A
Amplified
Amplified is an AI patent search and research platform that ranks a global patent collection by conceptual similarity rather than keyword match. A user describes an invention in plain language or enters a patent number, and the system sorts the whole database against it in real time. Results can then be narrowed with keyword filters, field selection, wildcards, proximity operators and full Boolean queries, which work alongside the AI.
The search is iterative: the researcher marks results relevant, flagged or hidden, and the system learns from those marks to surface more like them. Two AI ranking modes are offered, semantic and neural concept similarity, and the AI sorts results but never excludes them. Keyword counts show where the model may have misread an input. Coverage runs to more than 140 million records across 97 or more authorities and 22 languages, with AI search native in English and Japanese.
Pricing starts at $500 a month paid annually. The terms say Amplified will never use customer content to train general AI models, and will train customer specific models only at the customer's direction. Amplified AI, Inc. runs a Vanta trust center and builds on Fly.io and Amazon Web Services.
Amplified, head to head
Side by side on the same 15 capability axes and 12 legal signals: where the two part company, and what neither one publishes.
Alternatives to Amplified
Vendors in the same categories as Amplified whose graded profiles look most alike, with a line on what each product does.
Similar is not the same, so check that each one does the job you need. No vendor pays for placement.
- PPowerPatentPowerPatent is generative AI drafting software for patent applications, sold to patent attorneys, agents and the inventors who work with them.
- IipQuantsipQuants builds Qthena, a copilot for patent professionals built around a digital cockpit for working on documents.
- IIPRallyIPRally is a patent search and analysis platform for corporate IP departments, R&D teams, patent attorneys and search professionals.
- MMinesoft PatBaseMinesoft PatBase is a global patent search and analytics platform used by more than 90,000 IP, legal and R&D professionals for prior art searching, freedom to operate work, portfolio…
- RRed PointsRed Points is an AI brand protection platform that finds and removes counterfeit listings, fake websites, impersonating profiles, fraudulent ads and pirated content for its customers.
- AAlt LegalAlt Legal is trademark docketing software for IP practices.
Ordered by how closely the graded profiles match across the 15 capability axes, inside the same categories. See how each axis is graded in the methodology.
Capability grades
All 15 axes, graded from public sources on the date shown. Hover a grade to see what the letter means on that axis.
AI Centrality
How much of the product is actually AI. Whether the machine learning is the mechanism the buyer is paying for or a feature layered onto conventional software, and whether the vendor is specific about which is which.
A search starts with a plain language description of an invention or a patent number, and the system sorts more than 140 million records against it in real time by conceptual similarity, in one of two published AI ranking modes. Relevance feedback is the core loop: results marked relevant are fed back so the system surfaces more like them, and machine learning can partly automate relevance review of new publications.
Boolean search, proximity operators and field selection are supported as ways to steer the ranking, not as what is being bought; Amplified says its AI reads the patents so the user does not have to. Without the model, what remains is a patent database with a query box.
Citation Accuracy and Hallucination Disclosure
Whether the vendor publishes measured accuracy on citations and assertions, grounds output to primary sources, and says plainly what its system does when it does not know. Legal has a documented public record of fabricated citations reaching filed briefs, so an untested claim of accuracy is not evidence.
The product returns records from a defined collection rather than generating text, so there is little room for fabrication in the usual sense. A published design commitment goes to defensibility: the AI sorts results but never excludes them, so a ranking error cannot silently remove art from a searcher's view. Keyword counts are shown so a user can spot where the model misread an input, and search history can be exported.
The agreement acknowledges failure: section 19 says outputs may be inaccurate or incomplete, and section 14 says patent legal status is shown as received from authorities without warranty. No current, testable figure is published. Amplified's blog records a 2019 EPOPIC study reporting automated prior art results comparable to professional search across nearly 1.5 million patent search reports. That study is seven years old and has not been repeated for the current product. Clause 4.2(xxi) prohibits benchmarking or comparing the Service for publication without prior written consent.
