L
Lawcus

Lawcus is cloud practice management software for law firms from Lawcus Inc. of San Diego, covering matter and case management, client intake and CRM with appointment scheduling and marketing automation, document automation and electronic signature, time tracking, billing, trust accounting and more than 115 reports, with a client portal and a mobile app. Its AI layer, Nova AI, drafts emails, text messages, notes and matter and task descriptions and turns quick notes into time entry narratives.

The Terms describe Nova AI as generative AI running on large language models hosted on Amazon Web Services, and a release note dated 31 October 2025 says it moved to Claude Sonnet 4.5. Nova AI is included from the Growth plan up. Integrations cover Microsoft 365, Outlook and Gmail, QuickBooks and Xero, LawPay, Dropbox, Box, OneDrive and Google Drive, Zapier, and intake partners such as Intaker, with API documentation published.

Plans are priced per user per month on the website: Essential, Growth and Elite at $39, $59 and $79 billed annually, with Enterprise quoted for ten users or more and a private cloud option.

Capability grades

All 15 axes, graded from public sources on the date shown. Hover a grade to see what the letter means on that axis.

CC on AI CentralityArtificial intelligence is present but peripheral: a feature layer on a product whose value stands without it.

AI Centrality

How much of the product is actually AI. Whether the machine learning is the mechanism the buyer is paying for or a feature layered onto conventional software, and whether the vendor is specific about which is which.

A full practice management system with a writing assistant attached, and the assistant is the only AI Lawcus builds itself. The base is broad and conventional: matter and case management with private matters and statute of limitations alerts, lead management and intake forms, a client portal, document automation and electronic signature, time and expense tracking, invoicing with LEDES and UTBMS codes, trust accounting and more than 115 reports.

Nova AI, announced in January 2024 as a proprietary generative tool, drafts emails, text messages, notes and matter and task descriptions. Since August 2025 it turns quick notes into time entry narratives, and the Terms add that it can analyze documents and provide predictive analytics. AI intake comes from partners, not Lawcus's own models: Lead Autopilot and Clerx.AI, both added through the integration catalog in 2026. Without Nova, every workflow a firm bought Lawcus for still runs.

Source: Vendor Published
DD on Citation Accuracy and Hallucination DisclosureNothing published on accuracy or grounding for a product that produces legal assertions, or a bare claim that the system does not hallucinate.

Citation Accuracy and Hallucination Disclosure

Whether the vendor publishes measured accuracy on citations and assertions, grounds output to primary sources, and says plainly what its system does when it does not know. Legal has a documented public record of fabricated citations reaching filed briefs, so an untested claim of accuracy is not evidence.

Nothing addresses whether Nova's output is right. Here that means drafted client emails and texts, matter descriptions and, since August 2025, time entry narratives written from a lawyer's notes, where a wrong narrative reaches a client's bill. No accuracy figure, test or evaluation is published for any Nova feature. Nothing describes how a draft is grounded in the matter record, what the assistant does with an incomplete note, or how a user traces a generated narrative back to the time it describes.

The October 2025 release note says the move to Claude Sonnet 4.5 improved accuracy, without saying against what. Section 13.5 of the Terms says Lawcus does not warrant that Nova will be error free and rejects all liability for what it generates. The product does not retrieve or cite legal authority.

Source: Operator Verified
DD on Autonomy and Oversight ModelNo oversight structure is published for a system that drafts, advises, or acts on a client matter.

Autonomy and Oversight Model

What the system decides on its own, what a lawyer must approve, and whether the vendor documents where the review point sits. A tool that drafts under review and a tool that files without one are different products and different risks.

Nova is framed as a writing assistant that composes on request, which suggests a user sees each draft before it goes anywhere, but no page says so. Nothing states whether generated emails and texts are sent by the user or can be sent by automation, whether a narrative written from notes lands on a time entry directly or waits for approval before it reaches an invoice, or how Nova interacts with the workflow and marketing automation that sends messages on triggers.

The Terms place responsibility on the user in section 13.6 and treat Nova as used at the user's own risk in section 13.5, which allocates the risk rather than describing a control. The partner AI intake products in the catalog, Lead Autopilot and Clerx.AI, contact leads on their own, and their oversight is not described on the Lawcus estate.

