C
Credo AI

Credo AI, based in Los Altos, California, sells an AI governance platform that inventories the AI an organization runs and checks it against regulatory obligations. Its modules cover an AI registry with agent cards and shadow AI discovery, and risk intelligence with a risk and control library, risk scoring, automated red teaming and drift detection. A compliance and policy engine carries prebuilt policy packs for the EU AI Act, the NIST AI Risk Management Framework, ISO 42001 and SOC 2.

Production monitoring evaluates agent traces and escalates high risk actions to a person. Its own generative layer is GAIA, a set of governance agents that register systems, retrieve evidence, assess risk, draft governance plans and run remediation, with human oversight kept for critical decisions. A governance knowledge graph links regulations, business context and system configuration so that controls differ by jurisdiction and sector.

The platform integrates with cloud and MLOps environments, agent frameworks and GRC systems, and is sold in modules through order forms with no published price. The terms of use commit Credo.AI Corp. not to use customer data to train AI models. Named customers include Mastercard, Principal and AdeptID, and the company states a SOC 2 Type II examination.

Compared with

Credo AI, head to head

Side by side on the same 15 capability axes and 12 legal signals: where the two part company, and what neither one publishes.

Build your own comparison

Capability grades

All 15 axes, graded from public sources on the date shown. Hover a grade to see what the letter means on that axis.

BB on AI CentralityThe models are the engine of a core capability, layered on a product that would still function without them as a document or workflow system.

AI Centrality

How much of the product is actually AI. Whether the machine learning is the mechanism the buyer is paying for or a feature layered onto conventional software, and whether the vendor is specific about which is which.

The models drive a core capability on top of a governance system of record that would work without them. The platform's spine is an inventory and a workflow: an AI registry with agent cards and dependency graphs, a risk and control library, policy packs mapped to named regulations, approval gates, audit trails and evidence generation. Customers could run that with human analysts filling it in, and Credo AI's own account of its history says as much, describing a 2020 to 2023 phase whose breakthrough was replacing spreadsheets and ad hoc reviews with a policy engine.

What the models add is GAIA, a set of governance agents that handle intake and registration, retrieve evidence, assess risk, draft governance plans and remediate, plus automated red teaming, drift detection and classification of shadow AI. Without them, the registry, the policy packs and the workflows remain.

Source: Vendor Published
CC on Citation Accuracy and Hallucination DisclosureAccuracy is asserted without measurement, or grounding is claimed while output cites sources the reader cannot open and verify.

Citation Accuracy and Hallucination Disclosure

Whether the vendor publishes measured accuracy on citations and assertions, grounds output to primary sources, and says plainly what its system does when it does not know. Legal has a documented public record of fabricated citations reaching filed briefs, so an untested claim of accuracy is not evidence.

Accuracy is asserted in numbers and measured in none of them, and the agreement disclaims it outright. The product page claims 10x faster compliance, 70 percent less time in engineering bottlenecks, 100 percent AI visibility and 360 degree risk coverage, none with a basis, method or test set, and a customer quote repeats the 10x figure for EU AI Act compliance. Section 8.6 of the Terms of Use says Credo AI makes no warranties or representations on the accuracy, reliability, timeliness or completeness of the services.

Some questions do not apply: the platform produces risk scores, control mappings and evidence rather than legal assertions citing authority, so there is no citator and no reported case to open. What does apply matters for a product whose output is a compliance conclusion mapped to a named statute: nothing published shows how often GAIA's evidence retrieval or risk mapping is right, and no grounding method is described.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on Autonomy and Oversight ModelA written commitment that the models work alongside a supervising lawyer, with real review surfaces, short of the full control structure: commonly the threshold at which the system stops or what happens after it is wrong.

Autonomy and Oversight Model

What the system decides on its own, what a lawyer must approve, and whether the vendor documents where the review point sits. A tool that drafts under review and a tool that files without one are different products and different risks.

