Release 3.0.0 of Ethyca's Astralis platform records every purpose based access control decision with its outcome, reason, inferred data use and confidence, the tables and columns touched, and the policies that denied it. The records are exposed through new decision record API endpoints and a decision drawer in the enforcement log. Behind a flag that is off by default, the MCP gateway can also infer the data use of an AI agent's database query and decide on it.
E
Ethyca
Ethyca is a data governance and privacy engineering platform for enterprises. It is built on Fides, an open source privacy taxonomy and policy language that Ethyca wrote and maintains on GitHub. The platform has five parts. Fides is the governance taxonomy. Helios finds and classifies personal and sensitive data across databases, warehouses, websites and third party apps. Janus captures consent and lawful basis. Lethe handles data subject requests and deidentification.
Astralis enforces purpose based access at runtime, including on AI agent calls through a policy gateway, and runs ongoing risk assessment against regimes such as GDPR, the EU AI Act and CPRA. Helios uses a large language model on database metadata only, never table contents, and Ethyca publishes precision and recall figures for it. Privacy and legal teams use it for records of processing, consent, subject requests, deletion, and vendor and transfer risk. Named customers include The New York Times, Ramp, SurveyMonkey, WeTransfer and Vercel.
Ethyca, head to head
Side by side on the same 15 capability axes and 12 legal signals: where the two part company, and what neither one publishes.
Alternatives to Ethyca
Vendors in the same categories as Ethyca whose graded profiles look most alike, with a line on what each product does.
Similar is not the same, so check that each one does the job you need. No vendor pays for placement.
- RRed MarkerRed Marker helps enterprise legal, compliance and marketing teams review advertising for regulatory and brand risks.
- KKetchKetch is a data privacy management platform for privacy, legal and security teams, covering consent management, data subject request automation, data mapping, privacy risk assessments…
- BBleeBlee is an AI marketing compliance platform from Blee, Inc. of New York, sold to legal, compliance and risk teams that review marketing, product and sales content, with marketing and…
- TTrustArcTrustArc is a privacy management platform for privacy, legal and compliance teams, sold as a suite of applications.
- BBigIDBigID is a New York company whose platform discovers and classifies data across cloud, SaaS, on premises, hybrid, structured, unstructured and AI connected sources.
- HHadriusHadrius is an AI compliance platform for firms regulated by the SEC and FINRA, sold by Quantbase Investments, Inc. of New York.
Ordered by how closely the graded profiles match across the 15 capability axes, inside the same categories. See how each axis is graded in the methodology.
Capability grades
All 15 axes, graded from public sources on the date shown. Hover a grade to see what the letter means on that axis.
AI Centrality
How much of the product is actually AI. Whether the machine learning is the mechanism the buyer is paying for or a feature layered onto conventional software, and whether the vendor is specific about which is which.
Without its models, Ethyca is still a data governance platform. Fides is a taxonomy and policy language, Janus manages consent and preferences, and Lethe fulfills data rights requests and deidentifies data. The data inventory can be filled from existing data security tools and catalogs. None of that needs a model. The models power two core features. Helios classifies discovered data with a large language model applied to database metadata.
Astralis runs ongoing agentic risk assessment and enforces purpose based access at runtime, including rewriting an agent's query when its inferred purpose is not allowed. Ethyca positions itself as a governance harness for AI, not as a model product.
Citation Accuracy and Hallucination Disclosure
Whether the vendor publishes measured accuracy on citations and assertions, grounds output to primary sources, and says plainly what its system does when it does not know. Legal has a documented public record of fabricated citations reaching filed briefs, so an untested claim of accuracy is not evidence.
Ethyca publishes measured accuracy for its classifier, with the test set and method. An engineering post dated 23 December 2025, by a named author, reports precision, recall and F1 for Helios. Accuracy rose from about 50% at baseline to over 80% on an adversarial benchmark suite and over 95% on benchmarks drawn from real systems. Validation on customer provided datasets is reported at over 90%. Positive AI labels were wrong 5% of the time, against 14% for human labels.
The test set is described: about 2,000 tagging tasks across 43 data categories, benchmark examples for 46 categories, and fully synthetic schemas built without customer data. The labeling method is described too, including a disagreement review that grew the labeled set from 449 to 825 fields. Three failure modes are named and fixed: laziness, shallowness and credulity. Ethyca also shows why naive accuracy misleads: a classifier that does nothing scores 98.6% on a typical enterprise data mix.