Source: Operator Verified
BB on Operational and Outcome EvidenceReal deployment evidence with substance, short of full attribution or measurement: a named customer without figures, or figures without the named customer.

Operational and Outcome Evidence

Named, dated evidence that the product works in production at real firms or legal departments. Case studies with figures and identified customers count. Unattributed testimonials and launch announcements do not.

Named firms, some with figures, none dated and none about the AI. The customer stories page names Gagné Lespérance Avocats, said to have recovered 20 percent of lost time, with a video testimonial from Julien Lespérance. It also names Pioletti Pioletti & Nichols (leads converted to clients), Ticket Lawyers (traffic violation practice) and Debt Fighters, whose partner is quoted on moving to cloud practice management before the pandemic.

An unnamed Florida firm is said to have saved 20 hours a week and doubled growth, and an unnamed multi practice firm also appears. No study is dated, no method sits behind the figures, and none of them isolates Nova or any AI feature, so a buyer learns that firms run their practices on Lawcus but not what the assistant changed.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on Privilege and Confidentiality PostureSubstantive published commitments on confidentiality and training use, short of the full picture: commonly silence on segregation between users or matters, or on what the underlying model provider may retain.

Privilege and Confidentiality Posture

How client confidences are handled: attorney client privilege and work product treatment, segregation of one client matter from another, whether client data trains any model, and what the vendor commits to in writing rather than in marketing.

Training and model providers are addressed in the agreement itself, while privilege and retention are not. Section 13.2 of the Terms says no customer data is used to train third party language models, and that Lawcus does not train language models or other generative models on customer data. It also says Lawcus does not share customer data with any model provider. Section 13.3 adds that the models are hosted on AWS inside the Lawcus trust boundary, that AWS keeps no customer data after a request, that model providers never have access to it, and that any tuned model is a private copy.

Section 5 is a mutual confidentiality clause. Inside the firm, matters can be set to private so only named people see them, and permissions can limit lawyers to their assigned matters. Missing are any mention of privilege or work product, any retention period during the term, and any statement that Nova respects the private matter and role settings when it drafts.

Source: Vendor Published
CC on UPL and Professional Responsibility PostureA boilerplate disclaimer sits in the terms while the marketing describes the product in advice terms, or the intended audience is left ambiguous.

UPL and Professional Responsibility Posture

Whether the vendor is clear that it supplies a tool rather than legal advice, who its audience is, and how it addresses unauthorized practice of law, competence and supervision duties, and jurisdiction limits. ABA Formal Opinion 512 is the reference point. Where the advice line is not the duty a product raises, the axis is read through the nearest professional duty it does raise: judicial conduct rules and the reviewing duty for products sold only to courts, and the duty to bill for time actually spent for products that draft time entries.

A boilerplate disclaimer that says nothing about the AI. Section 1.7 of the Terms says Lawcus does not provide legal advice, is not a law firm and creates no attorney client relationship, and section 7.2.3 repeats that use of the service is not legal advice and that users with legal questions should contact an attorney. The same Terms describe the platform as designed for attorneys and their clients, and the client portal puts clients inside it, so the disclaimer serves a mixed audience without saying which parts each may use.

Nova drafts messages that go to clients and narratives that go on their bills, and nothing connects that to a lawyer's duty to review what is sent in the firm's name or to supervise the tool. The Terms also say the service is administered in the United States and intended for US users, the only jurisdiction statement. The advice line is published, and the AI is outside it.

Source: Vendor Published
DD on AI Governance and Bias DisclosureNo governance position published for a system whose output affects legal outcomes.

AI Governance and Bias Disclosure

Published governance over model behavior: who owns it inside the vendor, what is tested before release, and what is disclosed about disparate output across matter types, parties, or populations.

Governance material on the estate is entirely about data handling: where Nova runs, that customer data does not train models, and that AWS offers monitoring and logging customers can use for audit. Nothing describes who inside Lawcus is accountable for how Nova writes, what is checked before a model change like the October 2025 move from Claude 3.5 Sonnet v2 to Claude Sonnet 4.5 reaches customers, or whether drafted narratives and client messages are reviewed for tone, accuracy or uneven output across practice areas and languages.

The Nova page describes a second generation to come with reports, document summaries and matter overviews, which would widen what the assistant produces without any published process around it.

