AI Demand Pro vs EvenUp: how they compare in 2026
AI Demand Pro and EvenUp both turn a personal injury file of police reports, medical records and bills into a settlement demand for an insurer, and both grade A on AI centrality because the models are the product. EvenUp sits in the top two bands on seven of fifteen axes and AI Demand Pro on six of fifteen, level on seven axes and each ahead on four. They are strong in different places. EvenUp's strength is evidence about how it handles data: a SOC 2 Type 2 examination covering security, availability, confidentiality and privacy, recertified in April 2026, a HIPAA attestation, a trust center with a request route, and chronologies that cite each entry back to the source record. AI Demand Pro's strength is paperwork: a published master services agreement that caps liability at twelve months of fees, has the vendor indemnify the firm for its own confidentiality breaches, HIPAA violations, security incidents and negligence, excludes inaccurate AI output, and tells attorneys to review every demand. EvenUp publishes no customer agreement and no liability position for its output. Neither says whether uploaded medical records train its models.
At a glance
All 15 axes, side by side
The same grid applied to every vendor in the index, graded from public sources. Hover a grade to see what the letter means on that axis.
AI Centrality
How much of the product is actually AI. Whether the machine learning is the mechanism the buyer is paying for or a feature layered onto conventional software, and whether the vendor is specific about which is which.
The models are the product. AI Demand Pro's AI reads uploaded records and bills and drafts the full settlement demand, rewrites sections on instruction in Demand Studio, answers questions from the case file and produces medical summaries and chronologies. Without the models there is nothing left to sell. Verified 22 September 2026.
The models are the entire product and the company was built around a proprietary dataset to feed them. Piai is named as EvenUp's own AI engine and the vendor's central technical claim is that it is trained on a large personal injury specific dataset rather than adapted from a general model, which is the same shape as Jhana.ai: build the corpus first, then the models, then the interface. Every deliverable is model output. Medical chronologies are generated from raw records with treatment timelines and ICD extraction, demand letters are generated end to end, case valuations are derived from a settlement repository, and analytics sit on top of the extracted data. Remove the models and nothing remains but a document store the firm already had. Independent review material reaches the same conclusion from outside, describing it as a vertical drafting engine trained on injury cases rather than a general legal assistant. Fourth A on this axis in the pull, after Reveal, Jhana.ai and Descrybe.
Citation Accuracy and Hallucination Disclosure
Whether the vendor publishes measured accuracy on citations and assertions, grounds output to primary sources, and says plainly what its system does when it does not know. Legal has a documented public record of fabricated citations reaching filed briefs, so an untested claim of accuracy is not evidence.
Accuracy is claimed and disclaimed, not measured. The site describes attorney-quality, evidence-backed demands with hyperlinked exhibits and an assistant grounded in the actual record. The master services agreement and AI disclaimer say output is not guaranteed to be error-free, complete or current and must be independently verified. No error rate or test is published. Verified 22 September 2026.
Grounding is structural and visible in the deliverable, and no measured figure is published by the vendor. Medical chronologies carry citations back to source documents so a reviewer can verify any entry against the underlying record, which is the correct architecture when the output is a factual account of someone's treatment. Demand packages cite comparable verdicts drawn from the settlement repository, so the valuation argument is traceable to named prior outcomes rather than asserted, and a Thomson Reuters and Westlaw integration supports legal citation. Held at B on two gaps. Two accuracy figures circulate in third party material and neither was located in vendor material with methodology attached: that chronologies capture over 90 percent of relevant medical information on first pass, and that demands are 69 percent more likely to reach policy limits. Both are the kind of number this axis exists to test and neither is published with a sample, baseline or definition, so neither is credited. And nothing states what the system does when a record is illegible, contradictory or missing, which in medical record work is the common case rather than the edge case.
Autonomy and Oversight Model
What the system decides on its own, what a lawyer must approve, and whether the vendor documents where the review point sits. A tool that drafts under review and a tool that files without one are different products and different risks.
Drafts go to an attorney, with an editing surface and a written review duty. Demands are delivered for final review before sending, Demand Studio lets attorneys edit any section directly or direct AI rewrites, and the master services agreement says a competent attorney should always review and double-check the work product before submitting it; the disclaimer adds that no ethical attorney should submit an AI-created document without careful review. No limit on what the AI assistant may do is stated. Verified 22 September 2026.
