P
Precedent
Precedent is a case automation platform for plaintiff personal injury law firms, built by Precedent LLC of Charlotte, North Carolina and positioned openly against the carrier side, with the company describing its founders as insurance carrier insiders. The platform covers the pre-litigation arc from intake to demand. Claim Setup submits the claim to the carrier and returns verified policy limits, with an automatically generated letter of representation notifying the insurer.
Record Retrieval requests, ingests and tracks medical records, and an Exhibit Manager categorises, describes and renames incoming files and flags documentation gaps so a file is complete before it reaches an adjuster. Demand Composer, the flagship, drafts the demand package from the case documents at a flat rate of $275 with unlimited pages and revisions, breaking medical billing down to CPT-code level. Global Demand generates multi-plaintiff demand packages, MedChron builds medical chronologies, Case Intelligence analyses and benchmarks demands, and Adjuster Intelligence flags the tactics an adjuster is likely to use and offers counter-strategies.
Ask Casey is a voice AI assistant. The approach to accuracy is what the company calls a Closed Loop Architecture: every medical fact, diagnosis and billing code in a demand letter is hyperlinked to the source page in the raw medical record so an attorney can click through and verify it, and trained expert reviewers check each draft for narrative logic and factual integrity before the firm receives it. Precedent integrates with Clio, SmartAdvocate and Litify so demands can be generated inside the firm's existing matter system, and was a finalist for Best New App in the 2025 Clio Integration Awards.
The company states it is SOC 2 Type II certified with annual third-party audits, operates a HIPAA-compliant architecture and will sign a business associate agreement, processes and stores all data within the United States, isolates each firm's files with role-based access for partners, paralegals and case managers, and does not use client case files to train models or improve the product across customers. It reports more than 100 law firms and over 50,000 demands sent, and publishes a case study with Hines Law Firm.
Capability grades
All 15 axes, graded from public sources on the date shown. Hover a grade to see what the letter means on that axis.
AI Centrality
How much of the product is actually AI. Whether the machine learning is the mechanism the buyer is paying for or a feature layered onto conventional software, and whether the vendor is specific about which is which.
The models are the engine of a core capability, layered on a service platform that would still function without them. What would survive their removal is substantial and separately saleable: Claim Setup submits claims to carriers and returns verified policy limits, an automatically generated letter of representation notifies the insurer, Record Retrieval requests and tracks medical records, and Policy Verify establishes coverage.
Those are operational services with a human and workflow core, and the vendor presents them as the first three of four steps before AI enters. What the models power is the fourth step and the flagship: Demand Composer drafts the demand package from the case documents, MedChron builds medical chronologies, Global Demand generates multi-plaintiff packages, Exhibit Manager categorises, describes and renames incoming files automatically, Case Intelligence analyses and benchmarks demands, Adjuster Intelligence predicts adjuster tactics, and Ask Casey is a voice assistant.
Medical billing is broken to CPT-code level. A is unavailable because a buyer could purchase the claim setup, policy verification and records side and receive a working service, and because the vendor itself describes trained expert reviewers as part of the production path rather than the models alone. Checked 8 September 2026.
Citation Accuracy and Hallucination Disclosure
Whether the vendor publishes measured accuracy on citations and assertions, grounds output to primary sources, and says plainly what its system does when it does not know. Legal has a documented public record of fabricated citations reaching filed briefs, so an untested claim of accuracy is not evidence.
Grounding is real, documented and verifiable by the reader, short of A on the limbs asking for measurement and named failure modes. The architecture is described rather than asserted: what the vendor calls a Closed Loop means every medical fact, diagnosis and billing code in a demand letter is hyperlinked directly to the source page in the raw medical record, and the vendor puts the point plainly, telling a buyer they do not have to trust the AI because they can click the citation and see the source document.
That is linked primary sources in the idiom that matters here, the primary source being the medical record the demand rests on. A second control is published: trained expert reviewers check every draft for narrative logic and factual integrity before the firm receives it. A tension on the same page is recorded rather than resolved in the vendor's favour, because it is the most informative thing on this axis. The section is headed Zero Hallucinations, and a system with zero hallucinations would not need a review team checking factual integrity before delivery.
Under R37 rule 2 the conflict is not itself the grade; what it shows is that the accuracy assurance rests on source-linking and human review rather than on model behaviour, which is a sound architecture and is not what the headline claims. R40 governs the floor: the bare-claim limb does not fire where real architectural controls stand behind the claim. A is unavailable because no measured accuracy figure, test set or method is published anywhere and no failure mode is named. Checked 8 September 2026.
Autonomy and Oversight Model
What the system decides on its own, what a lawyer must approve, and whether the vendor documents where the review point sits. A tool that drafts under review and a tool that files without one are different products and different risks.
