Lexis+ AI vs VitalLaw Expert AI: how they compare in 2026
Lexis+ AI and VitalLaw Expert AI both put generative AI on a legal publisher's research corpus, LexisNexis on its case law and Shepard's, and Wolters Kluwer on its treatises and practice area content. Lexis+ AI sits in the top two bands on nine of fifteen axes and VitalLaw Expert AI on four of fifteen, identical on seven. Lexis+ AI leads on attestation and terms. An annual SOC 2 Type 2 examination covers Lexis and Lexis+ across all five trust principles. Every citation is checked against Shepard's, and the LexisNexis terms bar training any large language model on prompts and state that AI output is not legal advice. It trails on two axes, deployment and citation accuracy. It was marketed as free of hallucinated citations, and an independent Stanford study measured hallucinations on more than 17 percent of queries, while still ranking it the most accurate tool tested. VitalLaw Expert AI answers only from Wolters Kluwer content, with pinpoint citations and a mode that shows how a question was broken down. It publishes no agreement, security certification or named customer.
At a glance
All 15 axes, side by side
The same grid applied to every vendor in the index, graded from public sources. Hover a grade to see what the letter means on that axis.
AI Centrality
How much of the product is actually AI. Whether the machine learning is the mechanism the buyer is paying for or a feature layered onto conventional software, and whether the vendor is specific about which is which.
A generative layer over a research platform that predates it by decades and stands entirely without it. Remove the models and Lexis+ remains a working legal research service with Shepard's, the case law corpus, statutes and Practical Guidance intact; what is lost is conversational search, drafting and summarization. The vendor states the AI capabilities were built internally with technology partnerships rather than bolted on through acquisition, and the RAG platform is described as proprietary, so the model work is real and owned. Graded on the same basis as Everlaw and Relativity, both B, where a mature platform hosts the model layer rather than depending on it. Distinguished from Reveal, Jhana.ai and Descrybe at A, where removing the models removes the product.
The models are the engine of the capability sold as VitalLaw Expert AI, layered on a research platform whose value stands without them, which is the B band. What the buyer pays for in this product is model work: conversational answers to research questions, summaries that surface key points and risks, and drafted checklists, memos and policy language, all generated by retrieval over VitalLaw content. But the product is described by its own page as seamlessly integrated into the VitalLaw platform to enhance an existing workflow, and that platform, with its treatises, reporters, editorial analysis and practice tools such as SmartCharts, was sold for years before the AI arrived in September 2024. Remove the models and a subscriber still has the research platform. Verified 18 September 2026.
Citation Accuracy and Hallucination Disclosure
Whether the vendor publishes measured accuracy on citations and assertions, grounds output to primary sources, and says plainly what its system does when it does not know. Legal has a documented public record of fabricated citations reaching filed briefs, so an untested claim of accuracy is not evidence.
The architecture would support B. What holds it at C is an absolute claim that independent preregistered measurement contradicts, never retracted, answered with data the vendor has not published. Marketed on hallucination free linked legal citations, quoted elsewhere as 100 percent hallucination free. Independently tested in Magesh, Surani, Dahl, Suzgun, Manning and Ho, Hallucination-Free? Assessing the Reliability of Leading AI Legal Research Tools, 22 J. Empirical Legal Stud. 216 (2025), from Stanford RegLab and Stanford HAI, the first preregistered empirical evaluation of commercial legal AI tools, 202 hand built queries across general research, jurisdiction and time specific, false premise and factual recall categories, expert scored, dataset published. Result for this product: hallucinates on more than 17 percent of queries, accurate on 65 percent, incomplete answers on 18 percent. Credit where due and it is substantial: Lexis+ AI was the highest performing system tested, against Westlaw AI-Assisted Research at 33 percent and GPT-4 at 43 percent, and the grounding disclosure is real rather than asserted, covering a proprietary RAG platform, Shepard's editor reviewed sources, inline linked citations, a citation verification tool and in product feedback. Against: LexisNexis disputed the figure and stated its internal data showed lower rates, and has not published it. A preregistered peer reviewed measurement answered with an unpublished internal number is not a rebuttal this index can credit. Caveats belonging to the record: the initial methodology drew objections from both vendors and was revised, access restrictions constrained the design, and the systems were tested in May 2024 and have been updated since.
Grounding is real and documented, with linked sources and a described retrieval method, short of any published accuracy measure, which is the B band. The vendor states the product uses a retrieval-augmented generation framework that pulls exclusively from repositories inside VitalLaw, namely Wolters Kluwer's treatises, reporters, primary and secondary sources and editorial analysis, rather than public data. The product page describes Footnotes and PinPoint Citation linking every AI-generated answer to its original sources, and a Thinking Mode that shows how a query was broken down. An editorial layer is credited here and only here: Wolters Kluwer's editors write vetted question and answer pairs for complex topics, and the launch release says outputs and user feedback are reviewed. What is missing for A: no accuracy figure or evaluation is published, no failure mode is named, and nothing states what the system does when the content does not answer the question. Citation status checking is not described. Verified 18 September 2026.
