L
Law Ruler

Law Ruler is a client relationship management, intake and marketing automation platform for law firms that take on leads in volume. It has material for personal injury, mass tort, criminal defense, consumer protection, business, Social Security disability, immigration and employment work. Its features are operational: a softphone with local presence dialing, two way SMS and MMS, prerecorded voice campaigns and email drip sequences.

Intake forms qualify or disqualify inquiries as they are completed, and documents can be automated and sent for electronic signature by text. The AI is an integration: an AI Email Assistant and a ChatGPT integration through the OpenAI API, included on every paid tier, which draft emails, replies, intake questionnaires and onboarding documents for a person to review. Law Ruler says OpenAI does not train on API submissions and keeps API data for thirty days for abuse monitoring, and an administrator can switch the feature off.

The platform is hosted on Microsoft Azure. Three tiers, Pro, Premium and Enterprise, are priced on a quote, with usage rates published in the customer agreement. Law Ruler Software, LLC is part of ProfitSolv, which also owns CosmoLex, Rocket Matter, Tabs3 and TimeSolv.

Compared with

Law Ruler, head to head

Side by side on the same 15 capability axes and 12 legal signals: where the two part company, and what neither one publishes.

Build your own comparison

Capability grades

All 15 axes, graded from public sources on the date shown. Hover a grade to see what the letter means on that axis.

CC on AI CentralityArtificial intelligence is present but peripheral: a feature layer on a product whose value stands without it.

AI Centrality

How much of the product is actually AI. Whether the machine learning is the mechanism the buyer is paying for or a feature layered onto conventional software, and whether the vendor is specific about which is which.

The models are a feature layer on a product whose value stands entirely without them. A firm buys the CRM, the pipeline, the softphone with local presence dialing, the drip campaigns and the marketing source reporting; the AI is an OpenAI API integration that drafts emails, replies and intake questionnaires. Three published facts place it. The AI is included at no separate charge on every paid tier, so nobody pays for inference.

An administrator can switch it off entirely in global settings, and the product still does everything it is sold for. And it is limited to eighty messages per hour per user, the shape of an add on rather than a mechanism. The capability is real, shipped and usable today.

Source: Vendor Published
DD on Citation Accuracy and Hallucination DisclosureNothing published on accuracy or grounding for a product that produces legal assertions, or a bare claim that the system does not hallucinate.

Citation Accuracy and Hallucination Disclosure

Whether the vendor publishes measured accuracy on citations and assertions, grounds output to primary sources, and says plainly what its system does when it does not know. Legal has a documented public record of fabricated citations reaching filed briefs, so an untested claim of accuracy is not evidence.

Nothing published on accuracy or grounding, on a product whose own published prompt library invites legal analysis. The AI page carries no accuracy figure, no test set, no evaluation, no method, no description of how an output relates to any source, and no statement about hallucination in either direction. That matters more than it would on a pure marketing tool because the vendor's own sample prompts include asking for the key provisions of a named law or regulation, the potential risks and liabilities of a legal issue, and guidance on handling a legal situation.

One phrase touches accuracy: uploaded PDF, Word and JPEG files are said to inform requests and generate more accurate responses. That describes why to attach a file, not a position on accuracy.

Source: Operator Verified
BB on Autonomy and Oversight ModelA written commitment that the models work alongside a supervising lawyer, with real review surfaces, short of the full control structure: commonly the threshold at which the system stops or what happens after it is wrong.

Autonomy and Oversight Model

What the system decides on its own, what a lawyer must approve, and whether the vendor documents where the review point sits. A tool that drafts under review and a tool that files without one are different products and different risks.

Real review surfaces are published, and the point at which the system acts alone is not. The drafting workflow puts a person in it, telling the user to review, send and move on, and the outputs are described as communications ready to send, not sent ones. Three controls exist: an administrator can disable the AI in global settings, the integration keeps the last thirty messages so a user can review or clear the conversation, and an hourly cap per user bounds throughput.

Against that, the same page promises automated responses to new inquiries and instant response to every lead across channels, which cannot both be true of a system that always waits for review. The point at which the system sends without a person is never stated. No confidence signal, abstention behavior or supervision policy is published.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on Operational and Outcome EvidenceReal deployment evidence with substance, short of full attribution or measurement: a named customer without figures, or figures without the named customer.