A written commitment that the models work alongside human review, with real review surfaces, short of the full control structure. Two review stages are published and both are specific. The vendor's own trained expert reviewers check the output for narrative logic and factual integrity before the firm ever sees the draft, which is an oversight step inside the vendor rather than an obligation pushed onto the buyer, and it is unusual in this corpus.
The attorney then receives a draft the vendor describes as ready for review, and the verification surface is concrete: any medical fact can be clicked through to its source page in the record, so checking the output is a designed workflow rather than an instruction. Role-based access adds a further control over who inside the firm touches what. What is missing is the rest of the structure. No mode is described, no threshold is stated at which the system stops or escalates, and nothing published says what happens when the output is wrong or what recourse follows.
The Closed Loop is named as an architecture rather than described as a control with limits. A requires modes, thresholds, review surfaces and the route back to human judgement all published; two of the four are here. Checked 8 September 2026.
Operational and Outcome Evidence
Named, dated evidence that the product works in production at real firms or legal departments. Case studies with figures and identified customers count. Unattributed testimonials and launch announcements do not.
Real deployment evidence with substance, held off A by what could not be verified rather than by what is missing. Published: a named case study with Hines Law Firm reporting settlements up 16 per cent and the likelihood of tenders up 71 per cent, stated to be measured across hundreds of personal injury cases; named customer logos including Catania, Rodden, Lerner and Rowe, Dubin Law, Ramos Law and Sand Law; and attributed testimonials carrying both a person and a role, among them a Personal Injury Director at Hines Law describing drafting thirteen demands in a day, a firm COO, and a partner.
Aggregate figures are published alongside: more than 100 law firms, more than 50,000 demands sent, a 95 per cent retention rate and a 4.7 star rating. A named customer with figures attached would ordinarily reach for A. Two things hold it at B. The case study page was not opened, so the method behind the 16 and 71 per cent figures, the comparison basis and the period are unestablished, and A requires a method a reader can assess.
And the vendor's own surfaces disagree on the headline number: the home page banner claims 25 per cent higher settlements while the case study it links to reports 16 per cent, with nothing reconciling them. That discrepancy is named here rather than left for a reader to find, and the aggregate claims carry no stated basis. Checked 8 September 2026.
Privilege and Confidentiality Posture
How client confidences are handled: attorney client privilege and work product treatment, segregation of one client matter from another, whether client data trains any model, and what the vendor commits to in writing rather than in marketing.
Substantive published commitments across most of the ground, held at B by the limb R33 makes mandatory. Published and readable before signing: each firm's data is logically isolated with case files described as held in their own private vault; role-based access assigns permissions to partners, paralegals and case managers so staff reach only relevant files; encryption is AES-256 at rest and TLS 1.2 or better in transit with perfect forward secrecy; all processing and storage occur within the United States; the firm owns its data, controls retention through provided tooling, and can have raw data permanently purged within thirty days of a request; and client case files are stated not to be used to train models or shared across clients.
The Master Service Agreement puts Protected Health Information inside the definition of Confidential Information, binds both parties to strict confidence surviving termination, requires subcontractors to be bound, and commits to HIPAA-compliant handling with a business associate agreement available. For a product ingesting a claimant's complete medical file that combination is materially stronger than most of this lane.
A is unavailable on two limbs. Privilege and work product are addressed nowhere, expressly or by implication, which under R33 forecloses A on its own. And no position is stated on what an underlying model provider may retain, because no model provider is named anywhere. Checked 8 September 2026.
UPL and Professional Responsibility Posture
Whether the vendor is clear that it supplies a tool rather than legal advice, who its audience is, and how it addresses unauthorized practice of law, competence and supervision duties, and jurisdiction limits. ABA Formal Opinion 512 is the reference point.
This record sits in a documented gap between the C and D bands, and the grade is the band nearest the buyer's position with the gap stated rather than hidden. Neither C limb is literally true. There is no boilerplate advice disclaimer in the terms, the Master Service Agreement containing no statement that the service is not legal advice; the marketing does not describe the product in advice terms, presenting it as a drafting and workflow service; and the intended audience is not ambiguous, the product being sold exclusively to plaintiff personal injury law firms.
D's words are literally true, since nothing published states the advice line. But D describes a vendor that has said nothing about professional responsibility, and that is not this record. The workflow is published as routing every draft through the vendor's expert reviewers and then to the attorney as a draft ready for review, so review by the lawyer is designed in and stated. And the vendor publishes a substantive article on the professional conduct dimensions of using its own services, engaging ABA Model Rules 1.5 and 1.8, mapping requirements across six named states, and telling firms their technology use must not compromise duties of loyalty and communication.
What is absent is the specific statement this axis asks for: what the product is and is not, who may rely on it, and how it supports competence and supervision. Jurisdiction limits are not named either. A proposed band amendment is logged rather than escalated. Checked 8 September 2026.
