R
Ruli

Ruli is an AI legal platform from Ruli, Inc. of Austin, Texas, built for in-house legal teams. Its Assistant answers research questions across US, EU and UK laws and regulations and the team's own playbooks, policies and precedents, with citations to the sources, and drafts memos; a Word and Google Docs extension reviews contracts against playbooks, flags risks and deviations with a pass, partial or fail status, and applies preferred or fallback language as tracked changes; Tabular Review extracts clauses and risks across hundreds of contracts for due diligence; and Monitor tracks legal and regulatory changes against the company's risk profile.

The platform runs on Amazon Web Services in the United States, and OpenAI is among its listed subprocessors for AI models. Named customers include Sequoia, MasterClass, Newsweek, Kandji, Groq, Matic and Worksport. Pricing is not published.

Capability grades

All 15 axes, graded from public sources on the date shown. Hover a grade to see what the letter means on that axis.

AA on AI CentralityThe artificial intelligence is the product. Remove the models and there is nothing left to sell.

AI Centrality

How much of the product is actually AI. Whether the machine learning is the mechanism the buyer is paying for or a feature layered onto conventional software, and whether the vendor is specific about which is which.

The models are the product. Research answers, memo drafting, playbook generation, clause-by-clause redlining in Word and Google Docs, issue spotting, extraction across hundreds of contracts and regulatory monitoring filtered to the company's risk profile are all model work. Without them, what remains is storage for playbooks and documents. Verified 22 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on Citation Accuracy and Hallucination DisclosureGrounding is real and documented, with linked primary sources and a described retrieval method, short of published accuracy figures an outsider can test.

Citation Accuracy and Hallucination Disclosure

Whether the vendor publishes measured accuracy on citations and assertions, grounds output to primary sources, and says plainly what its system does when it does not know. Legal has a documented public record of fabricated citations reaching filed briefs, so an untested claim of accuracy is not evidence.

Answers cite their sources and the limits are stated. The Assistant page says every research result includes citations so users can verify accuracy, with primary source citations across US, EU and UK federal and state law and the team's own knowledge base, and the Word extension's Assistant answers with citations. The Platform Terms of Service, last modified 2 February 2026, warn that outputs may be incomplete, inaccurate or outdated and may not reflect the most current law. No accuracy figures, test set or error rate are published. Verified 22 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on Autonomy and Oversight ModelA written commitment that the models work alongside a supervising lawyer, with real review surfaces, short of the full control structure: commonly the threshold at which the system stops or what happens after it is wrong.

Autonomy and Oversight Model

What the system decides on its own, what a lawyer must approve, and whether the vendor documents where the review point sits. A tool that drafts under review and a tool that files without one are different products and different risks.

Review is placed on the user in writing, with real surfaces to do it. The Platform Terms make the user solely responsible for reviewing outputs and require independent judgement; in Word and Google Docs, playbook edits arrive as tracked changes to accept or reject, and every flagged issue carries a pass, partial or fail status so the reviewer can prioritise. No threshold, categorical limit on use without review, or account of what happens after a wrong output is published. Verified 22 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on Operational and Outcome EvidenceReal deployment evidence with substance, short of full attribution or measurement: a named customer without figures, or figures without the named customer.

Operational and Outcome Evidence

Named, dated evidence that the product works in production at real firms or legal departments. Case studies with figures and identified customers count. Unattributed testimonials and launch announcements do not.

Named customers, with results stated as testimony rather than measured. The customers page carries stories from Sequoia, MasterClass, Newsweek, Kandji, Groq, Matic, Worksport and Slingshot Aerospace, with named legal leaders quoted. The figures in them are self-reported: a general counsel's estimate of 25 to 30 hours saved a month, a claim that MasterClass's lean team now covers twice the function, and a goal, not a result, that 75 per cent of Sequoia's reviewed contracts will run through the redlining tool. The stories carry no dates and no method. Verified 22 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on Privilege and Confidentiality PostureSubstantive published commitments on confidentiality and training use, short of the full picture: commonly silence on segregation between users or matters, or on what the underlying model provider may retain.

