PERSUIT and Wordsmith connected their platforms so in house legal teams can put a dollar figure on work they resolve without outside counsel. When Wordsmith, which takes requests from email, Slack and Teams and resolves routine matters against approved playbooks, closes a matter internally, PERSUIT's Persi AI estimates what outside counsel would have charged from comparable proposals for the same matter type and jurisdiction. For work that does need a firm, PERSUIT shows benchmark pricing and suggested providers and lets the team open a direct engagement or a competitive request.
P
PERSUIT
PERSUIT is an outside counsel management platform for corporate legal departments, covering the work between deciding a matter needs a firm and paying the invoice. It handles structured matter intake and routing, competitive requests for proposals, alternative fee arrangements and phased budgets, panel management, and electronic billing built around fee arrangements rather than hourly rates. Its AI agent, Persi, is included with the platform rather than sold separately.
Persi recommends whether to insource or outsource a matter, benchmarks likely fees, shortlists panel firms and enforces a legal team's own engagement rules. It also compares returned proposals against benchmark, flags invoices that breach an agreed fee cap and builds spend dashboards on request, and each action is presented for approval before it runs. Recommendations draw on PERSUIT's own transaction dataset, which it describes as covering more than $22 billion in law firm proposals from over 4,800 firms.
Managed integrations and documented APIs move matter and budget data to and from matter management, billing and business intelligence systems. Named customers include SAP, IBM, BT Group, Heineken and Nestlé.
PERSUIT, head to head
Side by side on the same 15 capability axes and 12 legal signals: where the two part company, and what neither one publishes.
Alternatives to PERSUIT
Vendors in the same categories as PERSUIT whose graded profiles look most alike, with a line on what each product does.
Similar is not the same, so check that each one does the job you need. No vendor pays for placement.
- JJosefJosef is a no code platform on which in house legal and compliance teams build self service tools for the rest of the business.
- AAderantAderant supplies law firms with financial, billing, timekeeping, docketing and talent systems.
- CCohesoCoheso is an AI legal front door and work management platform from Coheso, Inc. of New York, sold to in house legal and compliance teams.
- IInletInlet is AI timekeeping software for law firms that bill by the hour, from Inlet, Inc. of 169 Madison Avenue, New York.
- PProVisionProVision manages side letters and most favored nation (MFN) elections for lawyers who run private investment fund formations.
- TTruth SystemsTruth Systems is a San Francisco company, founded in 2023, that sells AI governance software to law firms.
Ordered by how closely the graded profiles match across the 15 capability axes, inside the same categories. See how each axis is graded in the methodology.
Capability grades
All 15 axes, graded from public sources on the date shown. Hover a grade to see what the letter means on that axis.
AI Centrality
How much of the product is actually AI. Whether the machine learning is the mechanism the buyer is paying for or a feature layered onto conventional software, and whether the vendor is specific about which is which.
Persi is described by the vendor as the intelligence layer built into PERSUIT, and the pricing position is explicit: it is not bought separately and arrives with the platform. PERSUIT ran as a competitive RFP, fee arrangement and electronic billing platform for about a decade before Persi existed. Its underlying capabilities, such as request management, panel governance, invoice review and spend reporting, are workflow and data functions that stand without models.
What the models add is real and central to how the product is now sold: matter triage, fee benchmarking, firm shortlisting, proposal evaluation and anomaly detection across six named workflow stages. The product would still function without them.
Citation Accuracy and Hallucination Disclosure
Whether the vendor publishes measured accuracy on citations and assertions, grounds output to primary sources, and says plainly what its system does when it does not know. Legal has a documented public record of fabricated citations reaching filed briefs, so an untested claim of accuracy is not evidence.
The dataset is described precisely, and the output is never measured. PERSUIT states that Persi draws on more than $22 billion in proposal data across more than 4,800 firms, and the proof page dates that dataset to platform transactions as of February 2026. No accuracy figure, evaluation, test set or named failure mode was found for Persi's own outputs on any page read. Persi's illustrated answers cite counts of comparable matters and percentages against benchmark.
Nothing published shows that a user can open the underlying comparables to check them. Grounding to primary law and citator checks do not apply, since the product reasons over commercial pricing data rather than case law. Accuracy is asserted without measurement.
Autonomy and Oversight Model
What the system decides on its own, what a lawyer must approve, and whether the vendor documents where the review point sits. A tool that drafts under review and a tool that files without one are different products and different risks.