Autonomy and Oversight Model
What the system decides on its own, what a lawyer must approve, and whether the vendor documents where the review point sits. A tool that drafts under review and a tool that files without one are different products and different risks.
The AI sorts but never excludes, so the person decides what to stop reading rather than the model deciding what they never see. The working loop in the help center is driven by the searcher, who marks results relevant, flagged or hidden, iterates, and runs a final check with filters removed to catch anything missed. Keyword counts let the user spot the model's misunderstandings. The agreement requires supervision: clause 4.2(xix) prohibits using outputs in or as the basis for legal, medical, financial, safety critical or other regulated decisions without independent review by a qualified professional, and 4.2(xx) prohibits relying on outputs in place of the customer's own due diligence.
No confidence signal is published, no threshold at which the system defers is stated, and nothing covers what happens when a search is later shown to have missed art.
Operational and Outcome Evidence
Named, dated evidence that the product works in production at real firms or legal departments. Case studies with figures and identified customers count. Unattributed testimonials and launch announcements do not.
Amplified's home page carries a quotation praising the product with no name, role or organization. The blog records conference activity rather than deployments: an EPO keynote at Search Matters 2019, an EPOPIC 2019 presentation, an invitation to speak at LESI, and selection among five of ninety startups at NIKKEI's AI SUM. Those show standing in the field, not customer outcomes. Third party sources, including LOT Network, CB Insights, WIPO and a revenue database, report customers such as Ricoh, Unicharm, Mizkan Holdings and a European automaker, and more than fifty large enterprises in thirteen countries.
None of that comes from the vendor, and no case study, named customer or dated deployment figure is published on any vendor page.
Privilege and Confidentiality Posture
How client confidences are handled: attorney client privilege and work product treatment, segregation of one client matter from another, whether client data trains any model, and what the vendor commits to in writing rather than in marketing.
Clause 6.3 says Amplified will never use customer content to train general AI models, and allows customer specific models or classifiers only at the customer's direction and only to provide those features back to that customer. The content license is limited to its purpose and to the period of use, ending when content is deleted from active systems. Retention and deletion are specific under 6.5, 12.9 and 16: deletion from active systems within thirty days of termination or request, written confirmation on request, and thirty days to export.
A mutual confidentiality clause in section 13 covers information reasonably understood to be confidential. Access control is contractual under 12.4, with personal credentials and an account administrator. Nothing addresses privilege or attorney work product, although projects hold invention disclosures and internal ideas. No model provider is named, so what any underlying provider may keep is not stated.
UPL and Professional Responsibility Posture
Whether the vendor is clear that it supplies a tool rather than legal advice, who its audience is, and how it addresses unauthorized practice of law, competence and supervision duties, and jurisdiction limits. ABA Formal Opinion 512 is the reference point. Where the advice line is not the duty a product raises, the axis is read through the nearest professional duty it does raise: judicial conduct rules and the reviewing duty for products sold only to courts, and the duty to bill for time actually spent for products that draft time entries.
Section 14 of the terms, headed No Professional Advice, says professional information through the Service is for information only and not advice. It then names the concrete failure case for a patent tool: patent legal status is shown as received from authorities without warranty, and users are directed to the national patent authority for authoritative status. Supervision is handled in the acceptable use policy: clause 4.2(xix) prohibits using outputs in or as the basis for regulated legal decisions without independent review by a qualified professional.
Use is limited to adults acting in a business or professional capacity, not consumers. No jurisdiction limit is stated for the product's own coverage, and the direction to a national authority addresses legal status only.
AI Governance and Bias Disclosure
Published governance over model behavior: who owns it inside the vendor, what is tested before release, and what is disclosed about disparate output across matter types, parties, or populations.
No governance position is published for a system that decides which prior art a professional sees. There is no responsible AI statement, governance framework, named owner for model behavior, evaluation regime for ranking quality, published test results, or anything on bias. Bias has a specific shape here: a similarity model offering native AI search only in English and Japanese may perform unevenly across the 22 languages and 97 authorities it covers, and nothing addresses that.
