Dodonai
Dodonai is an AI document processing platform for litigation teams, built around two jobs: turning deposition transcripts into page-and-line cited summaries, and turning medical records of any length into structured chronologies with diagnoses, treatments, providers and dates laid out on a timeline. Around those sit transcript management with full-text search, an AI chat assistant that has read the whole transcript and automated Blue Book citations; an OCR engine for scanned PDFs including tables and handwriting; extract and draft agents that pull structured data into reusable report templates; and semantic e-discovery search that finds evidence by meaning rather than keyword. Practice area material is aimed at personal injury, medical malpractice, mass tort, product liability, workers' compensation and disability benefits work, with use cases covering medical record review, IME reports, demand letters and expert witness preparation, and the company also sells to court reporters, IME companies and medical record retrieval businesses. Pricing is published in full and usage based, starting at 25 dollars a month with per-page rates falling as volume rises, no per-seat fees and no feature gates, and there is a seven-day hundred-page free trial with self-serve signup. The platform states SOC-2 certification and HIPAA compliance with a BAA on request, isolated per-client workspaces and logging of every action. Its terms characterise both the documents submitted and the output as attorney work product, and its LLM partners, including OpenAI, are contractually barred from using customer content to improve their own services. A separate AI Managed Services arm builds and runs custom agents for firms. Dodonai, LLC is governed by Florida law.
Capability grades
All 15 axes, graded from public sources on the date shown. Hover a grade to see what the letter means on that axis.
AI Centrality
How much of the product is actually AI. Whether the machine learning is the mechanism the buyer is paying for or a feature layered onto conventional software, and whether the vendor is specific about which is which.
Every purchasable function is a model output. Deposition summarisation, medical chronology construction, OCR of scanned records including handwriting and tables, extract and draft agents, and semantic search that finds evidence by meaning rather than keyword are the whole of the platform, and the pricing page charges by pages processed with multipliers by process type, which is charging directly for inference. Remove the models and there is a document store with a search box. The company describes itself in its own FAQ as an AI-powered document processing platform built for legal professionals. Checked 4 September 2026.
Citation Accuracy and Hallucination Disclosure
Whether the vendor publishes measured accuracy on citations and assertions, grounds output to primary sources, and says plainly what its system does when it does not know. Legal has a documented public record of fabricated citations reaching filed briefs, so an untested claim of accuracy is not evidence.
Grounding is real, documented and unusually concrete for this product class. Deposition summaries are described as page-and-line cited, meaning each summary point carries a pointer back to the transcript location it came from, and the transcript product adds automated Blue Book citations and an assistant that works over the full text. That is a retrieval mechanism a reader can understand and a reviewer can check against the source. Failure modes are acknowledged in the agreement rather than only in marketing: section 3(d) states that given the probabilistic nature of machine learning the Services may produce incorrect Output that does not accurately reflect real people, places or facts, and advises evaluating accuracy including by human review. What is missing is measurement. No accuracy figure is published, no test set is described, and the home page FAQ item asking how Dodonai ensures the accuracy of AI-generated summaries did not render in this pass and is not credited.
Autonomy and Oversight Model
What the system decides on its own, what a lawyer must approve, and whether the vendor documents where the review point sits. A tool that drafts under review and a tool that files without one are different products and different risks.
Oversight is asserted without a described mechanism in the platform itself. Section 3(d) of the terms advises that the customer should evaluate the accuracy of any Output as appropriate, including by using human review, which is guidance rather than a control. The one firm commitment located sits outside the product: the AI Managed Services arm is described as operating with an attorney in the loop on every output, which is a services promise rather than a platform behaviour. Every action is stated to be logged, which is an audit surface rather than a review gate. Nothing published describes what the system does unattended against what a person approves, no threshold is stated, and no route back to human judgement is set out for the self-serve platform. Searched the home page, the terms and data processing addendum, and the pricing page on 4 September 2026.
Operational and Outcome Evidence
Named, dated evidence that the product works in production at real firms or legal departments. Case studies with figures and identified customers count. Unattributed testimonials and launch announcements do not.
An unattributed testimonial stands in for deployment evidence. One quotation is published, from a first name and a job description, Ben, Commercial Litigator, saying that on the first day of use Dodonai summarised all the deposition transcripts from a case in seconds, saving hours of time and hundreds of client dollars. No organisation is named anywhere, there is no logo strip, no case study, and no customer count. The claim of hundreds of client dollars saved is a result quoted with no basis, no matter size and no date. Comparison pages exist for deposition and chronology software but are the vendor's own category content rather than deployment evidence. Searched the home page, the pricing page and the terms on 4 September 2026.
