The Litera Platform now supports Okta as an identity provider alongside Microsoft Entra ID. Lawyers start at the usual Microsoft sign in page and are redirected to Okta, where the firm's sign in policies apply across the platform and its add ins, and Okta provisions users and groups through SCIM. This first release is for new tenants only, still requires Microsoft 365 with Entra ID, and the identity provider cannot be changed after setup.
L
Litera
Litera is a Chicago legal technology company. Its drafting, comparison, proofing, review and knowledge products run inside Word, Outlook, Google Workspace, a web app, iOS and a desktop client. Lito, the AI legal agent introduced in 2025, comes at no extra charge with the Draft Base, Draft Pro and Draft Advanced subscriptions and with Kira. Lito routes each task either to Litera's rules based comparison, document analysis and metadata removal engines, which the company says return the same result every time, or to generative models grounded in the firm's own templates, clauses, playbooks, precedents and matter data.
A firm can switch the generative features off and keep the rules based engines. The subprocessor list for Litera One names Anthropic and Amazon Bedrock for model inference and You.com for web search. The generative AI terms say neither Litera nor its providers will train models on customer data, prompts or outputs. The software runs as a cloud service on Microsoft Azure in US, Canadian or European regions, or on premises.
Litera sells to law firms and corporate legal departments, and firms with fewer than ten lawyers can buy Draft Base and Draft Pro from an online store.
Litera, head to head
Side by side on the same 15 capability axes and 12 legal signals: where the two part company, and what neither one publishes.
Alternatives to Litera
Vendors in the same categories as Litera whose graded profiles look most alike, with a line on what each product does.
Similar is not the same, so check that each one does the job you need. No vendor pays for placement.
- VVesenceVesence is an AI platform for law firms and other professional services businesses that runs inside Microsoft Office.
- LLEGALFLYLegalFly is a Belgian legal AI platform for in house legal teams and the business functions they serve, sold to regulated enterprises in banking, insurance, manufacturing, technology and…
- LLucioLucio is a legal AI workspace built by lawyers at Zenlegal Technology Private Limited in Bengaluru, which contracts outside India through Lucio Inc and has users in 13 jurisdictions.
- PParachuteParachute is a legal AI workspace for law firms of one to 200 lawyers from Veraty Tech Pty Ltd in Sydney, launched in September 2024.
- MMagnarMagnar is a legal AI agent for lawyers in Latin America, built by Magnar SpA in Santiago, Chile.
- SSagaSaga is a legal AI platform from Saga International B.V. in Amsterdam, with Norwegian roots, used by more than 500 legal teams and law firms in over 25 countries.
Ordered by how closely the graded profiles match across the 15 capability axes, inside the same categories. See how each axis is graded in the methodology.
Capability grades
All 15 axes, graded from public sources on the date shown. Hover a grade to see what the letter means on that axis.
AI Centrality
How much of the product is actually AI. Whether the machine learning is the mechanism the buyer is paying for or a feature layered onto conventional software, and whether the vendor is specific about which is which.
The AI drives a core capability on a product that stands without it, and the vendor says so. The Lito site describes an agentic layer that routes high stakes work to Litera's deterministic comparison, document analysis and metadata removal engines, which return the same result every time, and flexible work to skills built on frontier models. It states that generative AI can be switched off entirely while the rules based engines keep working.
Draft Base, the entry package sold from the store, is document comparison, and Lito was added to existing subscriptions at no charge in October 2025 rather than sold as the product. The published agreements treat the generative features as additional terms layered on the SaaS or on premises software. Remove the models and a thirty year drafting, comparison and metadata business remains.
Citation Accuracy and Hallucination Disclosure
Whether the vendor publishes measured accuracy on citations and assertions, grounds output to primary sources, and says plainly what its system does when it does not know. Legal has a documented public record of fabricated citations reaching filed briefs, so an untested claim of accuracy is not evidence.