PERSUIT publishes a clear written division of labor with a visible approval point. The Persi page states that Persi does not replace the customer's judgment: the customer brings the judgment and Persi brings the infrastructure. Every one of the six illustrated workflows ends at a confirmation rather than an action. Requests are drafted ready to review and send, a breaching invoice is put on hold pending review, and exceptions are flagged for the customer.
The customer configures the constraints. Engagement rules such as minimum competitive bids, spend thresholds, panel requirements and diversity obligations apply to every matter, with a worked example of a $100,000 threshold triggering a competitive request to at least three panel firms. No autonomy modes are published, and nothing states what Persi may do without asking. The control structure is shown through product illustrations rather than documentation a buyer could hold the vendor to.
Operational and Outcome Evidence
Named, dated evidence that the product works in production at real firms or legal departments. Case studies with figures and identified customers count. Unattributed testimonials and launch announcements do not.
Named legal departments, a customer result and dated platform figures with their basis are all published. Named officers include Gabriel Harnier, General Counsel at SAP; Anne Robinson, Chief Legal Officer at IBM; Sabine Chalmers, General Counsel at BT Group; Leanne Geale, Group General Counsel at Nestlé; and Ernst van de Weert, General Counsel at Heineken. SAP reached its three year savings target in nine months. Platform figures are 26 percent average savings per matter, 30 percent with competitive sourcing, the lowest bid winning 48 percent of the time, and 79 percent of value awarded under an alternative fee arrangement.
Each has its denominator explained and is footnoted as sourced from PERSUIT platform transactions as of February 2026. Each carries a caveat that individual results differ by matter type, industry and process design. The testimonials for individual customers are quotes without their own figures.
Privilege and Confidentiality Posture
How client confidences are handled: attorney client privilege and work product treatment, segregation of one client matter from another, whether client data trains any model, and what the vendor commits to in writing rather than in marketing.
Confidentiality is asserted in general terms, and the substance sits behind an NDA. The privacy policy commits to reasonable steps against misuse and unauthorized access and states that employees may not view customer data unless necessary to diagnose a problem. It describes SSL/TLS in transit and logging of sign ins, and the security page adds SSO and role based access controls. Nothing addresses training on customer content.
Persi is marketed as trained on the aggregate proposal dataset that customers themselves generate, and no published term says whether a given customer's proposals feed it. No retention or deletion position, segregation by matter or tenant, or treatment of privilege or work product was found. The security page lists the documents that would answer these, the subprocessor list, data flow diagrams and SOC 2 report, as available in the Trust Center under NDA. A buyer cannot read the commitments before entering an evaluation.
UPL and Professional Responsibility Posture
Whether the vendor is clear that it supplies a tool rather than legal advice, who its audience is, and how it addresses unauthorized practice of law, competence and supervision duties, and jurisdiction limits. ABA Formal Opinion 512 is the reference point. Where the advice line is not the duty a product raises, the axis is read through the nearest professional duty it does raise: judicial conduct rules and the reviewing duty for products sold only to courts, and the duty to bill for time actually spent for products that draft time entries.
Nothing is published on the advice line. No terms of service, customer agreement or disclaimer was found. The footer link labeled Privacy & Terms leads to a privacy policy alone, and the home, platform, Persi, security, integrations and proof pages carry no disclaimer. PERSUIT produces sourcing and pricing recommendations rather than legal work product. Persi is described as advising whether a matter should be insourced or sent out, recommending which firms to instruct, and evaluating which proposal represents best value.
Those recommendations are used by in house lawyers and by law firms. No position on the line between tooling and professional judgment is published, and ABA Formal Opinion 512 is not mentioned.
AI Governance and Bias Disclosure
Published governance over model behavior: who owns it inside the vendor, what is tested before release, and what is disclosed about disparate output across matter types, parties, or populations.
No governance position is published for a system that allocates work between law firms. There is no responsible AI page, no named accountable owner, no testing regime before release, and no ISO 42001 or equivalent. Persi shortlists firms, scores firm performance with numeric value scores, and decides which firms are invited to compete for mandates worth six and seven figures. The vendor itself lists diversity obligations among the engagement rules the system enforces.
Nothing published addresses whether those recommendations have been tested for uneven treatment across firms, jurisdictions or matter types. Security certifications are a different subject and are covered under Security Certifications.
AI Safety and Data Stewardship
Retention, deletion, access control, and what happens to prompts and documents after they are processed. Whether the vendor states its subprocessors and its incident practice, or leaves the buyer to assume.
A generic privacy policy and a security summary are published, with the operative detail withheld. Published controls are SSL/TLS encryption in transit, employee access restricted to what is needed to diagnose problems, logging of sign ins, regular external security audits by contracted firms, and tested business continuity and disaster recovery plans. Role based access control and full audit logging across platform activity are also stated.