A written commitment that the agents work alongside a person, with real review points, short of a threshold. The product page says GAIA's agents automate the most time consuming governance tasks while keeping human oversight for critical decisions. The mechanisms are named: governance workflows with approval gates in the compliance module, escalation to a person in production monitoring, and escalation to a person specifically for high risk actions in agent monitoring.

Continuous evaluation of agent traces feeds those escalations. That matters on a product whose own agents can run remediation. What is not published is the control structure behind it: which actions GAIA may take unattended, what threshold defines a critical decision or a high risk action, and what happens after a remediation agent acts wrongly.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on Operational and Outcome EvidenceReal deployment evidence with substance, short of full attribution or measurement: a named customer without figures, or figures without the named customer.

Operational and Outcome Evidence

Named, dated evidence that the product works in production at real firms or legal departments. Case studies with figures and identified customers count. Unattributed testimonials and launch announcements do not.

Named customers with named people, short of dates and method. The product page carries attributed statements from Andrew Reiskind, Chief Data Officer at Mastercard, on managing AI risk and implementing generative AI at speed and scale using the AI Registry and Vendor Registry; Renee Langeness, Director of Data Governance at Principal, on standing up an enterprise AI governance workflow; Parth Patel, Executive Director for AI and Data Science, on complementing internal processes; Kathleen Cachel, Senior Data Scientist at AdeptID, on centralized support for annual technical audits; and Brad Mallard, a CTO, on using the platform internally for compliance with its own policies and the EU AI Act.

Partner statements from Microsoft's Chief Product Officer for Responsible AI and IBM add substance about what the integration does. One figure appears inside a customer quote, compliance with the EU AI Act at ten times the speed of doing it manually, with no method attached, and the page's own counters carry no basis. No deployment is dated. Credo AI also publishes a customers and case studies page.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on Privilege and Confidentiality PostureSubstantive published commitments on confidentiality and training use, short of the full picture: commonly silence on segregation between users or matters, or on what the underlying model provider may retain.

Privilege and Confidentiality Posture

How client confidences are handled: attorney client privilege and work product treatment, segregation of one client matter from another, whether client data trains any model, and what the vendor commits to in writing rather than in marketing.

Substantive published commitments, one of them specific, short of segregation and of an element the agreement itself complicates. Section 6.8 of the Terms of Use bars Credo AI from using, processing or accessing User Data to train, develop or improve any machine learning or AI model. It also limits Credo AI's access to providing, maintaining and supporting the service. The same clause names the enterprise AI tools staff may use to deliver the service and confines that use to Credo AI's own enterprise environment and team.

It says no user data leaves that environment and requires deletion at the end of the engagement. Section 11.3 makes User Content the customer's Confidential Information, 11.4 limits disclosure to those with a need to know under equivalent duties, and 6.6 sets a sixty day window after termination followed by deletion. Two gaps remain. Nothing published addresses segregation between customers or between teams inside a tenant.

And section 5.2 grants Credo AI a worldwide, sublicensable, transferable license to use, reproduce, modify, adapt, publish, translate, create derivative works from, distribute, perform and display User Content to provide and improve the services. The purpose is narrow but the verbs are not, and a governance platform holds a customer's AI risk assessments and incident records.

Source: Vendor Published
CC on UPL and Professional Responsibility PostureA boilerplate disclaimer sits in the terms while the marketing describes the product in advice terms, or the intended audience is left ambiguous.

UPL and Professional Responsibility Posture

Whether the vendor is clear that it supplies a tool rather than legal advice, who its audience is, and how it addresses unauthorized practice of law, competence and supervision duties, and jurisdiction limits. ABA Formal Opinion 512 is the reference point. Where the advice line is not the duty a product raises, the axis is read through the nearest professional duty it does raise: judicial conduct rules and the reviewing duty for products sold only to courts, and the duty to bill for time actually spent for products that draft time entries.

