P
Philips SpeechLive

Philips SpeechLive is a cloud dictation, speech recognition and transcription platform sold by Speech Processing Solutions, with a legal edition, SpeechLive Legal, for solicitors, barristers, legal executives and in house counsel. Lawyers record on a mobile app, in a browser or on Philips dictation hardware, and route recordings to a typist or to speech recognition. Speech Recognition Legal is an engine tuned to legal terminology and case citations, dictates at the cursor in any program and transcribes hearings with up to ten speakers.

The Legal AI Assistant, an add on, turns a dictation and any attached documents, PDFs or images into a draft on the firm's own or a system template. The lawyer edits the draft by text or voice and exports it to Word or PDF. Nothing is sent without the lawyer's approval. The platform runs on Microsoft Azure with data stored by region, uses Azure OpenAI Service hosted in Azure, and connects with iManage and Actionstep. Prices are published per user. SpeechLive reports more than 60,000 legal and business professionals as users.

Capability grades

All 15 axes, graded from public sources on the date shown. Hover a grade to see what the letter means on that axis.

BB on AI CentralityThe models are the engine of a core capability, layered on a product that would still function without them as a document or workflow system.

AI Centrality

How much of the product is actually AI. Whether the machine learning is the mechanism the buyer is paying for or a feature layered onto conventional software, and whether the vendor is specific about which is which.

SpeechLive began as a dictation workflow, and the base plan still records, uploads and routes dictations to a typist with no speech recognition. AI carries the legal edition. Speech Recognition Legal turns audio into text with legal terminology and case citations, punctuates and corrects automatically, separates up to ten speakers and adds AI summaries and next step suggestions. The Legal AI Assistant extracts key facts from a dictation and supporting files and fills a template section by section, then takes edits as natural language commands. The workflow, typist routing and hardware would still work without the models.

Source: Vendor Published
CC on Citation Accuracy and Hallucination DisclosureAccuracy is asserted without measurement, or grounding is claimed while output cites sources the reader cannot open and verify.

Citation Accuracy and Hallucination Disclosure

Whether the vendor publishes measured accuracy on citations and assertions, grounds output to primary sources, and says plainly what its system does when it does not know. Legal has a documented public record of fabricated citations reaching filed briefs, so an untested claim of accuracy is not evidence.

Speech Recognition Legal is described as recognizing legal terminology and case citations that general engines mis transcribe and as reliable in noisy, multi speaker hearings, and the Legal AI Assistant as producing accurate structured drafts. No error rate, test set or comparison is published for either. The original audio stays attached to each transcript so an assistant can listen again while proofreading. The terms disclaim any warranty of accuracy.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on Autonomy and Oversight ModelA written commitment that the models work alongside a supervising lawyer, with real review surfaces, short of the full control structure: commonly the threshold at which the system stops or what happens after it is wrong.

Autonomy and Oversight Model

What the system decides on its own, what a lawyer must approve, and whether the vendor documents where the review point sits. A tool that drafts under review and a tool that files without one are different products and different risks.

Every draft from the Legal AI Assistant is prepared for the lawyer's review, and SpeechLive states that nothing goes out without the lawyer's approval. The lawyer edits by hand or by voice and text commands, then exports or sends the draft to a typist inside the workflow. Correction of speech recognition output can be delegated to an assistant with the original audio as reference. What the assistant does when a dictation lacks a fact a template needs is not described.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on Operational and Outcome EvidenceReal deployment evidence with substance, short of full attribution or measurement: a named customer without figures, or figures without the named customer.

Operational and Outcome Evidence

Named, dated evidence that the product works in production at real firms or legal departments. Case studies with figures and identified customers count. Unattributed testimonials and launch announcements do not.

More than 60,000 legal and business professionals use the platform, by the company's count. The legal pages name Reminger Attorneys at Law as a user and carry a success story with The Law Group on streamlining legal workflows. The legal industry page says attorneys can file or share documents immediately and bill more hours, with no figures or method attached. No measured result exists yet for the Legal AI Assistant, which is described as new.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on Privilege and Confidentiality PostureSubstantive published commitments on confidentiality and training use, short of the full picture: commonly silence on segregation between users or matters, or on what the underlying model provider may retain.