AI Governance and Bias Disclosure
Published governance over model behaviour: who owns it inside the vendor, what is tested before release, and what is disclosed about disparate output across matter types, parties, or populations.
No governance position is published for a system that drafts the document a claimant's recovery is negotiated from. Nothing identifies who inside the vendor is accountable for the models, no pre-release testing or evaluation regime is described, no results are disclosed, no policy or principles statement exists, no certification such as ISO 42001 is claimed, and nothing addresses uneven output across injury types, treatment patterns, jurisdictions or claimant demographics, which is where bias would bite hardest on a product that values a claim.
The security page does carry a section headed AI Safety, and it is real content rather than a badge, which is why the C band was tested carefully. C describes responsible AI principles published without a mechanism; this vendor publishes the inverse, a mechanism without principles, so C's words are false of it. The mechanism itself, the Closed Loop architecture with hyperlinked citations and expert reviewers, is graded on Citation Accuracy and on Autonomy where it answers those bands directly, and under the no-double-spend rule it cannot also stand as a governance position.
Product quality control and AI governance are different questions: one is about whether this output is right, the other about who is answerable for how the system is built, tested and corrected. Only the first is published. Checked 8 September 2026.
AI Safety and Data Stewardship
Retention, deletion, access control, and what happens to prompts and documents after they are processed. Whether the vendor states its subprocessors and its incident practice, or leaves the buyer to assume.
Substantive published policy covering most of the ground, short of the full set in the two ways the B band names. Published and specific: retention is customer-controlled rather than a fixed vendor window, with tooling provided so a firm can apply its own retention policy and permanent deletion options available; offboarding is stated concretely, with all generated work product downloadable and raw data permanently purged within thirty days of a request; access control is described at the level a firm operates, with logical tenant isolation and role-based permissions for partners, paralegals and case managers; encryption is AES-256 at rest and TLS 1.2 or better in transit with perfect forward secrecy; all processing and storage are within the United States; and the training position is stated plainly, with case files used only to produce that case's demand package and never shared across clients or used for model improvement.
HIPAA-compliant architecture and an available business associate agreement matter here because the product ingests complete medical files. Two elements are absent and they are exactly the B band's named shortfalls. No subprocessor is named anywhere, so a firm cannot enumerate who touches a claimant's records. And no incident or breach notification practice is published on any surface, which is a conspicuous gap for a HIPAA-facing platform whose agreement is otherwise detailed. Checked 8 September 2026.
AI Liability and Recourse
What the vendor stands behind contractually when its output is wrong. Indemnities, caps, carve outs, insurance, and whether any of it is published or only reachable through a negotiated agreement.
A real published position on liability, short of the full picture. The Master Service Agreement sets out mutual indemnification, each party defending the other against third-party claims arising from insufficient consents, introduction of malicious code, negligence or misconduct, material breach, intellectual property usage or legal violations, with prompt notice and cooperation required. Aggregate liability is capped at amounts paid in the preceding twelve months, with infringement claims excepted, and neither party bears indirect, consequential or punitive damages.
Precedent warrants its authority to perform and non-infringement of registered US copyrights, patents and trademarks. That is scope and caps both published, which is more than most of this lane. What is not available is anything a buyer can invoke when the output itself is wrong. No warranty addresses the accuracy or completeness of a demand package, clause 6.3 disclaiming all warranties beyond the express limited one; no insurance is referenced; and a clause recovered from the agreement provides that Precedent shall have no liability for failure to identify or notify the client of any demand, which matters for a service that delivers demand letters to carriers on the firm's behalf and where a missed communication could carry consequences the firm rather than the vendor bears.
One limit is recorded and did not drive the grade: the agreement as published is an abridged summary rather than operative text, and fuller clause language exists in the search index than the page returns, so the full limitation wording was not read. Checked 8 September 2026.
Practice Systems Integration Depth
How deeply the product reaches into the systems legal work already lives in: document management such as iManage and NetDocuments, Word and Outlook, contract lifecycle management, matter management, e-billing, and court filing systems.
Real integrations exist, into precisely the systems this buyer already runs, and are documented short of depth. Three are named and each has its own dedicated page: SmartAdvocate, where the vendor states Demand Composer runs directly inside the platform; Clio, where demand creation is described as streamlined within Clio Manage; and Litify, where demands are generated and managed in the firm's matter system. For plaintiff personal injury those three are close to the whole market of case management systems, so this is coverage of the systems legal work actually lives in rather than a list of adjacent tools.
