O
OpenText eDiscovery
OpenText eDiscovery is an electronic discovery platform covering collection, processing, analysis, review and production, sold to corporate legal departments, law firms and investigating authorities for litigation, internal investigations and regulatory matters. It offers more than 45 data source connectors, deduplication, predictive search, a viewer with redaction, and review of audio and video in native and transcribed form.
Technology assisted review has been part of the platform for more than fifteen years and includes TAR 2.0 with continuous active learning. The generative AI features, branded OpenText eDiscovery Aviator, summarize key documents with document ID citations, reduce first pass responsiveness review, and run agents that plan multistep search and review work from a goal in plain language. The models are Anthropic's, reached through Amazon Bedrock from the customer's own AWS environment, and OpenText states that customer data, prompts and outputs are never used for training.
Deployment can be public cloud, private cloud, on premises, hybrid or managed service. Named customers include the UK Serious Fraud Office, Bosch, Gleiss Lutz, Eversheds Sutherland and Pillsbury. The product was formerly OpenText Axcelerate. Open Text Corporation is headquartered in Waterloo, Ontario and listed on Nasdaq and the TSX as OTEX.
OpenText eDiscovery, head to head
Side by side on the same 15 capability axes and 12 legal signals: where the two part company, and what neither one publishes.
Alternatives to OpenText eDiscovery
Vendors in the same categories as OpenText eDiscovery whose graded profiles look most alike, with a line on what each product does.
Similar is not the same, so check that each one does the job you need. No vendor pays for placement.
- PPrevailPrevail is a testimony management and court reporting platform from Prevail Legal, Inc. of San Diego, built for depositions, arbitration hearings, internal investigations and other proceedings.
- CCaseMarkCaseMark turns a litigation record into the work product a matter needs, with each statement cited back to the page it came from.
- DDISCODISCO is a cloud ediscovery and litigation platform covering hold, ediscovery, review, timelines, deposition management and case building, sold to law firms, corporate legal teams and government.
- EEpiq AIEpiq AI is the AI product line of Epiq Systems, Inc., a New York legal services and technology company whose other businesses include class action and bankruptcy administration, managed…
- BBriefCatchBriefCatch is legal writing and citation checking software for lawyers, judges and courts, used in Microsoft Word, Outlook or a browser.
- CCasepointCasepoint is an eDiscovery and data discovery platform for government agencies, corporate legal departments and law firms.
Ordered by how closely the graded profiles match across the 15 capability axes, inside the same categories. See how each axis is graded in the methodology.
Capability grades
All 15 axes, graded from public sources on the date shown. Hover a grade to see what the letter means on that axis.
AI Centrality
How much of the product is actually AI. Whether the machine learning is the mechanism the buyer is paying for or a feature layered onto conventional software, and whether the vendor is specific about which is which.
OpenText's FAQ calls Aviator a suite of LLM powered features built into OpenText eDiscovery: key document summary, summarization, concept label summaries, Review, Rapid Exploration and Agents. Aviator Review reduces or eliminates first pass responsiveness review, with sampling and token estimates before a full run, and Aviator Agents plan and run multistep search, review and summarization from a goal in natural language.
The platform underneath predates the models: more than 45 connectors, deduplication, predictive search, redaction, audio and video review, and technology assisted review with continuous active learning offered for more than fifteen years. Without the generative layer, a customer still has a full eDiscovery platform with its own machine learning review engine.
Citation Accuracy and Hallucination Disclosure
Whether the vendor publishes measured accuracy on citations and assertions, grounds output to primary sources, and says plainly what its system does when it does not know. Legal has a documented public record of fabricated citations reaching filed briefs, so an untested claim of accuracy is not evidence.
Key document summaries carry document ID citations so users can confirm them, and the AI reads the customer's own collected evidence, so a reviewer can always check the source document. OpenText publishes 90 percent or better recall with optimized workflows, alongside 88 percent faster review and 75 percent cost savings against manual review, which measure effort rather than correctness. Nothing states the matter, volume or protocol behind the recall figure, and optimized workflows is not defined.
One limitation is stated: according to the FAQ, the model has multilingual capabilities, but primary testing and validation have been on English language documents and prompts, which matters for cross border investigations.
