HelloCounsel vs LegalClerk.ai: how they compare in 2026
HelloCounsel and LegalClerk.ai both sell AI voice agents that answer a law firm's phone, qualify callers and write each call into the firm's case management system. HelloCounsel sits in the top two bands on six of fifteen axes and LegalClerk.ai on five of fifteen, identical on nine. The sharpest difference is what each says about the conversation itself. HelloCounsel states that it gives no legal advice and that its agents give no opinions, settlement estimates or outcome predictions. LegalClerk.ai publishes no advice line, though its agent flags limitation periods, and its FAQ says most callers cannot tell they are speaking to AI. HelloCounsel also writes each call into seven named case management systems through native APIs. LegalClerk.ai's counterweight is reach and a simple price. It covers seven practice areas and firms from solo practitioners up, while HelloCounsel serves only plaintiff injury, workers' compensation and mass tort firms of about 10 to 200 staff. It charges $400 per seat a month for unlimited AI handled calls, within a fair use ceiling in its agreement.
At a glance
All 15 axes, side by side
The same grid applied to every vendor in the index, graded from public sources. Hover a grade to see what the letter means on that axis.
AI Centrality
How much of the product is actually AI. Whether the machine learning is the mechanism the buyer is paying for or a feature layered onto conventional software, and whether the vendor is specific about which is which.
The models are the product. HelloCounsel sells AI voice agents that answer and place calls, carry routine requests to completion and write the transcript and summary into the firm's case management system. Without the agents there is nothing left to sell. Verified 22 September 2026.
The models are the engine of what a firm buys, and a working telephony platform sits underneath them. The paid plan is sold as unlimited AI-handled calls, the AI answers and conducts every call, and no human receptionist is offered on any tier except an optional live-agent escalation at enterprise level; a firm buying this is buying the automation. What keeps it off the top band is that the product beneath is a phone system that functions without any model. The published agreement describes the service as an online-based phone solution and call handling, with number allocation, number porting, per-minute rates, answer supervision and codec requirements, and never mentions artificial intelligence at any point. The vendor also ships a Chrome extension named for parallel dialling and click-to-call, which is manual outbound dialling rather than an AI feature, and its own privacy notice describes the company as an AI-driven dialling solution for businesses globally rather than a legal intake product. Remove the models and a telephony service remains. Checked 4 September 2026.
Citation Accuracy and Hallucination Disclosure
Whether the vendor publishes measured accuracy on citations and assertions, grounds output to primary sources, and says plainly what its system does when it does not know. Legal has a documented public record of fabricated citations reaching filed briefs, so an untested claim of accuracy is not evidence.
Outcome figures without an accuracy measure. The site reports 30,000 calls handled this year, 98% of calls completed according to the firm's procedures and under 1.1% escalated by the AI. No figure is published for the accuracy of transcripts, summaries or information captured on calls, and no test or method is described. The product does not cite legal authority. Verified 22 September 2026.
Accuracy is asserted repeatedly and never measured. The claims are specific and go directly to output quality: the system never misses a required field or form detail, follows the intake script every single time with zero room for human error, produces no forgotten fields and no misheard details, and eliminates intake errors. Not one is accompanied by a figure, a test set, an evaluation, a transcription error rate or any statement of what happens when the system mishears a caller. Nothing addresses hallucination in either direction, and no accuracy or benchmark page exists on the estate. The limbs about grounding to primary authority and citation status do not apply to this product class and are named here rather than counted against it: the system asks scripted questions and records answers, it does not retrieve or cite law. The floor band does not fit, because its words require that nothing be published on accuracy, and accuracy is the central marketing claim. It matters because the same pages describe the system detecting accident types, timestamping incidents against limitation periods and classifying injury severity, all from a caller speaking on a phone line.
Autonomy and Oversight Model
What the system decides on its own, what a lawyer must approve, and whether the vendor documents where the review point sits. A tool that drafts under review and a tool that files without one are different products and different risks.
High autonomy with stated limits and an escalation route, short of defined thresholds. The agents resolve routine calls end to end without staff, following practice-area scripts; they are stated not to give legal opinions, settlement estimates or case outcome predictions; sensitive or complex calls are routed to staff with context; and every call's transcript and summary is written to the case file for review. What makes a call routine or sensitive is not defined. Verified 22 September 2026.
The system runs an entire client conversation unattended, and the controls around it are real and published. A firm sets when the AI picks up, writes the script it follows, defines the criteria for screening, and configures which calls are warm-transferred or escalated as urgent; serious matters are flagged for priority attorney callback, and the enterprise tier adds optional escalation to a live agent. The review surface is substantial: every call is recorded and transcribed, a written summary and structured lead profile are delivered, and call analytics and lead reports are available. What holds this below the top band is that no lawyer is in the loop at the time the system speaks to a prospective client, and nothing is published about what happens when it is wrong: no error handling, no correction path, no abstention behaviour, and no statement of what the system does with a caller it cannot understand. The disclosure decision belongs here rather than anywhere else, and it is the vendor's own words: the FAQ states that most callers cannot tell it is AI, and that this is by design. Concealing the automation boundary from the person on the line is an oversight choice, published plainly, and it is recorded as one.
