Ontra vs PERSUIT: how they compare in 2026
These two are not usually evaluated against each other. Ontra does the routine legal work of a private markets firm, negotiating NDAs and high volume contracts and turning fund documents into structured obligation data. PERSUIT buys legal work rather than doing it, running competitive proposals, alternative fee arrangements and panel management for a corporate legal department. Side by side, they show two different disclosure shapes rather than a simple gap. Ontra publishes something on nearly every question: ISO 42001 alongside SOC 2 Type 2 across all five trust criteria, a human review model that names the pipeline layers where failures are diagnosed, and a no legal advice clause reaching the platform rather than the website. It also has a pricing page carrying a monthly minimum. PERSUIT publishes on fewer questions but goes further than Ontra on two. Its customer figures carry their denominators and a date, and its integration documentation names the fields that move in each direction.
At a glance
All 15 axes, side by side
The same grid applied to every vendor in the index, graded from public sources. Hover a grade to see what the letter means on that axis.
AI Centrality
How much of the product is actually AI. Whether the machine learning is the mechanism the buyer is paying for or a feature layered onto conventional software, and whether the vendor is specific about which is which.
The models drive the data products and sit as a layer on the service products. Insight extracts clauses and covenants from fund and credit agreements into structured obligation data, Accord produces AI markup against a digital playbook, and DDQ generates responses from a precedent library; all three are model driven. But for Contract Automation, the flagship, Ontra's pricing page says the work is done by people: qualified contract professionals on Standard, qualified lawyers on Advanced, and lawyers described as having experience at top firms on Premier. Remove the models and an outsourced negotiation service and an entity directory remain saleable. A core capability is model driven, on a workflow and document platform that would still work without it.
Persi is described by the vendor as the intelligence layer built into PERSUIT, and the pricing position is explicit: it is not bought separately and arrives with the platform. PERSUIT ran as a competitive RFP, fee arrangement and electronic billing platform for about a decade before Persi existed. Its underlying capabilities, such as request management, panel governance, invoice review and spend reporting, are workflow and data functions that stand without models. What the models add is real and central to how the product is now sold: matter triage, fee benchmarking, firm shortlisting, proposal evaluation and anomaly detection across six named workflow stages. The product would still function without them.
Citation Accuracy and Hallucination Disclosure
Whether the vendor publishes measured accuracy on citations and assertions, grounds output to primary sources, and says plainly what its system does when it does not know. Legal has a documented public record of fabricated citations reaching filed briefs, so an untested claim of accuracy is not evidence.
Accuracy is asserted and never measured. The AI page promises “reliable AI” and “expert-validated, actionable intelligence”, and AI Search is marketed as answering questions “informed by the full scope of your agreements”. No accuracy figure, test set, evaluation or named failure mode is published. Nothing published shows that an answer links back to a source passage a reader can open and check. The expert review process that catches hallucinations is covered under Autonomy and Oversight. The product works on the customer's own fund documents rather than primary law, so grounding to primary authority and citation status checks fall outside what it claims.
The dataset is described precisely, and the output is never measured. PERSUIT states that Persi draws on more than $22 billion in proposal data across more than 4,800 firms, and the proof page dates that dataset to platform transactions as of February 2026. No accuracy figure, evaluation, test set or named failure mode was found for Persi's own outputs on any page read. Persi's illustrated answers cite counts of comparable matters and percentages against benchmark. Nothing published shows that a user can open the underlying comparables to check them. Grounding to primary law and citator checks do not apply, since the product reasons over commercial pricing data rather than case law. Accuracy is asserted without measurement.
Autonomy and Oversight Model
What the system decides on its own, what a lawyer must approve, and whether the vendor documents where the review point sits. A tool that drafts under review and a tool that files without one are different products and different risks.
A written human review commitment is published with a described mechanism. The security page sets out a Human-in-the-Loop Model in which subject matter experts continually review text outputs for accuracy, flag potential hallucinations and enforce consistency across repeated questions. They then trace root causes to retrieval augmented generation prompting, query understanding or embedding models, naming the layers of the pipeline where failures are diagnosed. The pricing page adds a second control by tiering who does the work, from contract professionals to lawyers described as having experience at top firms. The rest of the control structure is missing: no thresholds, no statement of what runs unattended and what a customer must approve, and no described review screen or escalation route in the product.
PERSUIT publishes a clear written division of labor with a visible approval point. The Persi page states that Persi does not replace the customer's judgment: the customer brings the judgment and Persi brings the infrastructure. Every one of the six illustrated workflows ends at a confirmation rather than an action. Requests are drafted ready to review and send, a breaching invoice is put on hold pending review, and exceptions are flagged for the customer. The customer configures the constraints. Engagement rules such as minimum competitive bids, spend thresholds, panel requirements and diversity obligations apply to every matter, with a worked example of a $100,000 threshold triggering a competitive request to at least three panel firms. No autonomy modes are published, and nothing states what Persi may do without asking. The control structure is shown through product illustrations rather than documentation a buyer could hold the vendor to.
