Jus Mundi vs Vincent AI: how they compare in 2026
Jus Mundi and Vincent AI are rarely weighed against each other. Jus Mundi is built for international arbitration and treaty law, while Vincent AI, now owned by Clio, is a general research assistant over law from more than 100 countries. They meet at the cross border practice that needs both. Vincent AI sits in the top two bands on nine of fifteen axes and Jus Mundi on eight of fifteen, identical on four. Vincent AI's lead is measurement and firm controls. An independent evaluator scored it and praised it for declining to answer without enough data, its Cert citator checks whether cited law is still valid, and the customer sets how long chats are kept. Jus Mundi's lead is governance and price. It holds ISO 42001 for AI management alongside ISO 27001 and SOC 2, names Azure OpenAI as its model service, and publishes a practitioner price of €129 a month. Neither publishes a liability position.
At a glance
All 15 axes, side by side
The same grid applied to every vendor in the index, graded from public sources. Hover a grade to see what the letter means on that axis.
AI Centrality
How much of the product is actually AI. Whether the machine learning is the mechanism the buyer is paying for or a feature layered onto conventional software, and whether the vendor is specific about which is which.
The models are the engine of a core capability layered on a product that would still function without them. Jus AI answers, assesses, compares, drafts and translates over the database, and the vendor states it has trained models on its corpus since 2019; remove the models and the search engine, filters, interactive documents, CiteMap, Wiki notes and analytics remain, which is the research database the company sold before Jus AI launched in June 2023 and still sells on the Academic and Essentials plans without the assistant. Home page, pricing page and 2023 launch release read 6 September 2026.
The artificial intelligence is the product. Vincent is an AI assistant sold as such, running more than 20 generative workflows across research, litigation and transactions, with a hybrid pipeline combining generative and rules based components and vector search organizing the underlying corpus. The vLex database it retrieves from is the grounding corpus rather than a separate workflow product that would stand without the models, which is the same structure as CoCounsel on Westlaw and is graded the same way.
Citation Accuracy and Hallucination Disclosure
Whether the vendor publishes measured accuracy on citations and assertions, grounds output to primary sources, and says plainly what its system does when it does not know. Legal has a documented public record of fabricated citations reaching filed briefs, so an untested claim of accuracy is not evidence.
Grounding is real and documented with linked primary sources, short of a testable accuracy figure. The home page states that Jus AI delivers fully cited answers from exclusive Jus Mundi data, that every reasoning step can be verified, each citation checked and each source traced to its origin, and the primary documents are the company's own database of awards, decisions, treaties and laws, kept openly accessible in a free light version so a reader can open what is cited. No accuracy figure, test set, benchmark or hallucination rate is published on the surfaces read, and the security page, which may carry more, could not be fetched. Home page and pricing page read 6 September 2026.
Independent measurement, a named verification mechanism and grounding a reader can open. Vincent AI participated in the February 2025 Vals Legal AI Report, opting into six tasks, second only to Harvey, and scored between 53.6 and 72.7 percent, beating the lawyer baseline on document question answering at 72.7 percent, transcript analysis at 64.8 percent and document summarization at 58.9 percent. Those figures sit on the evaluator's site and the vendor publishes them too. The evaluator recorded something more valuable than the scores: it praised the product for refusing to answer where it lacked sufficient data rather than returning a hallucinated answer, and noted plainly that those refusals lowered its own scores. A product penalized for declining to guess is the clearest evidence on this axis anywhere in the index. Grounding is real and mechanised: every research output carries citations to primary sources with direct links, plus a Cert Citator check confirming whether the cited law remains valid. The vendor claims randomised controlled trials showing 3.67 times more reliability than leading language models, which is a strong claim with no published method located and is recorded rather than relied on. Two limits recorded rather than deducted for. The vendor's own framing of the Vals results, meeting or surpassing human benchmarks in four of five tasks, uses a different denominator from the evaluator, which reports six tasks entered and three above baseline. And vLex agreed to participate in the later Vals legal research study then withdrew before results were published, stating the study was not designed for enterprise AI tools; that withdrawal is a real limit on how much of this product has been independently measured.
Autonomy and Oversight Model
What the system decides on its own, what a lawyer must approve, and whether the vendor documents where the review point sits. A tool that drafts under review and a tool that files without one are different products and different risks.
A written commitment that the models work alongside a verifying lawyer with a real review surface, short of the full control structure. The vendor describes agentic legal reasoning that guides research with clarity and structure and exposes every reasoning step for verification, with citations traceable to source; the assistant answers and drafts for a practitioner to check. What is not published is a threshold at which any agentic step acts without review or a stated route back after a wrong answer beyond the user's verification. Home page and security-page excerpt read 6 September 2026.