Oversight is sold as a product tier, which makes it inspectable rather than aspirational. Demands are offered across tiers running from instant AI generation through Express Demands to an expert reviewed tier where an in house team quality checks the document before delivery, and independent material notes the human quality assurance step adds turnaround time, which is the honest trade off made visible in the pricing structure. Output is consistently positioned as a draft with attorney review required. Held at B because the mechanics are not published: no statement of what the in house reviewers check or against what standard, no description of what distinguishes the tiers beyond speed, no confidence indication on generated content, and no account of what happens in the instant tier where no human sits between generation and the attorney's inbox. Same shape as Mitratech Managed Bill Review, where a documented human layer exists for customers who buy it and the unattended path is undescribed.
Operational and Outcome Evidence
Named, dated evidence that the product works in production at real firms or legal departments. Case studies with figures and identified customers count. Unattributed testimonials and launch announcements do not.
A named customer with figures, on the customer's account. The customer story features Easton & Easton, quoting managing partner Matthew D. Easton, and reports a 100% revenue increase and a large cut in time to complete demands; the site also links customer firms including Ledger Law and Hicks Law Firm. The figures are undated and give no method. Verified 22 September 2026.
Outcome claims are specific, named firms appear, and the strongest source available flags the whole class as vendor supplied. Reported: Lundy Law increasing output from about 30 to about 110 monthly demand packages after adopting AI tooling without adding staff, and J. Chrisp Law reclaiming 80 hours per case in paralegal time. Those are named firms with quantified operational change, which is better evidence than most of this index carries. The vendor level claim that demands are 69 percent more likely to reach policy limits is the most consequential figure attached to this product because it speaks to case outcome rather than throughput, and it carries no methodology, comparison group or sample. The independent guide reporting these figures states plainly that most such benchmarks come from vendor marketing and that results depend on case complexity and record volume. Held at B and recorded as Third Party Estimated on that footing: the adoption story is credible and consistently reported, and none of it was located as a vendor published case study with methodology on 29 Aug 2026.
Privilege and Confidentiality Posture
How client confidences are handled: attorney client privilege and work product treatment, segregation of one client matter from another, whether client data trains any model, and what the vendor commits to in writing rather than in marketing.
Contractual confidentiality and HIPAA terms, silent on AI use of data. The master services agreement includes a general confidentiality article with return or destruction on termination and incorporates a business associate agreement for protected health information; the privacy policy says data is not sold or traded. Nothing addresses whether customer data trains any model, which AI providers process it, privilege, or how long case files are kept. Verified 22 September 2026.
The strongest confidentiality evidence in this category and the first record on the index where a health specific credential is the load bearing one. This product ingests complete medical records, billing statements and treatment histories for injured claimants, so the confidential material is not only the client's legal matter but a third party's protected health information. Against that: an independently assessed HIPAA compliance attestation validating implemented safeguards for PHI, and a SOC 2 Type 2 examination whose named scope includes confidentiality and privacy as well as security and availability. The vendor also states it supports customers handling sensitive information through contractual, technical, organisational and compliance measures, which acknowledges the business associate relationship a plaintiff firm needs. Held at B rather than A because nothing addresses legal professional privilege or attorney work product specifically: a demand package is work product, the case strategy embedded in a valuation is privileged, and the published posture speaks to health data protection and general security without reaching the legal dimension at all.
UPL and Professional Responsibility Posture
Whether the vendor is clear that it supplies a tool rather than legal advice, who its audience is, and how it addresses unauthorized practice of law, competence and supervision duties, and jurisdiction limits. ABA Formal Opinion 512 is the reference point. Where the advice line is not the duty a product raises, the axis is read through the nearest professional duty it does raise: judicial conduct rules and the reviewing duty for products sold only to courts, and the duty to bill for time actually spent for products that draft time entries.
A clear review duty stated to attorneys, short of full treatment. The product is sold to personal injury attorneys, and the master services agreement and AI disclaimer say output must be reviewed by a competent attorney before submission, that users are solely responsible for decisions and for submitting inaccurate AI content, and that no ethical attorney should submit an AI document unreviewed. The jurisdictions its demands suit are not stated, and no ethics opinion is named. Verified 22 September 2026.
Not located in vendor material. The product generates the demand letter a firm sends to an insurer, which is an advocacy document making legal and valuation arguments on a client's behalf, and it generates the case valuation that shapes settlement advice. Independent material states consistently that output is a draft requiring attorney review, and that framing was not located as a vendor published position. Nothing addresses the supervising attorney's duty over machine drafted advocacy, the professional responsibility of relying on a machine generated valuation when advising a client whether to settle, or any bar guidance. The gap matters more here than on a research tool because the output goes out under the firm's name to an adverse party. Checked the product and blog material, the trust centre summary and the site navigation on 29 Aug 2026.