Autonomy and Oversight Model
What the system decides on its own, what a lawyer must approve, and whether the vendor documents where the review point sits. A tool that drafts under review and a tool that files without one are different products and different risks.
Oversight is stated at governance level and instrumented at product level, which is a stronger pairing than most of this roster manages. The RELX Responsible AI Principles name human oversight as a governing commitment, and LexisNexis states that human experts review model output for legal accuracy and that continuous review and monitoring operate across products. In the product itself the oversight is practical: citations are linked inline so a user can open the authority behind any proposition, a user can submit a citation for verification and be told when it may be wrong, and in product feedback is collected and stated to feed accuracy improvement. Held at B because nothing is bounded or quantified. No autonomy threshold, no statement of what the system does without review, no description of what the human expert review actually covers or how often, and no escalation behavior. The independent evaluation is also relevant here: incomplete answers on 18 percent of queries means the system does decline or under answer at a measurable rate, and the vendor documents no refusal behavior at all.
A stated human oversight commitment with real review surfaces, short of a control structure, which is the B band. The vendor's April 2026 article says the product adheres to Wolters Kluwer's Responsible AI Principles, including human oversight, and the product page presents Thinking Mode, footnotes and pinpoint citations as tools to verify facts and understand context before relying on an answer; chat history lets a user return to prior work. The product answers and drafts on request and acts on nothing by itself. No mode, threshold or categorical limit on use of an output is published, and nothing addresses what happens when an answer is wrong. Verified 18 September 2026.
Operational and Outcome Evidence
Named, dated evidence that the product works in production at real firms or legal departments. Case studies with figures and identified customers count. Unattributed testimonials and launch announcements do not.
Deployment breadth is documented by segment and the product is the only one on this index whose real world performance has been independently measured and published. The commercial preview from May 2023 is described as covering global law firms, corporate legal departments, small law firms and United States courts, with the vendor stating that preview feedback drove specific product refinements before general availability in October 2023. Independent evidence: the Stanford RegLab and HAI evaluation establishes 65 percent accuracy across 202 expert scored queries, which is an outcome measure produced by a third party rather than a vendor claim, and is the only such figure on this index. Held at B rather than A because no customer, firm or court is named anywhere in located material, no usage figure is published, no vendor outcome measure exists, and the segment level description of the preview cohort is not something a buyer can verify or contact.
No production evidence located for the AI product. Searched the VitalLaw Expert AI product page, the VitalLaw law firm page, the April 2026 article and the launch release on 18 September 2026. No customer is named, no case study or testimonial is published, and no figure for time saved or quality is attributed to any user. The product is described as used within a globally trusted platform and the materials claim productivity gains and return on investment from day one without a basis; the linked Future Ready Lawyer survey describes the market, not this product. Verified 18 September 2026.
Privilege and Confidentiality Posture
How client confidences are handled: attorney client privilege and work product treatment, segregation of one client matter from another, whether client data trains any model, and what the vendor commits to in writing rather than in marketing.
Contractual commitments on the points that matter most. The LexisNexis General Terms, effective 5 June 2026, warrant that prompts and files submitted to the AI services will not be used to train any large language model and will be treated at least to the standard of confidential information, and the confidentiality clause requires advance notice before any disclosure compelled by law so the customer can seek a protective order. The annual SOC 2 Type 2 examination of Lexis and Lexis+ names confidentiality and privacy among its Trust Services Principles, not only security. What is absent: any treatment of legal professional privilege or attorney work product by name, and any matter level segregation model. That gap matters because document upload is a headline capability, so client material enters the system by design. Terms read for this record on 23 September 2026.
Confidentiality is asserted in general terms with one specific statement on training, and no agreement can be read before buying, which is the C band. The April 2026 article states that every response is generated within the secure walls of the VitalLaw platform, that every interaction remains within the platform, and that the product never uses customer data to train public models; the launch release says it provides answers without compromising an organization's data. The training statement is scoped to public models and lives in a marketing article. No subscription agreement, data processing terms or product privacy notice for VitalLaw was located, and nothing addresses privilege or work product, retention and deletion of chats, segregation between users or organizations, or what any model provider may retain. Verified 18 September 2026.
UPL and Professional Responsibility Posture
Whether the vendor is clear that it supplies a tool rather than legal advice, who its audience is, and how it addresses unauthorized practice of law, competence and supervision duties, and jurisdiction limits. ABA Formal Opinion 512 is the reference point. Where the advice line is not the duty a product raises, the axis is read through the nearest professional duty it does raise: judicial conduct rules and the reviewing duty for products sold only to courts, and the duty to bill for time actually spent for products that draft time entries.
