C
Claren
Claren is an AI contract assistant for in house legal teams. It does three things to an incoming agreement: redlines it, pulls out the key terms, and answers questions about it. Documents come back marked up in seconds, with risks flagged and wording edited to the position the team has set, and answers cite back into the document. It works inside Slack and Teams and handles contracts across several languages and jurisdictions.
The terms of service say the product is not a substitute for licensed counsel, creates no attorney client relationship, and requires all outputs to be reviewed by qualified legal counsel before reliance. Claren names its model providers as OpenAI, Anthropic and Google, says it has zero data retention agreements in place, and its terms state that customer data is not used to train AI models. Data is hosted in United States, United Kingdom or European Union data centers, with regional residency for enterprise customers.
The company is ClarenAI Company, incorporated in Delaware with a United Kingdom subsidiary and offices in London. It was founded in August 2024 as WilsonAI by Gus Neate, formerly a lawyer at Clifford Chance, and Alex Wang, previously of D. E. Shaw.
Claren, head to head
Side by side on the same 15 capability axes and 12 legal signals: where the two part company, and what neither one publishes.
Alternatives to Claren
Vendors in the same categories as Claren whose graded profiles look most alike, with a line on what each product does.
Similar is not the same, so check that each one does the job you need. No vendor pays for placement.
- AAracor AIAracor is a deal platform that reads the documents behind a transaction and ties every finding to the language it came from.
- BBindBind is an AI contract platform for in house legal teams that it describes as an agentic workspace rather than another CLM.
- CCobbleStone SoftwareCobbleStone Software sells Contract Insight, a contract lifecycle management platform in the market since the mid 1990s, with a proprietary AI layer called VISDOM.
- CCentariCentari is a deal intelligence platform for transactional law firms and investment funds.
- DDocJurisDocJuris is a contract review and negotiation platform for in house legal departments, built around playbooks.
- LLaw InsiderLaw Insider is an AI contract drafting and review product from Law Insider Inc., run together with SimpleDocs, Inc.
Ordered by how closely the graded profiles match across the 15 capability axes, inside the same categories. See how each axis is graded in the methodology.
Capability grades
All 15 axes, graded from public sources on the date shown. Hover a grade to see what the letter means on that axis.
AI Centrality
How much of the product is actually AI. Whether the machine learning is the mechanism the buyer is paying for or a feature layered onto conventional software, and whether the vendor is specific about which is which.
Every function Claren sells is a model output: redlining a contract in seconds with wording edited to the team's stated position, extracting key terms, and answering questions about a document with citations. There is no repository, workflow engine, matter system or document management layer that would survive the models being removed. The terms of service describe what is licensed as a software solution using artificial intelligence, and the product page markets an AI editor that goes from upload to redline with no setup and no plugins.
Even the tiers follow model use: Pro is capped by chat and file upload volume, and higher tiers add AI playbook generation and custom term extraction. Without the models, an upload form remains.
Citation Accuracy and Hallucination Disclosure
Whether the vendor publishes measured accuracy on citations and assertions, grounds output to primary sources, and says plainly what its system does when it does not know. Legal has a documented public record of fabricated citations reaching filed briefs, so an untested claim of accuracy is not evidence.
Clause 3.4 of the terms says the solution may contain outdated or inaccurate information, is trained on historical data with knowledge cutoff dates, may not reflect recent changes in statute or case law, and may produce errors, omissions or misinterpretations of legal concepts that need correction by qualified professionals. Clause 3.4.3 disclaims any representation as to accuracy, completeness or adequacy. The marketing describes the product as built on trusted legal sources, understanding contracts like a lawyer does, and offering answers with citations.
No accuracy figure, test set, evaluation, error rate or retrieval method appears anywhere. The trusted legal sources are never named, so what the citations point to beyond the customer's own uploaded document is not stated.
Autonomy and Oversight Model
What the system decides on its own, what a lawyer must approve, and whether the vendor documents where the review point sits. A tool that drafts under review and a tool that files without one are different products and different risks.
Clause 3.3.1 of the terms says all information, documents, analyses and other outputs must be reviewed by qualified legal counsel before being relied on, implemented or used as the basis for any decision. Under clause 3.3.3 the customer acknowledges that Claren has expressly told it so. Clause 5.2.10 goes further for one category, barring submission of Claren generated documents to courts in criminal proceedings without independent attorney review.