Third-party recognition supports it: the vendor was a finalist for Best New App in the 2025 Clio Integration Awards, which is an assessment of the integration specifically rather than of the product generally. A dedicated integrations index page exists. A is unavailable on the depth limb and the reason is stated rather than inferred: the three integration pages were not opened, so what actually syncs, in which direction, and what a firm must configure are unestablished, and the navigation blurbs describe the function without describing the data flow.
No API or developer documentation was located, and no document management or e-signature connection is named. Checked 8 September 2026.
Deployment Model and Data Residency
Where the software runs and where the data sits. Multi tenant cloud, single tenant, private deployment, on premises, and whether region of residence is a published option or an enterprise conversation.
The deployment model is stated clearly with partial residency detail, which is the B band. Two limbs are answered better than most records in this lane manage. Processing is addressed distinctly from storage rather than collapsed into a single hosting statement: the vendor states that all data processing and storage occur exclusively within the United States and that client data never leaves US soil, framing it as a data sovereignty commitment.
And tenancy is stated rather than left to inference, each firm's data described as logically isolated with case files held in their own private vault under strict access controls, supported by role-based permissions. Where it stops short is granularity and choice. Residency is published at country level only: no cloud provider is named, no region or data centre is identified, and no failover or secondary location is described, so a buyer knows the country and nothing below it.
No deployment options exist to compare, there being a single cloud service with no private, dedicated or on-premise variant described, so the tier limb does not bite and is named rather than counted either way under R15. And residency is disclosed as the vendor's architecture rather than offered as a customer election, with no mechanism for a firm to require or verify placement. Checked 8 September 2026.
Security Certifications and Trust Center
Independent attestation a buyer can pull without a sales call: SOC 2, ISO 27001, penetration test summaries, a trust center with current reports and named scope rather than a badge image.
Certification is real and stated, short of accessible evidence, which is the B band. The vendor states it is SOC 2 Type II certified and describes the basis with more specificity than a badge: rigorous annual audits by independent third parties verifying internal controls over security, availability and confidentiality. It separately claims HIPAA-compliant architecture and, unlike a bare compliance claim, backs it with a checkable commitment, offering to sign a business associate agreement for firms handling Protected Health Information.
The security page itself is substantive and self-published rather than a hosted portal, covering encryption, tenant isolation, role-based access, retention control, US residency and the training position. What is missing is everything that would let a buyer verify the certification. No auditor is named, no audit period or report date is given, and the scope of the assessment is not described. Most notably, no route to the report is published at all: unlike records where access is sales-gated and therefore earns no credit under R5, here there is neither a download nor a stated request path nor a mention of a security review process, so the report's existence is asserted and its availability is not addressed.
No other attestation is claimed and no penetration testing or vulnerability programme is described. A requires reports, dates and covered standards reachable without a sales call, and none of those is present. Checked 8 September 2026.
Model Supply Chain Disclosure
Which models sit underneath, whose they are, where they run, and whether the vendor commits to telling customers when that changes. A legal buyer inherits every dependency it cannot see.
The vendor refers to the models generically and identifies nothing underneath them, which is the C band. The one place the supply chain surfaces is the training answer on the security page, which states that the vendor does not train its public foundational models on private client data. That phrasing concedes that foundational models are in the architecture, and it is the only acknowledgement located, but it names no model, no provider and no version, and nothing states whether the generative layer is built in-house or supplied by a third party.
The Closed Loop is described as an architecture without identifying what generates inside it. The Master Service Agreement is silent on the point across its length, containing no AI, model or machine learning provision of any kind. No hosting provider is named either, so even the infrastructure layer is undisclosed, which is unusual: most records in this corpus at least name a cloud host, and naming one would not have reached this axis in any event, since under R29 test 1 a host says where a model runs rather than whose it is.
D was tested and does not fit, because the reference to public foundational models does disclose something about the supply chain a customer inherits. Change notification is not reached, nothing being named that a change could be notified about. Checked 8 September 2026.
Commercial Transparency
Whether a buyer can learn what this costs without entering a sales process: published rates, the unit being charged, what sits behind an enterprise tier, and what implementation adds.
Real pricing is published for part of the range, which is the B band's first limb. The flagship carries a full published rate: Demand Composer is a flat 275 US dollars per demand with unlimited pages and unlimited revisions, presented on the home page as a maximum price rather than a starting point. Surrounding terms are published too: a thirty-day risk-free trial, fixed pricing with no fees or add-ons, payment only for what is used with no prepaid tokens, and an express statement that firms of all sizes are served.
For a buyer wanting one demand drafted, the cost is knowable without a sales conversation, which is more than most of this lane offers. What holds it off A is coverage and one contradiction. Six other named products carry no published rate at all, including Claim Setup, Policy Verify, Record Retrieval, MedChron, Case Intelligence and Adjuster Intelligence, so a firm buying the platform rather than a single demand cannot price it.
