E
Epiq AI

Epiq AI is the AI product line of Epiq, a New York-based legal services and technology company (Epiq Systems, Inc.) whose other businesses include class action and bankruptcy administration, managed review and cyber incident response. Launched in January 2025 as Epiq AI Discovery Assistant, built on technology from Epiq's 2024 acquisition of Laer AI, it now runs on the Epiq Laer platform, which orchestrates models, agents and human reviewers with a knowledge layer of entities and relationships.

The line comprises Epiq AI for Review (responsiveness, issue, PII and privilege classification from review protocols, with recall, precision and elusion metrics), Epiq AI for Privilege (privilege classification and log generation with reasoning and line-level citations), Epiq Assist (conversational fact research over a dataset), and versions for antitrust, compliance and plaintiff class actions, plus accelerators inside RelativityOne and Relativity Server.

It is sold per matter through the Epiq Service Cloud and Epiq Access, alone or with Epiq review teams, and Epiq says 130 clients had adopted it by early 2026. Epiq also resells third-party AI, including Leah contract software, which is not part of this record. Software is governed by the published Epiq Software Terms and Conditions and the Epiq Global Terms of Service.

Vendor siteNew York, NY, United States
Last verifiedSeptember 18, 2026
Compare with other vendors

Capability grades

All 15 axes, graded from public sources on the date shown. Hover a grade to see what the letter means on that axis.

AA on AI CentralityThe artificial intelligence is the product. Remove the models and there is nothing left to sell.

AI Centrality

How much of the product is actually AI. Whether the machine learning is the mechanism the buyer is paying for or a feature layered onto conventional software, and whether the vendor is specific about which is which.

The product is the AI, which is the A band for a product-level record. Epiq AI is a line of applications whose work is done by the models: Epiq AI for Review turns review protocols into prompts and classifies documents for responsiveness, issues, PII and privilege; Epiq AI for Privilege classifies privilege and drafts logs; Epiq Assist answers natural-language questions over a dataset; all run on the Epiq Laer platform, which orchestrates models, agents and reviewers.

Without the models there is no product. Epiq's wider eDiscovery platform and services, and resold third-party AI such as Leah, are outside this record. Verified 18 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on Citation Accuracy and Hallucination DisclosureGrounding is real and documented, with linked primary sources and a described retrieval method, short of published accuracy figures an outsider can test.

Citation Accuracy and Hallucination Disclosure

Whether the vendor publishes measured accuracy on citations and assertions, grounds output to primary sources, and says plainly what its system does when it does not know. Legal has a documented public record of fabricated citations reaching filed briefs, so an untested claim of accuracy is not evidence.

Grounding and validation are real and the method is documented, short of published accuracy figures with a test set, which is the B band. Epiq AI for Privilege gives reasoning and line-level citations for each call and Epiq Assist answers with links to supporting documents. Epiq's validation article sets out how results are tested: recall, precision, elusion and richness estimated from random samples with confidence intervals, and per-tag recall and precision trade-offs from k-fold cross-validation, which it says are not a substitute for a control set.

The only outcome figures (review up to 90 per cent faster, more than 80 per cent of review automated) are speed claims with no accuracy measurement behind them. Verified 18 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on Autonomy and Oversight ModelA written commitment that the models work alongside a supervising lawyer, with real review surfaces, short of the full control structure: commonly the threshold at which the system stops or what happens after it is wrong.

Autonomy and Oversight Model

What the system decides on its own, what a lawyer must approve, and whether the vendor documents where the review point sits. A tool that drafts under review and a tool that files without one are different products and different risks.

Human validation is built in and described, with per-tag cut-off guidance, short of published stopping points or an error route, which is the B band. Classifications carry reasoning and citations for reviewers to check, each issue tag comes with guidance for choosing a cut-off score, Epiq recommends sample validation of the responsive and non-responsive sets before production, and review services pair the AI with reviewers who validate its results.

The Software Terms state that generative outputs are preliminary and that the client is responsible for verifying them. Where the AI routes low-confidence material, and what happens when validation fails, are not published. Verified 18 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on Operational and Outcome EvidenceReal deployment evidence with substance, short of full attribution or measurement: a named customer without figures, or figures without the named customer.

Operational and Outcome Evidence

Named, dated evidence that the product works in production at real firms or legal departments. Case studies with figures and identified customers count. Unattributed testimonials and launch announcements do not.

Real deployment evidence with figures, without named customers and method, which is the B band. Epiq says 130 clients, including global corporations and law firms, adopted Epiq AI within its first year, and its case studies report a health insurer's 50 per cent savings, a media company saving US$1.5 million on a regulatory deadline, and an Am Law 25 firm deploying Epiq AI for Review; all are anonymised in their titles.

