E
EstateScribe

EstateScribe is estate planning software from EstateScribe, LLC for law firms. It collects client information through intake forms and a firm-branded client portal, extracts details from uploaded intake documents with AI, drafts wills, revocable living trusts, powers of attorney and other estate planning documents from that data in a jurisdiction-specific way for attorney review and editing, and tracks each matter and document through to execution; the portal also offers clients an AI copilot.

Client data is processed in an isolated AI environment on AWS in the United States and is not used to train generalised models, and the company has completed a SOC 2 Type II examination. Pricing is not published.

Capability grades

All 15 axes, graded from public sources on the date shown. Hover a grade to see what the letter means on that axis.

BB on AI CentralityThe models are the engine of a core capability, layered on a product that would still function without them as a document or workflow system.

AI Centrality

How much of the product is actually AI. Whether the machine learning is the mechanism the buyer is paying for or a feature layered onto conventional software, and whether the vendor is specific about which is which.

AI drives the drafting inside a practice workflow that would still run without it. The models extract client details from uploaded intake documents, draft wills, trusts and powers of attorney from intake data, and power a copilot in the client portal. Intake forms, the client portal, matter tracking and document storage would still work as estate planning practice software without them. Verified 22 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
DD on Citation Accuracy and Hallucination DisclosureNothing published on accuracy or grounding for a product that produces legal assertions, or a bare claim that the system does not hallucinate.

Citation Accuracy and Hallucination Disclosure

Whether the vendor publishes measured accuracy on citations and assertions, grounds output to primary sources, and says plainly what its system does when it does not know. Legal has a documented public record of fabricated citations reaching filed briefs, so an untested claim of accuracy is not evidence.

Checked the home, Document Automation and Data & Security pages and the Terms of Service on 22 September 2026. The product drafts estate planning documents, but nothing is published on how accurate drafts or extracted data are or how errors are caught; the terms disclaim any representation that output is complete, accurate or legally sufficient without attorney review. Verified 22 September 2026.

Source: Operator Verified
BB on Autonomy and Oversight ModelA written commitment that the models work alongside a supervising lawyer, with real review surfaces, short of the full control structure: commonly the threshold at which the system stops or what happens after it is wrong.

Autonomy and Oversight Model

What the system decides on its own, what a lawyer must approve, and whether the vendor documents where the review point sits. A tool that drafts under review and a tool that files without one are different products and different risks.

A written attorney-in-the-loop commitment with an editing surface, short of stated limits. The Terms of Service say AI output is subject to attorney review, modification, approval and final responsibility, and that EstateScribe does not determine planning strategies or act as counsel; the About page says the tools create the first draft and the attorney always has the final say, and drafts open for editing. Nothing states what the client-facing copilot may not do. Verified 22 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
DD on Operational and Outcome EvidenceNo production evidence located. Announcements, funding and launch coverage are not deployment evidence.

Operational and Outcome Evidence

Named, dated evidence that the product works in production at real firms or legal departments. Case studies with figures and identified customers count. Unattributed testimonials and launch announcements do not.

Checked the home, About, Document Automation, Intake and White-label pages and the blog index on 22 September 2026. No named customer, testimonial, case study or measured result was located. Verified 22 September 2026.

Source: Operator Verified
BB on Privilege and Confidentiality PostureSubstantive published commitments on confidentiality and training use, short of the full picture: commonly silence on segregation between users or matters, or on what the underlying model provider may retain.

Privilege and Confidentiality Posture

How client confidences are handled: attorney client privilege and work product treatment, segregation of one client matter from another, whether client data trains any model, and what the vendor commits to in writing rather than in marketing.

Written into the agreement, short of matter walls and named providers. The Terms of Service say client data is used only to provide the contracted services to the attorney and firm, is not used to train generalised AI models, and is processed in a siloed environment designed to preserve attorney-client privilege; the Document Automation page says client data is purged from the inference engine as soon as a task is complete.

The terms leave firm-specific model tuning unaddressed, separation between matters inside a firm is not described, and the AI providers are not named. Verified 22 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on UPL and Professional Responsibility PostureA real position is published on advice versus tooling, short of full treatment: commonly a disclaimer without the supervision and competence dimension, or silence on jurisdiction limits.