AI Governance and Bias Disclosure
Published governance over model behavior: who owns it inside the vendor, what is tested before release, and what is disclosed about disparate output across matter types, parties, or populations.
Checked the home, product, About and customer pages, the master services agreement, the terms, the privacy policy and the AI disclaimer on 22 September 2026. No AI governance framework, accountable owner, testing before release, or finding on how demands vary across case types was located. Verified 22 September 2026.
Nothing published about how the models are governed or evaluated. No AI policy, no model card, no bias or fairness testing, no evaluation methodology or result, no accuracy monitoring, no drift statement, no named governance body and no ISO 42001. The untested risk on this product is specific and serious: case valuation is generated from a settlement repository of past outcomes, and historical personal injury settlements carry the demographic and geographic patterns of who was compensated well and who was not. A valuation engine trained on that history can reproduce those patterns for a new claimant while presenting the result as a data backed figure, and nothing published indicates whether that has ever been examined. Checked the product material, the blog including the compliance announcements, the trust centre summary and the site navigation on 29 Aug 2026.
AI Safety and Data Stewardship
Retention, deletion, access control, and what happens to prompts and documents after they are processed. Whether the vendor states its subprocessors and its incident practice, or leaves the buyer to assume.
HIPAA handling is committed; the rest is general. The master services agreement incorporates a business associate agreement and requires return or destruction of confidential information on termination, and the site describes HIPAA-compliant document handling and industry-standard security. No retention period, subprocessor list, security controls or incident notification timeframe is published outside the business associate agreement, which was not read. Verified 22 September 2026.
Handling is credentialed and the training question is unanswered. The HIPAA attestation and the SOC 2 Type 2 privacy and confidentiality scope establish that safeguards over protected health information have been independently assessed, which is real stewardship evidence and more than most of this index carries. What was not located is any statement on whether medical records, demand drafts, case files or settlement outcomes submitted by firms are used to train or improve Piai, how long client content is retained, or whether a firm can require deletion. The question is unavoidable for this vendor rather than incidental: its central technical claim is a proprietary model trained on a large personal injury specific dataset, and nothing published states where that dataset came from or whether customer matters continue to feed it. A credential covering how data is protected is not a statement about what it is used for. Checked the trust centre summary, the compliance announcements, the product material and the site navigation on 29 Aug 2026.
AI Liability and Recourse
What the vendor stands behind contractually when its output is wrong. Indemnities, caps, carve outs, insurance, and whether any of it is published or only reachable through a negotiated agreement.
A published agreement with a real vendor indemnity, and AI errors carved out. The master services agreement caps liability at twelve months' fees, but AI Demand Pro indemnifies the subscriber against third-party claims arising from its breach of confidentiality or the business associate agreement, HIPAA violations, security incidents it causes and its negligence. Liability for AI inaccuracies is excluded. Verified 22 September 2026.
No published position located. Nothing was found on liability for AI output, warranty, service levels or remedy. The exposure profile is unusually concrete here: a missed injury, a misread treatment date or an omitted provider in a generated chronology flows straight into a demand letter and can understate a claim, and an understated demand that settles is a loss the claimant never learns about. A generated valuation that anchors a firm low has the same shape. No published vendor position addresses any of it, and the risk sits with the firm and ultimately the injured claimant. Checked the product material, the blog, the trust centre summary and the site navigation on 29 Aug 2026. Enterprise agreements govern this and are not public.
Practice Systems Integration Depth
How deeply the product reaches into the systems legal work already lives in: document management such as iManage and NetDocuments, Word and Outlook, contract lifecycle management, matter management, e-billing, and court filing systems.
Checked the home, product, Instant AI Demands and Demand Studio pages on 22 September 2026. Documents are uploaded and demands download as Word files on the firm's letterhead; no connection to a case management or document system was located. Verified 22 September 2026.
One substantive integration is named and the connections this buyer needs most are not. Named: Thomson Reuters and Westlaw integration supporting legal citation inside generated demand packages, which is a real and unusual integration for a plaintiff side drafting tool and gives the citation layer an established source. What was not located: any named case management system integration, which for a personal injury firm is the connection that matters, since the practice runs on a case management platform holding intake, treatment tracking and deadlines. No API or export documentation was located either, and nothing describes how records get in or how a finished demand returns to the matter file. Independent comparison material in this category treats case management integration as a primary evaluation criterion, which makes its absence from located vendor material notable. Checked the product material, the trust centre summary and the site navigation on 29 Aug 2026.
