Genie AI vs Paxton AI: how they compare in 2026
Genie AI and Paxton AI both sell lower cost AI to small firms, solo practice and lean in house teams, and both publish a price, which almost nothing else in this index does. Genie AI sits in the top two bands on ten of fifteen axes, Paxton AI on five, and the gap is paperwork. Genie names its certificate to its number, issuing body and audit dates, publishes a register of 35 controls and a subprocessor list of fifteen third parties with processing locations, gives the customer an intellectual property indemnity with a stated remedy ladder, and sets out its own regulatory position in terms, including that it is not regulated for legal services and that no legal professional privilege attaches. Paxton AI answers with the one thing Genie does not have: measured accuracy on public academic datasets, at 93.82 per cent average on the Stanford Legal Hallucination Benchmark and 94 per cent on CaseHold for its own citator, published with precision, recall and F1 by case type.
At a glance
All 15 axes, side by side
The same grid applied to every vendor in the index, graded from public sources. Hover a grade to see what the letter means on that axis.
AI Centrality
How much of the product is actually AI. Whether the machine learning is the mechanism the buyer is paying for or a feature layered onto conventional software, and whether the vendor is specific about which is which.
The models are the engine of the core capability, but they sit on a document product that would function without them. Drafting, playbook review, redlining, cross-document comparison and tabular extraction are all generative, and the Eidetic Intelligence architecture is what the vendor sells against general-purpose LLMs. Underneath that sits a conventional platform: a docx editor, PDF import, privacy-aware document sharing, department spaces and a library of more than 500 templates, all of which appear on the Free tier and all of which Genie shipped as an open-source template library in December 2018, before the assistant existed. Remove the models and a template repository with an editor remains, which is what holds this at B.
The models are the product. Research, drafting, document analysis, medical chronologies and the citator are all generative or machine learning capabilities, and there is no underlying practice system that would function without them.
Citation Accuracy and Hallucination Disclosure
Whether the vendor publishes measured accuracy on citations and assertions, grounds output to primary sources, and says plainly what its system does when it does not know. Legal has a documented public record of fabricated citations reaching filed briefs, so an untested claim of accuracy is not evidence.
Accuracy is measured and published, but not on the dimension this axis asks about. The benchmarking programme carries two dated head-to-head reports: 18 February 2026 against Claude Sonnet on a multi-jurisdiction regulatory scenario, and 22 April 2026 against Claude CoWork on a commercial supply agreement, scoring 15 and 10 dimensions respectively with per-metric rationale the vendor says a reader can reproduce or critique. Those are comparative scores on Genie's own rubric, graded by Genie, rather than a measured citation accuracy figure or a hallucination rate with the test set described. Three headline numbers used in marketing correspond to neither published report and were not located on the benchmarks index on 31 Aug 2026: 92 percent lawyer-rated accuracy, a 140 percent advantage over GPT and Claude, and 90 percent on a 65-document study against 79.3 percent for Claude CoWork and 37.3 percent for ChatGPT. The home page states that the architecture prevents hallucinations before they impact the final result, which is an unmeasured claim of exactly the kind this axis exists to test. One further discrepancy: the benchmarks page carries the meta description 'Independent head-to-head benchmarks' while the page body states that Genie's own engineering team publishes them.
Substantive disclosure with a real gap, and the strongest limb here is one the category leaders miss: the vendor built its own citator and publishes precision, recall and F1 tables for it. Published measured accuracy of 93.82 percent average on the Stanford Legal Hallucination Benchmark, broken out by task including case existence, citation retrieval and court identification, plus 94 percent on the Stanford Casehold dataset of 2,400 examples for the citator. Both are public academic datasets, so an outsider can in principle re run them, which is more checkable than a proprietary framework. Two gaps. The published results date from 2024 and no republication against the current product was located as of 29 Aug 2026, which matters under the benchmark half life rule. The AI Confidence Indicator is a confidence signal rather than an explicit no answer path.
Autonomy and Oversight Model
What the system decides on its own, what a lawyer must approve, and whether the vendor documents where the review point sits. A tool that drafts under review and a tool that files without one are different products and different risks.
Autonomy is claimed prominently and the oversight mechanism is not described. Marketing sells agents that draft, review and negotiate contracts autonomously, invites the buyer to control when they need to and delegate when they do not, and describes agents handling complex multi-document cross-border deals. What is published about the review point sits in the agreement rather than the product: clause 3.4 disclaims any guarantee that the software comprehends what is put into it, clause 5.9 states that recommendations, suggestions or actions taken by the software are not legally binding, clause 6.10 prohibits use for automated decision-making with legal or similarly significant effects, and clause 21.7 instructs the user to have a human review each output as appropriate. Those are allocations of responsibility, not a described control structure, and no threshold, review surface or escalation path was located on the home page, the use-case pages or the model training page on 31 Aug 2026. The direction of the gap is worth noting: the marketing sells delegation while the agreement prohibits the automated decision-making that delegation implies.
The product is user directed rather than agentic, and the vendor states plainly across the site that it provides self help services at the user's specific direction and cannot give advice, which is an oversight posture of a kind. The AI Confidence Indicator is a real review aid. What is not published is a described control structure: what the system does on its own, what a lawyer must approve, and what happens after an output is wrong. Searched the site, the platform pages, the terms of service and the help center index on 29 Aug 2026.