A real published commitment with genuine review surfaces, short of thresholds. The product is positioned as a first draft assistant, with the vendor's chief strategy officer stating publicly that lawyers still bear responsibility for validating research results even when using an AI assistant. Review surfaces are concrete: a user sees the sources an answer rests on and can exclude specific sources, every output carries citations with direct links and a Cert validity check, and the Clio Operate integration gives every interaction an audit trail with access scoped as narrowly as a single matter. The vendor frames this as giving lawyers a clear path back to the source before an answer reaches a client, negotiation, filing or courtroom. Not located as of 29 Aug 2026: what any workflow does unaided, a threshold at which it stops or escalates, and what the vendor commits to when an output is wrong.
Operational and Outcome Evidence
Named, dated evidence that the product works in production at real firms or legal departments. Case studies with figures and identified customers count. Unattributed testimonials and launch announcements do not.
Testimonials and a client wall stand in for named deployments with figures on the surfaces read. The home page states that clients' experiences are the strongest signal and points to case stories about winning strategies and time saved, and a customer is quoted on the security page, unnamed in the excerpt, about confidence in uploading documents given ISO 27001 certification; the seed names Freshfields and White & Case as customers, which was not confirmed on a vendor surface read. The Meet Our Clients section and case stories were not opened and are the rebuttal route. Home page and pricing page read 6 September 2026.
Scale claims and testimonials stand in for deployment evidence. The vendor states Vincent is trusted by 8 of the 10 top law firms worldwide and publishes an attributed customer testimonial about the relationship, and independent benchmark participation is real. But a share of top firms is a market claim without names, and the Vals result is test set performance rather than a production outcome. Searched the vendor site, the Vincent product pages, the Clio press material and the vLex news section on 29 Aug 2026 and located no named customer paired with figures, a date and an assessable method.
Privilege and Confidentiality Posture
How client confidences are handled: attorney client privilege and work product treatment, segregation of one client matter from another, whether client data trains any model, and what the vendor commits to in writing rather than in marketing.
Confidentiality is addressed with two specific commitments and the rest of the picture could not be read. Segregation: the help center states that assistant interactions are hosted on a separate and locked database, and the vendor states confidentiality is the foundation for sensitive casework. Third-party providers: the security page names Microsoft's Azure OpenAI Service and the enterprise plan connects Jus AI to a firm's own documents. Not established: any statement on training use, since the security page returned bot detection on fetch and the user terms were not read; any retention commitment; and any treatment of privilege or work product. The subscription agreement that governs firms is separate and not published. Home page, help center excerpt and security-page excerpt read 6 September 2026.
Substantive published commitments with the best retention answer on the index, held off an A by one limb. Retention is published with a period and customer control: the customer selects the retention window for conversation logs and files, defaulting to one year, after which data is permanently deleted. Segregation is documented at matter level through the Clio Operate integration, which the vendor states inherits the firm's existing permissions, ethical walls and audit trail with access scoped as narrowly as a single matter, and Vincent itself is described as multi tenant with each client's data logically isolated. Role based access control governs internal access. Zero retention agreements are stated with the language model providers, and Clio states no sensitive data is retained by the model. What holds this off an A is the training limb, which the A band names alongside retention and segregation: searched the vendor site, the Vincent pages, the security knowledge base article and the Clio press material on 29 Aug 2026 and located no statement of whether vLex itself may train on customer content. Provider retention and vendor training are different questions and the located material answers only the first.
UPL and Professional Responsibility Posture
Whether the vendor is clear that it supplies a tool rather than legal advice, who its audience is, and how it addresses unauthorized practice of law, competence and supervision duties, and jurisdiction limits. ABA Formal Opinion 512 is the reference point. Where the advice line is not the duty a product raises, the axis is read through the nearest professional duty it does raise: judicial conduct rules and the reviewing duty for products sold only to courts, and the duty to bill for time actually spent for products that draft time entries.
No advice line or supervision statement was located on the surfaces read. The user terms describe the service as a research platform providing know-how and resources to international law and arbitration practitioners, and the product is sold to practitioners, firms, states and academics; whether the terms disclaim legal advice or address a practitioner's duties was not established because the terms were read only in excerpt. No jurisdiction limit beyond the subject-matter scope is named. User terms excerpt and home page read 6 September 2026; the full terms are the rebuttal route.
A real position on the lawyer's continuing responsibility, published in substance rather than as a disclaimer. The vendor positions Vincent as a first draft assistant and its chief strategy officer has stated publicly that lawyers still bear responsibility for validating their research results even when using an AI assistant, with the Cert validity check framed as giving a clear path back to the source before an answer reaches a client, negotiation, filing or courtroom. The audience is professional throughout, spanning law firms from solo through global, corporate legal departments, courts, government agencies, bar associations and academia, with no consumer surface located. Short of an A because competence and supervision duties are not addressed as such, and because no jurisdiction limits are stated despite coverage across more than 100 countries where professional rules differ materially. Recorded with the sourcing noted: the responsibility statement appears in trade coverage quoting an executive rather than in a standing published policy.