Grounding is claimed, and the vendor itself says accuracy is not measured. The Lito site says every recommendation shows its reasoning and its source, and that the agent is grounded in the firm's own templates, clauses, playbooks, precedents and matter data. Web search over public material is supplied by You.com, per the subprocessor register. No retrieval method is described, and no accuracy figure or test set is published.
Section 3(c) of the Generative AI Terms, Version April 2026, says outputs may be inaccurate or misleading and are not tested, verified, endorsed or guaranteed by Litera to be complete or current. It makes the customer solely responsible for reviewing and verifying any output before use. Lito drafts and reviews against firm documents and does not cite primary legal authority, so there is no citator and no authority link to check.
Autonomy and Oversight Model
What the system decides on its own, what a lawyer must approve, and whether the vendor documents where the review point sits. A tool that drafts under review and a tool that files without one are different products and different risks.
A written commitment that the lawyer keeps judgment, with real controls, short of the full structure. The Lito site states that the lawyer keeps judgment either way, that firms can switch generative AI off entirely while the rules based engines keep working, and that MCP connectors are governed centrally and enabled firm wide. The Generative AI Terms, Version April 2026, place sole responsibility for reviewing and verifying output on the customer (3(c)).
They prohibit deploying autonomous agents, recursive prompt chains or usage automation outside intended user flows (4(c)), which is a published boundary on what the system may run alone. Not published is the threshold at which Lito acts without a lawyer in the loop when it chains deterministic engines at workflow milestones, what review surface a chained action presents, or what happens after an output is wrong beyond the customer's duty to verify.
Operational and Outcome Evidence
Named, dated evidence that the product works in production at real firms or legal departments. Case studies with figures and identified customers count. Unattributed testimonials and launch announcements do not.
Named customers without figures, and figures without named customers. The Lito site carries attributed testimonials from Brian Corbett, partner at Poyner Spruill LLP, and Joshua Tan, partner at Delta Law Corporation. It also quotes CCA Law Firm and unnamed Am Law firm associates; none carries a measured result. The figures on the same page are headline counters with no basis stated: 99 percent of the Am Law 100, more than 15,000 firms, more than a million daily users and a 90 percent efficiency gain.
The home page adds 74 percent of the Fortune 100 for corporate legal. The October 2025 press release states that Litera One was used by roughly 40 percent of the customer base and that early access firms shaped Lito, with no named firm and no figure. No dated, named deployment with a measured change and a method is published.
Privilege and Confidentiality Posture
How client confidences are handled: attorney client privilege and work product treatment, segregation of one client matter from another, whether client data trains any model, and what the vendor commits to in writing rather than in marketing.
Substantive published commitments on training and the model providers, without segregation or privilege. Section 2(c) of the Generative AI Terms, Version April 2026, says Litera will not, and will not permit its third party providers to, develop, train or fine tune any generative or foundational model with Customer Data, End User Prompts or Outputs unless agreed separately in writing. Section 5.1 of the Master Terms, Version November 2025, makes Customer Data the customer's Confidential Information, and section 6.2 leaves ownership with the customer with a license limited to providing the Services.
Section 3.2 of the SaaS Terms commits to prompt deletion after termination. The Litera One / Lito subprocessor register states each model provider's position. Anthropic retains inputs and outputs for up to thirty days for trust and safety, and Amazon Bedrock does not pass inputs to third party model providers. Nothing published addresses segregation between users, matters or clients inside a firm's tenant, or privilege or work product handling directly. The trust center's Firm AI Search FAQ and security FAQ sit behind a Get access request.
UPL and Professional Responsibility Posture
Whether the vendor is clear that it supplies a tool rather than legal advice, who its audience is, and how it addresses unauthorized practice of law, competence and supervision duties, and jurisdiction limits. ABA Formal Opinion 512 is the reference point. Where the advice line is not the duty a product raises, the axis is read through the nearest professional duty it does raise: judicial conduct rules and the reviewing duty for products sold only to courts, and the duty to bill for time actually spent for products that draft time entries.
