D
Docsum
Docsum is a New York company selling AI contract software to in house legal teams, with finance, procurement and sales teams as secondary users. Its base is a contract repository that finds and syncs signed agreements from DocuSign, Google Drive, email and other tools, extracts dates, clauses and obligations, groups related documents and entities, and sends alerts. On top of it sit a Microsoft Word add in that reviews and redlines agreements against playbooks generated from the customer's own templates and precedent, an AI chat across the repository, intake agents that take contract review, drafting and legal questions from Slack, Salesforce and email, and an MCP server that lets assistants such as Claude query the repository.
Pricing starts at $1,250 a month for up to 2,500 contracts, with AI contract review added per user. The company also sells contract review and negotiation support by its own staff as a separate service.
Capability grades
All 15 axes, graded from public sources on the date shown. Hover a grade to see what the letter means on that axis.
AI Centrality
How much of the product is actually AI. Whether the machine learning is the mechanism the buyer is paying for or a feature layered onto conventional software, and whether the vendor is specific about which is which.
The models do the core work on top of a repository that would still run without them. Docsum's base is a system of record that syncs signed agreements from the customer's tools. On it, AI extracts terms and obligations, reviews and redlines drafts against playbooks generated from the customer's precedent, answers questions across the repository, and runs intake agents for review, drafting and legal questions. Without the models, the sync, storage, views and alerts remain, but most of what the product is sold on does not.
Citation Accuracy and Hallucination Disclosure
Whether the vendor publishes measured accuracy on citations and assertions, grounds output to primary sources, and says plainly what its system does when it does not know. Legal has a documented public record of fabricated citations reaching filed briefs, so an untested claim of accuracy is not evidence.
Answers are grounded in the customer's own contracts, with citations, and accuracy is not measured. Docsum says answers are cited and drawn from across the repository, reviews compare positions against the customer's precedent, playbooks are generated from its templates, and users can flag and correct extracted values in place. No accuracy or error rate is published for extraction, issue detection or redlines, and the terms disclaim any warranty of accuracy.
Autonomy and Oversight Model
What the system decides on its own, what a lawyer must approve, and whether the vendor documents where the review point sits. A tool that drafts under review and a tool that files without one are different products and different risks.
Docsum commits in writing that legal stays in control, with real review points, short of a full structure. It describes agents that the business can reach but legal controls, approvals that can be set for any condition, and review and drafting outputs that can be held for legal review before they go anywhere; in Word, the reviewer proposes and applies redlines. The terms put all decisions on the customer. Not published: which outputs are held by default, what the email negotiation agent may send on its own, or what happens when an agent is unsure.
Operational and Outcome Evidence
Named, dated evidence that the product works in production at real firms or legal departments. Case studies with figures and identified customers count. Unattributed testimonials and launch announcements do not.
Results are quoted without a basis, and no customer is named. Docsum's site says review is 10 times faster and reports average outside counsel savings from users, with no figures a reader can check and no method. A product advisory council of named in house lawyers is published, but its members are presented as advisors, not customers, and no customer story or named deployment is published.
Privilege and Confidentiality Posture
How client confidences are handled: attorney client privilege and work product treatment, segregation of one client matter from another, whether client data trains any model, and what the vendor commits to in writing rather than in marketing.
Docsum publishes real commitments on confidentiality and training, and addresses privilege only to say where it ends. The Terms say uploaded contracts and legal documents will not be used to improve the service, limit Docsum's use of customer content to providing the service, restrict access to people with a need, and commit to reasonable safeguards. The security page says Docsum holds contracts with model providers such as OpenAI and Anthropic under which customer data is not logged, stored or used to improve models, and that customers can delete data at any time.
Two limits apply. Where a customer buys the review service done by Docsum staff, those staff read its contracts, and the terms say those exchanges are not privileged. And nothing documents separation between users or matters inside an account beyond access rights.
UPL and Professional Responsibility Posture
Whether the vendor is clear that it supplies a tool rather than legal advice, who its audience is, and how it addresses unauthorized practice of law, competence and supervision duties, and jurisdiction limits. ABA Formal Opinion 512 is the reference point. Where the advice line is not the duty a product raises, the axis is read through the nearest professional duty it does raise: judicial conduct rules and the reviewing duty for products sold only to courts, and the duty to bill for time actually spent for products that draft time entries.