The product design supports this: the model produces a redline the lawyer accepts, rejects or edits, rather than writing to anything itself. There is no threshold at which the system acts alone, no confidence signal shown against an individual suggested edit, no abstention state, and no description of how a reviewer can tell a confident extraction from a marginal one.
Operational and Outcome Evidence
Named, dated evidence that the product works in production at real firms or legal departments. Case studies with figures and identified customers count. Unattributed testimonials and launch announcements do not.
Eight customer logos are published and five testimonials carry a full name, role and organization: Alan Owens, Head of Legal at H&M V Engineering; Arvinder Mangat, General Counsel at Encompass; Carl Dunton, General Counsel at Peak Energy; Chantal Schofield, Knowledge Manager at Telecom Infrastructure Partners; and Jamie Todd, Commercial Counsel at ScreenCloud. Three of the five are the senior legal officer of the named company.
One quote says the product helps spot what a reviewer might have missed when working at the edge of their knowledge. Another reports a lawyer asking after one week that it never be taken away. No figure attaches to any of them. Nothing is dated, no cycle time, volume or cost is given, and the company's own claims stay with unquantified language about hours saved and backlogs cleared. A case studies section and an ROI calculator are published.
Privilege and Confidentiality Posture
How client confidences are handled: attorney client privilege and work product treatment, segregation of one client matter from another, whether client data trains any model, and what the vendor commits to in writing rather than in marketing.
Training is prohibited in the agreement itself, at clause 4.2.4. Segregation is documented: each user has a private and segregated data store on Neon, authentication and row level security for organization roles run through Clerk, and the security page says there is no cross contamination between client matters or organizations. The model provider question is answered directly, with zero data retention agreements in place with OpenAI and Anthropic and each provider's terms linked.
Encryption is AES-256 at rest and TLS 1.2 or higher in transit. Privilege is addressed only as data being treated with attorney client privilege in mind, and work product is never mentioned. The confidentiality obligation at clause 12.1 reaches only information clearly labeled or identified as confidential, a narrower net than uploaded matter material would usually fall into.
UPL and Professional Responsibility Posture
Whether the vendor is clear that it supplies a tool rather than legal advice, who its audience is, and how it addresses unauthorized practice of law, competence and supervision duties, and jurisdiction limits. ABA Formal Opinion 512 is the reference point. Where the advice line is not the duty a product raises, the axis is read through the nearest professional duty it does raise: judicial conduct rules and the reviewing duty for products sold only to courts, and the duty to bill for time actually spent for products that draft time entries.
Clause 3.1 of the terms says the solution gives general information, is not a substitute for licensed legal counsel, does not provide legal advice, and creates no attorney client relationship. Clause 3.3 covers competence and supervision directly: all outputs must be reviewed by qualified legal counsel before reliance, and the customer acknowledges it was expressly told so. Clause 3.3.2 names the doctrine, cautioning users who are not licensed attorneys that use may amount to unauthorized practice of law if used to advise others.
Clause 3.2 excludes a whole category: the product must not substitute for representation in criminal matters, active court proceedings or any matter where liberty is at stake, and will not draft court filings in criminal proceedings without independent attorney review. Clause 3.5 names jurisdictional limits, citing variation between the United States and United Kingdom and among states, territories and localities, and puts compliance responsibility on the user. The product is sold to in house legal teams and has no consumer surface.
AI Governance and Bias Disclosure
Published governance over model behavior: who owns it inside the vendor, what is tested before release, and what is disclosed about disparate output across matter types, parties, or populations.
No AI governance position is published. There is no responsible AI page, no principles statement, no named owner accountable for model behavior, no evaluation or testing regime before release, and no red teaming description. Nothing addresses bias, including whether redlining or risk flagging performs evenly across contract types, counterparty positions, languages or jurisdictions, and the product is marketed as working across several languages and jurisdictions. The security page concerns information security only. Clause 3.4 of the terms discloses accuracy limits.
AI Safety and Data Stewardship
Retention, deletion, access control, and what happens to prompts and documents after they are processed. Whether the vendor states its subprocessors and its incident practice, or leaves the buyer to assume.