Privilege and Confidentiality Posture
How client confidences are handled: attorney client privilege and work product treatment, segregation of one client matter from another, whether client data trains any model, and what the vendor commits to in writing rather than in marketing.
The privilege limb is met more explicitly here than almost anywhere in this pull, and other limbs are what hold the grade. Section 3(e) states that both parties acknowledge Content may include confidential and privileged information, that Dodonai will use all reasonable efforts to keep it confidential, and then goes further than any peer: all parties agree that both the Input and the Output constitutes attorney work product and that Dodonai shares a common interest with its users. Segregation is documented as isolated per-client workspaces with case data siloed, role-based access so team members see only what they need, and every action logged. The position on model providers is stated in section 3(c): Dodonai only works with LLM Partners that disclaim use of the Content for developing or improving their own services and covenant to delete customer data after a reasonable time, given as 30 days for OpenAI. What holds this at B is the rest. Training by Dodonai itself is permitted on opt-in rather than prohibited. No retention period for Dodonai's own storage is published anywhere, only deletion on termination or reasonable request. And only one LLM partner is named, with the phrase including OpenAI leaving the others unidentified.
UPL and Professional Responsibility Posture
Whether the vendor is clear that it supplies a tool rather than legal advice, who its audience is, and how it addresses unauthorized practice of law, competence and supervision duties, and jurisdiction limits. ABA Formal Opinion 512 is the reference point.
Nothing published addresses the advice line, and the grade rests on documents that were read rather than on an untested gap. The full terms and the data processing addendum were retrieved on 4 September 2026 and contain no statement that the Services are not legal advice, no competence or supervision language, no reference to any rule of professional conduct, and no jurisdiction limit. The nearest provisions point the other way: section 3(e) characterises Input and Output as attorney work product and asserts a common interest with users, which presupposes a legal context without addressing the vendor's position in it. The audience includes people who are not lawyers, with published material for paralegals, court reporters, independent medical examination companies and IME doctors, and section 1 sets the minimum age at 13 with parental permission under 18, which is unusual language for a product processing privileged case files. Section 3(d) advises human review of Output but frames it as an accuracy precaution rather than a professional responsibility one.
AI Governance and Bias Disclosure
Published governance over model behaviour: who owns it inside the vendor, what is tested before release, and what is disclosed about disparate output across matter types, parties, or populations.
A position on the limits of the AI is published without any mechanism behind it. Section 3(d) of the terms acknowledges the probabilistic nature of machine learning and the possibility of incorrect Output, and section 3(b) explains that output may not be unique across users. That is a principle rather than a governance regime: nobody inside Dodonai is named as accountable for model behaviour, no pre-release evaluation is described, no testing results are published, and there is nothing at all on bias or uneven output, which matters on a product that builds medical chronologies and summarises testimony. A Safety and Trust page exists under the AI Managed Services section and was not opened in this pass; it is named here as an unread surface rather than credited, since crediting a page by its title is not evidence of its contents.
AI Safety and Data Stewardship
Retention, deletion, access control, and what happens to prompts and documents after they are processed. Whether the vendor states its subprocessors and its incident practice, or leaves the buyer to assume.
Substantive published policy covering most of the ground. Access control is specific: AES-256 at rest, TLS 1.2 or higher in transit with documents described as encrypted from the moment they leave the browser, isolated per-client workspaces, role-based access, and every action logged. Section 5(a) of the data processing addendum enumerates the security measures required across personnel, facilities, hardware and software, storage and networks, access controls, monitoring and logging, vulnerability and breach detection, incident response and encryption. Incident practice is committed at section 5(c), requiring notification of any personal data breach by Dodonai, its LLM Partners or other third parties acting on its behalf without undue delay, with assistance in investigation under section 3(a). Deletion is addressed at section 8, on termination or upon reasonable request. Two elements are missing: no retention period is published for Dodonai's own storage during the term, and no subprocessor list is published, with LLM Partners identified only as including OpenAI.
AI Liability and Recourse
What the vendor stands behind contractually when its output is wrong. Indemnities, caps, carve outs, insurance, and whether any of it is published or only reachable through a negotiated agreement.
Liability is addressed only through a standard limitation clause that disclaims the exposure the product creates. Section 7(b) puts the Services on an as-is basis and disclaims all warranties express, implied or statutory, expressly including that the Services will be accurate or error free or that Content will be secure or not lost or altered, so no warranty is given that a buyer could invoke. Section 7(a) runs in one direction only: the customer indemnifies Dodonai, and no indemnity is given to the customer for anything, including third-party intellectual property claims. Section 7(c) caps aggregate liability at the greater of twelve months of fees or one hundred dollars, and excludes all indirect and consequential damages including loss of data. No insurance position was located. What keeps this off the floor is that the allocation is published and readable before signing rather than absent, and that the cap carries a stated floor; on the question this axis asks, the published answer is that the customer bears the loss entirely.