Deployment Model and Data Residency
Where the software runs and where the data sits. Multi tenant cloud, single tenant, private deployment, on premises, and whether region of residence is a published option or an enterprise conversation.
Checked the home and product pages, the master services agreement and the privacy policy on 22 September 2026. No hosting provider, region, tenancy or deployment option is published. Verified 22 September 2026.
Nothing located. No hosting provider is named, no region or data residency commitment is published, and no single tenant or dedicated instance option is described. For a platform holding protected health information for injured claimants, the location and tenancy of that data is a question a firm's own compliance review would ask directly, and the HIPAA attestation establishes that safeguards were assessed without stating where the data sits. Checked the product material, the trust centre summary, the compliance announcements and the site navigation on 29 Aug 2026. Correction candidate: the Trust Center operates a request access route which was not entered in this pass and is the surface most likely to hold residency detail.
Security Certifications and Trust Center
Independent attestation a buyer can pull without a sales call: SOC 2, ISO 27001, penetration test summaries, a trust center with current reports and named scope rather than a badge image.
Compliance is claimed without an attestation. The site describes HIPAA-compliant handling and enterprise-grade security, and the agreement includes a business associate agreement, but no audit, certification, report or trust centre is published. Verified 22 September 2026.
Scope, currency and a self serve route, which is the combination this axis rewards. A dedicated Trust Center operates at trust.evenuplaw.com describing security, privacy and compliance practices and offering a request access route to available documentation, which under the three tier test is a request flow rather than a sales gate. The attestation is named with its scope stated: a SOC 2 Type 2 examination covering security, availability, confidentiality and privacy, four of the five Trust Services Criteria and materially broader than a security only scope. Currency is addressed and dated, with recertification announced April 2026 rather than an undated claim. Alongside it a HIPAA compliance assessment and attestation, independently conducted, which is the credential this product actually needs given it processes protected health information, and the vendor correctly explains that HIPAA has no formal certification and that what exists is a third party attestation, which is an accurate distinction most vendors blur. Held short of a perfect record on one point: the auditing firm is not named for either the SOC 2 or the HIPAA assessment. Consistent with Lexis+ AI at A on scope, currency and portal, and below Exterro, whose FedRAMP status is verifiable in a public registry without any request at all.
Model Supply Chain Disclosure
Which models sit underneath, whose they are, where they run, and whether the vendor commits to telling customers when that changes. A legal buyer inherits every dependency it cannot see.
Generative AI and third-party tools are acknowledged without being named. The master services agreement says the services use generative AI and may incorporate web-based applications and software tools of third-party licensors, but no model, provider, inference location or change notification is named. Verified 22 September 2026.
Nothing located. Piai is named and claimed as proprietary, trained on a personal injury specific dataset, and that is a statement about ownership rather than about supply chain. No foundation model provider is named, nothing states whether third party models sit underneath Piai or process any part of the pipeline, no subprocessor list was located, and the Thomson Reuters and Westlaw integration establishes at least one external data relationship without any accompanying disclosure of what flows to it. For a product handling protected health information, the identity of every party in the processing chain is a question a firm's HIPAA business associate review asks directly and it cannot be answered from public material. Checked the product material, the compliance announcements, the trust centre summary and the site navigation on 29 Aug 2026.
Commercial Transparency
Whether a buyer can learn what this costs without entering a sales process: published rates, the unit being charged, what sits behind an enterprise tier, and what implementation adds.
The pricing structure is described without figures. The master services agreement refers to monthly fees, set-up and professional services fees, census allotments and client overages set in each order, commits the subscriber to the full term, and caps renewal price increases at 6.5%. No price is published, and the site's route to pricing is a demo or an ROI calculator. Verified 22 September 2026.
No pricing published at any level. Independent review material describes the model as case based rather than seat based, which is a meaningful structural fact for a plaintiff firm because cost then scales with caseload rather than headcount, and notes that the platform only earns its keep at sufficient injury volume. None of that comes from the vendor: no price, no range, no per case figure, no tier structure and no indication of what a demand package costs. Every route is a sales conversation and an annual contract. The absence is heavier in this category than most, because contingency fee firms carry case costs themselves and a per case charge is a direct deduction from a claimant's eventual recovery. Checked the product material, the pricing navigation and independent review material on 29 Aug 2026.
Firm and Practice Coverage
Who the product is actually built for. AmLaw, midlaw, small firm and solo, in house departments, government and courts, and which practice areas are supported rather than merely claimed.
