LegalZoom vs Trust & Will: how they compare in 2026
LegalZoom and Trust & Will meet in online estate planning for consumers: wills and trusts built through a guided interview, with attorney help as an add on and AI features around the edges. LegalZoom also sells business formation and filings. The grid cannot separate them. Each sits in the top two bands on five of fifteen axes, with identical grades on ten, and the tie comes from shared silence. Neither publishes an AI governance position, an accuracy figure for its AI answers, a retention period for what customers upload, or the model behind its AI, and both disclaim liability for AI output. Both draw the same line on training: each bars outside AI models from training on customer content, and neither rules out training its own. LegalZoom goes further and says Doc Assist uploads may train its proprietary models. Where they part is narrow. LegalZoom publishes 24 MCP tools that let outside assistants act on its services. Trust & Will states SOC 2 Type II and HIPAA examinations by an independent CPA, where the index located no security attestation from LegalZoom. Both state plainly that they are not law firms.
At a glance
All 15 axes, side by side
The same grid applied to every vendor in the index, graded from public sources. Hover a grade to see what the letter means on that axis.
AI Centrality
How much of the product is actually AI. Whether the machine learning is the mechanism the buyer is paying for or a feature layered onto conventional software, and whether the vendor is specific about which is which.
The AI is a feature layer on a business whose value stands without it, which is the C band. LegalZoom's AI features are Doc Assist, a free document summariser; a business name generator, NAICS code search, expense categoriser, grant finder and search summaries; and AI research that produces most business licence lists. The core products (entity formation and compliance filings, registered agent service, trademark and copyright filings, legal forms and attorney plans) run without the models. Verified 18 September 2026.
AI is a feature around a document-assembly business. Consumers build wills and trusts through a guided interview, which would sell without models; AI appears in the membership's AI-powered answers and plan recommendations, and in the attorney and adviser portals as document extraction, estate plan summaries and an AI assistant. Verified 22 September 2026.
Citation Accuracy and Hallucination Disclosure
Whether the vendor publishes measured accuracy on citations and assertions, grounds output to primary sources, and says plainly what its system does when it does not know. Legal has a documented public record of fabricated citations reaching filed briefs, so an untested claim of accuracy is not evidence.
Grounding is claimed without sources the reader can open or any measurement, which is the C band. The MCP catalogue says documents are analysed against an attorney-curated clause framework, and Doc Assist gives clause highlights and common questions for the document type. The Doc Assist page and FAQ say summaries may be incomplete or inaccurate because they rely on rapidly evolving generative AI, and the AI Additional Terms make no promise that output is accurate. No accuracy figure, test or source linking is published. Verified 18 September 2026.
Checked the home, Attorneys, Advisors and Compare pages and the Terms of Service on 22 September 2026. Nothing is published on the accuracy of AI answers, extractions or summaries, and the terms warn that AI output may not be accurate. Verified 22 September 2026.
Autonomy and Oversight Model
What the system decides on its own, what a lawyer must approve, and whether the vendor documents where the review point sits. A tool that drafts under review and a tool that files without one are different products and different risks.
Oversight is asserted through disclaimers and an optional attorney, without a described control on the AI, which is the C band. Doc Assist says its output is informational only and links to attorney review; the AI Additional Terms say the AI Services do not provide legal advice. A March 2026 release says AI now completes about 70 per cent of business licence research requests and the rest still go to human review, but it does not say what sends a request to a person or who that reviewer is. No lawyer reviews AI output by default. Verified 18 September 2026.
Review is possible but not described as a control. AI-generated estate plan summaries can be edited before sharing, and the terms place responsibility for input and reliance on the user and subject AI output to general disclaimers. Nothing describes when a person must check an AI answer given to a consumer, or any limit on what the AI assistant may do. Verified 22 September 2026.
Operational and Outcome Evidence
Named, dated evidence that the product works in production at real firms or legal departments. Case studies with figures and identified customers count. Unattributed testimonials and launch announcements do not.
Results are quoted without customer attribution or a customer-side method, which is the C band. The business licence release estimates about $3 million in LegalZoom's own savings in 2026 from automating licence research, and a 2023 release says 85 per cent of LegalZoom customers had not spoken to an attorney. These are the vendor's operating figures, not named customer outcomes; the Terms say published reviews carry only a first name and last initial. Verified 18 September 2026.