Operational and Outcome Evidence

Named, dated evidence that the product works in production at real firms or legal departments. Case studies with figures and identified customers count. Unattributed testimonials and launch announcements do not.

Named customers at named firms, with roles, and no figures. Three testimonials repeat across the pricing and integrations pages with full attribution: Adam Smallow, Managing Partner of the Law Offices of Adam M. Smallow; Samantha Stone, Supervising Paralegal at Hansen and Rosasco LLP; and Jennifer Gore-Cuthbert, Founder and Owner of Atlanta Personal Injury Law Group Gore LLC. None is dated, no case study is published, and the claims are qualitative: more leads captured, data entry errors eliminated and better visibility of which marketing works. A Happy Clients page exists in the navigation and was not opened; it may say more.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on Privilege and Confidentiality PostureSubstantive published commitments on confidentiality and training use, short of the full picture: commonly silence on segregation between users or matters, or on what the underlying model provider may retain.

Privilege and Confidentiality Posture

How client confidences are handled: attorney client privilege and work product treatment, segregation of one client matter from another, whether client data trains any model, and what the vendor commits to in writing rather than in marketing.

Substantive commitments a buyer can read before signing, and nothing on privilege or separation. Section 10 of the published Software Licensing Agreement defines Confidential Information to include any and all client and client related information. It binds each party to use it only to perform the agreement, limits disclosure to those with a need to know under equivalent duties, and lasts forever for client information against five years for other material that is not technical.

Section 4 limits Authorized Users to the subscriber's employees and contractors and states expressly that clients may not be Authorized Users. On the model provider, the AI page says documents pass through the OpenAI API, that OpenAI does not train on API submissions, and that it keeps API data for thirty days. No privilege or work product treatment appears anywhere, and nothing describes tenancy, separation by matter or a permission model.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on UPL and Professional Responsibility PostureA real position is published on advice versus tooling, short of full treatment: commonly a disclaimer without the supervision and competence dimension, or silence on jurisdiction limits.

UPL and Professional Responsibility Posture

Whether the vendor is clear that it supplies a tool rather than legal advice, who its audience is, and how it addresses unauthorized practice of law, competence and supervision duties, and jurisdiction limits. ABA Formal Opinion 512 is the reference point. Where the advice line is not the duty a product raises, the axis is read through the nearest professional duty it does raise: judicial conduct rules and the reviewing duty for products sold only to courts, and the duty to bill for time actually spent for products that draft time entries.

A real published position on the advice line, short of supervision and competence. Section 11.14 of the agreement says Law Ruler Software is not a law firm, does not provide legal advice whatsoever, and does not provide legal advice or legal services through its website or by any other means. Those last words reach the software, not only the marketing site. The audience is limited by contract as well: the recital defines the subscriber as a law firm authorized to provide legal services as defined by the state bar association where it is located, and section 4 bars clients from being Authorized Users, so there is no consumer facing surface.

Nothing goes past the disclaimer: no rule of professional conduct, no ethics opinion, no jurisdiction limit beyond a license to display within the United States, and nothing on competence or supervision of AI output. The AI page publishes sample prompts asking for the legal implications of a business decision and the risks and liabilities of a legal issue, which describe the product in advice terms; the agreement governs where the two conflict.

Source: Vendor Published
DD on AI Governance and Bias DisclosureNo governance position published for a system whose output affects legal outcomes.

AI Governance and Bias Disclosure

Published governance over model behavior: who owns it inside the vendor, what is tested before release, and what is disclosed about disparate output across matter types, parties, or populations.

No governance position of any kind is published. There is no responsible AI page, principles statement, management system, named owner accountable for model behavior, testing regime before release, or anything on uneven output across matter types or populations. The navigation and footer were checked across six pages and carry no governance page; the only policy documents published are the terms of use, the privacy notice and a disaster recovery procedure, none of which addresses model behavior.

The nearest statement is an assurance about what OpenAI does not do with API data, which is a confidentiality commitment about a supplier, covered under confidentiality and supply chain. The absence matters more on a product used for Social Security disability, immigration and mass tort intake, where qualification logic decides which inquiries a firm pursues.

Source: Operator Verified
CC on AI Safety and Data StewardshipA generic privacy policy covers the product without addressing what happens to documents and prompts after processing.

