A
Align Research
Align Research is an AI case law retrieval tool from Align, a Washington, DC litigation technology company founded by Sam Davidoff while he was a litigation partner at Williams & Connolly. Its legal entity is MFB Technologies, Inc. A lawyer asks a research question in plain language. AI agents then search, read the retrieved opinions and mark the key passages over a job that runs for a few hours, and return the relevant US federal and state court decisions, published and unpublished.
The product writes no summaries, analysis or other text of its own, which the vendor presents as removing the risk of invented cases. Results carry full citations, a relevance tier the lawyer can change, and flags for later treatment such as overruling. Align Research became generally available on August 3, 2026, priced at $100 per research job bought as prepaid credits. A separate free tier gives three jobs a month, and the vendor may use its content to train its models.
Align's original product, a digital trial binder platform for litigators sold on per user plans, uses no AI and is outside this profile.
Capability grades
All 15 axes, graded from public sources on the date shown. Hover a grade to see what the letter means on that axis.
AI Centrality
How much of the product is actually AI. Whether the machine learning is the mechanism the buyer is paying for or a feature layered onto conventional software, and whether the vendor is specific about which is which.
The AI is the product. Align Research sells one job: its AI agents take a plain language question, search, read the retrieved opinions and return the relevant cases with the key passages marked. Without the agents there is nothing to buy, since the opinions themselves are available elsewhere and the product adds no editorial content of its own.
Citation Accuracy and Hallucination Disclosure
Whether the vendor publishes measured accuracy on citations and assertions, grounds output to primary sources, and says plainly what its system does when it does not know. Legal has a documented public record of fabricated citations reaching filed briefs, so an untested claim of accuracy is not evidence.
Grounding is built into the design, and accuracy is not measured. The product returns only existing court opinions with complete citations the lawyer can check, marks the passages it relied on, and composes no text, so it cannot put an invented case or quotation in front of a reader. What it can do is miss a case or mark the wrong passage, and the vendor's own terms say outputs may contain errors. No recall, precision or relevance measurement is published, so a lawyer cannot tell how often a research job leaves out a case that should have been found, which is the failure that matters for a retrieval tool.
Autonomy and Oversight Model
What the system decides on its own, what a lawyer must approve, and whether the vendor documents where the review point sits. A tool that drafts under review and a tool that files without one are different products and different risks.
A clear position that the lawyer decides, with real review surfaces. The vendor says the product leaves legal analysis and judgment with the attorney and will not summarize a holding or tell the lawyer what to argue, and its paid terms make the customer responsible for reviewing outputs before relying on them, including in providing legal services. Each returned case carries a relevance tier set by the model that the lawyer can change, with the relied-on passages marked.
What is not published is how the agents decide, during a job that runs for hours, when they have searched enough or which cases to drop before the lawyer sees the set.
Operational and Outcome Evidence
Named, dated evidence that the product works in production at real firms or legal departments. Case studies with figures and identified customers count. Unattributed testimonials and launch announcements do not.
No production evidence for this product is published. Align Research became generally available on August 3, 2026, and nothing published names a firm or legal department using it or reports a result. The named law firm testimonials on the Align site, from Whiteford, Taylor & Preston and Babin Bessner Spry, concern Align's trial binder product.
Privilege and Confidentiality Posture
How client confidences are handled: attorney client privilege and work product treatment, segregation of one client matter from another, whether client data trains any model, and what the vendor commits to in writing rather than in marketing.
Strong contractual commitments on the paid tier, without coverage of privilege or the model provider. The Paid Tier Terms of Service, effective July 9, 2026, limit the vendor's use of questions and results to performing the service. They bar it from training or improving any model on that content, and a breach of that promise sits outside the liability cap. Support staff may view content only transiently to resolve a request, customers can delete items at any time with deletion within 30 days, and the data processing addendum commits to logical separation between customers.
The free tier works the other way. Its terms and the privacy policy let the vendor keep free tier questions indefinitely and use them to train its models, so a lawyer trying the product on a live matter should know which tier they are on. Nothing names the model provider or says what it may retain, and privilege and work product are not addressed directly.
UPL and Professional Responsibility Posture
Whether the vendor is clear that it supplies a tool rather than legal advice, who its audience is, and how it addresses unauthorized practice of law, competence and supervision duties, and jurisdiction limits. ABA Formal Opinion 512 is the reference point. Where the advice line is not the duty a product raises, the axis is read through the nearest professional duty it does raise: judicial conduct rules and the reviewing duty for products sold only to courts, and the duty to bill for time actually spent for products that draft time entries.