A boilerplate disclaimer sits in the terms while the marketing describes regulatory conclusions, and nothing says where the output stops and legal judgment begins. The product is sold on full alignment with European AI regulation including risk classification and conformity assessments, complete NIST Risk Management Framework compliance, and audit ready documentation for every major AI regulation. Classifying a system's risk tier under the EU AI Act is a legal characterization with consequences.

The company also sells advisory services described as strategic advisory on AI governance. The only related term is section 8.6, disclaiming any representation on accuracy, reliability, timeliness or completeness, which is a warranty disclaimer rather than a statement about advice. Nothing published says that a policy pack mapping, risk classification or conformity artifact is not legal advice, that counsel remains responsible for the determination, or which jurisdictions the regulatory content is maintained for. The audience is clearly professional.

Source: Vendor Published
CC on AI Governance and Bias DisclosureResponsible AI principles are published without a mechanism, a testing regime, or anything a buyer could audit.

AI Governance and Bias Disclosure

Published governance over model behavior: who owns it inside the vendor, what is tested before release, and what is disclosed about disparate output across matter types, parties, or populations.

Principles and a data use commitment are published; a governance framework for Credo AI's own AI is not. Credo AI publishes an ethos page, runs an annual AI trust summit, keeps a public governance insights hub and glossary, and presents itself as the company that pioneered the category, so responsible AI language is plentiful. One commitment goes beyond language: section 6.8 of the Terms of Use is a binding statement on how Credo AI handles customer data in relation to AI models, including which enterprise AI tools its own staff may use.

The governance half is still missing. Nothing published names who inside Credo AI is accountable for GAIA's behavior, describes what is evaluated before a governance agent ships, reports any result, or discloses uneven output across sectors, jurisdictions or populations. The company sells ISO 42001 policy packs but does not claim the certification itself. It runs a trust center on Vanta.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on AI Safety and Data StewardshipSubstantive published policy covering most of the ground, short of the full set: commonly no named subprocessor list or no stated incident practice.

AI Safety and Data Stewardship

Retention, deletion, access control, and what happens to prompts and documents after they are processed. Whether the vendor states its subprocessors and its incident practice, or leaves the buyer to assume.

Published policy covers most of the ground, short of security detail and a subprocessor list. The Terms of Use cover retention and deletion specifically: User Data is kept as long as needed to provide the services, with a sixty day window after termination to export using standard features, and deletion after that (6.6). Section 6.8 confines access to providing, maintaining and supporting the service, names the enterprise AI tools staff use, and has their data deleted at the end of the engagement.

Incident practice is stated: notice without undue delay after becoming aware, reasonable steps to mitigate and minimize damage, and a statement that notification is not an admission of fault (6.9). Aggregated and anonymized use is allowed only if it cannot be attributed to the customer (6.7), and confidential information must be returned or destroyed on request with written certification (11.7). Security detail is missing: security is described only as reasonable administrative, technical and physical safeguards, with no encryption standard, access control, testing regime or logging commitment.

No subprocessor list is published, and the data processing agreement is provided on request rather than published. Credo AI's trust center is hosted on Vanta.

Source: Vendor Published
AA on AI Liability and RecourseWhat the vendor stands behind when its output is wrong is published and specific: indemnity scope, caps, carve outs, and any insurance or warranty a buyer can actually invoke.

AI Liability and Recourse

What the vendor stands behind contractually when its output is wrong. Indemnities, caps, carve outs, insurance, and whether any of it is published or only reachable through a negotiated agreement.

What the vendor stands behind is published and specific, including where it stands behind nothing. Section 10.1 of the Terms of Use gives a defense and indemnity against third party claims that the services infringe or misappropriate intellectual property rights. Section 10.2 lists six exclusions, and 10.3 sets the remedies in turn: obtain the right, modify or replace the services with substantially equivalent function, or terminate with a prorated refund.