Practice Systems Integration Depth
How deeply the product reaches into the systems legal work already lives in: document management such as iManage and NetDocuments, Word and Outlook, contract lifecycle management, matter management, e-billing, and court filing systems.
No integration into practice systems was located. No document management system, case management platform, email client, word processor or e-signature product is named anywhere on the surfaces read, and no integrations page or developer documentation exists in the navigation or footer. The only connectivity evidence is indirect: section 2(c)(iv) of the terms refers to extraction of data through the API as permitted, which establishes that an API exists without describing what it connects to, and the enterprise pricing tier lists custom integrations as an unspecified inclusion. Two surfaces that might bear on this were not read and are named so the limit is visible: the home page FAQ item asking how Dodonai integrates with an existing workflow did not render, and the Law Firm Case Management and Document Management pages under Industries were not opened. Checked 4 September 2026.
Deployment Model and Data Residency
Where the software runs and where the data sits. Multi tenant cloud, single tenant, private deployment, on premises, and whether region of residence is a published option or an enterprise conversation.
The tenancy limb is published and the residency limb is entirely absent, which is the documented gap on this axis. Isolated per-client workspaces are stated, with case data siloed, role-based access limiting what team members see, and every action logged, which tells a buyer how customers are separated from one another. Nothing states where data is stored or processed: no region, no country, no hosting provider and no processing location appears on any surface read, and the terms note only that the Services may be used in geographies currently supported by Dodonai without saying which those are. Publishing tenancy alone clears the band below, where neither limb is stated, and this record sits in the space the operator has logged as fitting neither adjacent band cleanly.
Security Certifications and Trust Center
Independent attestation a buyer can pull without a sales call: SOC 2, ISO 27001, penetration test summaries, a trust center with current reports and named scope rather than a badge image.
Certification is stated and repeated as a product claim rather than shown as a decorative badge, appearing in the hero, in a dedicated security section and in the platform description: SOC-2 certified and HIPAA fully compliant, with a Business Associate Agreement available on request. A route to evidence exists contractually, since section 1(i) of the data processing addendum commits Dodonai to cooperate with customer assessments and audits where required by law, or alternatively to make available a summary of third-party audit results or certification reports. It stops short of the top on every accessible-evidence limb. The claim is written as SOC-2 without specifying Type I or Type II, which is a material difference and is not resolved anywhere; no certifying body or auditor is named; no scope, observation period or report date is published; there is no trust portal; and penetration testing is not mentioned. On the third-party verifiability test a buyer cannot check the claim against an auditor's register without contacting Dodonai.
Model Supply Chain Disclosure
Which models sit underneath, whose they are, where they run, and whether the vendor commits to telling customers when that changes. A legal buyer inherits every dependency it cannot see.
The supply chain is partly disclosed, with one provider named and change notification committed in unusual detail. Section 2(c) requires customers to adhere to the terms and policies of any LLM Partners used for data processing, including OpenAI, and links OpenAI's policy pages; section 3(c) states that Dodonai only works with LLM Partners that disclaim use of Content to develop or improve their own services and that covenant to delete customer data after a reasonable time, given as 30 days in OpenAI's case. Change notification is stronger than most records carry: section 1(g) of the data processing addendum commits to notifying customers of additional LLM Partners, gives a fifteen-day window to object on reasonable grounds relating to data protection, sets out four cure options including declining to use the partner or offering an alternative, and gives a termination right with a refund of prepaid fees if the objection is not resolved within thirty days. What is absent is the rest of the picture: no model is named, the phrase including OpenAI leaves the other partners unidentified, no subprocessor list is published, and where inference runs is not stated.
Commercial Transparency
Whether a buyer can learn what this costs without entering a sales process: published rates, the unit being charged, what sits behind an enterprise tier, and what implementation adds.
A buyer can learn the whole cost structure without speaking to anyone. Four tiers are published with rates: 25 dollars a month billed annually at 300 for 4,800 credits a year, 50 a month billed annually at 600 for 24,000 credits, 83 a month billed annually at 1,000 for 120,000 credits, and a custom enterprise tier. The unit is defined rather than gestured at, with one page stated as approximately 400 tokens of text, and a table gives the effective cost per page at each volume by process type with the multiplier shown: standard summaries at 1x running from 6.3 cents to 0.8 cents, custom summaries at 2x, advanced analysis at 3x, and OCR and transcription free at every tier. Every feature is stated to be included in every plan with no per-seat fees and no feature gates, and the nine included capabilities are itemised. What the enterprise tier adds is named as custom integrations, SLA guarantees and dedicated onboarding. A seven-day, hundred-page free trial is published with self-serve signup, and section 4(c) of the terms commits to fourteen days notice before a price increase takes effect.