Operational and Outcome Evidence
Named, dated evidence that the product works in production at real firms or legal departments. Case studies with figures and identified customers count. Unattributed testimonials and launch announcements do not.
Unattributed platform figures. The site cites 30,000 calls handled this year, 98% completed to procedure and under 1.1% escalated, and its own analysis of personal injury call volumes. No named customer, case study or dated result was located. Verified 22 September 2026.
No production evidence was located, and the social proof on the home page does not survive inspection. The page carries the line that the product is loved by lawyers all across the country above three user avatars; those images resolve to i.pravatar.cc, a placeholder avatar generator, requested by index number. They are not customers. Beyond that the estate claims the product is trusted by top-tier law firms and used by leading legal teams, with no firm named anywhere, no case study, no named individual and no dated deployment. The numbers published are industry statistics and cost comparisons rather than outcomes: that 39 per cent of calls to law firms go unanswered, that a traditional receptionist costs 48,000 to 65,000 dollars a year against roughly 4,800 for the service, and a resulting 90 per cent cost reduction. None of that is evidence of what happened at a firm that deployed it. The band above does not fit, because its words describe customer logos and unattributed testimonials standing in for evidence, and neither a logo wall nor an attributed testimonial was located. Searched the home page, the practice-area pages, the pricing page, the New York intake page and the blog index on 4 September 2026.
Privilege and Confidentiality Posture
How client confidences are handled: attorney client privilege and work product treatment, segregation of one client matter from another, whether client data trains any model, and what the vendor commits to in writing rather than in marketing.
Commitments on public pages, with the agreement silent. The FAQ says no client data is used to train the agents, call summaries and transcripts are stored in the firm's own case management system as the system of record, and the agents run inside the firm's system with IP staying with the firm. Protected health information is governed by a separate business associate agreement or master services agreement that is not published. The published Terms of Service address none of this, and which AI providers process call audio and transcripts is not stated. Verified 22 September 2026.
Confidentiality is asserted in general terms in the marketing, and the agreement points the other way on the one clause that reaches call content. The product records and transcribes conversations with prospective clients, which is material a firm would treat as confidential from the first call. The marketing offers HIPAA-grade encryption, secure storage, detailed access logging, secure storage plus redaction, and intake staff trained in client confidentiality. The agreement does not carry any of that across. Its confidentiality section is a mutual non-disclosure clause covering proprietary information the parties disclose to each other, which is business information rather than caller material, and Customer Data, expressly defined to include call recordings, voicemails and call metadata, is instead the subject of section 4.4: the customer grants a licence to use, copy, transmit, distribute and store that data to the extent necessary or desirable to provide and improve the services. No privilege or work product treatment appears anywhere, nothing describes tenancy or separation between firms, and there is no published data processing agreement, although the terms state one forms an inseparable part of the contract. Nothing addresses the prospective-client relationship the product exists to create.
UPL and Professional Responsibility Posture
Whether the vendor is clear that it supplies a tool rather than legal advice, who its audience is, and how it addresses unauthorized practice of law, competence and supervision duties, and jurisdiction limits. ABA Formal Opinion 512 is the reference point. Where the advice line is not the duty a product raises, the axis is read through the nearest professional duty it does raise: judicial conduct rules and the reviewing duty for products sold only to courts, and the duty to bill for time actually spent for products that draft time entries.
A plain advice line, short of caller disclosure. The site states that HelloCounsel is not a provider of legal advice and that its agents capture information and handle operational requests without legal opinions, case valuations or outcome predictions, and that call recording and consent are configured for each jurisdiction the firm operates in. The agents speak directly with prospective clients, and nothing located says callers are told they are speaking with AI. Verified 22 September 2026.
Nothing published addresses the advice line, on a product that speaks directly to members of the public about their legal problems. There is no statement that the company is not a law firm, no disclaimer that it does not give legal advice, no description of what the AI may and may not say to a caller, no jurisdiction limit, and nothing on the firm's supervision or competence obligations when an automated system conducts first contact. The agreement is silent on the subject across every section, and the pricing page's claim that the product is HIPAA and ABA-compliant is a compliance assertion with no authority named rather than a position on advice. The exposure is specific and comes from the vendor's own descriptions: the system timestamps an incident to flag potential statute of limitations issues automatically, filters callers on whether another party was at fault, classifies injury severity to gauge case strength, and prompts callers about what they have said to an insurer, all while, on the vendor's own account, most callers cannot tell they are speaking to software. The band above does not fit, because it describes a boilerplate disclaimer sitting in the terms, and no such disclaimer exists. Searched the home page, the feature pages, the practice-area pages, the pricing page, the terms and the privacy notice on 4 September 2026.