Section 9.2 caps each party's total liability at the amount paid in the twelve months before the incident. Section 9.3 lifts the cap and the exclusion of indirect damages for breach of confidentiality and for the customer's breach of the license and acceptable use terms. Two express warranties carry stated remedies, each the exclusive remedy: the SaaS products will perform materially as documented, remedied by correction or termination with a prorated refund (8.4), and advisory services will be performed in a professional and workmanlike manner, remedied by performing them again or a refund (8.5).

Section 8.6 disclaims everything else, including any representation on accuracy, reliability, timeliness or completeness. Section 14.1 gives a termination right with a prorated refund if a change materially reduces function. No insurance is stated, the indemnity is not carved out of the cap, and the service level agreement is mutually agreed rather than published.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on Practice Systems Integration DepthReal integrations exist and are documented, short of depth: named connections without a description of what they actually move.

Practice Systems Integration Depth

How deeply the product reaches into the systems legal work already lives in: document management such as iManage and NetDocuments, Word and Outlook, contract lifecycle management, matter management, e-billing, and court filing systems.

Named integrations cover the systems the work lives in, short of a description an implementer could use. The product page lists them by category: cloud and AI operations with AWS, Azure, GCP, Databricks and Snowflake; agent platforms with Azure AI Foundry, LangChain, CrewAI and AutoGen; governance, risk and security with ServiceNow, Archer, OneTrust and Qualys; development and MLOps with GitHub, MLflow, Jira, Confluence and Slack; and custom APIs, webhooks, SDKs and connectors.

There is a separate SDK documentation site and a stated ecosystem of more than thirty partners. One integration is described in enough detail to see what moves, and by the counterparty: Microsoft's Chief Product Officer for Responsible AI says it gives governance leaders prescriptive guidance on what to evaluate and lets developers run governance evaluations in their own workflow. The registry also governs MCP servers and platform connections. Depth, direction and configuration for each integration are not published on the product page.

Source: Vendor Published
DD on Deployment Model and Data ResidencyNothing published on where the software runs or where client data sits.

Deployment Model and Data Residency

Where the software runs and where the data sits. Multi tenant cloud, single tenant, private deployment, on premises, and whether region of residence is a published option or an enterprise conversation.

Nothing is published on where the software runs or where customer data sits. The Terms of Use describe SaaS products used through a browser or API and say nothing about hosting region, data residency, tenancy or a deployment choice. The product page describes the architecture in functional layers, not infrastructure, and no region selector, residency commitment or single tenant option appears. Credo AI runs a trust center at trust.credo.ai, a portal hosted on Vanta.

The agreement does note, at 15.9, that the services may be subject to United States and other export laws, which places Credo AI in the US but is not a residency statement.

Source: Operator Verified
BB on Security Certifications and Trust CenterCertification is real and stated, short of accessible evidence: a named standard without scope, date, or a way to obtain the report.

Security Certifications and Trust Center

Independent attestation a buyer can pull without a sales call: SOC 2, ISO 27001, penetration test summaries, a trust center with current reports and named scope rather than a badge image.

Credo AI names a certification, and no scope, date or reachable report is published. Its trust center at trust.credo.ai says Credo AI maintains a SOC 2 Type II examination and invests continuously in its security program so the platform meets the same governance standards it helps customers achieve. The platform's compliance module lists SOC 2 among the frameworks it supports for customers; that is a product feature, not an attestation.

What would make the attestation checkable is missing: no auditor, examination period, report date, scope statement or route to the report is published. The trust center is a portal hosted on Vanta.

Source: Vendor Published
CC on Model Supply Chain DisclosureThe vendor refers to advanced or proprietary models without identifying what sits underneath.

Model Supply Chain Disclosure

Which models sit underneath, whose they are, where they run, and whether the vendor commits to telling customers when that changes. A legal buyer inherits every dependency it cannot see.

Credo AI describes a proprietary intelligence layer and governance agents without saying what sits beneath them. GAIA is presented as a set of AI agents for evidence retrieval, risk assessment, incident response and remediation, powered by what the product page calls a proprietary governance knowledge graph. No model, provider, hosting location or commitment to notice of change for those agents is published. Two related facts do not answer the question.