The practice and outputs are named, with future scope marked. The product is built for personal injury firms, producing settlement demands, medical summaries and chronologies, and marks life care plans, discovery and deposition tools as coming soon. The injury types, jurisdictions and carriers it handles less well are not stated. Verified 22 September 2026.
Depth in one practice area, stated plainly, with the boundary acknowledged rather than obscured. The vendor is explicit that it builds for plaintiff side personal injury and nothing else, and independent review confirms it is not a general legal assistant. Within that scope the coverage is genuinely deep: police reports, medical records, billing statements, photographs and intake notes as inputs, demand letters, chronologies, case valuations, negotiation preparation and caseload analytics as outputs, and a settlement repository supporting jurisdictional comparables. Single practice specialisation is a design decision rather than a coverage failure and is credited as such. Held at B rather than A because the corpus behind the differentiator is not characterised: no statement of how many verdicts or settlements the repository holds, which jurisdictions it covers, what date range, how often it updates, or whether coverage is deep enough in a given venue for a comparable to carry weight, which is exactly what an attorney relying on that citation in negotiation needs to know.
The 12 legal signals, side by side
Recorded rather than graded. These are the questions a practitioner has to answer before a tool touches a client matter, and the answers are taken from public material only.
Client Data in Training
Can material a lawyer puts into this product be used to train a model?
Checked the master services agreement, terms, privacy policy and AI disclaimer on 22 September 2026. All are published and none addresses whether subscriber data or uploaded case files are used to train or improve any model; no improvement right over subscriber data is granted either.
Silent. The quoted phrase is the stated scope of the SOC 2 Type 2 examination and it is the strongest data protection evidence on this record, but an examination of controls is not a statement of purpose: it establishes that safeguards over customer content were assessed, not what that content is used for. No statement was located in either direction on whether medical records, demand drafts, case files or settlement outcomes submitted by firms are used to train or improve Piai.
The silence is conspicuous rather than ordinary here, because the vendor's central technical claim is a proprietary model trained on a large personal injury specific dataset and nothing published states where that dataset came from or whether customer matters continue to feed it. Recorded as silent, not as a negative commitment. Correction candidate: the Trust Center request access route was not entered in this pass.
Checked the compliance announcements, the trust center summary, the product material and the site navigation on 29 Aug 2026.
Prompt and Output Retention
How long does the product keep what a lawyer typed, and can that be set to zero?
Checked the master services agreement, privacy policy and AI disclaimer on 22 September 2026. The agreement provides for return or destruction of confidential information on termination, but no retention period for uploaded records or generated demands is stated.
Not addressed. No retention period is published for uploaded medical records, generated chronologies, demand drafts or case valuations, and nothing indicates whether a firm can require deletion at matter close. Retention has a statutory dimension on this product that it does not have elsewhere on the index: the content is protected health information belonging to a third party claimant, and HIPAA safeguards address how it is protected rather than how long a business associate keeps it.
Nothing published closes that. Checked the trust center summary, the compliance announcements, the product material and the site navigation on 29 Aug 2026.
Ethical Walls and Matter Segregation
Does retrieval respect the firm’s ethical walls, or can the model read across them?
Checked the product pages and the master services agreement on 22 September 2026. Nothing addresses separating matters or users within a firm's account.
Not addressed. No permission model, matter level access restriction or tenant segregation description was located. The question has an unusual edge on this product: the settlement repository is a shared benchmarking asset drawn from past outcomes, and nothing published describes the boundary between one firm's case data and the pooled comparables sold to every other firm, including opposing firms working the same venues.
A plaintiff firm's settlement history is competitively sensitive as well as confidential. No document management system integration exists to inherit permissions from. Checked the product material, the trust center summary and the site navigation on 29 Aug 2026.
Third Party Request and Subpoena Notice
If someone subpoenas the vendor for a firm’s data, does the firm hear about it first?
Checked the master services agreement, terms and privacy policy on 22 September 2026. No term addressing court or government requests for subscriber data was located outside the unread business associate agreement.
Not addressed. No government or law enforcement request clause, no commitment to notify a customer before producing their data, and no transparency report were located. The stakes are higher than the usual case because the vendor holds protected health information and unfiled demand material for claimants in active disputes, and a subpoena to the vendor rather than the firm would reach work product the firm would otherwise resist producing. Checked the trust center summary, the compliance announcements and the site navigation on 29 Aug 2026.