Operational and Outcome Evidence
Named, dated evidence that the product works in production at real firms or legal departments. Case studies with figures and identified customers count. Unattributed testimonials and launch announcements do not.
Attribution is strong, and the figures sit on the other side of it. Named customers come with named officers and titles: Vincent Taurassi, General Counsel and COO at Sentinel Capital Partners; Lizette Perez-Deisboeck, General Counsel and CCO at Battery Ventures; Jonathan Romick, General Counsel at Linden Capital Partners, describing an SEC production; and Ed Zelaski, Director of Compliance at Blue Point. Blackstone and Bain Capital Credit have their own case studies. Separately, the vendor publishes portfolio figures: more than 1,000 customers, more than 2 million documents processed, 9 of the top 10 PEI ranked firms, and 96 percent customer retention. A footnote gives the retention method: the average across customers using a platform solution for at least a year as of December 2025. That is a dated, assessable method, but it describes the vendor's book, not what changed at a named firm. Named customers come without figures, and figures without a named customer.
Named legal departments, a customer result and dated platform figures with their basis are all published. Named officers include Gabriel Harnier, General Counsel at SAP; Anne Robinson, Chief Legal Officer at IBM; Sabine Chalmers, General Counsel at BT Group; Leanne Geale, Group General Counsel at Nestlé; and Ernst van de Weert, General Counsel at Heineken. SAP reached its three year savings target in nine months. Platform figures are 26 percent average savings per matter, 30 percent with competitive sourcing, the lowest bid winning 48 percent of the time, and 79 percent of value awarded under an alternative fee arrangement. Each has its denominator explained and is footnoted as sourced from PERSUIT platform transactions as of February 2026. Each carries a caveat that individual results differ by matter type, industry and process design. The testimonials for individual customers are quotes without their own figures.
Privilege and Confidentiality Posture
How client confidences are handled: attorney client privilege and work product treatment, segregation of one client matter from another, whether client data trains any model, and what the vendor commits to in writing rather than in marketing.
Training and model provider retention are answered; separation is not. The security page says Ontra never uses customer data to train models, and that data passed to third party LLM providers is processed only to deliver the service and deleted afterwards, which states what the model provider keeps. Terms of Service clause 10.2 commits Ontra to a reasonable degree of care over User Data. Against that, clause 6.2 reserves the right to collect usage data on an aggregated and anonymized basis to improve products, except as limited by a Customer Agreement. The no training promise therefore lives on a marketing page while the published agreement reserves an improvement use. Nothing documents separation between tenants, and clause 10.2 warns that other Users with access rights may reach User Data. Privilege and work product are not addressed, and the Customer Agreement is unpublished.
Confidentiality is asserted in general terms, and the substance sits behind an NDA. The privacy policy commits to reasonable steps against misuse and unauthorized access and states that employees may not view customer data unless necessary to diagnose a problem. It describes SSL/TLS in transit and logging of sign ins, and the security page adds SSO and role based access controls. Nothing addresses training on customer content. Persi is marketed as trained on the aggregate proposal dataset that customers themselves generate, and no published term says whether a given customer's proposals feed it. No retention or deletion position, segregation by matter or tenant, or treatment of privilege or work product was found. The security page lists the documents that would answer these, the subprocessor list, data flow diagrams and SOC 2 report, as available in the Trust Center under NDA. A buyer cannot read the commitments before entering an evaluation.
UPL and Professional Responsibility Posture
Whether the vendor is clear that it supplies a tool rather than legal advice, who its audience is, and how it addresses unauthorized practice of law, competence and supervision duties, and jurisdiction limits. ABA Formal Opinion 512 is the reference point. Where the advice line is not the duty a product raises, the axis is read through the nearest professional duty it does raise: judicial conduct rules and the reviewing duty for products sold only to courts, and the duty to bill for time actually spent for products that draft time entries.
A real position covering the product, not just the website, is published. Terms of Service clause 12.2, headed No Legal or Other Advice, says nothing in the Services, software or documentation is legal advice, that Ontra is not a law firm and provides no legal services, advice or representation, and that no attorney client relationship is formed. It places responsibility for decisions taken in reliance on output with the user. The clause reaches the Platform, not only the marketing site. It sits in tension with the business: Ontra runs the Ontra Legal Network, and the pricing page sells access to qualified lawyers who negotiate the customer's contracts. Nothing addresses the buyer's own competence and supervision duties, no jurisdiction limits are named, and ABA Formal Opinion 512 is not mentioned.