AI Governance and Bias Disclosure
Published governance over model behavior: who owns it inside the vendor, what is tested before release, and what is disclosed about disparate output across matter types, parties, or populations.
A published, independently audited governance framework, short of testing results or a named owner. The security page states that with ISO 42001 the company went further than security certification to show its AI is built responsibly and to the highest ethical standards, alongside ISO 27001 and SOC 2; the home page describes exposing every reasoning step as transparency. ISO 42001 is an audited AI management system standard and carries more weight than a self-published principles page; no test results, bias findings or accountable owner are published on the surfaces read, and the security page could not be fetched in full. Security-page excerpt and home page read 6 September 2026.
Principles and evaluation are published without a governance mechanism a buyer could audit. Real elements exist: participation in an independent benchmark with results published including unflattering ones, a stated hybrid architecture combining generative and rules based components for reliability, a claimed randomised controlled trial program, and Vincent Studio described as embedding firm processes into workflows with consistency and governance. Searched the vendor site, the Vincent pages, the security knowledge base and the Clio press material on 29 Aug 2026 and located no published AI governance framework, no AI management certification such as ISO 42001, no named owner of model governance, no pre release testing gate, and nothing on uneven output across matter types, parties or populations.
AI Safety and Data Stewardship
Retention, deletion, access control, and what happens to prompts and documents after they are processed. Whether the vendor states its subprocessors and its incident practice, or leaves the buyer to assume.
Some of the ground is covered and the surface that carries the rest could not be read. Stated: assistant interactions on a separate locked database, encryption, ISO 27001 and SOC 2 certification, Azure OpenAI as the model service. Not located on readable surfaces: a retention period, a deletion commitment, a sub-processor list or an incident-notification practice; the security page and trust center returned bot detection on fetch and are the rebuttal route, together with the privacy charter, which was not opened. Home page, help center excerpt and security-page excerpt read 6 September 2026.
Substantive published policy covering most of the ground, at a level of specificity few records here reach. Published in the vendor's security knowledge base: customer selectable data retention for conversation logs and files defaulting to one year with permanent deletion after, role based access control restricting internal access to authorized personnel under documented circumstances, logical isolation per client in a multi tenant application, encryption described, and regular independent assessments with real time monitoring to identify vulnerabilities. A trust center is published for obtaining certification reports. Zero retention agreements bind the language model providers. Not located as of 29 Aug 2026: a named subprocessor list, and an incident or breach notification practice.
AI Liability and Recourse
What the vendor stands behind contractually when its output is wrong. Indemnities, caps, carve outs, insurance, and whether any of it is published or only reachable through a negotiated agreement.
No liability position was located on the surfaces that could be read. The user terms, read in excerpt, define the services, materials and subscription structure without a located indemnity, cap, warranty or insurance position, and the subscription agreement that governs firms is stated in the Jus Connect terms to be a separate document, which is not published. This records what is locatable on the date and not a finding that no position exists; the full user terms and the subscription agreement are the rebuttal route. User terms excerpt and Jus Connect terms excerpt read 6 September 2026.
Searched the vendor site navigation, the Vincent product pages, the security knowledge base, the vLex news section and the Clio press material on 29 Aug 2026. No published indemnity, liability cap, carve out, warranty on output or insurance position was located, and no customer terms of service or master agreement was located as published on the property. Recorded as a pure absence on the surfaces reached. Rebuttable with one link, and worth noting that for a vendor of this scale, now part of a larger public facing company, published terms may well exist somewhere the searches run did not surface.
Practice Systems Integration Depth
How deeply the product reaches into the systems legal work already lives in: document management such as iManage and NetDocuments, Word and Outlook, contract lifecycle management, matter management, e-billing, and court filing systems.
Integrations are referred to without documentation an implementer could use on the surfaces read. The help center headline describes an agent-to-agent integration bringing arbitration AI to where users already work, and the AI Enterprise plan connects Jus AI to a firm's own document database; nothing read names the systems, what syncs or in which direction, and no document management system is named. Help center index and pricing page read 6 September 2026.
Real integrations exist, are named, and include the legal specific ones that matter. Named: Microsoft Word, Microsoft Outlook, and iManage, the document management system a firm facing research product most needs, plus a deep integration with Clio Operate under which Vincent runs inside the firm's existing permissions, ethical walls and audit trail. That last is integration at the permission layer rather than the file layer, which is materially deeper than a connector. Vincent Studio adds a no code workflow builder for enterprise customers to embed firm processes. Not located as of 29 Aug 2026: per integration documentation describing what each connector moves, in which direction, and what an administrator configures, and no integrations index page was reached.