And the marketing and the agreement diverge on the commercial commitment: the home page states there are no contracts and the security page that there are no long-term contracts, while clause 9.2 of the Master Service Agreement provides for automatic renewal for a further twelve months with a 7 per cent fee increase unless cancelled in writing thirty days before the service end date. Under R37 rule 1 the agreement governs. Both are stated so a reader can weigh them. Checked 8 September 2026.
Firm and Practice Coverage
Who the product is actually built for. AmLaw, midlaw, small firm and solo, in house departments, government and courts, and which practice areas are supported rather than merely claimed.
Segment and practice coverage is described with substance, with the boundaries left open. The segment is stated without hedging and the product is built around it: plaintiff personal injury law firms, positioned explicitly against the carrier side. Firm size is addressed directly rather than assumed, the vendor stating it serves all firm sizes and handles small and large cases alike, which matters in a lane where products often silently target either high-volume intake shops or catastrophic-injury boutiques.
The workflow coverage is enumerated across the pre-litigation arc rather than claimed generally: claim setup, letter of representation, policy limit verification, medical record retrieval, exhibit organisation, medical chronology, demand drafting, multi-plaintiff demand packages, demand benchmarking and adjuster preparation. Multi-plaintiff matters are named as a distinct capability. Named customers span firm types from regional practices to high-volume advertisers.
Depth within personal injury is real; breadth is narrow by design and that is a product decision rather than a gap. A is unavailable because the limits are not stated: nothing says which case types, injury categories or jurisdictions fall outside coverage, no statement addresses whether the product suits litigation-stage rather than pre-litigation work, and while a testimonial references jurisdiction-specific requirements no jurisdictional scope is published. Checked 8 September 2026.
5 public documents
The public pages on file for Precedent, with the recorded signals each one supports and the date it was last read. Open any of them and check the reading against the record.
-
precedent.com/security5 signals
Client Data in Training, Prompt and Output Retention, Ethical Walls and Matter Segregation and 2 more
Read Sep 8, 2026
-
precedent.com3 signals
Primary Law Corpus Provenance, Refusal and Uncertainty Behaviour, Fabricated Citation Record
Read Sep 8, 2026
-
Bar Guidance Alignment, Billing and Fee Posture
Read Sep 8, 2026
-
precedent.com/demand-composer1 signal
Good Law Verification
Read Sep 8, 2026
-
precedent.com/msa1 signal
Third Party Request and Subpoena Notice
Read Sep 8, 2026
$275 per demandUSD, as published, never converted
- A Demand Composer demand costs a flat $275, with unlimited pages and unlimited revisions, and the vendor presents that as its maximum price. There is a 30-day risk-free trial, and the pitch is fixed pricing with no fees, no add-ons and no prepaid tokens, so a firm pays per demand rather than for seats. The other products on the platform, including claim setup, policy verification, record retrieval, medical chronologies and the analytics tools, carry no published rate. One term to read before signing: the master service agreement renews automatically for twelve months with a 7 per cent fee increase unless the firm cancels in writing thirty days before the end date.
A published flat rate for the flagship product, with the rest of the platform unpriced. Demand Composer is 275 US dollars per demand, stated on the product page as a flat rate with unlimited pages and unlimited revisions, and presented on the home page as a maximum price rather than a floor, which is an unusual framing and is recorded as the vendor's own. The unit of charge is the demand rather than the seat or the user, so a firm's cost scales with matters worked rather than with headcount.
Surrounding commercial terms are published: a thirty-day risk-free trial, fixed pricing described as carrying no fees or add-ons, payment only for what is used with no prepaid tokens, and an express statement that firms of all sizes and cases of all sizes are served. What is not priced is most of the platform. Claim Setup, Policy Verify, Record Retrieval, Global Demand, MedChron, Case Intelligence and Adjuster Intelligence carry no published rate anywhere, so a firm buying the platform rather than a single demand cannot establish its cost without a sales conversation.
One divergence between marketing and agreement is recorded here rather than left in the axis note alone, because it is a commercial term a buyer would want before signing. The home page states there are no contracts and no fees and the security page that the vendor has no long-term contracts, while clause 9.2 of the Master Service Agreement provides that unless cancelled in writing at least thirty days before the service end date the agreement renews automatically for a further twelve months with a 7 per cent fee increase.
The agreement governs. The agreement adds invoicing on a trial or annual contract structure with payment due within thirty days, client responsibility for taxes, and a provision that any further rate increase requires mutual written agreement supported by documentation. Surfaces read on 8 September 2026: the home page, the Demand Composer page, the security page and its FAQ, and the Master Service Agreement.
Confidentiality and data terms: Business associate agreement offered to firms handling Protected Health Information; the vendor states it will sign a BAA to support HIPAA compliance, initiated by contacting its team. No tier condition or fee is stated for it.