AI Governance and Bias Disclosure
Published governance over model behavior: who owns it inside the vendor, what is tested before release, and what is disclosed about disparate output across matter types, parties, or populations.
Checked the home, product, FAQ, about and reference pages, the Terms of Service and the Privacy Policy on 22 September 2026. No AI governance position, accountable owner, testing before release, or finding on how the agents perform across callers, accents or languages was located. Verified 22 September 2026.
No governance position of any kind was located. There is no responsible AI page, no principles statement, no accountable owner named, no pre-release testing regime, and no management system. Nothing addresses uneven performance across the populations this product actually serves, which is the gap worth naming rather than a generic one: the system is sold for multilingual intake and for immigration practice, it is a speech system taking calls from distressed callers, and speech recognition performance across accents, dialects and languages is the obvious place for uneven output in a voice product. Nothing published tests or discloses it. The nearest statements are security assertions about encryption and access logging, which are a different subject and are graded on the stewardship row rather than counted twice here. The platform navigation and footer were inventoried on 4 September 2026 and the only policy documents published are the terms and conditions and the privacy notice.
AI Safety and Data Stewardship
Retention, deletion, access control, and what happens to prompts and documents after they are processed. Whether the vendor states its subprocessors and its incident practice, or leaves the buyer to assume.
A privacy policy and compliance claims, short of committed practice. The Privacy Policy, effective 31 January 2026, says service providers are bound by data processing agreements, voice biometric data is collected only with consent and kept under a retention schedule, and protected health information is handled under a business associate agreement; the site says HelloCounsel is HIPAA compliant. No retention period for call recordings or transcripts, subprocessor list or incident notification commitment was located. Verified 22 September 2026.
Access and encryption are addressed in marketing terms and the privacy notice does not reach the recordings. Published: AES-256 encryption shown as a site badge, encryption in transit and at rest, access restricted to authorised personnel, detailed access logging, regular security audits, and secure storage with redaction listed as a plan feature. What is absent is the set that governs the material this product creates. No retention period is stated for call recordings, transcripts, summaries or lead records; no deletion or return-of-data commitment covers them; no subprocessor list exists; and no breach notification commitment was located anywhere. The privacy notice, last updated 15 September 2025, describes the company as an AI-driven dialling solution and enumerates the personal data it collects as contact, account, usage and technical data, with the substance of the document given over to cookies, social plugins, Google OAuth tokens and a Chrome extension addendum. Call content is not mentioned in it at all, so nothing published governs the recordings of prospective clients that the service exists to make. Its deletion and rights routes direct the reader to support addresses at a different company's domain.
AI Liability and Recourse
What the vendor stands behind contractually when its output is wrong. Indemnities, caps, carve outs, insurance, and whether any of it is published or only reachable through a negotiated agreement.
Addressed only through a standard limitation clause. The Terms of Service, a website and services agreement under Delaware law, disclaim warranties that information or services are accurate or error-free and limit HelloCounsel's entire liability to the amount paid for services in the preceding twelve months. Nothing addresses a call handled wrongly by an agent. Verified 22 September 2026.
The allocation of loss is published and every part of it runs one way. Section 11 caps cumulative liability at the fees paid in the preceding twelve months, or one hundred euros during a free trial, and excludes consequential, indirect, incidental, reputational and punitive damages including loss of data and lost business opportunity, with any claim required to be served by registered post within one year. Section 9.3 provides the service as is and as available and disclaims all implied warranties including fitness for purpose, warranting only a commercially reasonable level of care. Section 10 runs the indemnity from the customer to the vendor, covering breach, violations of law and claims relating to Customer Data; there is no vendor-side indemnity anywhere. No warranty on output, no service credit, no insurance position and nothing addressing a missed call, a misheard intake field or a caller mishandled by the system was located. This is the middle band because the exposure is addressed and readable before signing, through a standard limitation clause that disclaims precisely the risk the product creates, rather than left unaddressed.
Practice Systems Integration Depth
How deeply the product reaches into the systems legal work already lives in: document management such as iManage and NetDocuments, Word and Outlook, contract lifecycle management, matter management, e-billing, and court filing systems.
Integrations are described with the depth an implementer needs. Transcripts, structured summaries and notes are written through native APIs, not relay tools, into Filevine, Litify, Clio, SmartAdvocate, MyCase, CasePeer and Neos, attached to the correct matter; the firm creates a user for the agent in its case management system and assigns it tasks there, so access is governed by that account; and the agents work alongside the firm's existing phone system, with RingCentral documented. Verified 22 September 2026.