Deployment Model and Data Residency
Where the software runs and where the data sits. Multi tenant cloud, single tenant, private deployment, on premises, and whether region of residence is a published option or an enterprise conversation.
Cloud delivery is stated and neither tenancy nor region is addressed on readable surfaces. The security page names Microsoft's Azure OpenAI Service as the model service and the help center a separate locked database for assistant interactions; no region, residency option or tenancy model is stated in the material read, and the security page could not be fetched in full. Security-page excerpt and help center excerpt read 6 September 2026.
The tenancy model is stated and residency is not. The vendor publishes that Vincent is a multi tenant application with each client's data logically isolated and secured, which is a clear and honest statement of the deployment model and is more than several records here disclose. Searched the vendor site, the Vincent pages, the security knowledge base and the Clio press material on 29 Aug 2026 and located no hosting provider, no named regions, no customer selectable residency, and no statement of where processing happens as distinct from where data is stored. For a product serving more than 100 countries and marketed on cross border capability, published residency options would be expected and none was located.
Security Certifications and Trust Center
Independent attestation a buyer can pull without a sales call: SOC 2, ISO 27001, penetration test summaries, a trust center with current reports and named scope rather than a badge image.
Certifications are real and stated on the vendor's own surface with a trust center, short of a report reachable without asking. The security page states ISO 27001 and SOC 2 as proof of security and confidentiality by design and ISO 42001 for responsible AI, and points to a trust center for the measures and certifications; a customer is quoted on the ISO 27001 certification. No certifying body, coverage period or report route is stated in the excerpt read, and the page and trust center returned bot detection on fetch, so the access tier is not established and the lower tier is graded. Security-page excerpt read 6 September 2026.
Certification is named, dated and reachable, which is the combination this axis rewards. SOC 2 certification was obtained in January 2025 and ISO 27001 certification achieved in June 2025, both stated with the month and year rather than as undated badges. A vLex Trust Center is published as the route to obtain the official certification reports for a firm's due diligence, alongside an account representative path, which under the three tier test is a self serve request flow rather than a sales gate. The vendor further states its security systems undergo regular independent assessments and real time monitoring. Short only of naming the auditing firm and stating the audit coverage period, neither of which was located as of 29 Aug 2026.
Model Supply Chain Disclosure
Which models sit underneath, whose they are, where they run, and whether the vendor commits to telling customers when that changes. A legal buyer inherits every dependency it cannot see.
The supply chain is partly disclosed. The security page states that Azure OpenAI Service enables Jus Mundi to offer its data security and that Microsoft makes AI available to the user community under its security and privacy controls, which names the provider and hosting arrangement; the 2023 launch release describes in-house machine-learning models trained on the company's database and a GPT-powered assistant. No specific model, inference region or change-notification commitment is stated on the surfaces read. Security-page excerpt and launch release read 6 September 2026.
The vendor describes its architecture and the terms binding its providers without naming them. Published: a hybrid pipeline combining generative and rules based AI, vector search organizing more than one billion documents, and zero retention agreements with large language model providers. That tells a buyer the commercial terms that govern the model layer, which is the part most vendors omit. What it does not tell them is who is in it. Searched the vendor site, the Vincent pages, the security knowledge base and the Clio press material on 29 Aug 2026 and located no named model provider, no statement of where models run, no subprocessor list, and no commitment to notify customers when the supply chain changes.
Commercial Transparency
Whether a buyer can learn what this costs without entering a sales process: published rates, the unit being charged, what sits behind an enterprise tier, and what implementation adds.
A figure, a unit and a term are published. The pricing page lists individual academic access at twenty-nine euros a month excluding tax, academic institutions at two hundred and fifty euros a month on a yearly subscription, and practitioners at one hundred and twenty-nine euros a month, each limited to one subscriber with monthly or yearly billing, with law firms, chambers and states on quotation, a seven-day free trial, and the features of each tier itemized; a newer plan structure of Academic, Essentials, AI Premium and AI Enterprise appears in search, and whether the AI plans carry a published figure was not established. Pricing page read 6 September 2026.
Checked the vendor site navigation, the Vincent product pages, the vLex home page and the Clio press material on 29 Aug 2026. No pricing page was located, no rate is published, no unit of charge is stated and no tier structure appears on the surfaces reached. Every commercial path located terminates in a demo or contact request. No third party pricing figure was located either, beyond a general observation in review material that pricing may be competitive against the two largest incumbents, which is not a figure.
Firm and Practice Coverage
Who the product is actually built for. AmLaw, midlaw, small firm and solo, in house departments, government and courts, and which practice areas are supported rather than merely claimed.
Segment and coverage are described with substance and the boundary is the product's stated scope. The buyer is international law and arbitration practitioners, law firms, chambers, states, public bodies and academics; the database is stated to cover all areas of international law and arbitration on any subscription, updated daily, with institutional partnerships and publisher content such as the ICC collection as add-ons; the vendor states the scope as international law and arbitration, which is the limit. No jurisdiction or matter type within that scope is named as unsupported. Pricing page and home page read 6 September 2026.
