Dodonai vs SmartDepo: how they compare in 2026
Dodonai and SmartDepo both turn deposition transcripts into summaries with page and line citations back to the testimony, and both publish full price lists. Dodonai sits in the top two bands on nine of fifteen axes and SmartDepo on seven of fifteen. The sharpest difference is how each treats the testimony it reads. Dodonai's terms treat both what a firm uploads and what the product returns as attorney work product, bar its model partners, including OpenAI, from using the content to improve their own services, and let Dodonai train on customer data only if the customer opts in. SmartDepo, owned by Rev, is governed by Rev's terms of service, which allow customer content to train Rev's own speech recognition and other AI models, excluding generative models, and never mention privilege. Dodonai also states SOC 2 certification, HIPAA compliance and isolated workspaces for each client. SmartDepo answers on what stands behind a summary: legal professionals review every summary before delivery, named firms vouch for it, and Rev's terms commit to $2 million per claim of errors and omissions insurance. Dodonai's terms put the whole loss on the customer.
At a glance
All 15 axes, side by side
The same grid applied to every vendor in the index, graded from public sources. Hover a grade to see what the letter means on that axis.
AI Centrality
How much of the product is actually AI. Whether the machine learning is the mechanism the buyer is paying for or a feature layered onto conventional software, and whether the vendor is specific about which is which.
Every purchasable function is a model output. Deposition summarisation, medical chronology construction, OCR of scanned records including handwriting and tables, extract and draft agents, and semantic search that finds evidence by meaning rather than keyword are the whole of the platform, and the pricing page charges by pages processed with multipliers by process type, which is charging directly for inference. Remove the models and there is a document store with a search box. The company describes itself in its own FAQ as an AI-powered document processing platform built for legal professionals. Checked 4 September 2026.
The models are the mechanism the buyer pays for. What is sold is an AI deposition summary produced in minutes from a transcript, described by the vendor as resting on patent-pending technology, and the newer platform layer is entirely model work: chat across every deposition in a case, a contradiction finder, theme extraction and automated memos. Human quality review sits on top of the model output as a check rather than as the production method, which is the distinction that keeps this at the top of the band. Remove the models and what remains is the manual page-line summarisation the product exists to replace. Checked 4 September 2026.
Citation Accuracy and Hallucination Disclosure
Whether the vendor publishes measured accuracy on citations and assertions, grounds output to primary sources, and says plainly what its system does when it does not know. Legal has a documented public record of fabricated citations reaching filed briefs, so an untested claim of accuracy is not evidence.
Grounding is real, documented and unusually concrete for this product class. Deposition summaries are described as page-and-line cited, meaning each summary point carries a pointer back to the transcript location it came from, and the transcript product adds automated Blue Book citations and an assistant that works over the full text. That is a retrieval mechanism a reader can understand and a reviewer can check against the source. Failure modes are acknowledged in the agreement rather than only in marketing: section 3(d) states that given the probabilistic nature of machine learning the Services may produce incorrect Output that does not accurately reflect real people, places or facts, and advises evaluating accuracy including by human review. What is missing is measurement. No accuracy figure is published, no test set is described, and the home page FAQ item asking how Dodonai ensures the accuracy of AI-generated summaries did not render in this pass and is not credited.
Grounding is real and documented: summaries carry hyperlinked page-line citations to the source dialogue, the vendor publishes a side-by-side comparison of its own precise citations against competitors' broad topic ranges, and every summary is stated to be reviewed by legal professionals before delivery. Those are architectural and procedural controls rather than a claim alone. What sits against them is the strongest marketing-versus-agreement conflict on this record, and the agreement governs. The site advertises 100 per cent guaranteed accurate page-line citations and patent-pending technology that can guarantee 100 per cent accuracy. The governing terms at the same domain state that the Services may contain errors, disclaim any warranty as to the quality, accuracy, currency or completeness of the platform or any results obtained through it, and make the customer solely responsible for verifying the accuracy and completeness of all work product before acting on it. A guarantee that the agreement expressly disclaims is not a measured accuracy figure, no test set is described, and the failure modes the agreement does name are audio quality, background noise, cross-talk and speaker accent, which belong to transcription rather than to summarisation.
Autonomy and Oversight Model
What the system decides on its own, what a lawyer must approve, and whether the vendor documents where the review point sits. A tool that drafts under review and a tool that files without one are different products and different risks.
Oversight is asserted without a described mechanism in the platform itself. Section 3(d) of the terms advises that the customer should evaluate the accuracy of any Output as appropriate, including by using human review, which is guidance rather than a control. The one firm commitment located sits outside the product: the AI Managed Services arm is described as operating with an attorney in the loop on every output, which is a services promise rather than a platform behaviour. Every action is stated to be logged, which is an audit surface rather than a review gate. Nothing published describes what the system does unattended against what a person approves, no threshold is stated, and no route back to human judgement is set out for the self-serve platform. Searched the home page, the terms and data processing addendum, and the pricing page on 4 September 2026.
A real review surface is committed and the control structure around it is not published. The vendor states that every summary is reviewed by legal professionals before it reaches the customer and lists humans in the loop as one of three trust pillars, which is a documented gate on every output rather than an aspiration. Section 6 of the governing terms adds a second checkpoint by making the customer solely responsible for verifying accuracy and completeness before taking or omitting any action. What is missing is everything around those two points: no threshold is published at which the system defers, nothing describes what the reviewing professionals check or against what standard, no reviewer qualification is stated, and nothing addresses what happens when an error reaches a filed brief.