A real position on tool versus judgment is published, short of the full picture. The vendor positions the product as retrieval only: it will not summarize a holding, draft a brief or tell the lawyer what to argue, and the judgment stays with the attorney. The paid terms put review of outputs on the customer before any reliance, including in providing legal services, and define authorized users as the customer's partners, associates, paralegals and staff.
What is missing is a statement on who may use the free tier, which is open to anyone resident where the service is offered, and any treatment of supervision when a paralegal runs a job.
AI Governance and Bias Disclosure
Published governance over model behavior: who owns it inside the vendor, what is tested before release, and what is disclosed about disparate output across matter types, parties, or populations.
No governance position for the AI is published. The retrieval only design is a deliberate safety choice that the vendor explains at length, but nothing names who is accountable for the agents' output, what is tested before a release, or how coverage and relevance judgments are checked for gaps across courts, jurisdictions or areas of law. The company's security page describes a compliance committee for security and privacy, not for the AI.
AI Safety and Data Stewardship
Retention, deletion, access control, and what happens to prompts and documents after they are processed. Whether the vendor states its subprocessors and its incident practice, or leaves the buyer to assume.
Most of the ground is covered in the paid agreements, short of a published subprocessor list. The data processing addendum limits processing to performing the service, lists security measures including access controls, encryption in transit and at rest, logical separation between customers and backup and recovery, commits to breach notice without undue delay, and deletes customer data within 30 days of a deletion request or termination, with backups cycling out in the ordinary course.
Third party audit reports such as SOC 2 are offered on request once a year. Subcontractors are bound by equivalent terms, but their list is available only on request.
AI Liability and Recourse
What the vendor stands behind contractually when its output is wrong. Indemnities, caps, carve outs, insurance, and whether any of it is published or only reachable through a negotiated agreement.
A real position is published, with a notable carve-out and no stand behind the output. The paid terms cap each party's liability at the greater of 12 months of fees or $100, but leave breaches of confidentiality, the no-training promise and the indemnities outside the cap, so misuse of a firm's research questions is not limited to what the firm has paid. The vendor defends the customer against claims that the service infringes intellectual property.
For the output itself it gives no accuracy warranty and says results may contain errors the customer must review, and its 99.5 percent availability commitment carries no service credits.
Practice Systems Integration Depth
How deeply the product reaches into the systems legal work already lives in: document management such as iManage and NetDocuments, Word and Outlook, contract lifecycle management, matter management, e-billing, and court filing systems.
No integration into practice systems is published for this product. A lawyer signs in, optionally with Google, submits a question, and receives results by email and in the application. No document management, Word, practice management or research platform connection is named. Align's trial binder product works with single sign-on and device management and exports to a document system, but those connections belong to the binders.
Deployment Model and Data Residency
Where the software runs and where the data sits. Multi tenant cloud, single tenant, private deployment, on premises, and whether region of residence is a published option or an enterprise conversation.
Cloud delivery is stated and location is not. The privacy policy says Align Research is a software as a service product processed in the vendor's cloud, unlike the binder product, which firms host themselves. The data processing addendum commits to logical separation between customers, but no hosting provider, region or processing location is named for the research product, and the addendum refers only to lawful transfer mechanisms for cross-border processing.
Security Certifications and Trust Center
Independent attestation a buyer can pull without a sales call: SOC 2, ISO 27001, penetration test summaries, a trust center with current reports and named scope rather than a badge image.
Certification is stated, with the scope for this product left implicit. Align states a SOC 2 Type II audit covering security, availability, processing integrity and confidentiality, annual independent penetration testing, and quarterly compliance reviews with an independent security expert, and the Align Research launch release repeats that the company is SOC 2 Type II certified. The security pages describe the binder products, and nothing states that the research product is inside the audit's scope; the data processing addendum offers third party audit reports on request where available.
Model Supply Chain Disclosure
Which models sit underneath, whose they are, where they run, and whether the vendor commits to telling customers when that changes. A legal buyer inherits every dependency it cannot see.
The vendor refers to its AI agents and its own models without saying what runs underneath. No model or model provider is named, where inference runs is not stated, and nothing commits to notice of change. The privacy policy refers to the vendor's AI models being trained on free tier content, and none of those models is identified.