Privilege and Confidentiality Posture

How client confidences are handled: attorney client privilege and work product treatment, segregation of one client matter from another, whether client data trains any model, and what the vendor commits to in writing rather than in marketing.

The published agreement carries real commitments. The Platform Terms state that Ruli does not use customer data to train its models by default, that training on de-identified data happens only if the customer opts in, and that customer data is never shared with third-party AI providers for training; customers keep ownership of their data; and the confidentiality clause permits disclosure required by law only with notice where legally permitted.

The home page promises strict isolation of each customer's data, and the Privacy Notice, last updated 12 August 2026, describes Ruli as the processor of enterprise workspace content. Nothing addresses privilege or work product, or separation between matters within a customer. Verified 22 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on UPL and Professional Responsibility PostureA real position is published on advice versus tooling, short of full treatment: commonly a disclaimer without the supervision and competence dimension, or silence on jurisdiction limits.

UPL and Professional Responsibility Posture

Whether the vendor is clear that it supplies a tool rather than legal advice, who its audience is, and how it addresses unauthorized practice of law, competence and supervision duties, and jurisdiction limits. ABA Formal Opinion 512 is the reference point. Where the advice line is not the duty a product raises, the axis is read through the nearest professional duty it does raise: judicial conduct rules and the reviewing duty for products sold only to courts, and the duty to bill for time actually spent for products that draft time entries.

A product-scoped disclaimer with a review duty attached. The Platform Terms state that the services and outputs are for general guidance and workflow assistance, do not constitute legal advice or professional counsel, and create no attorney-client or fiduciary relationship, and they require users to review outputs and use independent judgement. The terms also admit individual consumer accounts, including users aged 13 to 17 with a parent's consent, without saying how the product's legal output should be treated for people who are not lawyers. No ethics obligations or jurisdiction limits are named. Verified 22 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
DD on AI Governance and Bias DisclosureNo governance position published for a system whose output affects legal outcomes.

AI Governance and Bias Disclosure

Published governance over model behaviour: who owns it inside the vendor, what is tested before release, and what is disclosed about disparate output across matter types, parties, or populations.

Checked the home page, the product and customer pages, the Platform Terms, the Privacy Notice and the Security Policy on 22 September 2026. No AI governance framework, accountable owner, testing before release or bias finding was located. The Platform Terms warn that AI systems may produce unpredictable or biased results, which is a disclaimer rather than a governance position. Verified 22 September 2026.

Source: Operator Verified
BB on AI Safety and Data StewardshipSubstantive published policy covering most of the ground, short of the full set: commonly no named subprocessor list or no stated incident practice.

AI Safety and Data Stewardship

Retention, deletion, access control, and what happens to prompts and documents after they are processed. Whether the vendor states its subprocessors and its incident practice, or leaves the buyer to assume.

Most of the ground is published in reviewable form. The Platform Terms say most data is deleted within 30 days of a user deleting it and backups within 90 days; the Security Policy describes AWS hosting with all databases in the United States, encryption at rest and in transit, least-privilege access with quarterly access reviews, single sign-on and two-factor authentication where available, and a subprocessor table naming AWS, DocuSign, Google, Microsoft Azure, OpenAI, Pinecone and others with their locations.

The incident limb is thin: a single statement of a process with escalation, mitigation and communication, no commitment to notify customers of a breach, and the Security Policy was last updated on 13 March 2025. Verified 22 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
CC on AI Liability and RecourseLiability is addressed only through a standard limitation clause that disclaims the exposure the product creates.

AI Liability and Recourse

What the vendor stands behind contractually when its output is wrong. Indemnities, caps, carve outs, insurance, and whether any of it is published or only reachable through a negotiated agreement.