Source: Operator Verified
CC on AI Safety and Data StewardshipA generic privacy policy covers the product without addressing what happens to documents and prompts after processing.

AI Safety and Data Stewardship

Retention, deletion, access control, and what happens to prompts and documents after they are processed. Whether the vendor states its subprocessors and its incident practice, or leaves the buyer to assume.

Specific controls are published, and the commitments that would let a firm hold Lawcus to them are thin. The security page describes 256 bit AES encryption on AWS at rest and in transit, nightly automated backups, two factor authentication, IP allow listing, role based permissions and private matters. Section 13.3 of the Terms says the model service keeps no customer data after a request. Section 10 keeps data for 30 days after termination for retrieval, with any later transfer billed upfront and hosting after termination chargeable.

The Privacy Policy keeps data as long as needed for the service and deletes it when an account is deleted, with some delay in backups. Three things are absent: a retention period for anything during the term, a list of the service providers the Privacy Policy describes only as payment, storage and technology providers, and any commitment to tell the firm about a breach. The only breach notice in the Terms runs the other way, obliging the customer to notify Lawcus and clear in advance any public statement naming it.

Source: Vendor Published
CC on AI Liability and RecourseLiability is addressed only through a standard limitation clause that disclaims the exposure the product creates.

AI Liability and Recourse

What the vendor stands behind contractually when its output is wrong. Indemnities, caps, carve outs, insurance, and whether any of it is published or only reachable through a negotiated agreement.

Liability is set low and the AI is carved out of what little there is. The Limitation of Liability section caps total cumulative liability at the greater of the fees paid or $100, names cancellation of registration as the sole and exclusive remedy, and excludes indirect and consequential damages, expressly including legal malpractice or negligence of attorneys using the service. Section 13.5 then says Nova is provided as is and as available, is not warranted to be error free, and that Lawcus rejects all liabilities arising from any information Nova generates.

The customer indemnifies Lawcus against third party claims arising from its use of the service, including third party integrations and data breaches the customer causes. Nothing gives a firm recourse when a Nova draft or narrative is wrong, and no insurance or output warranty is mentioned. It is a C rather than a D because the allocation is published and specific enough to read before signing.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on Practice Systems Integration DepthReal integrations exist and are documented, short of depth: named connections without a description of what they actually move.

Practice Systems Integration Depth

How deeply the product reaches into the systems legal work already lives in: document management such as iManage and NetDocuments, Word and Outlook, contract lifecycle management, matter management, e-billing, and court filing systems.

A long catalog that covers the small firm stack, and a published API, without documentation of what each connection moves. The integrations page lists email and calendar (Gmail, Google Calendar, Microsoft 365, Outlook and Exchange), storage (Box, Dropbox, Google Drive, OneDrive), accounting and payments (QuickBooks, Xero, LawPay, Confido Legal), and intake and reception (Intaker, Clerx.AI, Decision Vault, FastVisa, Reflekt Legal, LexReception, Smith.ai).

It also lists communications and phones (Hona, VXT, VIP VoIP, Kenect), time capture (WiseTime, Memtime, LawGro), marketing (Mailchimp, Caramail, Lawbrokr, 4LegalLeads) and automation (Zapier, Pabbly), and release notes describe some as real time or two way. An API reference is published at docs.lawcus.com. No document management integration such as iManage or NetDocuments is listed, and no page states which fields each integration syncs, in which direction, or whether Nova can read content held in a connected system.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on Deployment Model and Data ResidencyDeployment model is stated clearly with partial residency detail, or residency is offered without the processing location being addressed, or the tenancy model is stated on its own with no residency detail published.

Deployment Model and Data Residency

Where the software runs and where the data sits. Multi tenant cloud, single tenant, private deployment, on premises, and whether region of residence is a published option or an enterprise conversation.

The deployment model and its one alternative are stated, and where data sits is not. Lawcus runs on AWS, per its security page, and section 13.3 of the Terms says the Nova models are hosted on AWS infrastructure inside the Lawcus trust boundary, so inference happens in the same environment as storage rather than at an outside model provider. The Enterprise plan offers a private cloud with an SLA, priced by infrastructure requirement, which is a real deployment choice few practice management vendors publish.