The models named on the site, ChatGPT, Claude and Gemini, are customer deployments the product governs, not Credo AI's supply chain. The enterprise AI tools named in clause 6.8 of the Terms of Use are tools Credo AI's own staff use to support the service, which concerns internal operations. No subprocessor list is published.

Source: Vendor Published
CC on Commercial TransparencyPricing is gated behind a demo request while tier names and feature splits are published, so the shape is visible and the number is not.

Commercial Transparency

Whether a buyer can learn what this costs without entering a sales process: published rates, the unit being charged, what sits behind an enterprise tier, and what implementation adds.

The shape is partly visible, and no number is published at any level. There is no pricing page; every path ends at Talk to an Expert or a personalized demo, offered without a credit card. Before that conversation the modular structure is visible, and Credo AI sells on it: AI Registry and Discovery, Risk Intelligence, Compliance and Policy Engine, and Governance are named as modules that work independently, with advice to start with the registry and add others over time, alongside separately sold advisory services.

The Terms of Use add the mechanics. Fees are set in an order form or statement of work, based on services bought rather than actual usage, noncancellable and nonrefundable, invoiced in advance and payable within thirty days, with 1.5 percent monthly interest on late amounts. Contracts renew automatically unless either party gives thirty days' notice, and price changes take effect at renewal on reasonable prior notice.

Section 3.4 confirms account tiers exist with varying features and usage limits, and 4.3 warns that exceeding them may bring charges at then current rates, though neither the tiers nor the limits are named publicly.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on Firm and Practice CoverageSegment and practice coverage is described with substance, short of the boundaries: what is supported is clear, what is not is left open.

Firm and Practice Coverage

Who the product is actually built for. AmLaw, midlaw, small firm and solo, in house departments, government and courts, and which practice areas are supported rather than merely claimed.

Coverage is described with substance across buyers and regulations, and the boundaries are left open. The platform names five stakeholder types it connects: the governance lead, the business user, product and engineering, legal and compliance, and information security and third party risk management. Regulatory coverage is named, with prebuilt policy packs for the EU AI Act, the NIST AI Risk Management Framework, ISO 42001 and SOC 2.

The knowledge graph is described as telling apart a model used in EU healthcare from one used in US financial services. Customer evidence spans payments, insurance, professional services and a technology vendor, and the vendor claims Fortune 500 adoption. No limit is stated: no jurisdiction, regulation, sector or organization size is named as out of scope, no coverage boundary is given for the regulatory content, and nothing describes what a law firm, as against an in house function, would do with the platform.

Source: Vendor Published
Sources on file

3 public documents

The public pages on file for Credo AI, with the recorded signals each one supports and the date it was last read. Open any of them and check the reading against the record.

  • Primary Law Corpus Provenance, Good Law Verification, Refusal and Uncertainty Behavior and 3 more

    Read Sep 7, 2026

  • Client Data in Training, Prompt and Output Retention, Ethical Walls and Matter Segregation and 2 more

    Read Sep 7, 2026

  • Fabricated Citation Record

    Read Sep 7, 2026

Change log

Product updates

Sep 22, 2026Regulatory / guidelineVerified

Credo AI added the AIUC-1 AI agent standard to its AI Governance Platform, mapping AIUC-1 requirements to the specific agents they apply to. Its GAIA assistant turns those requirements into owned controls, captures evidence as work happens and builds a reviewable history that can be reused for ISO/IEC 42001, the NIST AI RMF and the EU AI Act. Credo AI states it does not issue AIUC-1 certification; AIUC and accredited auditors such as Schellman do.

Bears on: AI Governance and Bias DisclosureSource

Legal Signals

What each signal means

A signal records what public sources say on the date shown. It is not a grade and it is not a recommendation. Where a signal reads Not addressed, it means the index did not locate the material in public sources on that date, which is a statement about disclosure rather than about the product.

