J
Jus Mundi

Jus Mundi is a research platform for international law and arbitration, built on a database of awards, orders, decisions, judgments, treaties, laws, case materials and institution profiles that the company states is updated daily and drawn from more than twenty institutional partnerships, with primary documents kept openly accessible through a free light version of its search engine. Its AI layer, Jus AI, launched in June 2023 and now described as agentic, answers research questions with citations to the database, assesses arguments against the facts and legal framework, compares cases across jurisdictions and institutions, drafts, translates and analyses, and shows each reasoning step so a user can check every citation and trace it to its source; a CiteMap feature maps citation links between documents, and the AI Enterprise plan connects Jus AI to a firm's own document database. The company also runs Jus Connect, a directory and conflict-check tool for arbitrators and counsel. Jus Mundi is a French simplified joint-stock company headquartered in Paris, founded in 2019, which closed a twenty million euro Series B in August 2024 and names Freshfields and White & Case among its customers. It publishes user terms, a privacy charter and per-user pricing, with individual academic access at twenty-nine euros a month, institutional academic access at two hundred and fifty euros, practitioners at one hundred and twenty-nine euros and firms on quotation, and states ISO 27001, ISO 42001 and SOC 2 certifications with its models served through Microsoft's Azure OpenAI Service and assistant interactions hosted on a separate locked database.

Vendor siteParis, France
Last verifiedSeptember 6, 2026
Compare with other vendors

Capability grades

All 15 axes, graded from public sources on the date shown. Hover a grade to see what the letter means on that axis.

BB on AI CentralityThe models are the engine of a core capability, layered on a product that would still function without them as a document or workflow system.

AI Centrality

How much of the product is actually AI. Whether the machine learning is the mechanism the buyer is paying for or a feature layered onto conventional software, and whether the vendor is specific about which is which.

The models are the engine of a core capability layered on a product that would still function without them. Jus AI answers, assesses, compares, drafts and translates over the database, and the vendor states it has trained models on its corpus since 2019; remove the models and the search engine, filters, interactive documents, CiteMap, Wiki notes and analytics remain, which is the research database the company sold before Jus AI launched in June 2023 and still sells on the Academic and Essentials plans without the assistant. Home page, pricing page and 2023 launch release read 6 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on Citation Accuracy and Hallucination DisclosureGrounding is real and documented, with linked primary sources and a described retrieval method, short of published accuracy figures an outsider can test.

Citation Accuracy and Hallucination Disclosure

Whether the vendor publishes measured accuracy on citations and assertions, grounds output to primary sources, and says plainly what its system does when it does not know. Legal has a documented public record of fabricated citations reaching filed briefs, so an untested claim of accuracy is not evidence.

Grounding is real and documented with linked primary sources, short of a testable accuracy figure. The home page states that Jus AI delivers fully cited answers from exclusive Jus Mundi data, that every reasoning step can be verified, each citation checked and each source traced to its origin, and the primary documents are the company's own database of awards, decisions, treaties and laws, kept openly accessible in a free light version so a reader can open what is cited. No accuracy figure, test set, benchmark or hallucination rate is published on the surfaces read, and the security page, which may carry more, could not be fetched. Home page and pricing page read 6 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on Autonomy and Oversight ModelA written commitment that the models work alongside a supervising lawyer, with real review surfaces, short of the full control structure: commonly the threshold at which the system stops or what happens after it is wrong.

Autonomy and Oversight Model

What the system decides on its own, what a lawyer must approve, and whether the vendor documents where the review point sits. A tool that drafts under review and a tool that files without one are different products and different risks.

A written commitment that the models work alongside a verifying lawyer with a real review surface, short of the full control structure. The vendor describes agentic legal reasoning that guides research with clarity and structure and exposes every reasoning step for verification, with citations traceable to source; the assistant answers and drafts for a practitioner to check. What is not published is a threshold at which any agentic step acts without review or a stated route back after a wrong answer beyond the user's verification. Home page and security-page excerpt read 6 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
CC on Operational and Outcome EvidenceCustomer logos and unattributed testimonials stand in for evidence, or results are quoted with no basis stated.

Operational and Outcome Evidence

Named, dated evidence that the product works in production at real firms or legal departments. Case studies with figures and identified customers count. Unattributed testimonials and launch announcements do not.

Testimonials and a client wall stand in for named deployments with figures on the surfaces read. The home page states that clients' experiences are the strongest signal and points to case stories about winning strategies and time saved, and a customer is quoted on the security page, unnamed in the excerpt, about confidence in uploading documents given ISO 27001 certification; the seed names Freshfields and White & Case as customers, which was not confirmed on a vendor surface read. The Meet Our Clients section and case stories were not opened and are the rebuttal route. Home page and pricing page read 6 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
CC on Privilege and Confidentiality PostureConfidentiality is asserted in general terms, or the commitment lives only in a sales conversation and cannot be read in advance.