AI Safety and Data Stewardship

Retention, deletion, access control, and what happens to prompts and documents after they are processed. Whether the vendor states its subprocessors and its incident practice, or leaves the buyer to assume.

Specific on continuity and nearly silent on the rest, and the privacy notice does not reach the product at all. The disaster recovery procedure is the strongest document: hosting on Azure across regions, Azure Blob Storage redundancy for client documents, and exact restore schedules. SQL server backups are taken daily at 07:30 UTC, with instant recovery snapshots held two days, daily points fifteen days, monthly points three months and an annual point one year, and the team rehearses the runbook in scheduled tabletop exercises.

Exhibit B adds daily backups, a free export and a one time full export within ten business days for 250 dollars. What governs client data in normal operation is absent. The privacy notice says in its first line that it covers only information collected by the website, so nothing published covers intake records, documents or prompts in the platform. No retention period, deletion certification, subprocessor list or breach notification commitment is published. A data request hub run by ProfitSolv is linked in the footer and was not opened.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on AI Liability and RecourseA real published position on liability, short of the full picture: commonly a stated indemnity without scope or caps.

AI Liability and Recourse

What the vendor stands behind contractually when its output is wrong. Indemnities, caps, carve outs, insurance, and whether any of it is published or only reachable through a negotiated agreement.

A real published allocation of loss, with scope, a cap and an exception, and nothing that reaches the output. Section 8(b) gives an indemnity from the vendor, defending the subscriber against third party claims that its use of the service infringes a registered patent, trade secret, copyright or trademark. Section 9 caps liability at the amount paid in the twelve months before the event, excludes indirect and consequential damages, and carves intellectual property infringement out of the cap, so a buyer can read the scope, the ceiling and the exception before signing.

None of it addresses what the product now does. Section 7 provides the service as is and disclaims all warranties including fitness, there is no warranty on output, no insurance position is published, and the indemnity covers infringement, not a drafted communication being wrong. The agreement does not mention the AI feature.

Source: Vendor Published
CC on Practice Systems Integration DepthIntegrations are listed as logos or marked as coming, with no documentation an implementer could use.

Practice Systems Integration Depth

How deeply the product reaches into the systems legal work already lives in: document management such as iManage and NetDocuments, Word and Outlook, contract lifecycle management, matter management, e-billing, and court filing systems.

A logo wall with no documentation an implementer could use. The integrations page was last modified 29 December 2023 while the rest of the site carries 2026 dates. It shows roughly thirty marks with no text: Tabs3, TimeSolv, CosmoLex and Rocket Matter among the sibling products, then HelloSign, Smith.ai, ApexChat, Gmail, Zapier, Twilio, Office 365, CallRail, Scorpion, Ngage, Thomson, Nolo and Lawyers.com alongside lead generation vendors.

Nothing states what syncs, in which direction, on what trigger or what a firm must configure. The page body describes dozens of integrations while its metadata claims hundreds. Two fragments of depth exist elsewhere: the pricing FAQ says data from contact and intake forms imports automatically into case management systems, and Exhibit B provides an open API on all tiers, with a request limit scaled to user licenses and no API fee. The support knowledge base at support.lawruler.com was not opened and may say more.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on Deployment Model and Data ResidencyDeployment model is stated clearly with partial residency detail, or residency is offered without the processing location being addressed, or the tenancy model is stated on its own with no residency detail published.

Deployment Model and Data Residency

Where the software runs and where the data sits. Multi tenant cloud, single tenant, private deployment, on premises, and whether region of residence is a published option or an enterprise conversation.

Residency is stated with the provider named, and tenancy is not addressed. The disaster recovery procedure says the platform is hosted on Azure, using regions to spread where stored data sits, with Azure Blob Storage redundancy for client documents and backups stored with geographic redundancy. A second region is identifiable, since the same page schedules weekly backups for an Azure SQL Canada database. Exhibit B says prices are for hosting at the vendor's United States cloud provider unless otherwise specified, and section 1.1 licenses access and display within the United States.

Nothing states whether the platform is single or multi tenant, no dedicated or isolated option appears at any tier, and no region choice is offered. No location is given for the OpenAI leg, where documents are passed for the AI feature. The residency material sits on a page last modified 23 January 2024.

Source: Vendor Published
DD on Security Certifications and Trust CenterNo independent security attestation located.