The information security program aligned with ISO 27001 is a security matter, not AI governance. One clause works against outside scrutiny: clause 4.2(xxi) prohibits benchmarking, testing or comparing the Service for publication without prior written consent.
AI Safety and Data Stewardship
Retention, deletion, access control, and what happens to prompts and documents after they are processed. Whether the vendor states its subprocessors and its incident practice, or leaves the buyer to assume.
On retention and deletion, clause 12.9 commits to deletion from active systems within thirty days of termination or request, with written confirmation available; 6.5 adds deletion from backups in the regular cycle; and section 16 gives thirty days to export before deletion. On access control, 12.4 requires access controls, encryption in transit and at rest, logging and monitoring, vulnerability management and secure development, with confidentiality duties on authorized staff, and section 3 makes credentials personal under a named account administrator.
On incidents, 12.8 commits to notice without undue delay, covering the nature of the incident, categories and approximate volume affected, likely consequences and measures taken. On subprocessors, 12.5 commits to publishing a current list on the trust center, with email updates of changes and equal protections passed down. Transfers are covered at 12.6, audits at 12.10 and US state privacy terms at 12.12.
AI Liability and Recourse
What the vendor stands behind contractually when its output is wrong. Indemnities, caps, carve outs, insurance, and whether any of it is published or only reachable through a negotiated agreement.
Section 18 provides the Service as is and as available, with all warranties disclaimed, including fitness and noninfringement. Section 19 caps total liability at fees paid in the twelve months before the event and excludes indirect and consequential damages. It also removes the product risk rather than allocating it: the customer accepts that outputs may be inaccurate, incomplete or inappropriate, is solely responsible for checking them, and Amplified disclaims all liability for reliance on outputs.
The indemnity in section 17 runs only from customer to Amplified, with no intellectual property or other indemnity to the customer. No insurance position is published. Carve outs are kept for death, personal injury, fraud and willful misconduct.
Practice Systems Integration Depth
How deeply the product reaches into the systems legal work already lives in: document management such as iManage and NetDocuments, Word and Outlook, contract lifecycle management, matter management, e-billing, and court filing systems.
The help center documents importing a result list from a complementary search tool, naming CAS and STN, a specific path for a professional searcher. The site navigation carries How it works, Blog, Pricing and Resources, with no integrations page, API reference or developer documentation. A public GitHub organization is linked from the footer. No IP management system, docketing platform, document management system or patent office filing interface is named on any vendor page.
Single sign on providers appear only in a third party software directory. Export is well served, with search history export and sharing to unlimited viewers, but export is not integration.
Deployment Model and Data Residency
Where the software runs and where the data sits. Multi tenant cloud, single tenant, private deployment, on premises, and whether region of residence is a published option or an enterprise conversation.
Amplified's trust center says it builds on Fly.io and Amazon Web Services and relies on their compliance with privacy and security standards, including regular independent audits, with data encrypted in transit and at rest. Naming providers is not naming a location. No region, country or data center appears anywhere, no residency option is offered, and nothing says whether the platform is single or multi tenant or whether enterprise customers get a dedicated arrangement.
Clause 12.6 commits to a lawful mechanism for international transfers of personal data, naming EU Standard Contractual Clauses Module Two, the UK Addendum and IDTA, a Swiss addendum and Brazilian SCCs. That shows data crosses borders without saying between which places.
Security Certifications and Trust Center
Independent attestation a buyer can pull without a sales call: SOC 2, ISO 27001, penetration test summaries, a trust center with current reports and named scope rather than a badge image.
Amplified claims no certification of its own. Clause 12.4 describes an information security program aligned with ISO 27001 standards, and the trust center describes adherence to ISO compliance standards. Alignment is self assessed: no certifying body, scope, observation period or report date is published, so nothing can be checked against a register. The certifications named belong to the hosts: the trust center cites the compliance of Fly.io and Amazon Web Services and their regular independent audits, which does not carry over to the platform.