Privilege and Confidentiality Posture

How client confidences are handled: attorney client privilege and work product treatment, segregation of one client matter from another, whether client data trains any model, and what the vendor commits to in writing rather than in marketing.

Confidentiality is addressed with two specific commitments and the rest of the picture could not be read. Segregation: the help centre states that assistant interactions are hosted on a separate and locked database, and the vendor states confidentiality is the foundation for sensitive casework. Third-party providers: the security page names Microsoft's Azure OpenAI Service and the enterprise plan connects Jus AI to a firm's own documents. Not established: any statement on training use, since the security page returned bot detection on fetch and the user terms were not read; any retention commitment; and any treatment of privilege or work product. The subscription agreement that governs firms is separate and not published. Home page, help centre excerpt and security-page excerpt read 6 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
CC on UPL and Professional Responsibility PostureA boilerplate disclaimer sits in the terms while the marketing describes the product in advice terms, or the intended audience is left ambiguous.

UPL and Professional Responsibility Posture

Whether the vendor is clear that it supplies a tool rather than legal advice, who its audience is, and how it addresses unauthorized practice of law, competence and supervision duties, and jurisdiction limits. ABA Formal Opinion 512 is the reference point.

No advice line or supervision statement was located on the surfaces read. The user terms describe the service as a research platform providing know-how and resources to international law and arbitration practitioners, and the product is sold to practitioners, firms, states and academics; whether the terms disclaim legal advice or address a practitioner's duties was not established because the terms were read only in excerpt. No jurisdiction limit beyond the subject-matter scope is named. User terms excerpt and home page read 6 September 2026; the full terms are the rebuttal route.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on AI Governance and Bias DisclosureA published governance framework with real substance, short of testing results or a named owner.

AI Governance and Bias Disclosure

Published governance over model behaviour: who owns it inside the vendor, what is tested before release, and what is disclosed about disparate output across matter types, parties, or populations.

A published, independently audited governance framework, short of testing results or a named owner. The security page states that with ISO 42001 the company went further than security certification to show its AI is built responsibly and to the highest ethical standards, alongside ISO 27001 and SOC 2; the home page describes exposing every reasoning step as transparency. ISO 42001 is an audited AI management system standard and carries more weight than a self-published principles page; no test results, bias findings or accountable owner are published on the surfaces read, and the security page could not be fetched in full. Security-page excerpt and home page read 6 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
CC on AI Safety and Data StewardshipA generic privacy policy covers the product without addressing what happens to documents and prompts after processing.

AI Safety and Data Stewardship

Retention, deletion, access control, and what happens to prompts and documents after they are processed. Whether the vendor states its subprocessors and its incident practice, or leaves the buyer to assume.

Some of the ground is covered and the surface that carries the rest could not be read. Stated: assistant interactions on a separate locked database, encryption, ISO 27001 and SOC 2 certification, Azure OpenAI as the model service. Not located on readable surfaces: a retention period, a deletion commitment, a sub-processor list or an incident-notification practice; the security page and trust centre returned bot detection on fetch and are the rebuttal route, together with the privacy charter, which was not opened. Home page, help centre excerpt and security-page excerpt read 6 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
DD on AI Liability and RecourseNothing published on who bears the loss when the system is wrong.

AI Liability and Recourse

What the vendor stands behind contractually when its output is wrong. Indemnities, caps, carve outs, insurance, and whether any of it is published or only reachable through a negotiated agreement.

No liability position was located on the surfaces that could be read. The user terms, read in excerpt, define the services, materials and subscription structure without a located indemnity, cap, warranty or insurance position, and the subscription agreement that governs firms is stated in the Jus Connect terms to be a separate document, which is not published. This records what is locatable on the date and not a finding that no position exists; the full user terms and the subscription agreement are the rebuttal route. User terms excerpt and Jus Connect terms excerpt read 6 September 2026.

Source: Operator Verified
CC on Practice Systems Integration DepthIntegrations are listed as logos or marked as coming, with no documentation an implementer could use.

Practice Systems Integration Depth

How deeply the product reaches into the systems legal work already lives in: document management such as iManage and NetDocuments, Word and Outlook, contract lifecycle management, matter management, e-billing, and court filing systems.