Epiq AI won the 2026 Legalweek Leaders in Tech Law award for best use of AI in eDiscovery and litigation. Verified 18 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on Privilege and Confidentiality PostureSubstantive published commitments on confidentiality and training use, short of the full picture: commonly silence on segregation between users or matters, or on what the underlying model provider may retain.

Privilege and Confidentiality Posture

How client confidences are handled: attorney client privilege and work product treatment, segregation of one client matter from another, whether client data trains any model, and what the vendor commits to in writing rather than in marketing.

Confidentiality is written into published agreements, with training limited but not excluded and privilege not named, which is the B band. The Epiq Software Terms (revised February 2026) treat every Discovery Document, including material under protective order, as confidential without the usual exceptions, limit use of client data to providing the software, require notice before compelled disclosure, and require return or destruction at termination at the client's choice; but section 15 lets Epiq use client data to fine-tune its generative AI tools for that client's environment.

The Epiq AI FAQ says it does not train public models with client data, and the Responsible AI page says the Azure OpenAI service behind Epiq's summarisation keeps prompts and outputs from OpenAI and other customers. Neither agreement addresses privilege or work product by name. Verified 18 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on UPL and Professional Responsibility PostureA real position is published on advice versus tooling, short of full treatment: commonly a disclaimer without the supervision and competence dimension, or silence on jurisdiction limits.

UPL and Professional Responsibility Posture

Whether the vendor is clear that it supplies a tool rather than legal advice, who its audience is, and how it addresses unauthorized practice of law, competence and supervision duties, and jurisdiction limits. ABA Formal Opinion 512 is the reference point.

A clear contractual position on advice versus tooling, short of jurisdiction limits, which is the B band. The Epiq Software Terms say that nothing Epiq does is the practice of law, a legal opinion or legal advice, and that Epiq has told the client it is not representing it; the Epiq Global Terms of Service say Epiq is not a law firm. The Software Terms add that generative outputs are preliminary, untested and unverified, and that the client bears responsibility for verifying them.

The product is sold to law firms and legal departments. No jurisdictional limits are stated. Verified 18 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on AI Governance and Bias DisclosureA published governance framework with real substance, short of testing results or a named owner.

AI Governance and Bias Disclosure

Published governance over model behaviour: who owns it inside the vendor, what is tested before release, and what is disclosed about disparate output across matter types, parties, or populations.

A published governance structure with a named body, short of testing results, which is the B band. Epiq's Responsible AI page says a Responsible AI Committee oversees the development and deployment of its AI, that bias assessments are carried out to identify and reduce bias, and that practices are reviewed regularly, with employee training and a route for staff to raise concerns; Epiq AI Labs, led by the founders of Laer AI with Cornell's Center for Data Science for Enterprise and Society as a founding member, researches the technology. No assessment results, release testing or findings about uneven performance are published. Verified 18 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on AI Safety and Data StewardshipSubstantive published policy covering most of the ground, short of the full set: commonly no named subprocessor list or no stated incident practice.

AI Safety and Data Stewardship

Retention, deletion, access control, and what happens to prompts and documents after they are processed. Whether the vendor states its subprocessors and its incident practice, or leaves the buyer to assume.

Real published commitments on data handling with gaps, which is the B band. The Software Terms commit to breach notification without undue delay with assistance to the client, confidentiality obligations on staff and agents, no subcontracting of personal data processing without permission, and return or destruction of personal data at termination; the Global Terms of Service allow 30 days to export data after termination, after which Epiq may delete it.

The security page describes identity and access management on Zero Trust principles, 24/7 managed network monitoring and regular penetration tests. No subprocessor list, fixed notification window or retention period for AI inputs and outputs is published. Verified 18 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on AI Liability and RecourseA real published position on liability, short of the full picture: commonly a stated indemnity without scope or caps.

AI Liability and Recourse

What the vendor stands behind contractually when its output is wrong. Indemnities, caps, carve outs, insurance, and whether any of it is published or only reachable through a negotiated agreement.

A real published position with indemnities and caps, and an express disclaimer of AI output, which is the B band. The Software Terms warrant that the software performs substantially as documented, with correction or termination and a pro-rata refund as the remedy; indemnify the client for infringement, material breach, gross negligence, security breaches the client did not contribute to and legal non-compliance; and cap liability at six months of fees for the software concerned.

