&
&AI
&AI is an AI workspace for patent litigation built by AndAI, Inc., based in New York. Litigators and in house patent teams use it to search prior art across more than 60 million patent publications, nonpatent literature and product materials such as manuals, standards and video. They also use it to build claim charts for invalidity and evidence of use, to analyze positions under sections 101, 102, 103 and 112, and to draft contentions, expert reports and pitch materials.
The platform assembles a patent's family, prosecution history and prior cases, and an AI assistant called Andy works across these tools. In claim charts, every proposed citation points to a passage, figure or timestamp and must be approved by the user before it appears in an export, and exported charts contain quoted evidence rather than generated text. The company serves law firms from the Am Law 100 to IP boutiques, on both plaintiff and defense sides, and in house teams.
It publishes its pricing: credits at $0.40 each with no commitment, a Pro plan at $625 per user per month with 2,500 credits, and Enterprise plans offering single tenant or self hosted model deployment, with a seven day free trial.
&AI, head to head
Side by side on the same 15 capability axes and 12 legal signals: where the two part company, and what neither one publishes.
Alternatives to &AI
Vendors in the same categories as &AI whose graded profiles look most alike, with a line on what each product does.
Similar is not the same, so check that each one does the job you need. No vendor pays for placement.
- PPatentcloudPatentcloud is a patent analytics and search platform built by InQuartik Corporation of Taiwan for IP professionals, patent counsel, brokers and analysts.
- MMarqVisionMarqVision is an AI brand protection platform that finds and removes infringements of a brand's intellectual property online.
- TTangiblyTangibly is a trade secret management platform from Tangibly, Inc. for corporate legal and IP teams, law firms and the HR, R&D and security teams that handle confidential information.
- TTriangle IPTriangle IP is a patent pipeline and prosecution analytics platform from Triangle IP, Inc., a Colorado company.
- DDennemeyer OctimineOctimine is a semantic patent search, analytics and monitoring platform sold by Dennemeyer, the intellectual property services group, to patent law firms, corporate IP and R&D teams…
- EEdgeEdge sells AI tools for patent and trademark practitioners.
Ordered by how closely the graded profiles match across the 15 capability axes, inside the same categories. See how each axis is graded in the methodology.
Capability grades
All 15 axes, graded from public sources on the date shown. Hover a grade to see what the letter means on that axis.
AI Centrality
How much of the product is actually AI. Whether the machine learning is the mechanism the buyer is paying for or a feature layered onto conventional software, and whether the vendor is specific about which is which.
Every capability &AI sells is model work: agentic prior art search across patents, nonpatent literature and product materials, claim chart evidence proposed element by element with a relevance rationale, claim constructions generated from the patent and its history, drafted contentions and expert reports, structured analysis across thousands of documents, and the assistant Andy working across all of it. &AI's pricing page says credits pay for the AI and the actions that use heavy compute, which is every action a customer buys. Without the models, what is left is a document store and an export formatter.
Citation Accuracy and Hallucination Disclosure
Whether the vendor publishes measured accuracy on citations and assertions, grounds output to primary sources, and says plainly what its system does when it does not know. Legal has a documented public record of fabricated citations reaching filed briefs, so an untested claim of accuracy is not evidence.
The claim charts page says every citation points to a specific passage, figure or timestamp in the source, and that exported charts contain only exact quotations and references. The Charts post says each proposed piece of evidence carries a short relevance rationale, and reports that in an internal review of exported charts about 83 percent of the evidence in the final export was present in the first pass, for both invalidity and evidence of use charts.
The test set is described only as exported charts, the measure is closer to recall than to accuracy, and no failure mode is named. Nothing states what the system does when no support is found. Drafted contentions and reports, which do contain generated text, carry no published measure. The terms say AI output can be incorrect and place responsibility for it on the user.
Autonomy and Oversight Model
What the system decides on its own, what a lawyer must approve, and whether the vendor documents where the review point sits. A tool that drafts under review and a tool that files without one are different products and different risks.
For claim charts, the product page states that every citation requires the user's approval before it appears in any exported work product, and that no generated content appears in any part of an exported chart, from citations to boilerplate: only exact quotations and references. The product separates modes clearly (search, charts, drafts, tables, pitch and the Andy assistant), and &AI's stated purpose is that the AI handles volume while lawyers make the judgments.
The approval gate applies to Charts only; Drafts and Andy produce generated text under a general expectation of review, with no equivalent gate.
Operational and Outcome Evidence
Named, dated evidence that the product works in production at real firms or legal departments. Case studies with figures and identified customers count. Unattributed testimonials and launch announcements do not.
