PatentWatch vs Tradespace: how they compare in 2026
These two are not usually evaluated against each other. PatentWatch does one thing: it maps granted claims against competing products to produce claim charts that support licensing demands and litigation targeting. Tradespace runs the whole patent lifecycle, from disclosure capture through prosecution and annuities to licensing, with a network of outside firms attached. The gap in what each publishes about itself is very wide. Tradespace publishes an operating estate. It names Microsoft Azure with servers in the United States Northern Virginia region, and a hub and spoke design gives each customer account its own model instance with no data passing between them. It maintains SOC 2 Type 2 through Vanta and names customers spanning a federal agency, defense primes and research universities. PatentWatch's entire public estate is a home page, a one item news index and a funding announcement. On the question that matters most to a buyer of either, neither publishes an agreement of any kind.
At a glance
All 15 axes, side by side
The same grid applied to every vendor in the index, graded from public sources. Hover a grade to see what the letter means on that axis.
AI Centrality
How much of the product is actually AI. Whether the machine learning is the mechanism the buyer is paying for or a feature layered onto conventional software, and whether the vendor is specific about which is which.
The models are the entire product, and the company says so directly. The seed announcement says the manual work of reading claims, charting evidence, searching prior art and analyzing potentially infringing products has historically been the bottleneck, and that large language models and modern search infrastructure can now automate it. Every published module is a model function: interpreting a claim and breaking it into elements, locating supporting passages in product documentation, scoring each element and the claim overall, running prior art and invalidity searches, and analyzing a portfolio. There is no conventional product underneath and no licensed content asset, since the substrate is public patent data that only the models make usable for this purpose. Without the models nothing remains to buy, and the stated comparator is not other software but attorneys charting claims by hand.
The base is a system of record: docketing, annuity tracking and maintenance cost modeling, portfolio reporting, workflow routing and electronic signature assignments, none of which needs a model. The AI adds disclosure packages generated from decks, specifications, flow charts and audio, invention reports on use cases, prior art and competitive advantage, and patent drafting acquired with Paragon. It also adds a docketing assistant that summarizes office correspondence and suggests responses, and licensing analysis that finds likely licensees and builds claim charts. Tradespace says the AI is built into the architecture rather than added on, and a press announcement describes a secure system of record combined with drafting technology.
Citation Accuracy and Hallucination Disclosure
Whether the vendor publishes measured accuracy on citations and assertions, grounds output to primary sources, and says plainly what its system does when it does not know. Legal has a documented public record of fabricated citations reaching filed briefs, so an untested claim of accuracy is not evidence.
Grounding is shown in an interface example and described nowhere. PatentWatch's home page carries a worked claim chart against a named patent number. Each claim element sits beside a quoted passage from product documentation, an analysis and a numeric score, with an overall match score for the claim, so outputs are meant to be traceable to a source passage. Nothing explains what source material the evidence is drawn from, how a passage is selected, what the scores measure or how they are calibrated. No accuracy figure is stated. Three home page statistics are labeled faster claim charts, hours saved per chart and patent database size, with no method. The seed announcement says the work can now be automated reliably and produce deliverables of production quality rather than rough drafts, an assertion without measurement.
Asked on its own AI page how it prevents hallucinations, Tradespace states that it uses retrieval augmented generation to limit responses to actual data and provides citations for responses, alongside guardrails intended to keep generated content grounded in fact. The Paragon acquisition announcement describes the drafting technology as offering transparent traceability to source materials so that teams can verify every claim, citation and technical detail. No accuracy figure, benchmark, evaluation or test set is published. The one number attached to output quality comes from a customer rather than the vendor: the Director of IP at UT Austin is quoted saying the platform gets his team 60 to 70 percent of the way there, the equivalent of a first draft. That figure is a testimonial rather than a measurement. The guardrails are described as state of the art without further detail.
Autonomy and Oversight Model
What the system decides on its own, what a lawyer must approve, and whether the vendor documents where the review point sits. A tool that drafts under review and a tool that files without one are different products and different risks.
Nothing published addresses oversight. No statement describes what the platform completes without a human, where a review point sits, what a user should verify before relying on a claim chart, or what the system does when the evidence for a claim element is weak. There is no terms of service or acceptable use policy in which such an obligation could be placed. PatentWatch describes the product as generating claim charts used to identify litigation targets, support cease and desist letters and find counterclaims, and the seed announcement describes the outputs as deliverables of production quality rather than rough drafts. The platform produces assertions of infringement against named third parties, and nothing published says who checks them.
Prosecution work runs through senior attorneys in a vetted network, and the platform page names attorney review and workflow approvals as stages. Inside the product, the customer can build no code rules for disclosure routing and patent committee review, which is a configurable approval path a firm sets for itself. The docketing assistant is described as capturing office and counsel correspondence, summarizing it, creating the resulting deadlines and suggesting responses, so the system generates docket deadlines on matters where a missed date can be malpractice, and nothing published states whether a human confirms a created deadline before it enters the docket. No published material states what any module completes without review, where the checkpoint sits for a customer using the software without the attorney network, or what happens when the system is uncertain. No agreement of any kind is published, so no review obligation appears in any document.