The route to evidence is a trust center at trust.amplified.ai, a commitment in clause 12.4 to publish security summaries and independent assessment information there, and a commitment in 12.10 to provide audit summaries and security documentation on written request.
Model Supply Chain Disclosure
Which models sit underneath, whose they are, where they run, and whether the vendor commits to telling customers when that changes. A legal buyer inherits every dependency it cannot see.
The training clause separates general AI models from customer specific models and classifiers that Amplified trains, and the product has two AI ranking modes, semantic and neural concept similarity, built on deep learning over patent data. So Amplified runs its own models rather than reselling a general assistant. Nothing verifiable is published about them: no model, version or architecture, no third party model or inference provider, no location for inference, and no commitment to notify customers of model changes.
Fly.io and Amazon Web Services are named on the trust center as infrastructure, which says where the platform runs, not whose models process a search. Clause 12.5 commits to publishing the subprocessor list on the trust center.
Commercial Transparency
Whether a buyer can learn what this costs without entering a sales process: published rates, the unit being charged, what sits behind an enterprise tier, and what implementation adds.
The rate is from $500 a month paid annually, a floor rather than a flat rate, and what it buys is listed: unlimited projects and viewers, search across more than 140 million patents, sharing of up to 50 projects, discussion and annotation, and cancellation at any time. The intended uses are named as novelty, invalidity and freedom to operate, and both AI ranking modes are included. Purchase is self serve, with signup and a trial request published and no sales conversation needed.
Team pricing and enterprise options are quoted, not published, and clause 9.1 points to a second pricing page inside the application. The agreement adds that subscriptions renew automatically unless canceled in account settings, payments are not refundable except where law requires, and fees may change going forward on notice.
Firm and Practice Coverage
Who the product is actually built for. AmLaw, midlaw, small firm and solo, in house departments, government and courts, and which practice areas are supported rather than merely claimed.
Searchable scope is quantified: more than 140 million records, 97 or more authorities, 22 languages, about 34 million original language publications and 50 million machine translations in the English index, plus family data and citations both ways. The work is named as novelty, invalidity and freedom to operate, the practice's own vocabulary. Buyers named include IP law firms, corporate research and development and IP teams, patent offices, universities and individual inventors.
One limit is stated plainly: AI search is native in English and Japanese only, with other languages in beta and on request. No firm size or seat threshold is addressed, and in house and government use are named without description.
2 public documents
The public pages on file for Amplified, with the recorded signals each one supports and the date it was last read. Open any of them and check the reading against the record.
-
amplified.ai/terms5 signals
Client Data in Training, Prompt and Output Retention, Ethical Walls and Matter Segregation and 2 more
Read Sep 4, 2026
-
Fabricated Citation Record
Read Sep 4, 2026
From $500 per month
- Amplified starts at $500 a month on annual billing. That covers unlimited projects and unlimited people who can read and comment, search across more than 140 million patents, and sharing of up to 50 projects. Only the people who create projects need a paid license, so viewers cost nothing extra. Larger teams and enterprise deals are priced on request.
A published floor, with the unit stated and self serve purchase. The rate is from $500 a month paid annually, a starting figure rather than a flat rate, and the entitlement is listed: unlimited projects and viewers, search across more than 140 million patents, sharing of up to 50 projects, discussion and annotation, and cancellation at any time. Viewers are unlimited and free, and paid creator licenses are bought for those who create and share projects, so the unit of charge is the creator seat.
Both AI ranking modes are included, and the stated uses are novelty, invalidity and freedom to operate. Team pricing and enterprise options are quoted through a contact route. Signup and a trial account need no sales conversation. Under the agreement, clause 9.3 renews subscriptions automatically unless canceled in account settings before renewal, and 9.4 makes payments not refundable except where law requires. Clause 9.1 allows fee changes going forward on notice, and 9.5 puts taxes on the customer. Clause 9.1 also points to a pricing page inside the application at app.amplified.ai/pricing.
Legal Signals
What each signal meansA signal records what public sources say on the date shown. It is not a grade and it is not a recommendation. Where a signal reads Not addressed, it means the index did not locate the material in public sources on that date, which is a statement about disclosure rather than about the product.
