Bloomberg Law vs Lexis+ AI: how they compare in 2026
Bloomberg Law and Lexis+ AI are the two research incumbents reframed by AI, each putting a generative layer over a corpus that long predates it. They are evenly matched, and they differ in the kind of assurance each publishes. Lexis+ AI publishes what an auditor and a contract say. Its annual SOC 2 Type 2 examination spans all five trust services principles, and the LexisNexis General Terms rule out training on prompts and files, treat them as confidential and require notice before compelled disclosure. Bloomberg Law publishes what its AI does. Its approach to AI page sets out retrieval augmented generation with a guardrail service and names the two triggers on which its assistants decline to answer. Bloomberg Law also says more about its models and data handling, describing language models trained on its own content and a data governance program with a map of data flows. LexisNexis says only that its AI was built with technology partners it does not name. Lexis+ AI answers with Shepard's, which checks every citation in a generated response. Neither publishes a price.
At a glance
All 15 axes, side by side
The same grid applied to every vendor in the index, graded from public sources. Hover a grade to see what the letter means on that axis.
AI Centrality
How much of the product is actually AI. Whether the machine learning is the mechanism the buyer is paying for or a feature layered onto conventional software, and whether the vendor is specific about which is which.
The vendor's approach page lists differentiated content as one of four pillars and says the AI does not generate answers on its own but searches a large collection of vetted information. Without the models, 15.5 million court opinions, 200 million dockets, 5 million statutes and regulations, 8,200 practical guidance documents and a newsroom remain, which is what Bloomberg has sold since 2009. Some tools would not survive: BCITE, Docket Key, Points of Law and Litigation Analytics are built with machine learning and do not exist without it. The subscription is flat and all inclusive, and buyers do not buy or meter the AI separately.
Lexis+ AI is a generative layer over a research platform that is decades older and works without it. Remove the models and Lexis+ remains a working research service, with Shepard's, case law, statutes and Practical Guidance intact. What is lost is conversational search, drafting and summarization. LexisNexis says the AI was built internally with technology partners rather than acquired, and the retrieval platform is described as proprietary, so the model work is real and owned. A mature platform hosts the AI layer rather than depending on it.
Citation Accuracy and Hallucination Disclosure
Whether the vendor publishes measured accuracy on citations and assertions, grounds output to primary sources, and says plainly what its system does when it does not know. Legal has a documented public record of fabricated citations reaching filed briefs, so an untested claim of accuracy is not evidence.
The vendor names retrieval augmented generation with a proprietary guardrail service, says output is grounded in its own expert or primary content rather than the internet, and says Bloomberg Law Answers cites and links the authorities behind each answer, with one click verification. BCITE, the platform's own citator, reports whether a holding is still good law. The system abstains when no content covers a topic or a question is outside legal scope. No result, test set, sample size or error rate from the described benchmarking by former attorneys is published, although the same page commits to giving customers clear documentation of that benchmarking and validation. The vendor says plainly that AI answers are never fully trustworthy and carry a hallucination risk, and tells customers to check them against primary sources.
Lexis+ AI is well grounded, but LexisNexis has never withdrawn an absolute claim that independent testing contradicted. The product was marketed on legal citations free of hallucination, and quoted elsewhere as 100 percent free of hallucination. It was tested in Magesh, Surani, Dahl, Suzgun, Manning and Ho, Hallucination-Free? Assessing the Reliability of Leading AI Legal Research Tools, 22 J. Empirical Legal Stud. 216 (2025), from Stanford RegLab and Stanford HAI. That was the first preregistered evaluation of commercial legal AI tools. It used 202 handbuilt queries across general research, jurisdiction and time specific, false premise and factual recall categories, scored by experts, with the dataset published. Lexis+ AI hallucinated on more than 17 percent of queries, was accurate on 65 percent, and gave incomplete answers on 18 percent. It was still the best performing system tested. Its grounding is real: a proprietary retrieval platform, sources reviewed by Shepard's editors, linked citations, a citation check tool and feedback in the product. LexisNexis disputed the figure, saying its internal data showed lower rates, but has not published that data. Caveats: the first method drew objections from both vendors tested and was revised, access limits constrained the design, and the systems were tested in May 2024 and have changed since.
Autonomy and Oversight Model
What the system decides on its own, what a lawyer must approve, and whether the vendor documents where the review point sits. A tool that drafts under review and a tool that files without one are different products and different risks.
The vendor says it wants its AI to make the job easier, not do it for the user, and describes building one task at a time rather than producing finished work product. Answers carry inline citations with one click verification, abstention is documented with two named triggers, all generative tools are beta tested before release, and customers are told to check answers against primary sources and use their own judgment. Nothing on the approach to AI page, the AI product page or in either agreement describes what happens after an answer proves wrong; no correction or error reporting route is documented, and no confidence threshold or setting is offered. Deep Thinking, which the vendor says automatically plans and runs multistep research before synthesizing results, has no described checkpoint between request and finished answer.