Confidentiality and Privilege

Client Data in Training

Can material a lawyer puts into this product be used to train a model?

Never, in the contract

The published terms prohibit training on customer content. Not a policy page, the agreement.

The agreement itself prohibits training, rather than a policy page. Section 6.8 of the Terms of Use, effective 21 April 2026, says Credo AI will not use, process or otherwise access User Data to train, develop or improve any machine learning or artificial intelligence models, and that its access to User Data is solely to provide, maintain and support the services. The same clause names the enterprise AI tools Credo AI's own staff use to deliver the service, including ChatGPT Enterprise and custom GPTs, Gemini Enterprise, Claude Enterprise and Microsoft Copilot.

It commits that this use stays inside Credo AI's enterprise account environment and team, that no User Data leaves it, and that the data is deleted at the end of the engagement. Two qualifiers apply. Section 5.2 grants a broad content license over User Content, including rights to modify, publish, distribute and create derivative works, limited to providing and improving the services. Section 6.7 lets Credo AI use aggregated and anonymized data from use of the services for its own business purposes, including new products, if it cannot be attributed to the customer. Neither displaces 6.8, the specific clause on training.

Source: Vendor PublishedCredo AI will not use, process, or otherwise access User Data to train, develop, or improve any machine learning or artificial intelligence models.As of Sep 7, 2026Evidence

Prompt and Output Retention

How long does the product keep what a lawyer typed, and can that be set to zero?

Disclosed fixed window

A specific retention period is published and the customer cannot change it.

A specific period is published for the end of the relationship, and the customer cannot change it. Section 6.6 of the Terms of Use sets a sixty day window after termination or expiry for export using standard features, after which Credo AI may delete User Data except as required by law or for its legitimate business purposes, and it recommends regular backups by the customer. Two limits apply. Retention during the term is a standard, not a period: User Data is kept as long as needed to provide the services and meet legal, dispute and enforcement needs, so how long a GAIA prompt or generated governance artifact persists while the subscription runs is not stated.

No zero retention or customer configurable window is offered. Section 6.7 separately permits indefinite use of aggregated and anonymized derivatives.

Source: Vendor PublishedCredo AI will retain your User Data for a period of sixty (60) days, during which time you may export your User Data using the standard export features of the Services.As of Sep 7, 2026Evidence

Ethical Walls and Matter Segregation

Does retrieval respect the firm’s ethical walls, or can the model read across them?

Not addressed

No located public material addresses walls or matter level segregation.

Separation between users, teams or customers is undescribed. Section 3.3 of the Terms of Use puts administrative users in charge of access levels and permissions for their organization, which is a customer control over its own people, not a statement about how the platform keeps one organization's governance records apart from another's, or whether a business user registering an AI system can see assessments from a different part of the enterprise.

The product page describes connecting every stakeholder to every AI system, which is the opposite emphasis. Nothing describes tenancy, isolation or permission enforcement at retrieval time, including for GAIA's evidence retrieval across a customer's records.

Source: Operator VerifiedAs of Sep 7, 2026Evidence

Third Party Request and Subpoena Notice

If someone subpoenas the vendor for a firm’s data, does the firm hear about it first?

Notice committed

Terms commit to notice where lawfully permitted. No transparency report located.

The agreement commits to prior written notice where legally permitted, with minimization. Section 11.6 of the Terms of Use allows disclosure of confidential information required by law, regulation or court order only if the receiving party gives prior written notice so the other party may seek a protective order or other remedy, and discloses only the portion legally required. If no protective order is obtained, it must furnish only what is legally required and use commercially reasonable efforts to obtain confidential treatment.

Section 11.3 makes User Content the customer's confidential information, so the clause reaches the governance records and assessments a customer holds in the platform, not just account data. No transparency report, request statistics or law enforcement guidelines page is published.