Named connections into the systems a firm already runs, with what moves stated and no depth behind it. Clio, MyCase, Lawmatics, PracticePanther, Google Calendar and Calendly are named, against a claim of thirty-five or more case management integrations, and dedicated pages exist per integration. What moves is stated at workflow level rather than left to inference: new leads, booked appointments and intake summaries sync automatically, and client data from intake reaches the case management system as a CRM-ready lead profile. That is more than a logo wall, which is what lifts it off the band below. What is missing is everything an implementer would need: no field mapping, no direction of sync, no trigger conditions, no error or conflict handling, no configuration guide and no API documentation. The agreement, at section 4.6, disclaims integrations entirely, stating they are not the vendor's products, that use is solely between the customer and the third party, and that the customer warrants it has obtained all necessary consents to transfer data in both directions. The dedicated integrations index was not opened in this pass and is named here as the limit; the grade rests on the connections and sync behaviour described on the pages that were read.
Deployment Model and Data Residency
Where the software runs and where the data sits. Multi tenant cloud, single tenant, private deployment, on premises, and whether region of residence is a published option or an enterprise conversation.
Where call records end up is stated; where processing happens is not. Summaries and transcripts are stored in the firm's own case management system, and the agents operate through a user account in that system. Where call audio is processed and stored, and in which region or on what infrastructure, is not stated. Verified 22 September 2026.
Cloud delivery is implied throughout and neither limb is stated. Nothing published says whether the platform is single or multi-tenant, no dedicated or isolated option appears on any tier, and no region is named for storage or for processing. The only geographic facts published are contractual rather than architectural, and they point in an unexpected direction for a product sold with HIPAA, PHIPA and PIPEDA badges: the agreement is governed by the laws of Slovakia with exclusive jurisdiction in the Slovak courts, notices are addressed to a Bratislava street address, fees may be denominated in euros, the free-trial liability floor is expressed in euros, and daily call thresholds are measured from midnight to midnight Central European Time. None of that states where customer data sits, and it is recorded rather than credited as residency. Where the speech processing happens is a separate silence, since no model provider is identified. A buyer cannot establish from any published source which country holds the recording of a call with their prospective client.
Security Certifications and Trust Center
Independent attestation a buyer can pull without a sales call: SOC 2, ISO 27001, penetration test summaries, a trust center with current reports and named scope rather than a badge image.
Claims without an attestation in hand. The site says HelloCounsel is HIPAA compliant, which names no audit, and that SOC 2 is "in observation", an attestation still in progress. No trust centre, report or audit date is published. Verified 22 September 2026.
Four badges, no scope, no date, no report and no auditor. The home page displays compliance marks for HIPAA, PHIPA and PIPEDA alongside an AES-256 encryption badge, each as an image with no accompanying statement of what was assessed, by whom, over what period, or against which controls. The pricing page repeats the claim as HIPAA and ABA-compliant. HIPAA, PHIPA and PIPEDA are statutory regimes a company self-attests to rather than independent attestations, and no Business Associate Agreement is offered or mentioned anywhere despite the HIPAA claim. The site further describes itself as proven, audited and secure and refers to regular security audits, naming no assessor and publishing no summary. No SOC 2 of either type, no ISO certification, no penetration test summary and no trust centre or portal exists on the estate, so there is nothing gated to request and this is an absence rather than a retrieval limit. This is the band its words describe exactly: badges on the site with no scope, no date, and no report available.
Model Supply Chain Disclosure
Which models sit underneath, whose they are, where they run, and whether the vendor commits to telling customers when that changes. A legal buyer inherits every dependency it cannot see.
Checked the home, product, FAQ and reference pages, the Terms of Service and the Privacy Policy on 22 September 2026. No speech, language or voice model, model provider, inference location or change notification is named. Verified 22 September 2026.
The vendor gestures at the technology and identifies nothing underneath it. The estate refers to advanced natural language processing, human-like voice technology, NLP tagging used to classify accident types, and AI trained on real legal scenarios. No model is named, no provider is named, no version is given, no hosting location is stated, and no commitment to notify customers of a change was located. Speech recognition, language model and text-to-speech are three separate suppliers in a product of this kind and none of the three is identified. One third party is named in the agreement and is not counted here: customers must agree to the Twilio Voice Services Policy and Acceptable Use Policy, which identifies the telephony carrier layer. Naming who carries the call says nothing about whose model conducts the conversation, and infrastructure is graded on its own axis rather than credited twice. This is the middle band rather than the floor because the architecture is described in general terms; a buyer simply cannot learn whose system is listening.
Commercial Transparency
Whether a buyer can learn what this costs without entering a sales process: published rates, the unit being charged, what sits behind an enterprise tier, and what implementation adds.
Unit prices are published on one page and contradicted on another. A comparison page lists $10 per medical record, $6 per insurance claim opened, $3 per crash report and $1 per call, with no setup fee and go-live in one to two weeks; the FAQ says pricing is per call or per open request with no setup or integration fee. The company's reference page says pricing is custom by call and case volume with no published rate card. Every engagement starts with a two-week free pilot. Verified 22 September 2026.