Integrations are referred to without documentation an implementer could use on the surfaces read. The help centre headline describes an agent-to-agent integration bringing arbitration AI to where users already work, and the AI Enterprise plan connects Jus AI to a firm's own document database; nothing read names the systems, what syncs or in which direction, and no document management system is named. Help centre index and pricing page read 6 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
CC on Deployment Model and Data ResidencyCloud delivery is implied and neither the tenancy model nor the region is stated.

Deployment Model and Data Residency

Where the software runs and where the data sits. Multi tenant cloud, single tenant, private deployment, on premises, and whether region of residence is a published option or an enterprise conversation.

Cloud delivery is stated and neither tenancy nor region is addressed on readable surfaces. The security page names Microsoft's Azure OpenAI Service as the model service and the help centre a separate locked database for assistant interactions; no region, residency option or tenancy model is stated in the material read, and the security page could not be fetched in full. Security-page excerpt and help centre excerpt read 6 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on Security Certifications and Trust CenterCertification is real and stated, short of accessible evidence: a named standard without scope, date, or a way to obtain the report.

Security Certifications and Trust Center

Independent attestation a buyer can pull without a sales call: SOC 2, ISO 27001, penetration test summaries, a trust center with current reports and named scope rather than a badge image.

Certifications are real and stated on the vendor's own surface with a trust centre, short of a report reachable without asking. The security page states ISO 27001 and SOC 2 as proof of security and confidentiality by design and ISO 42001 for responsible AI, and points to a trust centre for the measures and certifications; a customer is quoted on the ISO 27001 certification. No certifying body, coverage period or report route is stated in the excerpt read, and the page and trust centre returned bot detection on fetch, so the access tier is not established and the lower tier is graded. Security-page excerpt read 6 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on Model Supply Chain DisclosureThe supply chain is partly disclosed: providers named without change notification, or architecture described without the providers.

Model Supply Chain Disclosure

Which models sit underneath, whose they are, where they run, and whether the vendor commits to telling customers when that changes. A legal buyer inherits every dependency it cannot see.

The supply chain is partly disclosed. The security page states that Azure OpenAI Service enables Jus Mundi to offer its data security and that Microsoft makes AI available to the user community under its security and privacy controls, which names the provider and hosting arrangement; the 2023 launch release describes in-house machine-learning models trained on the company's database and a GPT-powered assistant. No specific model, inference region or change-notification commitment is stated on the surfaces read. Security-page excerpt and launch release read 6 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
AA on Commercial TransparencyA buyer can learn what this costs without entering a sales process: published rates, the unit being charged, and what implementation adds.

Commercial Transparency

Whether a buyer can learn what this costs without entering a sales process: published rates, the unit being charged, what sits behind an enterprise tier, and what implementation adds.

A figure, a unit and a term are published. The pricing page lists individual academic access at twenty-nine euros a month excluding tax, academic institutions at two hundred and fifty euros a month on a yearly subscription, and practitioners at one hundred and twenty-nine euros a month, each limited to one subscriber with monthly or yearly billing, with law firms, chambers and states on quotation, a seven-day free trial, and the features of each tier itemised; a newer plan structure of Academic, Essentials, AI Premium and AI Enterprise appears in search, and whether the AI plans carry a published figure was not established. Pricing page read 6 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on Firm and Practice CoverageSegment and practice coverage is described with substance, short of the boundaries: what is supported is clear, what is not is left open.

Firm and Practice Coverage

Who the product is actually built for. AmLaw, midlaw, small firm and solo, in house departments, government and courts, and which practice areas are supported rather than merely claimed.

Segment and coverage are described with substance and the boundary is the product's stated scope. The buyer is international law and arbitration practitioners, law firms, chambers, states, public bodies and academics; the database is stated to cover all areas of international law and arbitration on any subscription, updated daily, with institutional partnerships and publisher content such as the ICC collection as add-ons; the vendor states the scope as international law and arbitration, which is the limit. No jurisdiction or matter type within that scope is named as unsupported. Pricing page and home page read 6 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
Pricing

From €129 per monthEUR, as published, never converted

  • A working lawyer pays 129 euros a month for one person, monthly or yearly.
  • Students and academics pay 29 euros a month; a whole university pays 250 euros a month on a yearly deal.
  • Law firms, chambers and governments have to ask for a quote.
  • There is a free 7-day trial, and the original documents stay free to read in a light version.
  • The AI assistant sits on higher plans whose price we could not confirm.