Security Certifications and Trust Center

Independent attestation a buyer can pull without a sales call: SOC 2, ISO 27001, penetration test summaries, a trust center with current reports and named scope rather than a badge image.

No independent security attestation of any kind is published, and no security or trust page exists to hold one. The navigation and footer were checked across six pages and carry no security, compliance or trust center entry; the three policy documents published are the terms of use, the privacy notice and the disaster recovery procedure. None carries a SOC 2 report of either type, an ISO certification, a penetration test summary, a named auditor, a report period or a scope statement.

The badges on the site are review directory marks from Software Advice, Capterra and GetApp, not security claims. The disaster recovery procedure is real operational disclosure, covered under stewardship and deployment; a continuity description the company publishes itself is not an independent attestation. Nothing is gated, and there is no portal to request a report from.

Source: Operator Verified
BB on Model Supply Chain DisclosureThe supply chain is partly disclosed: providers named without change notification, or architecture described without the providers.

Model Supply Chain Disclosure

Which models sit underneath, whose they are, where they run, and whether the vendor commits to telling customers when that changes. A legal buyer inherits every dependency it cannot see.

The provider and the model are both named, and change notice is absent. The AI page identifies OpenAI as the provider and ChatGPT as the model, refers to ChatGPT version 4 in setting the hourly limit, and describes the architecture. The feature runs through the OpenAI API, not the consumer product, and uploaded documents pass through that API for analysis. OpenAI does not use API submissions to train its models, and keeps API data for thirty days for abuse monitoring, accessible to a limited number of authorized employees and contractors under confidentiality.

Where the models run is not stated for the OpenAI leg, and no commitment to notify customers if the model, version or provider changes is published. Azure appears on the disaster recovery page as the host of the vendor's own platform, not as the model provider.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on Commercial TransparencyReal pricing is published for part of the range, with enterprise tiers withheld, or the unit and structure are stated without the figure.

Commercial Transparency

Whether a buyer can learn what this costs without entering a sales process: published rates, the unit being charged, what sits behind an enterprise tier, and what implementation adds.

The marketing page is gated, and the published agreement is a rate card. The pricing page names three tiers, Pro, Premium and Enterprise, with contact limits of 10,000, 15,000 and unlimited and automation limits of 3, 100 and unlimited. The first two allow up to three users, and Enterprise has a ten user minimum. The page states an annual term billed monthly, a 15 percent discount for paying the year in advance, a one time onboarding fee and a feature table, but no subscription figure, and all three plans are quoted.

Exhibit B of the terms of use publishes rates for part of the range: local calls at 0.05 dollars a minute, toll free at 0.08, SMS at 0.05 and MMS at 0.06, tracking numbers at 3.00 and 5.00 a month, task routing at 0.075 a route, electronic signature at 1.00 a request, 2,500 emails per license with overage at 0.02, 5GB of storage per license with more at 10.00 a gigabyte a month, professional services at 150.00 an hour, a 250.00 full data export and a 50.00 minimum prepaid refill. The subscription cost needs a sales conversation, and there is no free version.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on Firm and Practice CoverageSegment and practice coverage is described with substance, short of the boundaries: what is supported is clear, what is not is left open.

Firm and Practice Coverage

Who the product is actually built for. AmLaw, midlaw, small firm and solo, in house departments, government and courts, and which practice areas are supported rather than merely claimed.

Practice coverage is documented with substance, and the boundary is left open. Eight practice areas each have a solutions page: personal injury, criminal defense, consumer protection, mass tort, business, Social Security disability, immigration and employment. The material is specific about the operating model it suits, addressing high intake volume, fast case turnover, referral and shared counsel arrangements in mass tort, and multilingual client communication in immigration.

Firm size is handled through the plans, with Pro and Premium capped at three users and described as suited to small firms, and Enterprise carrying a ten user minimum. The agreement recites that the subscriber is a law firm. Not stated is where the product stops: in house and government legal are not addressed, no practice area is named as unsuitable, and the integrations page invites requests for anything not covered.

Source: Vendor Published
Sources on file

3 public documents

The public pages on file for Law Ruler, with the recorded signals each one supports and the date it was last read. Open any of them and check the reading against the record.