Privilege and Confidentiality Posture

How client confidences are handled: attorney client privilege and work product treatment, segregation of one client matter from another, whether client data trains any model, and what the vendor commits to in writing rather than in marketing.

Customer information is never shared with any AI model provider, other customers or third parties, according to the data security page. It is not used to train, retrain or improve any AI models or other products without explicit permission. The privacy policy says the Azure OpenAI Service in use is hosted in Microsoft's Azure environment and does not interact with services operated by OpenAI, and that personal data is not used as training data.

Information processed by the AI is deleted after processing, partner transcription servers do not keep dictations, and staff with file access are trained and sign nondisclosure agreements. Role based access controls are described. Privilege and work product are not addressed, and how matters are separated inside a firm is not described.

Source: Vendor Published
CC on UPL and Professional Responsibility PostureA boilerplate disclaimer sits in the terms while the marketing describes the product in advice terms, or the intended audience is left ambiguous.

UPL and Professional Responsibility Posture

Whether the vendor is clear that it supplies a tool rather than legal advice, who its audience is, and how it addresses unauthorized practice of law, competence and supervision duties, and jurisdiction limits. ABA Formal Opinion 512 is the reference point. Where the advice line is not the duty a product raises, the axis is read through the nearest professional duty it does raise: judicial conduct rules and the reviewing duty for products sold only to courts, and the duty to bill for time actually spent for products that draft time entries.

The legal edition is sold to lawyers as a documentation tool, and its pages say the lawyer reviews and approves every draft before it leaves. No statement addresses whether drafts amount to legal advice, how the product supports a lawyer's competence or supervision duties, or which jurisdictions its templates are built for. The general terms disclaim any warranty of accuracy and say nothing about professional responsibility.

Source: Vendor Published
CC on AI Governance and Bias DisclosureResponsible AI principles are published without a mechanism, a testing regime, or anything a buyer could audit.

AI Governance and Bias Disclosure

Published governance over model behavior: who owns it inside the vendor, what is tested before release, and what is disclosed about disparate output across matter types, parties, or populations.

EU AI Act compliance appears in the trust center beside the security and privacy frameworks. No AI policy, testing method or accountable owner is named, and how evenly recognition works across accents, speakers or audio conditions is not addressed.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on AI Safety and Data StewardshipSubstantive published policy covering most of the ground, short of the full set: commonly no named subprocessor list or no stated incident practice.

AI Safety and Data Stewardship

Retention, deletion, access control, and what happens to prompts and documents after they are processed. Whether the vendor states its subprocessors and its incident practice, or leaves the buyer to assume.

A named subprocessor list in the trust center gives each provider's function and location. It includes Microsoft Azure in the United States, Canada, Australia and the Netherlands, SendGrid for optional email delivery, Dictate2Us for human transcription and Corti for the health edition only. Data is encrypted end to end and backed up, information processed by the AI is deleted after processing, and deleted dictations can be restored by an administrator for 30 days.

The privacy policy keeps personal data as long as its purposes require, with no period for stored dictations. A data processing agreement and an NDA are listed in the trust center behind its access request, and no breach notice practice is stated.

Source: Vendor Published
CC on AI Liability and RecourseLiability is addressed only through a standard limitation clause that disclaims the exposure the product creates.

AI Liability and Recourse

What the vendor stands behind contractually when its output is wrong. Indemnities, caps, carve outs, insurance, and whether any of it is published or only reachable through a negotiated agreement.

The general terms limit Speech Processing Solutions' total liability from any cause, other than personal injury caused by its negligence, to the price paid for the services the claim concerns. All warranties of quality, accuracy, availability and error free operation are disclaimed. No indemnity or warranty on output is published.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on Practice Systems Integration DepthReal integrations exist and are documented, short of depth: named connections without a description of what they actually move.

Practice Systems Integration Depth

How deeply the product reaches into the systems legal work already lives in: document management such as iManage and NetDocuments, Word and Outlook, contract lifecycle management, matter management, e-billing, and court filing systems.