The most complete coverage disclosure on the index. Jurisdictional scope is quantified and specific: more than one billion legal documents across more than 100 countries, United States primary law from Fastcase, and more than 850 million court records underpinning judge, opposing counsel and party profiling. A dedicated Compare Jurisdictions workflow and a 50 State Survey workflow exist precisely because multi jurisdictional coverage is the product's stated strength, and the evaluator independently recorded that support for international matters is a significant strength that may offer utility unmatched by other tools for global firms. Functional coverage is enumerated at more than 20 prebuilt workflows spanning research, litigation, transactions and litigation intelligence. Segment coverage runs from solo and small firms through the Fastcase heritage to global firms, corporate legal departments, courts, government agencies, bar associations and academia. The published limits are real too: the evaluator noted the study covered only a small slice of US capability, and the vendor itself stated that document summary tasks do not draw on its legal database, which is a vendor volunteering where its distinctive asset does not apply.
The 12 legal signals, side by side
Recorded rather than graded. These are the questions a practitioner has to answer before a tool touches a client matter, and the answers are taken from public material only.
Client Data in Training
Can material a lawyer puts into this product be used to train a model?
No located public material addresses whether customer content trains models. The help center states that assistant interactions are hosted on a separate and locked database for privacy, which addresses storage rather than training; the security page, which may carry a training statement, returned bot detection on fetch, the user terms were read only in excerpt, and the subscription agreement governing firms is not published. Those three surfaces are the rebuttal route in either direction. Surfaces checked 6 September 2026.
The model provider layer is addressed and the vendor's own position is not. Published: zero retention agreements with the language model providers, and a Clio statement that no sensitive data is retained by the model. Those are retention commitments binding third parties, and retention and training are different questions. Searched the vendor site, the Vincent product pages, the security knowledge base article and the Clio press material on 29 Aug 2026 and located no statement of whether vLex itself may use customer content to train or improve its own systems, either way.
Recorded as silent under the rule that a value is never inferred from the absence of a contradiction, and specifically not inferred from a provider side retention term.
Prompt and Output Retention
How long does the product keep what a lawyer typed, and can that be set to zero?
No located public material addresses how long prompts to Jus AI or its outputs are retained. The help center states interactions are held on a separate locked database without a period; the security page and privacy charter were not readable or not opened and are the rebuttal route. Surfaces checked 6 September 2026.
The best retention disclosure located anywhere on this index. Published: the customer selects the retention period for conversation logs and files, the default is one year, and after the selected period the data is permanently deleted. That answers all three parts of the buying question this signal asks, whether the window is disclosed, whether the customer controls it, and what happens at the end. Short of the top value only because no material states that zero retention is a selectable setting, which is a real distinction for a firm that wants nothing persisted at all rather than persisted briefly.
Ethical Walls and Matter Segregation
Does retrieval respect the firm’s ethical walls, or can the model read across them?
Segregation is claimed without documentation of a permission model. The help center states that assistant interactions are hosted on a separate and locked database for additional privacy and security, which separates assistant data from the public research database rather than one customer's or matter's data from another's; the AI Enterprise plan connects a firm's own documents and nothing read describes how access within a firm is walled. Surfaces checked 6 September 2026.
First positive value on this signal in the index. In the Clio Operate integration the vendor states Vincent works within the permissions, ethical walls and audit trail already established in that system, with access scopable as narrowly as a single matter or as broadly as the firm and every interaction visible. That is retrieval operating inside the firm's existing access model rather than a parallel model the firm must keep aligned, which is precisely what this signal's positive value describes, and ethical walls are named as such rather than implied.
Two limits recorded rather than deducted for. The inheritance is documented for the Clio Operate integration specifically, and no equivalent statement was located for Vincent used standalone or through the iManage connector, where the product's own multi tenant logical isolation and role based access control apply. Per user enforcement at query time is implied by scoping to a single matter but is not stated in those words.
Third Party Request and Subpoena Notice
If someone subpoenas the vendor for a firm’s data, does the firm hear about it first?
No located public material addresses whether the customer is told when its data is demanded by a third party. The user terms were read only in excerpt, the subscription agreement is not published and the privacy charter was not opened; those are the rebuttal route. Surfaces checked 6 September 2026.
Searched the vendor site, the Vincent product pages, the security knowledge base article and the Clio press material on 29 Aug 2026, and no published customer agreement or data processing agreement was reached. No clause committing to notify a customer of a government or law enforcement request for their data was located, and no transparency report was located. Noted for a reader: the published retention control means a firm can limit how much history exists to be requested, which reduces the exposure without addressing the notification question.