Commercial Transparency
Whether a buyer can learn what this costs without entering a sales process: published rates, the unit being charged, what sits behind an enterprise tier, and what implementation adds.
A buyer can learn the full cost without a sales process. Each research job costs $100, paid through prepaid credits at one credit per job, with no seat minimum, no annual contract and nothing to implement, and a separate free tier gives three jobs a month. The vendor frames the price as a per task cost a firm can bill back to the matter as a line item. Credits are non-refundable and a job cannot be canceled once it starts.
Firm and Practice Coverage
Who the product is actually built for. AmLaw, midlaw, small firm and solo, in house departments, government and courts, and which practice areas are supported rather than merely claimed.
Who it is for and what it does not do are stated plainly; how far the case coverage reaches is not. The product returns published and unpublished US federal and state court decisions, is aimed at litigators at small and midsize firms and at general counsel and legal operations teams, and states that it returns cases only, with no summaries, drafting or analysis. It does not say which courts or date ranges the underlying case collection covers, which a litigator needs to know before treating a search as complete.
3 public documents
The public pages on file for Align Research, with the recorded signals each one supports and the date it was last read. Open any of them and check the reading against the record.
-
research.align.lawyer/terms5 signals
Client Data in Training, Prompt and Output Retention, Ethical Walls and Matter Segregation and 2 more
Read Sep 27, 2026
-
align.lawyer/research4 signals
Primary Law Corpus Provenance, Bar Guidance Alignment, Billing and Fee Posture and 1 more
Read Sep 27, 2026
-
research.align.lawyer2 signals
Good Law Verification, Refusal and Uncertainty Behavior
Read Sep 27, 2026
$100 per research jobUSD, as published, never converted
- Each research job costs $100.
- You buy credits in advance, and one credit runs one job.
- There is no seat minimum and no yearly contract.
- A free tier gives three jobs a month, but the vendor may train its models on what you ask there.
Per task. Research jobs are paid for with prepaid credits bought in the application, one credit per job, at $100 per job as announced at general availability on August 3, 2026. Free tier: three research jobs a month with no expiration, under separate Free Tier Terms. The vendor positions the charge as a line item billable back to the matter.
Implementation: None; self serve sign-up with no seat minimum or annual contract.
Confidentiality and data terms: Paid Tier Terms of Service, Data Processing Addendum and Service Level Agreement (effective July 9, 2026) are published in the application; no Business Associate Agreement is offered or referred to.
Note: Credits are prepaid and non-refundable, and a job cannot be canceled once it starts. The paid tier is a permanent upgrade; returning to the free tier requires contacting support. Free tier questions and results may be used to train the vendor's models and are kept indefinitely; paid tier content may not be used for training.
Legal Signals
What each signal meansA signal records what public sources say on the date shown. It is not a grade and it is not a recommendation. Where a signal reads Not addressed, it means the index did not locate the material in public sources on that date, which is a statement about disclosure rather than about the product.
Client Data in Training
Can material a lawyer puts into this product be used to train a model?
The published terms prohibit training on customer content. Not a policy page, the agreement.
On the paid tier the agreement prohibits it. The Paid Tier Terms of Service, effective July 9, 2026, say the vendor processes questions and results only to perform the service and will not train or improve any product, model or algorithm on that content without the customer's written consent, and a breach of that promise sits outside the liability cap. The free tier is the opposite: its terms grant the vendor broad rights to use questions and results to develop, train, evaluate and improve its models, and the privacy policy says free tier questions are kept indefinitely. A firm that tries the product on a client matter should do so on the paid tier. Checked 27 September 2026.
Prompt and Output Retention
How long does the product keep what a lawyer typed, and can that be set to zero?
The customer controls the retention window, by product configuration or by contractual instruction, but zero retention is not stated as available.
On the paid tier the customer controls retention. Items can be deleted at any time in the application and are deleted within 30 days of the request, and all content is deleted within 30 days of termination, subject to legal requirements and backups cycling out. Immediate deletion or zero retention is not offered as a setting. Free tier questions are kept indefinitely. Checked 27 September 2026.
Ethical Walls and Matter Segregation
Does retrieval respect the firm’s ethical walls, or can the model read across them?
No located public material addresses walls or matter level segregation.