No retention period, deletion practice beyond GDPR erasure rights, or incident or breach notification practice is published. A subprocessor list exists, but the security page places it in the Trust Center under NDA. The privacy policy is dated October 2021 and still relies on the EU-US Privacy Shield Framework, invalidated by Schrems II in July 2020. The policy covers the product without addressing what happens to matter data, proposals and prompts after processing.
AI Liability and Recourse
What the vendor stands behind contractually when its output is wrong. Indemnities, caps, carve outs, insurance, and whether any of it is published or only reachable through a negotiated agreement.
Nothing published says who bears the loss when a recommendation is wrong. No terms of service, master subscription agreement, customer agreement or service level agreement was found. The footer was checked across six pages, and its Privacy & Terms link leads to a privacy policy with no liability, warranty or indemnity provision. No separate terms page appears in the navigation. The Trust Center is the only route to contractual documentation, and the security page states its contents are available under NDA, which is the vendor's choice to gate them. No indemnity, cap, carve out, warranty on output or insurance position can be read before a buyer enters an evaluation.
Practice Systems Integration Depth
How deeply the product reaches into the systems legal work already lives in: document management such as iManage and NetDocuments, Word and Outlook, contract lifecycle management, matter management, e-billing, and court filing systems.
Integration is documented in detail. Four connection routes are published, managed integrations, an RFP API, a reporting API and composable workflows, and each is documented at field level. Direction is stated explicitly. Matter management systems send PERSUIT the matter ID, reference data, legal team assignments, practice group and jurisdiction. When an RFP concludes, PERSUIT sends the billing system the PERSUIT ID, firm name, total budget, currency, matter owner, entity, category and department.
Sample API fields are printed on the page, including request_id, participation_status, pricing_items, total_fee, average_rate, price_at_start and price_at_end. Managed integrations are stated to need no custom development, and a public API documentation URL is published. The target systems are described by category rather than by product, so no specific matter management or billing partner is named. The API documentation sits behind the application and was not opened.
Deployment Model and Data Residency
Where the software runs and where the data sits. Multi tenant cloud, single tenant, private deployment, on premises, and whether region of residence is a published option or an enterprise conversation.
The host is named, and neither tenancy nor a residency option is stated. The security page states the platform runs on Google Cloud, with MongoDB and Qlik as data providers, which answers whose infrastructure is used but not where a given customer's data sits. No tenancy model is published. No residency option is offered. The only location material is in the privacy policy, which says personal information may be stored outside Australia with cloud providers in the United States, and that European personal data may be transferred to Australia and the US under standard data protection clauses.
That is a transfer disclosure about personal information rather than a residency offering for platform data, and it comes from a policy dated October 2021. Processing location is not addressed as distinct from storage, and no region can be chosen by the customer.
Security Certifications and Trust Center
Independent attestation a buyer can pull without a sales call: SOC 2, ISO 27001, penetration test summaries, a trust center with current reports and named scope rather than a badge image.
The certifications are real, current and itemized, but the evidence is not openly accessible. The security page states ISO/IEC 27001:2022 with the version named and describes it as independently audited rather than assessed by the company itself. It also states SOC 1 Type 2 attestation and CSA STAR certification. Third party external assessments are published with dates and scores: SecurityScorecard A and UpGuard 865/950, both stated as independently assessed in January 2025.
A SafeBase trust center is named and publicly linked. The page lists what it holds: a penetration test report, network diagram, data flow diagrams, SOC reports, subprocessor list, ISO certificate and Statement of Applicability, and OSPAR for financial services buyers. The SOC 2 report is stated to be available under NDA once access is granted. No auditor is named for any attestation, no coverage period is given, and the SOC 2 scope is not specified. No request was submitted.
Model Supply Chain Disclosure
Which models sit underneath, whose they are, where they run, and whether the vendor commits to telling customers when that changes. A legal buyer inherits every dependency it cannot see.
Persi is described through its training data and never through its models. The vendor states repeatedly that Persi is trained on more than $22 billion of outside counsel management data and contrasts it with generic AI, naming Claude and Copilot only as competitor categories. No model, model provider, inference location or commitment to notify customers of changes was found on any page read. Google Cloud, MongoDB and Qlik are named on the security page.
They answer where the software runs rather than whose model sees client content. The subprocessor list that might answer it is in the Trust Center under NDA. The vendor refers to proprietary intelligence without identifying what sits underneath.
Commercial Transparency
Whether a buyer can learn what this costs without entering a sales process: published rates, the unit being charged, what sits behind an enterprise tier, and what implementation adds.
