S
Skribe

Skribe is a deposition platform from Skribe, Inc. of Austin, Texas that records legal testimony without a stenographer and turns it into searchable material. Litigators host depositions, examinations under oath and other sworn proceedings on Zoom or in person. A Skribe digital reporter, who is a notary, swears in the witness and monitors the recording, and the audio and video recording is the official record. Automatic speech recognition produces a rough transcript synced to the video the same day, and a final transcript proofread by a person, with a sworn declaration of accuracy, follows in five to seven days.

Inside the platform, AI finds key moments, summarizes testimony and answers questions with links to the exact point in the video, and users can clip and share video. A separate Library product processes existing audio and video files. Skribe publishes its prices: $99 per hour for Library and $379 per record hour for hosted depositions, with a surcharge for sessions held in person. Its digital reporters are not certified shorthand reporters, and the method depends on court and state rules that permit depositions recorded without a stenographer.

Compared with

Skribe, head to head

Side by side on the same 15 capability axes and 12 legal signals: where the two part company, and what neither one publishes.

Build your own comparison

Capability grades

All 15 axes, graded from public sources on the date shown. Hover a grade to see what the letter means on that axis.

BB on AI CentralityThe models are the engine of a core capability, layered on a product that would still function without them as a document or workflow system.

AI Centrality

How much of the product is actually AI. Whether the machine learning is the mechanism the buyer is paying for or a feature layered onto conventional software, and whether the vendor is specific about which is which.

The models run the working layer, on a product whose official output is checked by people. Speech recognition produces the rough transcript and powers the Library product, and generative AI finds key moments, summarizes testimony and answers questions across a deposition with links back to the video. The official record, though, is the recording itself, and a person proofreads and swears to the final transcript. The hosted tier also includes a digital reporter and recording management that work without the models. Remove the AI and a customer still has a recorded deposition transcribed by a human.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on Citation Accuracy and Hallucination DisclosureGrounding is real and documented, with linked primary sources and a described retrieval method, short of published accuracy figures an outsider can test.

Citation Accuracy and Hallucination Disclosure

Whether the vendor publishes measured accuracy on citations and assertions, grounds output to primary sources, and says plainly what its system does when it does not know. Legal has a documented public record of fabricated citations reaching filed briefs, so an untested claim of accuracy is not evidence.

Answers are grounded in the record with a direct link to source, and one accuracy figure is published without a method. The AI page says every AI answer is supported by links to the exact point in the video, so any answer can be checked against the testimony. The home page states that final transcripts proofread by people are 99 percent accurate and compares that with the 95 percent threshold for stenographer certification.

That figure covers the verified final transcript only, not the rough transcript or the AI summaries and answers, and no method, sample or test is described. The accuracy of the rough transcript is not stated.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on Autonomy and Oversight ModelA written commitment that the models work alongside a supervising lawyer, with real review surfaces, short of the full control structure: commonly the threshold at which the system stops or what happens after it is wrong.

Autonomy and Oversight Model

What the system decides on its own, what a lawyer must approve, and whether the vendor documents where the review point sits. A tool that drafts under review and a tool that files without one are different products and different risks.

Human verification is built into the official deliverable, and the AI analysis layer has no stated review. The vendor separates the same day rough transcript, produced by speech recognition, from the final transcript, which it says is proofread by a person every time and comes with a sworn Declaration of Verbatim Transcript. It states that the audio and video recording is the official record. A trained staff member attends hosted depositions and monitors the recording.

The AI summaries, key moments and answers carry no equivalent control, and nothing states what the rough transcript should not be used for.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on Operational and Outcome EvidenceReal deployment evidence with substance, short of full attribution or measurement: a named customer without figures, or figures without the named customer.

Operational and Outcome Evidence

Named, dated evidence that the product works in production at real firms or legal departments. Case studies with figures and identified customers count. Unattributed testimonials and launch announcements do not.

Named customers are published, without figures. The home page carries attributed testimonials from Charles Peckham of Peckham Martin, Steven Sachs of Espinoza & Brock and Randy Sorrels, managing partner of Sorrels Law, alongside firm logos. The testimonials describe faster transcripts, video the same day and lower overhead, but give no measured result. The vendor's cost comparison with traditional court reporting is a pricing claim, not a customer outcome.