LexisNexis states oversight as a principle and builds it into the product, but sets no limits. The RELX Responsible AI Principles name human oversight, and LexisNexis says human experts review model output for legal accuracy and that review and monitoring run across products. In the product, oversight is practical. Citations are linked so a user can open the authority behind any point, a user can submit a citation to be checked and told when it may be wrong, and feedback in the product is said to improve accuracy. Nothing is bounded or measured. There is no autonomy threshold, no statement of what the system does without review, no description of what expert review covers or how often, and no escalation behavior. The independent study found incomplete answers on 18 percent of queries, so the system does decline or under answer at a measurable rate, and LexisNexis documents no refusal behavior at all.
Operational and Outcome Evidence
Named, dated evidence that the product works in production at real firms or legal departments. Case studies with figures and identified customers count. Unattributed testimonials and launch announcements do not.
The pricing page has three quotes. One names an organization and an outcome: a corporate counsel at Synovos, Inc. says the platform let the team pull state summaries of laws and regulations without calling outside counsel, cutting tens of calls on minor issues and lowering annual legal fees, though with no figure, timeframe or date. The other two are attributed only by role and segment, a small law practice area leader and a large law partner, and both concern the flat pricing rather than outcomes. The home, AI product, approach to AI and pricing pages and the navigation carry no case study with a method, customer count, named law firm or quantified result.
Lexis+ AI has deployment evidence by segment and an independent measure of its performance. The preview from May 2023 is described as covering global law firms, corporate legal departments, small law firms and US courts. LexisNexis says preview feedback shaped specific changes before general availability in October 2023. The Stanford RegLab and HAI study found 65 percent accuracy across 202 expert scored queries, an outcome measured by a third party rather than claimed by the vendor. Missing: no customer, firm or court is named anywhere in the material found, no usage figure is published, and LexisNexis publishes no outcome measure of its own. The preview group is described only by segment, which a buyer cannot verify or contact.
Privilege and Confidentiality Posture
How client confidences are handled: attorney client privilege and work product treatment, segregation of one client matter from another, whether client data trains any model, and what the vendor commits to in writing rather than in marketing.
The privacy policy says collected information includes user content, usage, browsing and search history, reading habits and inferences used to profile a user's preferences and behavior. It describes advertising over that material: lookalike or matched audiences on social platforms, sharing a hashed email with ad companies, and sharing for cross context behavioral advertising under California and Virginia law, with opt outs. The policy covers the marketing site and the products together and does not say whether in product search history is excluded. The subscription terms say the site is not meant to hold personal or health information, give no warranty on how it would be held, and reserve a right to audit and monitor use. The documents do commit to notice of subpoenas, Standard Contractual Clauses, an intragroup data protection agreement, and data centers used only for the vendor's operations. No statement on training with customer input, retention period, separation between users or matters, or treatment of privilege or work product is published.
LexisNexis makes contract commitments on the points that matter most. The LexisNexis General Terms, effective 5 June 2026, warrant that prompts and files submitted to the AI services will not be used to train any large language model and will be treated at least as confidential information. The confidentiality clause requires advance notice before any disclosure compelled by law, so the customer can seek a protective order. The annual SOC 2 Type 2 examination of Lexis and Lexis+ covers confidentiality and privacy as well as security. Missing: any treatment of legal professional privilege or attorney work product by name, and any separation by matter. That matters because document upload is a main feature, so client material enters the system by design.
UPL and Professional Responsibility Posture
Whether the vendor is clear that it supplies a tool rather than legal advice, who its audience is, and how it addresses unauthorized practice of law, competence and supervision duties, and jurisdiction limits. ABA Formal Opinion 512 is the reference point. Where the advice line is not the duty a product raises, the axis is read through the nearest professional duty it does raise: judicial conduct rules and the reviewing duty for products sold only to courts, and the duty to bill for time actually spent for products that draft time entries.
Both the website terms and the subscription terms say in capitals that none of the services is legal advice, opinion or recommendation, that users needing legal help should consult a competent professional, that users take full responsibility for decisions and conclusions reached through the services, and that no attorney client relationship forms with the vendor or any content supplier. Eligible users are defined: eighteen or older, members of a professional, business or academic community doing professional research, working in a court, government agency, corporation or similar body, or law or business students, with bots excluded. The public approach to AI page addresses competence and supervision, telling customers to check answers against primary sources and use their own judgment, and saying the AI makes the job easier rather than doing it. No bar or ethics guidance is named, including ABA Formal Opinion 512, and no jurisdictional limit on answers is stated.
A product wide disclaimer carries a duty to verify. The LexisNexis General Terms, effective 5 June 2026, which govern Lexis+ AI, say the online services are not legal, accounting, financial or other professional advice or a substitute for an attorney. The AI services clause adds that AI is not a substitute for independent professional advice and that users must verify what it provides. The independent study that measured a hallucination rate for this product makes that duty concrete. Nothing addresses a lawyer's own professional duties when relying on the output, and no jurisdiction or ethics guidance is named.
AI Governance and Bias Disclosure
Published governance over model behavior: who owns it inside the vendor, what is tested before release, and what is disclosed about disparate output across matter types, parties, or populations.