Published per-subscriber pricing in euros excluding tax on the pricing page: individual academic 29 per month, academic institution 250 per month on a yearly subscription, practitioner 129 per month, each limited to one subscriber, monthly or yearly billing, with law firms, chambers and states on quotation and a seven-day free trial; primary source documents remain free in a light search version. Search results show a newer tier structure of Academic, Essentials, AI Premium and AI Enterprise, and whether the AI plans carry a published figure was not established on 6 September 2026. No US dollar figure is published, so entryPriceUsd is left empty; the display carries the euro practitioner floor. Read 6 September 2026.

Legal Signals

What each signal means

A signal records what public sources say on the date shown. It is not a grade and it is not a recommendation. Where a signal reads Not addressed, it means the index did not locate the material in public sources on that date, which is a statement about disclosure rather than about the product.

Confidentiality and Privilege

Client Data in Training

Can material a lawyer puts into this product be used to train a model?

Terms silent

A published agreement or policy exists and none of it addresses the question either way, or the document that would answer it could not be read and the summary names the retrieval limit. The summary states which shape the silence takes: an improvement right granted that never names training, or no improvement right granted at all.

No located public material addresses whether customer content trains models. The help centre states that assistant interactions are hosted on a separate and locked database for privacy, which addresses storage rather than training; the security page, which may carry a training statement, returned bot detection on fetch, the user terms were read only in excerpt, and the subscription agreement governing firms is not published. Those three surfaces are the rebuttal route in either direction. Surfaces checked 6 September 2026.

Source: Operator VerifiedAs of Sep 6, 2026

Prompt and Output Retention

How long does the product keep what a lawyer typed, and can that be set to zero?

Not addressed

No located public material states how long prompts and outputs are retained.

No located public material addresses how long prompts to Jus AI or its outputs are retained. The help centre states interactions are held on a separate locked database without a period; the security page and privacy charter were not readable or not opened and are the rebuttal route. Surfaces checked 6 September 2026.

Source: Operator VerifiedAs of Sep 6, 2026

Ethical Walls and Matter Segregation

Does retrieval respect the firm’s ethical walls, or can the model read across them?

Claimed, not documented

Segregation is asserted in public materials with no published detail on how it is enforced.

Segregation is claimed without documentation of a permission model. The help centre states that assistant interactions are hosted on a separate and locked database for additional privacy and security, which separates assistant data from the public research database rather than one customer's or matter's data from another's; the AI Enterprise plan connects a firm's own documents and nothing read describes how access within a firm is walled. Surfaces checked 6 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Publishedwe host interactions with the Assistant on a separate and locked databaseAs of Sep 6, 2026Evidence

Third Party Request and Subpoena Notice

If someone subpoenas the vendor for a firm’s data, does the firm hear about it first?

Not addressed

No located term or policy addresses third party requests for customer data.

No located public material addresses whether the customer is told when its data is demanded by a third party. The user terms were read only in excerpt, the subscription agreement is not published and the privacy charter was not opened; those are the rebuttal route. Surfaces checked 6 September 2026.

Source: Operator VerifiedAs of Sep 6, 2026
Accuracy and Authority

Primary Law Corpus Provenance

Where does the law in this product come from, and does the vendor have the right to use it?

Sources named, basis unstated

Sources are identified without stating the licence or rights basis.

The corpus is named and its update cadence stated, without the licence basis. The database is described as awards, orders, decisions, judgments, treaties, laws and case materials in international law and arbitration, updated daily, drawn from more than twenty institutional partnerships, with publisher content such as the ICC dispute resolution collection offered as add-ons and primary documents kept open in a free light version. The rights basis for the institutional and publisher content is not stated on the surfaces read. Pricing page, home page and 2023 launch release read 6 September 2026.

Source: Vendor PublishedThe Jus Mundi database is updated daily with new awards, judgments, treaties and other documentsAs of Sep 6, 2026Evidence

Good Law Verification

Does the product tell you when the authority it just cited has been overruled?

Own treatment signal

The vendor computes and surfaces subsequent history itself, with the method described.

The vendor publishes its own citation signal. CiteMap, described in the user terms as part of the materials and in the launch release as a proprietary legal citation links creator, maps how awards and decisions cite one another across the database, and the home page states that Jus AI's citations can be checked and traced to source. Whether CiteMap flags subsequent negative treatment as a licensed citator would is not stated; it is a treatment signal of the vendor's own rather than a licensed one. Surfaces checked 6 September 2026.

Source: Vendor PublishedCiteMap, our legal citation links creatorAs of Sep 6, 2026Evidence

Refusal and Uncertainty Behaviour

What does the product do when the answer is not in the corpus?

Documented

The vendor describes refusal or abstention behaviour in public materials.