A real figure with its unit, published without a sales conversation, against an agreement that contradicts the terms attached to it. The pricing page states 400 dollars per seat per month with a 0 dollar setup fee for unlimited AI-handled calls, alongside a free trial and an enterprise tier at custom pricing, with the feature split between them published. That is a rate, a unit and an implementation cost, which is why this sits above the band where only the shape is visible. Two things keep it off the top. The enterprise tier is withheld entirely. And the published commercial terms conflict with the agreement a buyer signs: the page says cancel anytime, while section 7.8 states the service is billed in advance on an annual basis and is non-refundable with no exceptions, section 12.1 renews the term automatically unless notice is given thirty days out, and section 7.7 sets the initial free trial period at three days against the seven advertised on the page. Usage fees for outbound and toll-free calls sit outside the flat rate, and the per-minute rates that determine them are not published, obtainable only by emailing the vendor. Unlimited is also qualified in the agreement by a fair use ceiling of 3,000 minutes per user per month.
Firm and Practice Coverage
Who the product is actually built for. AmLaw, midlaw, small firm and solo, in house departments, government and courts, and which practice areas are supported rather than merely claimed.
Coverage and limits are both stated. HelloCounsel is for plaintiff personal injury, workers' compensation and mass tort firms of roughly 10 to 200 staff with case managers and a production case management system. The company says it is not for solo practitioners without case management staff or general practice firms, not for family, criminal, immigration or corporate work, and does not do legal research, drafting, medical records review or advice. Verified 22 September 2026.
Practice coverage is documented with real substance and the boundary is never drawn. Seven practice areas carry dedicated material with intake logic specific to each: personal injury, family law, criminal defence, immigration, real estate, business and corporate, and estate planning, and the treatment is operational rather than a list, describing accident-type detection and liability filtering for injury work, calm structured intake for family matters, and multilingual handling for immigration callers. Firm size is addressed from solo practitioners to high-volume and multi-location firms, with multi-location team management reserved to the enterprise tier. Jurisdictional pages exist at state and city level. What is absent is any statement of where the product stops: no practice area is identified as unsuitable, nothing addresses in-house or government legal work, no call type is described as one the system should not take, and nothing states which languages the multilingual intake actually covers.
The 12 legal signals, side by side
Recorded rather than graded. These are the questions a practitioner has to answer before a tool touches a client matter, and the answers are taken from public material only.
Client Data in Training
Can material a lawyer puts into this product be used to train a model?
The site's FAQ says HelloCounsel is HIPAA compliant and that no client data is used to train its agents, and a comparison page repeats it. The published Terms of Service do not address training, and the separate customer agreements for protected health information are not published.
No located term or policy addresses training either way, and the nearest clause was weighed and declined. Section 4.4 of the terms grants the vendor and its affiliates a license to use, copy, transmit, distribute and store Customer Data to the extent necessary or desirable to provide and improve the services, and Customer Data is expressly defined to include the data in the customer's calls, voicemails, voice recordings and call metadata.
That is an unqualified improvement license over recordings of prospective clients, with no de-identification, anonymization or aggregation qualifier attached. It is not recorded as a training permission because it does not name machine learning, model training or model development, and reading training into a general improvement right would reconstruct what the clause does not say. The privacy notice's statement that personal data is used to provide and improve services carries the same limitation.
Nothing on any surface states that customer content does not train models, and no opt-out or configuration setting is described.
Prompt and Output Retention
How long does the product keep what a lawyer typed, and can that be set to zero?
Call summaries and transcripts are written into the firm's own case management system, which the site calls the system of record. The Privacy Policy refers to a retention schedule, including for voice biometric data, without stating periods, and nothing says how long HelloCounsel itself keeps call audio or transcripts.
No located public material states how long anything is kept. The product records and transcribes every call and generates a written summary and lead profile for each, and the marketing states that every call is recorded, documented and fully auditable, so the material plainly persists; no period, no configuration option and no deletion commitment attaches to any of it. The privacy notice contains no retention section at all.
The only deletion routes published are narrow and belong to other subjects: revoking Google OAuth access and requesting deletion of Google account data, and removing locally stored data by uninstalling the Chrome extension. Neither reaches call recordings. Searched the home page, the feature pages, the pricing page, the practice-area pages, the terms and conditions and the privacy notice on 4 September 2026.
Ethical Walls and Matter Segregation
Does retrieval respect the firm’s ethical walls, or can the model read across them?
Checked the FAQ, product and reference pages on 22 September 2026. The agent works through a user account the firm creates in its case management system, so its access follows that account; nothing addresses walls between matters or teams within the firm.
No located public material addresses walls or separation between firms or between matters. Nothing states whether the platform is single or multi-tenant, and no permission model inside a firm's own workspace is described beyond an enterprise feature for multi-location team management, which is an administrative convenience rather than a segregation control. The marketing offers detailed access logging and states that access is restricted to authorized personnel, which describes who at the vendor may reach data rather than how one firm's callers are partitioned from another's. The agreement's access provisions govern login credentials and the customer's responsibility for them.