The approach to AI page, last modified 18 June 2026, sets out four pillars and gives the accuracy pillar substance: retrieval augmented generation plus a proprietary guardrail service, output grounded in vetted first party or primary material rather than the open internet, beta testing of every generative tool before release, and accuracy evaluation by former attorneys from development through internal, beta and customer testing and over the product's life, with continuous tuning against model drift. It commits to documenting where and when products use generative AI, the sources used, and the benchmarking and validation process. No accountable owner is named, and no test result is published against that benchmarking commitment. Nothing addresses bias or uneven output across matter types, jurisdictions or populations, and the platform profiles named judges, attorneys and firms. Its trust center lists a document titled AI Frequently Asked Questions.
A named governance framework with stated commitments is tied to the product, with nothing behind it. The RELX Responsible AI Principles are named: transparency, fairness, human oversight and respect for privacy. LexisNexis says the product is built with them, that human experts review AI models for legal accuracy and ethical performance, and that continuous review and monitoring keep products accountable. This sits on a trust page, not in a press release. Nothing behind the principles is published. There is no model card, no bias or fairness testing method or result, no evaluation output, no accuracy monitoring figures, no named governance body or review schedule, and no ISO 42001. A fairness principle without measurement is a commitment, not evidence. The one substantial accuracy measurement on record came from outside researchers, not from this framework.
AI Safety and Data Stewardship
Retention, deletion, access control, and what happens to prompts and documents after they are processed. Whether the vendor states its subprocessors and its incident practice, or leaves the buyer to assume.
The privacy policy, updated 9 July 2026, says personal information is held on secure servers under administrative, technical, personnel and physical measures, and sets retention by criteria rather than a number: the time needed for the purpose, whether the user has stopped using the products, any legal proceedings, and legal or regulatory requirements. It describes a personal data governance program, a data map of flows within the vendor's systems and to third parties, ongoing testing of safeguards, company wide privacy training, and data centers used only for the vendor's own products and operations with monitored access. Standard Contractual Clauses and an intragroup data protection agreement cover transfers, with further processing terms available where the vendor acts as processor. The trust center adds data erasure, backups, access monitoring, least privilege and logging, and a full responsible disclosure policy. No retention period, named subprocessor or breach notification commitment is published.
LexisNexis states its handling controls, but not retention or separation. It publishes encryption, data minimization, pseudonymization, privacy built in at every stage of product development, secure cloud infrastructure, a set of information security policies, and incident response plans. Those plans are updated and tested periodically, with technical, administrative, business and executive escalation paths and outside firms on retainer. Not found: any retention position for prompts, uploads or research queries, and any description of tenant separation. For a product whose main features include document upload, those are the disclosures a buyer needs most.
AI Liability and Recourse
What the vendor stands behind contractually when its output is wrong. Indemnities, caps, carve outs, insurance, and whether any of it is published or only reachable through a negotiated agreement.
The subscription terms, updated November 2025, cap total liability at 500 dollars whatever the form of action, disclaim all warranties including merchantability, fitness for purpose and noninfringement, provide the services as is and as available, and do not guarantee accuracy, correctness, completeness or timeliness. One exclusion covers research itself: no liability for any inability or failure to perform legal or other research, or to do it properly or completely, even with the vendor's help. Users are solely responsible for the accuracy and adequacy of data used and the output, and any action must be brought within one year. Virginia law governs, with exclusive jurisdiction in Arlington County. The only exception to the cap is death or personal injury from negligence where the law forbids limiting it. Nothing runs to the customer: no indemnity, output warranty or AI specific term. Its trust center lists a certificate of liability.
A published agreement carries a real indemnity, and AI output is left for the user to check. The LexisNexis General Terms and Conditions, effective 5 June 2026, govern its online services. LexisNexis defends and indemnifies the subscriber against third party patent, copyright, trademark and trade secret claims arising from use of the service. That indemnity sits outside a twelve month liability cap. The AI Services clause says AI systems may not be accurate or error free, that users must verify information, and that AI is not a substitute for independent professional advice. So nothing stands behind a wrong answer or citation, despite earlier marketing of results free of hallucination.
Practice Systems Integration Depth
How deeply the product reaches into the systems legal work already lives in: document management such as iManage and NetDocuments, Word and Outlook, contract lifecycle management, matter management, e-billing, and court filing systems.
Two integrations are described. The vendor's newsroom describes Bloomberg Law Contract Solutions as integrating with Microsoft Word alongside a central contract repository, and the subscription terms cover users reaching Bloomberg Law through the Bloomberg Professional service, the Terminal, whose own agreement then applies. The navigation, the AI product page, the approach to AI page and the footer show no integrations page, developer or API documentation, or named connection to document management, matter management, ebilling or court filing. Dashboard Legal is a project management and collaboration product, not a bridge into a firm's systems.
No integration was found in the material read, and that material did not cover integration documentation. No integration, connector, API or document management system link was found across the product pages, launch material, trust center material and UK trust explainer checked. That review covered the product's capability claims and its trust pages, not its integration documentation, and a provider of this size very likely publishes some. This is an absence on the pages checked on that date, not an established gap in what LexisNexis discloses.