Primary Law Corpus Provenance
Where does the law in this product come from, and does the vendor have the right to use it?
Checked the product pages on 22 September 2026. Demands are drafted from the firm's own uploaded records and bills; no body of law or verdict data behind the drafting is identified.
Named without a license basis, and the named corpus is the product's differentiator. The Settlement Repository is described as a database of past settlements used for benchmarking and case valuation, and comparable verdicts from it are cited directly inside demand packages, so the corpus is not background infrastructure but the substance of the argument sent to an insurer. What is absent is everything a practitioner relying on that citation would check: no count of verdicts or settlements held, no jurisdictional coverage, no date range, no update frequency, and no statement of the basis on which the outcomes were obtained, whether public court records, customer contributed results, or licensed data.
Piai is separately claimed as trained on a large personal injury specific dataset whose provenance is also unstated. Two corpora, both central, neither sourced.
Good Law Verification
Does the product tell you when the authority it just cited has been overruled?
Checked the product pages and the AI disclaimer on 22 September 2026. Nothing addresses checking any legal authority cited in demands for currency.
Not addressed. The product does cite legal authority, through a Thomson Reuters and Westlaw integration supporting citation inside demand packages, so unlike TrialView or Exterro this signal is applicable rather than a scope fact. Nothing published indicates whether cited authority is checked for current treatment, whether an overruled or superseded case would be flagged before it reaches a demand letter, or whether the Westlaw integration includes KeyCite treatment data or only citation retrieval.
Comparable verdicts drawn from the settlement repository are outcomes rather than authority and carry no treatment question, but the legal citations in a demand do. Checked the product material, the integration references and the site navigation on 29 Aug 2026.
Refusal and Uncertainty Behavior
What does the product do when the answer is not in the corpus?
Checked the product pages and the AI disclaimer on 22 September 2026. Nothing describes what the software does when records are incomplete or a question cannot be answered from the file; the disclaimer says output depends on the quality of the input.
Not addressed. Nothing published describes an explicit no answer path, abstention behavior or confidence signal. The gap is specific to medical record work: records arrive illegible, contradictory, incomplete or out of order as a matter of routine, and nothing states whether the system flags a gap in the treatment timeline, marks a low confidence extraction, or silently produces a clean looking chronology from an incomplete file.
Independent material notes that missed items and misinterpretations occur in complex cases with extensive treatment histories, which confirms the failure mode exists without the vendor describing how it is surfaced. A chronology that looks complete and is not is the most dangerous output this product can produce. Checked the product material, the trust center summary and the site navigation on 29 Aug 2026.
Fabricated Citation Record
Does a public court record exist addressing fabricated or hallucinated legal citations in output from this product?
Searched the AI Hallucination Cases database maintained by Damien Charlotin on 22 September 2026 for Demand Pro; the results returned named no matter involving the product. No court order, opinion or disciplinary record naming the product was located. This is a statement about the public record rather than a finding about the product.
None located, with the instrument named. General web searches combining the vendor and product names with court, order, sanction, fabricated citation and demand letter terms returned nothing on 29 Aug 2026, and no named docket database or court record tracker was searched. Recorded as a statement about what this search found and not as a clearance. Worth flagging the exposure shape for a later pass with a proper docket instrument: this product generates documents citing both legal authority and comparable verdicts, sent to adverse parties, so both a fabricated case and a fabricated or misdescribed comparable would be discoverable in the record if either had occurred.
Bar Guidance Alignment
Has the vendor engaged in public with the ethics opinions its buyers are bound by?
The AI disclaimer and master services agreement tell attorneys that ethical practice requires careful review of any AI-created document before submission and that a competent attorney should always check the work product. No rule or ethics opinion is named.
Not addressed. No named ethics opinion, no ABA Formal Opinion 512, no state bar guidance and no engagement with professional conduct rules was located. The relevance is direct rather than theoretical: the product drafts the advocacy document a firm sends under its own name and generates the valuation informing settlement advice to a client, both of which sit squarely inside the competence and supervision duties bar guidance on AI addresses. Checked the product material, the blog, the trust center summary and the site navigation on 29 Aug 2026.
Billing and Fee Posture
Does the vendor address what happens to the bill when the work takes an hour instead of six?
The site cites faster demands, lower overhead and a customer's doubled revenue. Nothing addresses how AI-drafted demands are reflected in contingency or other client fees.