Scale and adviser results without attributed legal outcomes. The site cites reviews from members identified by first name, adviser results such as assets under management identified and revenue generated, and more than 20,000 advisers using the platform. No named law firm or attorney customer with measured results was located. Verified 22 September 2026.
Privilege and Confidentiality Posture
How client confidences are handled: attorney client privilege and work product treatment, segregation of one client matter from another, whether client data trains any model, and what the vendor commits to in writing rather than in marketing.
Confidentiality is asserted in general terms and training use is permitted by policy, which is the C band. The Terms of Service say no attorney-client relationship or privilege is created with LegalZoom; the AI Additional Terms say the AI Services are not meant for privileged or highly sensitive information; the privacy policy says LegalZoom does not intend to collect attorney information in a way that waives privilege. The Doc Assist FAQ says uploads are stored in the user's documents centre and may be used to train LegalZoom's own models but not third-party AI tools. Nothing addresses separation between users or what an AI provider retains. Verified 18 September 2026.
General security assurances with a narrow training term. The Terms of Service say estate plan and account content is not used to train external AI models, but reserve use of content generated through AI features to develop and improve the services, and say nothing about Trust & Will's own models; the security page describes encryption and SOC 2 and HIPAA examinations. Privilege and confidentiality for attorneys' client files uploaded to the platform are not addressed. Verified 22 September 2026.
UPL and Professional Responsibility Posture
Whether the vendor is clear that it supplies a tool rather than legal advice, who its audience is, and how it addresses unauthorized practice of law, competence and supervision duties, and jurisdiction limits. ABA Formal Opinion 512 is the reference point. Where the advice line is not the duty a product raises, the axis is read through the nearest professional duty it does raise: judicial conduct rules and the reviewing duty for products sold only to courts, and the duty to bill for time actually spent for products that draft time entries.
The vendor states plainly what the product is and is not, who may use it and what it requires of its attorneys, with jurisdiction statements and a disclosure on every page, which is the A band. The Terms of Service open by saying LegalZoom is not a law firm, its forms are no substitute for an attorney, the customer represents themselves and no attorney-client relationship or privilege is created, and that a customer who believes they received legal advice should not buy. The Terms of Use say LegalZoom reviews answers only for completeness and consistency and never applies law to facts, and define network attorneys' experience as five years' practice, errors-and-omissions insurance, good standing and no recent discipline. The Terms say LegalZoom is not a registered legal document assistant under California law; the AI Additional Terms limit AI use to adults and say it is not legal advice; the footer names the subsidiary law firm, LZ Legal Services, LLC, as the only route to advice. Rocket Lawyer precedent. Flagged for sampling. Verified 18 September 2026.
The advice line is plain, visible and backed by a route to counsel. Every page carries a notice that Trust & Will is an online service providing legal forms and information, is not a law firm, does not give legal advice and is no substitute for an attorney, and the Terms of Service say the same and limit use to adults. Consumers are offered a flat-fee Attorney Support add-on with a licensed attorney in their state, with the states where it is unavailable named, or an attorney-led plan, and documents are described as state-specific and built by estate planning attorneys. Verified 22 September 2026.
AI Governance and Bias Disclosure
Published governance over model behavior: who owns it inside the vendor, what is tested before release, and what is disclosed about disparate output across matter types, parties, or populations.
No AI governance position was located, which is the D band. The privacy policy says LegalZoom applies privacy-by-design and has privacy and security teams, and uses AI and human review in processing; the AI Additional Terms set user rules. Nothing describes how the AI features are tested before release, who is accountable for them, or how they perform across users or document types. Searched the Terms of Service, Terms of Use, Privacy Policy, AI Additional Terms, Doc Assist page, AI capabilities page and security page on 18 September 2026. Verified 18 September 2026.
Checked the home, Attorneys, Advisors, Security and About pages, the Terms of Service and the Privacy Policy on 22 September 2026. No AI governance framework, accountable owner, testing before release, or finding on how AI answers or summaries perform was located. Verified 22 September 2026.