On a product where a single conflicted caller can reach a firm through an automated line, nothing published describes a screening or conflicts mechanism. Searched the home page, the feature pages, the pricing page, the terms and conditions and the privacy notice on 4 September 2026.
Third Party Request and Subpoena Notice
If someone subpoenas the vendor for a firm’s data, does the firm hear about it first?
The Privacy Policy says HelloCounsel may disclose information in response to a court order, subpoena or government request and that, where permitted by law, it will endeavor to notify the person before disclosing. The commitment sits in the Privacy Policy, not in a published customer agreement. No transparency report was located.
Disclosure to authorities is addressed and customer notice is addressed nowhere. The privacy notice states that data may be disclosed where required by law or in response to valid legal processes, and separately lists compliance with legal and regulatory requirements among the purposes for which personal data is used. No commitment to notify the customer, no reservation of discretion over notifying, and no transparency report appears on any surface.
The agreement is silent on the subject: the confidentiality section carries no compelled-disclosure carve-out at all, so it neither permits disclosure nor conditions it on notice, and its exceptions cover only information that is public, independently developed or already known. Two scope limits belong on the record. The disclosure sentence sits inside the section governing Google user data rather than in a general provision, and the privacy notice as a whole never mentions call recordings, so nothing published addresses what happens when a recording of a prospective client is demanded by legal process.
Primary Law Corpus Provenance
Where does the law in this product come from, and does the vendor have the right to use it?
Checked the product, FAQ and reference pages on 22 September 2026. The agents follow firm-configured scripts and case data and do not answer from a body of law, so no legal corpus is identified.
No located material identifies a corpus, and the question does not bite on this product class. The system conducts telephone intake against a script the firm writes; it does not retrieve or present legal content, so there is no case law source, statutory database, form library or licensed reference set behind anything it says. The material it works on is the caller's own answers. Recorded as the honest absence rather than a finding against the vendor.
Searched the home page, the feature pages, the practice-area pages and the two published policy documents on 4 September 2026.
Good Law Verification
Does the product tell you when the authority it just cited has been overruled?
Checked the product, FAQ and reference pages on 22 September 2026. The product does not cite legal authority, and nothing addresses checking authority for later treatment.
Nothing addresses checking authority for subsequent history, and the product neither retrieves nor cites primary law. Its outputs are call summaries, structured intake fields, lead profiles and calendar bookings. One adjacent behavior is recorded so a reader sees it was weighed and not missed: the system is described as timestamping an incident in order to flag potential statute of limitations issues automatically, which touches a legal rule without citing or checking one, and no source, jurisdiction table or currency check is described for it anywhere.
Searched the home page, the feature pages, the practice-area pages and the two published policy documents on 4 September 2026.
Refusal and Uncertainty Behavior
What does the product do when the answer is not in the corpus?
The site says sensitive or complex calls are routed to human staff with the relevant context already loaded, that intake follows practice-area scripts, and that the agents do not give legal opinions, settlement estimates or outcome predictions; it reports under 1.1% of calls escalated by the AI. No published evaluation shows how reliably calls are routed.
No located material describes what the system does when it cannot handle a call. There is no abstention path, no fallback state, no confidence signal, and nothing on what happens when a caller is unintelligible, distressed, off-script or asking something the script does not cover. Two published behaviors are adjacent and neither answers the question: calls can be warm-transferred, screened or escalated according to criteria the firm sets in advance, which is configured routing rather than the system recognizing its own limits, and the agreement records that the service does not support emergency calls, which is a telephony limitation the customer must communicate to its own users.
The gap is sharper on a product marketed for criminal defense and immigration intake, where the vendor's own material describes callers as overwhelmed and the matters as urgent. Searched the home page, the feature pages, the pricing page and the two published policy documents on 4 September 2026.
Fabricated Citation Record
Does a public court record exist addressing fabricated or hallucinated legal citations in output from this product?
Searched the AI Hallucination Cases database maintained by Damien Charlotin on 22 September 2026 for HelloCounsel, and no recorded case was returned. No court order, opinion or disciplinary record naming the product was located. This is a statement about the public record rather than a finding about the product.
The AI Hallucination Cases database maintained by Damien Charlotin was searched on 4 September 2026 on the product name LegalClerk and on the corporate name Better Financial Corporation. No court order, opinion or disciplinary record naming the product or the company was located. This records the state of the public record on that date and is not a finding about the product.
Bar Guidance Alignment
Has the vendor engaged in public with the ethics opinions its buyers are bound by?
Checked the product, FAQ, about and reference pages, the Terms of Service and the Privacy Policy on 22 September 2026. No material engages with lawyers' professional or ethical obligations for AI answering client calls or names any ethics opinion.