The Global Terms of Service cap liability at 12 months of fees, with carve-outs for confidentiality breach and gross negligence. Both disclaim any warranty of accuracy for AI outputs, which the client must verify. Verified 18 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on Practice Systems Integration DepthReal integrations exist and are documented, short of depth: named connections without a description of what they actually move.

Practice Systems Integration Depth

How deeply the product reaches into the systems legal work already lives in: document management such as iManage and NetDocuments, Word and Outlook, contract lifecycle management, matter management, e-billing, and court filing systems.

Real integrations with the review platforms legal teams use, described at the level of what they do, which is the B band. Epiq AI Accelerators add translation, image analysis, OCR and agentic automation inside RelativityOne and Relativity Server; Epiq AI for Review and Epiq Assist are built into Epiq Discover; and access runs through Epiq Access single sign-on in the Epiq Service Cloud, with Microsoft, AWS and Relativity named as technology partners.

Epiq lists an Epiq MCP page in its navigation, which the fetch tool would not retrieve and search did not surface, so it was not read. No implementer documentation is published. Verified 18 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on Deployment Model and Data ResidencyDeployment model is stated clearly with partial residency detail, or residency is offered without the processing location being addressed, or the tenancy model is stated on its own with no residency detail published.

Deployment Model and Data Residency

Where the software runs and where the data sits. Multi tenant cloud, single tenant, private deployment, on premises, and whether region of residence is a published option or an enterprise conversation.

Deployment is described in real terms without the regions, which is the B band. Epiq says it runs Tier 3+ data centres in ten locations worldwide, offers private cloud capabilities in the Epiq Service Cloud and region-specific sites across 14 countries, and that the Epiq Laer platform uses local models to control throughput and cost. The locations of the data centres, where AI processing happens relative to storage, and residency options for Epiq AI are not published. Verified 18 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on Security Certifications and Trust CenterCertification is real and stated, short of accessible evidence: a named standard without scope, date, or a way to obtain the report.

Security Certifications and Trust Center

Independent attestation a buyer can pull without a sales call: SOC 2, ISO 27001, penetration test summaries, a trust center with current reports and named scope rather than a badge image.

Named certifications without scope, dates or reports, which is the B band. Epiq's security page shows ISO, Cyber Essentials, TISAX and UKAS marks and says it is aligned with HIPAA, NIST and FISMA and that third parties assess its programme, with Bitsight ratings giving clients visibility of its posture. The page does not say which ISO standard is held or its scope, still shows the EU-US Privacy Shield mark invalidated in 2020, and offers no reports or trust centre. Verified 18 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on Model Supply Chain DisclosureThe supply chain is partly disclosed: providers named without change notification, or architecture described without the providers.

Model Supply Chain Disclosure

Which models sit underneath, whose they are, where they run, and whether the vendor commits to telling customers when that changes. A legal buyer inherits every dependency it cannot see.

The architecture is described and one provider is named, short of a model list or change notice, which is the B band. The Responsible AI page says Epiq's summarisation uses the Microsoft Azure OpenAI Service and sets out that service's data terms; the Epiq AI FAQ says the Epiq Laer platform orchestrates multiple models and agents and uses local models strategically. Epiq has announced partnerships with AWS and DeepJudge.

Which models power each Epiq AI application, their versions and how model changes are notified are not published. Verified 18 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on Commercial TransparencyReal pricing is published for part of the range, with enterprise tiers withheld, or the unit and structure are stated without the figure.

Commercial Transparency

Whether a buyer can learn what this costs without entering a sales process: published rates, the unit being charged, what sits behind an enterprise tier, and what implementation adds.

The pricing unit and structure are published without a figure, which is the B band under R10. Epiq AI is sold per matter, with unlimited prompts and protocol changes and reclassification at no additional fee, and is also offered to managed-services clients at a predictable monthly cost; the Software Terms describe prepaid and monthly service fees with 12-month auto-renewing subscriptions. No price is published. Verified 18 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on Firm and Practice CoverageSegment and practice coverage is described with substance, short of the boundaries: what is supported is clear, what is not is left open.

Firm and Practice Coverage

Who the product is actually built for. AmLaw, midlaw, small firm and solo, in house departments, government and courts, and which practice areas are supported rather than merely claimed.

Segments and matter types are described with substance, short of stated limits, which is the B band. Epiq AI is sold to corporate legal departments and law firms and positioned for investigations, risk assessments, HSR filings and second requests, merger reviews, post-execution M&A contract review, PII and PHI identification, early case assessment, incoming production review, deposition preparation and litigation review, with versions for antitrust, compliance and plaintiff class actions; Epiq says it classifies documents in any language. Where the AI is weaker, by language, data type or matter type, is not stated. Verified 18 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
Sources on file

7 public documents

The public pages on file for Epiq AI, with the recorded signals each one supports and the date it was last read. Open any of them and check the reading against the record.