AI Safety and Data Stewardship
Retention, deletion, access control, and what happens to prompts and documents after they are processed. Whether the vendor states its subprocessors and its incident practice, or leaves the buyer to assume.
Published policy covering much of the ground, short of a retention period, a subprocessor list and an incident practice, which is the B band. The privacy policy covers products as well as the website, lists the data collected, names payment, shipping and identity-verification vendors (WorldPay, Adyen, Stripe, Onfido, Veriff, FedEx, USPS), bars service providers from other uses, sets out access and deletion requests with an appeal route, and says multi-factor authentication is in place for all customer accounts. The security page describes a dedicated security team, encryption of sensitive information and a responsible disclosure policy; the Doc Assist FAQ says uploads are stored in the user's documents centre. Retention is only 'at least as long as necessary', no AI provider is named, and no breach notification commitment was located. Verified 18 September 2026.
A specific security page, short of retention, subprocessors and incidents. The security page describes AES-256 encryption at rest, TLS 1.2 in transit, AWS hosting, automatic session logouts and independent SOC 2 Type II and HIPAA examinations, and says customers own their data. The Privacy Policy lists a data retention section whose text did not render on retrieval, and no subprocessor list or incident notification commitment was located. Verified 22 September 2026.
AI Liability and Recourse
What the vendor stands behind contractually when its output is wrong. Indemnities, caps, carve outs, insurance, and whether any of it is published or only reachable through a negotiated agreement.
Liability is addressed only by disclaimers and a standard cap, which is the C band. The AI Additional Terms provide the AI Services as is, with no promise that output is accurate, complete or fit for use; the Terms of Service and Terms of Use exclude indirect damages and cap liability at the amount paid. The LZ Guarantee is a refund policy on purchases and does not reach the free AI features. Verified 18 September 2026.
Exposure is disclaimed in full. The Terms of Service exclude liability for any direct, indirect or other damages arising from use of the services, subject AI output to the general disclaimers, and require disputes to go to mandatory arbitration with a class action waiver. Nothing stands behind a document or AI answer that proves wrong. Verified 22 September 2026.
Practice Systems Integration Depth
How deeply the product reaches into the systems legal work already lives in: document management such as iManage and NetDocuments, Word and Outlook, contract lifecycle management, matter management, e-billing, and court filing systems.
Documented, verifiable integrations with the contract of each described, which is the A band. The AI capabilities page publishes 24 MCP tools in seven families, from LLC formation and business licences to document analysis and attorney booking, each with its own page, plus a catalog.json carrying schemas, annotations, versions and authentication, a text catalogue for agents, connector set-up documentation and six read-only WebMCP browser tools. Named integrations cover ChatGPT, Claude and a Microsoft 365 Copilot agent. For a small-business buyer these assistants and Microsoft 365 are where the work happens. Flagged for sampling. Verified 18 September 2026.
Integration is thin on the legal side. The attorney platform supports bulk document uploads and referral tracking, and advisers can upload client documents for AI summaries, but no connection to an attorney's practice management, document management or drafting system was located on the pages read. Verified 22 September 2026.
Deployment Model and Data Residency
Where the software runs and where the data sits. Multi tenant cloud, single tenant, private deployment, on premises, and whether region of residence is a published option or an enterprise conversation.
Cloud delivery is implied and neither hosting location nor tenancy is stated, which is the C band. The privacy policy covers US, EU and UK users but says nothing about where data is hosted or processed, and the Doc Assist FAQ says the service is available only to US customers, which concerns eligibility rather than residency. Verified 18 September 2026.
The hosting provider is named; region and tenancy are not. The security page says Trust & Will runs on Amazon Web Services components with encryption at rest and in transit. No hosting region, tenancy model or processing location for AI features is stated. Verified 22 September 2026.
Security Certifications and Trust Center
Independent attestation a buyer can pull without a sales call: SOC 2, ISO 27001, penetration test summaries, a trust center with current reports and named scope rather than a badge image.
No independent security attestation was located, which is the D band. The security page, titled a trust page, describes a dedicated information security team, encryption, multi-factor authentication and a responsible disclosure policy, and names no SOC 2 report, ISO certification or audit. Searched the security page, privacy policy and Terms on 18 September 2026. Verified 18 September 2026.