Nothing is published on the advice line. No terms of service, customer agreement or disclaimer was found. The footer link labeled Privacy & Terms leads to a privacy policy alone, and the home, platform, Persi, security, integrations and proof pages carry no disclaimer. PERSUIT produces sourcing and pricing recommendations rather than legal work product. Persi is described as advising whether a matter should be insourced or sent out, recommending which firms to instruct, and evaluating which proposal represents best value. Those recommendations are used by in house lawyers and by law firms. No position on the line between tooling and professional judgment is published, and ABA Formal Opinion 512 is not mentioned.
AI Governance and Bias Disclosure
Published governance over model behavior: who owns it inside the vendor, what is tested before release, and what is disclosed about disparate output across matter types, parties, or populations.
Ontra holds ISO 42001, the international management system standard for AI, stated on the security page and shown as a badge on the home page. A certified AI management system is a governance framework with real substance, not a set of principles. Three things are missing. No person or committee at Ontra is named as accountable, no testing regime before release is described, and no result is disclosed on uneven output across document types, jurisdictions or counterparties. The SOC 2 and ISO 27001 attestations belong to security rather than AI governance.
No governance position is published for a system that allocates work between law firms. There is no responsible AI page, no named accountable owner, no testing regime before release, and no ISO 42001 or equivalent. Persi shortlists firms, scores firm performance with numeric value scores, and decides which firms are invited to compete for mandates worth six and seven figures. The vendor itself lists diversity obligations among the engagement rules the system enforces. Nothing published addresses whether those recommendations have been tested for uneven treatment across firms, jurisdictions or matter types. Security certifications are a different subject and are covered under Security Certifications.
AI Safety and Data Stewardship
Retention, deletion, access control, and what happens to prompts and documents after they are processed. Whether the vendor states its subprocessors and its incident practice, or leaves the buyer to assume.
Most of the ground is covered, and the gap is incident practice. The security page publishes AES-256 with rotating keys at rest and TLS 1.2 or above in transit, says third party LLM providers encrypt in both states, and commits to deleting data passed to those providers once processing is complete. It names a dedicated security team and the tools it runs: SAST, DAST, CDR, EDR, continuous GRC, WAF and MDM. A subprocessor list is published on the trust center at trust.ontra.ai, which also offers email notice of subprocessor changes. Not published: any incident response or breach notification practice, or any statement of how long documents and generated outputs are kept inside the platform, as distinct from the zero retention commitment at the model layer.
A generic privacy policy and a security summary are published, with the operative detail withheld. Published controls are SSL/TLS encryption in transit, employee access restricted to what is needed to diagnose problems, logging of sign ins, regular external security audits by contracted firms, and tested business continuity and disaster recovery plans. Role based access control and full audit logging across platform activity are also stated. No retention period, deletion practice beyond GDPR erasure rights, or incident or breach notification practice is published. A subprocessor list exists, but the security page places it in the Trust Center under NDA. The privacy policy is dated October 2021 and still relies on the EU-US Privacy Shield Framework, invalidated by Schrems II in July 2020. The policy covers the product without addressing what happens to matter data, proposals and prompts after processing.
AI Liability and Recourse
What the vendor stands behind contractually when its output is wrong. Indemnities, caps, carve outs, insurance, and whether any of it is published or only reachable through a negotiated agreement.
The published allocation is specific and runs one way. Terms of Service clause 13.2 caps Ontra's total liability at $100, disclaims all consequential, incidental and special damages, including loss or corruption of data, and carves out only fraud and willful misconduct. Clause 12.1 provides the Services as is with all warranties disclaimed, and clause 13.1 runs the only indemnity from the user to Ontra. There is no warranty on output, no insurance position and no indemnity to the customer. The document that would actually govern a buyer is not published. Clause 1 says a customer's written Customer Agreement supersedes these Terms, and no Customer Agreement, MSA or DPA is published on the site. The figure and the carve out can be read before signing, but what is published disclaims the exposure the product creates rather than standing behind it.
Nothing published says who bears the loss when a recommendation is wrong. No terms of service, master subscription agreement, customer agreement or service level agreement was found. The footer was checked across six pages, and its Privacy & Terms link leads to a privacy policy with no liability, warranty or indemnity provision. No separate terms page appears in the navigation. The Trust Center is the only route to contractual documentation, and the security page states its contents are available under NDA, which is the vendor's choice to gate them. No indemnity, cap, carve out, warranty on output or insurance position can be read before a buyer enters an evaluation.
Practice Systems Integration Depth
How deeply the product reaches into the systems legal work already lives in: document management such as iManage and NetDocuments, Word and Outlook, contract lifecycle management, matter management, e-billing, and court filing systems.
Real integrations are named and described by what they do rather than how to configure them. The Ontra MCP Server gives a customer's own LLM real time, read only access to Atlas entity data, so a firm can query entities and ownership structures from its existing AI tool; direction and permission model are both stated. The Terms of Service name Ontra for Word as an application plugin, placing the product in the drafting tool lawyers already use. The Atlas pricing panel includes a Standard API package, the DDQ panel lists flexible exports, and Insight publishes side letter compliance exports. Contract Automation includes a document management system in all three editions. No integrations page, developer index or configuration documentation is published, and no connector to a legal document management system such as iManage or NetDocuments is named.