Operational and Outcome Evidence
Named, dated evidence that the product works in production at real firms or legal departments. Case studies with figures and identified customers count. Unattributed testimonials and launch announcements do not.
An unattributed testimonial stands in for deployment evidence. One quotation is published, from a first name and a job description, Ben, Commercial Litigator, saying that on the first day of use Dodonai summarised all the deposition transcripts from a case in seconds, saving hours of time and hundreds of client dollars. No organisation is named anywhere, there is no logo strip, no case study, and no customer count. The claim of hundreds of client dollars saved is a result quoted with no basis, no matter size and no date. Comparison pages exist for deposition and chronology software but are the vendor's own category content rather than deployment evidence. Searched the home page, the pricing page and the terms on 4 September 2026.
Real deployment evidence with substance, short of measurement. Eleven customer firms appear as logos including Mueller Law, Mann and Potter, Explico, Windsor Troy Law, the Hernandez Legal Group, Rencher Law Group, Amini and Conant, Struble Cohen Trial Lawyers, Broussard Knoll and Conforto Law Group. Four testimonials carry names and are tied to firms rather than floating free: Wolfgang Mueller of Mueller Law, Delaney J. Miller of Windsor Troy Law, Matthew Struble of Struble Cohen who identifies himself as board certified in both civil trial and appeals, and a reviewer at Conant. The quotations contain operational detail a reader can weigh, including a stated processing time of about 30 minutes for a transcript and a note that only minimal adjustments were needed on review. What is absent is measurement: no figure for time or cost saved is attached to any named firm, nothing is dated, and a customers page exists that was not opened in this pass.
Privilege and Confidentiality Posture
How client confidences are handled: attorney client privilege and work product treatment, segregation of one client matter from another, whether client data trains any model, and what the vendor commits to in writing rather than in marketing.
The privilege limb is met more explicitly here than almost anywhere in this pull, and other limbs are what hold the grade. Section 3(e) states that both parties acknowledge Content may include confidential and privileged information, that Dodonai will use all reasonable efforts to keep it confidential, and then goes further than any peer: all parties agree that both the Input and the Output constitutes attorney work product and that Dodonai shares a common interest with its users. Segregation is documented as isolated per-client workspaces with case data siloed, role-based access so team members see only what they need, and every action logged. The position on model providers is stated in section 3(c): Dodonai only works with LLM Partners that disclaim use of the Content for developing or improving their own services and covenant to delete customer data after a reasonable time, given as 30 days for OpenAI. What holds this at B is the rest. Training by Dodonai itself is permitted on opt-in rather than prohibited. No retention period for Dodonai's own storage is published anywhere, only deletion on termination or reasonable request. And only one LLM partner is named, with the phrase including OpenAI leaving the others unidentified.
Confidentiality is addressed in general commercial terms and nothing addresses client confidences as such. Section 9 of the governing agreement is a conventional mutual confidentiality provision: customer content is the customer's confidential information, the recipient must use reasonable care, and disclosure is limited to personnel and subcontractors under equivalent obligations. That is readable in advance, which keeps this off the floor. Everything the A band asks for beyond it is missing. Privilege and work product are never mentioned, on a product whose entire input is deposition testimony. Nothing addresses segregation between customers or matters. No retention period is stated and section 2.2 instead reserves to the vendor the right to set the maximum period it will retain customer content. Training is permitted rather than prohibited under section 4.2. One provision cuts against the product's own market: section 2.3 bars submitting protected health information or sensitive personal data unless expressly authorised in an Order, which is a live constraint for medical malpractice and personal injury depositions.
UPL and Professional Responsibility Posture
Whether the vendor is clear that it supplies a tool rather than legal advice, who its audience is, and how it addresses unauthorized practice of law, competence and supervision duties, and jurisdiction limits. ABA Formal Opinion 512 is the reference point. Where the advice line is not the duty a product raises, the axis is read through the nearest professional duty it does raise: judicial conduct rules and the reviewing duty for products sold only to courts, and the duty to bill for time actually spent for products that draft time entries.
Nothing published addresses the advice line, and the grade rests on documents that were read rather than on an untested gap. The full terms and the data processing addendum were retrieved on 4 September 2026 and contain no statement that the Services are not legal advice, no competence or supervision language, no reference to any rule of professional conduct, and no jurisdiction limit. The nearest provisions point the other way: section 3(e) characterises Input and Output as attorney work product and asserts a common interest with users, which presupposes a legal context without addressing the vendor's position in it. The audience includes people who are not lawyers, with published material for paralegals, court reporters, independent medical examination companies and IME doctors, and section 1 sets the minimum age at 13 with parental permission under 18, which is unusual language for a product processing privileged case files. Section 3(d) advises human review of Output but frames it as an accuracy precaution rather than a professional responsibility one.
Nothing published addresses the advice line, and this rests on a document read in full rather than on an untested gap. The governing terms of service were retrieved on 4 September 2026 and contain no statement that the output is not legal advice, no competence or supervision language, no reference to any rule of professional conduct, and no jurisdiction limit. Section 6 requires the customer to verify accuracy before acting, which is framed as an accuracy precaution rather than a professional responsibility one. The marketing describes the product as built by attorneys for attorneys and founded by a practising civil rights attorney, and the output is explicitly intended for copying into motions and briefs and for submission to the courts, which raises the professional responsibility question rather than answering it. The one adjacent provision is the site's own claim that every summary is reviewed by legal professionals, which is a quality control statement and not a position on advice.
AI Governance and Bias Disclosure
Published governance over model behavior: who owns it inside the vendor, what is tested before release, and what is disclosed about disparate output across matter types, parties, or populations.