The product cites no legal authority, so checks against primary law and citators do not apply. Two limits: no accuracy figure appears on a product page, only in the engineering post, and the category breakdown is shown in screenshots, not text.
Autonomy and Oversight Model
What the system decides on its own, what a lawyer must approve, and whether the vendor documents where the review point sits. A tool that drafts under review and a tool that files without one are different products and different risks.
What the system does alone is set out, and customers get review surfaces, but not the thresholds. Astralis checks every agent call through an MCP gateway before it runs, rewrites a query whose inferred purpose is not allowed, rechecks the risk register nightly, and drafts assessments and mitigations for approval. Customers set the limits through a purposes taxonomy, policy definitions and the Fides ontology, which they version themselves.
Review happens in the risk register, the assessment report and an audit record of how and why each access decision was made. What is not published: when the gateway blocks rather than rewrites, what happens when an enforcement decision is wrong, and whether a person approves a mitigation before it applies. The classifier post's discussion of human review concerns Ethyca's own evaluation work, not customer oversight of the product.
Operational and Outcome Evidence
Named, dated evidence that the product works in production at real firms or legal departments. Case studies with figures and identified customers count. Unattributed testimonials and launch announcements do not.
Customers are named and figures are given, but the two are never tied together. Sixteen customers are named, each with a profile page, including The New York Times, Ramp, SurveyMonkey, WeTransfer, Vercel, Lush, Zola, Casper and American City Business Journals. Platform figures are specific: 744m preferences processed a year, more than 4m access requests, 200+ global brands, $74m+ saved by automation, subject requests cut from 15 hours to 17.2 seconds, 1 PB governed daily and 150,000 policy decisions a second.
None is tied to a named customer, and no method is given. The New York Times profile page was opened. It shows the paper's own business figures (11.7m subscribers, $2.59bn revenue, 139 Pulitzer Prizes) and a chief executive quote about subscription strategy, not about Ethyca. The other fifteen customer pages were not opened.
Privilege and Confidentiality Posture
How client confidences are handled: attorney client privilege and work product treatment, segregation of one client matter from another, whether client data trains any model, and what the vendor commits to in writing rather than in marketing.
Confidentiality commitments sit in a contract a buyer can read before signing, but privilege goes unmentioned. MSA section 4.1 licenses Customer Data only to provide the Service and meet Ethyca's obligations. A separate narrow license over Audit Data, three listed fields, is for legal compliance only. Section 4.2 limits use of Customer Data to operational needs such as audit trails and system monitoring, or where law requires.
Section 9 sets mutual confidentiality, with need to know limits and written duties on staff. DPA section 3(f) commits to deletion or return within 90 days of termination. The CCPA schedule bars retention, use or disclosure beyond the business purpose, and bars sale. The classifier reads metadata only and, in Ethyca's words, needs no access to sensitive data. Two gaps: nothing addresses privilege or work product, and no model provider's retention terms are stated, since the inference platform is not named. MSA last modified 10 February 2023, DPA dated 17 October 2024.
UPL and Professional Responsibility Posture
Whether the vendor is clear that it supplies a tool rather than legal advice, who its audience is, and how it addresses unauthorized practice of law, competence and supervision duties, and jurisdiction limits. ABA Formal Opinion 512 is the reference point. Where the advice line is not the duty a product raises, the axis is read through the nearest professional duty it does raise: judicial conduct rules and the reviewing duty for products sold only to courts, and the duty to bill for time actually spent for products that draft time entries.
Legal advice is plainly excluded in the agreement that governs the product. MSA section 10.4, headed No Legal or Regulatory Advice, says Ethyca does not provide legal, accounting, tax or regulatory services. It does not advise on complying with or interpreting any privacy or security law. Any recommendation concerns how the Service works, is given from a business view, and should not be relied on as legal advice. The customer alone is responsible for identifying and meeting its own obligations.
Section 10.3 adds that Ethyca does not warrant that using the Service will result in legal compliance. Use is limited to Authorized Users under an Order Form for internal business purposes. What is missing: nothing on a supervising lawyer's competence or supervision duties, and no jurisdiction limit on the guidance the product gives. There is no public advice surface, so consumer facing limits do not apply.