Source: Vendor Publishedgives the Disclosing Party prior written notice of such disclosure, to the extent legally permitted, so that the Disclosing Party may seek a protective order or other appropriate remedyAs of Sep 7, 2026Evidence
Accuracy and Authority

Primary Law Corpus Provenance

Where does the law in this product come from, and does the vendor have the right to use it?

Sources named, basis unstated

Sources are identified without stating the license or rights basis.

The sources behind the compliance content are named, and no license or rights basis is stated for any of them. The compliance and policy engine ships prebuilt policy packs for the EU AI Act, the NIST AI Risk Management Framework, ISO 42001 and SOC 2. The governance knowledge graph is described as linking regulations, risks, controls and business context into a proprietary intelligence layer, with a separately published regulatory insights hub and risk and control library.

No license or rights basis is given for the standards content, which matters because ISO 42001 and the SOC 2 trust services criteria are copyrighted works rather than public law. No update schedule is given for the packs as regulations change, in a field where the EU framework has been amended, and the depth of jurisdictional coverage is not stated.

Source: Vendor PublishedPre-built policy packs for EU AI Act, NIST AI RMF, ISO 42001, and SOC 2As of Sep 7, 2026Evidence

Good Law Verification

Does the product tell you when the authority it just cited has been overruled?

Not addressed

No located public material addresses whether authority is checked for subsequent history.

Currency of the authority behind the policy packs and control library has no stated check. The usual subject, subsequent history of reported cases, does not apply to a platform whose outputs are risk classifications and control mappings rather than citations to case law. The equivalent here is whether the policy packs and control library track amendments to the instruments they encode, and nothing commits to it. Credo AI publishes regulatory intelligence and an explainer on changes to the EU framework, which shows the content is maintained, but nothing says how a customer learns that a pack has changed, when it was last aligned, or what happens to an assessment completed under a superseded version.

Source: Operator VerifiedAs of Sep 7, 2026Evidence

Refusal and Uncertainty Behavior

What does the product do when the answer is not in the corpus?

Not addressed

No located public material addresses what the product does when it cannot ground an answer.

Oversight gates are described, but not what the governance agents do when they cannot ground an answer. The published material addresses oversight rather than uncertainty: human oversight is kept for critical decisions, workflows carry approval gates, and high risk actions escalate to a person. Those are controls over what an agent is allowed to finish, not a description of what it does when the evidence it needs is missing or ambiguous.

Nothing exposes a confidence or grounding score, describes an abstention path for GAIA's evidence retrieval or risk assessment, or reports any evaluation in which the system declined. That matters on a product whose agents draft governance plans and remediate incidents.

Source: Operator VerifiedAs of Sep 7, 2026Evidence

Fabricated Citation Record

Does a public court record exist addressing fabricated or hallucinated legal citations in output from this product?

None located

No court order, opinion or disciplinary record addressing fabricated or hallucinated legal citations produced by this product has been located as of the date shown. This is a statement about the public record on that one subject, not a finding about the product, and this signal is not a litigation history.

The AI Hallucination Cases database maintained by Damien Charlotin, and general sanctions coverage, record no court order, opinion or disciplinary record naming Credo AI or GAIA; the decisions naming specific tools name general purpose chatbots and legal research products. The exposure is remote for a platform whose outputs are internal governance artifacts rather than filings, though those artifacts are designed to be shown to regulators and auditors, an audience with its own accuracy expectations.

Source: Operator VerifiedAs of Sep 7, 2026Evidence
Professional Responsibility

Bar Guidance Alignment

Has the vendor engaged in public with the ethics opinions its buyers are bound by?

Not addressed

No located public material engages with bar or ethics guidance.

A lawyer relying on the platform's output gets no engagement with bar or ethics guidance. Credo AI engages regulation heavily and specifically, publishing policy packs, a regulatory insights hub, an explainer on changes to the EU AI framework and an annual trust summit, and it names legal and compliance as a stakeholder group in the platform. All of that concerns the obligations of the organizations that buy the product.