Autonomy and Oversight Model
What the system decides on its own, what a lawyer must approve, and whether the vendor documents where the review point sits. A tool that drafts under review and a tool that files without one are different products and different risks.
Clause 11.3 of the Cloud Services Use and Delivery Terms says AI Components do not replace decisions and judgment by natural individuals, that they provide added knowledge to support those decisions, and that the customer remains solely responsible for decisions based on outputs; it also prohibits unacceptable risk use under the EU AI Act. Clause 11.1 says customer chosen parameters and inputs may carry assumptions, biases and limitations.
The vendor calls its approach GenAI human assisted review, summaries carry document ID citations, and Aviator Review lets a team test criteria on sample data with token estimates before committing to a full set. No threshold is published at which a feature acts alone or escalates, nothing says what an Agent will not attempt, and nothing describes what happens after an output is found to be wrong. Clause 11.3 is a general statement across all AI Components, not a limit tied to a named mode.
Operational and Outcome Evidence
Named, dated evidence that the product works in production at real firms or legal departments. Case studies with figures and identified customers count. Unattributed testimonials and launch announcements do not.
The UK Serious Fraud Office is named as a customer, with Richard Day quoted saying the platform transformed how the agency investigates and is embedded in its workflows. Bosch and the law firms Gleiss Lutz, Eversheds Sutherland and Pillsbury are also named. Published figures include 75 percent cost savings against manual review, 88 percent faster document review, 90 percent or better recall, up to 88 percent cost savings on the product page, and 48,756 documents reviewed in under two weeks.
The named customers carry no figures, and the figures come from unnamed deployments described as a global technology leader and a major housing provider. Nothing is dated and no method accompanies any figure.
Privilege and Confidentiality Posture
How client confidences are handled: attorney client privilege and work product treatment, segregation of one client matter from another, whether client data trains any model, and what the vendor commits to in writing rather than in marketing.
Customer data, prompts and outputs are never used for training, and OpenText states it does not train models. Each LLM interaction is a separate session scoped to one project, and results are not shared across projects. The eDiscovery terms require OpenText's conflicts check to be completed before the service is provided for a matter. The provider is named, and session data is deleted from Amazon Bedrock at close, with Bedrock not storing or logging customer data.
Clause 5.2 says the customer owns its Content, and clause 9 binds both parties to confidence for the term and three years after. Privilege and work product are not addressed by name in the published material. Retention and deletion are left to Supplemental Terms under clause 6.5, which says OpenText need not retain or delete Content except as agreed. Clause 11.4 says OpenText does not guarantee privacy protection, rights to use or output accuracy for large language model components.
UPL and Professional Responsibility Posture
Whether the vendor is clear that it supplies a tool rather than legal advice, who its audience is, and how it addresses unauthorized practice of law, competence and supervision duties, and jurisdiction limits. ABA Formal Opinion 512 is the reference point. Where the advice line is not the duty a product raises, the axis is read through the nearest professional duty it does raise: judicial conduct rules and the reviewing duty for products sold only to courts, and the duty to bill for time actually spent for products that draft time entries.
Clause 11.3 says AI Components do not replace decisions and judgment by natural individuals, that they provide added knowledge to support them, and that the customer remains solely responsible for decisions and judgments based on outputs. It prohibits unacceptable risk use under the EU AI Act or industry standards. Clause 11.6 makes the customer responsible for laws on AI use in its own processes, and clause 3.2 adds compliance with laws on AI systems.
The subscription may be used only for the customer's legal or regulatory matters, and access may not be given to a managed service, eDiscovery or document review company without written consent. The vendor describes its approach as human assisted review and says agentic AI strengthens rather than replaces legal judgment. Nothing addresses supervision or competence, no professional conduct rule or bar authority is named, and no jurisdiction limit is stated.
AI Governance and Bias Disclosure
Published governance over model behavior: who owns it inside the vendor, what is tested before release, and what is disclosed about disparate output across matter types, parties, or populations.
