Omnilex

Omnilex is an AI workspace for Swiss law, bringing statutes, court decisions, commentary and a firm's own know-how into a single research and drafting environment. Its corpus runs to more than a million sources, counted openly on the site as 797,321 court decisions, 222,525 commentaries, 22,181 laws and articles, 13,162 official documents and 2,352 pieces of literature, covering federal and cantonal material and refreshed continuously. Alongside the published sources sits the Omnilex Commentary, which the company writes itself on Swiss law article by article: it is AI-drafted, labelled as such, and cited back to statute and case law. Work is organised into projects and matters, and recurring tasks can be turned into agents built without code, so a firm can encode its own playbooks, templates and review steps and run them on demand. Users choose which frontier model answers a question, with GPT-5.6, Claude Opus 5, Mistral Large 3, Kimi K2.6 and Grok 4.6 named on the site, all processed on Swiss infrastructure. Hosting is on Microsoft Azure in Zürich, with processing in Switzerland and selected EU countries the Swiss data protection authority recognises as adequate, and the company is certified to ISO/IEC 27001:2022 with a trust centre carrying its licence agreement, data processing agreement, penetration test report and cyber insurance. Pricing is published per seat. Named customers include the Swiss Confederation, Bayer, the insurer Dextra, Asga, Pro Infirmis and the firms SwissLegal, Ruoss Vögele, Neuwerk, Domenig and Seeger Frick. Omnilex is operated by Omnilex AG of Zurich.

Vendor siteZurich, Switzerland
Last verifiedSeptember 2, 2026

Capability grades

All 15 axes, graded from public sources on the date shown. Hover a grade to see what the letter means on that axis.

BB on AI CentralityThe models are the engine of a core capability, layered on a product that would still function without them as a document or workflow system.

AI Centrality

How much of the product is actually AI. Whether the machine learning is the mechanism the buyer is paying for or a feature layered onto conventional software, and whether the vendor is specific about which is which.

The models are the engine of what a buyer uses and a substantial content asset sits beneath them. The corpus is counted openly at 1,057,541 sources across five categories, dominated by 797,321 Swiss court decisions and 22,181 laws and articles, and that collection would remain a usable Swiss law database if every model were removed, which is the product several incumbents in this market already sell. What the AI adds is the reasoning layer over it, plus one thing that is genuinely model-created: the Omnilex Commentary, 222,525 annotations the company writes itself article by article on Swiss law, which exists only because the models produced it. Agents built without code from a firm's own playbooks sit on top. The pricing page frames the whole offering as one licence covering corpus, models and agents together, which is an accurate description of a product where the machine learning is the mechanism and the collection is the substrate. Verified 2 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on Citation Accuracy and Hallucination DisclosureGrounding is real and documented, with linked primary sources and a described retrieval method, short of published accuracy figures an outsider can test.

Citation Accuracy and Hallucination Disclosure

Whether the vendor publishes measured accuracy on citations and assertions, grounds output to primary sources, and says plainly what its system does when it does not know. Legal has a documented public record of fabricated citations reaching filed briefs, so an untested claim of accuracy is not evidence.

Grounding is real, documented and unusually well labelled. The stated design is that every claim is cited and ready for the file, and the Omnilex Commentary carries the line that every statement is citable, with the worked example on the home page showing an annotation to article 336c of the Code of Obligations footnoted back to its authorities. The user also selects which source types the research draws on, choosing between court rulings, commentary or internal data, which is a described retrieval control rather than an opaque one. One practice deserves specific credit and is rare in this corpus: the commentary the vendor generates is expressly labelled as AI-drafted, so a lawyer can tell machine-written analysis from published doctrine. What is absent is measurement. No accuracy figure, evaluation, benchmark or test set appears anywhere. Clause 6 of the terms goes the other way and disclaims it directly, stating that the provider accepts no liability for the accuracy or legal usability of generated content, which is candour about the limitation rather than evidence about the rate. Verified 2 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on Autonomy and Oversight ModelA written commitment that the models work alongside a supervising lawyer, with real review surfaces, short of the full control structure: commonly the threshold at which the system stops or what happens after it is wrong.

Autonomy and Oversight Model

What the system decides on its own, what a lawyer must approve, and whether the vendor documents where the review point sits. A tool that drafts under review and a tool that files without one are different products and different risks.