Docsum states clearly what the product is and is not. The Terms say Docsum is not a law firm, gives no legal advice and creates no attorney client relationship, and that staff providing human assisted review act as contract analysts, not counsel; customers are told to consult a qualified attorney before critical decisions. The product is built for in house legal teams and lets business users reach it through agents that legal controls, and the security page claims alignment with the California Bar's AI guidance on oversight, competence, confidentiality and disclosure. The California Bar claim is not tied to any feature, and no jurisdiction limits are stated.
AI Governance and Bias Disclosure
Published governance over model behavior: who owns it inside the vendor, what is tested before release, and what is disclosed about disparate output across matter types, parties, or populations.
Docsum claims responsible AI without a mechanism anyone could audit. The security page promises responsible AI practices and carries a California Bar guidance badge, and the model provider contracts on training and retention are a real control. Nothing names who is accountable for the AI's output, what is tested before a release, or how extraction and review quality are measured across contract types.
AI Safety and Data Stewardship
Retention, deletion, access control, and what happens to prompts and documents after they are processed. Whether the vendor states its subprocessors and its incident practice, or leaves the buyer to assume.
Most of the ground is covered, short of a published subprocessor list and an incident commitment. Customers decide what to upload, set retention policies and can delete data at any time, with deletion described as permanent. The terms limit access to people with a need and commit to reasonable safeguards, enterprise plans add SAML single sign on, and Docsum's trust center lists controls including a data retention policy, access reviews and disaster recovery.
The subprocessor list and security documents sit behind an access request, and no incident notice commitment is published.
AI Liability and Recourse
What the vendor stands behind contractually when its output is wrong. Indemnities, caps, carve outs, insurance, and whether any of it is published or only reachable through a negotiated agreement.
Liability is addressed only through standard limits that leave the product's risk with the customer. The Terms exclude indirect and consequential damages, cap Docsum's liability at the amount paid for the products ordered, and cap claims about its human assisted review work at the lesser of 12 months of fees for that service or $10,000. The customer indemnifies Docsum for claims arising from reliance on AI output or on the human assisted work product, and no indemnity runs the other way.
Practice Systems Integration Depth
How deeply the product reaches into the systems legal work already lives in: document management such as iManage and NetDocuments, Word and Outlook, contract lifecycle management, matter management, e-billing, and court filing systems.
Real integrations are named with some depth, short of documentation an implementer could configure from. The Word add in installs from Microsoft AppSource; intake requests come in from Salesforce, Slack and email; signed agreements sync from DocuSign, Google Drive and Gmail, with other contract systems and CRMs on enterprise plans through an API; templates go out for signature through DocuSign; and an MCP server released in July 2026 exposes saved views, filters and extracted fields to assistants such as Claude for search and field queries. No API reference is published, and nothing says what each sync reads and writes.
Deployment Model and Data Residency
Where the software runs and where the data sits. Multi tenant cloud, single tenant, private deployment, on premises, and whether region of residence is a published option or an enterprise conversation.
Cloud delivery is implied, and nothing is stated about where it runs. Docsum's site says its infrastructure is designed to support GDPR, CCPA and HIPAA requirements, but names no hosting provider, region or tenancy model. An FAQ item on the site asks where data is hosted.
Security Certifications and Trust Center
Independent attestation a buyer can pull without a sales call: SOC 2, ISO 27001, penetration test summaries, a trust center with current reports and named scope rather than a badge image.
Docsum's certification is real, with the auditor named and the report available on request. It states SOC 2 Type II, attested by Prescient Security for security, availability and confidentiality controls through the Oneleet platform, and a Google CASA assessment against the OWASP application security standard. Its trust center lists controls and offers the report and other documents on request.
Model Supply Chain Disclosure
Which models sit underneath, whose they are, where they run, and whether the vendor commits to telling customers when that changes. A legal buyer inherits every dependency it cannot see.
Model providers are named, without a full list or notice of change. The security page names OpenAI and Anthropic as examples of the foundation model providers Docsum uses, under contracts that bar logging, storing or training on customer data. It does not say which models, whether others are used, where inference runs, or that customers will be told when providers change.