Retention and deletion are in the agreement rather than marketing. Clause 11.6 commits to deleting all content of the customer and its users within 30 days of the contract expiring. The security page adds that the terms and pilot agreements give a right to delete data at any time. Access control is described concretely: authentication and user management through Clerk, account specific sessions, authenticated API endpoints, row level security for organization roles, multifactor authentication for administrative access, production access on a need to know basis, background checks for staff with access to sensitive systems, and security training at onboarding and after.
Suppliers are named: Neon for data stores, Clerk for authentication, and OpenAI, Anthropic and Google for models. Incident response procedures are said to carry SLA targets for acknowledgment, escalation and resolution, but no target is published and no customer notification commitment or timeframe appears. There is no formal subprocessor register with locations; DPAs are available on request.
AI Liability and Recourse
What the vendor stands behind contractually when its output is wrong. Indemnities, caps, carve outs, insurance, and whether any of it is published or only reachable through a negotiated agreement.
Clause 10.1.2 of the terms, dated 11 April 2026, caps total liability at the higher of 100 pounds or the fees paid in the twelve months before the claim, so for a customer in its first months the ceiling may be a hundred pounds. Clause 10.1.1 excludes special damage, lost profits, lost savings, lost business opportunity, lost contracts, goodwill, corrupted data and wasted expenditure. Clauses 10.3 to 10.5 disclaim output directly: outcomes are for general information only, are not meant to meet professional requirements, and carry no warranty that they are accurate, complete or up to date.
Claren also has no liability for the accuracy of customer content. Clause 9 runs the indemnity one way, from customer to Claren, and no vendor indemnity appears. Clause 10.2 preserves liability for death, personal injury caused by negligence, and fraud. No insurance position is published.
Practice Systems Integration Depth
How deeply the product reaches into the systems legal work already lives in: document management such as iManage and NetDocuments, Word and Outlook, contract lifecycle management, matter management, e-billing, and court filing systems.
Slack and Microsoft Teams are described in the agreement rather than marketing. Clause 2.4 says the solution is designed to fit into an organization's internal communication and workflow system such as Slack or Teams, and that Claren may require the customer to hold an active account with one. It also says Claren may access the customer's Slack or Teams account and the channels it is told to access, and deliver content or outcomes through them.
That states the direction of data and the configuration needed. The Pro plan lists 15 or more data integrations without naming one, enterprise single sign on and SAML appear at the tier above, and no document management, contract lifecycle, matter management or electronic signature product is named. There is no integrations page, API reference or developer documentation in the site navigation.
Deployment Model and Data Residency
Where the software runs and where the data sits. Multi tenant cloud, single tenant, private deployment, on premises, and whether region of residence is a published option or an enterprise conversation.
The security page says cloud infrastructure is hosted in United States, United Kingdom or European Union data centers, with residency options for enterprise customers, and that all data including read replicas can be stored in a specific region on request. Tenancy is described through the data layer: each user has a private and segregated data store on Neon, with row level security for organization roles, though the platform is never called single tenant or multitenant.
Where processing happens, as distinct from where data sits, is not stated. Models are called through the OpenAI, Anthropic and Google APIs and no location is stated for any of them, so nothing published confirms that inference stays in the European Union for a customer choosing residency there.
Security Certifications and Trust Center
Independent attestation a buyer can pull without a sales call: SOC 2, ISO 27001, penetration test summaries, a trust center with current reports and named scope rather than a badge image.
The security page says Claren is currently pursuing SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 certification, expected in Q2 2026, and separately that Claren uses SOC 2 compliant vendors and third party software providers. Both sentences say the same thing: the certifications belong to suppliers and to the future, not to Claren. The home page instead lists SOC 2 compliant among the reasons to choose the product, with no qualification, and the two statements conflict.
Q2 2026 has passed with no published update. The supplier certification that is evidenced is Clerk's, with SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 and a link to its trust page, but nothing published extends that attestation to Claren's own systems. A trust center is said to be available on request, and no report, auditor, scope or period is published.
Model Supply Chain Disclosure
Which models sit underneath, whose they are, where they run, and whether the vendor commits to telling customers when that changes. A legal buyer inherits every dependency it cannot see.