The Terms say the service is administered in the United States and intended for US users, while the site carries Canadian customers and a GDPR page that describes Lawcus as a controller aligning with European law. No AWS region is named, nothing says whether a Canadian or European firm's data stays in its own country, and nothing distinguishes where Nova processes a request from where the matter data is stored.

Source: Vendor Published
DD on Security Certifications and Trust CenterNo independent security attestation located.

Security Certifications and Trust Center

Independent attestation a buyer can pull without a sales call: SOC 2, ISO 27001, penetration test summaries, a trust center with current reports and named scope rather than a badge image.

No SOC 2 report, ISO certificate, auditor or trust center belonging to Lawcus is published. Section 13.3 of the Terms says that because the platform is based on AWS, Lawcus is in scope for common compliance standards including ISO, SOC and CSA STAR Level 2 and is HIPAA eligible, and the Privacy Policy repeats that AWS adheres to those standards. Those are the cloud provider's attestations covering its own infrastructure; they say nothing about Lawcus's application, access practices or staff, and no Lawcus report, scope or audit date is named.

The security page itself leans on descriptions (bank grade, military grade encryption) rather than an independent check.

Source: Operator Verified
BB on Model Supply Chain DisclosureThe supply chain is partly disclosed: providers named without change notification, or architecture described without the providers.

Model Supply Chain Disclosure

Which models sit underneath, whose they are, where they run, and whether the vendor commits to telling customers when that changes. A legal buyer inherits every dependency it cannot see.

The model is named, and so is the last time it changed. A release note dated 31 October 2025 says Lawcus moved its AI features to Claude Sonnet 4.5 from Claude 3.5 Sonnet v2. Section 13.1 of the Terms says Nova uses large language models by Amazon AWS, and section 13.3 adds that the models are hosted on AWS inside the Lawcus trust boundary and that model providers never see customer data. Together, a buyer can tell which model family drafts its messages, whose infrastructure runs it and that the model provider is not in the data path.

The model name sits in a release note, not in the agreement or a maintained list, and the Terms still describe the models only as AWS's. Nothing commits Lawcus to tell customers before the next change, so the October 2025 note is disclosure after the fact.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on Commercial TransparencyReal pricing is published for part of the range, with enterprise tiers withheld, or the unit and structure are stated without the figure.

Commercial Transparency

Whether a buyer can learn what this costs without entering a sales process: published rates, the unit being charged, what sits behind an enterprise tier, and what implementation adds.

Per user prices are published for three of four plans, with the highest plan and some costs left to a quote. Billed annually, Essential is $39, Growth $59 and Elite $79 per user per month; billed monthly they are $49, $69 and $89. Nova AI starts at Growth, alongside the QuickBooks, Xero, Google and Microsoft integrations, and Elite adds workflow and marketing automation and the custom report builder. Enterprise is quoted, with a ten user minimum, dedicated onboarding, custom development under a separate statement of work and a private cloud priced by infrastructure.

The add ons are itemized: two way texting at $10 per attorney per month plus a one time fee, and basic data migration included for Enterprise with advanced migration billed by volume and complexity. The Terms add that professional services must be used within 60 days of purchase. A small firm can be priced without a sales call; migration and a larger rollout still need one.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on Firm and Practice CoverageSegment and practice coverage is described with substance, short of the boundaries: what is supported is clear, what is not is left open.

Firm and Practice Coverage

Who the product is actually built for. AmLaw, midlaw, small firm and solo, in house departments, government and courts, and which practice areas are supported rather than merely claimed.

Coverage is described broadly and consistently, with the boundaries mostly unstated. Lawcus has pages for small, midsize and large firms and in house legal teams, and for seventeen practice areas from bankruptcy, criminal, family, immigration and personal injury to banking and finance, cyber law, government and intellectual property. Its customer stories span Canadian and US firms in traffic, debt relief, criminal and multi practice work.

The pricing marks one boundary, with Enterprise starting at ten users, and the Terms say the service is intended for US users. Not said is where it stops: which practice areas get dedicated features rather than a landing page, how trust accounting rules across jurisdictions are handled for its Canadian customers, or what an in house team loses against a matter management platform built for legal departments.

Source: Vendor Published
Sources on file

5 public documents

The public pages on file for Lawcus, with the recorded signals each one supports and the date it was last read. Open any of them and check the reading against the record.