Client Data in Training
Can material a lawyer puts into this product be used to train a model?
Training occurs only where the customer has affirmatively enabled it.
The drafting separates two things clearly. Clause 6.3 says Amplified will never use customer content to train general AI models, an unqualified contractual bar. It separately allows customer specific models or classifiers to be trained on customer content at the customer's direction, to deliver those features back to that customer and its permitted users. Training therefore happens only where the customer has turned it on, and the general model route is closed by contract rather than policy.
The surrounding license limits use to providing, maintaining, securing, troubleshooting and improving the Service, for the period of use, ending when content is deleted from active systems. Clause 7 keeps Usage Data separate and expressly excludes User Content from it.
Prompt and Output Retention
How long does the product keep what a lawyer typed, and can that be set to zero?
The customer controls the retention window, by product configuration or by contractual instruction, but zero retention is not stated as available.
The customer controls the window by instruction, and a default is published. Clause 12.9 commits to deleting or returning customer personal data from active systems within thirty days of termination or request, with written confirmation on request, and backups cycling out on standard schedules. Clause 6.5 says the same for user content generally: deletion from active systems on the customer's deletion or on termination, then from backups in the regular cycle, with limited retention allowed for law, legal process, audit, security and integrity.
Section 16 adds thirty days after termination to retrieve data before deletion. Zero retention is not offered as a setting.
Ethical Walls and Matter Segregation
Does retrieval respect the firm’s ethical walls, or can the model read across them?
The product maintains its own permission model, documented, requiring the firm to keep it aligned.
Amplified runs its own permission model and describes it at feature and contract level. Work is organized into projects, with sharing controlled by the customer: clause 6.1 leaves sharing settings with the customer, and 6.4 makes each share an explicit license to that recipient. Unlimited viewers sit alongside paid creator licenses, so read access and authoring rights are separate. Section 3 requires a named account administrator with authority over seats and settings, makes credentials personal, and prohibits sharing logins to give others paid features, with two factor authentication encouraged and able to be required.
The customer administers Amplified's own model. Nothing addresses separation between matters inside one customer account, which for a patent search tool means whether one client's freedom to operate project is walled off from another's.
Third Party Request and Subpoena Notice
If someone subpoenas the vendor for a firm’s data, does the firm hear about it first?
Terms commit to notice where lawfully permitted. No transparency report located.
Section 13 of the terms lets a recipient of confidential information disclose it where law requires, but only with prompt notice to the disclosing party where lawful and with cooperation to limit what is disclosed. The clause is mutual, so it binds Amplified for the customer's confidential information, and the where lawful qualifier is the standard carve out for gag orders. Confidential information is defined broadly enough to cover the customer's research: nonpublic business and technical information reasonably understood to be confidential, including invention disclosures and search strategy held in projects. No transparency report on government or third party requests is published.
Primary Law Corpus Provenance
Where does the law in this product come from, and does the vendor have the right to use it?
Coverage is described by jurisdiction with no identification of the underlying corpus.
The patent collection is described by coverage, not by named source or license. The figures are specific: more than 140 million records, over 120 million full text records, 97 or more patent authorities, 22 languages, about 34 million original language publications and 50 million machine translations in the English index, plus family data and citations both ways, updated weekly. That tells a searcher which jurisdictions and record types are in scope.
Nothing says where the data comes from or on what terms: no data supplier, aggregator or patent office feed is named, no licensing arrangement is described, and nothing covers the scientific literature the marketing mentions separately.
Good Law Verification
Does the product tell you when the authority it just cited has been overruled?
No located public material addresses whether authority is checked for subsequent history.
For patents, the equivalent question is legal status, and Amplified addresses it directly and negatively. Section 14 says patent legal status is shown as received from the authorities without warranty and directs users to the national patent authority for authoritative status. That disclaims currency rather than providing a treatment signal: the product passes through what the registers report and does not verify, annotate or flag whether a patent is still in force.