A position on the limits of the AI is published without any mechanism behind it. Section 3(d) of the terms acknowledges the probabilistic nature of machine learning and the possibility of incorrect Output, and section 3(b) explains that output may not be unique across users. That is a principle rather than a governance regime: nobody inside Dodonai is named as accountable for model behaviour, no pre-release evaluation is described, no testing results are published, and there is nothing at all on bias or uneven output, which matters on a product that builds medical chronologies and summarises testimony. A Safety and Trust page exists under the AI Managed Services section and was not opened in this pass; it is named here as an unread surface rather than credited, since crediting a page by its title is not evidence of its contents.
No governance position is published for a system whose output is copied into court filings. There is no responsible AI statement, no governance framework, no named owner, no description of pre-release testing, no evaluation results and nothing whatever on bias. The nearest published material is section 4.2 of the agreement, which describes where the models sit and who may see them, stating that Rev's speech recognition and other AI models are proprietary, maintained locally and not shared with any third party; that is a data handling statement rather than a governance regime. Searched the home page, the pricing page, the terms of service and the site navigation on 4 September 2026.
AI Safety and Data Stewardship
Retention, deletion, access control, and what happens to prompts and documents after they are processed. Whether the vendor states its subprocessors and its incident practice, or leaves the buyer to assume.
Substantive published policy covering most of the ground. Access control is specific: AES-256 at rest, TLS 1.2 or higher in transit with documents described as encrypted from the moment they leave the browser, isolated per-client workspaces, role-based access, and every action logged. Section 5(a) of the data processing addendum enumerates the security measures required across personnel, facilities, hardware and software, storage and networks, access controls, monitoring and logging, vulnerability and breach detection, incident response and encryption. Incident practice is committed at section 5(c), requiring notification of any personal data breach by Dodonai, its LLM Partners or other third parties acting on its behalf without undue delay, with assistance in investigation under section 3(a). Deletion is addressed at section 8, on termination or upon reasonable request. Two elements are missing: no retention period is published for Dodonai's own storage during the term, and no subprocessor list is published, with LLM Partners identified only as including OpenAI.
The governing agreement covers the product without addressing what happens to transcripts after processing. Retention is acknowledged and then left open: section 2.2 reserves to the vendor the right to establish general practices and limits including the maximum period it will retain customer content, and no period is published anywhere. No deletion commitment is stated. Security is addressed only at the level of section 9.3, which promises measures in accordance with industry standards and applicable law, with no controls named. No incident or breach notification practice was located. Subcontractors are acknowledged in section 1.3, including individual freelancers who perform human-based services, with none named. A data processing addendum and a business associate agreement are incorporated by reference at the parent's domain and were not opened. Section 2.3 places the backup obligation on the customer and excludes vendor liability for loss of data.
AI Liability and Recourse
What the vendor stands behind contractually when its output is wrong. Indemnities, caps, carve outs, insurance, and whether any of it is published or only reachable through a negotiated agreement.
Liability is addressed only through a standard limitation clause that disclaims the exposure the product creates. Section 7(b) puts the Services on an as-is basis and disclaims all warranties express, implied or statutory, expressly including that the Services will be accurate or error free or that Content will be secure or not lost or altered, so no warranty is given that a buyer could invoke. Section 7(a) runs in one direction only: the customer indemnifies Dodonai, and no indemnity is given to the customer for anything, including third-party intellectual property claims. Section 7(c) caps aggregate liability at the greater of twelve months of fees or one hundred dollars, and excludes all indirect and consequential damages including loss of data. No insurance position was located. What keeps this off the floor is that the allocation is published and readable before signing rather than absent, and that the cap carries a stated floor; on the question this axis asks, the published answer is that the customer bears the loss entirely.
A real published position, carried almost entirely by one clause most vendors omit. Section 10 commits the vendor to maintain insurance at stated minimum limits for the term, including commercial general liability at one million dollars per occurrence and, decisively for this axis, professional errors and omissions cover for the Service including network security and data protection liability at not less than two million dollars per claim and four million in the aggregate. That is the insurance limb this band's top rung asks for and no other record in this pull publishes it. Against that, the rest is thin. The indemnity at section 7 runs only from customer to vendor; there is no indemnity to the customer for anything, including third-party infringement. Section 8 caps liability at fees paid in the preceding twelve months for the services subject to the claim. Section 6 disclaims all warranties and accuracy expressly, and while it carves out a warranty said to be at section 6.2, no such subsection appears in the published document, so the one promised warranty cannot be read. No insurance certificate or carrier is named.
Practice Systems Integration Depth
How deeply the product reaches into the systems legal work already lives in: document management such as iManage and NetDocuments, Word and Outlook, contract lifecycle management, matter management, e-billing, and court filing systems.
No integration into practice systems was located. No document management system, case management platform, email client, word processor or e-signature product is named anywhere on the surfaces read, and no integrations page or developer documentation exists in the navigation or footer. The only connectivity evidence is indirect: section 2(c)(iv) of the terms refers to extraction of data through the API as permitted, which establishes that an API exists without describing what it connects to, and the enterprise pricing tier lists custom integrations as an unspecified inclusion. Two surfaces that might bear on this were not read and are named so the limit is visible: the home page FAQ item asking how Dodonai integrates with an existing workflow did not render, and the Law Firm Case Management and Document Management pages under Industries were not opened. Checked 4 September 2026.