A real published position on advice versus tooling, without jurisdiction limits or the supervision side. Section 3(d) of the Generative AI Terms, Version April 2026, says the generative features are not intended as professional advice, cannot replace advice from a qualified professional and form no such relationship, naming the attorney client relationship as the example. Section 3(c) places sole responsibility for reviewing and verifying output on the customer.
The intended audience is plain: every segment page addresses lawyers, law firms of every size and corporate legal departments, and the Master Terms restrict use to the customer's internal business purposes, with no consumer surface. No jurisdiction limit is named, and nothing treats how the product supports a lawyer's competence and supervision duties beyond the marketing line that the lawyer keeps judgment. Litera also advertises a CLE program.
AI Governance and Bias Disclosure
Published governance over model behavior: who owns it inside the vendor, what is tested before release, and what is disclosed about disparate output across matter types, parties, or populations.
A position on training data and acceptable use is published; a governance framework, an owner and a testing regime are not. The Generative AI Terms, Version April 2026, commit that no generative or foundational model is trained on customer content and prohibit a listed set of abusive uses (2(b)). The Lito site names a security and governance layer made up of ISO 27001, SOC 2 Type 2, SOC 3, GDPR, NIS 2 and DORA, which are security and regulatory attestations rather than AI governance.
The SafeBase trust center lists an item titled AI Training Data and Bias under an AI section, alongside a Firm AI Search FAQ, both behind a Get access request whose tier is not stated. The title alone says nothing about the contents. Nothing published names who inside Litera is accountable for AI output, what is tested before a skill ships, or any finding about uneven output.
AI Safety and Data Stewardship
Retention, deletion, access control, and what happens to prompts and documents after they are processed. Whether the vendor states its subprocessors and its incident practice, or leaves the buyer to assume.
Retention, deletion, access control, subprocessors and incident practice are all published in binding documents a buyer can read before signing. The Security Addendum 2023, incorporated by section 5.3 of the Master Terms, commits to notify the customer of a security incident without undue delay and within seventy two hours of determining that Customer Data is affected. It describes least privilege access with multi factor authentication and quarterly access reviews, AES-256 encryption at rest and TLS 1.2 or above in transit, and annual third party penetration testing.
It also provides for deletion of remaining Customer Data after termination. Section 3.2 of the SaaS Terms, Version March 2025, commits to prompt deletion after termination, with backup copies removed on their normal cycle. The subprocessor register is published for each product with hosting locations, and the Litera One / Lito entry names Microsoft Azure, Amazon Bedrock, Anthropic and You.com with what each processes and retains, plus a registration link for change notices.
No period is stated for prompts and outputs held on the platform during the subscription, only the provider's thirty day window and deletion after termination.
AI Liability and Recourse
What the vendor stands behind contractually when its output is wrong. Indemnities, caps, carve outs, insurance, and whether any of it is published or only reachable through a negotiated agreement.
What the vendor stands behind is published and specific, including insurance, and on wrong output it stands behind nothing. Section 7.4 of the Master Terms, Version November 2025, gives a defense and indemnity for third party intellectual property claims in WIPO Copyright Treaty countries, with five named exclusions and modify, license, or terminate and refund remedies. Section 7.8 caps Litera's liability for direct damages at fees paid under the ordering document in the preceding twelve months, with the indemnity outside the cap.
Section 7.7 excludes consequential loss for both parties except under the indemnities, and section 7.3 disclaims accuracy and results. Section 2 of the SaaS Terms warrants substantial conformance with the documentation, with repair or refund as the remedy. The Security Addendum commits Litera to keep cyber and technology errors and omissions insurance with an A.M. Best rating of at least A- and financial size of at least VII.
Section 3(a) of the Generative AI Terms, Version April 2026, disclaims any liabilities, warranties or representations on output, notwithstanding the Master Terms. So the recourse for a wrong AI output, readable before signing, is the customer's own verification.
Practice Systems Integration Depth
How deeply the product reaches into the systems legal work already lives in: document management such as iManage and NetDocuments, Word and Outlook, contract lifecycle management, matter management, e-billing, and court filing systems.