Source: Vendor Published
DD on Privilege and Confidentiality PostureNothing published on how client confidences are handled by a product built to ingest them.

Privilege and Confidentiality Posture

How client confidences are handled: attorney client privilege and work product treatment, segregation of one client matter from another, whether client data trains any model, and what the vendor commits to in writing rather than in marketing.

Confidentiality for uploaded material is disclaimed in the published terms. Section 13 of the Terms & Conditions, revised 27 July 2026, states that Skribe does not guarantee any confidentiality with respect to submissions, alongside a broad perpetual license over uploaded content. The section 12 confidentiality clause does not cover testimony the service uses for its intended purposes. Section 4.c, added in July 2026, keeps a backup recording running while the meeting room is open, including recesses and breaks, and attendees are advised to mute or leave the room. Nothing addresses privilege or work product.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on UPL and Professional Responsibility PostureA real position is published on advice versus tooling, short of full treatment: commonly a disclaimer without the supervision and competence dimension, or silence on jurisdiction limits.

UPL and Professional Responsibility Posture

Whether the vendor is clear that it supplies a tool rather than legal advice, who its audience is, and how it addresses unauthorized practice of law, competence and supervision duties, and jurisdiction limits. ABA Formal Opinion 512 is the reference point. Where the advice line is not the duty a product raises, the axis is read through the nearest professional duty it does raise: judicial conduct rules and the reviewing duty for products sold only to courts, and the duty to bill for time actually spent for products that draft time entries.

A real position is published on what the service is and where it lawfully operates, and supervision is not covered. The terms state that Skribe is not a law firm and gives no guarantee that recorded testimony is admissible. The site states that Skribe digital reporters are not certified shorthand reporters and do not perform stenography, and that depositions are conducted under rules permitting recording without a stenographer, with those states listed on the admissibility page.

Subscribers are defined as attorneys and law firms. Nothing addresses an attorney's duties when relying on AI summaries or answers, and the rough transcript is not set apart from the sworn final in professional responsibility terms.

Source: Vendor Published
DD on AI Governance and Bias DisclosureNo governance position published for a system whose output affects legal outcomes.

AI Governance and Bias Disclosure

Published governance over model behavior: who owns it inside the vendor, what is tested before release, and what is disclosed about disparate output across matter types, parties, or populations.

No governance position is published. There is no responsible AI policy, testing regime or accountable owner, and nothing discloses how speech recognition performs across accents, speakers or audio conditions. That gap matters for a product whose transcripts become evidence. The site's main pages, the terms and the privacy policy were searched.

Source: Operator Verified
CC on AI Safety and Data StewardshipA generic privacy policy covers the product without addressing what happens to documents and prompts after processing.

AI Safety and Data Stewardship

Retention, deletion, access control, and what happens to prompts and documents after they are processed. Whether the vendor states its subprocessors and its incident practice, or leaves the buyer to assume.

Retention and security are covered only in general terms. Personal information is kept indefinitely by default, and after cancellation Skribe has no obligation to preserve data. The only security measure named is SSL encryption, and internal access is restricted to staff with an operational need. No encryption at rest, subprocessor list for recordings or AI processing, or incident notification commitment is published.

Source: Vendor Published
CC on AI Liability and RecourseLiability is addressed only through a standard limitation clause that disclaims the exposure the product creates.

AI Liability and Recourse

What the vendor stands behind contractually when its output is wrong. Indemnities, caps, carve outs, insurance, and whether any of it is published or only reachable through a negotiated agreement.

Limitations in the terms disclaim the exposure the product creates. The software is provided as is with no warranty of accuracy or completeness, and Skribe's liability is capped at the amount paid and never more than $1,000. A user who pays nothing is limited to injunctive relief. Users must indemnify Skribe, including for reliance on advice provided through the software. No vendor indemnity or insurance position is published.

Source: Vendor Published
DD on Practice Systems Integration DepthNo integration into practice systems located, or the product stands alone and requires work to move to it.

Practice Systems Integration Depth

How deeply the product reaches into the systems legal work already lives in: document management such as iManage and NetDocuments, Word and Outlook, contract lifecycle management, matter management, e-billing, and court filing systems.