A product wide disclaimer with a verification duty attached. The LexisNexis General Terms, effective 5 June 2026, which govern Lexis+ AI, state that the online services are not legal, accounting, financial or other professional advice or a substitute for an attorney, and the AI services clause adds that AI is not a substitute for independent professional advice and that users are responsible for verifying what it provides. The independent evaluation that measured a hallucination rate for this product makes that verification duty concrete rather than theoretical. Nothing addresses a lawyer's own professional obligations when relying on the output, and no jurisdiction or ethics guidance is named. Terms read for this record on 23 September 2026.
Nothing published on the advice line for a product that produces legal answers and drafts. Searched the product page, the April 2026 article, the Wolters Kluwer AI Principles and the launch release on 18 September 2026, and searched for VitalLaw subscription terms. No statement that the output is not legal advice, no position on a lawyer's competence or supervision duties and no jurisdiction limits were located. The product is marketed to legal professionals and says it empowers junior staff to contribute meaningfully, which is where a supervision statement would matter. The VitalLaw subscription terms, where a disclaimer would usually sit, are not published. Verified 18 September 2026.
AI Governance and Bias Disclosure
Published governance over model behavior: who owns it inside the vendor, what is tested before release, and what is disclosed about disparate output across matter types, parties, or populations.
A named parent level framework with stated commitments, published and attached to the product. The RELX Responsible AI Principles are named and enumerated as transparency, fairness, human oversight and respect for privacy, and LexisNexis states the product is built with them, that human experts review AI models for legal accuracy and ethical performance, and that continuous review and monitoring align products with accountability. That is materially more than the several records in this pull with no governance disclosure of any kind, and it is published on a trust surface rather than in a press release. Held at B because nothing behind the principles is published: no model card, no bias or fairness testing methodology or result, no evaluation output, no accuracy monitoring figures, no named governance body or review cadence, and no ISO 42001. A fairness principle with no measurement is a commitment rather than evidence, and the one substantive accuracy measurement in the public record was produced by researchers rather than by this framework.
Group-level responsible AI principles are published and tied to the product, without a mechanism a buyer could audit, which is the C band. The product states it adheres to Wolters Kluwer's AI Principles, which cover privacy and security, transparency and explainability, governance and accountability, fairness and a human focus, and commit to address risk management and issue remediation during design and development and after deployment. Nothing names who owns model behavior for VitalLaw, describes what is tested before release, or reports anything found about uneven output across practice areas or jurisdictions. The editorial review of answers is credited on citation accuracy and not repeated here. Verified 18 September 2026.
AI Safety and Data Stewardship
Retention, deletion, access control, and what happens to prompts and documents after they are processed. Whether the vendor states its subprocessors and its incident practice, or leaves the buyer to assume.
Handling controls are stated and the model training question is unanswered. Published: encryption, data minimization, pseudonymisation, privacy embedded at every stage of product development, secure cloud infrastructure, a robust set of information security policies, and incident response plans that are updated and tested periodically with technical, administrative, business and executive escalation paths and external firms on retainer. Incident response detail at that level is uncommon and is credited. What was not located: any statement on whether customer prompts, uploaded documents or research queries are used to train or improve any model, any retention position for that content, and any tenant separation description. For a product whose headline capabilities include document upload, the training and retention position is the disclosure a buyer needs most and it is the one not made. Checked the trust center material, the UK trust explainer, the launch material and the product pages on 29 Aug 2026.
General security statements cover the product without addressing what happens to prompts and documents, which is the C band. The vendor says the product operates within strict logical and physical security frameworks and that privacy and security are part of the design, development and deployment of its AI. Chat History lets users revisit past chats, so conversations are kept, but no retention period, deletion right, access control description, subprocessor list or incident commitment was located for VitalLaw. No product privacy notice or data processing terms are published. Verified 18 September 2026.
AI Liability and Recourse
What the vendor stands behind contractually when its output is wrong. Indemnities, caps, carve outs, insurance, and whether any of it is published or only reachable through a negotiated agreement.
A published agreement with a real indemnity, and AI output left to the user to verify. The LexisNexis General Terms and Conditions (effective 5 June 2026), the provider terms for LexisNexis online services, have LexisNexis defend and indemnify the subscriber against third-party patent, copyright, trademark and trade secret infringement claims arising from use of the service, with that indemnity excluded from a twelve-month liability cap. The AI Services clause says AI systems may not be accurate or error-free, that users are responsible for verifying information, and that AI is not a substitute for independent professional advice, so nothing stands behind a wrong answer or citation; this sits beside the vendor's earlier marketing of hallucination-free results. Verified 23 September 2026.
Nothing published on who bears the loss when the system is wrong. Searched the product page, the April 2026 article, the launch release and the Wolters Kluwer AI Principles, and ran two searches for VitalLaw subscription or service terms, on 18 September 2026. No agreement, warranty, indemnity or limitation of liability for VitalLaw or its AI was located. The corporate website terms govern wolterskluwer.com and are not connected to the product. Verified 18 September 2026.