AI Governance and Bias Disclosure
Published governance over model behavior: who owns it inside the vendor, what is tested before release, and what is disclosed about disparate output across matter types, parties, or populations.
Testing of Ethyca's own classifier is real and published, but no owner is named and no findings on uneven output across people are disclosed. Its published evaluation framework defines and defends an accuracy metric and uses an adversarial benchmark suite. It reports metrics by category in a purpose built workbench, reports findings on model size, and explains the precision and recall tradeoffs between more conservative and more creative models.
What is missing is governance structure. No accountable owner is named. No AI policy, model card, governance committee or review board is published. No finding is disclosed on uneven output across populations or data subject groups, as opposed to data categories. Ethyca sells AI governance and publishes solid testing, but no governance structure of its own.
AI Safety and Data Stewardship
Retention, deletion, access control, and what happens to prompts and documents after they are processed. Whether the vendor states its subprocessors and its incident practice, or leaves the buyer to assume.
Ethyca publishes contract terms on all five areas: retention, deletion, access control, subprocessors and incidents. Processing is limited to the term of the Agreement. Controls in the product let the customer retrieve, correct, delete or restrict Personal Data, and the Audit Data license that survives covers three listed fields only. DPA section 3(f) commits to deleting or returning all Personal Data within 90 days of termination.
Backups are carved out but must be isolated, kept from further processing and deleted under stated practices. Annex 2 sets out access control item by item. It covers authentication, permissions checked against each data set's attributes, API access by key or OAuth, VPC and firewall segmentation, and intrusion detection. It also covers static code analysis, annual third party penetration testing, a responsible disclosure program, least privilege staff access reviewed quarterly, and background checks.
Annex 1.H names subprocessors with purpose and location: Amazon Web Services for cloud infrastructure in Virginia and Twilio SendGrid for transactional email. Customers are notified of changes and have a 30 day objection right for European and Colorado data. Incidents are notified without undue delay, with information and help for the customer's own notice duties. The agreements are dated 10 February 2023 and 17 October 2024.
AI Liability and Recourse
What the vendor stands behind contractually when its output is wrong. Indemnities, caps, carve outs, insurance, and whether any of it is published or only reachable through a negotiated agreement.
The liability position is specific, but nothing covers wrong output. MSA section 8.1 defends and indemnifies against third party claims that the Service infringes a US patent, trademark, copyright or trade secret. It lists six excluded activities and says this is the sole and exclusive remedy. Section 11 caps each party's liability at 150% of fees paid in the twelve months before the act or omission, and at 300% of those fees for the section 8.1 indemnity.
Gross negligence, willful misconduct, payment obligations and the customer's own indemnity are carved out. Section 10.2 warrants that the Service conforms in material respects to the Documentation, with notice, correction and a right to terminate if it cannot be fixed. A buyer can actually use that warranty. What is missing: no indemnity covers wrong output, and section 10.3 disclaims all warranty on the Service and its reports or outputs. It also expressly disclaims that use will result in compliance with law. No insurance is named.
Practice Systems Integration Depth
How deeply the product reaches into the systems legal work already lives in: document management such as iManage and NetDocuments, Word and Outlook, contract lifecycle management, matter management, e-billing, and court filing systems.
Integrations with the systems Ethyca's work runs on are documented, but not how deep they go. Its pages name Snowflake and BigQuery, AWS, identity providers, website cookies, tags and SDKs, third party apps, and data intake by API, SFTP, manual and web upload. The MSA prices Connector Integrations as a separate line, which points to a connector catalog. Much of this can be checked: the Fides core and its connectors are public on GitHub, the API docs and release changelog need no login, and Astralis offers an MCP gateway that checks agent calls against policy.
The integrations catalog and documentation site were not opened, so what each connector moves, and in which direction, was not established beyond the home page and the agreement. A product bought by privacy counsel connects to warehouses and identity systems, not document or practice management systems, and no such connection was found.
Deployment Model and Data Residency
Where the software runs and where the data sits. Multi tenant cloud, single tenant, private deployment, on premises, and whether region of residence is a published option or an enterprise conversation.