The product documents how a user checks an answer rather than what the model does when it cannot answer. The home page states that every reasoning step is exposed and every citation traceable, which is a verification design; no abstention path or confidence signal for questions the database cannot support is described on the surfaces read. Recorded as documented on the strength of the exposed-reasoning design, with the abstention gap noted. Home page checked 6 September 2026.

Source: Vendor PublishedVerify every reasoning step, check each citation, and trace sources back to their origin with nothing and nothing assumedAs of Sep 6, 2026Evidence

Fabricated Citation Record

Does a public court record exist involving output from this product?

None located

No court order, opinion or disciplinary record naming this product has been located as of the date shown. This is a statement about the public record, not a finding about the product.

No court order, opinion, arbitral decision or disciplinary record naming Jus Mundi or Jus AI was located as of 6 September 2026. The AI Hallucination Cases database maintained by Damien Charlotin was searched on both names together with a general search for court and tribunal findings; results returned sanctions involving general-purpose chatbots and the April 2026 Quebec Superior Court set-aside in ARIHQ c. Santé Québec, where an arbitrator's own award relied on fabricated authorities with no product named. This is a statement about the public record, not a finding about the product; a research tool that cites primary authority carries a real exposure on this signal, which is why the check was run on the tribunal record as well.

Source: Operator VerifiedAs of Sep 6, 2026Evidence
Professional Responsibility

Bar Guidance Alignment

Has the vendor engaged in public with the ethics opinions its buyers are bound by?

Not addressed

No located public material engages with bar or ethics guidance.

No located public material names an ethics opinion, bar rule or professional responsibility framework. The pricing page offers expert advice and practical steps to guide teams through the AI shift, which is training rather than guidance alignment, and the user terms were read only in excerpt. Surfaces checked 6 September 2026.

Source: Operator VerifiedAs of Sep 6, 2026

Billing and Fee Posture

Does the vendor address what happens to the bill when the work takes an hour instead of six?

Savings claims only

Public materials claim time savings without addressing billing or disclosure, and the product sits inside a fee relationship between a lawyer and a client where those savings would change the bill.

Law firms and chambers are named buyer segments and the published position on the bill is a savings claim: the home page frames client results as winning strategies and time saved, and research, drafting, translation and analysis completed in a fraction of the time. Nothing addresses how AI-assisted research is recorded or disclosed on a client's bill. Home page checked 6 September 2026.

Source: Vendor PublishedFrom winning strategies to time savedAs of Sep 6, 2026Evidence

Outside Counsel Guideline Readiness

Can a firm get this vendor through a client’s AI clause without a bespoke negotiation?

Subprocessors listed

A current subprocessor or model provider list is published.

The model provider is named on a public surface and a trust centre is stated to exist. The security page names Microsoft's Azure OpenAI Service as the service behind Jus AI and points to a trust centre for measures and certifications; whether the trust centre carries a full sub-processor list or a forwardable disclosure pack is not established because the page returned bot detection on fetch, which is why the row sits at this value rather than a higher one. Security-page excerpt checked 6 September 2026.

Source: Vendor PublishedAzure OpenAI Service enables Jus Mundi to offer uncompromising data securityAs of Sep 6, 2026Evidence

Court Disclosure Support

If a judge’s standing order requires an AI disclosure, can the product produce one?

Partial record

Some elements of the record are available, short of a document level export.

Some elements of a verification record are available and no export of a certification record is described. Every answer is cited to the database with reasoning steps exposed, so a practitioner can show the sources behind a research result; nothing states that a record of the model used, the sources retrieved and the human verification can be exported for a tribunal or court. Home page checked 6 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Publishedcheck each citation, and trace sources back to their originAs of Sep 6, 2026Evidence
Contact

Correct a record, or ask how something was graded

Every grade and every signal on this index is drawn from public sources and dated. If a record is wrong, out of date, or missing an artifact the index did not locate, send the source and it will be reviewed and the record redated. Vendors are welcome to submit documentation. Nothing on this index is for sale, including a listing, a placement, or a grade.

AI Legal Index

The AI Legal Index is an independent index that tracks changes to AI vendors in legal. It holds 61 vendors across 9 categories, each graded on the same 15 capability axes and recorded against 12 legal signals, from public sources. No vendor pays for inclusion, placement, or rating.

Index Status
Last index update
September 6, 2026
The AI Legal Index is an editorial reference. It is not a regulatory body, not a law firm, and nothing published here is legal advice or a recommendation to retain or avoid a vendor. Records are verified against published sources, bar guidance and public court records. Where a record reads not addressed, the material was not located in public sources on the date shown. See the Methodology page for evaluation standards and limitations.
© 2026 AI Legal Index
3801 N Capital of Texas Hwy, Ste E240 · Austin, TX 78746