Operational and Outcome Evidence
Named, dated evidence that the product works in production at real firms or legal departments. Case studies with figures and identified customers count. Unattributed testimonials and launch announcements do not.
No deployment evidence of any kind is published. There is no customer page, logo strip, case study, testimonial or named user anywhere on the site, and the news section holds a single item, the April 2026 funding announcement. The three home page statistics are unattributed, and none measures deployment. The only outcome language is a claim that a portfolio can start generating revenue within ten minutes, in copy PatentWatch wrote for a third party startup directory rather than on its own site. Nothing published names a customer, a sector, a portfolio size or a result.
Home page logos include Georgia Tech, the University of Texas at Austin, the FDA, Enveda Biosciences, Unity, UNT Health and Raytheon. The security page adds Northrop Grumman, the Department of Defense and the Department of Energy, and says the DoD and DOE were founding customers. Two figures attach to named customers. UNC Charlotte is described as clearing a three year technology backlog and posting 100 new case submissions in a few months. Chun Kuo, Director of Intellectual Property at UT Austin, says the platform gets his team 60 to 70 percent of the way there and that without it he would need budget for more staff. Video case studies exist for Woodward and UNC Charlotte. A company announcement cites more than 440,000 patents managed for over 80 organizations, including 75 percent of top US research universities. Nothing is dated, and no figure carries a method or measurement basis.
Privilege and Confidentiality Posture
How client confidences are handled: attorney client privilege and work product treatment, segregation of one client matter from another, whether client data trains any model, and what the vendor commits to in writing rather than in marketing.
None of the five elements is addressed. Nothing states whether customer content is used for training, nothing describes separation between customers, neither privilege nor work product is mentioned, no retention or deletion position exists, and no model provider is identified. There is no terms of service, privacy policy, data processing addendum or security page on the site. The workflow requires a company's own patent portfolio and, to be useful, its view of which competitors may be infringing: work done before litigation that a patent owner would ordinarily treat as privileged and keep from anyone else.
A hub and spoke design gives each customer account a separate model instance, and Tradespace says no data ever moves from a spoke model to the hub or another spoke. It addresses novelty as well as secrecy: uploaded data is not treated as a public disclosure and cannot be discovered by a third party. Training is opt in, off by default and only on explicit request. Model handling is disclosed, with Azure OpenAI Service named and Microsoft's data protection addendum linked. Nothing says how long disclosures, drafts or office correspondence are kept or what happens when a customer leaves. Privilege and work product are not mentioned, although the platform is sold to general counsel, chief legal officers and law firms. There is no published agreement, privacy policy or data processing addendum to hold any of these commitments.
UPL and Professional Responsibility Posture
Whether the vendor is clear that it supplies a tool rather than legal advice, who its audience is, and how it addresses unauthorized practice of law, competence and supervision duties, and jurisdiction limits. ABA Formal Opinion 512 is the reference point. Where the advice line is not the duty a product raises, the axis is read through the nearest professional duty it does raise: judicial conduct rules and the reviewing duty for products sold only to courts, and the duty to bill for time actually spent for products that draft time entries.
Nothing published addresses the advice line. There is no statement that output is not legal advice, nothing on who may use the platform or under what supervision, no reference to verification duties and no jurisdictional statement. There is no terms of service or disclaimer page anywhere on the site in which such a statement could sit. A claim chart is a litigation instrument: it is the document a patent owner uses to allege that a specific product practices each element of a claim. The company describes its charts as supporting cease and desist letters and the identification of litigation targets. The product also runs invalidity analysis intended, in the company's own framing, to establish that a patent will hold up in court. Nothing published addresses the professional obligations of the person who sends these contentions.
Nothing published addresses professional responsibility. The home page, platform overview, Create, Manage, Enterprise AI and Security and Privacy pages, the counsel network page and the footer carry no statement that output is not legal advice, nothing on who may use the platform or under what supervision, no reference to verification duties and no jurisdiction statement. There are no terms of service or privacy policy where such a statement could sit. Tradespace markets a full service patent practice combining software with patent attorneys from a network of outside firms. Nothing says who the client is, whether an attorney client relationship arises with Tradespace or only with the network firm, how conflicts are cleared across firms serving competing portfolios, or who bears the duty of candor on a filing the platform helped draft.
AI Governance and Bias Disclosure
Published governance over model behavior: who owns it inside the vendor, what is tested before release, and what is disclosed about disparate output across matter types, parties, or populations.