The security page says Claren uses models from OpenAI, Anthropic and Google through their APIs, and the latest open source models on request. Each provider's own no training position is cited with a link: OpenAI's enterprise privacy policy, Google's Gemini API additional terms and Anthropic's privacy terms. OpenAI's abuse monitoring retention of up to 30 days is disclosed, and Claren says it has zero data retention agreements with OpenAI and Anthropic.
No model or version is named, only the provider, so which model performs a redline is not stated. Where inference runs is never stated. No commitment to notify customers if a provider, model or arrangement changes is published, although the open source option is offered on request.
Commercial Transparency
Whether a buyer can learn what this costs without entering a sales process: published rates, the unit being charged, what sits behind an enterprise tier, and what implementation adds.
Three plans are published with names and contents. Pro carries unlimited chats, 100 chat file uploads, 100 data room uploads, AI redlines, a prompt library tuned for legal work, 15 or more data integrations and a Slack community. Scale-Up adds enterprise single sign on and SAML, a dedicated support manager, AI playbook generation, custom contract term extraction and data partitions. Enterprise adds AI training sessions every two weeks, enterprise permission and access controls, managed onboarding, direct access to the AI team and priority input on the roadmap.
No figure appears at any tier, and every call to action asks for a demo. A closing note says plans are based on average document usage and that packages and pricing vary by workflow and document volume. So volume drives the bill, and what a unit costs or what is included beyond the upload caps is not stated. An ROI calculator is published.
Firm and Practice Coverage
Who the product is actually built for. AmLaw, midlaw, small firm and solo, in house departments, government and courts, and which practice areas are supported rather than merely claimed.
Supported work is clear: contract review, redlining, key term extraction and document question and answer for in house legal teams, across several languages and jurisdictions, with named customers in energy, telecommunications, retail, technology and drinks. The exclusions are explicit and come from the agreement. Clause 3.2 puts criminal matters, active court proceedings and any matter where liberty is at stake outside the product entirely.
Clause 3.5 says the product may not account for specific jurisdictional requirements or recent changes in local law, naming the United States and United Kingdom and variation among states and localities. No firm segment or size is stated, law firm use as against in house use is never addressed, government legal work is not mentioned, and no contract type is named as unsuitable.
3 public documents
The public pages on file for Claren, with the recorded signals each one supports and the date it was last read. Open any of them and check the reading against the record.
-
claren.law/legal/terms-of-service4 signals
Client Data in Training, Prompt and Output Retention, Third Party Request and Subpoena Notice and 1 more
Read Sep 4, 2026
-
claren.law/security1 signal
Ethical Walls and Matter Segregation
Read Sep 4, 2026
-
Fabricated Citation Record
Read Sep 4, 2026
No published figure
- Claren does not print a price. You have to book a demo and get a quote.
- There are three plans: Pro, Scale-Up and Enterprise, and Claren's website lists what each one includes.
- The cheapest plan gives you unlimited chats but caps file uploads at 100 and data room uploads at 100.
- The more expensive plans add single sign on, playbooks generated by AI, custom term extraction and more hands on support.
- What you pay depends on how many documents your team puts through it, but Claren does not say how much a document costs.
Three plans are published with feature splits and no figure at any level. Pro includes unlimited chats, 100 chat file uploads, 100 data room uploads, Claren AI redlines, a prompt library tuned for legal work, 15 or more data integrations and access to a Slack community. Scale-Up adds single sign on and SAML, a dedicated support manager, AI playbook generation, custom contract term extraction and data partitions the vendor calls personas.
Enterprise adds AI training sessions every two weeks, enterprise permission and access controls, managed onboarding, direct access to the Claren AI team and priority input on the roadmap. Every tier has a Book a demo button and no price. A closing note says plans are based on average document usage and that packages and pricing vary by workflow and document volume. So volume drives the bill, with no unit rate, included allowance beyond the upload caps, minimum, term or implementation cost published. An ROI calculator is published on a separate page.
Legal Signals
What each signal meansA signal records what public sources say on the date shown. It is not a grade and it is not a recommendation. Where a signal reads Not addressed, it means the index did not locate the material in public sources on that date, which is a statement about disclosure rather than about the product.