Named examinations without a report route. The security page says Trust & Will has undergone SOC 2 Type II and HIPAA examinations resulting in an independent CPA's report. No auditor, period, trust centre or way to obtain the report is published. Verified 22 September 2026.
Model Supply Chain Disclosure
Which models sit underneath, whose they are, where they run, and whether the vendor commits to telling customers when that changes. A legal buyer inherits every dependency it cannot see.
Proprietary models are referred to without saying what sits underneath, which is the C band. The Doc Assist FAQ says inputs may train LegalZoom's own proprietary AI models and will not train third-party AI tools, and the AI Additional Terms say the features use generative AI. No model, version or provider is named, and nothing commits to notice of changes. The ChatGPT, Claude and Microsoft 365 Copilot integrations run LegalZoom tools inside other vendors' assistants and do not disclose what powers LegalZoom's own features. Verified 18 September 2026.
Outside models are acknowledged without being named. The Terms of Service say the AI features may use external models or AI-enabled software tools and that estate plan and account content is not used to train external models, but no model, provider, inference location or change notification is named. Verified 22 September 2026.
Commercial Transparency
Whether a buyer can learn what this costs without entering a sales process: published rates, the unit being charged, what sits behind an enterprise tier, and what implementation adds.
A buyer can learn the price without a sales process, which is the A band. LegalZoom's own pages publish LLC formation at $0 (Basic), $249 (Pro) and $299 (Premium) plus state filing fees, with Premium's attorney consultations renewing at $49 a month after 30 days and bookkeeping tools at $9.99 a month after six months, and Doc Assist is free. The Terms of Service set out filing fees, a 60-day refund window and an installment plan for purchases of $200 or more. Verified 18 September 2026.
Consumer and adviser prices are published; the attorney products are not. The Compare page lists the Will Plan at $199 and the Trust Plan at $499, Attorney Support at $299 and the membership at $49 a year, and the Advisors page lists flat annual adviser plans. The Attorney Led Plan is custom-priced, and no price for the attorney platform was located. Verified 22 September 2026.
Firm and Practice Coverage
Who the product is actually built for. AmLaw, midlaw, small firm and solo, in house departments, government and courts, and which practice areas are supported rather than merely claimed.
Who the product serves and what it covers are documented with limits stated, which is the A band. LegalZoom serves small businesses and individuals across business formation and compliance, business licences, trademarks, copyrights and provisional patents, wills, trusts, powers of attorney, prenuptial agreements, divorce and real estate documents. Stated limits: Doc Assist is US-only and takes text-based files up to 5 MB; licence lists exclude tax registrations and professional licences; the AI features are not for privileged, highly sensitive or minors' information; the Terms say LegalZoom is not a registered legal document assistant in California. Firm-segment and government limbs do not bite on a consumer product (R15). Flagged for sampling. Verified 18 September 2026.
Buyers and products are named, with one stated limit. The site addresses consumers planning wills, trusts, guardianship and probate, estate planning attorneys, financial advisers and nonprofits, and says its documents are state-specific; Attorney Support is not available in some named states. Which document types or family situations the online plans do not handle is not stated. Verified 22 September 2026.
The 12 legal signals, side by side
Recorded rather than graded. These are the questions a practitioner has to answer before a tool touches a client matter, and the answers are taken from public material only.
Client Data in Training
Can material a lawyer puts into this product be used to train a model?
Public material states that customer inputs may train the vendor's own models, with no matching term in the agreement. The Doc Assist FAQ says information provided through Doc Assist may be used to improve the product, which may involve training LegalZoom's own proprietary AI models, and will not be used to train any third-party AI tools. The Terms of Use license personal information only to enable the service and incorporate the Privacy Policy, whose product-development purpose covers developing machine learning or AI technologies without naming training. No opt-out was located.
The Terms of Service bar training external AI models on estate plan or account content, and reserve the use of content generated through AI features to provide, maintain, develop and improve the services. Nothing addresses training Trust & Will's own models; the improvement right never names training.
Prompt and Output Retention
How long does the product keep what a lawyer typed, and can that be set to zero?