Liability is handled only by standard clauses that leave the risk of output with the customer. The Platform Terms provide the services and outputs as is, without warranties, cap Ruli's total liability at the greater of $100 or the fees paid in the preceding 12 months, and require the customer to indemnify Ruli, with no indemnity running the other way. Disputes go to individual arbitration under Texas law. Verified 22 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on Practice Systems Integration DepthReal integrations exist and are documented, short of depth: named connections without a description of what they actually move.

Practice Systems Integration Depth

How deeply the product reaches into the systems legal work already lives in: document management such as iManage and NetDocuments, Word and Outlook, contract lifecycle management, matter management, e-billing, and court filing systems.

Real integrations with some depth described. The extension works inside Microsoft Word, listed on Microsoft Marketplace, and Google Docs, applying playbook edits as tracked changes and generating issues lists in place; the Privacy Notice describes a Google Workspace integration with scoped access to files; and DocuSign appears among the subprocessors. No integration with a document management, matter or contract lifecycle system is named, and no integration documentation is published. Verified 22 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on Deployment Model and Data ResidencyDeployment model is stated clearly with partial residency detail, or residency is offered without the processing location being addressed, or the tenancy model is stated on its own with no residency detail published.

Deployment Model and Data Residency

Where the software runs and where the data sits. Multi tenant cloud, single tenant, private deployment, on premises, and whether region of residence is a published option or an enterprise conversation.

Cloud, in one stated region. The Security Policy says all services are hosted on Amazon Web Services with all databases in the United States, the Privacy Notice says personal information is hosted in the United States, the home page describes each customer's data as kept separate, and the subprocessor table places the AI model provider in the United States. No residency option, private deployment or tenancy choice is offered. Verified 22 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on Security Certifications and Trust CenterCertification is real and stated, short of accessible evidence: a named standard without scope, date, or a way to obtain the report.

Security Certifications and Trust Center

Independent attestation a buyer can pull without a sales call: SOC 2, ISO 27001, penetration test summaries, a trust center with current reports and named scope rather than a badge image.

A named attestation without a report route. The home page and Security Policy state that Ruli is SOC 2 Type 2 certified, with independently audited controls for security, availability and confidentiality. No auditor, report period or scope is given, no trust centre is published, and no way to obtain the report is described. Verified 22 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on Model Supply Chain DisclosureThe supply chain is partly disclosed: providers named without change notification, or architecture described without the providers.

Model Supply Chain Disclosure

Which models sit underneath, whose they are, where they run, and whether the vendor commits to telling customers when that changes. A legal buyer inherits every dependency it cannot see.

The provider is named. The Security Policy's subprocessor table lists OpenAI for AI models through the OpenAI API platform, located in the United States, alongside Microsoft Azure. The specific models and versions are not named, and no commitment to notify customers when the models change is published. Verified 22 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
DD on Commercial TransparencyNo pricing information published at any level, including the unit of charge.

Commercial Transparency

Whether a buyer can learn what this costs without entering a sales process: published rates, the unit being charged, what sits behind an enterprise tier, and what implementation adds.

Checked the home page, the product pages, the Platform Terms and the Microsoft Marketplace listing on 22 September 2026. No price, tier or unit of charge is published; the terms mention monthly and annual plans and trials in general terms, and the Marketplace listing says a paid subscription is required and points to a demo. Verified 22 September 2026.

Source: Operator Verified
BB on Firm and Practice CoverageSegment and practice coverage is described with substance, short of the boundaries: what is supported is clear, what is not is left open.

Firm and Practice Coverage

Who the product is actually built for. AmLaw, midlaw, small firm and solo, in house departments, government and courts, and which practice areas are supported rather than merely claimed.

The buyer and the work are clear: in-house legal teams from fast-growing technology companies to the Fortune 500, handling regulatory research, employment and privacy questions, contract review and redlining, due diligence and regulatory monitoring across US, EU and UK law. The Microsoft Marketplace listing also names law firms and individual legal professionals, and the terms allow consumer accounts, without saying how the product differs for them. What it does not cover is not stated. Verified 22 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
Sources on file

4 public documents

The public pages on file for Ruli, with the recorded signals each one supports and the date it was last read. Open any of them and check the reading against the record.

