosed.
Time savings are claimed and the client's side of the bill is never addressed. The home page invites the reader to imagine how much time could be saved with an AI-driven integrated IP management system, and the resource library carries pieces on saving time in prosecution work and on how Equinox Law Firm helps a firm save time and build relationships. Nothing accompanies this on how a firm should bill for or disclose AI-assisted drafting, office action responses or search work.
Worth noting that Questel sells invoice management, cost management and fee audit services, but those address the client's own IP spend with outside agents rather than the treatment of AI-assisted time on a law firm's invoice, and no audit record of AI-assisted work was located for any product.
Outside Counsel Guideline Readiness
Can a firm get this vendor through a client’s AI clause without a bespoke negotiation?
None of the artifacts a firm would forward is published for this product: no subprocessor list, no statement of which model providers see customer content (no provider is named), and no disclosure material. Clarivate's privacy policy names processors by category only. Searched 18 September 2026.
A model provider list is published and a subprocessor list is not, so a firm can answer half of what a client's AI clause asks. The Trusted AI page names OpenAI as the generative provider, links the OpenAI API Platform, and identifies the open-source families Mixtral, Falcon and Llama 2 as additionally used and fine-tuned in-house, which is the disclosure that carries this value. Against that, no subprocessor list covering the products exists: the Data Privacy Policy's third-party section names thirteen website marketing and analytics tools and no processor touching customer IP data.
No data processing addendum or client-facing disclosure pack is published and no route to obtain one without an agreement was located. AI Policy Article 2 claims full transparency on third-party providers as outlined in the personal data policy, and on the surfaces read that claim is not met.
Court Disclosure Support
If a judge’s standing order requires an AI disclosure, can the product produce one?
Part of a record exists. The product blog (read through the search index) says every action in a review (assignment, annotation, decision) is recorded in a full activity history that gives an audit trail for compliance and defensibility, and project details can be exported. Nothing records which model produced a ranking or explanation, so a firm describing AI involvement in a freedom to operate opinion or to a patent office could show who decided but not what the model did.
Nothing located addresses producing an AI-use disclosure or a verification certification. The Trusted AI page states a principle adjacent to it, that Questel needs to clearly disclose when content has been autonomously generated by an AI, but that is user-facing labeling described as an obligation the company recognizes rather than an exportable record, and no product is said to implement it. No export tying a passage to the model that produced it, the sources it drew on, or the person who reviewed it was described for Sophia, Qthena, the drafting assistant or the office action assistant.
Searched the Trusted AI page, the AI Policy and the patent and trademark AI assistant entries on 1 September 2026. The obligation fits prosecution work imperfectly, but the row is recorded rather than skipped.
The questions both sides leave open
Derived from the records above rather than written, so it cannot favor either vendor. Take these into both conversations and ask each side the same question.
- Third Party Request and Subpoena Notice
- Good Law Verification
- Refusal and Uncertainty Behavior
Which one fits
Choose Derwent Patent Monitor if
- You need to triage many patent alerts against a product. Derwent Patent Monitor's Threat Analysis ranks the documents in a review by risk and explains each ranking by mapping your product's features to specific claims, so reviewers can clear irrelevant documents and start with likely blockers.
- Your freedom to operate reviews involve several roles. Derwent Patent Monitor runs project based reviews with role based feeds for analysts, attorneys and technical reviewers, lets them comment on patent text and carry annotations across related families, and records every action in a full activity history.
- Your alerts already come from Clarivate. Derwent Patent Monitor takes alerts and Derwent World Patents Index data from Derwent Innovation and Innography directly into review projects, and starts actions such as opposing, monitoring or acquiring a patent from the review.
Choose Questel if
- You want one vendor across patents, trademarks and filings. Questel pairs Orbit search and analytics, the Equinox IP management system in corporate and law firm editions, Markify for trademark clearance and watching, and a services arm handling filings, translation and renewals.
- Your AI review wants a written governance position. Questel's AI Policy commits to comply with the EU AI Act, describes an AI Committee drawing on legal, information security, data privacy and business functions, and states that its services do not replace the judgment of legal professionals.
- You need to name the models for a client. Questel's Trusted AI page names OpenAI and the open model families Mixtral, Falcon and Llama 2 behind its generative features, states that inference inputs do not train its models, and lets customers control retention with deletion within 30 days.