Real integrations are named and documented, without saying what moves in which direction. The Lito site states that Litera is delivered inside Microsoft Word and Outlook, Google Workspace, a web app, Apple iOS and a Windows and Mac desktop client, and names iManage and NetDocuments as connected document management systems. It lists documents, emails, timecards, financial data, HR data and legal research as sources Lito reads from and writes back to, and states that MCP connectors are governed centrally by the firm.
The October 2025 press release adds that Lito connects with Kira and NetDocuments. Section 3.2 of the Master Terms records that the software is meant to be used with third party office software and document management systems the customer procures. Nothing published gives an implementer's description of what syncs, in which direction, and what a firm must configure. An integrations page is published at litera.com/integration.
Deployment Model and Data Residency
Where the software runs and where the data sits. Multi tenant cloud, single tenant, private deployment, on premises, and whether region of residence is a published option or an enterprise conversation.
Deployment options, regions and where processing happens as distinct from storage are all published. Section 2.1 of the Master Terms, Version November 2025, defines two deployment types, SaaS and on premises, and the Lito site adds a Windows and Mac desktop client for firms whose most sensitive work cannot move to the cloud. The Litera One / Lito subprocessor register says the application is hosted on Microsoft Azure in US, Canadian or European regions.
Amazon Bedrock inference runs in the same regions as the platform, and inputs are not passed to third party model providers. Anthropic inference is hosted in the United States, with inputs and outputs retained up to thirty days, so a customer hosted in Europe can read that generative processing may leave the storage region. Section 2(d) of the Generative AI Terms commits to hosting models in the same jurisdiction as the SaaS software where commercially and technically feasible, and otherwise in a jurisdiction with comparable standards.
Whether the service is single or multi tenant is not stated, and nothing published says the residency options differ by Draft package.
Security Certifications and Trust Center
Independent attestation a buyer can pull without a sales call: SOC 2, ISO 27001, penetration test summaries, a trust center with current reports and named scope rather than a badge image.
Certification is real and stated on a working trust center, without scope, dates or a report reachable without a request. The SafeBase portal at trust.litera.com lists SOC 2 Type 2, SOC 3, ISO/IEC 27001:2022 with a statement of applicability, GDPR, DORA and NIS 2. It lists the reports, a penetration test report, a security whitepaper, cyber insurance, a CAIQ and SIG Lite behind a Get access flow that offers to start a security review.
The flow does not say whether access is self serve on an email or click through, or runs through a sales conversation. The Security Addendum states that independent auditor reports are available to the customer on request, that Litera's ISO 27001 certification covers its corporate offices, and that cloud providers are audited under SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001. No auditor, audit period or scope statement is published. The trust center overview describes the Litera Platform and Lito, so it covers the product.
Model Supply Chain Disclosure
Which models sit underneath, whose they are, where they run, and whether the vendor commits to telling customers when that changes. A legal buyer inherits every dependency it cannot see.
Providers are named, where they run is stated and a change notice channel exists; the models themselves are not named, and three surfaces give three different provider lists. The Litera One / Lito subprocessor register, the binding disclosure, names Anthropic for model inference, hosted in the United States, possibly through Amazon Bedrock or Microsoft Azure Foundry. It names Amazon Bedrock for inference in the platform's own region and You.com for web search, and offers a registration link for notice of subprocessor changes.
The Lito site describes routing across OpenAI, Anthropic and Gemini models. The Generative AI Terms, Version April 2026, refer to the terms of Azure OpenAI as terms Litera must follow and to GPT-4 as an example in the fair usage clause. OpenAI and Google appear on the marketing page and in the agreement and not on the Lito register, so the register alone does not show that OpenAI models may process prompts. No specific model version is named beyond that one example.
Commercial Transparency
Whether a buyer can learn what this costs without entering a sales process: published rates, the unit being charged, what sits behind an enterprise tier, and what implementation adds.