Retention is acknowledged without a period. The privacy policy says personal information is kept at least as long as needed for its purposes and legal obligations; the Doc Assist FAQ says uploaded documents are stored in the user's documents center and summaries in a LegalZoom database. Deletion is by verified request and may be declined.
Checked the Privacy Policy, Terms of Service and Security page on 22 September 2026. The Privacy Policy lists a 'Retention of your data' section in its contents, but the section's text did not render on retrieval, and no retention period for documents, AI inputs or outputs was located elsewhere.
Ethical Walls and Matter Segregation
Does retrieval respect the firm’s ethical walls, or can the model read across them?
Searched the Terms of Service, Terms of Use, Privacy Policy, AI Additional Terms, Doc Assist page and security page on 18 September 2026. Nothing addresses separation between users' matters beyond authorised-contact controls on account access.
Checked the Attorneys, Advisors and Security pages on 22 September 2026. Nothing describes separating client files between matters or users within an attorney's or adviser's account.
Third Party Request and Subpoena Notice
If someone subpoenas the vendor for a firm’s data, does the firm hear about it first?
Disclosure is addressed and notice is not. The privacy policy says personal information may be disclosed as required by law, including subpoenas and law enforcement or national security requests, and the Terms of Service say that for a disabled account no information is released outside LegalZoom absent a subpoena or court order. No commitment to tell the customer first was located.
Checked the Terms of Service and the readable parts of the Privacy Policy on 22 September 2026. No term or policy addressing court or government requests for customer data was located.
Primary Law Corpus Provenance
Where does the law in this product come from, and does the vendor have the right to use it?
The sources are identified as the vendor's own content, with no primary law named. The MCP catalog says document analysis uses an attorney-curated clause framework and knowledge search draws on LegalZoom articles and approved legal education; the Terms of Use say LegalZoom strives to keep its documents current but cannot guarantee it. The statutes and cases behind that content and any update cadence are not stated.
Checked the home, Compare and Attorney Support pages on 22 September 2026. Documents are described as state-specific and built by estate planning attorneys, but no source of the law or forms behind them, or of the material behind AI answers, is identified.
Good Law Verification
Does the product tell you when the authority it just cited has been overruled?
Searched the Doc Assist page, AI capabilities page, AI Additional Terms and Terms of Use on 18 September 2026. The AI features summarize and analyze documents and cite no legal authority; no good-law check is described.
Checked the home and Attorneys pages and the Terms of Service on 22 September 2026. The product does not cite legal authority, and nothing addresses checking authority for later treatment.
Refusal and Uncertainty Behavior
What does the product do when the answer is not in the corpus?
Searched the Doc Assist page and FAQ, the AI Additional Terms, the AI capabilities page and the March 2026 business license release on 18 September 2026. Doc Assist says its summaries may be incomplete or inaccurate and points users to attorneys, and the release says about 30 percent of license research requests still go to human review, but no behavior for questions the AI cannot answer, and no confidence signal, is described.
Checked the home, Compare, Attorneys and Advisors pages and the Terms of Service on 22 September 2026. Nothing describes what the AI answers or assistant do when a question needs an attorney or cannot be answered; the Attorney Support add-on is offered separately.
Fabricated Citation Record
Does a public court record exist addressing fabricated or hallucinated legal citations in output from this product?
Searched web and trade press reporting on court sanctions for AI-fabricated citations on 18 September 2026 for any court record addressing fabricated or hallucinated content in output from LegalZoom's AI features. None located. This signal does not record litigation history of any other kind.
Searched the AI Hallucination Cases database maintained by Damien Charlotin on 22 September 2026 for Trust & Will, and no recorded case was returned. No court order, opinion or disciplinary record naming the product was located. This is a statement about the public record rather than a finding about the product.
Bar Guidance Alignment
Has the vendor engaged in public with the ethics opinions its buyers are bound by?
Professional responsibility is addressed in general terms without named guidance. The Terms set out that LegalZoom is not a law firm, is not a registered legal document assistant under California law, and define the experience standard for network attorneys; the footer names its subsidiary law firm. No ethics opinion, court AI order or bar guidance on AI is named on the surfaces read.