Integration is documented in detail. Four connection routes are published, managed integrations, an RFP API, a reporting API and composable workflows, and each is documented at field level. Direction is stated explicitly. Matter management systems send PERSUIT the matter ID, reference data, legal team assignments, practice group and jurisdiction. When an RFP concludes, PERSUIT sends the billing system the PERSUIT ID, firm name, total budget, currency, matter owner, entity, category and department. Sample API fields are printed on the page, including request_id, participation_status, pricing_items, total_fee, average_rate, price_at_start and price_at_end. Managed integrations are stated to need no custom development, and a public API documentation URL is published. The target systems are described by category rather than by product, so no specific matter management or billing partner is named. The API documentation sits behind the application and was not opened.
Deployment Model and Data Residency
Where the software runs and where the data sits. Multi tenant cloud, single tenant, private deployment, on premises, and whether region of residence is a published option or an enterprise conversation.
Cloud delivery is obvious, and neither tenancy nor residency is stated. The product is a web platform reached at app.ontra.ai, but none of the home page, the AI capabilities page, the security and privacy page, the pricing page or the Terms of Service states a tenancy model or offers a data residency region, and no processing location is given separately from storage. The only published point touching location is that third party LLM providers encrypt data in transit and at rest, which says nothing about where either sits. A trust center sits at trust.ontra.ai on Vanta.
The host is named, and neither tenancy nor a residency option is stated. The security page states the platform runs on Google Cloud, with MongoDB and Qlik as data providers, which answers whose infrastructure is used but not where a given customer's data sits. No tenancy model is published. No residency option is offered. The only location material is in the privacy policy, which says personal information may be stored outside Australia with cloud providers in the United States, and that European personal data may be transferred to Australia and the US under standard data protection clauses. That is a transfer disclosure about personal information rather than a residency offering for platform data, and it comes from a policy dated October 2021. Processing location is not addressed as distinct from storage, and no region can be chosen by the customer.
Security Certifications and Trust Center
Independent attestation a buyer can pull without a sales call: SOC 2, ISO 27001, penetration test summaries, a trust center with current reports and named scope rather than a badge image.
The certification set is strong. The security page states SOC 2 Type 2 across all five trust services criteria, with the scope specified, plus ISO 27001:2022 with the version named and ISO 42001. A trust center on Vanta at trust.ontra.ai is linked from the security page and says it carries subprocessor information and offers notice of changes. No auditor is named and no coverage period or report date is published, and nothing says whether reports can be downloaded, sit behind a click through, or require a sales conversation.
The certifications are real, current and itemized, but the evidence is not openly accessible. The security page states ISO/IEC 27001:2022 with the version named and describes it as independently audited rather than assessed by the company itself. It also states SOC 1 Type 2 attestation and CSA STAR certification. Third party external assessments are published with dates and scores: SecurityScorecard A and UpGuard 865/950, both stated as independently assessed in January 2025. A SafeBase trust center is named and publicly linked. The page lists what it holds: a penetration test report, network diagram, data flow diagrams, SOC reports, subprocessor list, ISO certificate and Statement of Applicability, and OSPAR for financial services buyers. The SOC 2 report is stated to be available under NDA once access is granted. No auditor is named for any attestation, no coverage period is given, and the SOC 2 scope is not specified. No request was submitted.
Model Supply Chain Disclosure
Which models sit underneath, whose they are, where they run, and whether the vendor commits to telling customers when that changes. A legal buyer inherits every dependency it cannot see.
The architecture is described in detail and the providers behind it are never named. Ontra names its own pipeline layers, retrieval augmented generation, query understanding and embedding, and states a zero retention commitment at the model layer, so the shape of the system is visible and the model provider is known not to keep customer content. Nothing published answers the question of whose model sees customer content. No model, model family or provider is named, and no inference location is stated. The trust center at trust.ontra.ai has a dedicated subprocessors page with email notice of changes to the list, so a change notice mechanism exists.
Persi is described through its training data and never through its models. The vendor states repeatedly that Persi is trained on more than $22 billion of outside counsel management data and contrasts it with generic AI, naming Claude and Copilot only as competitor categories. No model, model provider, inference location or commitment to notify customers of changes was found on any page read. Google Cloud, MongoDB and Qlik are named on the security page. They answer where the software runs rather than whose model sees client content. The subprocessor list that might answer it is in the Trust Center under NDA. The vendor refers to proprietary intelligence without identifying what sits underneath.
Commercial Transparency
Whether a buyer can learn what this costs without entering a sales process: published rates, the unit being charged, what sits behind an enterprise tier, and what implementation adds.