Professional responsibility is invoked once, as a compliance badge, with no authority named. The pricing page lists HIPAA and ABA-compliant among the features included in the paid plan. No bar association, rule of professional conduct, ethics opinion or jurisdiction-specific guidance is identified anywhere on the estate, nothing states which ABA standard the claim refers to, and no mapping of a firm's obligations when deploying automated intake is published.
The agreement engages regulation extensively but in a different field, requiring compliance with the US Telephone Consumer Protection Act, applicable Do Not Call rules, carrier requirements, A2P messaging frameworks and local call-recording notice laws. Those are telecommunications obligations rather than professional responsibility ones, and they are recorded here rather than credited.
Billing and Fee Posture
Does the vendor address what happens to the bill when the work takes an hour instead of six?
The site positions its pricing at about half the cost of legacy answering services and describes case manager hours saved. Nothing addresses how the service's cost is reflected in what clients are charged.
Cost claims are published in detail and nothing addresses what a client is told or charged. The estate compares a traditional receptionist at 48,000 to 65,000 dollars a year against roughly 4,800 for the service, states a 90 percent cost reduction, and repeats that the product replaces the cost of hiring, training and managing staff. All of it is directed at the firm's own overhead. Nothing addresses the question this signal asks: no per-matter record of AI-assisted work is offered, no guidance on fee or disclosure treatment is published, and nothing states whether a firm should tell a client that first contact was handled by software.
The gap connects to a disclosure position the vendor takes elsewhere, that most callers cannot tell they are speaking to AI and that this is by design, so the person whose intake it is is not told either.
Outside Counsel Guideline Readiness
Can a firm get this vendor through a client’s AI clause without a bespoke negotiation?
Checked the FAQ, reference page and Privacy Policy on 22 September 2026. No subprocessor or model provider list and no client-facing disclosure material was located; firms with security-review requirements are told to confirm details during the demo.
No located public material would support a firm answering a client's AI clause. No subprocessor list is published, no model or voice provider is named, no cloud provider is identified, and no consent or notification pack exists. A data processing agreement is referred to in the terms as forming an inseparable part of the contract and governing the vendor's processing as processor, but it is neither published nor linked anywhere on the estate, and no route to request it is offered.
One third party is named in the agreement, Twilio, whose voice services and acceptable use policies the customer must accept; that identifies the telephony carrier and says nothing about which models process a caller's speech, and naming infrastructure does not satisfy this signal. Searched the home page, the feature pages, the pricing page, the integrations references, the terms and conditions and the privacy notice on 4 September 2026.
Court Disclosure Support
If a judge’s standing order requires an AI disclosure, can the product produce one?
Checked the product, FAQ and reference pages on 22 September 2026. Every call's transcript and summary is kept in the case file, but the product does not produce court filings, and nothing addresses disclosing AI use.
Elements of a usable record exist as a by-product of the product, well short of anything built for disclosure. Every call is recorded and transcribed and a written summary is produced, and the vendor states that every call and intake interaction is logged, timestamped and accessible for audit or review, with call analytics and lead reports available to the firm. That is different in kind from a platform activity log, because the transcript is the output of the automated system itself: a firm can produce what was actually said to a caller and when.
What is absent is everything that would make it a disclosure record: no model or version is identified in it, no attribution marks any part as machine-generated, no human verification is recorded, no export is designed or described for producing it to a tribunal or a client, and no retention period governs how long any of it survives. No guidance or template on disclosing automated intake is published.
The questions both sides leave open
Derived from the records above rather than written, so it cannot favor either vendor. Take these into both conversations and ask each side the same question.
- AI Governance and Bias Disclosure
- Ethical Walls and Matter Segregation
- Primary Law Corpus Provenance
- Good Law Verification
- Outside Counsel Guideline Readiness
Which one fits
Choose HelloCounsel if
- You want the calls after a case is signed handled too, not only intake. HelloCounsel's agents give clients status updates, follow up with medical providers for records, call insurance adjusters, check lien balances and change appointments, and route sensitive or complex calls to staff with context.
- You want every call written into your case management system without relay tools. HelloCounsel writes transcripts, structured summaries and notes through native APIs into Filevine, Litify, Clio, SmartAdvocate, MyCase, CasePeer and Neos, attached to the right matter, under an agent user account the firm creates and controls.
- You want the agent's limits stated before it talks to your clients. HelloCounsel states that it is not a provider of legal advice, that its agents give no legal opinions, case valuations or outcome predictions, and that call recording and consent are configured for each jurisdiction the firm works in.
Choose LegalClerk.ai if
- You are a solo practitioner or work outside personal injury. LegalClerk.ai publishes intake flows for personal injury, family, criminal defense, immigration, real estate, business and estate planning work, for firms from solo practitioners to practices with several locations.
- You want a flat monthly price and a fast start. LegalClerk.ai publishes $400 per seat a month for unlimited AI handled calls with no setup fee, subject to a fair use ceiling of 3,000 minutes per user a month in its agreement, and the vendor says most firms go live in under ten minutes.