Delivery is stated, with some residency detail. There are two paths: the open source Fides core, which a customer can run on its own infrastructure, and Hosted Fides, the subscription service. For the hosted service, DPA Annex 2 says Customer Data sits in shared, multitenant storage reachable only through application interfaces and APIs, with no direct customer access to the infrastructure. The subprocessor annex places cloud hosting with Amazon Web Services in Virginia, United States.
DPA section 6 says Personal Data goes to Ethyca, Inc. in the United States and to other places where its affiliates and subprocessors operate, under the EU Standard Contractual Clauses. Not published: a list of regions, any choice of region, what differs between the four tiers, or where processing happens as opposed to storage.
Security Certifications and Trust Center
Independent attestation a buyer can pull without a sales call: SOC 2, ISO 27001, penetration test summaries, a trust center with current reports and named scope rather than a badge image.
Ethyca shows no certification of its own, though its published security assessment is real. No certification badge appears on any page read. The only standards named are SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001, and the DPA assigns both to Ethyca's data center partners, not to Ethyca. Those cover the hosting provider, not this product. Ethyca's own assurance is assessment rather than certification: annual penetration testing by recognized third parties, with a summary report shared in confidence on request, plus a responsible disclosure program and static code analysis, all in DPA Annex 2.
A trust center at trust.ethyca.com is open without a sales call and says audit reports and security policies are available there. Its content is hosted by Vanta and could not be read, and a search did not recover it. If it names a certification held by Ethyca itself, the finding here would change. The DPA has a drafting slip: its Virginia and Colorado section says ISO 29001 where the European section says ISO 27001.
Model Supply Chain Disclosure
Which models sit underneath, whose they are, where they run, and whether the vendor commits to telling customers when that changes. A legal buyer inherits every dependency it cannot see.
The models are named in an engineering post rather than on a product page. The classifier was built and benchmarked against models including Qwen's QwQ-32B and DeepSeek-V3. The post finds that accuracy stops improving above about 32B parameters and that models below 18B make errors that cannot be corrected. The design is described in detail: one request per field so fields are not skipped, written reasoning about tagging, prompt caching, prompt optimization rather than fine tuning, and metadata only inputs.
What is missing: no inference provider is named, the post says only cloud inference platforms, and nothing commits to telling customers when the model supply chain changes. Ethyca's contract subprocessor list names only AWS and Twilio SendGrid, so no model or inference provider is on the list customers are notified about. Post dated 23 December 2025.
Commercial Transparency
Whether a buyer can learn what this costs without entering a sales process: published rates, the unit being charged, what sits behind an enterprise tier, and what implementation adds.
A pricing structure is set out, with no prices. The site has no pricing page and no figure, and every call to action is a demo request, a free trial request or a contact form. The structure is in the agreement. MSA section 6.1 names four tiers: Fides True, Fides Team, Fides Plus and Fides Enterprise. Connector Integrations are charged separately, and tier changes or added connectors are charged pro rata for the time used.
Section 6.2 sets monthly invoicing in advance on 30 day terms, and fees are not refundable except on Ethyca's breach. Section 6.3 allows price increases only at renewal, with at least 60 days' notice, and only when applied to all customers. The open source core is free to self host. No rate, price band or implementation figure was found.
Firm and Practice Coverage
Who the product is actually built for. AmLaw, midlaw, small firm and solo, in house departments, government and courts, and which practice areas are supported rather than merely claimed.
Named customers show who Ethyca serves, but not where its coverage stops. Its customers page labels customers by industry: publishing (The New York Times, Axios, American City Business Journals), internet software (WeTransfer, SurveyMonkey, Vercel, Podium), fintech (Ramp), retail and consumer brands (Lush, Casper, Away, Parachute, Zola), and marketplaces and services (JustPark, Slice, Snackpass). It targets enterprises, with a separate enterprise page, and says it works as a technical partner rather than selling an off the shelf SaaS tool.
Its workflows show who buys, though the site has no page by role or buyer segment. Not stated: any jurisdiction limit, which regimes are unsupported, or who the product is not for. Practice area and firm segment coverage do not apply to a data infrastructure product bought by in house privacy and legal teams.
5 public documents
The public pages on file for Ethyca, with the recorded signals each one supports and the date it was last read. Open any of them and check the reading against the record.