Early customers at large law firms used the platform to build thousands of claim charts and reported average time savings of 70 to 90 percent, according to &AI's February 2025 release. The product pages say its charts are used in active IPR and district court proceedings. The pricing page publishes average credits per claim chart and per search over the 90 days to July 2026, which shows production use at volume. No customer is named; the named practitioners on the home page are an advisory board, not customers.
Privilege and Confidentiality Posture
How client confidences are handled: attorney client privilege and work product treatment, segregation of one client matter from another, whether client data trains any model, and what the vendor commits to in writing rather than in marketing.
The home and security pages say data stays private and under the customer's control, that &AI and its subprocessors never train on customer or client data, and that zero data retention agreements are in place with model providers. The Terms of Service, effective 18 June 2026, grant &AI a nonexclusive, perpetual, irrevocable, worldwide, sublicensable and transferable license to reproduce, modify, prepare derivative works of and otherwise use content users upload.
They also state that &AI may make that content available to other users of the platform. The privacy policy lists artificial intelligence engine providers among the service providers that may receive information and contains no training commitment in its body. Nothing addresses privilege or work product, segregation between matters, or retention of uploaded case material.
UPL and Professional Responsibility Posture
Whether the vendor is clear that it supplies a tool rather than legal advice, who its audience is, and how it addresses unauthorized practice of law, competence and supervision duties, and jurisdiction limits. ABA Formal Opinion 512 is the reference point. Where the advice line is not the duty a product raises, the axis is read through the nearest professional duty it does raise: judicial conduct rules and the reviewing duty for products sold only to courts, and the duty to bill for time actually spent for products that draft time entries.
&AI's terms state that AI sometimes produces incorrect or inapplicable outcomes and that the user is solely responsible for the accuracy and use of output. Self serve accounts are limited to verified patent practitioners and other approved users, which expressly include investment funds and universities, and the product is marketed for analysis ready for trial and for invalidity arguments. No statement says the output is not legal advice, nothing addresses competence or supervision duties when relying on a chart or contention, and no jurisdiction limits are stated.
AI Governance and Bias Disclosure
Published governance over model behavior: who owns it inside the vendor, what is tested before release, and what is disclosed about disparate output across matter types, parties, or populations.
No responsible AI policy, testing regime, accountable owner or discussion of uneven output is published. &AI's post on its name sets out a view that AI handles volume and lawyers handle judgment, and its home page lists an advisory board of patent litigators; neither is a governance framework for model behavior.
AI Safety and Data Stewardship
Retention, deletion, access control, and what happens to prompts and documents after they are processed. Whether the vendor states its subprocessors and its incident practice, or leaves the buyer to assume.
The security page states encryption in transit and at rest, single sign on and access control by role aligned to least privilege, and cites zero data retention agreements with model providers, so inputs are not retained by them. It says &AI's trust center lists subprocessors. The privacy policy states only that personal information is kept as long as necessary, says nothing about uploaded case material, and gives no deletion commitment or incident notification; the terms' perpetual content license survives termination. No retention or deletion period for &AI's own storage is published.
AI Liability and Recourse
What the vendor stands behind contractually when its output is wrong. Indemnities, caps, carve outs, insurance, and whether any of it is published or only reachable through a negotiated agreement.
&AI's terms provide the service and all output as is, with no warranty that output is free of errors. They state that the user is solely responsible for the accuracy, quality and usability of output and that &AI has no liability for it, and they cap aggregate liability at the greater of one hundred dollars or fees paid in the prior twelve months. The indemnity runs from the user to &AI. No vendor indemnity, output warranty or insurance position is published.
Practice Systems Integration Depth
How deeply the product reaches into the systems legal work already lives in: document management such as iManage and NetDocuments, Word and Outlook, contract lifecycle management, matter management, e-billing, and court filing systems.
No integration into practice systems is published. The platform draws on patent and product data sources and exports charts with configurable formatting, and the Enterprise plan offers custom integrations, but no document management, Microsoft Word, docketing or matter management connection is named or documented.
Deployment Model and Data Residency
Where the software runs and where the data sits. Multi tenant cloud, single tenant, private deployment, on premises, and whether region of residence is a published option or an enterprise conversation.
The pricing page offers Enterprise customers single tenant architecture or self hosted models, and the terms and privacy policy state that information is transferred to and processed in the United States. No region choice is offered, the self hosted option is not described further, and the processing location for calls to third party models is not separated from storage.
Security Certifications and Trust Center
Independent attestation a buyer can pull without a sales call: SOC 2, ISO 27001, penetration test summaries, a trust center with current reports and named scope rather than a badge image.
The security page says &AI holds a SOC 2 Type II attestation and that the report can be requested through its trust center, which also lists certifications and subprocessors. The auditor, the report period and whether the request is self serve are not stated outside the trust center.