Firm and Practice Coverage
Who the product is actually built for. AmLaw, midlaw, small firm and solo, in house departments, government and courts, and which practice areas are supported rather than merely claimed.
Coverage is described with real substance across three dimensions and the boundary is left open. Six practice areas each carry their own page: personal injury, medical malpractice, mass tort, product liability, workers' compensation and disability benefits. Eight use cases each carry their own page, including medical record review, IME reports, demand letters, expert witness preparation and contract review extraction. Six industries are addressed separately, extending beyond law firms to court reporters, IME companies, IME doctors and medical record retrieval businesses, which is an unusually precise statement of who else buys this. What is missing is the edge: no firm size or segment is stated, in-house and government use are not addressed, and nothing says which matter types or document types the product does not handle. The practice area set is plaintiff-side almost throughout, which is a coverage fact rather than a limit the vendor states.
Legal Signals
What each signal meansA signal records what public sources say on the date shown. It is not a grade and it is not a recommendation. Where a signal reads Not addressed, it means the index did not locate the material in public sources on that date, which is a statement about disclosure rather than about the product.
Client Data in Training
Can material a lawyer puts into this product be used to train a model?
Training occurs only where the customer has affirmatively enabled it.
Two distinct positions are published and both belong in the record. For third-party models, section 3(c) of the terms states that Dodonai only works with LLM Partners that disclaim use of the Content provided via its API to develop or improve their own services and that covenant to delete customer data after a reasonable time, given as 30 days in OpenAI's case. For Dodonai's own use, section 1(a)(ii) of the data processing addendum permits processing to improve Dodonai's services but only if and to the extent the customer expressly opts in, which is training that occurs only where the customer has affirmatively enabled it. Recorded for completeness: the home page states the position more absolutely than the documents do, as never stored or used to train AI models, without the opt-in carve-out, and its Zero Data Retention heading describes the LLM partner guarantee rather than Dodonai's own storage.
Prompt and Output Retention
How long does the product keep what a lawyer typed, and can that be set to zero?
The customer controls the retention window, by product configuration or by contractual instruction, but zero retention is not stated as available.
The customer controls the window by contractual instruction rather than by a published default. Section 8 of the data processing addendum provides that on termination of the processing services, or upon the customer's reasonable request, Dodonai will return or delete the Customer Data unless data protection law prevents it. Section 3(c) of the terms separately records that LLM Partners covenant to delete customer data after a reasonable time, given as 30 days for OpenAI, which governs the model provider rather than the platform. No default retention period for Dodonai's own storage is published anywhere, and zero retention is not stated as an available setting; the home page's Zero Data Retention heading refers to the LLM partner guarantee.
Ethical Walls and Matter Segregation
Does retrieval respect the firm’s ethical walls, or can the model read across them?
The product maintains its own permission model, documented, requiring the firm to keep it aligned.
Dodonai maintains its own permission model and describes it in outline rather than merely asserting isolation. The security section publishes isolated per-client workspaces with case data siloed, role-based access so that team members see only what they need, and every action logged, and section 5(a) of the data processing addendum requires organisational and technical measures covering access controls, monitoring and logging. The model is Dodonai's own rather than one inheriting a document management system's access control at query time, and the customer administers its own users. What is not published is how the isolation is enforced technically, and nothing addresses separation between individual matters inside a single customer workspace beyond the per-user role model.
Third Party Request and Subpoena Notice
If someone subpoenas the vendor for a firm’s data, does the firm hear about it first?
Terms commit to notice where lawfully permitted. No transparency report located.
Section 2(a) of the data processing addendum commits Dodonai to inform the customer if it becomes aware of any legally binding request for disclosure of Customer Data by a law enforcement authority, unless forbidden by law from doing so, for example to preserve the confidentiality of an investigation. Section 2(b) extends the same commitment to any notice, inquiry or investigation by a supervisory authority under Article 51 GDPR, and section 4 requires advance notice if Dodonai is required by data protection law to process Customer Data for a reason outside the agreement. No transparency report of such requests was located on any surface, which is what separates this from the top value.
Primary Law Corpus Provenance
Where does the law in this product come from, and does the vendor have the right to use it?
No located public material identifies the corpus behind the product’s answers.