Clause 11.1 of the agreement says a customer's parameters and inputs may carry assumptions, biases and limitations that affect output quality, and clause 11.2 makes input quality the customer's sole responsibility. Clause 11.3 prohibits unacceptable risk use under the EU AI Act, clause 11.6 puts compliance with AI law on the customer, and clause 11.4 says OpenText does not guarantee the accuracy of outputs from large language model components.
No responsible AI page for this product is published, no owner for model behavior is named, no testing regime is described, and no evaluation results are published. The agreement treats bias as a property of the customer's inputs, and nothing addresses bias in outputs across custodians, languages and document types.
AI Safety and Data Stewardship
Retention, deletion, access control, and what happens to prompts and documents after they are processed. Whether the vendor states its subprocessors and its incident practice, or leaves the buyer to assume.
The Aviator FAQ describes the data flow step by step: a session is opened with the model through the Amazon Bedrock API from the customer's own AWS environment, the prompt and document text go out, the response comes back, and the session closes with all data deleted from Bedrock, which does not store or log customer data. Each feature interaction is a separate session scoped to one project, and the model is a deep copy hosted by Bedrock with no internet access.
Training is excluded. Clause 7.4 provides audit report summaries on written request under a confidentiality agreement. No subprocessor list is published: the Data Processing Addendum takes general authorization with a thirty day objection and termination route, and AWS is named only in the agreement. No incident or breach notification practice is published. Platform retention is left to Supplemental Terms under clause 6.5, and clause 10 allows deletion after termination to be delayed up to 180 days by the cloud provider.
AI Liability and Recourse
What the vendor stands behind contractually when its output is wrong. Indemnities, caps, carve outs, insurance, and whether any of it is published or only reachable through a negotiated agreement.
The agreement has a dedicated Artificial Intelligence Technologies section. Clause 11.3 says OpenText has no liability for the creation or use of outputs or for decisions based on them, which are the customer's sole responsibility. Clause 11.4 says that for large language model components the technology may limit privacy protection, rights to use and output accuracy, and OpenText guarantees none of the three. Clause 11.5 says third party AI components may carry extra terms.
Clause 7.4 entitles the customer to summaries of SOC 1 Type II, SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 assurance on request under confidentiality, and clause 2.3 requires OpenText to explain and discuss any change with a material adverse effect on functionality. No liability cap appears in these terms, which leave caps to order documents and supplemental terms. No vendor indemnity, AI service level or insurance position is published.
Practice Systems Integration Depth
How deeply the product reaches into the systems legal work already lives in: document management such as iManage and NetDocuments, Word and Outlook, contract lifecycle management, matter management, e-billing, and court filing systems.
More than 45 data source connectors feed the platform; on a discovery product the source systems are custodians' mail, chat and file stores. OpenText Connectors for Private Cloud is a paid extra in the purchase table. The platform sits in a Legal Tech family with OpenText Investigation, Core Insight, Core Legal Hold and Legal Knowledge Management, and the agreement names AWS as the infrastructure. Audio and video are ingested and made searchable in native and transcribed form.
No individual source system is named on the product pages, no direction of flow is described, and nothing says what a customer must configure for a connector.
Deployment Model and Data Residency
Where the software runs and where the data sits. Multi tenant cloud, single tenant, private deployment, on premises, and whether region of residence is a published option or an enterprise conversation.
The purchase table names public cloud, private cloud and managed service, the product page adds on premises and hybrid, and a deployment checklist is published. The company also offers a sovereign cloud and publishes a private cloud availability map by region. The Aviator FAQ says the features are available to cloud customers whether single tenant or multitenant. The agreement names AWS as the infrastructure for the eDiscovery Services and says the AWS Customer Agreement governs its use.
Availability is described as all AWS regions: no region is committed for a given customer, no residency guarantee is published, and where inference runs relative to the evidence is not stated, though the Bedrock session starts from the customer's own AWS environment. Clause 10 allows deletion after termination to be delayed up to 180 days by the infrastructure provider.
Security Certifications and Trust Center
Independent attestation a buyer can pull without a sales call: SOC 2, ISO 27001, penetration test summaries, a trust center with current reports and named scope rather than a badge image.