Practice Systems Integration Depth
How deeply the product reaches into the systems legal work already lives in: document management such as iManage and NetDocuments, Word and Outlook, contract lifecycle management, matter management, e-billing, and court filing systems.
Nothing located in the material read, and this grade carries the weakest research basis on the record. No integration, connector, API or document management system relationship was found across the product pages, launch material, trust center material and UK trust explainer checked on 29 Aug 2026. Stated plainly rather than dressed up: this pass researched the product's capability claims and its trust estate and did not survey integration documentation, and a vendor of this scale very likely publishes some. Recorded as a documented absence across the surfaces actually checked, on the specific date, and flagged as the strongest correction candidate on this record. The honest reading is that this is a gap in the research rather than an established gap in the vendor's disclosure.
No integration into practice systems located. Searched the product page, the VitalLaw law firm page and the April 2026 article on 18 September 2026. The AI is integrated into the VitalLaw research platform itself, and VitalLaw offers an add-on clause builder from a partner, but no connection to document management, Microsoft Word or Outlook, matter management or any other system a firm already uses is named. Work produced must be moved out by hand. Verified 18 September 2026.
Deployment Model and Data Residency
Where the software runs and where the data sits. Multi tenant cloud, single tenant, private deployment, on premises, and whether region of residence is a published option or an enterprise conversation.
Nothing specific located. Published material refers to secure cloud infrastructure hosted on enterprise grade platforms, which names no provider, no region and no residency commitment, and to state of the art encryption, which is not a deployment disclosure. No single tenant or dedicated instance option is described and nothing states where customer queries or uploaded documents are processed and stored. Residency is a live question for a product sold across the US, UK, Canada, Ireland and Australia under different data protection regimes, and the Canadian trust material raises PIPEDA and Quebec Law 25 as customer obligations without stating the vendor's own residency position. Checked the trust center material, the Canadian and UK trust pages, the launch material and the product pages on 29 Aug 2026. Correction candidate: the SafeBase trust center may hold residency detail behind its registration gate, which was not entered.
Cloud delivery inside the vendor's platform is implied, with neither tenancy model nor region stated, which is the C band. The vendor says every response is generated within the secure walls of the VitalLaw platform and that the product can be deployed instantly across departments because it is part of the existing platform. Nothing states whether customers share infrastructure, where data is stored or processed, or whether any region can be chosen. Verified 18 September 2026.
Security Certifications and Trust Center
Independent attestation a buyer can pull without a sales call: SOC 2, ISO 27001, penetration test summaries, a trust center with current reports and named scope rather than a badge image.
The strongest security disclosure located in this pull, and the first A on this axis. A live trust center operates at trust.lexisnexis.com on SafeBase, with a self serve registration route through which authorized users access compliance reporting, which under the three tier test is a request flow rather than a sales gate. The attestation is named with its scope stated in full: an independent third party auditor performs an annual SOC 2 Type 2 examination of Lexis and Lexis+ against all five Trust Services Principles, security, availability, processing integrity, confidentiality and privacy. Naming all five is materially broader than the norm, since most vendors scope to security alone or to three criteria, and the difference is exactly what a reviewer needs to know. A SOC 1 Type 2 report for digital content management and information technology services is separately published and its update announced. Annual cadence addresses currency. Held short of a perfect record by two things stated here rather than hidden: the auditing firm is not named, and the Lexis+ AI specific examination is described on one vendor page as scheduled for Q1 2024 with no subsequent confirmation located, so the AI assets' current attestation status is unclear even though the platform's is not. Calibration ladder for later records: Regology and Onspring sit at B with two of four elements each, being auditor and scope respectively without a portal; this record carries scope, currency and a self serve portal, which is strictly more. Note also located and deliberately not characterized: the trust center carries a customer notification concerning a security matter, and the notice text was not read in full in this pass, so nothing is asserted here about its scope, date or which LexisNexis entity it concerns. It must be read before any adverse statement is made, and conflating LexisNexis Legal and Professional with LexisNexis Risk Solutions would be exactly the domain hazard this index has hit three times already.
No independent security attestation located for VitalLaw. Searched the product page, the April 2026 article and the Wolters Kluwer AI Principles, and ran a targeted search for a VitalLaw SOC 2 or ISO 27001 statement, on 18 September 2026. Other Wolters Kluwer products publish their certifications on their own pages, including TeamMate, CCH Integrator and CCH Tagetik, but no statement extends any of them to VitalLaw, so none is credited here. The product page refers only to strict logical and physical security frameworks. Verified 18 September 2026.
Model Supply Chain Disclosure
Which models sit underneath, whose they are, where they run, and whether the vendor commits to telling customers when that changes. A legal buyer inherits every dependency it cannot see.