Model Supply Chain Disclosure
Which models sit underneath, whose they are, where they run, and whether the vendor commits to telling customers when that changes. A legal buyer inherits every dependency it cannot see.
The security page refers to agreements with &AI's model providers for zero data retention, the privacy policy lists artificial intelligence engine providers among its service providers, and the Enterprise plan offers self hosted models. No model, provider or version is named on the site or in the terms, and no change notification is described; the terms reserve the right to change the services without notice.
Commercial Transparency
Whether a buyer can learn what this costs without entering a sales process: published rates, the unit being charged, what sits behind an enterprise tier, and what implementation adds.
The pricing page publishes credits at $0.40 each with no commitment, a Pro plan at $625 per user per month including 2,500 credits with further credits at $0.25, a 20 percent annual discount, and custom Enterprise terms. An Opportunities option costs $175 per user and $50 per attorney who is not a user. The page converts the unit into work: over the 90 days to July 2026 an average claim chart used 241 credits and an average prior art search 176, so a chart costs $96.40 or $48.20 depending on plan.
The terms add automatic renewal and a seven day trial with 1,000 credits. What implementation adds is not stated, and Enterprise rates are withheld.
Firm and Practice Coverage
Who the product is actually built for. AmLaw, midlaw, small firm and solo, in house departments, government and courts, and which practice areas are supported rather than merely claimed.
&AI names law firms from the Am Law 100 to IP boutiques, plaintiff and defense counsel, and in house teams for litigation preparation, infringement mining and transactions. It covers invalidity under sections 101, 102, 103 and 112, evidence of use, IPR and district court work. Its comparison page says work centered on prosecution and drafting is better served by a named competitor. Patent coverage is described as major jurisdictions without a list, and government use is not addressed.
7 public documents
The public pages on file for &AI, with the recorded signals each one supports and the date it was last read. Open any of them and check the reading against the record.
-
tryandai.com/privacy2 signals
Prompt and Output Retention, Third Party Request and Subpoena Notice
Read Sep 18, 2026
-
tryandai.com/product/claim-charts2 signals
Refusal and Uncertainty Behavior, Court Disclosure Support
Read Sep 18, 2026
-
Fabricated Citation Record
Read Sep 18, 2026
-
tryandai.com1 signal
Primary Law Corpus Provenance
Read Sep 18, 2026
-
tryandai.com/pricing1 signal
Billing and Fee Posture
Read Sep 18, 2026
-
tryandai.com/security1 signal
Ethical Walls and Matter Segregation
Read Sep 18, 2026
-
tryandai.com/terms1 signal
Client Data in Training
Read Sep 18, 2026
$625 / user / month
- You can pay $0.40 for each credit with no monthly commitment.
- The Pro plan costs $625 per person each month and includes 2,500 credits.
- An average claim chart uses about 241 credits, so it costs roughly $48 to $96 depending on your plan.
- Paying yearly is 20% cheaper, and there is a seven day free trial.
- Big teams get custom Enterprise pricing.
Pay as you go: $0.40 per credit, no monthly commitment. Pro: $625 per user per month, 2,500 credits included, further credits $0.25; 20% off on annual billing. Enterprise: custom credit volume and rate, SSO and RBAC, custom integrations, single tenant architecture or self hosted models, passthrough invoicing. Opportunities add on: $175 per user per month, $50 per month for each attorney who is not a user. Credits are pooled across an organization.
Vendor averages to July 2026: claim chart 241 credits, prior art search 176 credits. Self serve trial: 7 days or 1,000 credits, payment method required; subscriptions renew automatically.
Note: Figures from the vendor's pricing page and Terms of Service (effective 18 June 2026). The page shows a 20% annual discount toggle; the monthly Pro figure is recorded. Worked costs per claim chart and per search are the vendor's averages over the 90 days to July 2026.
Legal Signals
What each signal meansA signal records what public sources say on the date shown. It is not a grade and it is not a recommendation. Where a signal reads Not addressed, it means the index did not locate the material in public sources on that date, which is a statement about disclosure rather than about the product.
Client Data in Training
Can material a lawyer puts into this product be used to train a model?
The published agreement expressly reserves a right to train on customer content, with no opt out located. Any de identification, anonymization or aggregation qualifier is recorded in the summary.
Section 5 of the Terms of Service grants &AI a nonexclusive, perpetual, irrevocable, worldwide, sublicensable, transferable license to reproduce, distribute, prepare derivative works of, modify and otherwise use content users upload, and to make it available to other users. The license never names training, and no purpose limit, deletion or opt out is attached. The home and security pages state that &AI and its subprocessors never train on customer or client data, under agreements with model providers for zero data retention. The privacy policy's page description refers to commitments against training that its text does not contain.