No integration into practice systems is published. Skribe is built on Zoom, and its Skribe Link feature records Zoom depositions a firm does not host; both are capture channels, not practice systems. No connection to document management, case management, discovery or trial presentation software is named, and clips are shared by link. The home, product and pricing pages and the terms were searched.

Source: Operator Verified
CC on Deployment Model and Data ResidencyCloud delivery is implied and neither the tenancy model nor the region is stated.

Deployment Model and Data Residency

Where the software runs and where the data sits. Multi tenant cloud, single tenant, private deployment, on premises, and whether region of residence is a published option or an enterprise conversation.

Location is stated, and hosting and tenancy are not. The terms say the software is operated in the United States, and the privacy policy says personal information is stored and processed on servers there. No hosting provider, tenancy model or deployment option is named, and where speech recognition and AI providers process recordings is not published.

Source: Vendor Published
DD on Security Certifications and Trust CenterNo independent security attestation located.

Security Certifications and Trust Center

Independent attestation a buyer can pull without a sales call: SOC 2, ISO 27001, penetration test summaries, a trust center with current reports and named scope rather than a badge image.

No independent security attestation is published. The home page, terms, privacy policy and FAQ were searched, no security page is linked from the navigation, and a targeted search for a Skribe SOC 2 or other attestation found nothing. The only security detail published is SSL encryption at 128 bit strength, in the privacy policy.

Source: Operator Verified
DD on Model Supply Chain DisclosureNothing published about the model supply chain a customer inherits.

Model Supply Chain Disclosure

Which models sit underneath, whose they are, where they run, and whether the vendor commits to telling customers when that changes. A legal buyer inherits every dependency it cannot see.

The models underneath are not identified. The vendor refers to its automated speech recognition system and generative AI tools but names no speech recognition provider, language model or model provider. The search covered the home page, AI page, product pages, terms and privacy policy.

Source: Operator Verified
AA on Commercial TransparencyA buyer can learn what this costs without entering a sales process: published rates, the unit being charged, and what implementation adds.

Commercial Transparency

Whether a buyer can learn what this costs without entering a sales process: published rates, the unit being charged, what sits behind an enterprise tier, and what implementation adds.

A deposition can be priced before speaking to anyone. Hourly rates for both products, what the hosted tier includes, the surcharge for sessions held in person, and the cancellation and billing terms are all published on the home and pricing pages, and the pricing structure is recorded in full. What volume or firmwide terms look like is not stated.

Source: Vendor Published
AA on Firm and Practice CoverageWho the product serves is documented precisely: firm segments, in house and government use, and the practice areas actually supported, with the limits stated.

Firm and Practice Coverage

Who the product is actually built for. AmLaw, midlaw, small firm and solo, in house departments, government and courts, and which practice areas are supported rather than merely claimed.

The working boundary is published state by state, with its conditions. The admissibility page tables 42 U.S. states plus the District of Columbia and the federal rules, marking each as allowed, allowed with stipulations, or allowed with stipulations to remote proceedings. Each entry cites the governing rule, for example FRCP 30(b)(3), Cal. Code Civ. Proc. section 2025.330 or Tex. R. Civ. P. 203, and offers a sample notice for recording without a stenographer.

The eight states not listed, among them New Jersey, Connecticut and Washington, fall outside the published boundary. The vendor serves litigation teams at firms of every size and covers depositions, examinations under oath and other sworn proceedings, remote or in person. Nothing states which proceeding types or languages the speech recognition and AI handle less well.

Source: Vendor Published
Sources on file

5 public documents

The public pages on file for Skribe, with the recorded signals each one supports and the date it was last read. Open any of them and check the reading against the record.

Pricing

$99 / hour of audio or video

USD, as published, never converted
  • Library, the product with software only, costs $99 for each hour of audio or video you upload.
  • Hosting a deposition with a Skribe digital reporter costs $379 for each hour on the record.
  • A deposition in person costs $100 an hour more, with a minimum of three hours.
  • The hosted price includes transcripts, video, clips and the AI tools.
  • You can cancel a booking free of charge if you give 24 hours' notice.

Library, the software product, costs $99 per hour of uploaded audio or video and returns a rough transcript in minutes, synced video and clips. Live combines professional services with the software at $379 per record hour, covering a digital reporter, a rough transcript the same day, a final transcript verified by a person in 5 to 7 days, exhibits, clips, RealTime transcript and AI tools. Depositions held in person add $100 per hour, with a 3 hour minimum. Cancellation is free with 24 hours' notice, and the terms provide for monthly automatic billing through Stripe.