The existence of external model relationships is disclosed and no party is named. The vendor states that the AI capabilities were built internally at LexisNexis with world leading technology partnerships, which confirms that third parties are involved in the model layer while identifying none of them, and describes the RAG platform as proprietary. No foundation model provider, model family or version is named, no subprocessor list was located, and nothing states which models process customer uploaded documents as opposed to the public corpus. For a RELX company selling to regulated buyers whose own supervisors ask subprocessor questions, the naming gap is notable. Compare Onspring at B, the only record on this index that names its model provider outright. Checked the launch and pressroom material, the product pages, the UK trust explainer and the trust center material on 29 Aug 2026.
The retrieval design is described and the models underneath are not identified, which is the C band. The vendor says the product uses retrieval-augmented generation over content inside VitalLaw rather than public data or opaque training sets, and contrasts itself with generic AI platforms. No model, model family, provider or hosting arrangement for inference is named on any surface read, nothing says what a model provider may retain, and no commitment to notify customers of a model change was located. Verified 18 September 2026.
Commercial Transparency
Whether a buyer can learn what this costs without entering a sales process: published rates, the unit being charged, what sits behind an enterprise tier, and what implementation adds.
No pricing located at any level. No price, no range, no tier structure, no unit of charge, and no statement of whether Lexis+ AI is licensed separately or bundled into a Lexis+ subscription, which is the first question a buyer with an existing contract would ask. Every route is a contact or demo request. Independent commentary describes tools in this segment as marketed at substantial monthly cost to professionals without publishing a figure, which is characterization rather than disclosure and is not credited. Checked the product pages, the launch and pressroom material and the trust center material on 29 Aug 2026. Standard practice for enterprise legal research incumbents and still an absence a buyer cannot work around.
No pricing information published at any level. Searched the product page, the VitalLaw law firm page, the April 2026 article and the launch release on 18 September 2026; every route leads to a demo request. The unit of charge is not stated. Trade press at launch reported the AI as an optional upgrade for existing VitalLaw subscribers, which is not the vendor's own current material and is not credited. No pricing row is written. Verified 18 September 2026.
Firm and Practice Coverage
Who the product is actually built for. AmLaw, midlaw, small firm and solo, in house departments, government and courts, and which practice areas are supported rather than merely claimed.
Corpus depth is the incumbent advantage and it is described in category terms rather than enumerated. Grounding content is named by type: case law reviewed by Shepard's editors, statutes, and Practical Guidance secondary material, described collectively as the largest repository of legal content, with the product available across the United States and further LexisNexis markets including the UK, Canada, Ireland and Australia under regional trust and product material. Shepard's coverage is itself a coverage claim of substance, since a citator only works where the corpus is complete. Held at B rather than A because nothing is enumerated at the level a researcher checks: no jurisdiction or court list, no historical date range, no update lag or refresh frequency for any content type, and no statement of which jurisdictions the AI features are actually available in as opposed to where the underlying platform is sold. The largest repository is a comparative claim rather than a measurable one.
Segments and practice areas are described with substance, short of the boundaries, which is the B band. The product page addresses law firms and corporate legal departments separately, and the vendor describes coverage of more than 26 practice areas grounded in its treatises, reporters and editorial analysis, naming tax, securities, privacy and labor and employment among them, with support for comparing regulations across jurisdictions. The full list of practice areas is not given on the product page, no jurisdiction list is published, and nothing says which practice areas or matter types the AI handles less well. Verified 18 September 2026.
The 12 legal signals, side by side
Recorded rather than graded. These are the questions a practitioner has to answer before a tool touches a client matter, and the answers are taken from public material only.
Client Data in Training
Can material a lawyer puts into this product be used to train a model?
The LexisNexis General Terms and Conditions (effective 5 June 2026), the provider terms for LexisNexis online services, warrant that subscriber inputs, including prompts, and subscriber files submitted to the AI services will not be used to train any large language model and will be treated at least as confidential information, whether or not an AI feature also draws on web-sourced content. The annual SOC 2 Type 2 examination of Lexis and Lexis+ covers confidentiality and privacy criteria.
A vendor article states no training on customer data for public models, and no VitalLaw agreement is published. The statement appears in the April 2026 article describing the product's governance; it is scoped to public models and does not address models used only within Wolters Kluwer. No subscription terms or data processing terms for VitalLaw were located on any surface searched, so the commitment is a published policy statement rather than a term a customer can read before buying.
Prompt and Output Retention
How long does the product keep what a lawyer typed, and can that be set to zero?
Not addressed. No retention period is published for prompts, generated answers, conversational search history or uploaded documents, and nothing indicates whether retention is configurable or can be set to zero. Data minimization is named as a principle, which speaks to collection rather than to duration. Checked the product pages, the UK trust explainer, the trust center material and the launch material on 29 Aug 2026. Same registration gate limitation as above applies.
Retention of conversations is acknowledged as a feature with no stated period. The product page offers Chat History so users can return to earlier research conversations, and the April 2026 article describes maintaining continuity across topics. No retention period, deletion control or zero-retention option is published, and no product privacy notice was located.