- You want to write the intake script yourself. LegalClerk.ai works from a script the firm writes in plain English, captures answers into structured fields, books consultations against a connected calendar, warm transfers priority callers, and records and transcribes every call with a written summary.
In summary
HelloCounsel
HelloCounsel, from HelloCounsel Inc. of Wilmington, Delaware, sells AI voice agents to plaintiff personal injury, workers' compensation and mass tort firms of roughly 10 to 200 staff. Its agents answer and place calls around the clock, handling new client intake and the calls that follow a signed case, such as status updates, medical records requests, adjuster calls and lien checks, and write a transcript and summary into the firm's case management system. The AI Legal Index grades it in the top two bands on six of fifteen capability axes, with A grades on AI centrality, integration depth and practice coverage. It publishes per task prices from $1 a call. As of 22 September 2026 the index located no named model, security attestation or named customer.
LegalClerk.ai
LegalClerk.ai, operated by Better Financial Corporation trading as LegalClerk, with contractual notices addressed to a Slovak entity in Bratislava, is an AI voice receptionist for law firms that answers calls on the first ring, runs a script the firm writes, captures answers into structured fields, books consultations, transfers priority callers and records and transcribes every call. It publishes intake flows for seven practice areas and syncs leads to Clio, MyCase, Lawmatics and PracticePanther among others. The AI Legal Index grades it in the top two bands on five of fifteen capability axes. It publishes a price of $400 per seat a month for unlimited AI handled calls. As of 4 September 2026 the index located no named customer, model provider, retention period or statement that it gives no legal advice.
Questions buyers ask
HelloCounsel vs LegalClerk.ai: which is better for a law firm's phone intake?
The grid places them one axis apart: HelloCounsel sits in the top two bands on six of fifteen AI Legal Index capability axes and LegalClerk.ai on five of fifteen, identical on nine. HelloCounsel is built for plaintiff injury firms with case managers and handles calls after a case is signed. LegalClerk.ai covers seven practice areas from solo practitioners up at a flat monthly price. Which fits depends mostly on the practice.
Do HelloCounsel and LegalClerk.ai tell callers they are speaking to AI?
LegalClerk.ai's FAQ states that most callers cannot tell they are speaking to AI and that this is by design. HelloCounsel publishes nothing on whether callers are told, though it states that call recording and consent are configured for each jurisdiction a firm works in. Neither publishes guidance for firms on disclosing automated intake to the people who call them. Graded by AI Legal Index against 15 capability axes and 12 legal signals, including privilege handling and citation accuracy, from each vendor's own published materials, verified September 26, 2026. No vendor pays for placement.
Does HelloCounsel give legal advice on calls?
No, by its own published statement. HelloCounsel says it is not a provider of legal advice and that its agents capture information and handle operational requests without legal opinions, case valuations or outcome predictions, routing sensitive or complex calls to staff with context. LegalClerk.ai publishes no equivalent statement, and its terms contain no disclaimer on legal advice. Graded by AI Legal Index against 15 capability axes and 12 legal signals, including privilege handling and citation accuracy, from each vendor's own published materials, verified September 26, 2026. No vendor pays for placement.
How much do HelloCounsel and LegalClerk.ai cost?
HelloCounsel lists $1 per call, $3 per crash report, $6 per insurance claim opened and $10 per medical record, with no setup fee and a two week free pilot, though its reference page calls pricing custom. LegalClerk.ai charges $400 per seat a month for unlimited AI handled calls, billed annually in advance under its agreement, with a fair use ceiling of 3,000 minutes per user. Graded by AI Legal Index against 15 capability axes and 12 legal signals, including privilege handling and citation accuracy, from each vendor's own published materials, verified September 26, 2026. No vendor pays for placement.
What do HelloCounsel and LegalClerk.ai both leave unpublished?
Whose models hear the caller, and how long recordings are kept. Neither names a speech, language or voice model or provider, and neither states a retention period for call audio or transcripts. Neither publishes a security attestation, an AI governance position, or any finding on how its agents perform across accents and languages, which matters for a voice product taking calls from the public. Graded by AI Legal Index against 15 capability axes and 12 legal signals, including privilege handling and citation accuracy, from each vendor's own published materials, verified September 26, 2026. No vendor pays for placement.
Three readings to weigh. LegalClerk.ai's agreement licenses call recordings and other customer data to the vendor to provide and improve its services; it does not name model training, and its privacy notice does not mention call recordings. Its agreement bills annually in advance without refunds and is governed by Slovak law. HelloCounsel's per task prices appear on a comparison page and its FAQ, while its own reference page describes pricing as custom, so confirm the rates. HelloCounsel was verified on 22 September 2026 and LegalClerk.ai on 4 September 2026. Neither vendor reviewed this page.
Neither vendor paid for inclusion, placement or a grade, and neither reviewed this page before it published. Everything above comes from public material on the dates shown. How the index grades.