Legal Signals
What each signal meansA signal records what public sources say on the date shown. It is not a grade and it is not a recommendation. Where a signal reads Not addressed, it means the index did not locate the material in public sources on that date, which is a statement about disclosure rather than about the product.
Client Data in Training
Can material a lawyer puts into this product be used to train a model?
A public policy or trust page states no training on customer content, with no matching term located in the published agreement.
The commitment is express and it sits in policy rather than in the agreement, which is what this value records. The agreement was located and read before the value was written, as this value's text requires: the Master Service Agreement contains no training, model improvement or machine learning provision anywhere, so there is no contractual term to weigh against the policy and nothing in the contract either grants or withholds a training right.
The security page answers the question head on, carrying a Zero Training on Client Data badge and stating that the vendor does not train its public foundational models on private client data, that case files are used strictly to generate the specific demand package for that case, and, in the words quoted here, that data is never shared across clients or used for model improvement. The qualifier is recorded rather than smoothed over: the first of those sentences is limited to public foundational models, which would leave a vendor's own models unaddressed, and it is the third sentence, barring use for model improvement without qualification, that carries the broader commitment.
Read together they are a clear never. contractual-never was declined because no agreement term supports it. The purpose limitation to the specific case is unusually tight for this lane and is the practical protection a firm would rely on.
Prompt and Output Retention
How long does the product keep what a lawyer typed, and can that be set to zero?
The customer controls the retention window, by product configuration or by contractual instruction, but zero retention is not stated as available.
The customer controls the retention window and no zero-retention setting is stated, which is this value. The commitment quoted here is a control rather than a disclosure: the vendor states the firm owns its data and provides tooling so the firm can apply its own retention policy, with permanent deletion available. That inverts the usual position in this lane, where a vendor states its own window and the customer accepts it.
Offboarding is specific and dated rather than vague: on cancellation the firm can download all generated work product, and on request raw data is permanently purged from the vendor's systems within thirty days. customer-configurable-zero was tested and declined, because nothing states that zero retention or a no-store mode is available as a setting; the control is over how long material is kept, not over whether it is kept at all. disclosed-fixed is false since no fixed window is imposed.
Two limits are recorded. The tooling is described rather than specified, so a buyer cannot tell from public material what retention periods are selectable or at what granularity. And the thirty-day purge is framed as applying to raw data on request at offboarding, with nothing published about the retention of generated demand packages or of the prompts and instructions a user supplies during drafting.
Ethical Walls and Matter Segregation
Does retrieval respect the firm’s ethical walls, or can the model read across them?
The product maintains its own permission model, documented, requiring the firm to keep it aligned.
The product maintains its own permission model, documented, which the firm configures and must keep aligned. Two layers are published. Between firms, the vendor states that each firm's data is logically isolated and that case files exist in their own private vault under strict access controls, which is tenancy stated rather than implied. Within a firm, role-based access is described at a granularity that fits this buyer: permissions are assigned to partners, paralegals and case managers so that staff reach only relevant files, in the words quoted here.
That is closer to a matter-level control than most records at this value achieve, because restricting a case manager to relevant files is the mechanism a firm would use to keep staff out of matters they are not working. What keeps it at this value rather than higher is the direction of responsibility. inherits-dms-acl requires retrieval to enforce a source system's access model at query time, and this product holds its own repository and ingests uploaded medical records rather than retrieving from a firm's document management system, so there is no external access model to inherit and the firm must configure and maintain the permissions itself.
Nothing published addresses ethical walls as such, conflicts screening, or what happens where a firm handles adverse parties, and no detail is given on how isolation is enforced technically.
Third Party Request and Subpoena Notice
If someone subpoenas the vendor for a firm’s data, does the firm hear about it first?
Published terms or policy address disclosure to authorities or in response to legal process, and no commitment or reservation regarding customer notice is located anywhere. The vendor has told the customer that data can leave and has said nothing about whether the customer hears of it.
Compelled disclosure is addressed and notice is never reached, which is this value exactly. Exhibit B of the Master Service Agreement sets out the confidentiality regime, binding both parties to strict confidence over information that expressly includes Protected Health Information, requiring written consent before disclosure, binding subcontractors, and surviving termination. The exceptions clause quoted here then removes from that obligation anything a party is legally required to disclose.
That is compelled disclosure permitted, and nothing attaches to it: no commitment to give the other party advance written notice, no opportunity to seek a protective order, no undertaking to limit disclosure to the portion legally required, and no commitment to notify after the fact. discretionary was tested and declined because it asserts that the terms reserve discretion over whether to notify, and these terms do not reach the question of notice at all, so its words would be false of this record.
The gap matters more than usual on this product. The material at issue is a claimant's complete medical file together with the firm's demand strategy, and the vendor also transmits demand letters to carriers, so it holds material that a subpoena in the underlying matter could plausibly reach. No transparency report or equivalent periodic disclosure is published.