Pricing

No published figure

USD, as published, never converted
  • Law Ruler has three plans, called Pro, Premium and Enterprise, and it does not print the price of any of them.
  • You have to book a demo and ask for a quote, and there is no free version.
  • What you do get told up front is the shape: how many contacts and automations each plan allows, that Pro and Premium cover up to three users, and that Enterprise needs at least ten.
  • The extras are priced openly in the customer contract, so a text message costs 5 cents, a phone minute 5 cents, an electronic signature a dollar, and extra storage 10 dollars a month.
  • You pay monthly on a one year deal, and paying the whole year upfront saves 15 percent.

Structure is published without a subscription figure, and a full usage rate card is in the agreement. Pro allows 10,000 contacts and 3 automations, Premium 15,000 contacts and 100 automations, both with up to three users, and Enterprise unlimited contacts and automations with a ten user minimum. All three read Contact for Personalized Quote. A one time onboarding fee applies to Pro and Premium. Billing is monthly on an annual term, with a 15 percent saving for paying the year in advance, and the FAQ confirms there is no free version.

Exhibit B of the terms of use lists usage rates: local calls 0.05 dollars a minute, toll free 0.08, SMS 0.05 and MMS 0.06, extra tracking numbers 3.00 and 5.00 a month, task routing 0.075 a route, electronic signature 1.00 a request, 2,500 emails per license with overage at 0.02, 5GB of storage per license with more at 10.00 a gigabyte a month, services at 150.00 an hour, a 250.00 full data export and a 50.00 minimum prepaid refill.

Usage rates apply to the United States and Canada only and may change without notice. No recurring subscription figure is published at any tier.

Legal Signals

What each signal means

A signal records what public sources say on the date shown. It is not a grade and it is not a recommendation. Where a signal reads Not addressed, it means the index did not locate the material in public sources on that date, which is a statement about disclosure rather than about the product.

Confidentiality and Privilege

Client Data in Training

Can material a lawyer puts into this product be used to train a model?

Never, in policy only

A public policy or trust page states no training on customer content, with no matching term located in the published agreement.

Public product material says training does not occur, and the published agreement has no matching term. The AI page says ChatGPT does not train on the customer's information, that client data stays within the Law Ruler environment, and that OpenAI does not use data submitted through its API to train its models or improve its services. The Software Licensing Agreement was read in full on 4 September 2026 and contains no training, machine learning, deidentification or aggregate use clause, so no term grants or withholds the right.

The commitment is scoped to the model provider: nothing published says whether Law Ruler itself uses customer content to develop or improve its own product. The nearest contractual language, section 8(a), refers to content the subscriber provides and the vendor uses in providing the services, which frames a purpose rather than a prohibition.

Source: Vendor PublishedChatGPT does not train on your informationAs of Sep 4, 2026Evidence

Prompt and Output Retention

How long does the product keep what a lawyer typed, and can that be set to zero?

Disclosed fixed window

A specific retention period is published and the customer cannot change it.

Fixed periods are published for the AI path and nothing covers the platform around it. The AI page states that OpenAI retains API data for thirty days for abuse and misuse monitoring, accessible to a limited number of authorized OpenAI employees and specialized contractors under confidentiality and security obligations, and that the integration itself saves the history of the last thirty messages, which a user may review or clear at any time.

Documents uploaded to inform a request are passed through the same API. This is a disclosed fixed position rather than a configurable one: clearing a conversation is a manual action and disabling the feature is an administrator toggle, but no retention setting is offered. Retention of the underlying CRM records, intake submissions and stored documents is not stated anywhere. The disaster recovery page publishes backup retention, at two day snapshots, fifteen day daily points, three month monthly points and a one year annual point, which governs restore copies rather than how long client data is kept.

Source: Vendor PublishedOpenAI retains API data for 30 daysAs of Sep 4, 2026Evidence

Ethical Walls and Matter Segregation

Does retrieval respect the firm’s ethical walls, or can the model read across them?

Not addressed

No located public material addresses walls or matter level segregation.

Separation between matters or between customers has no described control in the product. Nothing states whether the platform is single or multi tenant, and no role, permission or access model inside the product is described on any surface. The nearest provisions govern who may hold an account rather than how work is partitioned: section 4 of the agreement restricts access to Authorized Users and states that clients and others who are not employees may not be Authorized Users, and section 1.2 limits the license to a single authorized application per user desktop.