A real pricing page carries tiers, feature splits, the unit of charge and one actual number. Contract Automation publishes three editions with a comparison matrix covering playbook customization, who does the work, turnaround and document management. It states a monthly minimum fee of $2,000 on both Advanced and Premier, and no monthly minimum on Standard. Insight for Funds publishes three tiers and Insight for Credit two, each with a populated feature matrix. Atlas, Accord, DDQ and KYC publish what their licenses include and route the figure to Request Pricing. Free trials and a proof of value are offered without a sales gate on several products. The rate per document that actually drives the bill is never published, so the floor is known but not the price, and six of the seven products carry no figure at all.
No pricing information is published at any level. There is no pricing page: the navigation and footer were checked across the home page and the platform, Persi, security, integrations, proof and privacy pages, and none has a pricing entry. No plan names, packaging structure, unit of charge or figure are published. Every commercial route is a demo request, an industry briefing or a contact form. The ROI calculator asks the buyer to supply its own outside counsel spend rather than disclosing what PERSUIT costs. Neither the shape of the pricing nor any number is published.
Firm and Practice Coverage
Who the product is actually built for. AmLaw, midlaw, small firm and solo, in house departments, government and courts, and which practice areas are supported rather than merely claimed.
Coverage is described by buyer and by workflow with real precision. The site has pages by team (legal, compliance, finance and investor relations) and by firm type, covering investment firms, investment banks and law firms, the last aimed at automating MFN processes. The practice scope is concrete: NDAs and other routine contracts, engagement letters, side letters and MFN elections, credit agreements and covenants, entity management and CTA compliance, reverse KYC, and investor due diligence questionnaires. The private markets framing is a real boundary, and the vendor repeats it everywhere. Limits inside that boundary are not stated. Nothing says which document types Contract Automation will decline, government use is not addressed, and the only scope caveat located is a pricing footnote that some document types, such as commercial agreements or engagement letters, take 48 hours rather than 24.
Coverage is documented by role and by sector with real specificity. Five buyer pages are published: General Counsel and CLOs, legal operations, head of litigation, in house attorney, and law firm partners and business development. Law firms are a distinct buyer here, sitting on the other side of the same transaction. Nine industry pages are published, from financial services and life sciences to energy and real estate. Named matter types are disputes across jurisdictions, regulatory investigations, M&A and complex litigation. The limits are not stated, and the vendor declines to state them. It answers the objection that some matters are too complex by claiming that every matter type has been run through the platform and that complexity is the use case. Government legal departments are not addressed.
The 12 legal signals, side by side
Recorded rather than graded. These are the questions a practitioner has to answer before a tool touches a client matter, and the answers are taken from public material only.
Client Data in Training
Can material a lawyer puts into this product be used to train a model?
The security page states in its opening line that Ontra protects customer data by never using it to train models, and repeats the point as a headline commitment. No matching term appears in the published Terms of Service, and the Customer Agreement that clause 1 says supersedes those Terms is not published. Terms clause 6.2 runs the other way, reserving the right to collect usage data including on an aggregated and anonymized basis for improving products and services, except as limited by a Customer Agreement. So the commitment is a policy, not a contract term.
Public material states that customer content trains the model. The Persi page says the agent arrives trained on the customer's matters, firms and data. The About page describes Persi as the intelligence layer trained on the proprietary data layer that the platform's proposals flow into. The home page describes it as built on more than 22 billion dollars of proposal data that no other AI can access. No aggregation, anonymization or removal of identifiers is stated anywhere, and nothing says whether learning from one customer's matters stays with that tenant or is pooled across the data layer.
No customer agreement, terms of service or data processing agreement is published, so no contractual term governs the statement either way. The privacy policy is dated October 2021 and predates Persi. One commitment sits at the provider layer and is a different question. The Proposal Analyzer support article states that client data sent to OpenAI hosted by Microsoft is used once, kept by Microsoft for at most 30 days for monitoring, and configured so that it is not used to train OpenAI's models.
Prompt and Output Retention
How long does the product keep what a lawyer typed, and can that be set to zero?
Ontra publishes a Zero Data Retention commitment covering data provided to third party LLMs through an Ontra application, which is processed only to deliver the service and deleted afterwards. The period is effectively none at that layer, and the customer is not offered a setting. The commitment is scoped to the model layer: nothing published states how long documents, extracted obligation data or generated outputs are retained inside the platform itself, which is a repository product by design.
Prompts, Persi outputs, proposals and matter data are held for no stated period. The privacy policy of October 2021 has no retention section and addresses deletion only through GDPR erasure rights, which are exercised on request rather than a stated retention position. The security page describes access logging and audit logging across platform activity, but no period is given and no customer control is offered. Checked 1 September 2026.
Ethical Walls and Matter Segregation
Does retrieval respect the firm’s ethical walls, or can the model read across them?
Ethical walls, matter level segregation and tenant separation have no described mechanism, and the terms point toward shared access rather than boundaries. The closest material runs the other way: Terms clause 10.2 states that other Users with appropriate access rights may have access to a customer’s User Data. Atlas lists advanced user permissions as a license inclusion, and the MCP server is described as read only, but neither is presented as a segregation control and no document describes how any boundary is enforced.