Primary Law Corpus Provenance
Where does the law in this product come from, and does the vendor have the right to use it?
No located public material identifies the corpus behind the product’s answers.
No located public material identifies a legal corpus behind the product's output, because the product carries none. What a demand package rests on is the customer's own case file: the medical records, bills, police reports and coverage documents uploaded for that matter, together with the policy information the vendor retrieves from the carrier. The product neither retrieves nor cites legal authority, so there is no body of law whose sourcing or licensing a buyer could interrogate.
The value records what is locatable rather than alleging silence about something the product has, and it matches how this lane treats products whose material is the customer's own file. One phrase was located that touches the question and is recorded because it comes closest without answering it. The Demand Composer page describes the product as built from real case data to drive carrier action, which implies development against a body of prior demands or claims.
Nothing identifies what that body is, whose data it comprises, or on what basis it was used, and it sits in tension with the security page's statement that client data is never shared across clients or used for model improvement. Both are recorded; neither is graded, because a marketing phrase about how a product was built is not a corpus disclosure.
Good Law Verification
Does the product tell you when the authority it just cited has been overruled?
No located public material addresses whether authority is checked for subsequent history.
No located public material addresses whether authority is checked for subsequent history, because the product cites no authority. Its output is a pre-litigation demand letter addressed to an insurance adjuster, and the citations it contains are to the claimant's own medical records rather than to cases or statutes. The vendor's phrase that every argument is cited and every damage calculated refers to grounding each factual assertion in the underlying file, not to legal citation, and that grounding mechanism is graded on Citation Accuracy where it answers the question directly.
There is no citator function to describe and no legal authority whose treatment could be checked, so the value records an absence of located material on a question this product class was never built to answer. It is the value carried across the lane for the same structural reason. One adjacent capability was considered and does not reach this signal: the product verifies insurance coverage and policy limits with the carrier, which is verification of a fact about the claim rather than verification of authority, and it is graded on the capability axes.
Refusal and Uncertainty Behaviour
What does the product do when the answer is not in the corpus?
The vendor describes refusal or abstention behaviour in public materials.
The vendor describes abstention behaviour in public materials, which is this value. Two published mechanisms answer what happens when the material is not there. The first is architectural: the Closed Loop requires every medical fact, diagnosis and billing code in a demand to be hyperlinked to its source page in the raw record, so an assertion with no source has nowhere to attach, and the vendor puts the corollary to the buyer directly in telling them they can verify any statement by clicking through to the document.
The second is the behaviour quoted here, where incomplete documentation is surfaced and the missing records are retrieved rather than the gap being written around, with the vendor framing incomplete files as a cause of lower offers. Together those describe a product that flags what it does not have instead of generating over it. documented-and-demonstrable was declined because it requires the behaviour to be observable in the product or in published evaluation, and no evaluation, benchmark or worked example is published. confidence-scoring-only is false, no confidence or grounding score being exposed.
One tension is recorded and graded on Citation Accuracy rather than here: the same page headlines Zero Hallucinations, which asserts the failure mode cannot occur, while the vendor also employs trained reviewers to check factual integrity before delivery.
Fabricated Citation Record
Does a public court record exist addressing fabricated or hallucinated legal citations in output from this product?
No court order, opinion or disciplinary record addressing fabricated or hallucinated legal citations produced by this product has been located as of the date shown. This is a statement about the public record on that one subject, not a finding about the product, and this signal is not a litigation history.
No matter naming this vendor was located. Searches were run on the company name against the AI Hallucination Cases database maintained by Damien Charlotin and against general search on 8 September 2026, and nothing returned any filing, sanction, order or judicial finding involving Precedent or its named products. The common-word name was accounted for in searching, queries being framed around the demand letter product and the personal injury context to separate the vendor from the ordinary legal use of the word.
The value records the state of that search on the date rather than a claim that no such matter could exist. One structural observation is recorded and is not a substitute for the search, which was run regardless. The product's output is a pre-litigation demand letter sent to an insurance adjuster rather than a document filed with a court, and its citations run to the claimant's medical records rather than to legal authority, so the specific failure mode this signal tracks, fabricated case citations reaching a judge, is not the shape of risk this product carries.
The nearer risk, a misstated medical fact in a demand, would surface as a coverage or bad-faith dispute rather than as a sanctions record.
Bar Guidance Alignment
Has the vendor engaged in public with the ethics opinions its buyers are bound by?
Public materials engage with at least one named ethics opinion.