No governance material of any kind is published. There is no responsible AI page, governance framework or set of principles, no person or function named as accountable for model behavior, no account of what is evaluated before a model change ships, and no certification. Nothing addresses uneven output. On this product that would mean whether claim interpretation and evidence matching perform differently across technical fields, patent offices, document languages or the quality of available product documentation, and those outputs decide which companies are named as infringers. The only related statement is the seed announcement's claim that the underlying technology now allows the work to be automated reliably, which describes the field rather than any control PatentWatch applies.
No governance material is published on the home page, platform overview, Create, Manage, Enterprise AI and Security and Privacy pages or in the footer. There is no responsible AI page, framework or set of principles, no person or function accountable for model behavior, no account of what is tested before a model or module change ships, and no certification such as ISO 42001. The closest statement is a claim that the AI has state of the art guardrails to keep generated content grounded in fact, which names no guardrail and describes no testing. SOC 2 Type 2 through Vanta is an information security attestation, not AI governance. Nothing addresses uneven output, though the disclosure module scores inventions and the licensing module ranks assets, and both shape which inventions get filed and which patents get licensed.
AI Safety and Data Stewardship
Retention, deletion, access control, and what happens to prompts and documents after they are processed. Whether the vendor states its subprocessors and its incident practice, or leaves the buyer to assume.
None of the five elements is published. There is no security page, privacy policy or data processing addendum. Nothing states any retention period or deletion practice, no subprocessor is named, no incident or breach notice practice is described, no encryption or access control is mentioned, and no trust center exists. A login exists at the platform subdomain, and nothing describes how accounts or stored data are protected. The whole public site is a home page, a news index with one item and one article.
Tradespace publishes AES 256 encryption of all data at rest; single sign on through Okta, Microsoft and Google, with others on request; SOC 2 Type 2 maintained through Vanta with a linked trust center; hosting on Microsoft Azure with all servers in the US Northern Virginia region; and a dedicated model instance for each account. No retention period or deletion practice is stated for any data. No subprocessor list exists; Microsoft is identifiable as the cloud and model route and no other processor is named. No incident or breach notification practice is published. Tradespace publishes no terms of service, privacy policy or data processing addendum, the documents where retention, subprocessors and breach notice usually sit.
AI Liability and Recourse
What the vendor stands behind contractually when its output is wrong. Indemnities, caps, carve outs, insurance, and whether any of it is published or only reachable through a negotiated agreement.
No agreement of any kind is published, so nothing addresses who bears the loss when the output is wrong. The footer carries only a contact email address and a LinkedIn link, with no legal section, terms of service, privacy policy or acceptable use policy. There is no liability cap, indemnity in either direction, warranty, service level or insurance position. A claim chart asserting that a named company infringes is the basis on which a cease and desist letter is sent, and an error in it can expose the sender rather than PatentWatch. Nothing published says who carries that.
Nothing published says who bears the loss when output is wrong, because no agreement of any kind is published. The footer has no legal section: no terms of service, privacy policy, acceptable use policy or data processing addendum. No liability cap, indemnity, warranty, service level or insurance position is published. The one commercial promise is about satisfaction, not liability: on a first filing, if the customer is not happy, Tradespace will not file and the materials are the customer's regardless. The platform holds unfiled invention disclosures for defense contractors, federal agencies and research universities.
Practice Systems Integration Depth
How deeply the product reaches into the systems legal work already lives in: document management such as iManage and NetDocuments, Word and Outlook, contract lifecycle management, matter management, e-billing, and court filing systems.
No integration into the systems legal or intellectual property work already lives in is published, and none is claimed. No intellectual property management, docketing, document management or matter management system is named, no connector or integration is described, no API or developer documentation exists, and the navigation has no integrations page. The published workflow stands alone: a user uploads patents and receives claim charts through the platform's own interface, reached by a login at the platform subdomain. Nothing describes export formats either, though a claim chart is meant to be attached to correspondence or a filing.
The named connections point at the systems inventors use rather than those lawyers use. Tradespace names Slack, Gmail and Notion as sources it mines for ideas, and describes capture from pull requests, call recordings, schematics and design documents. For enterprises, the platform states support for integrations with CRM, CLM, ERP and other IP systems through APIs and connectors, with secure two way data exchange, naming the direction of flow. The Manage module describes integrations with annuity providers and with patent offices that capture maintenance events, deadlines and correspondence automatically. Single sign on runs through Okta, Microsoft and Google. No connector list, named IP management or docketing system, API reference or developer documentation is published.
Deployment Model and Data Residency
Where the software runs and where the data sits. Multi tenant cloud, single tenant, private deployment, on premises, and whether region of residence is a published option or an enterprise conversation.
Nothing published addresses where the platform runs or how customers are separated within it. No cloud provider is named, no hosting region or country is stated, no residency option is offered, nothing distinguishes processing from storage, and no tenancy or isolation model is described. A browser login at a platform subdomain is the only sign of how it is delivered, and no deployment model is stated. There is no security page or privacy policy in which any of it could appear. Third party records give the company addresses in more than one country, and no source from the company states an operating location.