Pricing

From $39 per user/monthUSD, as published, never converted

  • Lawcus costs $39, $59 or $79 per user each month if you pay yearly.
  • Paying month to month costs $10 more per user.
  • The AI writing tool, Nova AI, comes with the $59 plan and up.
  • Firms with ten or more users can ask for an Enterprise quote.
  • Two way texting is an extra $10 per attorney each month.

Per user per month. Billed annually: Essential $39, Growth $59, Elite $79. Billed monthly: Essential $49, Growth $69, Elite $89. Nova AI and custom fields from Growth; workflow and marketing automation from Elite. Enterprise: quoted, minimum ten users, dedicated onboarding and account manager, custom feature development, private cloud and SLA options. Add on: two way texting at $10 per attorney per month plus a one time fee.

Implementation: Basic data migration is included on Enterprise; advanced migration is billed separately by volume and complexity, with no published figure.

Confidentiality and data terms: The Terms say Lawcus is HIPAA eligible because it runs on Amazon Web Services; no business associate agreement for customers is offered or referred to on the pages read.

Note: Enterprise is quoted, with a ten user minimum, dedicated onboarding and a private cloud option priced on infrastructure requirements. Advanced data migration is billed separately by volume and complexity without a published figure. The Terms bill post termination data transfer up front and allow charges for hosting data after termination.

Legal Signals

What each signal means

A signal records what public sources say on the date shown. It is not a grade and it is not a recommendation. Where a signal reads Not addressed, it means the index did not locate the material in public sources on that date, which is a statement about disclosure rather than about the product.

Confidentiality and Privilege

Client Data in Training

Can material a lawyer puts into this product be used to train a model?

Never, in the contract

The published terms prohibit training on customer content. Not a policy page, the agreement.

Section 13.2 of the Terms and Conditions says Lawcus does not train large language models or other generative models on Customer Data, does not share Customer Data with any model provider, and that no Customer Data trains third party models. The Privacy Policy repeats that customer data is not used to train or improve its models.

Source: Vendor PublishedLawcus does not train LLMs or other generative models on Customer DataAs of Sep 29, 2026Evidence

Prompt and Output Retention

How long does the product keep what a lawyer typed, and can that be set to zero?

Disclosed without a period

Retention is acknowledged in public materials with no stated period.

Section 13.3 of the Terms says the model service on Amazon Web Services does not retain Customer Data after a request is processed. How long Lawcus itself keeps Nova AI prompts and drafts is not stated; the Privacy Policy keeps data as long as needed to provide the service and the Terms keep it 30 days after termination.

Source: Vendor Publishedwhich do not retain Customer Data after processing a requestAs of Sep 29, 2026Evidence

Ethical Walls and Matter Segregation

Does retrieval respect the firm’s ethical walls, or can the model read across them?

Own model, documented

The product maintains its own permission model, documented, requiring the firm to keep it aligned.

Lawcus documents its own permission model: custom roles set by an administrator, lawyers limited to matters assigned to them, and a private mode that restricts a matter to named users. Whether Nova AI honors those permissions when it drafts is not stated.

Source: Vendor Publishedlimiting your firm lawyers to only view matters that they are assigned toAs of Sep 29, 2026Evidence

Third Party Request and Subpoena Notice

If someone subpoenas the vendor for a firm’s data, does the firm hear about it first?

Disclosure addressed, notice absent

Published terms or policy address disclosure to authorities or in response to legal process, and no commitment or reservation regarding customer notice is located anywhere. The vendor has told the customer that data can leave and has said nothing about whether the customer hears of it.

The Privacy Policy says Lawcus discloses personal information where it believes in good faith and at its sole discretion that disclosure is legally required, and the Terms allow disclosure of confidential information where required by law. No commitment or reservation about notifying the customer was located, and no transparency report.

Source: Vendor PublishedAs of Sep 29, 2026Evidence
Accuracy and Authority

Primary Law Corpus Provenance

Where does the law in this product come from, and does the vendor have the right to use it?

Not addressed

No located public material identifies the corpus behind the product’s answers.

Checked the Nova AI page and the Terms on 29 September 2026. Nova AI drafts from the firm's own inputs and records and does not answer from a body of law, so no legal corpus is identified.