Speech Recognition Legal dictates at the cursor in any Windows program, and Legal AI Assistant drafts export to Microsoft Word or PDF or go to a typist in the SpeechLive workflow. The legal industry page names integrations with iManage and Actionstep and says attorneys can attach recordings to client matters inside their existing systems. Philips dictation microphones, recorders and foot pedals work natively, and hardware from other makers is supported. What moves between SpeechLive and iManage or Actionstep, and how the link is configured, is not described.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on Deployment Model and Data ResidencyDeployment model is stated clearly with partial residency detail, or residency is offered without the processing location being addressed, or the tenancy model is stated on its own with no residency detail published.

Deployment Model and Data Residency

Where the software runs and where the data sits. Multi tenant cloud, single tenant, private deployment, on premises, and whether region of residence is a published option or an enterprise conversation.

The service is hosted on Microsoft Azure, and the subprocessor list says all data is stored regionally on Azure servers in the United States, Canada, Australia or the Netherlands to meet local requirements. The AI runs on Azure Cognitive Services, including Azure OpenAI Service hosted in Azure. Which region a given account uses and whether processing can leave it are not set out, and no private or on premises deployment is offered on the plans.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on Security Certifications and Trust CenterCertification is real and stated, short of accessible evidence: a named standard without scope, date, or a way to obtain the report.

Security Certifications and Trust Center

Independent attestation a buyer can pull without a sales call: SOC 2, ISO 27001, penetration test summaries, a trust center with current reports and named scope rather than a badge image.

The Vanta trust center lists ISO 27001:2022, ISO 9001 and ISO 14001 certification, HIPAA, GDPR and CCPA compliance, an ISMS statement of applicability and penetration tests from 2024 and 2026. The ISO 27001 certificate and test reports are released through an access request, with a live controls list on the page. Auditor names and certificate dates are not shown before access.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on Model Supply Chain DisclosureThe supply chain is partly disclosed: providers named without change notification, or architecture described without the providers.

Model Supply Chain Disclosure

Which models sit underneath, whose they are, where they run, and whether the vendor commits to telling customers when that changes. A legal buyer inherits every dependency it cannot see.

The privacy policy names Azure Cognitive Services, including Azure OpenAI Service, for speech recognition and language processing, hosted in Microsoft's Azure environment. The general terms let users choose Nuance Dragon speech recognition instead of SpeechLive's own, under Nuance's license terms, and the subprocessor list names Corti for the health edition. Which models power Speech Recognition Legal and the Legal AI Assistant, and whether customers are told when they change, are not stated.

Source: Vendor Published
AA on Commercial TransparencyA buyer can learn what this costs without entering a sales process: published rates, the unit being charged, and what implementation adds.

Commercial Transparency

Whether a buyer can learn what this costs without entering a sales process: published rates, the unit being charged, what sits behind an enterprise tier, and what implementation adds.

Legal prices are published per user per month, billed annually and before tax. The Legal AI Assistant bundle, with Speech Recognition Legal and the Enterprise workflow, is $54.00 as a 2026 introductory price, rising to $76.80 from 2027. Speech Recognition Legal alone is from $43.80 with the Pro or Enterprise workflow. The workflow plans are Basic at $12.90 for up to ten users and Pro at $17.90 for up to 25, with automatic transcription an extra $25.90 on Pro, and Enterprise is quoted.

A free trial is offered. Subscriptions renew automatically, and price changes come with notice and a right to terminate.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on Firm and Practice CoverageSegment and practice coverage is described with substance, short of the boundaries: what is supported is clear, what is not is left open.

Firm and Practice Coverage

Who the product is actually built for. AmLaw, midlaw, small firm and solo, in house departments, government and courts, and which practice areas are supported rather than merely claimed.

The legal edition is aimed at solicitors, barristers, legal executives and in house counsel who dictate, and the plans scale from small teams on Basic and Pro to Enterprise. Templates cover consultations, case notes, briefs and other legal documents, and firms can build their own. Health and professional editions run on the same platform. Which practice areas and jurisdictions the legal templates cover is not set out.