Ethical Walls and Matter Segregation
Does retrieval respect the firm’s ethical walls, or can the model read across them?
Not addressed. No permission model, matter level restriction or tenant segregation description was located, and no document management system integration was found that would let retrieval inherit a firm's own permissions at query time. The product accepts uploaded documents and is sold into large firms where walls are a routine requirement, so the absence is material rather than incidental. Checked the product pages, the UK trust explainer, the trust center material and the launch material on 29 Aug 2026.
Searched the product page, the April 2026 article, the launch release and the Wolters Kluwer AI Principles on 18 September 2026. Nothing addresses separation between users, matters or customer organizations. The product retrieves from Wolters Kluwer's own content rather than from a customer's documents, so walls around firm documents arise mainly for chats and uploaded material, and neither is addressed.
Third Party Request and Subpoena Notice
If someone subpoenas the vendor for a firm’s data, does the firm hear about it first?
The confidentiality clause of the LexisNexis General Terms, effective 5 June 2026, which govern Lexis+ AI, allows disclosure required by law, regulation or court order only with advance notice to the other party so that it can seek a protective order, and the terms apply that confidentiality standard to prompts and files submitted to the AI services. No transparency report was located.
Searched the same surfaces and ran two searches for VitalLaw subscription terms on 18 September 2026. No term or policy connected to VitalLaw addresses requests from third parties or government for customer data. The corporate website privacy notice was not treated as governing the product, as nothing connects it to VitalLaw.
Primary Law Corpus Provenance
Where does the law in this product come from, and does the vendor have the right to use it?
Sources named by type with no license basis stated. The grounding corpus is described as case law reviewed by Shepard's editors, statutes and Practical Guidance, which names the content classes and, unusually, names the editorial process applied to the case law rather than presenting it as raw text. Editorial review of the underlying authority is a provenance statement of real substance and few records in this pull can make it.
Not stated: the license or public domain basis for any content class, a jurisdiction or court enumeration, a historical date range, or an update lag for either the corpus or the citator. The vendor's description of the largest repository of accurate and exclusive legal content implies proprietary licensing without setting out its terms, and exclusive is a commercial characterization rather than a provenance disclosure.
The corpus is identified by type and by ownership, without titles, jurisdictions or update cadence. The vendor says answers are grounded in Wolters Kluwer's proprietary legal content across more than 26 practice areas, including treatises, reporters, primary and secondary sources and curated editorial analysis, retrieved only from inside VitalLaw. Individual titles, the jurisdictions covered and how quickly content is updated are not published.
Good Law Verification
Does the product tell you when the authority it just cited has been overruled?
Licensed citator, and the strongest value recorded on this signal in the pull. Shepard's Citations is a long established named commercial citator owned by this vendor, and the product is stated to check all citations in a generated response against Shepard's for validation, so treatment checking is applied automatically to AI output rather than left as a separate manual step the user must remember. A user can additionally submit a specific citation for verification and be told when it may be wrong.
This is the value the axis was written for: a named citator with an established treatment methodology, integrated into the generation path. Worth pairing with the Citation Accuracy note: automatic Shepard's validation did not prevent an independently measured hallucination rate above 17 percent, which tells a reader that citator validation addresses whether an authority exists and how it has been treated, and not whether the proposition drawn from it is correct.
Searched the same surfaces on 18 September 2026. No citator or subsequent-history check is described for authority cited in AI answers. Pinpoint citations link to the source, which confirms where an answer came from but not whether the authority is still good law.
Refusal and Uncertainty Behavior
What does the product do when the answer is not in the corpus?
Not addressed by the vendor, and measured by someone else. No published statement describes an explicit no answer path, an abstention behavior, a confidence score or what the system does when the corpus does not support an answer. The independent Stanford RegLab and HAI evaluation found the product returned incomplete answers, meaning refusals or ungrounded responses, on 18 percent of 202 queries, which establishes that some abstention behavior exists in the system without the vendor describing it.
Recorded as not addressed because the signal asks what the vendor discloses, and an externally observed rate is not a disclosure. The gap is significant on a product marketed as hallucination free: the honest counterpart to that claim would be a documented account of what happens when the system does not know, and it is not published.
Searched the same surfaces on 18 September 2026. Nothing describes what the product does when VitalLaw content does not answer a question. The vendor's statements that answers involve no synthetic data and no guesswork describe the retrieval design, not a behavior at the point of doubt.
Fabricated Citation Record
Does a public court record exist addressing fabricated or hallucinated legal citations in output from this product?
None located, with the instrument named and a distinction preserved that matters on this record. General web searches combining the vendor and product names with court, order, opinion, sanction, disciplinary and fabricated citation terms returned nothing on 29 Aug 2026. No named docket database or court record tracker was searched, so the instrument is weaker than this product's prominence warrants. The distinction: the Stanford RegLab and HAI study is an academic evaluation measuring a hallucination rate, not a court record, and it is recorded on the Citation Accuracy axis where it belongs.