No integration into practice systems was located. No document management system, case management platform, transcript repository, word processor or e-signature product is named anywhere on the surfaces read, and there is no integrations page or developer documentation in the navigation or footer. The only connectivity evidence is indirect, in section 1.2 of the agreement, which refers to APIs made available to facilitate use of the services without describing what they connect to. The workflow the product describes is manual: upload a transcript, receive documents, copy and paste citations into briefs. A Court Reporting Solutions page exists in the Products menu and was not opened in this pass; it is named here so the limit is visible rather than presented as settled. Checked 4 September 2026.
Deployment Model and Data Residency
Where the software runs and where the data sits. Multi tenant cloud, single tenant, private deployment, on premises, and whether region of residence is a published option or an enterprise conversation.
The tenancy limb is published and the residency limb is entirely absent, which is the documented gap on this axis. Isolated per-client workspaces are stated, with case data siloed, role-based access limiting what team members see, and every action logged, which tells a buyer how customers are separated from one another. Nothing states where data is stored or processed: no region, no country, no hosting provider and no processing location appears on any surface read, and the terms note only that the Services may be used in geographies currently supported by Dodonai without saying which those are. Publishing tenancy alone clears the band below, where neither limb is stated, and this record sits in the space the operator has logged as fitting neither adjacent band cleanly.
Nothing is published about where the software runs or where transcripts sit. No region, country, hosting provider or data centre is named on any surface, and no tenancy model is described: nothing states whether the platform is single or multi-tenant or how one customer's transcripts are separated from another's. The agreement is silent on both, referring only to Rev's servers in the context of storage allocation limits at section 2.2. There are no deployment options, no private or dedicated tier, and no residency commitment of any kind. Searched the home page, the pricing page, the product overview, the terms of service and the footer on 4 September 2026.
Security Certifications and Trust Center
Independent attestation a buyer can pull without a sales call: SOC 2, ISO 27001, penetration test summaries, a trust center with current reports and named scope rather than a badge image.
Certification is stated and repeated as a product claim rather than shown as a decorative badge, appearing in the hero, in a dedicated security section and in the platform description: SOC-2 certified and HIPAA fully compliant, with a Business Associate Agreement available on request. A route to evidence exists contractually, since section 1(i) of the data processing addendum commits Dodonai to cooperate with customer assessments and audits where required by law, or alternatively to make available a summary of third-party audit results or certification reports. It stops short of the top on every accessible-evidence limb. The claim is written as SOC-2 without specifying Type I or Type II, which is a material difference and is not resolved anywhere; no certifying body or auditor is named; no scope, observation period or report date is published; there is no trust portal; and penetration testing is not mentioned. On the third-party verifiability test a buyer cannot check the claim against an auditor's register without contacting Dodonai.
No independent security attestation was located. No SOC 2, ISO, HIPAA certification or any other framework is claimed anywhere on the site, there is no trust centre or security page, no auditor is named, and no report is offered at any access tier. The site carries no security badges at all, so there is nothing unsupported on display either, which is why this sits at the floor rather than in the badges-without-scope band. The agreement offers only section 9.3, promising security measures in accordance with industry standards and applicable law without naming a standard. A published customer testimonial refers to extensive discussion with the team on security before purchase, which indicates that security assurance here is a sales conversation rather than a published artifact. Checked home page, pricing page, terms of service and site footer on 4 September 2026.
Model Supply Chain Disclosure
Which models sit underneath, whose they are, where they run, and whether the vendor commits to telling customers when that changes. A legal buyer inherits every dependency it cannot see.
The supply chain is partly disclosed, with one provider named and change notification committed in unusual detail. Section 2(c) requires customers to adhere to the terms and policies of any LLM Partners used for data processing, including OpenAI, and links OpenAI's policy pages; section 3(c) states that Dodonai only works with LLM Partners that disclaim use of Content to develop or improve their own services and that covenant to delete customer data after a reasonable time, given as 30 days in OpenAI's case. Change notification is stronger than most records carry: section 1(g) of the data processing addendum commits to notifying customers of additional LLM Partners, gives a fifteen-day window to object on reasonable grounds relating to data protection, sets out four cure options including declining to use the partner or offering an alternative, and gives a termination right with a refund of prepaid fees if the objection is not resolved within thirty days. What is absent is the rest of the picture: no model is named, the phrase including OpenAI leaves the other partners unidentified, no subprocessor list is published, and where inference runs is not stated.
The supply chain is partly disclosed, in two fragments that sit on different surfaces. The home page carries an icon labelled OpenAI Zero Data Retention among its three trust pillars, which names a third-party model provider and states the retention posture agreed with it, though no supporting text explains scope or which features it covers. Section 4.2 of the agreement describes the other half of the architecture: the vendor's own speech recognition and generative models, stated to be proprietary, maintained locally and not shared with or disclosed to any third party. So a reader can establish that both a named external provider and proprietary internal models are in use. What is absent is the rest: no specific model or version is named, no location is given for any of it, no subprocessor or model provider list is published, and no commitment to notify customers when a model or provider changes was located.
Commercial Transparency
Whether a buyer can learn what this costs without entering a sales process: published rates, the unit being charged, what sits behind an enterprise tier, and what implementation adds.