OpenText describes an information security management system based on ISO/IEC 27001 with the ISO 27002 control set, aligned to the NIST Cybersecurity Framework, says it runs regular Service Organization Controls audits, and publishes a security paper naming SOC 2, HITRUST, PCI DSS, HIPAA, SWIFT, TISAX, CyberEssentials+ and FedRAMP across its estate. Clause 7.4 of the agreement commits OpenText, on written request, to provide summaries of SOC 1 Type II, SOC 2 Type II and the ISO 27001 certificate, and lets a customer check other controls through a Shared Assessments Security Information Gathering form.
Reports come only on written request under a confidentiality agreement, and no report, date or certificate can be reached without that step. Nothing published says whether OpenText eDiscovery itself sits inside the ISO or SOC scope.
Model Supply Chain Disclosure
Which models sit underneath, whose they are, where they run, and whether the vendor commits to telling customers when that changes. A legal buyer inherits every dependency it cannot see.
OpenText's FAQ names Anthropic, reached through the Amazon Bedrock API from the customer's own OpenText eDiscovery AWS environment, with availability in all AWS regions. Bedrock makes a deep copy of the model and hosts it, the provider has no read or write access, the model has no internet access, each interaction is a separate session scoped to one project, session data is deleted from Bedrock at close, and Bedrock does not store or log customer data.
The agreement names AWS as an OpenText Licensor for the eDiscovery Services. No model name, version or family is given, and nothing says what happens if the model changes. No commitment to notify customers of a model change is published; the Data Processing Addendum gives a thirty day objection and termination right on notice of a new subprocessor, which is a contract route rather than a notice commitment.
Commercial Transparency
Whether a buyer can learn what this costs without entering a sales process: published rates, the unit being charged, what sits behind an enterprise tier, and what implementation adds.
The capability set and delivery options are published and the price is not. A How to buy table lists what a subscription includes: OpenText eDiscovery Aviator, technology assisted review, self service data processing, predictive search and an integrated viewer with redaction, with OpenText Connectors for Private Cloud as a paid extra. A second table names public cloud, private cloud and managed service, alongside a deployment checklist.
The Aviator page describes on demand, multiple matter subscription and private cloud options for the AI features. No rate, unit, per gigabyte or per custodian price, minimum or implementation charge appears, and every route leads to Contact us or Speak with an expert. Aviator Review gives token estimates on sample data before a full run, which the vendor markets as cost certainty; that helps existing customers and is not published pricing.
Firm and Practice Coverage
Who the product is actually built for. AmLaw, midlaw, small firm and solo, in house departments, government and courts, and which practice areas are supported rather than merely claimed.
Matters named are litigation, internal investigations, regulatory compliance, and personal data protection through automated detection and redaction using a preconfigured pattern library and custom regular expressions. Three use cases are published: case strategy and early case assessment, collection through production, and personal data protection. Named customers span an investigating authority, the UK Serious Fraud Office; a corporate legal department, Bosch; and the law firms Gleiss Lutz, Eversheds Sutherland and Pillsbury.
Training is a four day instructor led case manager certification. No matter type is named as unsupported, no data volume ceiling is published, and no jurisdictional limit is stated. According to the AI FAQ, Aviator validation has been mainly on English language documents and prompts.
3 public documents
The public pages on file for OpenText eDiscovery, with the recorded signals each one supports and the date it was last read. Open any of them and check the reading against the record.
-
Client Data in Training, Prompt and Output Retention, Ethical Walls and Matter Segregation and 3 more
Read Sep 13, 2026
-
opentext.com/products/ediscovery3 signals
Primary Law Corpus Provenance, Good Law Verification, Court Disclosure Support
Read Sep 13, 2026
-
Third Party Request and Subpoena Notice, Bar Guidance Alignment
Read Sep 13, 2026
No published figure
- OpenText publishes what an eDiscovery subscription contains but not what it costs. A subscription includes the AI features branded eDiscovery Aviator, technology assisted review, self service data processing, predictive search and an integrated viewer with redaction. Connectors for private cloud are a paid extra. It runs in public cloud, private cloud, as a managed service, on premises or hybrid, and a published checklist covers the choice. There is no rate card, no per user or per gigabyte figure, no minimum and no implementation charge, and every path ends at a contact form. Aviator Review gives customers token estimates on a sample before a full run. Data retention and return are set in the Supplemental Terms for each order rather than published, and deletion after termination can be delayed up to 180 days by the cloud provider.