Each customer account gets a dedicated model instance in a hub and spoke design, with no data moving between instances, and Tradespace ties private instances to avoiding public disclosure, the specific legal risk in patent work. Hosting is Microsoft Azure, with all servers stated to be in the US Northern Virginia region. There is no choice of location. No other region, European option, on premises or customer cloud deployment is offered, so a customer with residency obligations outside the United States has no published path. Nothing separates processing location from storage. Customers include research universities and multinationals filing in Europe and Asia.
Security Certifications and Trust Center
Independent attestation a buyer can pull without a sales call: SOC 2, ISO 27001, penetration test summaries, a trust center with current reports and named scope rather than a badge image.
No certification is claimed and no trust page exists. Neither SOC 2 nor ISO 27001 nor any other standard is named, no auditor or attestation is referenced, and there is no trust center or portal. No badge or seal appears on any page, and no penetration testing or vulnerability program is described. The site's navigation lists every page, and none is a security page.
Tradespace says it works with Vanta to maintain SOC 2 Type 2 compliance and links directly to a trust center, a route to controls rather than a badge. Security is described in specifics elsewhere: AES 256 at rest, named single sign on providers and a stated server region. The company says it meets these standards for clients including Northrop Grumman, Raytheon, the Department of Defense and the Department of Energy. No auditor is named; Vanta automates compliance and is not the auditor. No report date, coverage period, scope or trust services criteria are published, and the access level for the report is not stated. No penetration testing program is described.
Model Supply Chain Disclosure
Which models sit underneath, whose they are, where they run, and whether the vendor commits to telling customers when that changes. A legal buyer inherits every dependency it cannot see.
Nothing identifies what powers the product. No model is named, nor any version or provider, and nothing states whether any component is built by the company or reached through a third party. Nothing describes where inference runs, what any provider may retain, or whether customers would be told if the models changed. The only reference to the underlying technology is in the seed announcement, which says large language models and modern search infrastructure have reached a point where this work can be automated. That describes the state of the field rather than this company's stack, and it names nothing. There is no subprocessor list, privacy policy or terms of service in which such a disclosure could appear.
The provider is named and the models are not. Asked which models it uses, Tradespace describes a model agnostic approach and says that by default it uses Microsoft Azure to access OpenAI Services, linking to Microsoft's published data privacy terms for that service. That tells a reader whose infrastructure and model family sit underneath and points at the applicable data protection terms. Inference runs on Azure with servers in the US Northern Virginia region, and the hub and spoke design means the instance is dedicated rather than shared. No model or version is named, the model agnostic claim comes with no list of alternatives, and there is no commitment to notify customers when the model or provider changes, which matters because the architecture is built to make swapping models easy.
Commercial Transparency
Whether a buyer can learn what this costs without entering a sales process: published rates, the unit being charged, what sits behind an enterprise tier, and what implementation adds.
No pricing information is published at any level. There is no pricing page, no plan is named, no unit of charge is identified, and no structure is described, whether per user, per patent, per chart, per portfolio or by subscription. Nothing states whether onboarding is charged separately, and no trial or free plan is offered. The only commercial routes on the site are a Book a Demo control in the header and at the foot of the home page, and a contact email address. The one related figure concerns the cost of the problem rather than the price of the product: the company notes that obtaining and maintaining a single patent can cost around fifty thousand dollars over its lifetime.
The charging model is stated with no number attached. Prosecution is sold for a flat fee, with the vendor saying the customer knows the cost before work begins, and the pitch is framed against hourly outside counsel, law firm markups and paying hundreds an hour for correspondence handling. There is a concrete free offer: Tradespace prepares a full first application at no cost and, if the customer is not happy, will not file, with the materials theirs regardless. An ROI calculator lets a customer model returns on its own portfolio. No figure, tier, seat price, subscription rate or unit is published for the software, and nothing says how the platform license relates to the flat prosecution fee or whether one can be bought without the other. The only route to a price is a demo request.
Firm and Practice Coverage
Who the product is actually built for. AmLaw, midlaw, small firm and solo, in house departments, government and courts, and which practice areas are supported rather than merely claimed.
Neither the buyer nor the boundary is stated. No page is addressed to any buyer segment. Nothing distinguishes in house intellectual property teams from law firms, licensing companies, universities or individual inventors, and no industry or technology field is named as supported. No jurisdiction or patent office is identified, so nothing states whether the claim charting and prior art work covers United States practice only or reaches the European Patent Office and other offices. No portfolio size band is given, and nothing states what the platform does not cover. What is published is a set of uses rather than a coverage statement: licensing and litigation targeting, support for cease and desist letters, finding counterclaims, valuation when a company winds down, and diligence. Most of that list appears in copy written by the vendor on a third party directory rather than on the company's own pages.