In summary
Derwent Patent Monitor
Derwent Patent Monitor is Clarivate's collaborative patent review platform for freedom to operate, patentability, opposition and monitoring work, launched in November 2025 as a separate product from Derwent Patent Search. Patent alerts from Derwent Innovation and Innography flow into project based reviews where analysts, attorneys and technical reviewers work from role based feeds, annotate patents and start actions such as opposing or acquiring. Its AI, Threat Analysis, ranks documents by risk and maps product features to claims. The AI Legal Index grades it in the top two bands on seven of fifteen capability axes. It is built on the Derwent World Patents Index. As of 18 September 2026 the index located no named customer, price or model provider.
Questel
Questel, based in Paris, sells a broad intellectual property suite: Orbit for patent search and analytics, including biosequence and chemistry databases, the Equinox IP management system for corporations and law firms, Markify for trademark clearance and watching, and a services arm handling filings, translation and renewals. AI assistants run across it, including generative patent drafting, office action response drafting, Qthena for prosecution workflow and Sophia as a cross platform agent. The AI Legal Index grades it in the top two bands on eight of fifteen capability axes. It publishes an AI Policy committing to the EU AI Act, names OpenAI among its model providers, and states ISO 27001. As of 1 September 2026 the index located no published agreement or price.
Questions buyers ask
Derwent Patent Monitor vs Questel: which is better for patent review?
They differ in scope. Derwent Patent Monitor is a focused review platform whose AI ranks alerts by risk against a product, while Questel sells a full IP suite with AI assistants across search, prosecution and trademarks. On the AI Legal Index Questel sits in the top two bands on eight of fifteen capability axes and Derwent Patent Monitor on seven of fifteen, identical on five.
How does Derwent Patent Monitor's Threat Analysis work?
It ranks the documents in a review by risk and gives an explanation mapping the product's features to specific patent claims, so reviewers can clear irrelevant documents and look first at likely blockers. Clarivate says it combines generative AI with more explainable AI. No accuracy or recall figure is published, and nothing says what happens to documents it scores as low risk. Graded by AI Legal Index against 15 capability axes and 12 legal signals, including privilege handling and citation accuracy, from each vendor's own published materials, verified September 27, 2026. No vendor pays for placement.
Which AI models does Questel use?
Questel's Trusted AI page names OpenAI's models through API integration and the open model families Mixtral, Falcon and Llama 2, fine tuned on public patent, trademark and design text or its own data. Those families are older, and a proprietary model Questel has since announced for patent search is not listed. Derwent Patent Monitor names no model or provider. Graded by AI Legal Index against 15 capability axes and 12 legal signals, including privilege handling and citation accuracy, from each vendor's own published materials, verified September 27, 2026. No vendor pays for placement.
Does Questel train AI on client inventions?
Its Trusted AI page states that information submitted for AI inference, including invention descriptions, is not used to train or fine tune its models, and its AI Policy says third party providers undertake not to train on client data. Both are policy statements; the agreements that would make them contractual are referenced but not published. Derwent Patent Monitor publishes no training position. Graded by AI Legal Index against 15 capability axes and 12 legal signals, including privilege handling and citation accuracy, from each vendor's own published materials, verified September 27, 2026. No vendor pays for placement.
What do Derwent Patent Monitor and Questel both leave unpublished?
A price and an accuracy measure. Neither publishes a figure for any product, and neither measures how often its AI misranks or misclassifies a patent. Neither names its hosting region or tenancy model, publishes a subprocessor list covering customer IP data, or describes what its AI does when it cannot assess a document. Graded by AI Legal Index against 15 capability axes and 12 legal signals, including privilege handling and citation accuracy, from each vendor's own published materials, verified September 27, 2026. No vendor pays for placement.
Three readings to weigh. The third party request notice signal has not been recorded for Derwent Patent Monitor; that is a gap in the record, not a finding about the vendor. Questel's named models date from earlier generations, and a newer proprietary model it has announced does not appear on its Trusted AI page. Questel's AI Policy disclaims liability for inaccurate AI output, and its master services agreement is not published. Derwent Patent Monitor was verified on 18 September 2026 and Questel on 1 September 2026. Neither vendor reviewed this page.
Neither vendor paid for inclusion, placement or a grade, and neither reviewed this page before it published. Everything above comes from public material on the dates shown. How the index grades.