Nothing names an ethics opinion, bar association guidance or a regulator's guidance on lawyers' use of AI, and nothing addresses the duties of a lawyer relying on a governance artifact the platform generated.

Source: Operator VerifiedAs of Sep 7, 2026Evidence

Billing and Fee Posture

Does the vendor address what happens to the bill when the work takes an hour instead of six?

Outside the fee relationship

The product does not touch a fee between a lawyer and a client. It operates before an engagement exists, or it is bought by a team that bills no client for the work. Savings claims aimed at the buyer’s own cost are recorded in the summary and do not make the row a savings claim, because no client bill is in the loop.

The product does not touch a fee between a lawyer and a client. An enterprise licenses Credo AI to govern its own AI systems, and the stakeholders named in the platform (governance leads, business users, engineering, legal and compliance, and information security) are internal functions that bill no client for the work. The efficiency claims on the product page, ten times faster compliance and seventy percent less time in engineering bottlenecks, are aimed at the buyer's own cost and cycle time.

Advisory services are sold alongside the platform, but they are Credo AI's own consulting work rather than a matter between lawyer and client, so there is no client invoice to address.

Source: Vendor PublishedAs of Sep 7, 2026Evidence

Outside Counsel Guideline Readiness

Can a firm get this vendor through a client’s AI clause without a bespoke negotiation?

On request only

The material exists behind a sales conversation or an executed agreement.

The material exists and sits behind a request. Section 6.4 of the Terms of Use says that where a customer is subject to data protection laws requiring one, Credo AI will sign its standard data processing agreement on request, so that document is not published. No subprocessor list is published, and no model provider behind the platform's own governance agents is named, so the question a client's AI clause asks, whose models see our content, has no published answer.

What is public and can be forwarded is narrower but real: the Terms of Use carry the no training commitment at 6.8, the named list of enterprise AI tools staff may use with the confinement and deletion conditions, the sixty day retention position, and the breach notice commitment. Credo AI's trust center, where a subprocessor list would usually sit, is a portal on Vanta.

Source: Vendor PublishedCredo AI will enter into its standard data processing agreement with you upon request.As of Sep 7, 2026Evidence

Court Disclosure Support

If a judge’s standing order requires an AI disclosure, can the product produce one?

Not addressed

No located public material addresses court disclosure or verification certification.

Court disclosure of the agents' own work has no supporting record or certification. The platform generates plenty of evidence, including automated evidence generation, audit trails, audit ready documentation and conformity artifacts. But that evidence records what the customer's AI systems are and how they were governed, for regulators and auditors, not what Credo AI's own governance agents did to produce a given output.

Nothing offers an export for each item showing which model or agent produced an assessment, what it retrieved and what a person verified, and nothing addresses a court's standing order on AI use or a disclosure a filer could attach.

Source: Operator VerifiedAs of Sep 7, 2026Evidence
Contact

Correct a record, or ask how something was graded

Every grade and every signal on this index is drawn from public sources and dated. If a record is wrong, out of date, or missing an artifact the index did not locate, send the source and it will be reviewed and the record redated. Vendors are welcome to submit documentation. Nothing on this index is for sale, including a listing, a placement, or a grade.

AI Legal Index

The AI Legal Index is an independent index that tracks changes to AI vendors in legal. It holds 462 vendors across 9 categories, each graded on the same 15 capability axes and recorded against 12 legal signals, from public sources. No vendor pays for inclusion, placement, or rating.

Index Status
Last index update
October 21, 2026
The AI Legal Index is an editorial reference. It is not a regulatory body, not a law firm, and nothing published here is legal advice or a recommendation to retain or avoid a vendor. Records are verified against published sources, bar guidance and public court records. Where a record reads not addressed, the material was not located in public sources on the date shown. See the Methodology page for evaluation standards and limitations.
© 2026 AI Legal Index
3801 N Capital of Texas Hwy, Ste E240 · Austin, TX 78746