Deployment Model and Data Residency
Where the software runs and where the data sits. Multi tenant cloud, single tenant, private deployment, on premises, and whether region of residence is a published option or an enterprise conversation.
The privacy policy's intragroup data protection statement says the vendor's data centers serve only its own products, services and operations, with secure, monitored access. Transfers are acknowledged: personal information may be processed in various countries with differing protection, including the United States, under Standard Contractual Clauses and an intragroup agreement naming exporters and importers. Nothing published offers a region or residency choice, describes the platform's tenancy, separates processing from storage, or says where generative features run. Its trust center lists a data center item. These statements sit in a personal data annex, not in product or security material.
Where data is held gets no specific answer from LexisNexis. Its material refers to secure cloud infrastructure on enterprise platforms, naming no provider, region or residency commitment, and to strong encryption, which is not a deployment disclosure. No single tenant or dedicated option is described, and nothing says where customer queries or uploaded documents are processed and stored. Residency matters for a product sold in the US, UK, Canada, Ireland and Australia under different data protection laws. The Canadian trust material raises PIPEDA and Quebec Law 25 as customer duties without stating LexisNexis's own residency position. The SafeBase trust center may hold residency detail behind its registration step, which was not completed.
Security Certifications and Trust Center
Independent attestation a buyer can pull without a sales call: SOC 2, ISO 27001, penetration test summaries, a trust center with current reports and named scope rather than a badge image.
Every page footer links to the trust center under Trust and Security, with a product identifier in the address. It is a SafeBase portal reachable without a sales call, listing a penetration test report, security whitepaper, SOC 1 and SOC 2, a SIG Lite self assessment, a certificate of liability, a business continuity management document and an AI FAQ, along with control areas for product, access, application and network security, business continuity and training, and a full responsible disclosure policy. SOC 1 and SOC 2 are named without a Type, and no auditor, coverage period, report date or scope is published. Documents are split into public and private, with an access request whose terms are not stated.
LexisNexis runs a live trust center and names the full scope of its SOC 2 examination. The trust center at trust.lexisnexis.com runs on SafeBase, with self serve registration through which authorized users reach compliance reports, a request route rather than a sales gate. An independent auditor performs an annual SOC 2 Type 2 examination of Lexis and Lexis+ against all five Trust Services Principles: security, availability, processing integrity, confidentiality and privacy. A SOC 1 Type 2 report for digital content management and IT services is also published, and its update announced. The annual schedule addresses currency. Two limits. The auditing firm is not named. And one LexisNexis page describes the Lexis+ AI specific examination as scheduled for Q1 2024, with no later confirmation found, so the AI product's current attestation is unclear even though the platform's is not. The trust center also carries a customer notice about a security matter. Its text was not read in full, so nothing is said here about its scope, date or which LexisNexis entity it concerns.
Model Supply Chain Disclosure
Which models sit underneath, whose they are, where they run, and whether the vendor commits to telling customers when that changes. A legal buyer inherits every dependency it cannot see.
The vendor publishes retrieval augmented generation as the framework, a proprietary guardrail service over it, generation grounded in its own expert and primary content rather than the internet, and large language models trained on that content. It also cites machine learning, natural language processing, information retrieval, recommendation systems and large language models, and says Bloomberg Industry Group employs hundreds of AI researchers and engineers who publish research each year. Nothing published says whether a third party foundation model sits underneath: the phrase used is our large language models, without saying they are built in house. No model name, version, inference location or subprocessor is given, and there is no commitment to notify customers of model or training changes. Its trust center lists a subprocessors item and an AI FAQ.
LexisNexis confirms it uses outside model partners but names none. It says the AI was built internally with world leading technology partners, which confirms third parties are involved while identifying none, and describes the retrieval platform as proprietary. No foundation model provider, model family or version is named, and no subprocessor list was found. Nothing says which models process customer uploads as opposed to the public content. Regulated buyers whose own supervisors ask about subprocessors will notice the gap.
Commercial Transparency
Whether a buyer can learn what this costs without entering a sales process: published rates, the unit being charged, what sits behind an enterprise tier, and what implementation adds.
The charging model is stated: one platform, one flat all inclusive price, with unlimited access rather than per search or per document charges. A customer quote on its pricing page says occasional use of a tool costs nothing extra, and the request form names two products, Bloomberg Law Research and Bloomberg Law Dashboard Legal. The pricing page, getting started entry, AI product page and navigation give no figure, unit of charge, tier names, feature splits, term length or implementation charge. Every route to a number is a form, and the Request Pricing page is a lead capture form. Its firm size ranges, from solo to fifty or more practitioners, suggest price varies with headcount, but they are form fields, not a published price structure.
Pricing for Lexis+ AI is unpublished at every level. There is no price, range, tier or unit of charge. Nothing says whether Lexis+ AI is licensed separately or bundled into a Lexis+ subscription, the first question a buyer with an existing contract would ask. Every route is a contact or demo request. Independent commentary describes tools in this segment as costly per month without giving a figure, which is description, not disclosure. Checked the product pages, the launch and press material and the trust center material. This is common for large legal research providers, and still a gap a buyer cannot work around.