Client Data in Training
Can material a lawyer puts into this product be used to train a model?
The published terms prohibit training on customer content. Not a policy page, the agreement.
Clause 4.2.4 of the terms of service, effective 11 April 2026, says Claren does not use customer data, inputs or any information the customer provides to train artificial intelligence models or for any other commercial purpose unrelated to the services. The security page adds that neither Claren nor its LLM providers train on customer data, that zero data retention agreements are in place with OpenAI and Anthropic, and links each provider's own no training terms.
Two qualifiers apply. Clause 7.4 grants Claren a nonexclusive, worldwide, sublicensable and nonrevocable license to use and reproduce customer material for purposes including improving the solution and the services. That improvement right sits beside the training ban, and neither clause reconciles them. The security page also makes an exception: data is not used to train models except to update the company's own Claren Memories or playbooks. That is personalization within the tenant rather than model training, but it is still a use of the content.
Prompt and Output Retention
How long does the product keep what a lawyer typed, and can that be set to zero?
A specific retention period is published and the customer cannot change it.
At the model layer the position is zero: Claren says it has zero data retention agreements with OpenAI and Anthropic. It discloses the one exception it does not control: OpenAI may keep API data for a maximum of 30 days for abuse monitoring before deletion, or where legal requirements apply. At the platform layer, clause 11.6 of the terms commits to deleting all content of the customer and its users within 30 days of the contract expiring.
The security page says the terms and pilot agreements give a right to delete data at any time. Retention during the subscription is not published: nothing says how long an uploaded contract, a generated redline or a chat is held while the account is live, and the Claren Memories and playbooks that the security page says are updated from customer data have no stated lifespan.
Ethical Walls and Matter Segregation
Does retrieval respect the firm’s ethical walls, or can the model read across them?
The product maintains its own permission model, documented, requiring the firm to keep it aligned.
The security page says Claren uses Neon so each user has private and segregated data stores isolated from other users, that there is no cross contamination between client matters or organizations, and that audit trails are kept for user activities. Access control runs through a named supplier, Clerk, with account specific login sessions, authenticated API endpoints and row level security for organization roles. How it is run is not described: nothing says who sets a restriction, whether a matter can be walled off from named users in the same legal team, what a restricted user sees, or how a conflict is handled.
Third Party Request and Subpoena Notice
If someone subpoenas the vendor for a firm’s data, does the firm hear about it first?
Terms commit to notice where lawfully permitted. No transparency report located.
Clause 12.4 of the terms allows disclosure of confidential information where required by law, by a governmental or regulatory authority or by a court of competent jurisdiction. To the extent legally permitted, the disclosing party must give the other as much notice as possible, and where notice is not prohibited it must take into account the other party's reasonable requests about the content of the disclosure. The obligation is mutual, so it binds Claren as recipient of the customer's material.
Two limits apply. There is no transparency report, no statistics on requests received, and no periodic disclosure of the types of demand. And clause 12.1 limits the confidentiality obligation, which this clause sits within, to information clearly labeled or identified as confidential, so how far the notice commitment reaches ordinary uploaded contracts is not clear on the face of the agreement.
Primary Law Corpus Provenance
Where does the law in this product come from, and does the vendor have the right to use it?
No located public material identifies the corpus behind the product’s answers.
Claren's home page says it is built on trusted legal sources and understands contracts like a lawyer does, which asserts that something beyond the customer's own upload informs the output. No source, publisher, dataset, clause bank, license basis or jurisdiction coverage is named on the home page, the security page, the terms of service or in the site navigation. The operational description points the other way: redlines follow the customer's own stated position, playbooks are built from the customer's own material, and the security page confirms that company data updates the company's own Claren Memories and playbooks.
Whether the trusted legal sources are licensed third party content, the models' general training, or the customer's own precedent is not stated.
Good Law Verification
Does the product tell you when the authority it just cited has been overruled?
No located public material addresses whether authority is checked for subsequent history.