Six buyer roles have their own pages: IP leaders, tech transfer leaders, general counsel, chief legal officers, R&D leaders and corporate development. Five industries have pages: corporations, startups, universities, government and law firms, and four use cases are documented separately. The customer list spans a federal agency, defense primes, research universities and startups. Law firms appear as buyers alongside in house teams, although the product is also marketed as an alternative to outside counsel. No jurisdiction is stated, so nothing says whether the drafting and docketing modules handle European or international filings or only US practice, with a single US hosting region. No portfolio size is given, and trademarks and copyright are absent throughout without being excluded.
The 12 legal signals, side by side
Recorded rather than graded. These are the questions a practitioner has to answer before a tool touches a client matter, and the answers are taken from public material only.
Client Data in Training
Can material a lawyer puts into this product be used to train a model?
Whether a customer's portfolio feeds model training is left unanswered in both directions. No clause names training, model training, machine learning or model improvement in relation to customer content, and there is no terms of service, privacy policy or data processing addendum on the site in which such a term could sit. Nothing promises the opposite either. A customer uploads its own patent portfolio and, in use, its working view of which competitors may be infringing.
Copy PatentWatch wrote elsewhere describes a proprietary database of patent and product relationships that grows with each client, with no statement of what feeds it or how it is used.
Training is opt in rather than prohibited, and the vendor says so. Asked on its AI page whether it trains on customer data, Tradespace says it does not by default and adds the quoted sentence, so training happens only at the customer's request. The security page says data is never used for training without written consent, which adds a written form to the mechanism. A third statement goes further: asked whether using the platform is a public disclosure, the vendor says flatly that customer data does not train any model, without the consent qualifier.
Read together, the position is opt in with written consent, and the flat sentence describes the default rather than adding a prohibition. No agreement, privacy policy or data processing addendum is published, so none of this is a contract term and nothing defines the consent mechanism.
Prompt and Output Retention
How long does the product keep what a lawyer typed, and can that be set to zero?
Uploaded portfolios and generated claim charts are kept for no stated period. No period is stated for uploaded patents, generated claim charts, prior art results or portfolio analyses. Nothing describes what happens to that material when a customer stops using the platform, and no deletion route, export right or retention setting is published. There is no terms of service, privacy policy or data processing addendum on the site, so the documents in which a retention position normally sits do not exist.
A login exists at the platform subdomain, and nothing published says how long uploaded portfolios and generated charts are kept.
Disclosures, drafts, prompts and portfolio records have no retention position of any kind. No period is stated for disclosures, generated drafts, prompts, office correspondence or portfolio records, nothing describes what happens to data when a customer stops using the platform, and no deletion route or export right is published. No retention setting is offered. Tradespace publishes no terms of service, no privacy policy and no data processing addendum, so the documents in which a retention position normally lives do not exist on the site.
What is published nearby concerns isolation rather than duration, with each account given a dedicated model instance and no data moving between instances, which addresses who can reach the data rather than how long it is kept.
Ethical Walls and Matter Segregation
Does retrieval respect the firm’s ethical walls, or can the model read across them?
Nothing describes separation between customers, isolation of one portfolio from another, or any access boundary. No tenancy model is stated, and no permissions or role structure is described. The platform maps patents against competing products across a market, so two competitors in the same technical field could both be customers, each having uploaded its portfolio and each a potential target in the other's analysis.
Nothing published says what separates them. Copy PatentWatch wrote elsewhere describes a proprietary database of patent and product relationships that grows with each client, without saying how one client's material is kept from another.
Asked how it keeps account data sent to AI models from being mixed, Tradespace describes a hub and spoke approach that provisions a separate instance of its hub model for each customer account, with the quoted result. It says no data is ever transferred from a spoke model to the hub or to any other spoke, so the flow of data is stated in both directions. The security page frames the same design against the key risk in patent work: with a private model per customer, uploaded data is not treated as a public disclosure.
The separation is between customer accounts, and nothing covers separation between matters or clients inside one account. None of it appears in an agreement, since none is published.
Third Party Request and Subpoena Notice
If someone subpoenas the vendor for a firm’s data, does the firm hear about it first?
A demand from authorities or through legal process would meet no stated response and no promised notice to the customer. No terms of service, privacy policy or confidentiality provision is published anywhere. The stored material includes a customer's assessment of which third parties may be infringing its patents, made before any enforcement begins, and nothing published says what PatentWatch would do if asked for it.
Disclosure to authorities or in response to legal process, and notice to the customer if a demand arrives, go unaddressed for a platform whose customers include three federal agencies. No terms of service, privacy policy or data processing addendum is published. The closest statement is that customer data is not publicly disclosed or discoverable by a third party, which concerns the architecture, not compelled disclosure.
Customers include the Department of Defense, the Department of Energy, the FDA and defense contractors, where government demands for records are foreseeable.
Primary Law Corpus Provenance
Where does the law in this product come from, and does the vendor have the right to use it?