Operational and Outcome Evidence
Named, dated evidence that the product works in production at real firms or legal departments. Case studies with figures and identified customers count. Unattributed testimonials and launch announcements do not.
Named customers with named individuals and at least one figure, short of dates and method. The customer stories index carries attributed video case studies: Jude Legg, Compliance Lead at Firefish, on cutting contract review time by more than 50 percent; Jafeth Bulsink, Head of Sales at Bright Renewables, on 25 salespeople negotiating contracts with no legal department; Neil Rowe, Head of Commercial at Cambridge United, on player signings; and Nazmus Tareque of AnthroTek on closing a seed round without using a lawyer. A logo strip of 13 named organisations including hyperexponential, Blockworks and the Jamaica Stock Exchange sits alongside them, and the model training page states that Clifford Chance, Pinsent Masons and Withers ran pilots from 2018. No deployment date, scope or measurement method was located on the pages read on 31 Aug 2026, and the individual case study pages were not opened item by item, so the date and method limbs are rebuttable with a single link.
An unlabelled customer logo strip and three attributed testimonials from named individuals at named organisations stand in for deployment evidence. No figures, no dates, no described method, and no case study located. A 2025 Legalweek Leaders in Tech Law award and a 22 million dollar Series A are recognition and funding rather than production evidence. Individual logos in the strip were not corroborated. Searched the site, the security page and the news and insights index on 29 Aug 2026.
Privilege and Confidentiality Posture
How client confidences are handled: attorney client privilege and work product treatment, segregation of one client matter from another, whether client data trains any model, and what the vendor commits to in writing rather than in marketing.
The published commitment and the published agreement point in opposite directions on the question that decides this axis, and the agreement is what a customer is held to. The security centre states that customer documents, prompts and confidential data are never used to train shared or internal AI models, and the model training page is headlined on never training on your contracts. Clause 7.3 of the product terms grants Genie a non-exclusive, irrevocable, worldwide, perpetual licence to use, copy, display, distribute and reproduce a customer's Documents in order to improve the software and, in terms, its algorithms and models. Clause 6.8 adds that Genie may use Your Data and Documents to make Improvements and clause 7.5 vests ownership of those Improvements in Genie. The model training page narrows its own promise in its FAQ to contracts never being used to train models that other customers see, and states that the 200,000 businesses using Genie contribute new legal context to the corpus through normal use. Substance on the other side is why this is not lower: OpenAI and Anthropic are named and operate under zero data retention agreements, Genie is stated to be processor and the customer controller, a DPA and a subprocessor list are published, and clause 20.7 says directly that communications are not covered by legal professional privilege, which is more candid than most of this market. No tenant or matter-level segregation model is documented and no retention period is published.
Confidentiality is asserted in general terms and the documentation behind it points the other way, so this sits at C on the claim rather than lower. The home page describes a secure closed model prioritising the privacy of legal inquiries. Reading the published documents on 29 Aug 2026: the sitewide footer states that communications with the vendor are not protected by attorney client privilege or as work product; the terms of service require a user to warrant that submissions do not constitute confidential information, in a section scoped to questions, comments, feedback and other information about the Services rather than to uploaded documents; the privacy policy is scoped to website and account information, lists no document or prompt data, and states that the vendor does not process sensitive information, on a product that ingests medical records. No training prohibition, no retention period for uploaded documents, and no matter level segregation was located in any of them.
UPL and Professional Responsibility Posture
Whether the vendor is clear that it supplies a tool rather than legal advice, who its audience is, and how it addresses unauthorized practice of law, competence and supervision duties, and jurisdiction limits. ABA Formal Opinion 512 is the reference point.
A published position on the advice line that is more specific than most of this market, held off an A by two limbs it does not reach. Clause 20 of the product terms states that Genie AI Limited is not a law firm, is not authorised or regulated by any body regulating legal services, and cannot provide reserved legal services including litigation, probate, notarisation and administering oaths, operating only in general commercial matters. It then works through the consequences for the buyer rather than leaving them implied: no requirement to hold professional indemnity insurance, no right to complain to a legal ombudsman, no access to a compensation fund such as the SRA's, and no legal professional privilege over what the user receives. Clause 6.7 excludes domestic, personal and non-commercial use, so there is no consumer-facing surface requiring disclosure. What is missing: nothing published addresses a lawyer's own competence and supervision duties, and the whole treatment is drawn from the England and Wales regulatory perimeter on a product sold across more than 150 jurisdictions including the United States, with no equivalent statement for any of them located on 31 Aug 2026.
A real published position on the advice line, more specific than most of this market, carried in a footer on every page: not a law firm, not a substitute for an attorney, communications not protected by attorney client privilege or as work product, and no advice, explanation, opinion or recommendation about legal rights, remedies, defenses, options, selection of forms or strategies. Jurisdiction is addressed in part, since the terms state the service is not intended for use where that would be contrary to local law. Two things keep it off an A. Nothing published addresses a lawyer's competence and supervision duties. The self help framing sits oddly against marketing aimed at attorneys, so who the disclaimer is written for is not entirely clear.
AI Governance and Bias Disclosure
Published governance over model behaviour: who owns it inside the vendor, what is tested before release, and what is disclosed about disparate output across matter types, parties, or populations.