No pricing information is published at any level. There is no pricing page: the navigation and footer were checked across the home page and the platform, Persi, security, integrations, proof and privacy pages, and none has a pricing entry. No plan names, packaging structure, unit of charge or figure are published. Every commercial route is a demo request, an industry briefing or a contact form. The ROI calculator asks the buyer to supply its own outside counsel spend rather than disclosing what PERSUIT costs. Neither the shape of the pricing nor any number is published.
Firm and Practice Coverage
Who the product is actually built for. AmLaw, midlaw, small firm and solo, in house departments, government and courts, and which practice areas are supported rather than merely claimed.
Coverage is documented by role and by sector with real specificity. Five buyer pages are published: General Counsel and CLOs, legal operations, head of litigation, in house attorney, and law firm partners and business development. Law firms are a distinct buyer here, sitting on the other side of the same transaction. Nine industry pages are published, from financial services and life sciences to energy and real estate.
Named matter types are disputes across jurisdictions, regulatory investigations, M&A and complex litigation. The limits are not stated, and the vendor declines to state them. It answers the objection that some matters are too complex by claiming that every matter type has been run through the platform and that complexity is the use case. Government legal departments are not addressed.
3 public documents
The public pages on file for PERSUIT, with the recorded signals each one supports and the date it was last read. Open any of them and check the reading against the record.
-
Fabricated Citation Record
Read Sep 1, 2026
-
persuit.com/persi1 signal
Client Data in Training
Read Sep 6, 2026
-
persuit.com/privacy1 signal
Third Party Request and Subpoena Notice
Read Sep 1, 2026
Tracked changes at PERSUIT
Legal Signals
What each signal meansA signal records what public sources say on the date shown. It is not a grade and it is not a recommendation. Where a signal reads Not addressed, it means the index did not locate the material in public sources on that date, which is a statement about disclosure rather than about the product.
Client Data in Training
Can material a lawyer puts into this product be used to train a model?
Public material states that customer content trains, refines or personalizes models, with no matching term located in the published agreement. Any de identification, anonymization or aggregation qualifier is recorded in the summary.
Public material states that customer content trains the model. The Persi page says the agent arrives trained on the customer's matters, firms and data. The About page describes Persi as the intelligence layer trained on the proprietary data layer that the platform's proposals flow into. The home page describes it as built on more than 22 billion dollars of proposal data that no other AI can access. No aggregation, anonymization or removal of identifiers is stated anywhere, and nothing says whether learning from one customer's matters stays with that tenant or is pooled across the data layer.
No customer agreement, terms of service or data processing agreement is published, so no contractual term governs the statement either way. The privacy policy is dated October 2021 and predates Persi. One commitment sits at the provider layer and is a different question. The Proposal Analyzer support article states that client data sent to OpenAI hosted by Microsoft is used once, kept by Microsoft for at most 30 days for monitoring, and configured so that it is not used to train OpenAI's models.
Prompt and Output Retention
How long does the product keep what a lawyer typed, and can that be set to zero?
No located public material states how long prompts and outputs are retained.
Prompts, Persi outputs, proposals and matter data are held for no stated period. The privacy policy of October 2021 has no retention section and addresses deletion only through GDPR erasure rights, which are exercised on request rather than a stated retention position. The security page describes access logging and audit logging across platform activity, but no period is given and no customer control is offered. Checked 1 September 2026.
Ethical Walls and Matter Segregation
Does retrieval respect the firm’s ethical walls, or can the model read across them?
No located public material addresses walls or matter level segregation.
Ethical walls and tenant separation have no described enforcement. The security page publishes role based access controls, SSO and full audit logging, and the privacy policy states employees may not view customer data except where necessary to diagnose a problem. Both describe access control in general terms rather than segregation between matters or between customers, and neither describes how any boundary is enforced when data is queried. Checked 1 September 2026.
Third Party Request and Subpoena Notice
If someone subpoenas the vendor for a firm’s data, does the firm hear about it first?
Published terms or policy address disclosure to authorities or in response to legal process, and no commitment or reservation regarding customer notice is located anywhere. The vendor has told the customer that data can leave and has said nothing about whether the customer hears of it.
The privacy policy lists government agencies, regulatory bodies and law enforcement agencies among the parties to whom personal information may be disclosed, on a standard that extends beyond legal compulsion to what is authorized or permitted by law. No commitment to notify the customer, and no exception allowing notice where lawfully permitted, was found on 1 September 2026, and no transparency report is published. The policy does commit to notice in a different situation, where assets or businesses are transferred to a third party.