Firm and Practice Coverage
Who the product is actually built for. AmLaw, midlaw, small firm and solo, in house departments, government and courts, and which practice areas are supported rather than merely claimed.
Four buyer groups have solution pages: law firms, in house counsel, government and law schools, and the government page promises unlimited access to state and federal coverage. The vendor's forms list law firms, tax and accounting firms, corporations, nonprofits and associations, consulting firms, education institutions and government, with firm size ranges from solo to fifty or more practitioners. Content is quantified precisely: more than 15.5 million court opinions growing by about 50,000 a month, about 200 million dockets with more than 21 million pleadings, more than 5 million statutes and regulations, 75 million EDGAR filings and more than 8,200 practical guidance documents, with Docket Key covering over 200 motion and brief types across all federal district courts and Chart Builders comparing rules state by state. Nothing says where coverage stops: no supported practice area list, no coverage table by jurisdiction, no statement of state court depth, and no acknowledged gap.
LexisNexis describes its content by type, but does not list its coverage. Grounding content is named as case law reviewed by Shepard's editors, statutes and Practical Guidance, described as the largest repository of legal content. The product is available in the US and in other LexisNexis markets, including the UK, Canada, Ireland and Australia. Shepard's itself implies broad coverage, since a citator only works where the case law is complete. Nothing is listed at the level a researcher checks: no jurisdiction or court list, no date range, and no update lag or refresh frequency. Nothing says which countries the AI features are actually available in, as opposed to where the platform is sold. Largest repository is a comparative claim, not a measurable one.
The 12 legal signals, side by side
Recorded rather than graded. These are the questions a practitioner has to answer before a tool touches a client matter, and the answers are taken from public material only.
Client Data in Training
Can material a lawyer puts into this product be used to train a model?
No published term or policy states whether customer input is used to train or refine any model. The privacy policy lists improving, upgrading or enhancing the products and developing new ones among its purposes for collected information, which covers the ground without naming training. The approach to AI page says the vendor's large language models train on its own specialized content, meaning its court opinions, guidance and news, and says nothing about customer material.
The subscription terms prohibit a customer from using product content in prompts or for training, tuning or incorporating into any language model without the vendor's written consent, and define language model broadly enough to catch any generative system. The prohibition runs one way.
The LexisNexis General Terms and Conditions (effective 5 June 2026), the provider terms for LexisNexis online services, warrant that subscriber inputs, including prompts, and subscriber files submitted to the AI services will not be used to train any large language model and will be treated at least as confidential information, whether or not an AI feature also draws on web-sourced content. The annual SOC 2 Type 2 examination of Lexis and Lexis+ covers confidentiality and privacy criteria.
Prompt and Output Retention
How long does the product keep what a lawyer typed, and can that be set to zero?
The privacy policy states that personal information is kept for as long as necessary for the described purposes and legitimate business reasons, and names four factors used to set the window: the time needed to achieve the collection purpose, whether the user has stopped using the products, the existence of relevant legal proceedings, and legal or regulatory requirements. Search history and user content are expressly within the categories collected, so questions put to the AI features fall inside this framework, but no period attaches to them and no customer configurable or zero retention setting is offered.
The subscription terms point the other way on uploads, stating the vendor has no obligation to retain or store user generated content.
Not addressed. No retention period is published for prompts, generated answers, conversational search history or uploaded documents, and nothing indicates whether retention is configurable or can be set to zero. Data minimization is named as a principle, which speaks to collection rather than to duration. Checked the product pages, the UK trust explainer, the trust center material and the launch material on 29 Aug 2026. Same registration gate limitation as above applies.
Ethical Walls and Matter Segregation
Does retrieval respect the firm’s ethical walls, or can the model read across them?
The privacy policy says personal information may be disclosed to whoever authorized the user's access, such as an employer or school, so a subscribing firm can receive information about what its own users did. The subscription terms treat each registration as single user and require credentials to be kept confidential, which is account security rather than a permission model. Nothing in the privacy policy, either agreement, the trust center landing page or the AI product and approach to AI pages addresses separation between customer organizations, access within a firm, or matters.
Not addressed. No permission model, matter level restriction or tenant segregation description was located, and no document management system integration was found that would let retrieval inherit a firm's own permissions at query time. The product accepts uploaded documents and is sold into large firms where walls are a routine requirement, so the absence is material rather than incidental. Checked the product pages, the UK trust explainer, the trust center material and the launch material on 29 Aug 2026.
Third Party Request and Subpoena Notice
If someone subpoenas the vendor for a firm’s data, does the firm hear about it first?
The privacy policy covers disclosure to unaffiliated third parties under a subpoena, court order or other legal process, and says the vendor will use reasonable efforts to give the user prompt written notice so the user can comment, object and protect the information's confidentiality, and will cooperate at the user's expense. Three qualifications apply: it is reasonable efforts rather than an unconditional promise; cooperation is at the user's cost; and the subscription terms separately reserve the right to use and disclose user information in any legal process or as law requires, with no notice, which nothing reconciles. No transparency report is published.