The integrations page describes case syncing between two separate Law Ruler portals where both firms are customers, which is a sharing feature rather than a segregation control. Searched the home page, the AI page, the pricing page, the integrations page, the terms of use including all three exhibits, the privacy notice and the disaster recovery procedure on 4 September 2026.

Source: Operator VerifiedAs of Sep 4, 2026

Third Party Request and Subpoena Notice

If someone subpoenas the vendor for a firm’s data, does the firm hear about it first?

Notice committed

Terms commit to notice where lawfully permitted. No transparency report located.

The confidentiality section commits to notice before compelled disclosure, in the agreement rather than in a policy page. Section 10 carves required disclosure out of the confidentiality obligation only on condition that the receiving party immediately notify the disclosing party of the requirement and provide reasonable assistance in any efforts to protect the information from disclosure. Confidential Information is defined to include any and all client and client related information, so the commitment reaches the customer's own client material held in the platform, and the obligation survives termination in perpetuity as to that category.

The commitment is mutual, binding each party as receiving party. What is absent is the reporting half: no transparency report, no statistics on requests received, and no stated practice on what happens where a court order bars notification. No exception is reserved for emergency disclosure or for national security process.

Source: Vendor Publishedimmediately notify disclosing party of such requirementAs of Sep 4, 2026Evidence
Accuracy and Authority

Primary Law Corpus Provenance

Where does the law in this product come from, and does the vendor have the right to use it?

Not addressed

No located public material identifies the corpus behind the product’s answers.

Legal content is never retrieved, so the product has no corpus to source. Law Ruler is a client relationship management and intake platform, and the AI feature drafts communications from prompts and from files the user attaches rather than from a body of legal material. No case law source, statutory database, form library license, publisher or reference set is named anywhere, and the question does not bite on this product class.

Recorded as the honest absence rather than a penalty. Searched the home page, the AI page and its FAQ set, the integrations page and the legal documents on 4 September 2026.

Source: Operator VerifiedAs of Sep 4, 2026

Good Law Verification

Does the product tell you when the authority it just cited has been overruled?

Not addressed

No located public material addresses whether authority is checked for subsequent history.

Nothing on any located surface addresses checking authority for subsequent history, and the product does not present primary law. The AI feature generates emails, replies, intake questionnaires, retainers and onboarding documents; it does not retrieve or cite cases, statutes or regulations. The one place the question comes near the product is the vendor's own published prompt library, which includes asking for the key provisions of a named law or regulation, but no citation is returned to a user in the product and no verification step of any kind is described.

Searched the AI page and its FAQ set, the client intake and CRM product pages reached through the navigation, and the legal documents on 4 September 2026.

Source: Operator VerifiedAs of Sep 4, 2026

Refusal and Uncertainty Behavior

What does the product do when the answer is not in the corpus?

Not addressed

No located public material addresses what the product does when it cannot ground an answer.

Prompts the model cannot handle well have no described fallback. No abstention path, state for having no answer, confidence or grounding score, or behavior on a prompt the model cannot support is described. The published workflow runs from prompt to draft with a review step and no checkpoint before it, and the FAQs for the integration cover rate limits, history length, file types and how to disable the feature, not output quality.

The vendor's own sample prompts invite the model to summarize the legal implications of a business decision and to identify risks and liabilities, which are the requests where uncertainty behavior matters most. Searched the AI page, the home page, the pricing page and the legal documents on 4 September 2026.

Source: Operator VerifiedAs of Sep 4, 2026

Fabricated Citation Record

Does a public court record exist addressing fabricated or hallucinated legal citations in output from this product?

None located

No court order, opinion or disciplinary record addressing fabricated or hallucinated legal citations produced by this product has been located as of the date shown. This is a statement about the public record on that one subject, not a finding about the product, and this signal is not a litigation history.

The AI Hallucination Cases database maintained by Damien Charlotin was searched on 4 September 2026 on the product name Law Ruler and on the corporate name Law Ruler Software. No court order, opinion or disciplinary record naming the product or the company was located. This records the state of the public record on that date and is not a finding about the product.

Source: Operator VerifiedAs of Sep 4, 2026Evidence
Professional Responsibility

Bar Guidance Alignment

Has the vendor engaged in public with the ethics opinions its buyers are bound by?

Generic reference

Public materials refer to professional responsibility in general terms without naming guidance.