Real pricing is published for part of the range, with the unit and structure stated. The Litera Store at litera.com/store offers Draft Base, Draft Pro, Clean (Metadact) and pdfDocs, each with a purchase button leading to a product page on store.litera.com, where the store price is shown. The packages page states that firms with ten or more lawyers request a demo and talk to sales. The Master Terms publish the unit: each license is for a single named individual (3.1), fees and currency are set in the order form, terms renew automatically for twelve months unless thirty days' notice is given (8.2), and overages on end users, lawyers or documents are invoiced (4.2).
Lito is included with Draft Base, Pro and Advanced and with Kira at no extra charge, per the site and the October 2025 press release, and a store promotion offered twenty percent off during ILTACON. Enterprise pricing goes through sales.
Firm and Practice Coverage
Who the product is actually built for. AmLaw, midlaw, small firm and solo, in house departments, government and courts, and which practice areas are supported rather than merely claimed.
Segment and role coverage is described with substance, without the boundaries. The site has separate solution pages for small, large and global law firms and corporate legal departments. Role pages cover lawyers, knowledge management, marketing and business development, CIO and IT, finance, and talent and HR, and the Lito site walks through the associate, partner, transactional lawyer, knowledge manager, COO and marketing seats.
Practice coverage is stated by skill rather than by practice area. The October 2025 press release names a launch library of eleven skills, with planned additions for capital markets, M&A, business development, litigation and compliance, and the Lito site names contract review and redlining, deal management, precedent surfacing and pitch drafting. Store purchases are limited to firms under ten lawyers, with larger firms routed to sales.
No practice area, jurisdiction or language is named as out of scope. The home page claims 99 percent of the Am Law 100 and 74 percent of the Fortune 100 without a basis.
6 public documents
The public pages on file for Litera, with the recorded signals each one supports and the date it was last read. Open any of them and check the reading against the record.
-
lito.app4 signals
Primary Law Corpus Provenance, Good Law Verification, Billing and Fee Posture and 1 more
Read Sep 7, 2026
-
Client Data in Training, Refusal and Uncertainty Behavior, Bar Guidance Alignment
Read Sep 7, 2026
-
Prompt and Output Retention, Outside Counsel Guideline Readiness
Read Sep 7, 2026
-
trust.litera.com1 signal
Ethical Walls and Matter Segregation
Read Sep 7, 2026
-
Fabricated Citation Record
Read Sep 7, 2026
-
Third Party Request and Subpoena Notice
Read Sep 7, 2026
No published figure
- Litera charges per person, per year, for its drafting packages.
- The AI agent, Lito, comes free with the packages instead of costing extra.
- Small firms with under ten lawyers can buy Draft Base or Draft Pro from an online store.
- Bigger firms have to ask for a demo and get a quote from sales.
- The store lists a price for those packages on its purchase pages.
Per named user, on an annual subscription that renews automatically for twelve months unless either party gives thirty days' notice. Three drafting packages: Draft Base (comparison), Draft Pro (proofing, review, comparison with Litera AI+) and Draft Advanced (drafting from start to finish with generative AI); Lito, the AI legal agent, is included with all three and with Kira at no additional charge. Firms with fewer than ten lawyers can buy Draft Base, Draft Pro, Clean (Metadact) and pdfDocs directly from the Litera Store; firms with ten or more lawyers request a demo and buy through sales.
Overages on named users, lawyers or documents beyond the order form are invoiced. Fees and currency are set in the order form.
Implementation: Professional services are sold under a separate statement of work with fees set in the SOW (Master Terms 2.5, 4.2); no implementation figure is published.
Note: A published figure exists: the Litera Store at litera.com/store links to purchase pages for Draft Base and Draft Pro on store.litera.com, where the store price is shown. Third party price listings exist but are not the vendor's own. A store promotion offered twenty percent off all products during ILTACON 2026. The commercial terms are in the Master Terms (Version November 2025), sections 3.1, 4.2 and 8.2, with the store index page, lito.app and the October 2025 press release covering packaging.
Product updates
Litera released a ChatGPT plugin for Foundation AI Search. Foundation Cloud users can ask questions about the firm's experience, relationships and people from inside ChatGPT.