A buyer can learn the whole cost structure without speaking to anyone. Four tiers are published with rates: 25 dollars a month billed annually at 300 for 4,800 credits a year, 50 a month billed annually at 600 for 24,000 credits, 83 a month billed annually at 1,000 for 120,000 credits, and a custom enterprise tier. The unit is defined rather than gestured at, with one page stated as approximately 400 tokens of text, and a table gives the effective cost per page at each volume by process type with the multiplier shown: standard summaries at 1x running from 6.3 cents to 0.8 cents, custom summaries at 2x, advanced analysis at 3x, and OCR and transcription free at every tier. Every feature is stated to be included in every plan with no per-seat fees and no feature gates, and the nine included capabilities are itemised. What the enterprise tier adds is named as custom integrations, SLA guarantees and dedicated onboarding. A seven-day, hundred-page free trial is published with self-serve signup, and section 4(c) of the terms commits to fourteen days notice before a price increase takes effect.
A buyer can price the product completely without speaking to anyone. Two purchase routes are published side by side. The platform subscription is 99 dollars per user per month and reduces summaries to a flat 25 dollars each at any volume, with the included capabilities itemised as AI deposition chat, automated memos, contradiction finder, and theme extraction and clips. Standalone summaries are published as a volume table with five bands: 85 dollars for one to nine, 75 for ten to nineteen, 65 for twenty to thirty, 55 for thirty-one to forty, and 50 for forty-one and above. An interactive estimator on the page computes a monthly total against the pay-per-summary alternative and shows the saving. A seven-day free trial is offered with no credit card required and cancellation at any time, and signup is self-serve. The unit is unambiguous throughout, being one summary per deposition transcript. What is not published is any figure for implementation, since none is required.
Firm and Practice Coverage
Who the product is actually built for. AmLaw, midlaw, small firm and solo, in house departments, government and courts, and which practice areas are supported rather than merely claimed.
Coverage is described with real substance across three dimensions and the boundary is left open. Six practice areas each carry their own page: personal injury, medical malpractice, mass tort, product liability, workers' compensation and disability benefits. Eight use cases each carry their own page, including medical record review, IME reports, demand letters, expert witness preparation and contract review extraction. Six industries are addressed separately, extending beyond law firms to court reporters, IME companies, IME doctors and medical record retrieval businesses, which is an unusually precise statement of who else buys this. What is missing is the edge: no firm size or segment is stated, in-house and government use are not addressed, and nothing says which matter types or document types the product does not handle. The practice area set is plaintiff-side almost throughout, which is a coverage fact rather than a limit the vendor states.
Coverage is asserted at the level of a whole profession without practice detail or boundaries. The buyer is described as attorneys and litigators generally, with the marketing framed as built by attorneys for attorneys, and a second segment is addressed through a Court Reporting Solutions page for court reporting agencies, which was not opened. No practice area is named anywhere as supported: the named customer firms span trial and personal injury practices but the vendor itself claims no area of specialisation, no matter type and no transcript type. Firm size is not addressed, in-house and government use are not mentioned, and nothing states where the product stops. The product is narrow by nature, covering deposition transcripts only, but that scope is implied by the offering rather than stated as a limit.
The 12 legal signals, side by side
Recorded rather than graded. These are the questions a practitioner has to answer before a tool touches a client matter, and the answers are taken from public material only.
Client Data in Training
Can material a lawyer puts into this product be used to train a model?
Two distinct positions are published and both belong in the record. For third-party models, section 3(c) of the terms states that Dodonai only works with LLM Partners that disclaim use of the Content provided via its API to develop or improve their own services and that covenant to delete customer data after a reasonable time, given as 30 days in OpenAI's case. For Dodonai's own use, section 1(a)(ii) of the data processing addendum permits processing to improve Dodonai's services but only if and to the extent the customer expressly opts in, which is training that occurs only where the customer has affirmatively enabled it.
Recorded for completeness: the home page states the position more absolutely than the documents do, as never stored or used to train AI models, without the opt-in carve-out, and its Zero Data Retention heading describes the LLM partner guarantee rather than Dodonai's own storage.
Section 4.2 of the governing agreement states that if the customer subscribes to any of Rev's speech-to-text services, customer content will be analyzed by Rev's speech recognition models and other Rev artificial intelligence models and may be used for continuous training of those models. The clause names training expressly and operates on customer content, which is what this value turns on. Two qualifiers are recorded rather than treated as removing the permission: the same clause states that customer content will not be used for any generative AI model training, and that Rev's models are proprietary, maintained locally and not shared with any third party.
The home page carries an icon reading OpenAI Zero Data Retention, which addresses the third-party generative provider and is consistent with the generative carve-out; neither statement displaces the permission to train Rev's own models. The condition attaching the clause to speech-to-text services is left as the agreement states it, since the agreement never describes deposition summarization.
Prompt and Output Retention
How long does the product keep what a lawyer typed, and can that be set to zero?
The customer controls the window by contractual instruction rather than by a published default. Section 8 of the data processing addendum provides that on termination of the processing services, or upon the customer's reasonable request, Dodonai will return or delete the Customer Data unless data protection law prevents it. Section 3(c) of the terms separately records that LLM Partners covenant to delete customer data after a reasonable time, given as 30 days for OpenAI, which governs the model provider rather than the platform.
No default retention period for Dodonai's own storage is published anywhere, and zero retention is not stated as an available setting; the home page's Zero Data Retention heading refers to the LLM partner guarantee.
Retention is acknowledged in the agreement and no period is published. Section 2.2 provides that the vendor may establish general practices and limits concerning use of the platform and the services, including the maximum period it will retain customer content and the maximum storage space allotted, which reserves the question to the vendor rather than answering it. No default window, no deletion commitment and no certification of deletion appears anywhere.
Section 2.3 places the backup obligation on the customer and excludes vendor liability for any loss of data. Searched the home page, the pricing page, the terms of service and the site footer on 4 September 2026.