The review obligation is contractual and the agent layer is user-triggered. Clause 6 of the terms states that the user remains responsible for reviewing, adapting and using all content, which places the checkpoint on the lawyer in the operative document rather than in marketing. The product framing is consistent with it, describing AI-assisted suggestions at clause 2 and, on the product page, a system that analyses documents, laws and judgments, structures arguments and highlights relevant content. Agents are described as built from a firm's own playbooks and review steps and run on demand, so they execute when a person starts them rather than autonomously, and the worked example sets out its four steps openly. What is not published is the boundary. Nothing states what an agent completes without a human once started, what happens when a step fails or returns nothing, or what threshold separates a suggestion from an action. The firm authors the workflow, so the operating envelope is customer-set and undescribed. Verified 2 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on Operational and Outcome EvidenceReal deployment evidence with substance, short of full attribution or measurement: a named customer without figures, or figures without the named customer.

Operational and Outcome Evidence

Named, dated evidence that the product works in production at real firms or legal departments. Case studies with figures and identified customers count. Unattributed testimonials and launch announcements do not.

Ten customers are named by logo across private practice, insurance, corporates and the state: the Swiss Confederation, Bayer, the legal-protection insurer Dextra, the pension fund Asga, the disability charity Pro Infirmis, and the firms SwissLegal, Ruoss Voegele, Neuwerk, Domenig and Seeger Frick. Two carry dedicated case pages with named individuals speaking on video, Florian Probala, Chief Claims Officer at Dextra, and Dr. iur. Marco S. Marty, Founding Partner at MV Legal Partners. A named public authority among the references is worth noting on its own, because a federal administration adopting an AI research tool is a procurement signal a buyer can weigh. One figure is published, that over 6,000 lawyers use the platform, described as the most-used AI workspace in Swiss law. What holds this below A is measurement: the 6,000 figure is an adoption count rather than an outcome, no figure is attached to any named customer on the pages read, and nothing is dated. The two case pages were not opened this pass. Verified 2 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on Privilege and Confidentiality PostureSubstantive published commitments on confidentiality and training use, short of the full picture: commonly silence on segregation between users or matters, or on what the underlying model provider may retain.

Privilege and Confidentiality Posture

How client confidences are handled: attorney client privilege and work product treatment, segregation of one client matter from another, whether client data trains any model, and what the vendor commits to in writing rather than in marketing.

The privilege limb is met squarely, which most records in this pull fail, and the training limb is not addressed at all. Omnilex engages the professional-secrecy question in its own legal system's terms rather than gesturing at confidentiality: the home page states that models are processed on Swiss infrastructure so that attorney-client privilege stays intact, that the platform was built for professional secrecy from day one, and that the licence agreement with its data processing agreement is drafted to respect professional secrecy and auxiliary-person liability. That last concept is the Swiss doctrine governing a lawyer's responsibility for the third parties they engage, and naming it is a substantive engagement with the buyer's own obligations. Retention and deletion are addressed at clause 7 of the terms, with data deleted after the contract ends subject to statutory retention. The position on model providers is partly answered by keeping processing on Swiss infrastructure. Two limbs fail. Nothing published describes segregation between customers, users or matters, despite the product organising work into named projects and mandates. And nothing located addresses whether customer content is used for training, in either direction, as set out on that signal. Verified 2 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on UPL and Professional Responsibility PostureA real position is published on advice versus tooling, short of full treatment: commonly a disclaimer without the supervision and competence dimension, or silence on jurisdiction limits.

UPL and Professional Responsibility Posture

Whether the vendor is clear that it supplies a tool rather than legal advice, who its audience is, and how it addresses unauthorized practice of law, competence and supervision duties, and jurisdiction limits. ABA Formal Opinion 512 is the reference point.

A real position on tooling versus advice is published in the operative terms rather than a footer. Clause 2 characterises the service as software that supports users in working on legal questions with AI-assisted suggestions, which frames output as input to a lawyer's work. Clause 6 states that the provider accepts no liability for the accuracy or legal usability of generated content and that the user remains responsible for reviewing, adapting and using all content, which is the supervision dimension stated as an obligation. Coverage is bounded in practice, since the product, the corpus and the commentary are Swiss law throughout and the terms are governed by Swiss law with jurisdiction in Zurich. The professional frame is engaged more directly than usual through the references to professional secrecy and auxiliary-person liability. Two things are missing. No express statement that output is not legal advice, and no statement about the professional relationship, appears anywhere on the surfaces read. And no bar or professional body guidance is named, with neither the BGFA nor Swiss Bar Association material referenced, which is recorded on the bar guidance signal. Verified 2 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
CC on AI Governance and Bias DisclosureResponsible AI principles are published without a mechanism, a testing regime, or anything a buyer could audit.