Source: Vendor Published
Sources on file

6 public documents

The public pages on file for Philips SpeechLive, with the recorded signals each one supports and the date it was last read. Open any of them and check the reading against the record.

Pricing

From $12.90 per user/month

USD, as published, never converted
  • The legal AI assistant with legal speech recognition costs $54 per person a month in 2026, paid yearly.
  • From 2027 the same bundle costs $76.80.
  • Legal speech recognition alone starts at $43.80 a month.
  • The basic dictation plans cost $12.90 or $17.90 a month.
  • There is a free trial, and big teams get a custom price.

Per user per month, billed annually, before tax. The Legal AI Assistant bundle includes Speech Recognition Legal and the Enterprise workflow from $54.00, an introductory price for 2026, rising to $76.80 from 2027. Speech Recognition Legal on its own is from $43.80 with the Pro or Enterprise workflow. The workflow base plans are Basic at $12.90 for up to ten users, with recording and upload only, and Pro at $17.90 for up to 25 users, with automatic transcription available for $25.90 more. Enterprise is priced on request.

Implementation: Not stated. Philips dictation hardware is sold separately.

Note: Prices exclude tax and are billed annually. Subscriptions renew automatically for the same term unless cancelled, and price changes come with notice and a right to terminate.

Legal Signals

What each signal means

A signal records what public sources say on the date shown. It is not a grade and it is not a recommendation. Where a signal reads Not addressed, it means the index did not locate the material in public sources on that date, which is a statement about disclosure rather than about the product.

Confidentiality and Privilege

Client Data in Training

Can material a lawyer puts into this product be used to train a model?

Never, in policy only

A public policy or trust page states no training on customer content, with no matching term located in the published agreement.

The data security page says customer information is never shared with any AI model provider and is not used to train, retrain or improve any AI models or other products without the customer's explicit permission. The privacy policy says personal data will not be used as training data and that the Azure OpenAI Service in use does not interact with OpenAI. No matching clause appears in the general terms.

Source: Vendor Publishedis not used to train, retrain, or improve any AI models or other productsAs of Oct 12, 2026Evidence

Prompt and Output Retention

How long does the product keep what a lawyer typed, and can that be set to zero?

Disclosed without a period

Retention is acknowledged in public materials with no stated period.

Information processed by the AI is deleted after processing, partner transcription servers delete dictations after transcription, and an administrator can restore deleted dictations for 30 days. Dictations kept in the account have no stated period, and the privacy policy keeps personal data as long as its purposes require.

Source: Vendor PublishedYour information is automatically deleted after processingAs of Oct 12, 2026Evidence

Ethical Walls and Matter Segregation

Does retrieval respect the firm’s ethical walls, or can the model read across them?

Claimed, not documented

Segregation is asserted in public materials with no published detail on how it is enforced.

Role based access controls are described, with data kept in a dedicated, isolated environment. How access to one matter's or client's dictations is limited inside a firm is not documented.

Source: Vendor Publishedfrom encrypted recordings to role-based access controlsAs of Oct 12, 2026Evidence

Third Party Request and Subpoena Notice

If someone subpoenas the vendor for a firm’s data, does the firm hear about it first?

Disclosure addressed, notice absent

Published terms or policy address disclosure to authorities or in response to legal process, and no commitment or reservation regarding customer notice is located anywhere. The vendor has told the customer that data can leave and has said nothing about whether the customer hears of it.

The privacy policy lets Speech Processing Solutions use and disclose personal data to respond to requests from public and government authorities, including outside the user's country, and to cooperate with law enforcement. The general terms let Nuance and its licensors disclose data where a court order or law requires it for users of Dragon speech recognition. Neither commits to notify the customer.

Source: Vendor Publishedto respond to requests from public and government authoritiesAs of Oct 12, 2026Evidence
Accuracy and Authority

Primary Law Corpus Provenance

Where does the law in this product come from, and does the vendor have the right to use it?

Not addressed

No located public material identifies the corpus behind the product’s answers.

Drafts come from the lawyer's own dictation, files and templates. No primary law is retrieved, and no legal source collection sits behind the output.