The confidentiality clause of the LexisNexis General Terms, effective 5 June 2026, which govern Lexis+ AI, allows disclosure required by law, regulation or court order only with advance notice to the other party so that it can seek a protective order, and the terms apply that confidentiality standard to prompts and files submitted to the AI services. No transparency report was located.
Primary Law Corpus Provenance
Where does the law in this product come from, and does the vendor have the right to use it?
Bloomberg Law publishes counts: more than 15.5 million court opinions growing by about 50,000 a month, about 200 million dockets with more than 21 million pleadings, more than 5 million statutes and regulations, 75 million EDGAR filings and more than 8,200 practitioner guidance documents, covering primary law and the vendor's own editorial layer, with an update rate for opinions. No upstream supplier is named. The privacy policy mentions third party data suppliers only as a category and notes that databases available to registered users contain public records, publicly available information and nonpublic information from those suppliers.
The subscription terms mention third party content providers without naming any. No license, public domain basis or rights statement is published.
LexisNexis names its sources by type but states no license basis. The grounding content is case law reviewed by Shepard's editors, statutes and Practical Guidance. That names the content types and the editorial review applied to the case law, rather than presenting it as raw text, which is a real provenance statement. Not stated: the license or public domain basis for any content type, a jurisdiction or court list, a date range, or an update lag for the content or the citator.
LexisNexis calls it the largest repository of accurate and exclusive legal content, which implies proprietary licensing without stating terms. Exclusive is a commercial claim, not a provenance disclosure.
Good Law Verification
Does the product tell you when the authority it just cited has been overruled?
BCITE is described as Bloomberg Law's court opinion citator, using machine learning and natural language processing to show quickly whether an opinion's holding is still good law. It is the vendor's own citator with a stated method, not a licensed one or a prompt to check elsewhere. Not disclosed: coverage of courts or dates, an accuracy or error rate, how treatment is decided beyond the techniques named, and whether generative features show BCITE status beside the authorities they cite.
Lexis+ AI checks its citations against Shepard's Citations, an established commercial citator that LexisNexis owns. The product is stated to check every citation in a generated answer against Shepard's, so treatment checking happens automatically rather than as a separate step the user must remember. A user can also submit a specific citation and be told when it may be wrong. This pairs with the accuracy finding. Automatic Shepard's checking did not prevent an independently measured hallucination rate above 17 percent.
Citator checking shows whether an authority exists and how it has been treated, not whether the point drawn from it is correct.
Refusal and Uncertainty Behavior
What does the product do when the answer is not in the corpus?
The vendor says Bloomberg Law Answers and AI Assistant will not answer when no content covers the topic or the question is outside legal scope. It also says plainly that AI answers are never fully trustworthy and carry a hallucination risk, and tells customers to check them against primary sources. No worked example of a refusal, measurement of how often abstention works or fails, or confidence score shown to users is published.
LexisNexis publishes nothing on what Lexis+ AI does when it cannot answer, though an outside study measured it. No statement describes a path for declining, an abstention behavior, a confidence score, or what the system does when its content does not support an answer. The Stanford RegLab and HAI study found incomplete answers, meaning refusals or ungrounded responses, on 18 percent of 202 queries. So some abstention exists, but LexisNexis does not describe it, and a rate measured by others is not a disclosure.
The gap matters for a product marketed as free of hallucination. The honest counterpart to that claim is an account of what happens when the system does not know, and none is published.
Fabricated Citation Record
Does a public court record exist addressing fabricated or hallucinated legal citations in output from this product?
The AI Hallucination Cases database maintained by Damien Charlotin, which tracks court decisions on hallucinated AI content and names the tool where known, records no case naming Bloomberg Law or its publisher, and no court order, opinion or disciplinary record naming the product appears in 2026 sanctions trackers, law library commentary or trade press. This is a statement about the public record rather than a finding about the product.
The name appears often in this literature for other reasons: practitioner guidance names Bloomberg Law as a database for checking citations, and its newsroom reports on sanctions.
None located, with the search method named. General web searches combining the vendor and product names with court, order, opinion, sanction, disciplinary and fabricated citation terms returned nothing on 29 Aug 2026. No docket database or court record tracker was searched, so the search was weaker than this product's prominence warrants. The Stanford RegLab and HAI study is an academic evaluation measuring a hallucination rate, not a court record.
It is covered under citation accuracy, not here, and should not be read as a judicial finding. This describes what this search found, not a clearance.
Bar Guidance Alignment
Has the vendor engaged in public with the ethics opinions its buyers are bound by?
The approach to AI, AI product, about and pricing pages, both agreements, the privacy policy and the trust center landing page engage no bar or ethics authority, including ABA Formal Opinion 512 or any state bar guidance, and nothing maps the product to a conduct duty. The disclaimers in both agreements and the validation advice on the AI page state the vendor's own position rather than the rules its buyers follow. Bloomberg Law's newsroom covers legal ethics and AI sanctions extensively; that coverage is journalism, not a statement about the product.