Commercial Transparency
Whether a buyer can learn what this costs without entering a sales process: published rates, the unit being charged, what sits behind an enterprise tier, and what implementation adds.
Real pricing is published for the entry tier, and the larger tiers are withheld. The Core plan starts at $1,250 a month for up to 2,500 contracts, with 20 percent off for yearly billing; AI contract review is an add on at $150 or $250 per user a month depending on tier; and contract sync from DocuSign and Google Drive is $250 a month. Advanced and Enterprise plans are custom priced. A free trial is offered, described on different pages as 14 or 30 days.
Firm and Practice Coverage
Who the product is actually built for. AmLaw, midlaw, small firm and solo, in house departments, government and courts, and which practice areas are supported rather than merely claimed.
Who it serves is described with substance, short of stated limits. The product is built for in house legal teams, with finance, procurement and sales as users through intake, and handles agreements such as NDAs, master services agreements, data processing addenda, statements of work, security questionnaires, business associate agreements, privacy policies and terms of service, with contract volumes set by tier. It does not say which languages, jurisdictions or contract types it handles poorly, or whether law firms are supported.
6 public documents
The public pages on file for Docsum, with the recorded signals each one supports and the date it was last read. Open any of them and check the reading against the record.
-
docsum.ai/security3 signals
Prompt and Output Retention, Bar Guidance Alignment, Outside Counsel Guideline Readiness
Read Sep 27, 2026
-
docsum.ai2 signals
Good Law Verification, Refusal and Uncertainty Behavior
Read Sep 27, 2026
-
docsum.ai/feature/ai-contract-review2 signals
Primary Law Corpus Provenance, Court Disclosure Support
Read Sep 27, 2026
-
docsum.ai/terms2 signals
Client Data in Training, Third Party Request and Subpoena Notice
Read Sep 27, 2026
-
docsum.ai/about1 signal
Billing and Fee Posture
Read Sep 27, 2026
-
docsum.ai/feature/ai-intake1 signal
Ethical Walls and Matter Segregation
Read Sep 27, 2026
$1,250 per month (Core plan)USD, as published, never converted
- The Core plan starts at $1,250 a month for up to 2,500 contracts.
- Paying yearly saves 20 percent.
- AI contract review costs $150 or $250 more per user each month.
- Syncing contracts from DocuSign and Google Drive adds $250 a month.
- Bigger plans are priced by quote.
Published tiers by contract volume. Core: from $1,250 per month, up to 2,500 contracts, standard fields, upload by email, renewal alerts. Advanced: custom pricing, up to 5,000 contracts, configurable fields, integrations, analytics. Enterprise: custom volume pricing, custom integrations, human in the loop data validation, reporting, legacy migration. AI contract review add on: $150 per user per month (Core) or $250 per user per month (Advanced), custom on Enterprise. Synced upload from DocuSign and Google Drive: $250 per month add on. Yearly billing saves 20 percent.
Implementation: None published; Docsum says onboarding, migration, playbook setup and training are handled during the trial and go live.
Confidentiality and data terms: Docsum's site lists HIPAA business associate agreements among the documents the product reviews and says its infrastructure is designed to support HIPAA requirements; no Business Associate Agreement for customers is offered or referred to.
Note: Advanced and Enterprise plans are custom priced. Products and services are sold as final sale under the Terms. The free trial is described as 14 days on one page and 30 days on another. Human assisted review and an email negotiation service are separate add ons.
Legal Signals
What each signal meansA signal records what public sources say on the date shown. It is not a grade and it is not a recommendation. Where a signal reads Not addressed, it means the index did not locate the material in public sources on that date, which is a statement about disclosure rather than about the product.
Client Data in Training
Can material a lawyer puts into this product be used to train a model?
The published terms prohibit training on customer content. Not a policy page, the agreement.
The published terms bar it. The Terms, last updated March 1, 2026, say contracts, draft agreements and legal documents customers upload will not be used to improve the service, and the security page adds contracts with model providers such as OpenAI and Anthropic under which customer data is never logged, stored or used to improve models. One qualification: a July 2026 product update says corrections users make to extracted values help improve extraction quality over time, and nothing says what that feedback keeps.