Ethical walls and tenant separation have no described enforcement. The security page publishes role based access controls, SSO and full audit logging, and the privacy policy states employees may not view customer data except where necessary to diagnose a problem. Both describe access control in general terms rather than segregation between matters or between customers, and neither describes how any boundary is enforced when data is queried. Checked 1 September 2026.
Third Party Request and Subpoena Notice
If someone subpoenas the vendor for a firm’s data, does the firm hear about it first?
The privacy policy states Ontra may access, preserve and disclose any information it stores to external parties where it believes in good faith that doing so is required or appropriate, giving law enforcement and national security requests and legal process such as a court order or subpoena as examples. The standard is Ontra’s own good faith judgment and extends to what it considers appropriate, not only what is legally required.
No commitment to notify the customer, and no exception for notice where lawfully permitted, is published. The policy does commit to reasonable efforts to notify before a change of control, which is a different event.
The privacy policy lists government agencies, regulatory bodies and law enforcement agencies among the parties to whom personal information may be disclosed, on a standard that extends beyond legal compulsion to what is authorized or permitted by law. No commitment to notify the customer, and no exception allowing notice where lawfully permitted, was found on 1 September 2026, and no transparency report is published. The policy does commit to notice in a different situation, where assets or businesses are transferred to a third party.
Primary Law Corpus Provenance
Where does the law in this product come from, and does the vendor have the right to use it?
The product does not retrieve primary law, so there is no legal corpus to source. Ontra’s AI operates on the customer’s own fund documents, side letters, credit agreements and playbooks, plus the Ontra Market Playbook used as a negotiation baseline. No public material identifies any primary law source, license basis or update cadence. The question does not arise for this kind of product; it is not that the vendor declined to answer it.
The product does not retrieve primary law, so there is no legal source material to trace. PERSUIT's dataset is its own record of law firm proposals and pricing, which the vendor describes and dates precisely as covering more than $22 billion in proposals from over 4,800 firms, sourced from platform transactions as of February 2026. That is a commercial dataset rather than primary legal authority. No public material identifies any statutory or case law source, license basis or update cadence for legal content, and the question does not arise for this kind of product.
Good Law Verification
Does the product tell you when the authority it just cited has been overruled?
No citator, and none would apply. Ontra’s outputs are summaries, clause comparisons and obligation data drawn from the customer’s own agreements rather than from case law or legislation, so there is no authority whose subsequent history could be checked. Nothing on the AI capabilities, product or security pages addresses currency of underlying legal authority.
No citator, and none would apply. Persi’s outputs are fee benchmarks, firm shortlists, proposal comparisons and spend dashboards derived from commercial transaction data, not citations to legal authority whose subsequent history could be checked. Nothing on the Persi, platform or data intelligence pages addresses legal authority at all. Checked 1 September 2026.
Refusal and Uncertainty Behavior
What does the product do when the answer is not in the corpus?
Hallucinations are caught by people after generation, not by any described abstention in the product. The security page describes subject matter experts who review outputs and flag potential hallucinations, but that is human detection after generation rather than a documented abstention path in the product, and no confidence signal or no answer behavior is described on the AI capabilities, product or security pages. That stands out because AI Search is marketed as answering questions across a firm’s full agreement set.
No located public material addresses what Persi does when it cannot ground a recommendation. The Persi page illustrates six workflows and every one returns a confident answer with figures attached, including benchmark ranges and comparable matter counts; none shows or describes an abstention path, a confidence signal, or behavior where the dataset holds too few comparable matters to support a benchmark. Checked across the Persi, platform, data intelligence and security pages on 1 September 2026.
Fabricated Citation Record
Does a public court record exist addressing fabricated or hallucinated legal citations in output from this product?
The AI Hallucination Cases database maintained by Damien Charlotin, and general sanctions coverage, record no court order, opinion or disciplinary record naming Ontra or its former company name InCloudCounsel. Ontra’s outputs are contract and fund document work product rather than citations to legal authority.
No court order, opinion or disciplinary record naming this product was found. The AI Hallucination Cases database maintained by Damien Charlotin was searched on 1 September 2026 on the product name, along with general sanctions coverage, and nothing naming the product was found. This is a statement about the public record rather than a finding about the product. Persi produces sourcing and pricing recommendations rather than citations to legal authority.
Bar Guidance Alignment
Has the vendor engaged in public with the ethics opinions its buyers are bound by?
Ethics guidance binding its buyers goes unmentioned. ABA Formal Opinion 512 is not mentioned and no state bar or overseas regulator opinion is named on the home page, AI capabilities page, security page or pricing page or in the Terms of Service. Terms clause 12.2 states Ontra is not a law firm and forms no attorney client relationship, which is a positioning statement rather than engagement with the guidance its buyers and its own legal network members are bound by.