AI Governance and Bias Disclosure

Published governance over model behaviour: who owns it inside the vendor, what is tested before release, and what is disclosed about disparate output across matter types, parties, or populations.

A governance surface exists and its contents could not be read. The SafeBase trust centre carries a dedicated AI section listing AI Security, AI Governance and AI Monitoring as published items, which is more structure than most records in this corpus offer and is evidence that a position exists rather than that none does. The item pages themselves are driven by query parameters that did not render, so what those headings contain is unestablished, and this grade rests on the existence of the surface rather than on any substance credited from it. Around it sit an ISO/IEC 27001:2022 certification audited across the whole organisation, a dated penetration test report, and an ESG section covering anti-bribery, anti-competitive practices and modern slavery, all of which are adjacent subjects this axis treats separately. What was located nowhere, on any surface, is anything about bias or uneven output: no statement addresses whether the system performs differently across cantons, languages, court levels or party types, which matters for a product whose corpus spans a federal system with three official languages. Verified 2 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on AI Safety and Data StewardshipSubstantive published policy covering most of the ground, short of the full set: commonly no named subprocessor list or no stated incident practice.

AI Safety and Data Stewardship

Retention, deletion, access control, and what happens to prompts and documents after they are processed. Whether the vendor states its subprocessors and its incident practice, or leaves the buyer to assume.

Substantive across most of the ground, short of specificity on two elements. Access control is the strongest part and is stated as the default set legal teams expect: SAML single sign-on, audit logs, IP allow-listing and data lifecycle management, with the trust centre adding credential management, brute-force protection and account hardening, endpoint detection and response and disk encryption. Encryption is stated at rest and in transit. Subprocessors are named, with the trust centre legal section identifying Amazon Web Services and Microsoft Azure. Incident practice is stated, with a dedicated response team and an incident response item in the trust centre, and backups, business continuity and disaster recovery and anti-DDoS all appear as published items. What keeps this off the top band is that two of the five elements are stated without being specific enough to hold the vendor to. Retention is given only as data deleted after the end of the contract unless statutory retention applies, with no period for anything during the term. And the incident commitment carries no notification deadline to the customer, the trust centre saying instead that more detail is available on request. The named subprocessors are also infrastructure only, which is examined on the model supply chain axis. Verified 2 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on AI Liability and RecourseA real published position on liability, short of the full picture: commonly a stated indemnity without scope or caps.

AI Liability and Recourse

What the vendor stands behind contractually when its output is wrong. Indemnities, caps, carve outs, insurance, and whether any of it is published or only reachable through a negotiated agreement.

A real position is published and it is short of the full picture. Clause 6 of the terms sets out the allocation in four sentences: use is at the user's own risk; the provider accepts no liability for the accuracy or legal usability of generated content; the user remains responsible for reviewing, adapting and using all content; and the provider's liability is limited to gross negligence and intent. That last limb is more informative than it looks, because it is the maximum exclusion Swiss law permits, so a reader knows precisely where they stand, with nothing recoverable for ordinary negligence and no monetary cap at all on the residual liability for gross negligence and intent. Cyber insurance is separately published as a document in the trust centre, which is one of the four things the top band asks for. What is absent is the rest. No indemnity runs in either direction, no warranty is given on output and clause 6 expressly disclaims it, and no cap figure appears. The availability commitment at clause 5 is weak and honest about it, targeting at least 90 per cent outside maintenance windows and stating it is not guaranteed. One scope limit belongs on the record: clause 9 states that use is based on a separate licence agreement, and that agreement is not published, sitting instead as a template behind the trust centre's access flow, so what a signed customer actually receives is not established. Verified 2 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
CC on Practice Systems Integration DepthIntegrations are listed as logos or marked as coming, with no documentation an implementer could use.

Practice Systems Integration Depth

How deeply the product reaches into the systems legal work already lives in: document management such as iManage and NetDocuments, Word and Outlook, contract lifecycle management, matter management, e-billing, and court filing systems.