A described quality mechanism exists where a governance position should be. The model training page sets out a five-layer account in which qualified lawyers contribute training data, set prompt engineering standards, supervise retrieval logic and rate every release against a panel benchmark before it ships, and the security centre publishes a specific EU AI Act position: that Genie is not a high-risk system under the Annex III categories, that the obligations applying to it came into force on 2 August 2026, and that it maintains AI literacy measures for staff operating the system. The substance of this axis is absent. No individual or role inside the vendor is named as accountable for model behaviour, no pre-release testing regime is published beyond accuracy benchmarking, and nothing at all was located on uneven or disparate output across matter types, counterparties or populations. Searched the home page, the model training page, the benchmarks index, the security centre and the product terms on 31 Aug 2026. The ISO 27001 certification covers information security, which is a different subject and does not carry weight here.
Searched the home page, platform pages, security page, the open trust center, the terms of service, the privacy policy and the news and insights index on 29 Aug 2026. No governance position for model behaviour was located: no named internal owner, no pre release testing regime, no responsible AI statement, and nothing on uneven output across matter types, parties or populations. The trust center lists security control families, which is a different subject. The white papers index was not reviewed item by item, so this is rebuttable with a single link.
AI Safety and Data Stewardship
Retention, deletion, access control, and what happens to prompts and documents after they are processed. Whether the vendor states its subprocessors and its incident practice, or leaves the buyer to assume.
Substantive published policy across almost all of this ground, missing one specific that a buyer would need. The security centre publishes a register of 35 controls grouped as an auditor would walk them, including AES-256 at rest and TLS 1.2 or higher in transit, quarterly access reviews recorded in an Access Rights Review Log, a joiner-mover-leaver process, environment segregation, peer-reviewed code with deployment separated from development, tested encrypted backups, a business continuity plan carrying a one-hour recovery time objective for critical services, and documented security and privacy incident response with incidents tracked through an Incident and Corrective Action Log. Breach practice is stated rather than implied: notification to affected customers without undue delay and, where Genie is controller, a report to the UK Information Commissioner's Office within 72 hours. A current subprocessor list names 15 third parties with the purpose, processing location and security measures for each. The gap is retention: the register states only that formal procedures govern the retention and secure disposal of customer data, and no retention period for documents or prompts was located anywhere on 31 Aug 2026, so there is no window to hold the vendor to.
A generic privacy policy covers the website without addressing what happens to documents and prompts after processing. The security page does publish real controls: encryption in transit and at rest, quarterly access reviews on a least access principle, vendor risk management and a security development lifecycle, and the open trust center lists control families. But the privacy policy is scoped to account and marketing data, its retention section speaks only to the life of an account, and the terms say only that certain transmitted data is maintained to manage performance of the service. No retention period for uploaded documents, no subprocessor list, and no incident or breach notification practice was located as of 29 Aug 2026.
AI Liability and Recourse
What the vendor stands behind contractually when its output is wrong. Indemnities, caps, carve outs, insurance, and whether any of it is published or only reachable through a negotiated agreement.
An unusually complete published allocation of loss, short of anything covering the output itself. Clause 18.2 caps aggregate liability at the fees paid or payable in the 12 months before the first event giving rise to the claim, and clause 2.4 sets a separate cap of one thousand pounds for the Free Package. Clause 9 gives the customer a defence and indemnity against third-party claims that use of the software infringes intellectual property rights, with conditions in 9.2, a remedy ladder in 9.3 of procuring a licence, modifying the software or terminating, and six named carve-outs in 9.4 including Your Data and any use under a Free Package. What is absent is recourse when the output is wrong: clause 5.8 excludes liability for reliance on the software's outputs, recommendations or actions, clause 21.3 disclaims any warranty that content is accurate or complete, clause 21.4 excludes all liability for reliance, and clause 20.4 states that Genie is not required to hold professional indemnity insurance and makes no claim to hold any. This sits above a standard limitation clause because a buyer can read the whole allocation, including a real indemnity with a stated scope, before signing.
Liability is addressed only through a standard limitation clause that disclaims the exposure the product creates. The published terms disclaim all warranties including any representation about the accuracy or completeness of content, cap total liability at the amount paid in the six months before the claim, require the user to indemnify the vendor, and state that the vendor has no liability for loss or corruption of transmitted data. No indemnity running to the customer, no warranty on output, and no insurance position was located. This is a C rather than a D because the allocation of loss is published and a buyer can read it before signing.
Practice Systems Integration Depth
How deeply the product reaches into the systems legal work already lives in: document management such as iManage and NetDocuments, Word and Outlook, contract lifecycle management, matter management, e-billing, and court filing systems.
Integration categories are named and no documentation an implementer could use was located. The home page lists MCP connectors, an API, and native integrations with email, CRM, cloud storage and eSign, and the Enterprise tier adds SSO authentication alongside API and MCP integration. A Word add-in has its own use-case page. Against that, every 'Learn more' link on the home page integration card resolves to an anchor rather than a destination, and no developer index, integration directory or help centre documentation was located from the site navigation or the footer on 31 Aug 2026. Nothing was found on the systems this axis asks about for legal work specifically: no document management integration such as iManage or NetDocuments, no matter management, no e-billing and no court filing. That is consistent with a product sold to commercial teams rather than to firms, but it leaves the depth unverifiable. The Word add-in page was not opened, so the depth limb is rebuttable with one link.