Note: Figures from the vendor's home and pricing content, read 18 September 2026. Library is the entry paid product; Live bundles a digital reporter service with the software.

Legal Signals

What each signal means

A signal records what public sources say on the date shown. It is not a grade and it is not a recommendation. Where a signal reads Not addressed, it means the index did not locate the material in public sources on that date, which is a statement about disclosure rather than about the product.

Confidentiality and Privilege

Client Data in Training

Can material a lawyer puts into this product be used to train a model?

Purpose limited, in the contract

The customer agreement or data processing addendum contractually limits use of Customer Data to providing the contracted service, and no surface names training either way. The limit is bound, which a policy page is not, but it is not an express training prohibition. If any surface names training in either direction, one of the other values is true and this one is not.

A use right over uploaded content is granted within the service's purposes, including improvement, and training is never named. The terms' section 13 grants Skribe a nonexclusive, perpetual, irrevocable license to use uploaded content for the service's customary and intended purposes and any related purpose, listing research, sale and improving the service among them. The privacy policy authorizes use of personal information to improve algorithms and develop features.

The bound is loose, and nothing anywhere says customer recordings or transcripts are not used to train speech recognition or language models.

Source: Vendor Publishedimproving the Software or its associated servicesAs of Sep 18, 2026Evidence

Prompt and Output Retention

How long does the product keep what a lawyer typed, and can that be set to zero?

Customer controlled, no zero option

The customer controls the retention window, by product configuration or by contractual instruction, but zero retention is not stated as available.

The customer controls removal, and retention is otherwise indefinite. The privacy policy stores personal information indefinitely unless the user asks for removal and warns that copies may remain with outside providers; the terms let subscribers delete material from their account. Backup recordings made under section 4.c are kept under standard retention practices that are not published.

Source: Vendor Publishedstored indefinitely, unless the User contacts SkribeAs of Sep 18, 2026Evidence

Ethical Walls and Matter Segregation

Does retrieval respect the firm’s ethical walls, or can the model read across them?

Not addressed

No located public material addresses walls or matter level segregation.

Nothing addresses separation between matters, users or firms. Everyone who attends a hosted deposition receives the video and exhibits, and clips posted to public areas are visible to all visitors under the terms' section 13. This reflects the terms, privacy policy, home page and product pages as of 18 September 2026.

Source: Operator VerifiedAs of Sep 18, 2026

Third Party Request and Subpoena Notice

If someone subpoenas the vendor for a firm’s data, does the firm hear about it first?

Disclosure addressed, notice absent

Published terms or policy address disclosure to authorities or in response to legal process, and no commitment or reservation regarding customer notice is located anywhere. The vendor has told the customer that data can leave and has said nothing about whether the customer hears of it.

Disclosure in response to legal process is addressed, and notice to the customer is not. The privacy policy permits sharing on a court order, subpoena or government request. Section 4.c of the terms allows backup recordings to be released under a lawful subpoena or court order, edited to exclude off the record segments unless a court orders otherwise. The terms' confidentiality clause requires notice before compelled disclosure where permitted, but it binds users to one another and excludes testimony used for the service's purposes, so it gives the customer no notice commitment from Skribe.

Source: Vendor PublishedWhere your Personal Information is demanded by a court order or subpoenaAs of Sep 18, 2026Evidence
Accuracy and Authority

Primary Law Corpus Provenance

Where does the law in this product come from, and does the vendor have the right to use it?

Not addressed

No located public material identifies the corpus behind the product’s answers.

The AI works over the customer's own recordings and transcripts rather than a body of legal research content, and no external legal source is described. There is nothing to name. As of 18 September 2026, the home page, the AI page and the product pages described none.

Source: Operator VerifiedAs of Sep 18, 2026

Good Law Verification

Does the product tell you when the authority it just cited has been overruled?

Not addressed

No located public material addresses whether authority is checked for subsequent history.

The product does not cite legal authority, so no check of later history arises, and as of 18 September 2026 none is described.