Checked the Attorneys, Attorney Support and Security pages and the Terms of Service on 22 September 2026. No material for attorneys engages with professional obligations when using the platform's AI or names any ethics opinion.
Billing and Fee Posture
Does the vendor address what happens to the bill when the work takes an hour instead of six?
The product sits outside a lawyer-client fee relationship. Small businesses and individuals buy forms, filings and the free AI tools for their own matters and represent themselves, per the Terms of Service; attorney fees under the legal plans are governed separately and are not the product graded.
Consumers buy their own will or trust plan directly at published prices, outside any lawyer-client fee; the optional Attorney Support add-on is a flat fee paid to Trust & Will. The attorney platform's effect on attorneys' fees is not addressed.
Outside Counsel Guideline Readiness
Can a firm get this vendor through a client’s AI clause without a bespoke negotiation?
Searched the Privacy Policy, Terms, AI Additional Terms, Doc Assist page and security page on 18 September 2026. The privacy policy names payment, shipping and identity-verification vendors as examples, but no subprocessor or AI model provider list is published and none is offered on request.
Checked the Security page, the Terms of Service and the Privacy Policy on 22 September 2026. No subprocessor or model provider list and no client-facing disclosure material was located.
Court Disclosure Support
If a judge’s standing order requires an AI disclosure, can the product produce one?
Searched the Terms, AI Additional Terms, Doc Assist page and AI capabilities page on 18 September 2026. Customers prepare documents they may file, such as divorce papers, but nothing addresses disclosing AI use to a court or recording which content AI produced.
Checked the home, Attorneys and Compare pages on 22 September 2026. The products produce estate planning documents rather than court filings, and nothing addresses recording or disclosing AI use; a separate probate service was not read.
The questions both sides leave open
Derived from the records above rather than written, so it cannot favor either vendor. Take these into both conversations and ask each side the same question.
- AI Governance and Bias Disclosure
- Ethical Walls and Matter Segregation
- Good Law Verification
- Refusal and Uncertainty Behavior
- Outside Counsel Guideline Readiness
- Court Disclosure Support
Which one fits
Choose LegalZoom if
- Your planning touches a business as well as a household. LegalZoom sells wills, trusts, powers of attorney and prenuptial agreements alongside LLC formation, registered agent service, trademark and copyright filings in one account, and states its limits, such as license lists that exclude tax registrations.
- You would rather start from ChatGPT or Claude than from a website. LegalZoom's published MCP catalog gives outside assistants 24 tools with documented schemas and versions, including document analysis against an attorney curated clause framework and booking an attorney review.
- You want to know what the AI checks against and where it can fail. LegalZoom's free Doc Assist analyzes documents against an attorney curated clause framework, takes text files up to 5 MB for US customers, and says plainly that its summaries may be incomplete or inaccurate.
Choose Trust & Will if
- Your family's documents hold health and financial details, and you want an independent report behind the security claims. Trust & Will states SOC 2 Type II and HIPAA examinations resulting in an independent CPA's report, with AES 256 encryption at rest, TLS 1.2 in transit and AWS hosting. No route to obtain the report is published.
- You want a flat price for a trust with an attorney available. Trust & Will publishes the Will Plan from $199, the Trust Plan from $499, Attorney Support with a licensed attorney in your state for a flat $299 and a membership at $49 a year, and names the states where Attorney Support is unavailable.
- You are an estate attorney or financial advisor rather than a consumer. Trust & Will's EstateOS gives attorneys AI document extraction, estate plan summaries that can be edited before sharing and an AI assistant for client plans and referrals, and publishes flat annual plans for advisors.
In summary
LegalZoom
LegalZoom.com, Inc. is a Nasdaq listed online legal platform in Mountain View, California, selling estate planning documents such as wills, trusts and powers of attorney alongside business formation, compliance filings, trademarks and attorney plans to individuals and small businesses. It states that it is not a law firm, with advice available through independent attorneys and its subsidiary law firm. The AI Legal Index grades it in the top two bands on five of fifteen capability axes, with A grades on professional responsibility posture, integration, pricing and coverage. Its free Doc Assist summarizer and a catalog of 24 MCP tools for outside assistants make up most of its AI. As of 18 September 2026 the index located no security attestation, no named model provider and no retention period for uploads.