Primary Law Corpus Provenance
Where does the law in this product come from, and does the vendor have the right to use it?
No located public material identifies the corpus behind the product’s answers.
The product does not retrieve primary law, so there is no legal source material to trace. PERSUIT's dataset is its own record of law firm proposals and pricing, which the vendor describes and dates precisely as covering more than $22 billion in proposals from over 4,800 firms, sourced from platform transactions as of February 2026. That is a commercial dataset rather than primary legal authority. No public material identifies any statutory or case law source, license basis or update cadence for legal content, and the question does not arise for this kind of product.
Good Law Verification
Does the product tell you when the authority it just cited has been overruled?
No located public material addresses whether authority is checked for subsequent history.
No citator, and none would apply. Persi’s outputs are fee benchmarks, firm shortlists, proposal comparisons and spend dashboards derived from commercial transaction data, not citations to legal authority whose subsequent history could be checked. Nothing on the Persi, platform or data intelligence pages addresses legal authority at all. Checked 1 September 2026.
Refusal and Uncertainty Behavior
What does the product do when the answer is not in the corpus?
No located public material addresses what the product does when it cannot ground an answer.
No located public material addresses what Persi does when it cannot ground a recommendation. The Persi page illustrates six workflows and every one returns a confident answer with figures attached, including benchmark ranges and comparable matter counts; none shows or describes an abstention path, a confidence signal, or behavior where the dataset holds too few comparable matters to support a benchmark. Checked across the Persi, platform, data intelligence and security pages on 1 September 2026.
Fabricated Citation Record
Does a public court record exist addressing fabricated or hallucinated legal citations in output from this product?
No court order, opinion or disciplinary record addressing fabricated or hallucinated legal citations produced by this product has been located as of the date shown. This is a statement about the public record on that one subject, not a finding about the product, and this signal is not a litigation history.
No court order, opinion or disciplinary record naming this product was found. The AI Hallucination Cases database maintained by Damien Charlotin was searched on 1 September 2026 on the product name, along with general sanctions coverage, and nothing naming the product was found. This is a statement about the public record rather than a finding about the product. Persi produces sourcing and pricing recommendations rather than citations to legal authority.
Bar Guidance Alignment
Has the vendor engaged in public with the ethics opinions its buyers are bound by?
No located public material engages with bar or ethics guidance.
Ethics guidance goes unmentioned on a platform sold to law firm partners. ABA Formal Opinion 512 is not named, and no state bar, Law Society or overseas regulator opinion appears on the home page, Persi page, platform pages, security page, integrations page, proof page or privacy policy, checked 1 September 2026. The platform is sold to law firm partners as well as in house teams, and it enforces compliance with outside counsel guidelines as part of its workflow.
Billing and Fee Posture
Does the vendor address what happens to the bill when the work takes an hour instead of six?
The buyer is the payer, not the biller. The product exists to review, author or benchmark legal fees, so the record of fees is the product itself rather than a byproduct of AI assisted lawyering. Typically sold to in-house teams paying outside counsel.
Savings claims are the most prominent content on the site: 26 percent average savings per matter, 30 percent with competitive sourcing, and a three year savings target reached in nine months at SAP. No public material addresses how work assisted by AI should be recorded or disclosed on a bill. The product does produce a durable record of agreed fees against actuals and flags invoices that breach a fee arrangement cap.
That record covers outside counsel billing generally rather than work assisted by AI specifically. No guidance is published on fee or disclosure treatment where AI compresses the work.
Outside Counsel Guideline Readiness
Can a firm get this vendor through a client’s AI clause without a bespoke negotiation?
The material exists behind a sales conversation or an executed agreement.
The material exists and is explicitly gated. The security page lists what the SafeBase Trust Center holds: subprocessor list, penetration test report, network diagram, data flow diagrams, SOC reports, ISO certificate and Statement of Applicability. It states that most documents are available under NDA as part of a standard evaluation, with access granted rather than immediate. No subprocessor list is published openly and no model provider is named anywhere on the site. A firm could not show whose model sees client content without first entering an NDA. Checked 1 September 2026.
Court Disclosure Support
If a judge’s standing order requires an AI disclosure, can the product produce one?
No located public material addresses court disclosure or verification certification.
A full audit trail of buying decisions exists, but nothing frames it for court disclosure. The platform produces a full audit trail of firm selection decisions, proposals and pricing changes, which the security page describes as covering every firm selection, every decision and every change. Nothing frames that as a disclosure record, and nothing identifies which model produced which recommendation or who verified it. The product governs the buying of legal services rather than producing court filings. Checked 1 September 2026.