-
ethyca.com/astralis3 signals
Primary Law Corpus Provenance, Good Law Verification, Court Disclosure Support
Read Sep 12, 2026
-
ethyca.com/legal/dpa-hosted-fides3 signals
Prompt and Output Retention, Ethical Walls and Matter Segregation, Outside Counsel Guideline Readiness
Read Sep 12, 2026
-
ethyca.com/legal/msa-hosted-fides3 signals
Client Data in Training, Third Party Request and Subpoena Notice, Bar Guidance Alignment
Read Sep 12, 2026
-
ethyca.com/customers1 signal
Billing and Fee Posture
Read Sep 12, 2026
-
Refusal and Uncertainty Behavior
Read Sep 12, 2026
No published figure
- Ethyca sells the hosted product in four levels: Fides True, Fides Team, Fides Plus and Fides Enterprise.
- It does not publish what any of them costs, and there is no pricing page on its website.
- Each connection to another system, called a Connector Integration, is charged on top of the level you pick.
- If you switch level or add a connection partway through, the extra is worked out for the part of the year you use it.
- The bills come monthly in advance, are not refundable, and the price can only go up at renewal with at least 60 days' notice.
The tiers and the unit of charge are set out in the agreement, not in marketing. MSA section 6.1 names four tiers of the hosted service: Fides True, Fides Team, Fides Plus and Fides Enterprise. Connector Integrations are charged as a separate line, and fees for a tier change or added integration are charged pro rata for the time used. Section 6.2 says Ethyca invoices monthly in advance on 30 day terms. Fees are not refundable unless the agreement is terminated for Ethyca's breach.
Section 6.3 allows price increases only at the start of a renewal term, with at least 60 days' notice, and only when applied to the Service generally rather than to one customer. Section 2.1 excludes price increases from Ethyca's right to change the Service on its own. Professional Services, which may be called a Set Up Fee, are a fixed fee in the Order Form under section 2.6. No rate, band or implementation figure was found, so no figure is recorded. The open source Fides core is free from Ethyca's public repository for customers who host it themselves.
Confidentiality and data terms: The Master Subscription Agreement and the Data Processing Addendum are both published in full on the vendor's own site and are accepted by incorporation into an Order Form rather than negotiated from scratch. The DPA incorporates the EU controller-to-processor Standard Contractual Clauses and carries CCPA, Virginia and Colorado schedules. No business associate agreement or HIPAA offer was located on any surface.
Note: Structure read from MSA section 6, last modified 10 February 2023, at ethyca.com/legal/msa-hosted-fides on 12 September 2026. The agreement publishes the tier structure but no figure. There is no pricing page on ethyca.com and no pricing entry in the navigation. The open source Fides core is free from Ethyca's public repository. That is a self hosting path, not a tier of the hosted service, so it is described here rather than recorded as a zero price.
Product updates
Legal Signals
What each signal meansA signal records what public sources say on the date shown. It is not a grade and it is not a recommendation. Where a signal reads Not addressed, it means the index did not locate the material in public sources on that date, which is a statement about disclosure rather than about the product.
Client Data in Training
Can material a lawyer puts into this product be used to train a model?
The customer agreement or data processing addendum contractually limits use of Customer Data to providing the contracted service, and no surface names training either way. The limit is bound, which a policy page is not, but it is not an express training prohibition. If any surface names training in either direction, one of the other values is true and this one is not.
Ethyca's agreement limits Customer Data to providing the service, and no page found mentions training either way. MSA section 4.1, last modified 10 February 2023, licenses Customer Data to Ethyca only to provide the Service and meet its obligations, for the term. A separate, narrower irrevocable license over Audit Data, three listed fields, is for legal compliance only. Section 4.2 limits use to operational needs such as audit trails or system monitoring, or where law requires.
The DPA's CCPA schedule bars retaining, using or disclosing California personal information beyond the business purpose, and bars sale. Two points for buyers. The DPA's processing annex covers processing needed to provide, maintain and improve the Services provided to Customer. Improvement is named, but training, models and machine learning are not, so the clause does not expressly address training. Separately, Ethyca's engineering post says its classifier was benchmarked on fully synthetic schemas built without customer data, then validated on real datasets provided by customers. That is evaluation, not training, and the classifier reads database metadata only, never table contents.
Prompt and Output Retention
How long does the product keep what a lawyer typed, and can that be set to zero?