Source: Operator VerifiedAs of Oct 12, 2026

Good Law Verification

Does the product tell you when the authority it just cited has been overruled?

Not addressed

No located public material addresses whether authority is checked for subsequent history.

Speech Recognition Legal transcribes the case citations a lawyer dictates, but nothing describes checking whether a cited case is still good law.

Source: Operator VerifiedAs of Oct 12, 2026

Refusal and Uncertainty Behavior

What does the product do when the answer is not in the corpus?

Not addressed

No located public material addresses what the product does when it cannot ground an answer.

Nothing describes what the Legal AI Assistant does when a dictation does not supply a fact a template needs, or how it marks uncertain recognition.

Source: Operator VerifiedAs of Oct 12, 2026

Fabricated Citation Record

Does a public court record exist addressing fabricated or hallucinated legal citations in output from this product?

None located

No court order, opinion or disciplinary record addressing fabricated or hallucinated legal citations produced by this product has been located as of the date shown. This is a statement about the public record on that one subject, not a finding about the product, and this signal is not a litigation history.

The AI Hallucination Cases database maintained by Damien Charlotin, which records court decisions worldwide that address hallucinated AI content and the tool involved where known, has no entry naming SpeechLive. SpeechLive transcribes dictation and drafts documents from it, and the lawyer approves every draft before it leaves.

Source: Bar Guidance or Court RecordAs of Oct 12, 2026Evidence
Professional Responsibility

Bar Guidance Alignment

Has the vendor engaged in public with the ethics opinions its buyers are bound by?

Not addressed

No located public material engages with bar or ethics guidance.

No bar opinion, ethics rule or professional guidance on AI use is engaged on SpeechLive's legal pages or in its terms.

Source: Operator VerifiedAs of Oct 12, 2026

Billing and Fee Posture

Does the vendor address what happens to the bill when the work takes an hour instead of six?

Savings claims only

Public materials claim time savings without addressing billing or disclosure, and the product sits inside a fee relationship between a lawyer and a client where those savings would change the bill.

The legal pages say attorneys can file or share documents immediately and bill more hours, and pitch the Legal AI Assistant as freeing time for billable, client facing work. Nothing addresses how firms bill or disclose AI drafted documents.

Source: Vendor PublishedAs of Oct 12, 2026Evidence

Outside Counsel Guideline Readiness

Can a firm get this vendor through a client’s AI clause without a bespoke negotiation?

Subprocessors listed

A current subprocessor or model provider list is published.

The trust center's subprocessor list names eleven providers with function and location, including Microsoft Azure, Corti, Dictate2Us and SendGrid. The privacy policy names Azure OpenAI Service. A data processing agreement is listed behind the access request, and no client facing AI disclosure pack is offered.

Source: Vendor PublishedAs of Oct 12, 2026Evidence

Court Disclosure Support

If a judge’s standing order requires an AI disclosure, can the product produce one?

Not addressed

No located public material addresses court disclosure or verification certification.

Nothing describes a record of AI involvement in a drafted document or support for disclosing AI use to a court.

Source: Operator VerifiedAs of Oct 12, 2026
Contact

Correct a record, or ask how something was graded

Every grade and every signal on this index is drawn from public sources and dated. If a record is wrong, out of date, or missing an artifact the index did not locate, send the source and it will be reviewed and the record redated. Vendors are welcome to submit documentation. Nothing on this index is for sale, including a listing, a placement, or a grade.

AI Legal Index

The AI Legal Index is an independent index that tracks changes to AI vendors in legal. It holds 430 vendors across 9 categories, each graded on the same 15 capability axes and recorded against 12 legal signals, from public sources. No vendor pays for inclusion, placement, or rating.

Index Status
Last index update
October 14, 2026
The AI Legal Index is an editorial reference. It is not a regulatory body, not a law firm, and nothing published here is legal advice or a recommendation to retain or avoid a vendor. Records are verified against published sources, bar guidance and public court records. Where a record reads not addressed, the material was not located in public sources on the date shown. See the Methodology page for evaluation standards and limitations.
© 2026 AI Legal Index
3801 N Capital of Texas Hwy, Ste E240 · Austin, TX 78746