OpenText publishes the capability set and delivery options, with no figure at any level and no stated unit of charge. The product page's How to buy table lists what a subscription includes: OpenText eDiscovery Aviator, technology assisted review, self service data processing, predictive search and an integrated viewer with redaction, with OpenText Connectors for Private Cloud as a paid extra. A second table names public cloud, private cloud and managed service, and the product page adds on premises and hybrid.
The Aviator page offers on demand, multiple matter subscription and private cloud options for the AI features, available to cloud customers in all AWS regions after signing the paperwork and contacting a representative. Aviator Review gives existing customers token estimates on sample data before a full run. Managed review is offered as a package described as saving a further 10 to 20 percent. Subscription terms sit in the order document and Supplemental Terms, which are not published, and clause 2.2 of the Cloud Services Use and Delivery Terms says Supplemental Terms prevail where they conflict.
Confidentiality and data terms: HIPAA is addressed in the contract rather than as a certification: the Data Processing Addendum provides that the customer shall not provide protected health information to OpenText without a mutually agreed Business Associate Agreement in place, so a BAA is available but must be negotiated. A global Data Processing Addendum, effective 1 September 2024 and applying across jurisdictions, supersedes the earlier online version and sits alongside a versioned archive of prior releases. It takes a general authorization to engage subprocessors, describing them as OpenText affiliates and their vendors and as subcontractors without naming any, and gives the customer thirty days from notice of a new subprocessor to object, with termination of the affected part of the services as the remedy and deemed acceptance if no objection is made. Audit rights are limited to remote audits and to reliance on existing certifications and reports where possible. Under clause 7.4 of the Cloud Services Use and Delivery Terms, on written request and where the customer has entered a confidentiality agreement, OpenText will provide summaries of third party audit reports and certifications applicable to the services, naming SOC 1 Type II, SOC 2 Type II and the ISO 27001 certificate, with scope gaps verifiable through a Shared Assessments Security Information Gathering form. At company level, OpenText describes an ISMS based on ISO/IEC 27001 using ISO 27002 controls and aligned to the NIST Cybersecurity Framework, with regular SOC audits.
Note: No entry price is recorded because no figure is published at any level and no unit of charge is stated: nothing says whether the subscription is priced per user, matter, gigabyte, custodian or document reviewed. The OpenText eDiscovery product page, the eDiscovery Aviator page and the Cloud Services Use and Delivery Terms v2.0, dated November 2025, publish the capability table, the named paid extra and the three named delivery options. Every commercial route is Contact us, Speak with an expert or Let's talk. Subscription terms sit in the order document and Supplemental Terms, neither published; Supplemental Terms also hold the retention and return terms under clause 6.5, so no retention period is recorded either.
Legal Signals
What each signal meansA signal records what public sources say on the date shown. It is not a grade and it is not a recommendation. Where a signal reads Not addressed, it means the index did not locate the material in public sources on that date, which is a statement about disclosure rather than about the product.
Client Data in Training
Can material a lawyer puts into this product be used to train a model?
A public policy or trust page states no training on customer content, with no matching term located in the published agreement.
OpenText states it does not train models, that the models are pretrained by the provider, and that customer data, prompts and outputs are never used to train the model; it adds that results are not shared across projects. The published architecture supports this: each interaction is a separate session through the Amazon Bedrock API from the customer's own AWS environment, the session closes with all data deleted from Bedrock, Bedrock does not store or log customer data, and the model is a deep copy hosted by Bedrock with no provider read or write access and no internet access.
Clause 11 of the Cloud Services Use and Delivery Terms, on Artificial Intelligence Technologies, contains no training permission and no reservation of rights over inputs or outputs, and no term in the agreement matches the published exclusion. Clause 12.5 reserves anonymized Services Statistics to OpenText, which concerns statistical knowledge, not model training.
Prompt and Output Retention
How long does the product keep what a lawyer typed, and can that be set to zero?