The customer controls the retention window, by product configuration or by contractual instruction, but zero retention is not stated as available.
The customer controls retention, and no zero retention setting is stated. DPA section 4 says the Services give the customer controls to retrieve, correct, delete or restrict Personal Data. Section 3(f) commits to deleting or returning all Personal Data within 90 days of termination, with backups isolated and deleted under stated practices. Annex 1.C limits processing to the term of the Agreement. Not published: a retention period for live data, or any way to set retention to zero.
One exception: MSA section 4.1(b) grants Ethyca an irrevocable license over Audit Data until its own compliance duties expire. Audit Data is narrowly defined as the primary identifier of the subject of a rights request, a timestamp, and the number and list of affected systems, not the underlying content. What is kept here is the configured data inventory and the record of rights requests, not a lawyer's prompts to a drafting tool.
Ethical Walls and Matter Segregation
Does retrieval respect the firm’s ethical walls, or can the model read across them?
The product maintains its own permission model, documented, requiring the firm to keep it aligned.
A documented permission model of Ethyca's own applies, rather than a source system's access rules. DPA Annex 2 says access to a data set is granted by checking the user's permissions against that data set's attributes. Customer Data sits in multitenant storage reachable only through application interfaces and APIs, with no direct customer access to the infrastructure. A uniform password policy applies, and public APIs use API keys or OAuth.
Astralis adds a purpose layer: access is granted by purpose, not identity alone, and every agent call is checked against policy before it runs. No ethical wall, conflicts check or matter level separation was found. The product separates by data set and purpose rather than by matter, so a firm would have to map its roles and purposes to its own walls.
Third Party Request and Subpoena Notice
If someone subpoenas the vendor for a firm’s data, does the firm hear about it first?
Terms commit to notice where lawfully permitted. No transparency report located.
Notice of compelled disclosure is an agreement commitment, and no transparency report is published. MSA section 9.3 allows disclosure of the other party's confidential information under a subpoena or other government process only on three conditions. The receiving party must promptly tell the issuer that the Agreement exists, promptly tell the disclosing party about the subpoena, and not oppose any effort to quash or limit it.
Confidential status must be kept, and reasonable steps taken, during any compelled use. The DPA adds that if a legal requirement stops Ethyca from following the customer's instructions, it will promptly tell the customer as far as the law allows. It will then stop processing beyond storage until new instructions arrive. No transparency report or count of requests received was found.
Primary Law Corpus Provenance
Where does the law in this product come from, and does the vendor have the right to use it?
Coverage is described by jurisdiction with no identification of the underlying corpus.
Coverage is described by regime, but the source of the regulatory content goes unstated. The product holds no case law, but it does encode legal obligations. Ethyca says Astralis knows the internal and external policies a customer must follow and keeps analyzing risk against them. It names regimes including GDPR, the EU AI Act, CPRA, CCPA, the Virginia CDPA, the Colorado Privacy Act and California's Delete Act, with material on each.
Not published: where that content comes from, how it is kept current, or on what basis. A buyer cannot tell whether it is licensed, built in house or derived. The taxonomy is fully open. Fideslang is published as an open source ontology in Ethyca's repository, mirrored by the IAB Tech Lab, and customers can inspect and version it.
Good Law Verification
Does the product tell you when the authority it just cited has been overruled?
No located public material addresses whether authority is checked for subsequent history.
The product cites no legal authority, so nothing located addresses checking subsequent history, and nothing would be expected to. The nearest published analog is currency of rules rather than currency of authority: the risk register is stated to be re-evaluated nightly against the customer's data, purpose and vendor inventories and against the regimes named on the product pages. That keeps an obligation set current; it is not a treatment signal on a cited case.
Refusal and Uncertainty Behavior
What does the product do when the answer is not in the corpus?
The vendor documents an explicit no answer path and it is observable in the product or in published evaluation.
An explicit no-finding path is documented and the published evaluation measures it. The classifier's default output where no privacy-relevant category applies is the system.operations tag in the open Fideslang taxonomy, and the vendor's engineering post of 23 December 2025 sets out both that the default exists and why counting it toward accuracy is misleading, working the arithmetic to show that a classifier which always returns the default would score 98.6% on a typical enterprise distribution.