Source: Operator VerifiedAs of Sep 18, 2026

Refusal and Uncertainty Behavior

What does the product do when the answer is not in the corpus?

Not addressed

No located public material addresses what the product does when it cannot ground an answer.

As of 18 September 2026, nothing describes what the AI does when a deposition does not answer a question, and no confidence indicator is described for the rough transcript.

Source: Operator VerifiedAs of Sep 18, 2026

Fabricated Citation Record

Does a public court record exist addressing fabricated or hallucinated legal citations in output from this product?

None located

No court order, opinion or disciplinary record addressing fabricated or hallucinated legal citations produced by this product has been located as of the date shown. This is a statement about the public record on that one subject, not a finding about the product, and this signal is not a litigation history.

Neither the AI Hallucination Cases database maintained by Damien Charlotin nor trade press reporting showed any court record, as of 18 September 2026, addressing fabricated or hallucinated content in output from Skribe. Litigation history of other kinds, including rulings on whether depositions recorded without a stenographer may be used, is not covered here.

Source: Bar Guidance or Court RecordAs of Sep 18, 2026Evidence
Professional Responsibility

Bar Guidance Alignment

Has the vendor engaged in public with the ethics opinions its buyers are bound by?

Not addressed

No located public material engages with bar or ethics guidance.

No bar ethics opinion on AI is named. The vendor engages procedural rules on recording without a stenographer, among them Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 30(b)(3) and Texas rules, and lists the states that permit it. Those are court procedure, not professional responsibility guidance. The home, FAQ and product pages and a vendor blog post were searched on 18 September 2026.

Source: Operator VerifiedAs of Sep 18, 2026

Billing and Fee Posture

Does the vendor address what happens to the bill when the work takes an hour instead of six?

Client cost pass through

The vendor’s charge reaches the client as a disbursement or case expense, typically advanced by a contingency firm and recovered from a settlement, so the fee question is disclosure of a pass through cost rather than compressed hours. The summary records whether the vendor addresses that disclosure.

The vendor's charge is a deposition cost that reaches the client as a case expense, and client disclosure is not addressed. The product page says that at roughly half the price of traditional court reporting, clients will save money. Nothing addresses how firms should bill or disclose rough transcripts or analysis produced by AI as costs.

Source: Vendor PublishedAs of Sep 18, 2026Evidence

Outside Counsel Guideline Readiness

Can a firm get this vendor through a client’s AI clause without a bespoke negotiation?

Not addressed

No located public material supports a client side disclosure obligation.

The privacy policy names only Google and Stripe as third parties receiving information. No speech recognition or AI provider is named, and no data processing agreement is published. The terms, privacy policy and product pages were searched on 18 September 2026.

Source: Operator VerifiedAs of Sep 18, 2026

Court Disclosure Support

If a judge’s standing order requires an AI disclosure, can the product produce one?

Partial record

Some elements of the record are available, short of a document level export.

AI output is kept apart from verified output and the final transcript carries a sworn declaration, short of a full AI disclosure record. Final transcripts come with a Declaration of Verbatim Transcript attesting accuracy under penalty of perjury, and the rough transcript is labeled as such. Nothing records which model produced AI summaries or answers.

Source: Vendor PublishedAs of Sep 18, 2026Evidence
Contact

Correct a record, or ask how something was graded

Every grade and every signal on this index is drawn from public sources and dated. If a record is wrong, out of date, or missing an artifact the index did not locate, send the source and it will be reviewed and the record redated. Vendors are welcome to submit documentation. Nothing on this index is for sale, including a listing, a placement, or a grade.

AI Legal Index

The AI Legal Index is an independent index that tracks changes to AI vendors in legal. It holds 462 vendors across 9 categories, each graded on the same 15 capability axes and recorded against 12 legal signals, from public sources. No vendor pays for inclusion, placement, or rating.

Index Status
Last index update
October 21, 2026
The AI Legal Index is an editorial reference. It is not a regulatory body, not a law firm, and nothing published here is legal advice or a recommendation to retain or avoid a vendor. Records are verified against published sources, bar guidance and public court records. Where a record reads not addressed, the material was not located in public sources on the date shown. See the Methodology page for evaluation standards and limitations.
© 2026 AI Legal Index
3801 N Capital of Texas Hwy, Ste E240 · Austin, TX 78746