No located public material identifies a corpus behind the product's answers, and the product's design makes the question narrow: Dodonai summarises and searches the customer's own deposition transcripts, medical records and document collections rather than retrieving external legal content. The automated Blue Book citations it generates are a formatting convention applied to the customer's own transcripts rather than evidence of a licensed legal corpus. No database, publisher, jurisdiction or licence basis is named on any surface. Searched the home page, the platform pages listed in the navigation, the pricing page and the terms with the data processing addendum on 4 September 2026.
Good Law Verification
Does the product tell you when the authority it just cited has been overruled?
No located public material addresses whether authority is checked for subsequent history.
Nothing on any located surface addresses whether authority is checked for subsequent history. The product does not retrieve primary law: it operates on transcripts, medical records and document collections supplied by the customer, and its citation feature applies Blue Book formatting to references within those materials. The question therefore does not bite on this product class and the honest value is the absence rather than a penalty. Searched the home page, the platform pages, the pricing page and the terms on 4 September 2026.
Refusal and Uncertainty Behaviour
What does the product do when the answer is not in the corpus?
No located public material addresses what the product does when it cannot ground an answer.
No located public material describes what the product does when it cannot ground an answer. Section 3(d) of the terms acknowledges that use may in some situations result in incorrect Output that does not accurately reflect real people, places or facts, and advises the customer to evaluate accuracy including by human review, but that is an acknowledgment of risk and an instruction to the reader rather than a description of system behaviour. No abstention path, no no-answer state and no confidence or grounding score visible to the user is described anywhere. Searched the home page, the platform pages, the pricing page and the terms on 4 September 2026.
Fabricated Citation Record
Does a public court record exist involving output from this product?
No court order, opinion or disciplinary record naming this product has been located as of the date shown. This is a statement about the public record, not a finding about the product.
The AI Hallucination Cases database maintained by Damien Charlotin was searched on 4 September 2026 on the product and company name Dodonai. No court order, opinion or disciplinary record naming the product was located. This records the state of the public record on that date and is not a finding about the product.
Bar Guidance Alignment
Has the vendor engaged in public with the ethics opinions its buyers are bound by?
No located public material engages with bar or ethics guidance.
No located public material engages with bar or ethics guidance. No bar association, regulator, rule of professional conduct or ethics opinion is named anywhere in the terms, the data processing addendum, the home page or the pricing page. Section 3(e) characterises Input and Output as attorney work product and asserts a common interest between Dodonai and its users, which is a legal characterisation advanced by the vendor rather than engagement with published professional responsibility guidance, and no authority is cited for it. Searched on 4 September 2026.
Billing and Fee Posture
Does the vendor address what happens to the bill when the work takes an hour instead of six?
Public materials claim time savings without addressing billing or disclosure.
Public materials claim savings without addressing billing or disclosure. The single published testimonial states that summarising a case's deposition transcripts saved hours of time and hundreds of client dollars, and the marketing frames the platform as saving teams hours on every case. A Litigation Cost Management use case page exists and was not opened. Nothing addresses what happens to a client bill when AI-assisted work compresses billable time, and although the platform produces detailed per-matter artifacts and logs every action, none is described as a record of AI-assisted work for fee or disclosure purposes. The vendor's own charging model is per page rather than per hour, which is a cost fact rather than an answer to this signal.
Outside Counsel Guideline Readiness
Can a firm get this vendor through a client’s AI clause without a bespoke negotiation?
The material exists behind a sales conversation or an executed agreement.
The forwardable artifact exists but the list does not. A data processing addendum is published in full at the foot of the terms of service, reachable at a URL without executing anything, and it addresses processor status, security measures, breach notification, audit cooperation and deletion, which is material a firm can forward to a client. What is missing is the disclosure a client's AI clause actually asks for: no subprocessor or model provider list is published, the LLM Partners are identified only by the phrase including OpenAI which leaves the others unnamed, and no location is given for any of them. Section 1(h) of the addendum offers Dodonai's privacy and security policies and other compliance information on request, which places the remaining material behind a request rather than in public.
Court Disclosure Support
If a judge’s standing order requires an AI disclosure, can the product produce one?
Some elements of the record are available, short of a document level export.
Some elements of a record are available, short of a document-level export covering the model used. Deposition summaries are page-and-line cited back to the transcript, the transcript product generates automated Blue Book citations, and the security material states that every action is logged. Those cover sources retrieved and, in part, the trail of who did what. What is absent is the rest: nothing states that the model behind a given summary is recorded or disclosed to the customer, no export of a verification record is described, and no disclosure guidance or template for a court was located. The LLM Partners are not individually identified, so which model produced a given output could not be stated even if the record were exported.