Legal Signals
What each signal meansA signal records what public sources say on the date shown. It is not a grade and it is not a recommendation. Where a signal reads Not addressed, it means the index did not locate the material in public sources on that date, which is a statement about disclosure rather than about the product.
Client Data in Training
Can material a lawyer puts into this product be used to train a model?
The published terms prohibit training on customer content. Not a policy page, the agreement.
The published agreement prohibits training. The Additional Terms for Software with Generative AI Features, Version April 2026, incorporated into the Master Terms by section 2.4, state at section 2(c) that neither Litera nor its third party providers will develop, train or fine tune any generative or foundational model with Customer Data, End User Prompts or Outputs, with one qualifier carried here: the prohibition lifts only where agreed separately in writing, so any training would require the customer's own signature.
The Litera One / Lito subprocessor register repeats the position for each provider, stating that Amazon Bedrock and Anthropic do not use customer inputs to train underlying models. The Lito marketing site says recommendations are trained on the firm's comparison data, precedents and matter data; that sentence describes grounding within the firm's own tenant and the agreement governs.
Prompt and Output Retention
How long does the product keep what a lawyer typed, and can that be set to zero?
A specific retention period is published and the customer cannot change it.
Retention is published as fixed periods the customer does not set. The Litera One / Lito subprocessor register states that Anthropic retains inputs and outputs for up to thirty days for trust and safety monitoring and then deletes them. Amazon Bedrock processes inputs transiently, and You.com does not retain search queries or results. Section 3.2 of the SaaS Terms, Version March 2025, commits Litera to delete all Customer Data promptly after a subscription ends, with backup copies removed on their normal schedule.
The Master Terms define Customer Data to include material generated or processed using the software, so outputs are covered. No retention period is stated for prompts and outputs held on the platform during the subscription, and no zero retention setting is offered.
Ethical Walls and Matter Segregation
Does retrieval respect the firm’s ethical walls, or can the model read across them?
No located public material addresses walls or matter level segregation.
Whether the agent's retrieval honors each user's matter permissions has no described answer. The Lito site states that the agent reads from iManage, NetDocuments, documents, emails, timecards and financial data and that MCP connectors are governed centrally, without saying whether retrieval enforces the source system's permissions for each user. The Security Addendum addresses separation of Litera's environments and personnel access, not separation between a customer's matters.
Litera's trust center lists a Firm AI Search FAQ and a security FAQ behind a Get access request. A customer testimonial describing a closed system is a customer's statement, not the vendor's.
Third Party Request and Subpoena Notice
If someone subpoenas the vendor for a firm’s data, does the firm hear about it first?
Terms commit to notice where lawfully permitted. No transparency report located.
The published terms commit to notice where lawfully permitted; no transparency report is published. The Master Terms, Version November 2025, section 5.1, make Customer Data the customer's Confidential Information and permit disclosure required by law, court order, subpoena or regulatory demand only to the extent required and after due notice to the other party unless notice is prohibited by law. The commitment is mutual and general rather than specific to law enforcement requests for customer data, and no transparency report or request statistics are published.
Primary Law Corpus Provenance
Where does the law in this product come from, and does the vendor have the right to use it?
Sources are identified without stating the license or rights basis.
The sources behind the product's answers are identified, and no license basis is stated for the public material. Litera ships no collection of law. The Lito site describes a knowledge layer of the firm's own templates, clauses, playbooks and precedent and a data layer of the firm's documents, emails, timecards and financial data. The subprocessor register states that You.com supplies web search over publicly available information to support AI generated responses.
The firm's own content belongs to the customer under section 6.2 of the Master Terms. No rights basis or update cadence is stated for the web results, and no legal research source is named, although legal research appears as a data source on the Lito site.
Good Law Verification
Does the product tell you when the authority it just cited has been overruled?
No located public material addresses whether authority is checked for subsequent history.