Source: Operator VerifiedAs of Sep 29, 2026

Good Law Verification

Does the product tell you when the authority it just cited has been overruled?

Not addressed

No located public material addresses whether authority is checked for subsequent history.

Checked the Nova AI page and the Terms on 29 September 2026. The product does not cite legal authority, and nothing addresses checking authority for later treatment.

Source: Operator VerifiedAs of Sep 29, 2026

Refusal and Uncertainty Behavior

What does the product do when the answer is not in the corpus?

Not addressed

No located public material addresses what the product does when it cannot ground an answer.

Checked the Nova AI page, the release notes and the Terms on 29 September 2026. Nothing describes what Nova AI does when it lacks the information to draft or analyze reliably.

Source: Operator VerifiedAs of Sep 29, 2026

Fabricated Citation Record

Does a public court record exist addressing fabricated or hallucinated legal citations in output from this product?

None located

No court order, opinion or disciplinary record addressing fabricated or hallucinated legal citations produced by this product has been located as of the date shown. This is a statement about the public record on that one subject, not a finding about the product, and this signal is not a litigation history.

Searched the AI Hallucination Cases database maintained by Damien Charlotin on 29 September 2026 for Lawcus, and no recorded case was returned. No court order, opinion or disciplinary record naming the product was located. This is a statement about the public record rather than a finding about the product.

Source: Bar Guidance or Court RecordAs of Sep 29, 2026Evidence
Professional Responsibility

Bar Guidance Alignment

Has the vendor engaged in public with the ethics opinions its buyers are bound by?

Not addressed

No located public material engages with bar or ethics guidance.

Checked the home, Nova AI, bar associations and pricing pages, the Terms and the Privacy Policy on 29 September 2026. No material engages with professional conduct rules or ethics guidance on using AI in practice.

Source: Operator VerifiedAs of Sep 29, 2026

Billing and Fee Posture

Does the vendor address what happens to the bill when the work takes an hour instead of six?

Savings claims only

Public materials claim time savings without addressing billing or disclosure, and the product sits inside a fee relationship between a lawyer and a client where those savings would change the bill.

Lawcus says it saves up to five hours a week, and an August 2025 release added Nova AI Narratives, which turn quick notes into time entry descriptions. Nothing addresses how AI drafted narratives or AI assisted work should be billed or disclosed to clients.

Source: Vendor PublishedAs of Sep 29, 2026Evidence

Outside Counsel Guideline Readiness

Can a firm get this vendor through a client’s AI clause without a bespoke negotiation?

Not addressed

No located public material supports a client side disclosure obligation.

Checked the Privacy Policy, the Terms and the security page on 29 September 2026. Service providers are described by type only; the model in use is named in a release note rather than a maintained list, and no client facing disclosure material was located.

Source: Operator VerifiedAs of Sep 29, 2026

Court Disclosure Support

If a judge’s standing order requires an AI disclosure, can the product produce one?

Not addressed

No located public material addresses court disclosure or verification certification.

Checked the Nova AI page and the Terms on 29 September 2026. The product does not produce court filings with AI, and nothing addresses disclosing AI use to a court.

Source: Operator VerifiedAs of Sep 29, 2026
Contact

Correct a record, or ask how something was graded

Every grade and every signal on this index is drawn from public sources and dated. If a record is wrong, out of date, or missing an artifact the index did not locate, send the source and it will be reviewed and the record redated. Vendors are welcome to submit documentation. Nothing on this index is for sale, including a listing, a placement, or a grade.

AI Legal Index

The AI Legal Index is an independent index that tracks changes to AI vendors in legal. It holds 303 vendors across 9 categories, each graded on the same 15 capability axes and recorded against 12 legal signals, from public sources. No vendor pays for inclusion, placement, or rating.

Index Status
Last index update
October 7, 2026
The AI Legal Index is an editorial reference. It is not a regulatory body, not a law firm, and nothing published here is legal advice or a recommendation to retain or avoid a vendor. Records are verified against published sources, bar guidance and public court records. Where a record reads not addressed, the material was not located in public sources on the date shown. See the Methodology page for evaluation standards and limitations.
© 2026 AI Legal Index
3801 N Capital of Texas Hwy, Ste E240 · Austin, TX 78746