Searched the home page, the platform navigation, the pricing page, the security page and the help center index on 29 Aug 2026. No integration into document management, matter management, contract lifecycle or filing systems was located in vendor material, and the platform navigation lists none. A third party review reports a Microsoft Word add in, which is not vendor material and does not move this axis. The product is positioned as a browser based tool for solo and small firm users, which is consistent with standing alone.
Deployment Model and Data Residency
Where the software runs and where the data sits. Multi tenant cloud, single tenant, private deployment, on premises, and whether region of residence is a published option or an enterprise conversation.
Residency is published in more detail than most of this market and the tenancy model is not stated at all. The security centre states that the platform runs on Amazon Web Services with customer documents stored in UK and EU data centres, and the subprocessor table goes further by giving a processing location for each of 15 third parties, which lets a reader separate where data sits from where it is processed: AWS and MongoDB in UK and EU, CloudAMQP in the EU, and OpenAI and Anthropic in US and EU data centres. Two things hold this at B. Nothing published states whether the platform is multi-tenant or single-tenant, and no private, single-tenant or on-premises option and no customer-selectable region was located on 31 Aug 2026. There is also a tension a buyer should read alongside the storage claim: the same subprocessor table lists Google Cloud and Stripe at global data centres, which is broader than the UK and EU statement on the security page.
Cloud delivery is implied and the tenancy model is not stated. The terms of service do state that the service is hosted in the United States and that a user accessing it from elsewhere consents to transfer and processing there, which is a real residency statement and is why this is not lower. Not located as of 29 Aug 2026: any tenancy model, any regional option, any single tenant or private deployment, and any statement of where processing happens as distinct from where data is stored.
Security Certifications and Trust Center
Independent attestation a buyer can pull without a sales call: SOC 2, ISO 27001, penetration test summaries, a trust center with current reports and named scope rather than a badge image.
Certification is real, current and documented to an unusual level of detail, with the report itself the one thing held back. The security centre names the standard as ISO/IEC 27001:2022, gives certificate number 310012019, names the issuing body as Citation ISO Certification, and publishes the original approval date of 7 February 2019, a current certificate dated 7 February 2026, expiry on 6 February 2029, a last external audit on 29 April 2026 and a last management review in June 2026, with the page marked last reviewed 30 July 2026. The vendor also states plainly that it does not hold a SOC 2 report, which is more useful to a buyer than a silent omission. The certificate, the ISMS scope and the Statement of Applicability are available on request under NDA through a named security mailbox with a stated two working day response, which is a promise of follow-up rather than a self-serve download, so the attestation earns no access credit and the ISMS scope, the part a buyer most needs, is what is withheld. The control register refers to independent penetration testing following significant changes but names no testing partner and publishes no summary.
Badges appear with no scope, no date and no report available. There is an open trust center, which is full credit as an access route: it lists SOC 2, ISO 27001 and HIPAA as compliant, GDPR as in progress, and names security control families. What it does not carry is an attestation report, a coverage period, an audit scope or the name of an auditor. Three noun problems compound this and were checked directly on 29 Aug 2026. The security page says the vendor rigorously adheres to these standards, which is adherence rather than attestation. The pricing page describes the platform as HIPAA certified, and HIPAA has no certification scheme, and its annual plan card cites ISO 20701, which is not an existing standard, while the monthly card on the same page cites ISO 27001. Separately, section 1 of the terms of service states that the services are not tailored to comply with industry specific regulations including HIPAA and that a user whose interactions are subject to such laws may not use them, which is what the agreement says alongside a marketing claim of HIPAA compliance and a product that sells medical chronology and medical billing features.
Model Supply Chain Disclosure
Which models sit underneath, whose they are, where they run, and whether the vendor commits to telling customers when that changes. A legal buyer inherits every dependency it cannot see.
The providers are named and the change commitment runs the wrong way. OpenAI and Anthropic are both listed on the published subprocessor table with their purpose, processing locations in US and EU data centres and stated security measures, and the security centre adds that both operate under Zero Data Retention agreements so that inputs and outputs are not retained by the provider after processing. The architecture is described rather than gestured at: the model training page states that Genie passes legal context at inference time instead of fine-tuning, specifically so newer foundation models can be swapped in as they land. Two gaps, checked 31 Aug 2026. No specific model or version is identified for either provider, so a buyer knows whose models but not which. And on notification the subprocessor page states the opposite of a commitment, saying changes will be posted on the page and asking the reader to check back regularly, which puts the burden of noticing a supply chain change on the customer.
Searched the home page, platform pages, security page, the open trust center, the terms of service and the privacy policy on 29 Aug 2026. No model provider is named, no architecture is described, no subprocessor list exists, and there is no commitment to notify customers when the supply chain changes. The vendor refers to operating within a secure closed model without identifying what sits underneath.
Commercial Transparency
Whether a buyer can learn what this costs without entering a sales process: published rates, the unit being charged, what sits behind an enterprise tier, and what implementation adds.