Not addressed, and the omission carries more weight in this category than any other on the index. Personal injury work is contingency fee work: the firm advances case costs and recovers them from the claimant's settlement, so a per case charge for AI generated demand packages is money that comes out of an injured person's recovery. Nothing published addresses whether the platform's per case cost is treated as a case expense or firm overhead, how it should be disclosed to a client, or what record a firm could produce showing what portion of a demand was machine generated.
Reported time savings of 80 hours per case describe the firm's side of the equation only. Checked the product material, the pricing navigation and independent review material on 29 Aug 2026.
Outside Counsel Guideline Readiness
Can a firm get this vendor through a client’s AI clause without a bespoke negotiation?
Checked the master services agreement, privacy policy and product pages on 22 September 2026. No subprocessor or model provider list and no client-facing disclosure material was located.
On request, through a real route with the credential this buyer actually needs. The Trust Center at trust.evenuplaw.com offers a request access path to available documentation, and behind it sit a SOC 2 Type 2 examination scoped to security, availability, confidentiality and privacy, recertified April 2026, and a HIPAA compliance attestation. For a plaintiff firm that must satisfy itself about a business associate handling claimant protected health information, that is the pack the diligence actually calls for and there is a defined place to request it.
Held at on request rather than higher because nothing is published open: no subprocessor list, no named model provider, no downloadable summary and no business associate agreement template were located outside the gate, and the gate itself was not entered in this pass so the contents are unverified.
Court Disclosure Support
If a judge’s standing order requires an AI disclosure, can the product produce one?
Checked the product pages and the AI disclaimer on 22 September 2026. Demands go to insurers rather than courts, and nothing addresses recording or disclosing AI use.
Partial record, strong on the source trail and silent on the machine's own involvement. Medical chronologies carry citations back to source documents so any entry can be verified against the underlying record, and demand packages cite comparable verdicts from the settlement repository, so a firm can show what a factual assertion or a valuation argument rests on. That is the sources retrieved limb answered properly. The other two limbs are absent: nothing indicates that output records which model generated it, and no human verification record is captured, including for the expert reviewed tier where an in house team demonstrably does check the document before delivery and no artifact of that check appears to reach the customer.
A demand package is a pre litigation document, so the forum here is a claim file or a subsequent suit rather than a standing order, and the same question applies in either.
The questions both sides leave open
Derived from the records above rather than written, so it cannot favor either vendor. Take these into both conversations and ask each side the same question.
- AI Governance and Bias Disclosure
- Deployment Model and Data Residency
- Prompt and Output Retention
- Ethical Walls and Matter Segregation
- Third Party Request and Subpoena Notice
- Good Law Verification
- Refusal and Uncertainty Behavior
Which one fits
Choose AI Demand Pro if
- You want the vendor answerable for its own mistakes with your clients' records. AI Demand Pro's master services agreement indemnifies the firm against third party claims arising from its breach of confidentiality or of the business associate agreement, HIPAA violations, security incidents it causes and its negligence, and caps liability at twelve months of fees. It excludes liability for inaccurate AI output.
- You want a demand you can edit yourself, on your own letterhead. AI Demand Pro drafts a formatted demand with a medical summary and hyperlinked exhibits in about 15 to 20 minutes, delivered as a Word document on the firm's letterhead, and Demand Studio lets attorneys edit any section directly or have the AI rewrite it.
- You want to know the shape of the contract before a demo. AI Demand Pro's published agreement sets out monthly fees, setup and professional services fees, census allotments and overages, commits the firm to the full term, and caps renewal price increases at 6.5 percent. No figures are published.
Choose EvenUp if
- Your compliance review needs evidence on protected health information. EvenUp holds a SOC 2 Type 2 examination covering security, availability, confidentiality and privacy, recertified in April 2026, and an independent HIPAA compliance attestation, with documentation available through a request route at trust.evenuplaw.com.
- Every fact in a chronology has to be checkable against the record. EvenUp's medical chronologies cite each entry back to its source document, and its demands cite comparable verdicts from its settlement repository inside the document, with a Thomson Reuters and Westlaw integration supporting legal citation.
- You want people to check a demand before it reaches you. EvenUp sells demands in tiers, from instant AI generation through Express Demands to an expert reviewed tier in which an in house team quality checks the document before delivery. What the reviewers check, and against what standard, is not published.
In summary
AI Demand Pro
AI Demand Pro is personal injury settlement demand software from AI Demand Pro, Inc. of Costa Mesa, California, built by personal injury attorneys. A firm uploads police reports, medical records and bills, and the software drafts a narrative demand with a medical summary and hyperlinked exhibits in about 15 to 20 minutes, delivered in Word on the firm's letterhead for attorney review. The AI Legal Index grades it in the top two bands on six of fifteen capability axes, with an A on AI centrality. Its published master services agreement includes a business associate agreement and a vendor indemnity for confidentiality breaches, security incidents and negligence. As of 22 September 2026 the index located no published price, no named model provider, no security attestation and no statement on whether case files train its models.