UPL and Professional Responsibility Posture

Whether the vendor is clear that it supplies a tool rather than legal advice, who its audience is, and how it addresses unauthorized practice of law, competence and supervision duties, and jurisdiction limits. ABA Formal Opinion 512 is the reference point. Where the advice line is not the duty a product raises, the axis is read through the nearest professional duty it does raise: judicial conduct rules and the reviewing duty for products sold only to courts, and the duty to bill for time actually spent for products that draft time entries.

A plain advice line in the agreement, short of jurisdiction limits and portal disclosure. The Terms of Service say EstateScribe is not a law firm, gives no legal advice, creates no attorney-client relationship, and that attorneys remain solely responsible for reviewing output and for compliance with ethical rules and jurisdiction-specific requirements. The jurisdictions its drafting covers are not listed, and the client-facing portal's AI copilot carries no disclosure on the pages read. Verified 22 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
DD on AI Governance and Bias DisclosureNo governance position published for a system whose output affects legal outcomes.

AI Governance and Bias Disclosure

Published governance over model behaviour: who owns it inside the vendor, what is tested before release, and what is disclosed about disparate output across matter types, parties, or populations.

Checked the home, About, Data & Security and Document Automation pages, the Terms of Service and the Privacy Policy on 22 September 2026. No AI governance framework, accountable owner, testing before release, or finding on how drafting performs across jurisdictions or family structures was located. Verified 22 September 2026.

Source: Operator Verified
BB on AI Safety and Data StewardshipSubstantive published policy covering most of the ground, short of the full set: commonly no named subprocessor list or no stated incident practice.

AI Safety and Data Stewardship

Retention, deletion, access control, and what happens to prompts and documents after they are processed. Whether the vendor states its subprocessors and its incident practice, or leaves the buyer to assume.

A detailed security programme, short of retention periods and a subprocessor list. The Data & Security page describes a written security programme, staff training, confidentiality agreements and background checks, annual third-party penetration testing, AWS hosting with US-only storage, encryption at rest and in transit, continuous monitoring, backups, least-privilege access with SSO and multi-factor authentication, and a documented incident response plan.

No retention period for stored client data, subprocessor list or incident notification timeframe was located. Verified 22 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
CC on AI Liability and RecourseLiability is addressed only through a standard limitation clause that disclaims the exposure the product creates.

AI Liability and Recourse

What the vendor stands behind contractually when its output is wrong. Indemnities, caps, carve outs, insurance, and whether any of it is published or only reachable through a negotiated agreement.

Exposure is disclaimed in full. The Terms of Service exclude liability for any direct, indirect or other damages arising from reliance on platform outputs, errors or system failures, and give no guarantee that documents are enforceable, accepted by institutions or compliant with law. Nothing stands behind a drafted document that proves defective. Verified 22 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
CC on Practice Systems Integration DepthIntegrations are listed as logos or marked as coming, with no documentation an implementer could use.

Practice Systems Integration Depth

How deeply the product reaches into the systems legal work already lives in: document management such as iManage and NetDocuments, Word and Outlook, contract lifecycle management, matter management, e-billing, and court filing systems.

Integration is claimed without names. The site says EstateScribe integrates with leading legal case management systems so data need not be entered twice, and offers a form to request new integrations, but names no system and documents no connection. Verified 22 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on Deployment Model and Data ResidencyDeployment model is stated clearly with partial residency detail, or residency is offered without the processing location being addressed, or the tenancy model is stated on its own with no residency detail published.

Deployment Model and Data Residency

Where the software runs and where the data sits. Multi tenant cloud, single tenant, private deployment, on premises, and whether region of residence is a published option or an enterprise conversation.

Hosting and region are stated for a single hosted service. The Data & Security page says the platform runs on AWS, that all customer data is stored in US data centres and does not leave the country, and the terms describe AI features running in a siloed environment. No other deployment option is offered, and where AI inference runs is not stated separately. Verified 22 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on Security Certifications and Trust CenterCertification is real and stated, short of accessible evidence: a named standard without scope, date, or a way to obtain the report.

Security Certifications and Trust Center

Independent attestation a buyer can pull without a sales call: SOC 2, ISO 27001, penetration test summaries, a trust center with current reports and named scope rather than a badge image.

A completed attestation, report under NDA. The Data & Security page says EstateScribe has completed a SOC 2 Type II examination by an independent firm and that the report is available to customers and prospective clients under NDA. The auditor and report period are not published, and no trust centre was located. Verified 22 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
CC on Model Supply Chain DisclosureThe vendor refers to advanced or proprietary models without identifying what sits underneath.