Public materials engage with named professional conduct authority substantively, which is this value, and the summary states precisely which guidance is engaged and which is not. The vendor publishes a dedicated article on whether firms may bill clients for AI-powered legal services. It names ABA Model Rules 1.5 and 1.8 in the terms quoted here, sets out three conditions for an expense to be reimbursable, gives concrete practice guidance on itemising invoices, disclosing third-party technology in the engagement letter and obtaining informed consent, and maps requirements across six named jurisdictions, describing Arizona's written disclosure requirement for contingency matters, California's prohibition on unconscionable or fees, Florida's and Texas's reasonableness and documentation standards, and New York's and Pennsylvania's requirement that expenses tie to client matters with detailed explanation.
It closes by addressing duties of loyalty and communication. That is material a firm could hand to its own risk committee, which is what this signal exists to reward. What is not engaged is the generative AI guidance the signal's framing points at. The 2024 ABA formal opinion on generative AI is not cited, no state bar AI opinion is discussed, and nothing addresses the confidentiality, competence or client consent questions those opinions raise. mapped-by-jurisdiction was declined because the six-state mapping is of cost disclosure rules rather than of the product against AI ethics opinions.
Billing and Fee Posture
Does the vendor address what happens to the bill when the work takes an hour instead of six?
The vendor’s charge reaches the client as a disbursement or case expense, typically advanced by a contingency firm and recovered from a settlement, so the fee question is disclosure of a pass through cost rather than compressed hours. The summary records whether the vendor addresses that disclosure.
The vendor's charge reaches the client as a case expense rather than through compressed hours, and the vendor addresses that disclosure directly. The commercial shape is the one this value describes: Demand Composer is priced at a flat 275 US dollars per demand, the buyers are plaintiff personal injury firms working on contingency, and the cost is advanced by the firm and recovered from the settlement, so the question a client faces is disclosure of a pass-through disbursement rather than a billable hour that shrank.
The value's own text asks the summary to record whether the vendor addresses that disclosure, and this one does so more thoroughly than most in the lane. A dedicated article sets out that such costs are generally reimbursable where clearly disclosed in a fee agreement, reasonable in amount and necessary to the representation; states the condition quoted here; instructs firms to itemise the expense, demonstrate necessity and obtain informed consent through a signed agreement; distinguishes case-specific services from firm-wide subscriptions that belong in the fee structure rather than on a client bill; and maps the requirement across six named states.
Named ABA Model Rules are cited. Two limits are recorded: the guidance is about passing the vendor's own cost through, and nothing addresses what happens to attorney time on a matter where the demand took hours instead of weeks, nor does the product emit a per-matter record of AI-assisted work.
Outside Counsel Guideline Readiness
Can a firm get this vendor through a client’s AI clause without a bespoke negotiation?
No located public material supports a client side disclosure obligation.
Neither artefact this signal requires exists. No subprocessor list is published anywhere and nothing indicates one is available on request, so a firm cannot enumerate who touches a claimant's medical file. And no model provider is named on any surface: the security page acknowledges public foundational models only in the course of saying it does not train them on client data, which concedes the category while identifying nothing, and no hosting provider is named either.
No forwardable client-facing disclosure material was located, there being no data processing addendum, no AI disclosure pack and no consent or notification template. One instrument was tested and does not satisfy the signal. The vendor offers to sign a business associate agreement for firms handling Protected Health Information, which is a real and checkable commitment and is credited on the capability axes; it is a HIPAA instrument between the firm and the vendor rather than a statement of who sees client content that a firm could forward, and it names no subprocessor or model provider. on-request was therefore declined, since what exists on request is a BAA rather than the material this signal asks for.
One framing point is recorded honestly: this signal was written for firms answering a corporate client's AI clause, and a contingency plaintiff practice answering to an injured individual faces that question in a weaker form, though the underlying disclosure gap is the same.
Court Disclosure Support
If a judge’s standing order requires an AI disclosure, can the product produce one?
No located public material addresses court disclosure or verification certification.
No located public material addresses court disclosure or verification certification. Nothing on the estate discusses judicial standing orders on the use of artificial intelligence, no disclosure guidance or template is published, and nothing produces a record identifying the model used, the sources drawn on and the human verification applied to a given document. The question bites less hard than on a litigation product, since the output is a pre-litigation demand addressed to an adjuster rather than a filing, though a demand package can become an exhibit in a subsequent bad-faith or coverage action. partial-record was tested and is the closest call on this record, then declined.
The delivered demand does carry hyperlinked citations tracing every medical fact, diagnosis and billing code to its source page in the raw record, which travels with the document and is a genuine provenance trail for sources. It is declined for three reasons: the model used is not identified anywhere, no per-document record of the trained reviewer's check is produced or exportable, and nothing published describes the citation trail as serving a disclosure purpose rather than a persuasion and verification one.
That reasoning is applied consistently with the equivalent call made on another record in the same session, where a report listing its references was likewise held not to be a disclosure record.