Ethics guidance goes unmentioned on a platform sold to law firm partners. ABA Formal Opinion 512 is not named, and no state bar, Law Society or overseas regulator opinion appears on the home page, Persi page, platform pages, security page, integrations page, proof page or privacy policy, checked 1 September 2026. The platform is sold to law firm partners as well as in house teams, and it enforces compliance with outside counsel guidelines as part of its workflow.
Billing and Fee Posture
Does the vendor address what happens to the bill when the work takes an hour instead of six?
Public materials claim cost control and efficiency, such as outsourcing routine negotiations to control costs, cutting entity management costs and freeing teams for more valuable work, without addressing how AI assisted work should be recorded or disclosed on a bill. The published pricing is the cost of the technology and service to the buyer, which is a different question from a client's bill. No audit record of AI assisted work and no fee or disclosure guidance is published.
Savings claims are the most prominent content on the site: 26 percent average savings per matter, 30 percent with competitive sourcing, and a three year savings target reached in nine months at SAP. No public material addresses how work assisted by AI should be recorded or disclosed on a bill. The product does produce a durable record of agreed fees against actuals and flags invoices that breach a fee arrangement cap.
That record covers outside counsel billing generally rather than work assisted by AI specifically. No guidance is published on fee or disclosure treatment where AI compresses the work.
Outside Counsel Guideline Readiness
Can a firm get this vendor through a client’s AI clause without a bespoke negotiation?
A subprocessor list is published on Ontra’s trust center at trust.ontra.ai, which also invites subscription to email notifications when subprocessors change. The portal is publicly linked from the security page, and no agreement or sales conversation is required to reach it. No model provider is named elsewhere on the site.
The material exists and is explicitly gated. The security page lists what the SafeBase Trust Center holds: subprocessor list, penetration test report, network diagram, data flow diagrams, SOC reports, ISO certificate and Statement of Applicability. It states that most documents are available under NDA as part of a standard evaluation, with access granted rather than immediate. No subprocessor list is published openly and no model provider is named anywhere on the site. A firm could not show whose model sees client content without first entering an NDA. Checked 1 September 2026.
Court Disclosure Support
If a judge’s standing order requires an AI disclosure, can the product produce one?
Regulatory exports exist, but nothing serves as a court disclosure record. Nothing on the AI capabilities, product, pricing or security pages describes an exportable record of which model produced which passage or who verified it. Insight publishes side letter compliance exports and Ontra cites an SEC production at Linden Capital Partners, but both are regulatory and investor reporting artifacts rather than a filing disclosure record. The product serves fund legal and compliance teams rather than litigators, so the question rarely arises in practice.
A full audit trail of buying decisions exists, but nothing frames it for court disclosure. The platform produces a full audit trail of firm selection decisions, proposals and pricing changes, which the security page describes as covering every firm selection, every decision and every change. Nothing frames that as a disclosure record, and nothing identifies which model produced which recommendation or who verified it. The product governs the buying of legal services rather than producing court filings. Checked 1 September 2026.
The questions both sides leave open
Derived from the records above rather than written, so it cannot favor either vendor. Take these into both conversations and ask each side the same question.
- Ethical Walls and Matter Segregation
- Primary Law Corpus Provenance
- Good Law Verification
- Refusal and Uncertainty Behavior
- Bar Guidance Alignment
- Court Disclosure Support
Which one fits
Choose Ontra if
- The volume of routine contracts is the problem. Ontra takes NDAs and other high volume agreements off the desk entirely, marking them up against the firm's own digital playbook and negotiating them out. Each edition names who does the work: qualified contract professionals on Standard, qualified lawyers on Advanced and lawyers with top tier firm experience on Premier. The upper two carry a published monthly minimum fee of 2,000 dollars.
- Your fund documents hold obligations nobody has indexed. Ontra abstracts clauses and covenants from fund and credit agreements into structured data, tracks side letters and most favored nation elections, and runs natural language search across a whole agreement set. It also exposes entity and ownership data to a firm's own AI tools through a read only MCP server.
- Your investors will ask what governs the AI. Ontra holds ISO 42001 for AI management alongside SOC 2 Type 2, stated across all five trust services criteria, and ISO 27001:2022. It states that customer data is never used to train models and that data passed to third party model providers is deleted after processing. Its trust center offers email notification when the subprocessor list changes.
Choose PERSUIT if
- You want numbers with their denominators attached. PERSUIT publishes 26 percent average savings per matter and 30 percent where sourcing is competitive. The lowest bid wins 48 percent of the time, and 79 percent of value is awarded under an alternative fee arrangement. Each figure is footnoted to platform transactions, dated February 2026, with an explicit caveat that results vary by matter type, industry and process design. SAP reached a three year savings target in nine months.