Real pricing across the whole range including a floor for the enterprise tier, which is more than most of this index publishes, held off an A by implementation. The pricing block on the home page carries a figure, a unit and a term for all three tiers: Free at $0 for one user with limited tokens and no document exports, Pro from $75 per month for one user with enough usage for roughly five documents, and Enterprise from $600 per month for unlimited users and unlimited tokens. Each tier's contents are itemised rather than summarised, and signup is self-serve with no credit card required. Two things hold it at B. Every figure carries a 'From', so each is a floor rather than a rate. And nothing published states what onboarding, the dedicated customer success manager or the bespoke AI training programme bundled into Enterprise actually add. A buyer should also note a currency mismatch: prices display in US dollars while clause 13.3 of the product terms states that payment will be made in pounds sterling unless stated otherwise.
Real pricing is published for part of the range with the enterprise tier withheld, which is the B band exactly and two letters above anything else on this index so far. The pricing page publishes a figure, a unit and a term: $499 per user per month, or $2,999 per user per year billed annually, with the plan contents itemised. Signup is self serve with a 7 day free trial, and the terms of service disclose the exact card authorization hold of $499. The enterprise tier is custom and volume based with no figure, no floor and no seat minimum published, and what implementation adds is not stated for either tier, which is what holds this off an A.
Firm and Practice Coverage
Who the product is actually built for. AmLaw, midlaw, small firm and solo, in house departments, government and courts, and which practice areas are supported rather than merely claimed.
Coverage is documented precisely on the dimensions the vendor sells, and the limits are stated in the agreement rather than left open, which is rare on this axis. Dedicated pages exist for six user groups including in-house lawyers, procurement, sales, finance and founders, for three company types across startup, mid-market and enterprise, and for six industries including energy, construction, technology, real estate, mining and sport. The Enterprise tier states coverage of more than 150 jurisdictions and ten languages. The boundary statement is unusually explicit: clause 20.2 of the product terms names what Genie cannot do, being reserved legal services including litigation, probate, notarisation and administering oaths, and confines the product to general commercial matters, while clause 6.7 excludes domestic, personal and non-commercial use. What is absent is the firm dimension this axis also asks about. No law firm segmentation was located, nothing addresses government or court use, and the practice dimension is expressed as industry verticals rather than areas of law, so a reader learns which sectors are served but not which law is covered.
Segment and practice coverage is described with substance. Named segments are solo attorneys, small and midsize firms and in house teams, with dedicated pages for personal injury, family law, employment law, criminal law and corporate law. The research coverage page is an unusually concrete boundary statement in one dimension, naming every federal and state database included by jurisdiction and court, which tells a buyer exactly where coverage stops. Not located as of 29 Aug 2026: any treatment of government or court use, and any statement of which firm sizes or practice areas the product is not built for.
The 12 legal signals, side by side
Recorded rather than graded. These are the questions a practitioner has to answer before a tool touches a client matter, and the answers are taken from public material only.
Client Data in Training
Can material a lawyer puts into this product be used to train a model?
The published agreement permits what the marketing says never happens, and it is not even qualified by de-identification. Clause 7.3.2 of the product terms grants Genie an irrevocable perpetual licence to use a customer's Documents to develop and improve its algorithms and models, and clause 6.8 adds that Genie may use Your Data and Documents to make Improvements. Against that, the security centre and a dedicated model training policy both state that customer documents, prompts and confidential data are never used to train shared or internal AI models. Where the marketing and the agreement disagree the agreement governs. The vendor's own model training page narrows the promise in the same direction, limiting it to contracts never being used to train models that other customers see, and stating that the 200,000 businesses using Genie contribute new legal context to the corpus through normal use. No opt-out from the clause 7.3.2 licence was located. Moved from policy-never on 1 September 2026.
Read the terms of service dated 27 Feb 2026, the privacy policy dated 20 Feb 2026 and the security page on 29 Aug 2026. No located term or policy addresses training on customer content either way. The contribution license clause grants the vendor rights to access, store, process and use information the user provides, following the privacy policy, and the privacy policy is scoped to website and account information and does not mention uploaded documents, prompts or model training. Home page language about a secure closed model is not a training commitment.
Prompt and Output Retention
How long does the product keep what a lawyer typed, and can that be set to zero?
Retention is acknowledged in the security centre control register without a stated period, and the same register states that on contract termination customer data can be returned or securely deleted in line with the customer agreement. Read the security centre and the product terms on 31 Aug 2026: no retention window for documents, prompts or outputs is published, no customer configuration of a window is described, and no zero-retention option is offered at the Genie layer. Zero data retention is stated for the third-party model providers rather than for Genie's own storage.
The terms of service acknowledge that data transmitted to the service is maintained for the purpose of managing performance, with no period stated and no customer control described. The privacy policy retention section speaks only to personal information for the life of an account and does not address documents or prompts. No zero retention option was located as of 29 Aug 2026.
Ethical Walls and Matter Segregation
Does retrieval respect the firm’s ethical walls, or can the model read across them?
Separation is asserted at the organisation level on the home page security section and supported by product features described as privacy-aware document sharing, business department spaces on the Pro tier, and a role model of Workspace Owner, Administrator and Authorised User in which the Workspace Owner sets access rights. How that separation is enforced is not published: searched the home page, the security centre, the subprocessor page and the product terms on 31 Aug 2026 and located no description of tenancy separation, no access control model for retrieval, and no statement of whether one department space can be reached from another. The buyer here is an in-house or commercial team rather than a firm, so the question is tenant-level separation rather than matter-level walls.