Trust & Will
Trust & Will is an online estate planning service from Huge Legal Technology Company, a public benefit corporation in San Diego, selling state specific wills and trust based estate plans built through a guided interview, with a flat fee attorney add on, an attorney led plan and a probate service. Its EstateOS platform gives estate attorneys and financial advisors AI document extraction, plan summaries and an assistant. The AI Legal Index grades it in the top two bands on five of fifteen capability axes, with an A on professional responsibility posture. Its security page states SOC 2 Type II and HIPAA examinations by an independent CPA. As of 22 September 2026 the index located no AI governance position, no accuracy measure for its AI answers and no subprocessor list.
Questions buyers ask
LegalZoom vs Trust & Will: which is better for a will or trust?
The AI Legal Index does not separate them: both sit in the top two bands on five of fifteen capability axes, with identical grades on ten. Trust & Will is the specialist, with estate planning at its center, a flat fee attorney add on and SOC 2 Type II and HIPAA examinations. LegalZoom covers estate planning alongside business formation and trademarks, and connects to outside AI assistants through published MCP tools. Neither is a law firm, and both publish their prices.
How much does Trust & Will cost compared with LegalZoom?
Trust & Will publishes its Will Plan from $199, its Trust Plan from $499, Attorney Support for a flat $299 and a membership with AI answers and a digital vault at $49 a year, with an attorney led plan priced individually. LegalZoom publishes its prices too, with a 60 day refund window and installments on purchases of $200 or more, and its Doc Assist AI summarizer is free. Both charge flat prices rather than an attorney's hourly fees. Graded by AI Legal Index against 15 capability axes and 12 legal signals, including privilege handling and citation accuracy, from each vendor's own published materials, verified September 25, 2026. No vendor pays for placement.
Does Trust & Will use my estate plan to train AI?
Not in external models. Trust & Will's Terms of Service state that estate plan and account content is not used to train external AI models. The same terms reserve the right to use content generated through its AI features to provide, maintain, develop and improve its services, and do not say whether that includes training Trust & Will's own models. LegalZoom states that Doc Assist uploads may train its own proprietary models but not third party tools. Graded by AI Legal Index against 15 capability axes and 12 legal signals, including privilege handling and citation accuracy, from each vendor's own published materials, verified September 25, 2026. No vendor pays for placement.
Can I get an attorney through LegalZoom or Trust & Will?
Yes, as an add on in both cases, and both state that the platform itself is not a law firm and gives no legal advice. Trust & Will offers Attorney Support, a flat fee session with a licensed attorney in your state, names the states where it is unavailable, and offers an attorney led plan. LegalZoom offers attorney plans through independent attorneys and, where authorized, its subsidiary law firm LZ Legal Services, LLC. Graded by AI Legal Index against 15 capability axes and 12 legal signals, including privilege handling and citation accuracy, from each vendor's own published materials, verified September 25, 2026. No vendor pays for placement.
What do LegalZoom and Trust & Will both leave unpublished?
How their AI is run. Neither publishes an AI governance position, names the model behind its AI features, or says how accurate its AI answers and summaries are. Neither states a retention period for uploaded documents or publishes a subprocessor list. Neither commits to telling a customer before handing data to a court or government, and both disclaim liability for a document or AI answer that proves wrong. Graded by AI Legal Index against 15 capability axes and 12 legal signals, including privilege handling and citation accuracy, from each vendor's own published materials, verified September 25, 2026. No vendor pays for placement.
Two readings matter. The training positions look alike and are not identical. LegalZoom states that Doc Assist uploads may train its own proprietary models and will not train third party tools. Trust & Will bars training external models on estate plan content and reserves the right to use content generated through its AI features to improve its services, without saying whether that includes its own models. Trust & Will's privacy policy lists a retention section whose text could not be read, so its retention signal records what was readable, not a finding that no period exists. LegalZoom was verified on 18 September 2026 and Trust & Will on 22 September 2026. Neither vendor reviewed this page.
Neither vendor paid for inclusion, placement or a grade, and neither reviewed this page before it published. Everything above comes from public material on the dates shown. How the index grades.