Retention is acknowledged in public materials with no stated period.
At the model provider, once a session closes no session data remains on the Amazon Bedrock or model side, and Bedrock does not store or log customer data in its service logs. Each feature interaction is a separate session scoped to one project, with a deep copy of the model hosted by Bedrock that has no internet access. Within the platform no period is published: clause 6.5 leaves any retention period and return service to Supplemental Terms, which are not published, and says OpenText has no obligation to retain, delete or return Content except as agreed.
That covers the evidence and the summaries and review determinations the AI produces from it. Clause 10 says deletion requests after termination may be delayed up to 180 days by the cloud infrastructure provider, with confidentiality and use limits still applying.
Ethical Walls and Matter Segregation
Does retrieval respect the firm’s ethical walls, or can the model read across them?
The product maintains its own permission model, documented, requiring the firm to keep it aligned.
OpenText separates work by matter in two places. In the AI layer, interaction with the model is at project level, a separate session is created for each feature interaction, and results are not shared across projects. In the agreement, the subscription may be used only for the customer's legal or regulatory matters, and OpenText supplies the eDiscovery Services only for matters that have passed OpenText's own conflicts check.
The same clause bars giving access to a managed service, eDiscovery or document review company or consultant without written consent. The AI features are available to single tenant and multitenant cloud customers. No roles inside a matter are listed, nothing describes how review team access is granted or revoked, and privilege review as a walled workflow is not described.
Third Party Request and Subpoena Notice
If someone subpoenas the vendor for a firm’s data, does the firm hear about it first?
Terms reserve discretion over whether to notify.
Clause 9 of the agreement requires the receiving party, where lawfully permitted, to promptly notify the other of a legally required disclosure so it can contest it or seek a protective order. But limb (iv) of the same clause excludes Content, meaning the customer's uploaded data, from Confidential Information. Content falls under clause 6, which covers responsibility, security and retention and says nothing about third party demands, so notice for the customer's own data is left to OpenText.
Clause 12.2 lets OpenText notify law enforcement if it sees suspected child sexual abuse material, believes continued performance would aid a crime, or finds evidence of a planned crime, and in that event OpenText may notify the customer. No transparency report is published. A discovery platform holds material already under legal process.
Primary Law Corpus Provenance
Where does the law in this product come from, and does the vendor have the right to use it?
No located public material identifies the corpus behind the product’s answers.
The product uses no body of law or licensed content. The AI works on the customer's own collected evidence, ingested through more than 45 data source connectors from custodians' mail, chat, file and audio visual stores, and summarizes, labels and classifies within that set. The models are stated to be pretrained by the provider, and OpenText states it does not train them; what the provider trained on is not disclosed on the product page, the Aviator page and FAQ, the Cloud Services Use and Delivery Terms, the privacy center or the certifications material.
The eDiscovery terms note that parts of the software may include free or open source code, for which OpenText undertakes to obtain authorization, which concerns software licensing rather than content.
Good Law Verification
Does the product tell you when the authority it just cited has been overruled?
No located public material addresses whether authority is checked for subsequent history.
OpenText eDiscovery does not cite law: it ingests, processes, reviews and produces the customer's own evidence, and the AI features summarize documents, label concepts and classify responsiveness within that set. No case, statute or regulation is cited to the user, and no material addresses checking authority for later history. The nearest concern is defensibility, meaning whether early review determinations still hold after criteria change.
Teams can refine criteria on sample data before a full run, but nothing on the product page, the Aviator page and FAQ, the agreement or the privacy center describes how earlier classifications are reconciled when criteria are revised.
Refusal and Uncertainty Behavior
What does the product do when the answer is not in the corpus?
No located public material addresses what the product does when it cannot ground an answer.
Nothing on the product page, the Aviator page and FAQ, the agreement or the privacy center describes what the system does when it cannot produce a reliable answer. The published controls sit around the model: Aviator Review lets a team test criteria on sample data and read token estimates before a full run, summaries carry document ID citations, and a recall figure of 90 percent or better is published, which leaves room for some responsive material to be missed.