Alerts can be set on individual patents to report changes in legal status, which monitors change going forward rather than checking status at the time of search. No verification prompt, treatment indicator or status signal of its own is published.
Refusal and Uncertainty Behavior
What does the product do when the answer is not in the corpus?
No located public material addresses what the product does when it cannot ground an answer.
No abstention path is described, and the design gives the question a different shape. The system ranks rather than answers, and it commits to sorting but never excluding results, so there is no point at which it declines to return something. Two related features are not uncertainty signals. Keyword counts are shown so a searcher can see where the model misunderstood an input, and the help documentation tells users to read noisy results as a sign their description was too vague and to correct it.
Neither is a confidence or grounding score on a result, and nothing on the home page, how it works, pricing, terms, trust center or help center describes what the system does when it cannot rank meaningfully.
Fabricated Citation Record
Does a public court record exist addressing fabricated or hallucinated legal citations in output from this product?
No court order, opinion or disciplinary record addressing fabricated or hallucinated legal citations produced by this product has been located as of the date shown. This is a statement about the public record on that one subject, not a finding about the product, and this signal is not a litigation history.
The AI Hallucination Cases database maintained by Damien Charlotin records no court order, opinion or disciplinary record naming Amplified or Amplified AI. The database tracks fabricated legal citations in court filings, and this product returns records from a patent corpus rather than generating citations. This is a statement about the public record rather than a finding about the product.
Bar Guidance Alignment
Has the vendor engaged in public with the ethics opinions its buyers are bound by?
Public materials refer to professional responsibility in general terms without naming guidance.
Section 14 of the terms says professional information through the Service is for information only, not advice, and directs users to a qualified professional. Clause 4.2(xix) prohibits using outputs in or as the basis for regulated legal decisions without independent review by a qualified professional. Both treat the professional's duty as a subject. No bar association, patent bar, regulator, rule of professional conduct or ethics opinion is named on the home page, how it works, pricing, terms, trust center or help center, and nothing addresses the duty of candor to a patent office, the professional obligation a prior art search tool most directly engages.
Billing and Fee Posture
Does the vendor address what happens to the bill when the work takes an hour instead of six?
Public materials claim time savings without addressing billing or disclosure, and the product sits inside a fee relationship between a lawyer and a client where those savings would change the bill.
Amplified's headline claim is that IP professionals cut 50 to 80 percent of the time previously spent searching, and the marketing says prior art can be found in an hour or less without search experience. Nothing addresses what happens to a client bill or a fixed search fee when that time shrinks, and no record of AI assisted work by matter is described for fee or disclosure purposes. Search history can be exported, which shows what was searched but is not a billing record.
Amplified charges per creator license per month rather than per search, which is a cost fact, not an answer on client billing.
Outside Counsel Guideline Readiness
Can a firm get this vendor through a client’s AI clause without a bespoke negotiation?
The material exists behind a sales conversation or an executed agreement.
Clause 12.5 commits Amplified to publishing a current subprocessor list on its trust center, with email updates of changes, and to passing down data protection duties no less protective than the DPA. Clause 12.4 commits to publishing security summaries and independent assessment information there, and 12.10 to providing audit summaries and security documentation on written request. A DPA is built into the terms at section 12, a document that can be forwarded to clients without signing anything. No model provider is named in the terms.
Court Disclosure Support
If a judge’s standing order requires an AI disclosure, can the product produce one?
Some elements of the record are available, short of a document level export.
Projects retain every patent read, marked relevant, flagged or hidden, and a search history can be exported covering both AI and Boolean searching, which gives a defensible account of what was looked at and in what order. The published commitment that the AI sorts but never excludes strengthens that record, because it means the export reflects a ranking rather than a silent filter. Annotation and notes are retained per project.
Nothing states that the model or ranking mode used for a given result set is recorded in the export, no version is captured, and no human sign off is documented as recorded. No disclosure guidance or template for a patent office or court is published, and nothing addresses the duty of candor context in which such a record would be produced.