Legal Signals

What each signal means

A signal records what public sources say on the date shown. It is not a grade and it is not a recommendation. Where a signal reads Not addressed, it means the index did not locate the material in public sources on that date, which is a statement about disclosure rather than about the product.

Confidentiality and Privilege

Client Data in Training

Can material a lawyer puts into this product be used to train a model?

Opt in

Training occurs only where the customer has affirmatively enabled it.

The Platform Terms of Service, last modified 2 February 2026, exclude customer data from training by default. If a customer opts in through an express mechanism, Ruli may train on de-identified data only; the customer can opt out at any time, though training already done cannot be reversed, and customer data is never shared with third-party AI providers for training. Ruli may also use de-identified, aggregated analytics to improve the service.

Source: Vendor PublishedBy default, Ruli does not use Customer Data to train its AI models.As of Sep 22, 2026Evidence

Prompt and Output Retention

How long does the product keep what a lawyer typed, and can that be set to zero?

Customer controlled, no zero option

The customer controls the retention window, by product configuration or by contractual instruction, but zero retention is not stated as available.

Users can delete content or their account, after which the Platform Terms say most data is deleted within 30 days and backups are typically removed within 90 days, with some information kept for legal compliance, disputes and enforcement. A setting that retains nothing is not described.

Source: Vendor PublishedMost data is deleted within 30 days; backups are typically removed within 90 daysAs of Sep 22, 2026Evidence

Ethical Walls and Matter Segregation

Does retrieval respect the firm’s ethical walls, or can the model read across them?

Not addressed

No located public material addresses walls or matter level segregation.

Checked the home page, the product pages, the Platform Terms, the Privacy Notice and the Security Policy on 22 September 2026. Each customer's data is described as kept separate from other customers', but nothing addresses walls or permissions between matters or users within a customer.

Source: Operator VerifiedAs of Sep 22, 2026

Third Party Request and Subpoena Notice

If someone subpoenas the vendor for a firm’s data, does the firm hear about it first?

Notice committed

Terms commit to notice where lawfully permitted. No transparency report located.

The confidentiality clause of the Platform Terms allows confidential information to be disclosed when required by law only with notice where the law permits. The Privacy Notice adds that information may be disclosed to comply with valid legal process.

Source: Vendor PublishedDisclosure may be made if required by law, with notice where legally permitted.As of Sep 22, 2026Evidence
Accuracy and Authority

Primary Law Corpus Provenance

Where does the law in this product come from, and does the vendor have the right to use it?

Jurisdictions only

Coverage is described by jurisdiction with no identification of the underlying corpus.

The research corpus is described by jurisdiction: US, EU and UK federal and state laws and regulations, with rest-of-world trusted sources cited and primary source citations. No database, publisher or licence behind that coverage is named.

Source: Vendor PublishedAs of Sep 22, 2026Evidence

Good Law Verification

Does the product tell you when the authority it just cited has been overruled?

Prompts the user to verify

The product instructs the reader to check the citation without performing the check.

Research results include citations so the user can verify them, and the Platform Terms warn that outputs may not reflect the most current law and require independent judgement. No citator or check for whether cited authority remains good law is described; the Monitor feature tracks regulatory change for the company rather than checking cited authority.

Source: Vendor PublishedAs of Sep 22, 2026

Refusal and Uncertainty Behaviour

What does the product do when the answer is not in the corpus?

Not addressed

No located public material addresses what the product does when it cannot ground an answer.

Checked the home page, the product pages and the Platform Terms on 22 September 2026. Flagged contract issues carry a pass, partial or fail status, but no confidence indicator or path in which the Assistant declines a question it cannot answer is described.