Model Supply Chain Disclosure

Which models sit underneath, whose they are, where they run, and whether the vendor commits to telling customers when that changes. A legal buyer inherits every dependency it cannot see.

A private system is claimed without identifying what sits underneath. The site says EstateScribe runs on a secure, private AI system built exclusively for legal drafting, with its own inference engine and models it never trains on firm data, but names no model, provider or change notification. Verified 22 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
DD on Commercial TransparencyNo pricing information published at any level, including the unit of charge.

Commercial Transparency

Whether a buyer can learn what this costs without entering a sales process: published rates, the unit being charged, what sits behind an enterprise tier, and what implementation adds.

Checked the home, About, Document Automation and White-label pages on 22 September 2026, and the /pricing address returns a missing-page error. No price, unit or tier is published; every route to a price is a demo booking. Verified 22 September 2026.

Source: Operator Verified
BB on Firm and Practice CoverageSegment and practice coverage is described with substance, short of the boundaries: what is supported is clear, what is not is left open.

Firm and Practice Coverage

Who the product is actually built for. AmLaw, midlaw, small firm and solo, in house departments, government and courts, and which practice areas are supported rather than merely claimed.

The practice and documents are named, short of limits. The site addresses estate planning attorneys, particularly smaller firms, and names wills, revocable living trusts, powers of attorney and intake and onboarding work, with jurisdiction-specific drafting. Which states' law it drafts for and what it does not handle are not stated. Verified 22 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
Sources on file

4 public documents

The public pages on file for EstateScribe, with the recorded signals each one supports and the date it was last read. Open any of them and check the reading against the record.

Legal Signals

What each signal means

A signal records what public sources say on the date shown. It is not a grade and it is not a recommendation. Where a signal reads Not addressed, it means the index did not locate the material in public sources on that date, which is a statement about disclosure rather than about the product.

Confidentiality and Privilege

Client Data in Training

Can material a lawyer puts into this product be used to train a model?

Purpose limited, in the contract

The customer agreement or data processing addendum contractually limits use of Customer Data to providing the contracted service, and no surface names training either way. The limit is bound, which a policy page is not, but it is not an express training prohibition. If any surface names training in either direction, one of the other values is true and this one is not.

The Terms of Service limit use of client data to providing the contracted services to the attorney and firm, and say EstateScribe does not use client-specific data or attorney-client communications to train generalised AI models. The qualifier 'generalised' leaves firm-specific tuning unaddressed. The Document Automation page adds that EstateScribe never trains its models on a firm's data.

Source: Vendor Publishedused only to provide the contracted services to the attorney and their firmAs of Sep 22, 2026Evidence

Prompt and Output Retention

How long does the product keep what a lawyer typed, and can that be set to zero?

Disclosed fixed window

A specific retention period is published and the customer cannot change it.

The Document Automation page says client data is accessed only at the moment a document is generated and is purged from the inference engine as soon as the task completes. Stored client records are kept as long as necessary under the Privacy Policy, with no period stated.

Source: Vendor Publishedimmediately purged from our inference engine the instant the task is completeAs of Sep 22, 2026Evidence

Ethical Walls and Matter Segregation

Does retrieval respect the firm’s ethical walls, or can the model read across them?

Not addressed

No located public material addresses walls or matter level segregation.

Checked the Data & Security and Document Automation pages and the Terms of Service on 22 September 2026. The site describes a siloed AI environment and least-privilege access for EstateScribe staff; nothing describes separating matters or users within a firm.

Source: Operator VerifiedAs of Sep 22, 2026

Third Party Request and Subpoena Notice

If someone subpoenas the vendor for a firm’s data, does the firm hear about it first?

Not addressed

No located term or policy addresses third party requests for customer data.

Checked the Terms of Service and the Privacy Policy on 22 September 2026. Neither addresses requests from courts, law enforcement or government for customer data.

Source: Operator VerifiedAs of Sep 22, 2026
Accuracy and Authority

Primary Law Corpus Provenance

Where does the law in this product come from, and does the vendor have the right to use it?

Not addressed

No located public material identifies the corpus behind the product’s answers.