Good law status stays with the firm's research tool, since the product is not built to cite authority. Lito drafts, compares and reviews against the firm's own documents and playbooks and searches the public web through You.com. Nothing published describes a citator, a treatment signal or a verification prompt for legal citations. A firm using Lito to draft a brief would be relying on its research tool, not on Litera, for whether authority is still good law.
Refusal and Uncertainty Behavior
What does the product do when the answer is not in the corpus?
No located public material addresses what the product does when it cannot ground an answer.
The generative features have no described response to an answer they cannot ground. The Lito site states that every recommendation shows its reasoning and its source, which is a provenance display rather than an abstention path, and the Generative AI Terms, Version April 2026, section 3(c), warn that outputs may be inaccurate or misleading and place verification on the customer without describing a refusal, a confidence score or a no answer state.
The deterministic engines are described as returning the same result every time, which is a statement about the rules based layer, not about generative uncertainty.
Fabricated Citation Record
Does a public court record exist addressing fabricated or hallucinated legal citations in output from this product?
No court order, opinion or disciplinary record addressing fabricated or hallucinated legal citations produced by this product has been located as of the date shown. This is a statement about the public record on that one subject, not a finding about the product, and this signal is not a litigation history.
The AI Hallucination Cases database maintained by Damien Charlotin, and general sanctions coverage, record no court order, opinion or disciplinary record naming Litera, Lito or Kira. The decisions recorded name general purpose chatbots and other legal research products, and the single match on Kira is a judge's forename in a California appellate decision, not the product. Lito drafts and reviews and does not generate citations to legal authority.
Bar Guidance Alignment
Has the vendor engaged in public with the ethics opinions its buyers are bound by?
Public materials refer to professional responsibility in general terms without naming guidance.
Professional responsibility is engaged in general terms and no ethics opinion or regulator guidance on lawyers' use of AI is named. The Generative AI Terms, Version April 2026, section 3(d), state that the generative features are not professional advice, cannot replace a qualified professional and form no attorney client relationship, and section 3(c) places verification on the customer; the Lito site says the lawyer keeps judgment.
Litera also advertises a CLE program. Nothing published names ABA Formal Opinion 512, a state bar opinion or any court's standing order.
Billing and Fee Posture
Does the vendor address what happens to the bill when the work takes an hour instead of six?
Public materials claim time savings without addressing billing or disclosure, and the product sits inside a fee relationship between a lawyer and a client where those savings would change the bill.
The product sits inside law firms' fee relationships with their clients, and the published position on the bill is a savings claim. The Lito site leads with reviewing and redlining contracts in minutes rather than hours and a ninety percent efficiency gain counter. It frames saved time as better work, stronger relationships and profitable growth, and Litera's home page says firms that bought AI to save time rarely know what the time returned.
Nothing published addresses how AI assisted drafting or review is recorded on a client matter or disclosed on a bill. The products are sold to law firms that bill clients as well as to in house teams.
Outside Counsel Guideline Readiness
Can a firm get this vendor through a client’s AI clause without a bespoke negotiation?
A subprocessor and model provider list plus client facing disclosure material is published or available without an agreement in place.
A subprocessor and model provider list and material a firm can forward to clients are published without an agreement in place. The subprocessor register is public and organized by product. The Litera One / Lito entry names Microsoft Azure with its regions, Amazon Bedrock and Anthropic for model inference with what each retains, and You.com for web search, with a registration link for change notices. The Master Data Protection Addendum is published on the website, and the Generative AI Terms and Security Addendum are published as standalone documents.
Together they state the training prohibition, the retention position and the incident notice a firm needs to answer a client's AI clause. What a firm cannot forward is the SOC 2 report, which sits behind a Get access request on the trust center.
Court Disclosure Support
If a judge’s standing order requires an AI disclosure, can the product produce one?
No located public material addresses court disclosure or verification certification.
Reasoning and sources show inside the product, but nothing leaves it as a court ready record. The Lito site states that recommendations display their reasoning and source inside the product and that the deterministic engines return repeatable results; nothing describes an exportable record for each document of the model used, the sources retrieved and the human verification performed, and no disclosure template or guidance for standing orders is published.