Pricing

Quoted per matter

  • Epiq AI is priced for each legal matter you use it on.
  • The price covers unlimited questions and prompt changes, and re-running classification costs nothing extra.
  • Managed-services clients can pay a set monthly amount instead.
  • Subscriptions run for 12 months and renew automatically.
  • No prices are published, so you have to ask for a quote.

Per matter, with unlimited prompts and protocols and reclassification without additional fees; also a predictable monthly cost for Epiq Managed Services clients. The Epiq Software Terms describe prepaid and monthly service fees on 12-month auto-renewing subscriptions. Sources: Epiq AI Discovery Assistant launch release (14 January 2025), Epiq AI for Review page, Epiq Software Terms and Conditions, read 18 September 2026.

Implementation: Not published. Optional Epiq review services and AI consulting are sold alongside the software; no figures published.

Legal Signals

What each signal means

A signal records what public sources say on the date shown. It is not a grade and it is not a recommendation. Where a signal reads Not addressed, it means the index did not locate the material in public sources on that date, which is a statement about disclosure rather than about the product.

Confidentiality and Privilege

Client Data in Training

Can material a lawyer puts into this product be used to train a model?

Permitted, in the contract

The published agreement expressly reserves a right to train on customer content, with no opt out located. Any de identification, anonymisation or aggregation qualifier is recorded in the summary.

The published agreement reserves a right to train on client content, limited in scope. Section 15 of the Epiq Software Terms and Conditions lets Epiq use client data to fine-tune or adapt its generative AI tools for the limited purpose of improving outputs specific to that client's environment; no opt-out is stated. Elsewhere the same terms restrict client data to providing the software, the Epiq AI FAQ says Epiq does not train public models with client data, and the Epiq Global Terms of Service let Epiq use customer data to improve the services for that customer.

Source: Vendor Publishedmay use Client Data solely to fine-tune or adapt such Generative AI ToolsAs of Sep 18, 2026Evidence

Prompt and Output Retention

How long does the product keep what a lawyer typed, and can that be set to zero?

Disclosed without a period

Retention is acknowledged in public materials with no stated period.

Retention is addressed without a period for AI inputs and outputs. The Global Terms of Service give 30 days to export data after termination, after which Epiq may delete it, and the Software Terms require return or destruction at the client's choice on termination; the Azure OpenAI service behind summarisation is described as stateless. How long prompts and outputs are kept during a matter is not stated.

Source: Vendor PublishedAfter 30 days (or immediately for Trial Services), Epiq Global may delete Customer Data.As of Sep 18, 2026Evidence

Ethical Walls and Matter Segregation

Does retrieval respect the firm’s ethical walls, or can the model read across them?

Claimed, not documented

Segregation is asserted in public materials with no published detail on how it is enforced.

Access control is claimed without documented matter-level segregation. The Epiq Service Cloud page describes flexible user permissions under Epiq Access single sign-on, and Epiq AI is bought per matter, but no page describes how access to one matter's data, prompts or outputs is walled from other matters or users.

Source: Vendor Publishedflexible user permissions and white labellingAs of Sep 18, 2026Evidence

Third Party Request and Subpoena Notice

If someone subpoenas the vendor for a firm’s data, does the firm hear about it first?

Notice committed

Terms commit to notice where lawfully permitted. No transparency report located.

The Software Terms commit to written notice before disclosing confidential information under a court or agency order, and cooperation in seeking a protective order; the Data Processing Terms commit to inform the client and give it an opportunity to object where a law requires disclosure of personal information, unless notice is prohibited. The Global Terms of Service give prior notice where permitted. No transparency report is published.

Source: Vendor Publishedwill notify the disclosing party in writing prior to making any disclosureAs of Sep 18, 2026Evidence
Accuracy and Authority

Primary Law Corpus Provenance

Where does the law in this product come from, and does the vendor have the right to use it?

Not addressed

No located public material identifies the corpus behind the product’s answers.

Searched the Epiq AI pages, Responsible AI page, Software Terms, Global Terms of Service and security page on 18 September 2026. The products work on the client's own matter data; no external legal corpus is described.

Source: Operator VerifiedAs of Sep 18, 2026

Good Law Verification

Does the product tell you when the authority it just cited has been overruled?

Not addressed

No located public material addresses whether authority is checked for subsequent history.

Searched the same surfaces on 18 September 2026. Citations point to documents in the matter, not to case law, and no check of cited authority is described.