Ethical Walls and Matter Segregation
Does retrieval respect the firm’s ethical walls, or can the model read across them?
Dodonai maintains its own permission model and describes it in outline rather than merely asserting isolation. The security section publishes isolated per-client workspaces with case data siloed, role-based access so that team members see only what they need, and every action logged, and section 5(a) of the data processing addendum requires organisational and technical measures covering access controls, monitoring and logging.
The model is Dodonai's own rather than one inheriting a document management system's access control at query time, and the customer administers its own users. What is not published is how the isolation is enforced technically, and nothing addresses separation between individual matters inside a single customer workspace beyond the per-user role model.
No located public material addresses walls or matter level segregation. Nothing states whether the platform is single or multi-tenant, how one customer's transcripts are separated from another's, or how access is controlled within a customer account, and no role or permission model is described. The agreement's only adjacent provisions are access restrictions on the customer's own authorized users at section 2.2 and a confidentiality obligation on personnel and subcontractors at section 9.2, neither of which describes segregation of stored content.
There is nothing to quote because the position is absent rather than asserted. Searched the home page, the pricing page, the product overview and the terms of service on 4 September 2026.
Third Party Request and Subpoena Notice
If someone subpoenas the vendor for a firm’s data, does the firm hear about it first?
Section 2(a) of the data processing addendum commits Dodonai to inform the customer if it becomes aware of any legally binding request for disclosure of Customer Data by a law enforcement authority, unless forbidden by law from doing so, for example to preserve the confidentiality of an investigation. Section 2(b) extends the same commitment to any notice, inquiry or investigation by a supervisory authority under Article 51 GDPR, and section 4 requires advance notice if Dodonai is required by data protection law to process Customer Data for a reason outside the agreement. No transparency report of such requests was located on any surface, which is what separates this from the top value.
Section 9.2 of the agreement provides that if either party receives a court subpoena, a request for production of documents, a court order or a requirement of a government agency to disclose confidential information, the recipient will give prompt written notice to the other party so that the request can be challenged or limited in scope. Customer content is expressly defined as the customer's confidential information at section 9.1, so the commitment reaches deposition transcripts.
The clause is mutual and is not qualified by a where legally permitted carve-out, which is unusual. No transparency report of such requests was located on any surface.
Primary Law Corpus Provenance
Where does the law in this product come from, and does the vendor have the right to use it?
No located public material identifies a corpus behind the product's answers, and the product's design makes the question narrow: Dodonai summarizes and searches the customer's own deposition transcripts, medical records and document collections rather than retrieving external legal content. The automated Blue Book citations it generates are a formatting convention applied to the customer's own transcripts rather than evidence of a licensed legal corpus.
No database, publisher, jurisdiction or license basis is named on any surface. Searched the home page, the platform pages listed in the navigation, the pricing page and the terms with the data processing addendum on 4 September 2026.
No located public material identifies a corpus behind the product's output, and the product's design makes the question narrow: SmartDepo summarizes the deposition transcript the customer uploads rather than retrieving external legal content. No database, publisher, jurisdiction or license basis is named anywhere, and the citations the product generates point to page and line numbers within the customer's own transcript. Searched the home page, the pricing page, the product overview and the terms of service on 4 September 2026.
Good Law Verification
Does the product tell you when the authority it just cited has been overruled?
Nothing on any located surface addresses whether authority is checked for subsequent history. The product does not retrieve primary law: it operates on transcripts, medical records and document collections supplied by the customer, and its citation feature applies Blue Book formatting to references within those materials. The question therefore does not bite on this product class and the honest value is the absence rather than a penalty. Searched the home page, the platform pages, the pricing page and the terms on 4 September 2026.
Nothing on any located surface addresses whether authority is checked for subsequent history. The product does not retrieve primary law at all: it reads a deposition transcript and produces summaries, admissions analyses, abstracts and memos citing back to page and line within that transcript. The question therefore does not bite on this product class and the honest value is the absence rather than a penalty. Searched the home page, the pricing page, the product overview and the terms of service on 4 September 2026.
Refusal and Uncertainty Behavior
What does the product do when the answer is not in the corpus?
No located public material describes what the product does when it cannot ground an answer. Section 3(d) of the terms acknowledges that use may in some situations result in incorrect Output that does not accurately reflect real people, places or facts, and advises the customer to evaluate accuracy including by human review, but that is an acknowledgment of risk and an instruction to the reader rather than a description of system behavior.
No abstention path, no no-answer state and no confidence or grounding score visible to the user is described anywhere. Searched the home page, the platform pages, the pricing page and the terms on 4 September 2026.
No located public material describes what the product does when it cannot ground an output. The marketing runs the other way, promising complete coverage with nothing left out and no errors of omission, and the agreement acknowledges at section 6 that the services may contain errors while placing verification on the customer, but neither describes an abstention path, a no-answer state, or any confidence or grounding signal surfaced to the reviewer.
The published human review step is a quality check on delivered output rather than a described behavior of the system. Searched the home page, the pricing page, the product overview and the terms of service on 4 September 2026.
Fabricated Citation Record
Does a public court record exist addressing fabricated or hallucinated legal citations in output from this product?
The AI Hallucination Cases database maintained by Damien Charlotin was searched on 4 September 2026 on the product and company name Dodonai. No court order, opinion or disciplinary record naming the product was located. This records the state of the public record on that date and is not a finding about the product.
The AI Hallucination Cases database maintained by Damien Charlotin was searched on 4 September 2026 on both the product name SmartDepo and the parent company name Rev.com. No court order, opinion or disciplinary record naming the product was located. This records the state of the public record on that date and is not a finding about the product.