The patent database is referred to and never identified. A statistic on PatentWatch's home page is labeled patent database, counted in millions. No patent office, database, publisher or data supplier is named, no jurisdictions are listed, and no update cadence is stated. Two other bodies of material are in use and described nowhere. One is the product documentation and specifications from which evidence passages are drawn for claim charts; the worked example on the home page quotes product literature directly.
The other is the prior art sources behind the invalidity analysis. No license, agreement or permission basis is stated for any of it.
Tradespace states that its AI tools were trained on knowledge gathered from millions of publications, patents, product specs, licenses, and search reports. Two of those categories are public records in most jurisdictions, and three are not: product specifications, license agreements and search reports are ordinarily confidential or commercially licensed material, and nothing published states where they came from, on what basis they were obtained, or whether any of it originated with customers.
Tradespace separately states that it does not train on customer or account data without explicit request, and nothing reconciles the two. No database, publisher, patent office or data supplier is named, no jurisdictions are listed, no volume figure is given for any category, and no update cadence is stated. The platform separately consumes live patent office correspondence and prior art in operation, and nothing describes the provenance of that either.
Good Law Verification
Does the product tell you when the authority it just cited has been overruled?
Patent status, not case law, is the currency question here, and it goes unanswered. The product does not retrieve primary law, so a citator in the usual sense has nothing to work on. The related question for this product is also unaddressed: nothing says whether the platform checks that a patent it charts is still in force, whether maintenance fees have been paid, whether claims have been amended or canceled in proceedings after grant, or whether a competing product it identifies is still on the market. No status check of any kind is described.
Whether prior art, patent status and licensable assets surfaced by the platform remain current goes unchecked by any described step. The question takes a particular form in patent work, and none of its forms is addressed: nothing states whether prior art returned in a disclosure evaluation is checked for currency, whether patent status and legal events are validated against office records when the Manage module reports on a portfolio, or whether the licensing module confirms that an asset it recommends for monetization is in force and unencumbered.
The docketing assistant does capture patent office communications and create deadlines from them, which is currency in the procedural sense, but nothing describes verification of what it captured. No treatment, status or validity signal is described.
Refusal and Uncertainty Behavior
What does the product do when the answer is not in the corpus?
Confidence is scored and shown, and nothing describes what happens at the low end. PatentWatch's worked claim chart shows a numeric score against each claim element, from 95 down to 45 across the four elements displayed, with an overall match score of 85 out of 100 for the claim. Scoring each element separately rather than returning a single verdict shows a user which element the evidence is weakest on, and the example includes an element with a low score rather than a clean match.
Nothing says what the scores measure or how they are calibrated. No threshold is published below which a match is not asserted, and nothing says whether the system declines to chart a claim it cannot support or simply returns low numbers. There is no documentation on the site in which any of that could appear.
When the platform cannot ground an answer, nothing describes what it does next, and the user is shown no confidence, coverage or grounding indicator alongside any of its output. What is published constrains generation rather than describing behavior at its limits. Tradespace says retrieval augmented generation limits responses to actual data, citations are provided, and guardrails keep generated content grounded in fact.
The Create module flags missing information in an inventor's submission, which tells a user the input is incomplete rather than that the model is uncertain about an output.
Fabricated Citation Record
Does a public court record exist addressing fabricated or hallucinated legal citations in output from this product?
The AI Hallucination Cases database maintained by Damien Charlotin, and reporting based on it, records no court order, opinion or disciplinary record naming PatentWatch or Patent Watch. The company is about a year old and its user base is not disclosed. The tracker records sanctions over fabricated citations; it does not index weak infringement cases, invalidity rulings or motions to shift fees.
The AI Hallucination Cases database maintained by Damien Charlotin, and reporting drawing on it, record no court order, opinion or disciplinary record naming Tradespace, Tradespace, Inc. or the acquired drafting brand Paragon. This is a statement about the public record rather than a finding about the product. The tracker records fabricated citations in court filings, and this platform's outputs are patent applications, office action responses and docket entries filed at patent offices, so the forum that would surface an equivalent failure is the USPTO rather than a court, and its responses take the form of examiner objections, prosecution history consequences or an inequitable conduct allegation raised later in litigation rather than a published sanctions order. None of those is indexed anywhere comparable.
Bar Guidance Alignment
Has the vendor engaged in public with the ethics opinions its buyers are bound by?
No public material engages guidance from any professional body. Neither the USPTO Rules of Professional Conduct nor its guidance on artificial intelligence in submissions is named, no bar opinion is cited, and nothing addresses the obligations of a practitioner relying on a generated claim chart or invalidity position. Nothing addresses Rule 11 or the duty to investigate before suit either, though a claim chart is the usual evidence that a patent owner made a reasonable inquiry before asserting infringement. There is no terms of service or disclaimer page in which any such reference could sit.
No public material on the home page, platform overview, Create, Manage, Enterprise AI, Security and Privacy and counsel network pages or in the footer engages guidance from any professional body governing the platform's users. Neither the USPTO Rules of Professional Conduct nor its guidance on AI in filings is named, no state bar opinion is cited, and nothing addresses the duty of candor on a patent filing or the competence and supervision duties of a practitioner relying on generated drafts and machine created deadlines.