Primary Law Corpus Provenance
Where does the law in this product come from, and does the vendor have the right to use it?
The corpus is named and its update cadence stated, without the license basis. The database is described as awards, orders, decisions, judgments, treaties, laws and case materials in international law and arbitration, updated daily, drawn from more than twenty institutional partnerships, with publisher content such as the ICC dispute resolution collection offered as add-ons and primary documents kept open in a free light version.
The rights basis for the institutional and publisher content is not stated on the surfaces read. Pricing page, home page and 2023 launch release read 6 September 2026.
Sources are named and the rights basis is stated, which is the positive value. The corpus is identified as vLex's own global legal database combined with United States primary law from Fastcase, both now owned by the same company, and the rights basis is stated directly rather than left to inference: the legal authority underlying Vincent's research is owned rather than licensed from a third party. Scale is quantified at more than one billion documents across more than 100 countries plus more than 850 million court records.
Ownership of the corpus is the strongest possible answer to the question this signal asks, because it removes the license dependency entirely. Short of the full value only on cadence: searched the vendor site, the Vincent pages and the Clio press material on 29 Aug 2026 and located no update frequency or lag for any jurisdiction, and no per jurisdiction completeness statement.
Good Law Verification
Does the product tell you when the authority it just cited has been overruled?
The vendor publishes its own citation signal. CiteMap, described in the user terms as part of the materials and in the launch release as a proprietary legal citation links creator, maps how awards and decisions cite one another across the database, and the home page states that Jus AI's citations can be checked and traced to source. Whether CiteMap flags subsequent negative treatment as a licensed citator would is not stated; it is a treatment signal of the vendor's own rather than a licensed one. Surfaces checked 6 September 2026.
The first product on this index to answer the good law question properly. Every research output carries a Cert Citator check confirming whether the cited law remains valid, surfaced with the authority rather than as a separate step, and Cert is a named citator with a traceable origin: it derives from Judicata software acquired by Fastcase before the vLex merger and is now owned by the same company. Recorded at licensed citator as the closest fit, with one qualification stated rather than hidden: that value describes treatment signals from a named commercial citator, and here the citator is named and commercial but owned by the vendor rather than licensed in, which is a stronger position for a buyer since it cannot be withdrawn by a third party.
Coverage limit recorded: Cert is a United States citator and no equivalent treatment mechanism was located for the international corpus, so the good law check does not extend across the 100 plus countries the research product covers.
Refusal and Uncertainty Behavior
What does the product do when the answer is not in the corpus?
The product documents how a user checks an answer rather than what the model does when it cannot answer. The home page states that every reasoning step is exposed and every citation traceable, which is a verification design; no abstention path or confidence signal for questions the database cannot support is described on the surfaces read. Recorded as documented on the strength of the exposed-reasoning design, with the abstention gap noted. Home page checked 6 September 2026.
Abstention is independently observed and it cost the vendor measured points, which is the strongest evidence on this signal in the index. The February 2025 Vals evaluator explicitly praised Vincent AI for refusing to answer questions where it did not have sufficient data rather than giving a hallucinated answer, and recorded that those refusals negatively affected its scores. A product that accepts a lower benchmark result rather than guess is demonstrating the behavior this signal exists to find, and the evidence comes from an outside evaluator with nothing to gain from the finding.
Recorded at documented rather than the top value because the top value requires the vendor to document an explicit no answer path and that documentation was not located: searched the vendor site, the Vincent product pages and the vLex news section on 29 Aug 2026 and found the behavior observed by others rather than described by the vendor. A reader should weigh that the behavior is evidenced but not promised.
Fabricated Citation Record
Does a public court record exist addressing fabricated or hallucinated legal citations in output from this product?
No court order, opinion, arbitral decision or disciplinary record naming Jus Mundi or Jus AI was located as of 6 September 2026. The AI Hallucination Cases database maintained by Damien Charlotin was searched on both names together with a general search for court and tribunal findings; results returned sanctions involving general-purpose chatbots and the April 2026 Quebec Superior Court set-aside in ARIHQ c. Santé Québec, where an arbitrator's own award relied on fabricated authorities with no product named.
This is a statement about the public record, not a finding about the product; a research tool that cites primary authority carries a real exposure on this signal, which is why the check was run on the tribunal record as well.
No court order, opinion or disciplinary record naming this product has been located as of 29 Aug 2026. Instrument searched: the AI Hallucination Cases database maintained by Damien Charlotin, which tracks court decisions worldwide involving AI generated hallucinated content and records the AI tool implicated where it is known. Also checked published 2026 sanctions summaries and secondary sanctions trackers. The entries located name filers, and in some rows other products, rather than this one.
This is a statement about the public record on the date shown and not a clearance. Noted for context: an earlier record on this index recorded a fabricated citation matter in which a Casetext or vLex product was named by a filer as a possible source; that entry was recorded as filer conduct rather than a product finding and is not restated here as a finding against this vendor.