Bar Guidance Alignment
Has the vendor engaged in public with the ethics opinions its buyers are bound by?
No located public material engages with bar or ethics guidance. No bar association, regulator, rule of professional conduct or ethics opinion is named anywhere in the terms, the data processing addendum, the home page or the pricing page. Section 3(e) characterizes Input and Output as attorney work product and asserts a common interest between Dodonai and its users, which is a legal characterization advanced by the vendor rather than engagement with published professional responsibility guidance, and no authority is cited for it. Searched on 4 September 2026.
No located public material engages with bar or ethics guidance. No bar association, regulator, rule of professional conduct or ethics opinion is named anywhere in the agreement, the home page or the pricing page. The nearest references are marketing identity claims, that the product is built by attorneys for attorneys and founded by a practicing civil rights attorney, which say who built it rather than which professional standards its use engages.
This matters more than usual because the output is expressly intended for copying into motions and briefs and for submission to the courts. Searched on 4 September 2026.
Billing and Fee Posture
Does the vendor address what happens to the bill when the work takes an hour instead of six?
Public materials claim savings without addressing billing or disclosure. The single published testimonial states that summarizing a case's deposition transcripts saved hours of time and hundreds of client dollars, and the marketing frames the platform as saving teams hours on every case. A Litigation Cost Management use case page exists and was not opened. Nothing addresses what happens to a client bill when AI-assisted work compresses billable time, and although the platform produces detailed per-matter artifacts and logs every action, none is described as a record of AI-assisted work for fee or disclosure purposes.
The vendor's own charging model is per page rather than per hour, which is a cost fact rather than an answer to this signal.
Public materials claim time savings without addressing billing or disclosure. The home page states that the product saves weeks of manual work, and published testimonials describe processing in about 30 minutes, saving hours of time, and producing in minutes what previously took many hours. One testimonial refers to a reasonable pricing structure and another to obtaining page-line summaries being the most time-consuming aspect of trial preparation.
Nothing addresses what happens to a client bill when that time disappears, and no per-matter record of AI-assisted work is described. The vendor's own charging model is per summary or per user rather than per hour, which is a cost fact rather than an answer to this signal.
Outside Counsel Guideline Readiness
Can a firm get this vendor through a client’s AI clause without a bespoke negotiation?
The forwardable artifact exists but the list does not. A data processing addendum is published in full at the foot of the terms of service, reachable at a URL without executing anything, and it addresses processor status, security measures, breach notification, audit cooperation and deletion, which is material a firm can forward to a client. What is missing is the disclosure a client's AI clause actually asks for: no subprocessor or model provider list is published, the LLM Partners are identified only by the phrase including OpenAI which leaves the others unnamed, and no location is given for any of them.
Section 1(h) of the addendum offers Dodonai's privacy and security policies and other compliance information on request, which places the remaining material behind a request rather than in public.
The material a firm would need is referenced rather than published. A data processing addendum and a business associate agreement are incorporated into the agreement by reference at section 9.3 and located at the parent's domain rather than on any SmartDepo surface; neither was opened in this pass. No subprocessor or model provider list is published anywhere. Section 1.3 acknowledges that subcontractors including individual freelancers perform parts of the services without naming any of them, which is material a client would want identified given those individuals handle deposition testimony.
The only provider naming located is an icon on the home page reading OpenAI Zero Data Retention, with no supporting text stating scope or which features it covers.
Court Disclosure Support
If a judge’s standing order requires an AI disclosure, can the product produce one?
Some elements of a record are available, short of a document-level export covering the model used. Deposition summaries are page-and-line cited back to the transcript, the transcript product generates automated Blue Book citations, and the security material states that every action is logged. Those cover sources retrieved and, in part, the trail of who did what. What is absent is the rest: nothing states that the model behind a given summary is recorded or disclosed to the customer, no export of a verification record is described, and no disclosure guidance or template for a court was located.
The LLM Partners are not individually identified, so which model produced a given output could not be stated even if the record were exported.
Substantial elements of a record are produced, short of anything covering the AI itself. Summaries carry page-line citations hyperlinked precisely to the source dialogue, marketed as copy-and-paste ready for motions, briefs and submission to the courts, which covers the sources-retrieved element better than most records on this signal. Every summary is stated to be reviewed by legal professionals, which is a human verification step, though nothing describes it as recorded or exportable.
What is absent is the model dimension and the export: nothing states that the model behind a given summary is recorded or disclosed, no per-document verification record is described, and no disclosure guidance or template for a court was located.
The questions both sides leave open
Derived from the records above rather than written, so it cannot favor either vendor. Take these into both conversations and ask each side the same question.
- UPL and Professional Responsibility Posture
- Practice Systems Integration Depth
- Primary Law Corpus Provenance
- Good Law Verification
- Refusal and Uncertainty Behavior
- Bar Guidance Alignment
Which one fits
Choose Dodonai if
- You want your terms to treat depositions and outputs as privileged work. Dodonai's terms state that both the documents submitted and the output are attorney work product and that Dodonai shares a common interest with its users, and its model partners, including OpenAI, may not use the content to improve their own services.
- Your matters turn on medical records as well as testimony. Dodonai builds chronologies from medical records of any length, with diagnoses, treatments, providers and dates on a timeline, runs OCR on scanned and handwritten records, and prices by the page, from $25 a month on an annual plan with OCR and transcription free.
- Your cases carry health information. Dodonai states SOC 2 certification and HIPAA compliance with a business associate agreement on request, isolated workspaces for each client with role based access, encryption at rest and in transit, and every action logged.