Searched the home page, platform pages, security page, the open trust center, the terms of service and the help center index on 29 Aug 2026. No vendor material addresses ethical walls or matter level segregation. No document management system integration was located either, so there is no source system permission model for retrieval to inherit. The security page documents least access controls for vendor personnel, which is a different question.
Third Party Request and Subpoena Notice
If someone subpoenas the vendor for a firm’s data, does the firm hear about it first?
Clause 22.6 of the product terms permits disclosure of Confidential Information where required by law, a governmental or regulatory authority or a court, on condition that the disclosing party, to the extent legally permitted, gives the other party as much notice as possible and takes account of its reasonable requests about the content. The commitment sits in the mutual confidentiality clause rather than in a dedicated government or law enforcement request clause, so it reaches customer material through the definition of Confidential Information rather than by naming customer data directly. No transparency report was located on 31 Aug 2026.
Read the terms of service and the privacy policy in full on 29 Aug 2026. Neither contains a government or law enforcement request clause. The privacy policy section on when and with whom information is shared names only business transfers such as a merger or acquisition. No commitment to notify a customer of a third party request was located, and no transparency report exists.
Primary Law Corpus Provenance
Where does the law in this product come from, and does the vendor have the right to use it?
The model training page identifies the corpus by composition and origin: more than 300,000 contracts and 10 million clause revisions built since 2017, plus open-source templates, legislation and case law spanning the US and UK legal systems and described elsewhere as 150 jurisdictions. It also states where the corpus came from, naming pilots with Clifford Chance, Pinsent Masons and Withers from 2018 and continuing contributions from the 200,000 businesses now using the product. No individual database or source is named for the legislation and case law, no licence or public domain basis is stated for any component, and no update cadence or lag is published.
The vendor publishes a research coverage page that names its source databases individually rather than by jurisdiction alone: United States Code, the Constitution, the Code of Federal Regulations, every federal circuit and the Supreme Court, six named administrative tribunals, and for each state and territory the statutes, administrative code, court rules and named courts. That is unusually specific for this market. What is not stated is the licence or public domain basis for any of it, and no update cadence or lag is published.
Good Law Verification
Does the product tell you when the authority it just cited has been overruled?
Searched the home page, the use-case pages, the model training page, the benchmarks index and the product terms on 31 Aug 2026. Nothing addresses whether authority is checked for subsequent history, and no citator, treatment signal or good law indicator was located. The product drafts and reviews contracts rather than retrieving primary law for research, so a citator is not part of what it sells, although its corpus is stated to include legislation and case law and one published benchmark scores a legal authority citations dimension.
The vendor built and surfaces its own treatment signal, the Paxton AI Citator, described as patent pending, which reports whether a case has been overruled, affirmed, questioned or cited by later cases and returns explanations in Bluebook format. The method is described and quantified: evaluated against the Stanford Casehold dataset of 2,400 examples with published precision, recall and F1 figures by case type. It is the vendor's own signal rather than a licensed commercial citator such as Shepard's or KeyCite. The published evaluation dates from 2024 and no republication against the current product was located.
Refusal and Uncertainty Behaviour
What does the product do when the answer is not in the corpus?
Searched the home page, the model training page, the benchmarks index, the security centre and the product terms on 31 Aug 2026. No explicit no-answer or abstention path is documented and no confidence or grounding score was located. The nearest published material points elsewhere: the home page describes a quality-gated system that validates outputs at every stage and prevents hallucinations before they impact the final result, which is a claim about prevention rather than abstention, and the model training page says qualified lawyers review where the model should defer, which describes a design review rather than published product behaviour. Clause 3.4 of the product terms disclaims any guarantee that the software comprehends what is put into it.
The product exposes an AI Confidence Indicator, announced alongside the vendor's benchmark results and described as helping a lawyer judge the reliability of a response. Searched the site, platform pages, benchmark posts and help center index on 29 Aug 2026 and located no explicit no answer or abstention path, and no published statement of what the product does when it cannot ground an answer.
Fabricated Citation Record
Does a public court record exist involving output from this product?
No court order, opinion or disciplinary record naming this product has been located as of 31 Aug 2026. Instrument searched: the AI Hallucination Cases database maintained by Damien Charlotin, which tracks decisions worldwide where a court addressed hallucinated AI content and records the tool implicated where known, searched on both the product name and the company name Genie AI Limited, alongside 2026 sanctions summaries in the trade press. This is a statement about the public record on the date shown rather than a clearance, and it is bounded by what that database covers. The product drafts and reviews contracts rather than producing court filings, so its output does not commonly take the form of citations in a brief.
No court order, opinion or disciplinary record naming this product has been located as of 29 Aug 2026. Instrument searched: the AI Hallucination Cases database maintained by Damien Charlotin, which tracks court decisions worldwide involving AI generated hallucinated content and records the AI tool implicated where it is known. Also checked published 2026 sanctions summaries and secondary sanctions trackers. The entries located name filers, and in some rows other products, rather than this one. This is a statement about the public record on the date shown and not a clearance, and it is bounded by what that database covers.
Bar Guidance Alignment
Has the vendor engaged in public with the ethics opinions its buyers are bound by?