Prompt and Output Retention
How long does the product keep what a lawyer typed, and can that be set to zero?
Retention is acknowledged in public materials with no stated period.
The privacy policy keeps personal information as long as necessary for its purposes and does not address uploaded case material, prompts or outputs. The security page states that zero data retention agreements with model providers mean inputs are not retained by those providers. No customer retention setting, deletion commitment or period after termination is published, and the terms' content license is perpetual.
Ethical Walls and Matter Segregation
Does retrieval respect the firm’s ethical walls, or can the model read across them?
Segregation is asserted in public materials with no published detail on how it is enforced.
The security page says access follows least privilege under the customer's administrators, with single sign on and access control by role, and the product works by matter. Nothing documents how access is separated between matters or teams, and the terms state that &AI may make uploaded content available to other users of the platform.
Third Party Request and Subpoena Notice
If someone subpoenas the vendor for a firm’s data, does the firm hear about it first?
Published terms or policy address disclosure to authorities or in response to legal process, and no commitment or reservation regarding customer notice is located anywhere. The vendor has told the customer that data can leave and has said nothing about whether the customer hears of it.
The privacy policy permits sharing information with third parties when &AI believes, in its sole discretion, that doing so is necessary to comply with law, a court order, a subpoena or other legal process. Neither the policy nor the Terms of Service commit to notifying the customer or reserve a position on notice.
Primary Law Corpus Provenance
Where does the law in this product come from, and does the vendor have the right to use it?
Coverage is described by jurisdiction with no identification of the underlying corpus.
&AI says it searches more than 60 million patent publications from major jurisdictions, plus nonpatent literature such as research papers, standards and clinical trials from across the internet, and product listings, manuals, videos and teardowns. The jurisdictions are not listed, no data source or license is named, and no update cadence is published.
Good Law Verification
Does the product tell you when the authority it just cited has been overruled?
No located public material addresses whether authority is checked for subsequent history.
On a patent platform, the good law question is whether a cited patent remains in force. The product surfaces a patent's family, prosecution history and prior cases, but nothing on the home, product, security or pricing pages states that legal status is checked or shown for cited patents or authority.
Refusal and Uncertainty Behavior
What does the product do when the answer is not in the corpus?
The product exposes a confidence or grounding score without an explicit abstention path.
&AI says it retrieves and scores evidence against each claim limitation and proposes each piece with a short relevance rationale for the user to accept or reject. Nothing describes what the system does when no adequate evidence exists for a limitation, or what Andy or the drafting tools do when they cannot support a statement.
Fabricated Citation Record
Does a public court record exist addressing fabricated or hallucinated legal citations in output from this product?
No court order, opinion or disciplinary record addressing fabricated or hallucinated legal citations produced by this product has been located as of the date shown. This is a statement about the public record on that one subject, not a finding about the product, and this signal is not a litigation history.
The AI Hallucination Cases database maintained by Damien Charlotin and trade press reporting record no court finding of fabricated or hallucinated legal citations in output from &AI. This covers fabricated citations only, not litigation history of any other kind.
Bar Guidance Alignment
Has the vendor engaged in public with the ethics opinions its buyers are bound by?
No located public material engages with bar or ethics guidance.
No bar ethics opinion or court rule on AI is named or engaged on the home, product, security, pricing, terms or privacy pages or in the blog index. The blog addresses privilege risks of AI on patent work in general terms.
Billing and Fee Posture
Does the vendor address what happens to the bill when the work takes an hour instead of six?
The vendor’s charge reaches the client as a disbursement or case expense, typically advanced by a contingency firm and recovered from a settlement, so the fee question is disclosure of a pass through cost rather than compressed hours. The summary records whether the vendor addresses that disclosure.
The vendor's charge is built to follow the matter and reach the client, and client disclosure is not addressed. The Enterprise plan offers passthrough invoicing, the pricing page argues that credits track work performed by matter, and the vendor's blog asks why patent AI is sold by the seat when patent work is billed by the matter. The release announcing its seed round reported customer time savings of 70 to 90 percent. No guidance addresses how a firm should disclose or pass these charges to its client.
Outside Counsel Guideline Readiness
Can a firm get this vendor through a client’s AI clause without a bespoke negotiation?
This signal has not been recorded for this vendor yet. It is not a finding either way.
Court Disclosure Support
If a judge’s standing order requires an AI disclosure, can the product produce one?
Some elements of the record are available, short of a document level export.
Every citation in an exported claim chart points to a specific passage, figure or timestamp and must have been approved by the user, and &AI says exports contain no generated language. Nothing records which model proposed the evidence, and no disclosure export is described for drafted contentions or expert reports, which do contain generated text.