Tradespace markets a full service patent practice through a network of outside firms and does not say how professional obligations are split between itself, the network firm and the customer.
Billing and Fee Posture
Does the vendor address what happens to the bill when the work takes an hour instead of six?
Time savings are claimed with no stated basis. PatentWatch's home page publishes three statistics, two of them savings measures labeled faster claim charts and hours saved per chart, with no method. Nothing addresses how work assisted by AI is recorded, billed or disclosed to a client, and no record of such work per matter is described. Claim charting is work outside counsel bills for, and PatentWatch positions itself explicitly against attorneys doing it by hand over weeks. Nothing addresses how a firm using the platform would treat the time saved.
Tradespace sells against the billable hour, calls itself an alternative to the law firm markup, tells buyers to stop paying hundreds an hour for outside counsel to summarize correspondence, offers flat fee prosecution with cost known in advance, and publishes an ROI calculator. The Manage module reports outside counsel spend. Nothing addresses how AI assisted work is recorded or disclosed, and no record of AI assisted work by matter is described.
Tradespace mostly sells to the in house or university team that pays the bill, so its flat fee model addresses cost commercially rather than through disclosure. Law firms are a named buyer segment, and nothing addresses billing for them.
Outside Counsel Guideline Readiness
Can a firm get this vendor through a client’s AI clause without a bespoke negotiation?
No subprocessor list exists in any form, no processor or vendor is named anywhere, and no model provider is identified. There is no data processing agreement, privacy policy, terms of service, security page or trust center, so nothing exists that a firm could forward to a client about which entities would process its patent portfolio and its infringement analysis.
Asked which models it uses, Tradespace describes a model agnostic approach that by default uses Microsoft Azure to access OpenAI Services, and links to Microsoft's published data privacy terms for that service. A firm can tell a client which provider processes its content and point to the data protection terms. No subprocessor list exists, no other processor is named, and the model agnostic claim means the named default may not be what a given customer runs.
There is no data processing addendum, privacy policy or terms of service, so there is nothing to forward to a client; the SOC 2 Type 2 report behind the Vanta trust center is the only obtainable document, and its access level is not stated.
Court Disclosure Support
If a judge’s standing order requires an AI disclosure, can the product produce one?
Disclosure of AI use to a court or patent office goes unaddressed, and no exportable record of which model produced which determination, at what confidence, or who reviewed it is described. The product does generate the document that would need to carry such a record. A claim chart is filed, served or attached to correspondence, and the home page example shows each element with its supporting passage and score, so the material for tracing it exists inside the output.
Nothing says it can be exported, nothing describes a review or approval step, and nothing addresses what a party should say if asked how the chart was produced. A claim chart is often the document offered to show that a reasonable investigation took place before suit.
A patent office or tribunal asking about AI use would find no disclosure support, and no exportable record for each document of which model produced which passage, what was retrieved and who reviewed it is described. The platform holds much of the raw material. Citations accompany generated responses, the Paragon drafting technology is described as traceable to source materials, the docketing assistant captures all office and counsel correspondence for a case, and audit logs are listed among security controls.
None is presented as a record of model use. The duty of candor in patent prosecution attaches to what is submitted, and a platform that drafts applications, suggests office action responses and creates deadlines generates exactly what an inequitable conduct challenge would probe.
The questions both sides leave open
Derived from the records above rather than written, so it cannot favor either vendor. Take these into both conversations and ask each side the same question.
- UPL and Professional Responsibility Posture
- AI Governance and Bias Disclosure
- AI Liability and Recourse
- Prompt and Output Retention
- Third Party Request and Subpoena Notice
- Good Law Verification
- Bar Guidance Alignment
- Court Disclosure Support
Which one fits
Choose PatentWatch if
- The question in front of you is who is practicing your claims. PatentWatch interprets a granted claim, breaks it into its elements, locates supporting evidence in product documentation and specifications, and assembles a claim chart in which each element carries the passage relied on, an analysis and a numeric score, with an overall match score for the claim.
- You want to test the patent before you act on it. Prior art and invalidity searching runs alongside the mapping, aimed at establishing whether an asset would survive a challenge, which is the question a target's counsel asks first when a demand letter arrives.
- Your portfolio is larger than your team can watch. The company positions the product against manual claim charting by attorneys and against in house teams able to monitor only part of a portfolio, and frames the problem as granted patents that cost a great deal to obtain and maintain while generating nothing once issued.
Choose Tradespace if
- Your bottleneck is disclosures that never get written down. Tradespace turns whatever an inventor already has, including slide decks, product specifications, flow charts, manuscripts and audio recordings, into structured disclosure packages, connects to Slack, Gmail and Notion to surface ideas that would otherwise stay buried, and attaches prior art review, portfolio matches and detectability and market assessments before no code rules route the disclosure to committee.