Nothing says a low confidence classification is flagged for human review, that a document is routed to a reviewer rather than coded, that a confidence score attaches to a responsiveness call, or that the system reports when it cannot summarize a document. In discovery, a wrong responsiveness call with no uncertainty signal is a document that never reaches review.
Fabricated Citation Record
Does a public court record exist addressing fabricated or hallucinated legal citations in output from this product?
No court order, opinion or disciplinary record addressing fabricated or hallucinated legal citations produced by this product has been located as of the date shown. This is a statement about the public record on that one subject, not a finding about the product, and this signal is not a litigation history.
The AI Hallucination Cases database maintained by Damien Charlotin records no case naming OpenText, OpenText eDiscovery, eDiscovery Aviator or Axcelerate, the former product name. No decision, sanction or disciplinary referral in reporting on AI fabricated citations names them either. The AI features summarize and classify the customer's own evidence and cite documents by identifier within the matter, rather than citing legal authority. This is a statement about the public record rather than a finding about the product.
Bar Guidance Alignment
Has the vendor engaged in public with the ethics opinions its buyers are bound by?
Public materials refer to professional responsibility in general terms without naming guidance.
Clause 11.3 of the agreement says AI Components do not replace judgment by natural individuals and that the customer is solely responsible for decisions based on outputs, and prohibits unacceptable risk use under the EU AI Act or industry standards. Clause 11.6 makes the customer responsible for identifying and following laws on AI use in particular contexts, and clause 3.2 lists compliance with laws on AI systems among its duties.
No bar association, professional conduct rule, court guidance, standing order or ethics opinion is cited in any jurisdiction. In discovery, courts have set expectations on disclosing and validating machine assisted processes.
Billing and Fee Posture
Does the vendor address what happens to the bill when the work takes an hour instead of six?
The product sits inside a lawyer to client fee relationship and no located public material addresses billing, fee or disclosure treatment, with no savings claim published either.
Nothing published addresses what happens to the client's bill when AI assisted work replaces hours of review. OpenText sells to law firms, three of them named as customers, and eDiscovery cost is a typical matter disbursement passed on to clients. Its claims are framed in cost terms: 75 percent cost savings against manual review, 88 percent faster review, document review described as more than 75 percent of discovery costs, and a managed review option marketed as saving a further 10 to 20 percent.
No per matter record separating AI and human review is described, nothing marks an Aviator determination as machine made for a fee narrative, and no guidance on fee or disclosure treatment is offered. Aviator Review's upfront token estimates price the vendor's own charge for a job, not a record of AI assisted work for a client's bill.
Outside Counsel Guideline Readiness
Can a firm get this vendor through a client’s AI clause without a bespoke negotiation?
A current subprocessor or model provider list is published.
The model provider is Anthropic, reached through Amazon Bedrock; according to the FAQ, the session runs from the customer's own AWS environment and closes with all data deleted from Bedrock, which does not store or log customer data. Material that can be forwarded includes a global Data Processing Addendum effective 1 September 2024, the Cloud Services Use and Delivery Terms published in full with an eDiscovery section naming AWS as infrastructure provider, and clause 7.4 rights to SOC 1 Type II, SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 summaries on request under confidentiality.
No current subprocessor list is published: the Data Processing Addendum describes subprocessors only by category, as OpenText affiliates and their vendors and as subcontractors, naming none, with a thirty day objection window and termination as the remedy.
Court Disclosure Support
If a judge’s standing order requires an AI disclosure, can the product produce one?
No located public material addresses court disclosure or verification certification.
Nothing on the product page, the Aviator page and FAQ, or the agreement addresses disclosing AI involvement to a court or opposing party. Discovery is where machine assistance is routinely disclosed and negotiated: review protocols are exchanged, validation methods agreed, and a producing party may have to defend how a set was culled. OpenText says its technology assisted review has delivered defensible process for more than fifteen years and publishes a recall figure.
No record is described of which documents an Aviator feature classified rather than a human, no export or report shows the model's role in a production, no statistical validation output or certification template is offered, and no guidance covers disclosing the generative features in a protocol or meet and confer. Aviator Review's sampling and token estimates are a cost and quality control, and document IDs in summaries point to sources rather than showing how a summary was made.