Bar authority is referenced once, in the agreement, without naming any guidance. The recital to the Software Licensing Agreement defines the subscriber as a law firm authorized to provide legal services as defined by the state bar association where it is located or provides services, so admission to practice is the condition of buying. Section 11.14 adds that the vendor is not a law firm and does not provide legal advice by any means.

Beyond that, nothing engages professional regulation: no bar association, rule of professional conduct, ethics opinion or guidance for any jurisdiction is named, and there is no mapping of obligations for a firm adopting the AI feature. The reference governs who may subscribe, not how the product should be used consistently with a lawyer's duties.

Source: Vendor PublishedAs of Sep 4, 2026

Billing and Fee Posture

Does the vendor address what happens to the bill when the work takes an hour instead of six?

Savings claims only

Public materials claim time savings without addressing billing or disclosure, and the product sits inside a fee relationship between a lawyer and a client where those savings would change the bill.

Efficiency and revenue claims are published, and nothing addresses what happens to a client bill. The AI page says firms see higher productivity and profitability by doing high quality work in less time, that legal staff gain more time for client matters and billable hours, and that drafting compresses from minutes to seconds; an ROI calculator sits in the resources navigation. No record of AI assisted work for each matter is described, no guidance on fee or disclosure treatment is published, and nothing addresses how a firm should account for time the tool removed.

Personal injury and mass tort work is usually paid on contingency, and Social Security disability fees need approval, so the treatment of compressed preparation time is a live question in this product's main segments.

Source: Vendor PublishedAs of Sep 4, 2026

Outside Counsel Guideline Readiness

Can a firm get this vendor through a client’s AI clause without a bespoke negotiation?

Subprocessors listed

A current subprocessor or model provider list is published.

The model provider a firm would have to name is disclosed, and no forwardable pack exists. From published material, a firm answering a client's AI clause can say that the AI runs on the OpenAI API and that ChatGPT is the model. It can also say that uploaded documents pass through that API, that OpenAI does not train on API submissions, and that OpenAI keeps API data for thirty days. The whole AI feature uses that one provider, so this answers the AI question in full.

Other suppliers are named in the vendor's own material but never gathered in one place. Azure is the host on the disaster recovery page, and Twilio, HelloSign, Groupdocs Signature and DocuSign appear across the integrations page and Exhibit B. No data processing addendum, consent or notice pack, or current subprocessor register a firm could forward is published.

Source: Vendor PublishedAs of Sep 4, 2026

Court Disclosure Support

If a judge’s standing order requires an AI disclosure, can the product produce one?

Not addressed

No located public material addresses court disclosure or verification certification.

A tribunal or client asking how a draft was produced would find no record to examine. Two adjacent things exist and neither does this job. The integrations FAQ states that messaging, electronic signature, marketing automation and the softphone dialer create an audit trail and provide transparency to staff, which records platform activity rather than model use. And the AI integration retains the last thirty messages of conversation history, which a user may clear at any time.

A capped buffer that a user can erase and that is not linked to a matter cannot function as a disclosure record. No export of AI usage, logging of which outputs the model generated, attribution of a draft to a model or version, or template or guidance for disclosing AI use to a court was located. Searched the AI page and its FAQ set, the integrations page, the pricing page and the legal documents on 4 September 2026.

Source: Operator VerifiedAs of Sep 4, 2026
Contact

Correct a record, or ask how something was graded

Every grade and every signal on this index is drawn from public sources and dated. If a record is wrong, out of date, or missing an artifact the index did not locate, send the source and it will be reviewed and the record redated. Vendors are welcome to submit documentation. Nothing on this index is for sale, including a listing, a placement, or a grade.

AI Legal Index

The AI Legal Index is an independent index that tracks changes to AI vendors in legal. It holds 462 vendors across 9 categories, each graded on the same 15 capability axes and recorded against 12 legal signals, from public sources. No vendor pays for inclusion, placement, or rating.

Index Status
Last index update
October 19, 2026
The AI Legal Index is an editorial reference. It is not a regulatory body, not a law firm, and nothing published here is legal advice or a recommendation to retain or avoid a vendor. Records are verified against published sources, bar guidance and public court records. Where a record reads not addressed, the material was not located in public sources on the date shown. See the Methodology page for evaluation standards and limitations.
© 2026 AI Legal Index
3801 N Capital of Texas Hwy, Ste E240 · Austin, TX 78746