- Unfiled inventions cannot mix with anyone else's. Tradespace provisions a dedicated instance of the model for each customer account under a hub and spoke design and states that no data is ever transferred from one instance to another or back to the hub, grounds responses with retrieval augmented generation and citations, and runs on Microsoft Azure with all servers stated to be in the United States Northern Virginia region.
- You want the filing done as well as the file kept. Alongside the software Tradespace offers flat fee prosecution through a vetted network of outside patent firms, so a team can run the platform alone or with counsel attached, and it publishes a first application at no cost with a statement that if the customer is not satisfied it will not file and the materials are theirs regardless.
In summary
PatentWatch
PatentWatch is an AI platform for finding out who is infringing a patent portfolio and building the evidence to act on it, across product mapping, patent search, prior art analysis and portfolio analytics. Its core workflow interprets a granted claim and decomposes it into elements. It then locates supporting passages in product documentation and assembles a claim chart with a score against each element and an overall match score. According to the AI Legal Index, its entire public estate is a home page, a one item news index and a funding announcement. It publishes no agreement, security material, model provider or customer.
Tradespace
Tradespace is an intellectual property management platform running the patent lifecycle from invention capture through to licensing. It turns decks, specifications and recordings into structured disclosure packages and covers drafting and prosecution with a docketing assistant. It also handles annuities and maintenance decisions, identifies likely licensees, and offers flat fee prosecution through a vetted network of outside firms. According to the AI Legal Index, each customer account receives a dedicated model instance under a hub and spoke design with no data passing between instances, and hosting is stated as Microsoft Azure in the United States Northern Virginia region. It publishes no terms of service, privacy policy or liability position.
Questions buyers ask
Are PatentWatch and Tradespace alternatives to each other?
No. PatentWatch does one thing, mapping granted claims against competing products to build the evidence for a licensing demand or a suit. Tradespace runs the whole lifecycle, from capturing disclosures out of the tools engineers already use, through drafting, docketing and annuities, to identifying licensees. They meet only at the licensing end, where both build claim charts. Read side by side, they show a very large difference in what each has published about itself. From the AI Legal Index, based on each vendor's own published materials as of September 3, 2026. No vendor pays for placement.
What does each publish about where your data goes?
Tradespace answers in specifics. Hosting is on Microsoft Azure with all servers stated to be in the United States Northern Virginia region, and each customer account gets a dedicated model instance with no data moving between instances. Models are reached by default through Azure OpenAI Service, with Microsoft's data terms linked, and training happens only on explicit customer request rather than by default. PatentWatch publishes nothing on this: no model, no provider, no hosting region, no tenancy model and no training or retention position. From the AI Legal Index, based on each vendor's own published materials as of September 3, 2026. No vendor pays for placement.
Which one can you use without outside counsel?
Tradespace offers both routes and says so, selling the software alone or with flat fee prosecution through a vetted network of outside patent firms. What it does not publish is how that arrangement works professionally: nothing states who the client is, whether an attorney client relationship arises with the network firm or with Tradespace, or how conflicts are cleared across a network serving competing portfolios. PatentWatch is software only, and publishes nothing about who should review a claim chart before it is sent. From the AI Legal Index, based on each vendor's own published materials as of September 3, 2026. No vendor pays for placement.
What happens if a claim chart is wrong?
Neither vendor says. No liability cap, indemnity, warranty or insurance position appears on either record, because neither publishes an agreement in which one could sit. That matters because a claim chart is the instrument behind a cease and desist letter, and an error in one exposes the party that sent it. From the AI Legal Index, based on each vendor's own published materials as of September 3, 2026. No vendor pays for placement.
What do PatentWatch and Tradespace both leave unpublished?
Neither publishes an agreement of any kind, so neither states a liability position, a retention period, a deletion route or a subprocessor list. Neither publishes an AI governance position: no accountable owner, no pre release testing and nothing on whether performance holds evenly across technical fields or document quality. Neither publishes an accuracy measurement for the claim mapping each depends on. And neither names a jurisdiction or patent office, so nothing states whether coverage is United States practice only. From the AI Legal Index, based on each vendor's own published materials as of September 3, 2026. No vendor pays for placement.
Neither vendor paid for inclusion, placement or a grade, and neither reviewed this page before it published. Everything on it comes from public material on the dates shown. How the index grades.
Neither vendor publishes an agreement. There is no terms of service, privacy policy or data processing addendum on either property. So on both records the retention period, deletion route, subprocessor list and breach notification practice are absent because the documents that would carry them do not exist. On PatentWatch the same is true of training, segregation and model provider. Two specifics belong alongside that. Tradespace's docketing assistant captures office and counsel correspondence, summarizes it and creates the resulting deadlines, and nothing published states whether a person confirms a created deadline before it enters the docket. PatentWatch's three home page statistics are unattributed animated counters, and none of them measures deployment. Neither vendor reviewed this page.