It is not a product named adverse value here, and treating a peer reviewed study as though it were a judicial finding would collapse exactly the distinction this signal exists to preserve. Recorded as a statement about what this search found, not as a clearance.
Searched the AI Hallucination Cases database maintained by Damien Charlotin and trade press reporting on 18 September 2026 for court records addressing fabricated or hallucinated legal citations in output from VitalLaw or VitalLaw Expert AI. None located. This signal does not record litigation history of any other kind.
Bar Guidance Alignment
Has the vendor engaged in public with the ethics opinions its buyers are bound by?
Not addressed in the material read. No named ethics opinion, no ABA Formal Opinion 512 and no state bar guidance engagement was located across the product pages, launch and pressroom material, the UK trust explainer and the trust center material checked on 29 Aug 2026. Research limitation recorded rather than glossed: LexisNexis publishes a very large practitioner content estate including practice guidance and professional responsibility material, and this pass surveyed the product and its trust surfaces rather than that estate, so this value is a correction candidate.
What can be said on the material checked is that no bar guidance engagement appears on the surfaces where a buyer evaluating the product would look.
Searched the same surfaces on 18 September 2026. No bar ethics opinion is named or engaged in connection with the product, and professional responsibility is not discussed. Wolters Kluwer publishes market research on AI adoption by lawyers, which does not address the product's fit with any guidance.
Billing and Fee Posture
Does the vendor address what happens to the bill when the work takes an hour instead of six?
Not addressed. Nothing published addresses billing for AI assisted time, and no exportable record was located that a firm could use to show a client what portion of work was machine generated. The product's own commercial terms are not published either, so neither side of the fee question has a public answer. Checked the product pages, the launch and pressroom material and the trust center material on 29 Aug 2026.
Productivity is claimed for work inside a lawyer and client fee relationship, without any treatment of billing. The vendor says the product means less time spent drafting and more time advising, increases attorney productivity and delivers return on investment from day one, and sells it to law firms. Nothing addresses fee or disclosure treatment, and no record marks work as AI-assisted.
Outside Counsel Guideline Readiness
Can a firm get this vendor through a client’s AI clause without a bespoke negotiation?
On request, through a real and functioning route, which is better than most of this roster and short of a forwardable pack. The Trust Center at trust.lexisnexis.com runs on SafeBase and invites users to register to access compliance reporting including the SOC 1 Type 2 report, and the annual SOC 2 Type 2 examination of Lexis and Lexis+ is described with its full five principle scope. A firm responding to an outside counsel guideline questionnaire has a defined place to go and named attestations to point to, without needing a sales conversation.
Held at on request rather than higher because nothing is open: no downloadable summary, no published subprocessor list, no named model provider and no DPA were located outside the gate, and the registration gate itself was not entered in this pass so the contents of the portal are unverified.
Searched the same surfaces on 18 September 2026. No subprocessor list, model provider statement or forwardable disclosure material is published for VitalLaw, and no data processing terms were located.
Court Disclosure Support
If a judge’s standing order requires an AI disclosure, can the product produce one?
Partial record, strong on sources and silent on the rest. Citations are linked inline in every response and validated against Shepard's, and a user can submit a citation for verification, so the authorities relied on are identifiable and their treatment status is checkable, which is the sources retrieved limb answered better than almost anywhere on this index. The other two limbs a judicial standing order asks for are absent: nothing records which model produced a given output, and no human verification record is captured or exportable.
No export artifact of any kind was located. The independently measured hallucination rate makes the verification limb the consequential one, since a court asking whether a human checked the output would find the product captures no evidence either way.
Some elements of a record exist, short of a document-level export. Each AI answer shows its sources through footnotes and pinpoint citations, Thinking Mode shows how the query was broken down, and chat history keeps prior conversations. Nothing states which model produced an answer, no record of human verification is described, and no disclosure export is offered.
The questions both sides leave open
Derived from the records above rather than written, so it cannot favor either vendor. Take these into both conversations and ask each side the same question.
- Practice Systems Integration Depth
- Commercial Transparency
- Ethical Walls and Matter Segregation
- Refusal and Uncertainty Behavior
- Bar Guidance Alignment
Which one fits
Choose Lexis+ AI if
- You need attestation your security team can review. LexisNexis states an annual independent SOC 2 Type 2 examination of Lexis and Lexis+ covering security, availability, processing integrity, confidentiality and privacy, with reports through a self serve trust center registration.
- You want every cited authority checked for treatment. Lexis+ AI validates citations in each response against Shepard's Citations and lets a user submit a citation to be told when it may be wrong.
- You need the training bar and an indemnity in the contract. The LexisNexis general terms warrant that prompts and files submitted to its AI will not train any large language model, and defend customers against infringement claims outside the liability cap.
Choose VitalLaw Expert AI if
- You work in tax, securities, privacy or employment. VitalLaw Expert AI answers from Wolters Kluwer's treatises, reporters and editorial analysis across more than 26 practice areas, and editors write vetted answers to common complex questions.