Source: Operator VerifiedAs of Sep 22, 2026

Fabricated Citation Record

Does a public court record exist addressing fabricated or hallucinated legal citations in output from this product?

None located

No court order, opinion or disciplinary record addressing fabricated or hallucinated legal citations produced by this product has been located as of the date shown. This is a statement about the public record on that one subject, not a finding about the product, and this signal is not a litigation history.

Searched the AI Hallucination Cases database maintained by Damien Charlotin on 22 September 2026 for Ruli; the cases returned matched only on words such as ruling, and none names the product. No court order, opinion or disciplinary record naming the product was located. This is a statement about the public record rather than a finding about the product.

Source: Bar Guidance or Court RecordAs of Sep 22, 2026Evidence
Professional Responsibility

Bar Guidance Alignment

Has the vendor engaged in public with the ethics opinions its buyers are bound by?

Generic reference

Public materials refer to professional responsibility in general terms without naming guidance.

The Platform Terms state that the services and outputs do not constitute legal advice or professional counsel and create no attorney-client relationship, and tell users to consult qualified professionals as appropriate. No bar or ethics opinion is named on any surface read.

Source: Vendor Publisheddo not constitute legal advice or professional counselAs of Sep 22, 2026Evidence

Billing and Fee Posture

Does the vendor address what happens to the bill when the work takes an hour instead of six?

Outside the fee relationship

The product does not touch a fee between a lawyer and a client. It operates before an engagement exists, or it is bought by a team that bills no client for the work. Savings claims aimed at the buyer’s own cost are recorded in the summary and do not make the row a savings claim, because no client bill is in the loop.

The product is built for in-house legal teams, whose work bills no client, and its savings claims are aimed at the buyer's own spend: a general counsel's estimate of 25 to 30 hours saved a month and a customer story on replacing outside counsel for research. The Microsoft Marketplace listing also names law firms as users, and nothing addresses how a firm would bill or disclose work done with the product.

Source: Vendor PublishedAs of Sep 22, 2026

Outside Counsel Guideline Readiness

Can a firm get this vendor through a client’s AI clause without a bespoke negotiation?

Subprocessors listed

A current subprocessor or model provider list is published.

The Security Policy publishes a subprocessor table with each provider's service and data centre location, including Amazon Web Services for hosting, OpenAI for AI models, Microsoft Azure, Google Workspace, DocuSign and Pinecone. No client-facing disclosure pack on AI use is published.

Source: Vendor PublishedAs of Sep 22, 2026Evidence

Court Disclosure Support

If a judge’s standing order requires an AI disclosure, can the product produce one?

Not addressed

No located public material addresses court disclosure or verification certification.

Checked the home page, the product pages and the Platform Terms on 22 September 2026. No record of AI involvement in a document, export of that record or disclosure guidance is described.

Source: Operator VerifiedAs of Sep 22, 2026
Contact

Correct a record, or ask how something was graded

Every grade and every signal on this index is drawn from public sources and dated. If a record is wrong, out of date, or missing an artifact the index did not locate, send the source and it will be reviewed and the record redated. Vendors are welcome to submit documentation. Nothing on this index is for sale, including a listing, a placement, or a grade.

AI Legal Index

The AI Legal Index is an independent index that tracks changes to AI vendors in legal. It holds 303 vendors across 9 categories, each graded on the same 15 capability axes and recorded against 12 legal signals, from public sources. No vendor pays for inclusion, placement, or rating.

Index Status
Last index update
September 22, 2026
The AI Legal Index is an editorial reference. It is not a regulatory body, not a law firm, and nothing published here is legal advice or a recommendation to retain or avoid a vendor. Records are verified against published sources, bar guidance and public court records. Where a record reads not addressed, the material was not located in public sources on the date shown. See the Methodology page for evaluation standards and limitations.
© 2026 AI Legal Index
3801 N Capital of Texas Hwy, Ste E240 · Austin, TX 78746