The product does not retrieve or present primary law, and nothing published addresses checking authority for later history. Claren redlines contracts, extracts key terms and answers questions about uploaded documents. No case, statute or regulation is shown to a user in the published workflow, and the citations the product offers point into the customer's own document rather than to authority. The one related disclosure is clause 3.4.2 of the terms, which says the models are trained to a knowledge cutoff and may not reflect changes in statute, regulation or case law; that is an accuracy limit, not a citator position.
Refusal and Uncertainty Behavior
What does the product do when the answer is not in the corpus?
No located public material addresses what the product does when it cannot ground an answer.
Clause 3.4 of the terms says outputs may be outdated or inaccurate, the models have knowledge cutoffs, and outputs may contain errors, omissions or misinterpretations of legal concepts that need correction by qualified professionals. Clause 3.3.1 adds a human backstop by requiring review by qualified counsel before any reliance. Neither describes what the system does when it cannot ground an output. No confidence score is shown against a suggested edit or an extracted term, and no abstention or no answer state is described.
Nothing covers the ordinary failure cases for a contract assistant, such as a scanned or badly formatted agreement, a clause with no counterpart in the playbook, or a question the document does not answer.
Fabricated Citation Record
Does a public court record exist addressing fabricated or hallucinated legal citations in output from this product?
No court order, opinion or disciplinary record addressing fabricated or hallucinated legal citations produced by this product has been located as of the date shown. This is a statement about the public record on that one subject, not a finding about the product, and this signal is not a litigation history.
The AI Hallucination Cases database maintained by Damien Charlotin records no case naming Claren or WilsonAI, the name under which the company traded until its rename, and no court order, opinion or disciplinary record naming either is on the public record. This is a statement about the public record rather than a finding about the product. Claren redlines and analyzes the customer's own contracts rather than generating legal citations.
Bar Guidance Alignment
Has the vendor engaged in public with the ethics opinions its buyers are bound by?
Public materials refer to professional responsibility in general terms without naming guidance.
Clause 3.3.2 of the terms cautions users who are not licensed attorneys that use of the solution does not substitute for legal counsel and may constitute unauthorized practice of law if used to provide legal advice to others. Clause 3.5 acknowledges that legal requirements vary between the United States and the United Kingdom and among states, territories and localities, and places responsibility for jurisdictional compliance on the user.
Clause 3.2 excludes criminal representation entirely. No bar association, regulator, rule of professional conduct, ethics opinion or jurisdiction specific guidance is cited, and nothing maps the product's use against a named standard.
Billing and Fee Posture
Does the vendor address what happens to the bill when the work takes an hour instead of six?
Public materials claim time savings without addressing billing or disclosure, and the product sits inside a fee relationship between a lawyer and a client where those savings would change the bill.
The savings claims are unquantified but plain: hours back every week, a slashed contract backlog, and faster delivery without losing quality, with an ROI calculator on a separate page. Nothing addresses what happens to a bill when that work compresses. No per matter record of AI assisted work is described, no guidance on fee or disclosure treatment appears, and nothing says whether a redline produced by the model is identified as such in the document or its history.
The buyer here is an in house legal team, which pays outside counsel rather than billing a client, so the usual billing question does not arise in its ordinary form. Whether a contract negotiated on wording the model suggested is identified as such to the counterparty or to the business is not addressed either.
Outside Counsel Guideline Readiness
Can a firm get this vendor through a client’s AI clause without a bespoke negotiation?
A current subprocessor or model provider list is published.
The security page names who touches the data. OpenAI, Anthropic and Google supply the models through their APIs, with the latest open source models available on request, and Claren says it has zero data retention agreements with OpenAI and Anthropic. Each provider's own no training position is linked to source. Neon is named for data stores and Clerk for authentication, with Clerk's SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 status linked.
No subprocessor list with roles and locations is published. Data processing agreements and the trust center are available on request.
Court Disclosure Support
If a judge’s standing order requires an AI disclosure, can the product produce one?
Some elements of the record are available, short of a document level export.
The security page commits to audit trails for user activities, listed beside the segregation and privilege statements, so a record of who did what in the platform is published as a feature. Nothing more is described. No statement says the trail records which redlines, extractions or answers came from the model rather than a lawyer, no model or version is attributed to any output, no export route for a client, auditor or court is described, and no guidance or template for disclosing AI use is published. The output is edits to a contract the counterparty will see.