W
Wexler AI
Wexler is a fact intelligence platform for disputes and investigations teams. It reads a document set and turns it into structured facts, each tied to its source, that can be searched and tagged. It builds a chronology of the facts and their significance to the dispute, and flags contradictions, gaps, overlaps and timeline clashes across the evidence. Its assistant, Kim, answers questions about the factual record with sourced facts grounded in the customer's own documents.
The product covers early case assessment through to trial, and published customers include Clifford Chance, Goodwin and Burges Salmon. The company states ISO 27001 certification and SOC 2 Type II accreditation, offers private cloud deployment, and stores data in the UK, the US or elsewhere on request. Legora acquired Wexler on 29 July 2026, and Wexler continues to be sold under its own name from its own platform. It works from London and New York.
Wexler AI, head to head
Side by side on the same 15 capability axes and 12 legal signals: where the two part company, and what neither one publishes.
Alternatives to Wexler AI
Vendors in the same categories as Wexler AI whose graded profiles look most alike, with a line on what each product does.
Similar is not the same, so check that each one does the job you need. No vendor pays for placement.
- MMateyMatey is an AI discovery analysis platform from MateyAI, Inc. of Austin, Texas, built for criminal defense.
- TTrialKitTrialKit is an AI discovery platform from TrialKit Inc. of Clifton, New Jersey, built by attorneys for criminal defense and litigation teams.
- OOpus 2Opus 2 is a platform for running commercial disputes from client instruction to the hearing room, built around case preparation, collaboration and live proceedings rather than document review.
- CCloud CourtCloud Court makes Gibson, testimony intelligence software that turns deposition and trial transcripts into searchable, analyzable data for litigation teams.
- TTrialViewTrialView is an AI dispute resolution platform covering a contested matter from bundle preparation to hearing presentation.
- IiCONECTiCONECT is a document review and data analysis platform from iCONECT Development, LLC, founded in 1999.
Ordered by how closely the graded profiles match across the 15 capability axes, inside the same categories. See how each axis is graded in the methodology.
Capability grades
All 15 axes, graded from public sources on the date shown. Hover a grade to see what the letter means on that axis.
AI Centrality
How much of the product is actually AI. Whether the machine learning is the mechanism the buyer is paying for or a feature layered onto conventional software, and whether the vendor is specific about which is which.
The models are the whole product. Fact extraction across a document set, contradiction detection, chronology building and the Kim assistant all come from the models. The platform is positioned as reasoning across a million pages, not as a repository with analysis added on top. No document management, workflow or matter system sits underneath that would work without them. The company calls it a fact intelligence platform that analyzes every fact in every document to show what the evidence supports, and none of that could run without the models.
Citation Accuracy and Hallucination Disclosure
Whether the vendor publishes measured accuracy on citations and assertions, grounds output to primary sources, and says plainly what its system does when it does not know. Legal has a documented public record of fabricated citations reaching filed briefs, so an untested claim of accuracy is not evidence.
Grounding is documented and central to the product's claim. Answers are presented as sourced facts drawn only from the customer's own documents, and every fact traces to its source passage. An arbitration case study records the system explaining where in a document it found each date or event. What is missing is a measurement published by the vendor. The one accuracy figure on the site comes from an unnamed national firm, quoted in a testimonial.
In its own testing the hallucination rate was less than 0.1 percent, and the tool was at least on a par with human review. No test set, method or named organization stands behind that figure. The vendor names no failure mode anywhere.
Autonomy and Oversight Model
What the system decides on its own, what a lawyer must approve, and whether the vendor documents where the review point sits. A tool that drafts under review and a tool that files without one are different products and different risks.
Oversight is never described as a structure, though the design gives a reviewer tools to check the output. Confidence scores and source links on each answer give a reviewer something to test. A testimonial describes the system raising follow up questions of the kind a reviewer would expect from a trainee. Nothing published says what the system does unattended and what a lawyer approves. No threshold is given at which it defers or stops, no review workflow is described, and nothing commits to a supervising lawyer working alongside it. With no terms published, there is no contractual review duty either.
Operational and Outcome Evidence
Named, dated evidence that the product works in production at real firms or legal departments. Case studies with figures and identified customers count. Unattributed testimonials and launch announcements do not.
Deployment evidence is real, and the figures attach to unnamed firms. Four firms appear as named customers, among them Clifford Chance, Goodwin and Burges Salmon, with attributed quotes from Claire Freeman, a partner at Clifford Chance, and Tom Whittaker, a legal director at Burges Salmon. Lord Wilson of Culworth also endorses the product. The insights journal dates two relationships: Goodwin deepened its partnership on 3 June 2026, and Burges Salmon extended its partnership across the firm on 11 May 2026.