- The data has to move between your matter management and your e billing. PERSUIT documents four connection routes and states the direction of travel with named fields. Matter ID, reference data, legal team assignments, practice group and jurisdiction flow in. PERSUIT ID, firm name, total budget, currency, matter owner, entity, category and department flow out when a request concludes. Managed integrations are stated to need no custom development.
- You want the rules enforced without the AI deciding. Persi is included with the platform rather than sold separately. It applies the legal team's own engagement rules to every matter, including minimum competitive bids, spend thresholds, panel requirements and diversity obligations. It presents each action for approval before it runs, so a breaching invoice goes on hold pending review rather than being adjusted.
In summary
Ontra
Ontra is an AI platform for private markets firms covering the routine legal and compliance work around funds. It handles outsourced negotiation of NDAs and other high volume contracts, along with entity management and structure charts. It also tracks obligations and side letters and automates investor questionnaires and reverse KYC. AI turns fund documents into structured data, and subject matter experts review outputs before they reach the customer. According to the AI Legal Index, Ontra publishes something on nearly every question: ISO 42001 alongside SOC 2 Type 2 across all five trust criteria, a documented human review model, and a no legal advice clause reaching the platform itself. No named model provider, residency statement or accuracy measurement is published.
PERSUIT
PERSUIT is an outside counsel management platform for corporate legal departments. It covers matter intake and routing, competitive requests for proposals and panel management. Alternative fee arrangements, phased budgets and e billing are built around fee arrangements rather than hourly rates. Its Persi agent is included in the platform and presents each action for approval. According to the AI Legal Index, PERSUIT's case rests on evidence and integration. Its published figures carry denominators, a date and a variance caveat, and its integrations name the fields moving in each direction. It publishes no terms of service, liability position, AI governance material or price.
Questions buyers ask
Are Ontra and PERSUIT alternatives to each other?
No. Ontra does a private markets firm's routine legal work, negotiating high volume contracts and turning fund documents into structured obligation data. PERSUIT buys legal work rather than doing it, running competitive proposals, alternative fee arrangements and panel management for a corporate legal department. They sit at opposite ends of the same budget conversation. The comparison is still useful, because the same questions apply to both and the two publish very different things. From the AI Legal Index, based on each vendor's own published materials as of September 3, 2026. No vendor pays for placement.
What can you read before signing?
On Ontra, terms of service carrying a no legal advice clause that reaches the platform rather than only the website, a liability cap stated as a figure, and a security page setting out training, encryption and model provider deletion. On PERSUIT, a privacy policy and nothing else. No terms of service, customer agreement, service level agreement or disclaimer is published, and the contractual and security documentation is held in a trust center under NDA. From the AI Legal Index, based on each vendor's own published materials as of September 3, 2026. No vendor pays for placement.
Which one publishes evidence you can check?
PERSUIT, by some distance. Its published figures carry their denominators, a date of February 2026, and a caveat naming the variables that change the result, which is a method a reader can assess rather than a headline. Ontra publishes named customers with named officers at Blackstone, Battery Ventures and Sentinel Capital. It separately publishes portfolio figures, including 96 percent retention with a stated basis, but attaches no figure to any named firm. From the AI Legal Index, based on each vendor's own published materials as of September 3, 2026. No vendor pays for placement.
Do either say whether your data trains the models?
Ontra states plainly that customer data is never used to train models and that data passed to third party model providers is deleted once processing is complete. Its published terms separately reserve aggregated and anonymized usage data for improving products. On PERSUIT nothing published addresses training, which matters because Persi is marketed as trained on the aggregate proposal dataset that customers themselves generate. From the AI Legal Index, based on each vendor's own published materials as of September 3, 2026. No vendor pays for placement.
What do Ontra and PERSUIT both leave unpublished?
Neither names a model or a provider, so neither can tell a buyer whose system reads its agreements or its proposals. Neither states a hosting region or a tenancy model. Neither publishes an accuracy measurement: both describe what the AI draws on and neither publishes a figure, a test set or a named failure mode for what it produces. And neither addresses privilege or work product. From the AI Legal Index, based on each vendor's own published materials as of September 3, 2026. No vendor pays for placement.
Neither vendor paid for inclusion, placement or a grade, and neither reviewed this page before it published. Everything on it comes from public material on the dates shown. How the index grades.
PERSUIT publishes no terms of service, customer agreement or disclaimer of any kind, so no liability position, warranty or indemnity is readable before an evaluation begins. Its subprocessor list, SOC 2 report and data flow diagrams sit in a trust center available under a non disclosure agreement. Its privacy policy is dated October 2021 and still relies on the EU US Privacy Shield framework, which was invalidated in July 2020. On Ontra, clause 13.2 of the published terms caps aggregate liability at 100 dollars, with only fraud and willful misconduct carved out. The customer agreement that would supersede those terms is not published. The statement that customer data never trains models sits on the security page, while clause 6.2 reserves aggregated anonymized usage data for product improvement. Neither vendor reviewed this page.