Prompt and Output Retention
How long does the product keep what a lawyer typed, and can that be set to zero?
The customer controls the retention window, by product configuration or by contractual instruction, but zero retention is not stated as available.
The customer controls retention: it decides what to upload, sets retention policies and can delete data at any time, which Docsum says removes it permanently, and model providers are contractually bound not to store it. No default period and no zero retention setting is described.
Ethical Walls and Matter Segregation
Does retrieval respect the firm’s ethical walls, or can the model read across them?
Segregation is asserted in public materials with no published detail on how it is enforced.
Access control is asserted and not documented. The intake agents are configured with granular permissions and controls, the terms note that users with access rights may see a customer's confidential information, and enterprise plans add single sign on. Nothing describes how access is separated by matter, counterparty or business unit inside the repository, which matters when the chat and MCP server answer questions across every contract the company holds.
Third Party Request and Subpoena Notice
If someone subpoenas the vendor for a firm’s data, does the firm hear about it first?
Terms commit to notice where lawfully permitted. No transparency report located.
The agreement commits to notice. If Docsum is compelled by law, regulation or court order to disclose a customer's confidential information, the Terms say it will give prompt notice where legally permitted so the customer can seek a protective order. No transparency report is published, and the privacy policy separately allows disclosure of personal information to comply with legal process without mentioning notice.
Primary Law Corpus Provenance
Where does the law in this product come from, and does the vendor have the right to use it?
Sources are identified without stating the license or rights basis.
Reviews run against the customer's own documents plus standard playbooks. Playbooks are generated from the customer's templates, precedent agreements and redlines, and the product also ships standard playbooks described as built against market standard. The customer's documents need no licensing statement; what market standard means and where it comes from are not stated.
Good Law Verification
Does the product tell you when the authority it just cited has been overruled?
No located public material addresses whether authority is checked for subsequent history.
The product works on contracts rather than case law and cites no legal authority; nothing published addresses subsequent history.
Refusal and Uncertainty Behavior
What does the product do when the answer is not in the corpus?
No located public material addresses what the product does when it cannot ground an answer.
Nothing published describes what the agents or chat do when an answer is not supported by the repository or a clause cannot be classified.
Fabricated Citation Record
Does a public court record exist addressing fabricated or hallucinated legal citations in output from this product?
No court order, opinion or disciplinary record addressing fabricated or hallucinated legal citations produced by this product has been located as of the date shown. This is a statement about the public record on that one subject, not a finding about the product, and this signal is not a litigation history.
No court order, opinion or disciplinary record addressing fabricated or hallucinated citations produced by Docsum appears in the public record.
Bar Guidance Alignment
Has the vendor engaged in public with the ethics opinions its buyers are bound by?
Public materials engage with at least one named ethics opinion.
One named body's guidance is engaged, as a badge. The security page says Docsum is California Bar AI guidance compliant and meets state bar requirements for human oversight, competence, confidentiality and disclosure, linking to the State Bar of California. That is Docsum's own assessment: no mapping of features to the guidance is published, and no other jurisdiction is addressed.
Billing and Fee Posture
Does the vendor address what happens to the bill when the work takes an hour instead of six?
The product does not touch a fee between a lawyer and a client. It operates before an engagement exists, or it is bought by a team that bills no client for the work. Savings claims aimed at the buyer’s own cost are recorded in the summary and do not make the row a savings claim, because no client bill is in the loop.
The product is bought by in house legal teams that bill no client for the work. Its savings claims concern the buyer's own contract turnaround and outside counsel spend.
Outside Counsel Guideline Readiness
Can a firm get this vendor through a client’s AI clause without a bespoke negotiation?
The material exists behind a sales conversation or an executed agreement.
Disclosure material exists behind an access request. Docsum's trust center lists controls and offers its security documents on request, and the security page names OpenAI and Anthropic as model providers, but no subprocessor list is published.
Court Disclosure Support
If a judge’s standing order requires an AI disclosure, can the product produce one?
Some elements of the record are available, short of a document level export.
Part of a record of AI assisted work can be exported. The contract review agent flags and assesses counterparty redlines, and the full negotiation history exports with one click. Nothing says the record shows which changes the AI proposed, which model produced them, or who approved them.