The figures are specific. One AmLaw 100 matter covered more than 250,000 pages with a 90 percent average time saving, and 100 percent of users said they would adopt the tool. At a global firm, inconsistencies the system identified were relied on at an international arbitration hearing. No figure is tied to a named firm.
Privilege and Confidentiality Posture
How client confidences are handled: attorney client privilege and work product treatment, segregation of one client matter from another, whether client data trains any model, and what the vendor commits to in writing rather than in marketing.
Confidentiality is asserted in general terms, and no commitment can be read in advance. The security page speaks of a deep commitment to best in class security and a heavy emphasis on data protection, secure operations and cloud security, which is assertion rather than commitment. Nothing published addresses training on customer documents, retention or deletion of matter material, separation between customers or matters, or what a model provider may retain.
Privilege and work product go unmentioned, on a product built to take in the entire evidential record of a dispute. The privacy policy does not reach customer documents, and no agreement is published.
UPL and Professional Responsibility Posture
Whether the vendor is clear that it supplies a tool rather than legal advice, who its audience is, and how it addresses unauthorized practice of law, competence and supervision duties, and jurisdiction limits. ABA Formal Opinion 512 is the reference point. Where the advice line is not the duty a product raises, the axis is read through the nearest professional duty it does raise: judicial conduct rules and the reviewing duty for products sold only to courts, and the duty to bill for time actually spent for products that draft time entries.
The line between analysis and advice is not drawn anywhere, for output relied on in filings and at hearings. No statement says what the output is and is not, no disclaimer separates analysis from advice, and no competence or supervision language appears. No jurisdiction limit is stated, though the product is sold in the United Kingdom and the United States. The gap is not an unread document, since no terms of service, customer agreement or acceptable use policy exists on the site. The marketing points the other way, describing the output as testable at trial.
AI Governance and Bias Disclosure
Published governance over model behavior: who owns it inside the vendor, what is tested before release, and what is disclosed about disparate output across matter types, parties, or populations.
No governance position is published for a system whose output shapes what a party argues the evidence shows. There is no responsible AI statement, governance framework or named owner. Nothing describes testing or evaluation before release, no results are published, and nothing addresses bias or uneven performance across document types, languages or kinds of matter. The confidence score is a product feature rather than a governance mechanism, and the information security certifications do not reach these questions.
AI Safety and Data Stewardship
Retention, deletion, access control, and what happens to prompts and documents after they are processed. Whether the vendor states its subprocessors and its incident practice, or leaves the buyer to assume.
A privacy policy for the website covers the company, not the evidence customers upload. It names contact details, IP address, browser and device data and usage data. None of it reaches uploaded evidence, extracted facts or the assistant's outputs. Matter material gets no deletion or retention terms, and no breach notification practice appears. The one specific stewardship practice published is a responsible disclosure program: security reports get a response within two business days, good faith researchers get a safe harbor, and credit is given on resolution.
AI Liability and Recourse
What the vendor stands behind contractually when its output is wrong. Indemnities, caps, carve outs, insurance, and whether any of it is published or only reachable through a negotiated agreement.
Nothing is published on who bears the loss when the system is wrong. The site carries no terms of service, master subscription agreement, customer agreement or order form template. Its only legal link, in the footer, is a website privacy policy, and the navigation has no legal section. No indemnity, liability cap, warranty or insurance position appears on any page, so the allocation of loss cannot be read before signing. The home page, security page, privacy policy, navigation and footer were searched.
Practice Systems Integration Depth
How deeply the product reaches into the systems legal work already lives in: document management such as iManage and NetDocuments, Word and Outlook, contract lifecycle management, matter management, e-billing, and court filing systems.
The pages checked show no integration with practice systems. No document management system, eDiscovery platform, review tool, transcript system or matter management product is named, and neither the navigation nor the footer leads to an integrations page or developer documentation. Single sign on, listed with the security features, is authentication rather than integration. The workflow described is to upload a document set and question it, with nothing on how documents arrive from an existing review platform.
Deployment Model and Data Residency
Where the software runs and where the data sits. Multi tenant cloud, single tenant, private deployment, on premises, and whether region of residence is a published option or an enterprise conversation.
Residency is offered as a real choice, and processing is not addressed. The home page and security page both say data is stored in the UK, the US or elsewhere on request, so the location is the customer's choice rather than fixed. Private cloud deployment is offered for organizations that need it, a tenancy option beyond the default. Nothing says where processing or model inference happens as distinct from storage. No regions are listed beyond the two named, and nothing explains how controls, isolation or price differ between the standard and private cloud arrangements.