The same post publishes recall and false-negative measurement, which is the rate at which the system wrongly returns nothing, and discusses the precision and recall trade-off in terms of what each failure costs a governance program. The limit worth naming: this is documented for the classifier, and no equivalent abstention behavior is published for the Astralis assessment or the agentic query path.
Fabricated Citation Record
Does a public court record exist addressing fabricated or hallucinated legal citations in output from this product?
No court order, opinion or disciplinary record addressing fabricated or hallucinated legal citations produced by this product has been located as of the date shown. This is a statement about the public record on that one subject, not a finding about the product, and this signal is not a litigation history.
No court order, opinion or disciplinary record naming this product, the Fides platform or Ethyca, Inc. was located as of 12 September 2026. Searches were run on both the product name and the company name against published trackers of AI hallucination decisions, including coverage of the Charlotin AI Hallucination Cases database, and returned nothing involving this vendor. This is a statement about the public record on that date and not a finding about the product.
The product classifies data and enforces access policy rather than producing legal citations, which is the conduct those records address.
Bar Guidance Alignment
Has the vendor engaged in public with the ethics opinions its buyers are bound by?
No located public material engages with bar or ethics guidance.
No located public material engages with bar or ethics guidance. The vendor publishes extensively on regulatory obligation, including GDPR, the EU AI Act, CPRA, state privacy statutes and California's Delete Act, and it addresses professional responsibility in one direction only: MSA section 10.4 states plainly that it provides no legal, accounting, tax or regulatory advice and that the customer retains sole responsibility for its own compliance.
That is a disclaimer of the advice line rather than engagement with the guidance a lawyer buyer is bound by, and nothing located addresses ABA Formal Opinion 512 or any state bar opinion on generative AI. Recorded as of 12 September 2026.
Billing and Fee Posture
Does the vendor address what happens to the bill when the work takes an hour instead of six?
The product does not touch a fee between a lawyer and a client. It operates before an engagement exists, or it is bought by a team that bills no client for the work. Savings claims aimed at the buyer’s own cost are recorded in the summary and do not make the row a savings claim, because no client bill is in the loop.
No fee between a lawyer and a client passes through Ethyca. In house privacy, legal, governance or data engineering teams buy it to govern their own organization's data, and no client is billed for the classifier's or policy engine's work. Ethyca's savings claims are about the buyer's own costs: $74m+ saved by automation, subject requests cut from 15 hours to 17.2 seconds, data access times from six weeks to five minutes, and a published cost of $0.603 per thousand fields classified. No client bill is involved. This question covers AI assisted billable work, which this product does not produce.
Outside Counsel Guideline Readiness
Can a firm get this vendor through a client’s AI clause without a bespoke negotiation?
A current subprocessor or model provider list is published.
Ethyca publishes a current subprocessor list in its agreement, but no model provider is on it. DPA Annex 1.H names each subprocessor with purpose and country: Amazon Web Services for cloud infrastructure in Virginia, United States, and Twilio SendGrid for transactional email in the United States. DPA sections 5 and 7(d) commit to notifying customers of changes by updating the list, with email notice on opt in and a 30 day objection right on data protection grounds.
Ethyca also imposes equivalent terms on each subprocessor. The DPA and the Master Subscription Agreement are both published in full, so a firm can forward them. The gap is between Ethyca's own documents. Its engineering post names the classification models and mentions cloud inference platforms, but no model or inference provider appears on the contract list customers are notified about. A firm forwarding this to a client could name the hosting provider but not who runs the model.
Court Disclosure Support
If a judge’s standing order requires an AI disclosure, can the product produce one?
Some elements of the record are available, short of a document level export.
Ethyca keeps a detailed record of what its AI does, but nothing that serves as a filing certification. Every alert, user action and access decision is logged with how and why it was resolved. Ethyca says its policies prove how data was used, not just who accessed it. Every agent call through the Astralis gateway carries an inferred purpose and a policy check. Assessment reports come with mitigations attached, and classification decisions carry the model's own reasoning.
That is a record, call by call, of what an AI system did with which data and for what purpose, and it can be exported and is described as audit ready. It does not tie a named model, its sources and a named human checker to a filing, because it records data access and governance, not the drafting of a brief. A firm asked to certify AI use in a matter would have material to work from but would have to build the certification itself.