No published material addresses separation between users or matters inside a firm's Align Research account. The data processing addendum commits to logical separation between customers, and Align's binder product separates data by client and matter, but nothing says who inside a firm can see another lawyer's research jobs. Checked 27 September 2026.
Third Party Request and Subpoena Notice
If someone subpoenas the vendor for a firm’s data, does the firm hear about it first?
Terms commit to notice where lawfully permitted. No transparency report located.
The agreement commits to notice. The Paid Tier Terms let either party disclose the other's confidential information where the law requires it, provided that, where legally permitted, it gives reasonable prior notice and cooperates in any effort to obtain confidential treatment, and the terms make the customer's questions and results its confidential information. No transparency report is published. Checked 27 September 2026.
Primary Law Corpus Provenance
Where does the law in this product come from, and does the vendor have the right to use it?
Coverage is described by jurisdiction with no identification of the underlying corpus.
Coverage is described by jurisdiction and the collection behind it is not named. The vendor says the product returns published and unpublished US federal and state court decisions from established case law databases. Results in the application link to CourtListener case pages, the Free Law Project's public collection, but no published description names the source, its rights basis or how current it is. Checked 27 September 2026.
Good Law Verification
Does the product tell you when the authority it just cited has been overruled?
The vendor computes and surfaces subsequent history itself, with the method described.
The product flags later treatment itself, and the method is not published. For each returned case the application can list subsequent cases and show flags such as negative treatment, overruled and disputed overruling. No commercial citator is named, and nothing on the vendor's public pages describes how treatment is determined or how complete it is, so a lawyer should confirm the status of any case before relying on it. Checked 27 September 2026.
Refusal and Uncertainty Behavior
What does the product do when the answer is not in the corpus?
The vendor describes refusal or abstention behavior in public materials.
The design never answers in prose, and the application says so when nothing is found. The vendor describes the product as retrieval only: it returns existing cases and composes no text. In the application each case carries a relevance tier set by the model that the lawyer can change, and a job that finds nothing reports that no cases were returned. No published evaluation shows how often relevant cases are missed. Checked 27 September 2026.
Fabricated Citation Record
Does a public court record exist addressing fabricated or hallucinated legal citations in output from this product?
No court order, opinion or disciplinary record addressing fabricated or hallucinated legal citations produced by this product has been located as of the date shown. This is a statement about the public record on that one subject, not a finding about the product, and this signal is not a litigation history.
No court order, opinion or disciplinary record addressing fabricated or hallucinated citations produced by Align Research was located as of 27 September 2026.
Bar Guidance Alignment
Has the vendor engaged in public with the ethics opinions its buyers are bound by?
Public materials refer to professional responsibility in general terms without naming guidance.
Professional duties are referred to in general terms. The vendor points to sanctions, fines and disciplinary referrals for lawyers who filed AI drafted briefs with invented citations, and keeps judgment with the attorney. No bar opinion or ethics rule is named. Checked 27 September 2026.
Billing and Fee Posture
Does the vendor address what happens to the bill when the work takes an hour instead of six?
The vendor’s charge reaches the client as a disbursement or case expense, typically advanced by a contingency firm and recovered from a settlement, so the fee question is disclosure of a pass through cost rather than compressed hours. The summary records whether the vendor addresses that disclosure.
The price is built to be passed through to the client as a visible expense. Each job has a fixed cost the vendor says a firm can bill back to the matter as a line item, shown to the client as a research expense it can see and verify, and it pitches general counsel on a known per task price they can require their firms to use. Nothing addresses whether that expense should be agreed with the client in the engagement terms before it is charged. Checked 27 September 2026.
Outside Counsel Guideline Readiness
Can a firm get this vendor through a client’s AI clause without a bespoke negotiation?
The material exists behind a sales conversation or an executed agreement.
Disclosure material exists behind a request. The data processing addendum commits to provide a list of subcontractors on request, with a reasonable means to learn of changes, and third party audit reports such as SOC 2 once a year on request. No model provider is named anywhere, so a firm answering a client's outside counsel guidelines would need to ask. Checked 27 September 2026.
Court Disclosure Support
If a judge’s standing order requires an AI disclosure, can the product produce one?
No located public material addresses court disclosure or verification certification.
No published material addresses disclosure of AI use to a court. Because the product returns only existing opinions and writes nothing, a filing built from its results contains no AI written text, but nothing records for the lawyer which searches the agents ran or which cases they set aside, and no disclosure template or guidance is offered. Checked 27 September 2026.