Clause 20 of the product terms engages with professional responsibility in specific terms but does not name ethics guidance. It states that Genie is not a law firm and not regulated for legal services, identifies reserved legal activities it cannot perform, and names the consequences for the buyer including no legal ombudsman route and no access to a compensation fund such as the SRA's. Searched the home page, the model training page, the security centre, the benchmarks index and the legal pages on 31 Aug 2026: no engagement with any named ethics opinion was located, including ABA Formal Opinion 512, US state bar guidance, and Law Society or SRA guidance on the use of AI. The material describes Genie's own regulatory status rather than the obligations its buyers are bound by.
Searched the home page, platform and practice area pages, the news and insights index, the white papers index and the webinars page on 29 Aug 2026. No engagement with any named ethics opinion was located, including ABA Formal Opinion 512 and state bar guidance. The sitewide footer carries a specific unauthorized practice disclaimer, which is a statement about the vendor's own role rather than engagement with the guidance its buyers are bound by.
Billing and Fee Posture
Does the vendor address what happens to the bill when the work takes an hour instead of six?
Public materials are framed around time and cost saved, including a customer quote on cutting contract review time by more than 50 percent, another on closing a funding round without using a lawyer, and marketing copy on intelligence greater than a law firm at a fraction of the price. Searched the home page, the pricing block, the use-case pages and the legal pages on 31 Aug 2026 and located no per matter record of AI-assisted work intended for fee purposes and no published guidance on billing, fee or client disclosure treatment. The product is sold to business teams rather than to firms billing a client, so the fee question arrives differently here, but nothing addresses it either way.
Vendor material is framed around time saved, describing streamlined document analysis to save time and accelerate decisions, with testimonials quoting time savings. Searched the site, platform pages, help center index and legal pages on 29 Aug 2026 and located no per matter record of AI assisted work intended for fee purposes, and no published guidance on billing, fee or client disclosure treatment.
Outside Counsel Guideline Readiness
Can a firm get this vendor through a client’s AI clause without a bespoke negotiation?
A current subprocessor list is published without a gate, naming 15 third parties with the purpose of processing, the location and the security measures for each, and identifying OpenAI and Anthropic as the model providers that see content. A standard data processing agreement including the EU Standard Contractual Clauses and the UK International Data Transfer Addendum is published alongside it, as is a model training policy. What was not located on 31 Aug 2026 is client-facing material a firm or department could forward to satisfy an AI clause: no consent or notification pack, and the ISO 27001 certificate, ISMS scope and Statement of Applicability are available only on request under NDA.
The open trust center publishes compliance badges and security control families with no gate, which is a real access route. What a firm would need to satisfy a client AI clause is absent: searched the trust center, the security page, the terms of service and the privacy policy on 29 Aug 2026 and located no subprocessor list, no statement of which model providers see customer content, and no client facing consent or notification material. There is also no data processing agreement published.
Court Disclosure Support
If a judge’s standing order requires an AI disclosure, can the product produce one?
Some elements of a record exist as a by-product of how the product works. The home page states that Genie edits, redlines and manages negotiations directly in tracked changes and that the result exports to Word, so what the AI changed in a document is attributable and portable, and a version comparison feature shows what changed between documents. Two elements are missing: the model used is not disclosed anywhere on the property, and no export designed to cover model, sources retrieved and human verification together was located on 31 Aug 2026. The product generates contracts rather than court filings, so a judicial standing order is not its usual context.
Some elements of a disclosure record are available. The product returns citations with the relevant sources highlighted, and the citator produces a treatment result with a written explanation, so sources retrieved and their status can be shown per answer. Two elements are missing: the model used is not disclosed anywhere on the property, and no per document export covering model, sources and human verification together was located as of 29 Aug 2026.
Which one fits
Choose Genie AI if
- Your reviewer wants the certificate, not the badge. Genie AI names the standard as ISO/IEC 27001:2022, gives certificate number 310012019 and the issuing body as Citation ISO Certification, publishes the original approval date, the current certificate date, the expiry, the last external audit on 29 April 2026 and the last management review, and states plainly that it does not hold a SOC 2 report.
- A client asks which third parties touch its contracts. Genie AI publishes a subprocessor list naming fifteen third parties with the purpose, processing location and security measures for each, identifies OpenAI and Anthropic as the model providers operating under zero data retention agreements, and states that customer documents are stored in United Kingdom and European Union data centres.
- You need to know what you give up by buying from an unregulated provider. Clause 20 of Genie AI's product terms states that it is not a law firm and not regulated for legal services, cannot perform reserved legal activities including litigation and probate, and then works through the consequences: no professional indemnity requirement, no legal ombudsman, no compensation fund and no legal professional privilege.
Choose Paxton AI if
- You want accuracy measured on something an outsider could re run. Paxton AI publishes 93.82 per cent average on the Stanford Legal Hallucination Benchmark broken out by task, including case existence, citation retrieval and court identification, and 94 per cent on the Stanford CaseHold dataset of 2,400 examples for its citator, with precision, recall and F1 figures published by case type.
- You need to know whether a case still stands. Paxton AI built its own citator, reporting whether a case has been overruled, affirmed, questioned or cited by later cases with explanations in Bluebook format, and publishes a research coverage page naming its sources database by database, including the United States Code, the Code of Federal Regulations, every federal circuit and, for each state, the statutes, administrative code, court rules and named courts.