Security Certifications and Trust Center
Independent attestation a buyer can pull without a sales call: SOC 2, ISO 27001, penetration test summaries, a trust center with current reports and named scope rather than a badge image.
Two certifications are claimed, and the evidence behind them is not public. ISO 27001 certification and SOC 2 Type II accreditation appear on the home page and again on a security page, alongside single sign on and regular penetration testing. No certifying body, auditor, certificate number, scope, observation period or report date is published, so neither claim can be checked against a register without contacting Wexler.
A trust center at trust.wexler.ai, hosted on Drata, is linked from the security page and described as supporting all customers. It showed only a loading frame with no content when checked, so what it holds and who can open it are not established. Current as of 4 September 2026.
Model Supply Chain Disclosure
Which models sit underneath, whose they are, where they run, and whether the vendor commits to telling customers when that changes. A legal buyer inherits every dependency it cannot see.
Which models process a customer's documents is not disclosed. No model is named, no model provider is named, and no subprocessor list exists. No location is given for inference as distinct from storage, and nothing commits to notifying customers of a change. The assistant carries a product name, Kim, which identifies the interface rather than what sits underneath it. The security page mentions cloud security, and the residency statement says where data rests, but neither says whose models touch it.
Commercial Transparency
Whether a buyer can learn what this costs without entering a sales process: published rates, the unit being charged, what sits behind an enterprise tier, and what implementation adds.
No pricing is published at any level, including the unit of charge. There is no pricing page in the navigation or footer, no tier names and no feature split. Nothing says whether charging is per user, per matter, per page or per document, and there is no free trial or self serve route. Every call to action leads to a demo booking or a contact form asking for name, email, company, title and team size.
Firm and Practice Coverage
Who the product is actually built for. AmLaw, midlaw, small firm and solo, in house departments, government and courts, and which practice areas are supported rather than merely claimed.
Segment and practice coverage are described with substance, and the edges are left open. The buyer is consistently disputes and investigations teams working on complex disputes, and the named customers and case studies are law firms, including one in the AmLaw 100. The roles quoted show the product used for early case assessment, international arbitration and cyber work. No firm size floor or ceiling is stated, and in house and government use are not addressed.
No jurisdiction of substantive coverage is named despite offices in London and New York, and nothing says which matter or document types the product does not handle.
2 public documents
The public pages on file for Wexler AI, with the recorded signals each one supports and the date it was last read. Open any of them and check the reading against the record.
-
Fabricated Citation Record
Read Sep 4, 2026
-
wexler.ai/legal/privacy-policy1 signal
Third Party Request and Subpoena Notice
Read Sep 4, 2026
Legal Signals
What each signal meansA signal records what public sources say on the date shown. It is not a grade and it is not a recommendation. Where a signal reads Not addressed, it means the index did not locate the material in public sources on that date, which is a statement about disclosure rather than about the product.
Client Data in Training
Can material a lawyer puts into this product be used to train a model?
No customer agreement, terms of service or equivalent contract is published on any surface located, and no policy page states a position on training. Nothing is granted and nothing is withheld, so a client has no term to hold the firm to. Where a policy page does state a position, the row takes the matching policy value instead and the summary records that no agreement exists.
Whether customer documents train models is not stated anywhere. Neither the home page nor the security page takes a position, and no agreement is published. The privacy policy, the only legal document on the site, covers personal data such as contact and usage details and never reaches uploaded documents, extracted facts or outputs. With no agreement to read, there is no contract term to record either. Searched on 4 September 2026.
Prompt and Output Retention
How long does the product keep what a lawyer typed, and can that be set to zero?
No located public material states how long prompts and outputs are retained.
How long uploaded documents, extracted facts, prompts or outputs are kept is not stated. The privacy policy's retention clause covers only contact, technical and usage information, which it keeps as long as necessary for its stated purposes and legal obligations. Nothing addresses matter material, no deletion commitment appears, and nothing covers the end of an engagement. The position is absent rather than vague. Searched on 4 September 2026.
Ethical Walls and Matter Segregation
Does retrieval respect the firm’s ethical walls, or can the model read across them?
No located public material addresses walls or matter level segregation.
Walls and segregation between matters are not addressed in public material. Nothing says whether the platform is single tenant or multitenant by default, how one customer's evidence is kept apart from another's, or how access is controlled between matters or users inside a firm. Single sign on is authentication, not segregation, and the private cloud option comes without any description of what it isolates. Searched on 4 September 2026.