- You want to see how an answer was built. VitalLaw Expert AI links each answer to its sources through footnotes and pinpoint citations, and its Thinking Mode shows how a question was broken down.
- You already subscribe to VitalLaw. The AI sits inside the existing VitalLaw platform, so it can be deployed across departments without a new system, and it drafts checklists, memos and policy language from the same content.
In summary
Lexis+ AI
Lexis+ AI is the generative AI research, drafting and summarization product from LexisNexis Legal and Professional, a RELX company, layered over the Lexis+ platform and generally available in the United States since October 2023. It offers conversational search, drafting, summarization and document upload, grounded in LexisNexis case law, statutes and Practical Guidance, with every citation checked against Shepard's. The AI Legal Index grades it in the top two bands on nine of fifteen capability axes, with an A on security certifications. An independent Stanford study found it the most accurate tool tested and measured hallucinations above 17 percent. As of 29 August 2026 the index located no price, retention period or named model.
VitalLaw Expert AI
VitalLaw Expert AI is the generative AI layer of VitalLaw, the legal research platform of Wolters Kluwer Legal & Regulatory U.S., launched in September 2024 as VitalLaw AI. It answers research questions, summarizes documents and drafts checklists, memos and policy language from Wolters Kluwer's treatises, reporters and editorial analysis across more than 26 practice areas, with pinpoint citations and a Thinking Mode. The AI Legal Index grades it in the top two bands on four of fifteen capability axes. Wolters Kluwer states it never uses customer data to train public models. As of 18 September 2026 the index located no published agreement, security certification, named customer or price.
Questions buyers ask
Lexis+ AI vs VitalLaw Expert AI: which is better for legal research?
Lexis+ AI sits in the top two bands on nine of fifteen AI Legal Index capability axes and VitalLaw Expert AI on four of fifteen, identical on seven. Lexis+ AI publishes a broad SOC 2 examination, Shepard's validation and contract terms on training, confidentiality, the advice line and indemnity. VitalLaw Expert AI grades higher on citation accuracy because it makes no claim that measurement has contradicted, and higher on deployment. Practitioners in its practice areas may weigh its editorial content.
How accurate is Lexis+ AI?
A preregistered Stanford RegLab and HAI study of 202 legal queries, run in May 2024 and published in 2025, found Lexis+ AI accurate on 65 percent of queries, hallucinating on more than 17 percent and incomplete on 18 percent. It was the highest performing system tested. LexisNexis disputed the figure and has not published its own data. No comparable measure exists for VitalLaw Expert AI. Graded by AI Legal Index against 15 capability axes and 12 legal signals, including privilege handling and citation accuracy, from each vendor's own published materials, verified September 27, 2026. No vendor pays for placement.
Do Lexis+ AI and VitalLaw Expert AI train on customer data?
The LexisNexis general terms effective 5 June 2026 warrant that prompts and files submitted to its AI services will not be used to train any large language model. Wolters Kluwer states in an April 2026 article that VitalLaw Expert AI never uses customer data to train public models; no VitalLaw agreement is published. Graded by AI Legal Index against 15 capability axes and 12 legal signals, including privilege handling and citation accuracy, from each vendor's own published materials, verified September 27, 2026. No vendor pays for placement.
Does either tool check whether cited law is still good?
Lexis+ AI checks every citation in a response against Shepard's Citations, LexisNexis's own citator. That shows how later courts have treated an authority; it does not confirm that the proposition drawn from it is right. VitalLaw Expert AI links answers to their sources with pinpoint citations but describes no check on whether cited authority has been overruled or superseded. Graded by AI Legal Index against 15 capability axes and 12 legal signals, including privilege handling and citation accuracy, from each vendor's own published materials, verified September 27, 2026. No vendor pays for placement.
What do Lexis+ AI and VitalLaw Expert AI both leave unpublished?
A price, a named model and a document management integration. Neither publishes pricing, neither names the model or provider behind its AI, and neither names a connection to a document management system or Word. Neither publishes a retention period for prompts, chats or uploaded documents. Graded by AI Legal Index against 15 capability axes and 12 legal signals, including privilege handling and citation accuracy, from each vendor's own published materials, verified September 27, 2026. No vendor pays for placement.
Three readings to weigh. The Stanford evaluation of Lexis+ AI tested the product in May 2024; LexisNexis disputed its figure and has not published its own. VitalLaw Expert AI has no published subscription agreement or data terms, so its no training statement, scoped to public models, sits in a vendor article. Neither names the models behind its AI or publishes a price. Lexis+ AI was verified on 29 August 2026, with its contract terms read on 23 September 2026, and VitalLaw Expert AI on 18 September 2026. Neither vendor reviewed this page.
Neither vendor paid for inclusion, placement or a grade, and neither reviewed this page before it published. Everything above comes from public material on the dates shown. How the index grades.