- You want to buy a seat without a sales process. Paxton AI publishes 499 dollars per user per month or 2,999 dollars per user per year billed annually, itemises what the plan includes, sells through self signup with a seven day free trial, and discloses the exact card authorisation hold in its terms.
In summary
Genie AI
Genie AI is a contract drafting, review and negotiation platform sold to business teams rather than law firms, with in house legal setting the playbooks that commercial, procurement and sales colleagues work within, drafting from templates, reviewing third party paper, redlining in tracked changes and running multi document workflows. The AI Legal Index grades it in the top two bands on ten of fifteen capability axes. Its strongest published material is documentary: ISO/IEC 27001:2022 with the certificate number, issuing body and audit dates, a register of 35 controls, a subprocessor list naming fifteen third parties with processing locations, and prices published across all three tiers. As of 31 August 2026 the index located no retention period, no AI governance material and no accuracy figure for generated output.
Paxton AI
Paxton AI is a self serve legal AI assistant aimed at solo attorneys, small and midsize firms and in house teams, covering research, drafting, document analysis, medical chronologies and medical billing summaries, sold through self signup rather than a sales process. The AI Legal Index grades it in the top two bands on five of fifteen capability axes, with an A on AI centrality. It is one of very few records in the index publishing measured accuracy on public academic datasets, reporting 93.82 per cent average on the Stanford Legal Hallucination Benchmark and 94 per cent on CaseHold for its own citator, and it publishes 499 dollars per user per month. As of 29 August 2026 the index located no named model provider, no training position and no AI governance material.
Questions buyers ask
Genie AI vs Paxton AI: which is better for a small firm?
The AI Legal Index places Genie AI in the top two bands on ten of fifteen capability axes and Paxton AI on five. Genie publishes far more paperwork: a certificate to its number and dates, a fifteen entry subprocessor list, an indemnity with a remedy ladder and a full account of its regulatory position. Paxton publishes the one thing Genie does not, which is measured accuracy on public academic datasets. Both publish a price, which is rare in this market.
How much do Genie AI and Paxton AI cost?
Both publish figures. Genie AI prices three tiers on its home page: Free at zero for one user, Pro from 75 dollars per month, and Enterprise from 600 dollars per month for unlimited users, each marked from, so each is a floor rather than a rate. Paxton AI publishes 499 dollars per user per month or 2,999 dollars per user per year with a seven day free trial and self signup, with only its enterprise tier withheld. Neither states what implementation adds. Graded by AI Legal Index against 15 capability axes and 12 legal signals, including privilege handling and citation accuracy, from each vendor's own published materials, verified September 3, 2026. No vendor pays for placement.
Does Genie AI train its AI on your contracts?
Two documents answer differently and the index records the agreement. Genie AI's security centre and its model training policy state that customer documents, prompts and confidential data are never used to train shared or internal AI models. Clause 7.3.2 of the product terms grants Genie an irrevocable, perpetual, worldwide licence to use a customer's documents to develop and improve its algorithms and models, and clause 6.8 adds that Genie may use customer data and documents to make improvements. No opt out was located. Graded by AI Legal Index against 15 capability axes and 12 legal signals, including privilege handling and citation accuracy, from each vendor's own published materials, verified September 3, 2026. No vendor pays for placement.
What does Paxton AI publish about security certifications?
An open trust centre lists SOC 2, ISO 27001 and HIPAA as compliant and GDPR as in progress, and names security control families, with no attestation report, coverage period, audit scope or auditor published. Two documents describe HIPAA differently: the pricing page calls the platform HIPAA certified, while section 1 of the terms of service states that the services are not tailored to comply with industry specific regulations including HIPAA and that users whose interactions are subject to such laws may not use them. Graded by AI Legal Index against 15 capability axes and 12 legal signals, including privilege handling and citation accuracy, from each vendor's own published materials, verified September 3, 2026. No vendor pays for placement.
What do Genie AI and Paxton AI both leave unpublished?
Neither publishes an AI governance position: no accountable owner, no pre release testing regime and nothing on uneven output across matter types or populations. Neither states a retention period for documents, prompts or outputs. Neither documents what the product does when it cannot ground an answer, although Paxton exposes a confidence indicator. And neither names an ethics opinion, including ABA Formal Opinion 512. Graded by AI Legal Index against 15 capability axes and 12 legal signals, including privilege handling and citation accuracy, from each vendor's own published materials, verified September 3, 2026. No vendor pays for placement.
Two things need both documents named. On Genie AI, the security centre and a dedicated model training policy state that customer documents, prompts and confidential data are never used to train shared or internal AI models, while clause 7.3.2 of the product terms grants Genie an irrevocable perpetual licence to use a customer's documents to develop and improve its algorithms and models, with no de identification qualifier and no opt out located; the index records the agreement, because that is the document that governs. On Paxton AI, the published benchmark results date from 2024 and no republication against the current product was located, which matters because a figure from two model generations ago is weaker evidence than the same figure published this year. Genie AI was verified on 31 August 2026 and Paxton AI on 29 August 2026. Neither vendor reviewed this page.
Neither vendor paid for inclusion, placement or a grade, and neither reviewed this page before it published. Everything above comes from public material on the dates shown. How the index grades.