EvenUp
EvenUp is an AI platform built only for plaintiff personal injury firms, founded in 2019 in San Francisco, that turns police reports, medical records, bills and intake notes into demand letters, medical chronologies and case valuations using Piai, its own AI engine, and a repository of past settlements. The AI Legal Index grades it in the top two bands on seven of fifteen capability axes, with A grades on AI centrality and security certifications: it holds a SOC 2 Type 2 examination covering security, availability, confidentiality and privacy, recertified in April 2026, and a HIPAA attestation. Its chronologies cite each entry to the source document. As of 29 August 2026 the index located no published price, no customer agreement and no statement on whether firm data trains Piai.
Questions buyers ask
AI Demand Pro vs EvenUp: which is better for demand letters?
The grid barely separates them: EvenUp sits in the top two bands on seven of fifteen AI Legal Index capability axes and AI Demand Pro on six of fifteen. EvenUp publishes stronger evidence about data protection, with SOC 2 Type 2 and HIPAA attestations, and chronologies traced to source records. AI Demand Pro publishes its agreement, with an indemnity and a written attorney review duty. A firm that weighs contract terms first has more to read from AI Demand Pro; one that weighs certifications has more from EvenUp.
Does EvenUp train its AI on client medical records?
EvenUp does not say. It describes Piai as its own engine trained on a large personal injury specific dataset, and nothing located states where that dataset came from or whether records, demands and settlement outcomes submitted by firms are used to train or improve it. Its SOC 2 Type 2 examination covers confidentiality and privacy, which describes how data is protected rather than what it is used for. Checked on 29 August 2026. Graded by AI Legal Index against 15 capability axes and 12 legal signals, including privilege handling and citation accuracy, from each vendor's own published materials, verified September 25, 2026. No vendor pays for placement.
Does AI Demand Pro sign a business associate agreement?
Yes. AI Demand Pro's master services agreement incorporates a business associate agreement for protected health information, requires return or destruction of confidential information on termination, and makes the vendor indemnify the firm against claims arising from breach of that agreement, HIPAA violations and security incidents it causes. No retention period, subprocessor list or security attestation is published outside the business associate agreement itself. Graded by AI Legal Index against 15 capability axes and 12 legal signals, including privilege handling and citation accuracy, from each vendor's own published materials, verified September 25, 2026. No vendor pays for placement.
How much do AI Demand Pro and EvenUp cost?
Neither publishes a price. AI Demand Pro's agreement describes the structure, with monthly fees, setup and professional services fees, census allotments and overages, a commitment to the full term and renewal increases capped at 6.5 percent, and its site routes pricing to a demo or an ROI calculator. EvenUp publishes nothing on price; third party review material describes its pricing as per case rather than per seat, which EvenUp itself does not state. Graded by AI Legal Index against 15 capability axes and 12 legal signals, including privilege handling and citation accuracy, from each vendor's own published materials, verified September 25, 2026. No vendor pays for placement.
What do AI Demand Pro and EvenUp both leave unpublished?
The model and the training question. Neither names the model or provider behind its AI or says whether uploaded medical records train it. Neither states how long records and demands are kept, where they are hosted, or what the software does when a record is illegible or incomplete. Neither publishes an AI governance position or any test of how demands and valuations vary across claimants, and neither addresses how its cost appears in a client's contingency settlement. Graded by AI Legal Index against 15 capability axes and 12 legal signals, including privilege handling and citation accuracy, from each vendor's own published materials, verified September 25, 2026. No vendor pays for placement.
Two readings matter. AI Demand Pro's indemnity is written into its own agreement and excludes inaccurate AI output, so it covers what the vendor does with a firm's data rather than what a demand says; that is the vendor's published term. EvenUp's security and HIPAA credentials describe how data is protected, not what it is used for. Neither vendor says whether uploaded records train its models, a question with more weight for EvenUp because it describes its engine as trained on a large personal injury dataset whose origin is not stated. AI Demand Pro was verified on 22 September 2026 and EvenUp on 29 August 2026. Neither vendor reviewed this page.
Neither vendor paid for inclusion, placement or a grade, and neither reviewed this page before it published. Everything above comes from public material on the dates shown. How the index grades.