Bar Guidance Alignment
Has the vendor engaged in public with the ethics opinions its buyers are bound by?
No located public material names an ethics opinion, bar rule or professional responsibility framework. The pricing page offers expert advice and practical steps to guide teams through the AI shift, which is training rather than guidance alignment, and the user terms were read only in excerpt. Surfaces checked 6 September 2026.
Searched the vendor site, the Vincent product pages, the vLex news section and the Clio press material on 29 Aug 2026. No engagement with any named ethics opinion or professional guidance was located, including ABA Formal Opinion 512 and state bar guidance. Worth recording as context rather than credit: the company has a substantial bar association presence inherited through Fastcase, which supplied research tools to state bar memberships, so a relationship with bar associations exists without engagement with their AI guidance being published.
Billing and Fee Posture
Does the vendor address what happens to the bill when the work takes an hour instead of six?
Law firms and chambers are named buyer segments and the published position on the bill is a savings claim: the home page frames client results as winning strategies and time saved, and research, drafting, translation and analysis completed in a fraction of the time. Nothing addresses how AI-assisted research is recorded or disclosed on a client's bill. Home page checked 6 September 2026.
Searched the vendor site, the Vincent product pages, the vLex news section and the Clio press material on 29 Aug 2026. No per matter record of AI assisted work intended for fee purposes was located, and no guidance on billing, fee or client disclosure treatment was located. Time savings are referenced in general terms, such as workflows turning hours of research into minutes, without a quantified savings claim tied to a matter.
Recorded as not addressed rather than at the savings claims value because the located framing is capability description rather than a savings figure. Noted for a reader: the Clio Operate integration records every interaction in an audit trail, which is the raw material for such a record without being published as one.
Outside Counsel Guideline Readiness
Can a firm get this vendor through a client’s AI clause without a bespoke negotiation?
The model provider is named on a public surface and a trust center is stated to exist. The security page names Microsoft's Azure OpenAI Service as the service behind Jus AI and points to a trust center for measures and certifications; whether the trust center carries a full sub-processor list or a forwardable disclosure pack is not established because the page returned bot detection on fetch, which is why the row sits at this value rather than a higher one. Security-page excerpt checked 6 September 2026.
A firm can assemble much of what a client AI clause asks for without a bespoke negotiation, though not all of it. Available without an agreement in place: a published trust center as the route to official SOC 2 and ISO 27001 certification reports for a firm's due diligence, dated certifications, a published retention policy with customer control and permanent deletion, a stated position that language model providers are bound by zero retention agreements, and a statement that the legal authority behind the product is owned rather than licensed.
Recorded at on request because the certification reports themselves sit behind a trust center request or an account representative rather than being published, and because the artifacts this signal specifically names were not located: no subprocessor list, no naming of which model providers see client content, and no client facing consent or notification pack.
Court Disclosure Support
If a judge’s standing order requires an AI disclosure, can the product produce one?
Some elements of a verification record are available and no export of a certification record is described. Every answer is cited to the database with reasoning steps exposed, so a practitioner can show the sources behind a research result; nothing states that a record of the model used, the sources retrieved and the human verification can be exported for a tribunal or court. Home page checked 6 September 2026.
More of a disclosure record exists here than for most, assembled from several published features rather than offered as one. Through the Clio Operate integration every interaction is visible in an audit trail scoped to the matter. Every research output carries citations to primary sources with direct links plus a Cert validity check, so what was relied on and whether it was still good law are both recorded in the work product.
A user can see and exclude the sources an answer rests on, which leaves a trace of human intervention. Two elements are missing: no single per document export covering model used, sources retrieved and human verification together was located, and no model is named anywhere in published material so the model used could not be stated. Recorded at partial record on that basis.
The questions both sides leave open
Derived from the records above rather than written, so it cannot favor either vendor. Take these into both conversations and ask each side the same question.
- AI Liability and Recourse
- Third Party Request and Subpoena Notice
- Bar Guidance Alignment
Which one fits
Choose Jus Mundi if
- Your problem is arbitration and treaty research. Jus Mundi's database covers awards, orders, decisions, treaties and case materials from more than twenty institutional partnerships, updated daily, with primary documents free in a light version and CiteMap tracing how awards cite one another.
- You need audited AI governance for a procurement review. Jus Mundi states ISO 42001, the AI management system standard, alongside ISO 27001 and SOC 2, and names Microsoft's Azure OpenAI Service as the model service behind Jus AI.
- You want to price a seat yourself. Jus Mundi publishes €129 a month for a practitioner and €29 for an individual academic, with a seven day trial; firms, chambers and states are quoted.
Choose Vincent AI if
- Your problem is research across many national legal systems. Vincent AI draws on more than one billion documents from more than 100 countries plus US primary law, with Compare Jurisdictions and 50 State Survey workflows among more than 20 prebuilt workflows.