No engagement with bar guidance was found in the material read. No named ethics opinion, ABA Formal Opinion 512 or state bar guidance appears across the product pages, launch and press material, the UK trust explainer and the trust center material checked on 29 Aug 2026. LexisNexis publishes a very large body of practitioner content, including professional responsibility material, and that body was not reviewed, so this finding could change. On the pages a buyer evaluating the product would look at, no bar guidance appears.
Billing and Fee Posture
Does the vendor address what happens to the bill when the work takes an hour instead of six?
The vendor's material centers on time and cost saved: AI that helps customers work efficiently and finish research faster, summaries to speed reading, and a flat subscription pitched on the basis that occasional tool use costs nothing extra. A customer quote describes lower annual legal fees from fewer calls to outside counsel. The pricing, AI product and approach to AI pages and both agreements describe no record of AI assisted work by matter for fee purposes and no guidance on billing or client disclosure where an AI answer informs advice.
Flat pricing removes the pass through question that metered research platforms raise; it does not address client disclosure.
Not addressed. Nothing published addresses billing for AI assisted time, and no exportable record was located that a firm could use to show a client what portion of work was machine generated. The product's own commercial terms are not published either, so neither side of the fee question has a public answer. Checked the product pages, the launch and pressroom material and the trust center material on 29 Aug 2026.
Outside Counsel Guideline Readiness
Can a firm get this vendor through a client’s AI clause without a bespoke negotiation?
The trust center portal, linked from every product page footer and reachable without a sales call, lists subprocessors, a data processing agreement, data subject requests, a security whitepaper, a SIG Lite self assessment and an AI FAQ. No subprocessor or model provider is named on the portal landing page or any Bloomberg Law page, and documents are split into public and private with an access request whose terms are not stated. Whether a firm can get the listed material without a signed agreement is not stated.
LexisNexis offers a working route to its security documents, but nothing a firm can forward without registering. The trust center at trust.lexisnexis.com runs on SafeBase and invites users to register for compliance reports, including the SOC 1 Type 2 report. The annual SOC 2 Type 2 examination of Lexis and Lexis+ is described with its full five principle scope. A firm answering an outside counsel guideline questionnaire has a set place to go and named reports to point to, without a sales call.
Nothing is open: no downloadable summary, published subprocessor list, named model provider or DPA was found outside the registration step. That step was not completed, so the portal's contents were not checked.
Court Disclosure Support
If a judge’s standing order requires an AI disclosure, can the product produce one?
The vendor commits that generative answers or suggested text include links to sources or an explanation of the result, that Bloomberg Law Answers cites and links supporting authorities, and that inline citations allow one click verification, so a lawyer can produce and check the authorities behind an answer. It also commits to documenting where and when products use generative AI. No model is identified or versioned, so which system produced a passage cannot be known; nothing records who verified an answer; and no export for AI use disclosure or certification is published.
Lexis+ AI records its sources well, but nothing else a court might ask for. Citations are linked in every answer and checked against Shepard's, and a user can submit a citation to be checked, so the authorities relied on can be identified and their treatment checked. The other two things a court standing order asks for are missing. Nothing records which model produced an answer, and no record of human verification is captured or exportable.
No export of any kind was found. Given the measured hallucination rate, verification is the part that matters. A court asking whether a person checked the output would find the product keeps no evidence either way.
The questions both sides leave open
Derived from the records above rather than written, so it cannot favor either vendor. Take these into both conversations and ask each side the same question.
- Ethical Walls and Matter Segregation
- Bar Guidance Alignment
Which one fits
Choose Bloomberg Law if
- You want to know what the assistant does when it has nothing. Bloomberg Law states that its Answers and AI Assistant features abstain from answering where no content covers the topic or the query falls outside legal scope, and says directly that AI responses are never fully trustworthy and carry a hallucination risk, advising customers to validate against primary sources.
- You want the charging model stated even if the number is not. Bloomberg Law publishes one platform at one flat all inclusive price rather than metering per search or per document, and a customer on its pricing page describes the consequence, which is that occasional use of a tool carries no additional expense. No figure appears at any level.
- Your security review wants a catalog it can work through. Bloomberg Law links its trust center from every product page footer, and the portal lists a penetration test report, a security whitepaper, SOC 1 and SOC 2, a SIG Lite self assessment, a business continuity document and an AI frequently asked questions document, alongside a responsible disclosure policy published in full.
Choose Lexis+ AI if
- Your citations have to be checked as well as linked. Lexis+ AI validates every citation in a generated response against Shepard's, the vendor's own long established citator, links citations inline in the response, and lets a user submit a specific citation for verification and be told when it may be wrong.
- Your client asks for the attestation and its scope. LexisNexis operates a trust center at trust.lexisnexis.com with a self serve registration route, and states that an independent auditor performs an annual SOC 2 Type 2 examination of Lexis and Lexis+ against all five trust services principles, being security, availability, processing integrity, confidentiality and privacy, alongside a SOC 1 Type 2 report.