Checked the home and Document Automation pages on 22 September 2026. Drafting is described as jurisdiction-specific, but no source of the forms, clauses or state law behind it is identified.

Source: Operator VerifiedAs of Sep 22, 2026

Good Law Verification

Does the product tell you when the authority it just cited has been overruled?

Not addressed

No located public material addresses whether authority is checked for subsequent history.

Checked the Document Automation page and the Terms of Service on 22 September 2026. Nothing addresses checking any authority relied on in drafted documents for currency.

Source: Operator VerifiedAs of Sep 22, 2026

Refusal and Uncertainty Behaviour

What does the product do when the answer is not in the corpus?

Not addressed

No located public material addresses what the product does when it cannot ground an answer.

Checked the home, Document Automation and White-label pages on 22 September 2026. Nothing describes what drafting or the client portal's copilot does when information is missing or a question falls outside what it can support.

Source: Operator VerifiedAs of Sep 22, 2026

Fabricated Citation Record

Does a public court record exist addressing fabricated or hallucinated legal citations in output from this product?

None located

No court order, opinion or disciplinary record addressing fabricated or hallucinated legal citations produced by this product has been located as of the date shown. This is a statement about the public record on that one subject, not a finding about the product, and this signal is not a litigation history.

Searched the AI Hallucination Cases database maintained by Damien Charlotin on 22 September 2026 for EstateScribe, and no recorded case was returned. No court order, opinion or disciplinary record naming the product was located. This is a statement about the public record rather than a finding about the product.

Source: Bar Guidance or Court RecordAs of Sep 22, 2026Evidence
Professional Responsibility

Bar Guidance Alignment

Has the vendor engaged in public with the ethics opinions its buyers are bound by?

Generic reference

Public materials refer to professional responsibility in general terms without naming guidance.

The Terms of Service say attorneys remain responsible for compliance with ethical rules and jurisdiction-specific requirements and that the AI environment is designed to support attorney-client privilege. No rule or ethics opinion is named.

Source: Vendor PublishedAs of Sep 22, 2026Evidence

Billing and Fee Posture

Does the vendor address what happens to the bill when the work takes an hour instead of six?

Savings claims only

Public materials claim time savings without addressing billing or disclosure, and the product sits inside a fee relationship between a lawyer and a client where those savings would change the bill.

The site promises faster drafting and less time on data entry for estate planning firms. Nothing addresses how AI-assisted drafting is reflected in client fees.

Source: Vendor PublishedAs of Sep 22, 2026Evidence

Outside Counsel Guideline Readiness

Can a firm get this vendor through a client’s AI clause without a bespoke negotiation?

Not addressed

No located public material supports a client side disclosure obligation.

Checked the Data & Security page, the Terms of Service and the Privacy Policy on 22 September 2026. The SOC 2 report is available under NDA; no subprocessor or model provider list and no client-facing disclosure material was located.

Source: Operator VerifiedAs of Sep 22, 2026

Court Disclosure Support

If a judge’s standing order requires an AI disclosure, can the product produce one?

Not addressed

No located public material addresses court disclosure or verification certification.

Checked the Document Automation page and the Terms of Service on 22 September 2026. The product drafts estate planning documents rather than court filings, and nothing addresses recording or disclosing AI use.

Source: Operator VerifiedAs of Sep 22, 2026
Contact

Correct a record, or ask how something was graded

Every grade and every signal on this index is drawn from public sources and dated. If a record is wrong, out of date, or missing an artifact the index did not locate, send the source and it will be reviewed and the record redated. Vendors are welcome to submit documentation. Nothing on this index is for sale, including a listing, a placement, or a grade.

AI Legal Index

The AI Legal Index is an independent index that tracks changes to AI vendors in legal. It holds 303 vendors across 9 categories, each graded on the same 15 capability axes and recorded against 12 legal signals, from public sources. No vendor pays for inclusion, placement, or rating.

Index Status
Last index update
September 22, 2026
The AI Legal Index is an editorial reference. It is not a regulatory body, not a law firm, and nothing published here is legal advice or a recommendation to retain or avoid a vendor. Records are verified against published sources, bar guidance and public court records. Where a record reads not addressed, the material was not located in public sources on the date shown. See the Methodology page for evaluation standards and limitations.
© 2026 AI Legal Index
3801 N Capital of Texas Hwy, Ste E240 · Austin, TX 78746