Choose SmartDepo if
- You want a person to check every summary before you see it. SmartDepo states that every summary is reviewed by legal professionals before delivery, and each transcript produces a page line summary, a key admissions analysis, a short abstract and a thematic memo.
- You want insurance standing behind the vendor. The Rev terms that govern SmartDepo commit to professional errors and omissions cover, including network security and data protection liability, of at least $2 million per claim and $4 million in aggregate, plus $1 million per occurrence of general liability.
- You want to pay per deposition without a subscription. SmartDepo sells standalone summaries from $85 each down to $50 at 41 or more, or a $99 per user monthly subscription that drops summaries to $25 each and adds chat across every deposition in a case, a contradiction finder and theme extraction.
In summary
Dodonai
Dodonai is an AI document processing platform for litigation teams from Dodonai, LLC, governed by Florida law, built to turn deposition transcripts into page and line cited summaries and medical records into structured chronologies, with transcript search, an assistant over the full transcript, OCR for scanned and handwritten records, extraction agents and semantic search. It is aimed at personal injury, medical malpractice, mass tort and similar work. The AI Legal Index grades it in the top two bands on nine of fifteen capability axes, with A grades on AI centrality and pricing, which is published in full from $25 a month. Its terms treat inputs and outputs as attorney work product. As of 4 September 2026 the index located no accuracy measure, no retention period for its own storage and no integration with practice systems.
SmartDepo
SmartDepo, owned by Rev, turns deposition transcripts into page line summaries with hyperlinked citations to the testimony, producing a topic summary, a key admissions analysis, an abstract and a thematic memo for each transcript, with a platform layer for chat across depositions, contradiction finding and theme extraction. The AI Legal Index grades it in the top two bands on seven of fifteen capability axes, with A grades on AI centrality and pricing: $99 per user a month with summaries at $25, or standalone summaries from $85. Every summary is stated to be reviewed by legal professionals before delivery. It is governed by Rev's terms of service, which allow training of Rev's own models on customer content. As of 4 September 2026 the index located no security certification and no hosting location.
Questions buyers ask
Dodonai vs SmartDepo: which is better for deposition summaries?
On published evidence Dodonai sits in the top two bands on nine of fifteen AI Legal Index capability axes and SmartDepo on seven of fifteen. Dodonai publishes more on data handling, including terms that treat uploads and output as attorney work product, stated SOC 2 and HIPAA compliance, and medical chronologies alongside depositions. SmartDepo publishes more about what stands behind a summary: human review of every summary, named customers and insurance under Rev's terms. Both publish their prices in full.
Does SmartDepo train AI on my depositions?
The agreement a buyer accepts on SmartDepo's site is Rev.com's terms of service. Section 4.2 says customer content will be analyzed by Rev's speech recognition and other AI models and may be used for continuous training of those models, which it describes as proprietary and not shared, while excluding generative AI model training. The home page also shows an OpenAI zero data retention mark without further text. No opt out was located. Graded by AI Legal Index against 15 capability axes and 12 legal signals, including privilege handling and citation accuracy, from each vendor's own published materials, verified September 25, 2026. No vendor pays for placement.
Does Dodonai train AI on client documents?
Only if the customer opts in. Dodonai's data processing addendum allows processing to improve its services only if and to the extent the customer expressly opts in, and its terms state that its model partners, including OpenAI, disclaim using customer content to improve their own services and delete it after a reasonable time, 30 days for OpenAI. The home page puts it more absolutely, saying data is never used to train AI models. Graded by AI Legal Index against 15 capability axes and 12 legal signals, including privilege handling and citation accuracy, from each vendor's own published materials, verified September 25, 2026. No vendor pays for placement.
How much do Dodonai and SmartDepo cost?
Both publish full prices. Dodonai charges by pages processed, from $25 a month billed annually for 4,800 credits up to $83 a month for 120,000, with a standard summary costing 6.3 cents a page on the smallest plan and under 1 cent on the largest, and OCR free. SmartDepo charges $99 per user a month with summaries at $25 each, or standalone summaries from $85 down to $50 at volume. Both offer seven day free trials. Graded by AI Legal Index against 15 capability axes and 12 legal signals, including privilege handling and citation accuracy, from each vendor's own published materials, verified September 25, 2026. No vendor pays for placement.
What do Dodonai and SmartDepo both leave unpublished?
How accurate the summaries are, and what happens when one is wrong in a filing. Neither publishes an accuracy measurement or test set, or says what the AI does when a transcript does not support a point. Neither states that its output is not legal advice or addresses a lawyer's supervision duties, although both expect summaries to go into briefs. Neither connects to a case or document management system, and neither records which model produced a given summary. Graded by AI Legal Index against 15 capability axes and 12 legal signals, including privilege handling and citation accuracy, from each vendor's own published materials, verified September 25, 2026. No vendor pays for placement.
Three readings to weigh. The agreement a buyer accepts on the SmartDepo site is Rev.com, Inc.'s terms of service, which govern Rev's transcription services and do not name SmartDepo, so SmartDepo's training, retention and liability terms are read from that document. Those terms also bar protected health information unless an order authorizes it, which matters for personal injury depositions. Dodonai's home page states that data is never used to train AI models, while its data processing addendum allows use to improve services where the customer opts in; the addendum is the binding text. Both records were verified on 4 September 2026. Neither vendor reviewed this page.
Neither vendor paid for inclusion, placement or a grade, and neither reviewed this page before it published. Everything above comes from public material on the dates shown. How the index grades.