- You want the grounding corpus described rather than gestured at. Lexis+ AI states that responses are grounded through a proprietary retrieval augmented generation platform in LexisNexis content, naming case law reviewed by Shepard's editors, statutes and Practical Guidance, with the product sold across the United States, the United Kingdom, Canada, Ireland and Australia.
In summary
Bloomberg Law
Bloomberg Law is a legal research and intelligence platform combining primary law, dockets, practitioner written guidance and a legal newsroom under a single subscription. Its generative layer covers sourced answers, a chat assistant, complaint summaries in docket alerts and contract clause explanation. According to the AI Legal Index, its most specific published material is its approach to AI page. That page describes retrieval augmented generation with a proprietary guardrail service, generation grounded in its own vetted content rather than the open internet, and abstention when no content covers the topic or the query falls outside legal scope. It also states directly that AI responses are never fully trustworthy. Bloomberg Law publishes no accuracy measurement or price. Its product pages name no model or provider, and its trust center holds an AI FAQ that may say more.
Lexis+ AI
Lexis+ AI is the generative research, drafting and summarization layer over the Lexis+ platform from LexisNexis. It covers conversational search, drafting, summarization and document upload, grounded in LexisNexis content including case law reviewed by Shepard's editors, statutes and Practical Guidance. According to the AI Legal Index, LexisNexis runs a trust center at trust.lexisnexis.com with a self serve registration route, and states an annual SOC 2 Type 2 examination of Lexis and Lexis+ across all five trust services principles. Every citation in a generated response is checked against Shepard's. The LexisNexis General Terms, effective 5 June 2026, bar training any large language model on prompts and files and treat them as confidential. They also require notice before compelled disclosure and state that AI output is not legal advice. It publishes no price, and no residency position appears outside its registered trust center.
Questions buyers ask
Bloomberg Law vs Lexis+ AI: which is better for legal research?
They are evenly matched and lead in different places. Lexis+ AI leads on attestation, privilege and contract terms, with a broad SOC 2 examination, a contractual bar on training and Shepard's checking every citation. Bloomberg Law leads on describing its AI, with a published architecture, a documented abstention behavior and a fuller account of its models and data handling. From the AI Legal Index, based on each vendor's own published materials as of September 27, 2026. No vendor pays for placement.
Does either check whether a cited case is still good law?
Both do, by different routes. Lexis+ AI checks every citation in a generated response against Shepard's, a named commercial citator the vendor owns, so treatment checking runs automatically rather than as a separate step. Bloomberg Law operates its own citator, BCITE, described as using machine learning and natural language processing to indicate whether a holding is still valid law, though no coverage statement is published and nothing states whether its generative features surface BCITE status alongside authority they cite. From the AI Legal Index, based on each vendor's own published materials as of September 27, 2026. No vendor pays for placement.
What does Bloomberg Law's AI do when it does not know?
It is documented. Bloomberg Law states that its Answers and AI Assistant features abstain from answering when no available content covers the topic in question, or when the query falls outside legal scope. The vendor pairs that with a direct acknowledgment that AI responses are never fully trustworthy and pose a hallucination risk. What is not published is any demonstration: no worked example, no measurement of how often the behavior fires, and no confidence signal shown to the user. From the AI Legal Index, based on each vendor's own published materials as of September 27, 2026. No vendor pays for placement.
What can you get from the Lexis+ AI trust center?
LexisNexis runs a trust center at trust.lexisnexis.com with a self serve registration route through which authorized users reach compliance reporting, including the SOC 1 Type 2 report. It states that an independent third party auditor performs an annual SOC 2 Type 2 examination of Lexis and Lexis+ against all five trust services principles. Two limits: the auditing firm is not named, and no Lexis+ AI specific examination is confirmed, so the AI assets' own attestation status is unclear. From the AI Legal Index, based on each vendor's own published materials as of September 27, 2026. No vendor pays for placement.
What do Bloomberg Law and Lexis+ AI both leave unpublished?
Neither publishes a measured accuracy figure of its own for its generative features. Neither names the model or the provider underneath: Bloomberg Law describes its architecture without stating whether any third party foundation model sits in it, and LexisNexis refers to technology partnerships without naming a partner. Neither addresses matter level segregation or ethical walls. And neither publishes a price at any level. From the AI Legal Index, based on each vendor's own published materials as of September 27, 2026. No vendor pays for placement.
Neither vendor paid for inclusion, placement or a grade, and neither reviewed this page before it published. Everything on it comes from public material on the dates shown. How the index grades.
Two points to weigh. Bloomberg Law's privacy policy states that it collects usage information, browsing history and search history and draws inferences to build a profile of a user's preferences. It describes sharing a hashed email address with third party advertising companies for cross contextual behavioral advertising, without stating whether in product search history is carved out of any of it. That matters to litigators, because the cases and statutes a lawyer searches disclose the matter. On Lexis+ AI, residency and other detail may sit in its trust center behind a registration step, and its integration documentation is published separately. Neither vendor reviewed this page.