- You need citations checked and answers that decline when unsure. Vincent AI runs a Cert Citator check on cited law, and an independent evaluator praised it for refusing to answer without enough data, at a cost to its own score.
- You need the tool inside your firm's controls. Through Clio Operate, Vincent AI works within existing permissions, ethical walls and audit trails, integrates with Word, Outlook and iManage, and lets the customer set retention, defaulting to one year.
In summary
Jus Mundi
Jus Mundi, a French company founded in 2019 and headquartered in Paris, is a research platform for international law and arbitration, built on awards, decisions, treaties, laws and case materials updated daily from more than twenty institutional partnerships. Its AI layer, Jus AI, launched in June 2023, answers questions with citations, compares cases, drafts and translates, showing each reasoning step. The AI Legal Index grades it in the top two bands on eight of fifteen capability axes, with an A on pricing. It states ISO 27001, ISO 42001 and SOC 2, names Azure OpenAI as its model service, and publishes a practitioner price of €129 a month. As of 6 September 2026 the index located no liability position or training statement.
Vincent AI
Vincent AI is the legal research and workflow assistant built on vLex's database of more than one billion documents across more than 100 countries and US primary law from Fastcase, released in October 2023; vLex was acquired by Clio in June 2025. It runs more than 20 workflows across research, litigation and transactions, checks citations with the Cert Citator, and integrates with Word, Outlook, iManage and Clio Operate. The AI Legal Index grades it in the top two bands on nine of fifteen capability axes, with A grades on AI centrality, citation accuracy, security and coverage. It states SOC 2 and ISO 27001. As of 29 August 2026 the index located no price or liability terms.
Questions buyers ask
Are Jus Mundi and Vincent AI the same kind of product?
No. Jus Mundi specializes in international arbitration and treaty law, with a database of awards and institutional materials. Vincent AI is a general legal research assistant over primary law from more than 100 countries. Both use AI to answer research questions with citations. On the AI Legal Index Vincent AI sits in the top two bands on nine of fifteen capability axes and Jus Mundi on eight of fifteen.
What is ISO 42001 and which of these holds it?
ISO/IEC 42001 is the audited management system standard for artificial intelligence, covering how an organization governs, tests and monitors its AI. Jus Mundi states it holds ISO 42001 alongside ISO 27001 and SOC 2. Vincent AI states SOC 2, obtained in January 2025, and ISO 27001, achieved in June 2025, without ISO 42001. Graded by AI Legal Index against 15 capability axes and 12 legal signals, including privilege handling and citation accuracy, from each vendor's own published materials, verified September 27, 2026. No vendor pays for placement.
How did Vincent AI perform in independent testing?
In the February 2025 Vals Legal AI Report, Vincent AI scored between 53.6 and 72.7 percent across six tasks and beat the lawyer baseline on three. The evaluator praised it for refusing to answer where it lacked sufficient data rather than guessing, which lowered its scores. vLex later withdrew from a separate Vals research study before results were published. Graded by AI Legal Index against 15 capability axes and 12 legal signals, including privilege handling and citation accuracy, from each vendor's own published materials, verified September 27, 2026. No vendor pays for placement.
How much do Jus Mundi and Vincent AI cost?
Jus Mundi publishes €129 a month for a practitioner, €29 a month for an individual academic and €250 a month for an academic institution, with firms and states quoted and a seven day trial. Vincent AI publishes no pricing; every route leads to a demo or contact request. Graded by AI Legal Index against 15 capability axes and 12 legal signals, including privilege handling and citation accuracy, from each vendor's own published materials, verified September 27, 2026. No vendor pays for placement.
What do Jus Mundi and Vincent AI both leave unpublished?
A liability position and a named model. Neither publishes an indemnity, liability cap or warranty for AI output, and neither names the specific model behind its answers; Jus Mundi names its model service provider. Neither states a data region, and neither addresses how AI assisted research should appear on a client's bill. Graded by AI Legal Index against 15 capability axes and 12 legal signals, including privilege handling and citation accuracy, from each vendor's own published materials, verified September 27, 2026. No vendor pays for placement.
Three readings to weigh. Jus Mundi's security page and full terms could not be read by this index, so several of its grades record that limit. Vincent AI's ethical wall inheritance is documented for its Clio Operate integration, not for standalone use, and vLex withdrew from a later Vals research study before results were published. On 23 September 2026 Jus Mundi added 35 arbitration titles to its JURIS library and Vincent AI added Canadian case law and legislation. Jus Mundi was verified on 6 September 2026 and Vincent AI on 29 August 2026. Neither vendor reviewed this page.
Neither vendor paid for inclusion, placement or a grade, and neither reviewed this page before it published. Everything above comes from public material on the dates shown. How the index grades.