Third Party Request and Subpoena Notice
If someone subpoenas the vendor for a firm’s data, does the firm hear about it first?
Published terms or policy address disclosure to authorities or in response to legal process, and no commitment or reservation regarding customer notice is located anywhere. The vendor has told the customer that data can leave and has said nothing about whether the customer hears of it.
Data can leave under compulsion, and nothing promises notice. The privacy policy says Wexler may disclose personal data to comply with legal requirements, enforce its policies, or protect the rights, property or safety of Wexler, its users or others. No commitment to notify the customer of such a request appears, and no discretion over notice is reserved. The clause covers the personal data in the privacy policy, not uploaded matter material, and with no agreement published nothing addresses compelled disclosure of customer documents. Checked 4 September 2026.
Primary Law Corpus Provenance
Where does the law in this product come from, and does the vendor have the right to use it?
No located public material identifies the corpus behind the product’s answers.
The answers draw on the customer's own uploads, and no outside source collection is identified. Wexler describes its answers as grounded entirely in the documents a customer provides, so the collection is the customer's evidence set. No external database, publisher, jurisdiction or license basis is named, and no retrieval of primary law is claimed. Searched on 4 September 2026.
Good Law Verification
Does the product tell you when the authority it just cited has been overruled?
No located public material addresses whether authority is checked for subsequent history.
Checking authority for later history is not addressed on any page. The product works on a customer's own evidence: it extracts and checks facts, builds chronologies and flags contradictions, so the question has little purchase here. Last checked 4 September 2026.
Refusal and Uncertainty Behavior
What does the product do when the answer is not in the corpus?
The product exposes a confidence or grounding score without an explicit abstention path.
The product shows a confidence signal and describes no path to abstain. The home page says answers come back as sourced facts scored for confidence and grounded in the customer's documents, which gives a reviewer an indication of reliability for each answer alongside its source. Nothing describes what the system does when it cannot ground an answer. No state in which it declines to answer, refusal behavior or threshold for declining is published. Checked 4 September 2026.
Fabricated Citation Record
Does a public court record exist addressing fabricated or hallucinated legal citations in output from this product?
No court order, opinion or disciplinary record addressing fabricated or hallucinated legal citations produced by this product has been located as of the date shown. This is a statement about the public record on that one subject, not a finding about the product, and this signal is not a litigation history.
The AI Hallucination Cases database maintained by Damien Charlotin was searched on 4 September 2026 on both the product name Wexler and the parent company name Legora. No court order, opinion or disciplinary record naming the product was located. This records the state of the public record on that date and is not a finding about the product.
Bar Guidance Alignment
Has the vendor engaged in public with the ethics opinions its buyers are bound by?
No located public material engages with bar or ethics guidance.
Bar and ethics guidance goes unmentioned in public material. No bar association, law society, regulator, conduct rule or ethics opinion is named on any page, and there is no published terms of service or acceptable use policy where such a reference would usually sit. Searched on 4 September 2026.
Billing and Fee Posture
Does the vendor address what happens to the bill when the work takes an hour instead of six?
Public materials claim time savings without addressing billing or disclosure, and the product sits inside a fee relationship between a lawyer and a client where those savings would change the bill.
Public materials claim time savings without addressing billing. Case studies report a 90 percent average saving on one large matter, and testimonials describe senior lawyers grasping a matter quickly and junior lawyers structuring documents far faster than by hand. Nothing addresses what happens to a client's bill when that work compresses. No per matter record of AI assisted work is described for fee or disclosure purposes. The buyer is a law firm billing a client, so the question applies. Checked 4 September 2026.
Outside Counsel Guideline Readiness
Can a firm get this vendor through a client’s AI clause without a bespoke negotiation?
The material exists behind a sales conversation or an executed agreement.
Security information is offered behind a request rather than in public. Wexler's route to it is the trust center linked from its security page. Nothing that a firm could forward to a client is published openly: no subprocessor list, model provider statement, data processing agreement or consent and notification pack. The certifications cover the vendor's own security, not who processes client content. Checked 4 September 2026.
Court Disclosure Support
If a judge’s standing order requires an AI disclosure, can the product produce one?
Some elements of the record are available, short of a document level export.
A record exists for sources, and nothing covers the model. Each answer is sourced and scored for confidence, and the arbitration case study shows the system pointing to where each date or event came from. Nothing says the model behind an output is recorded or disclosed. No per document verification record can be exported, no human verification step is documented, and no disclosure guidance or court template appears. Verified 4 September 2026.