Source: Operator VerifiedAs of Sep 18, 2026

Refusal and Uncertainty Behaviour

What does the product do when the answer is not in the corpus?

Documented

The vendor describes refusal or abstention behaviour in public materials.

The product exposes its uncertainty for classification. Each issue tag comes with recall and precision trade-off metrics from k-fold cross-validation and guidance for choosing a cut-off score, and Epiq recommends sample validation of the responsive and non-responsive sets with confidence intervals. How Epiq Assist behaves when the dataset holds no answer is not described.

Source: Vendor PublishedThe built-in guidance for each tag can help determine appropriate cutoff scoresAs of Sep 18, 2026Evidence

Fabricated Citation Record

Does a public court record exist addressing fabricated or hallucinated legal citations in output from this product?

None located

No court order, opinion or disciplinary record addressing fabricated or hallucinated legal citations produced by this product has been located as of the date shown. This is a statement about the public record on that one subject, not a finding about the product, and this signal is not a litigation history.

Searched the AI Hallucination Cases database maintained by Damien Charlotin and trade press reporting on 18 September 2026 for court records addressing fabricated or hallucinated content in output from Epiq AI. None located. This signal does not record litigation history of any other kind.

Source: Bar Guidance or Court RecordAs of Sep 18, 2026Evidence
Professional Responsibility

Bar Guidance Alignment

Has the vendor engaged in public with the ethics opinions its buyers are bound by?

Not addressed

No located public material engages with bar or ethics guidance.

Searched the Epiq AI pages, Responsible AI page, agreements and validation article on 18 September 2026. Defensibility is framed around metrics accepted by regulators, courts and opposing counsel; no ethics opinion, court AI order or rule, or bar guidance is referred to.

Source: Operator VerifiedAs of Sep 18, 2026

Billing and Fee Posture

Does the vendor address what happens to the bill when the work takes an hour instead of six?

Savings claims only

Public materials claim time savings without addressing billing or disclosure, and the product sits inside a fee relationship between a lawyer and a client where those savings would change the bill.

Cost savings are marketed without disclosure guidance. Epiq AI is sold per matter with unlimited prompts and reclassification at no extra fee, and its case studies report savings of 50 per cent and US$1.5 million; nothing addresses how law firm customers should bill or disclose AI-assisted review to their clients.

Source: Vendor PublishedAs of Sep 18, 2026Evidence

Outside Counsel Guideline Readiness

Can a firm get this vendor through a client’s AI clause without a bespoke negotiation?

Not addressed

No located public material supports a client side disclosure obligation.

Searched the Epiq Global Terms of Service, Software Terms, Data Processing Terms, Privacy Policy, Privacy Statement, Responsible AI page and security page on 18 September 2026. The Data Processing Terms are public, and Azure OpenAI is named for summarisation, but no subprocessor list, model provider list or disclosure pack for client guidelines was located, and none is offered on request.

Source: Operator VerifiedAs of Sep 18, 2026

Court Disclosure Support

If a judge’s standing order requires an AI disclosure, can the product produce one?

Partial record

Some elements of the record are available, short of a document level export.

Parts of a defensibility record exist. Epiq AI reports recall, precision and elusion metrics with confidence intervals, gives reasoning and line-level citations for classification and privilege calls, and Epiq positions the metrics for regulators, courts and opposing counsel. No per-document record of the model used and the human verification is described as exportable.

Source: Vendor Publishedstandard metrics accepted by regulators, courts, and opposing counselAs of Sep 18, 2026Evidence
Contact

Correct a record, or ask how something was graded

Every grade and every signal on this index is drawn from public sources and dated. If a record is wrong, out of date, or missing an artifact the index did not locate, send the source and it will be reviewed and the record redated. Vendors are welcome to submit documentation. Nothing on this index is for sale, including a listing, a placement, or a grade.

AI Legal Index

The AI Legal Index is an independent index that tracks changes to AI vendors in legal. It holds 61 vendors across 9 categories, each graded on the same 15 capability axes and recorded against 12 legal signals, from public sources. No vendor pays for inclusion, placement, or rating.

Index Status
Last index update
September 18, 2026
The AI Legal Index is an editorial reference. It is not a regulatory body, not a law firm, and nothing published here is legal advice or a recommendation to retain or avoid a vendor. Records are verified against published sources, bar guidance and public court records. Where a record reads not addressed, the material was not located in public sources on the date shown. See the Methodology page for evaluation standards and limitations.
© 2026 AI Legal Index
3801 N Capital of Texas Hwy, Ste E240 · Austin, TX 78746