Integration is claimed and never specified. The product page states that a firm can connect its document management and legal tools without media breaks and keep its proven workflows, which is a direct claim to integrate with the systems legal work already lives in. Not one of those systems is named. No document management product is identified, no practice management or e-filing tool, no connector list, and no integrations page exists. Enterprise plans are stated to include custom integrations and APIs, but that is a scoping conversation rather than a published capability, and no API or developer documentation was located. What is concrete is authentication rather than workflow: SAML single sign-on across plans and company SSO at enterprise level. A claim to integrate, with the systems unnamed and nothing an implementer could use, is what this band describes. Checked the home page, product page, pricing page, terms, privacy policy and trust centre on 2 September 2026. Verified 2 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on Deployment Model and Data ResidencyDeployment model is stated clearly with partial residency detail, or residency is offered without the processing location being addressed.

Deployment Model and Data Residency

Where the software runs and where the data sits. Multi tenant cloud, single tenant, private deployment, on premises, and whether region of residence is a published option or an enterprise conversation.

Residency is stated with a named city and a named cloud, and the tenancy limb is silent. Omnilex publishes that it is hosted on Microsoft Azure in Zurich, that data is encrypted at rest and in transit and hosted entirely on its Swiss Azure cloud, and that models run on Swiss infrastructure, which is the point on which the privilege claim rests. Processing is separated from hosting and bounded, with the pricing FAQ stating that data is processed in Switzerland and in selected EU countries recognised as adequate by the Swiss Federal Data Protection and Information Commissioner. Naming the supervisory authority rather than asserting adequacy is a good habit. Two things hold this below the top band. No tenancy or isolation model is published anywhere: nothing states whether the platform is multi-tenant, single-tenant or how one firm's data is separated from another's, which is the limb this axis pairs with region. And there is a small tension a buyer should notice between hosting stated as entirely on the Swiss cloud and processing stated as extending to selected EU countries; both are published, neither is reconciled. No on-premises or customer-cloud option is offered. Verified 2 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on Security Certifications and Trust CenterCertification is real and stated, short of accessible evidence: a named standard without scope, date, or a way to obtain the report.

Security Certifications and Trust Center

Independent attestation a buyer can pull without a sales call: SOC 2, ISO 27001, penetration test summaries, a trust center with current reports and named scope rather than a badge image.

A real trust centre exists, it renders, and it is inventoried. The SafeBase portal at trust.omnilex.ai lists ISO/IEC 27001:2022 under compliance, and among its documents a penetration test report dated 5 September 2025, the Omnilex Licence Agreement including a DPA template, technical documentation, cyber insurance, a data security policy and a network diagram, alongside sections for product, data, application and endpoint security, infrastructure and legal. The certification is described on the home page as audited across the whole organisation, which is a scope statement rather than a bare badge, and a document carrying a date is visible without any request. What is not established is the access tier for the documents themselves. The portal offers a public and private split with a get-access flow, and it does not state whether access is granted instantly on an email or an NDA click-through, or only after review, so the lower tier is graded and the reason recorded. No auditor or certification body is named, and no certificate number, issue date or validity period is published. No request was submitted. Verified 2 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on Model Supply Chain DisclosureThe supply chain is partly disclosed: providers named without change notification, or architecture described without the providers.

Model Supply Chain Disclosure

Which models sit underneath, whose they are, where they run, and whether the vendor commits to telling customers when that changes. A legal buyer inherits every dependency it cannot see.

The models are named to the version on the home page, which nothing else in this pull does, and the disclosure stops short of the rest. Five are listed as selectable, GPT-5.6, Claude Opus 5, Mistral Large 3, Kimi K2.6 and Grok 4.6, with the user choosing which answers a given question, and the accompanying claim is that every frontier model is available and processed on Swiss infrastructure so that attorney-client privilege stays intact. Where inference runs is therefore stated at estate level, on Microsoft Azure in Zurich. The trust centre names Amazon Web Services and Microsoft Azure as subprocessors. Two limbs are missing. No model house is identified as a legal entity and none appears in the subprocessor list, so a reader can see that Claude Opus 5 is available without learning which entity contracts for it or what it may retain, and the inference that the models run inside the Swiss cloud estate rather than through the vendors' own APIs is left to be drawn rather than stated. And no commitment to notify customers when the model set changes was located, which matters on a product that markets access to whichever frontier model is current. Verified 2 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
AA on Commercial TransparencyA buyer can learn what this costs without entering a sales process: published rates, the unit being charged, and what implementation adds.

Commercial Transparency

Whether a buyer can learn what this costs without entering a sales process: published rates, the unit being charged, what sits behind an enterprise tier, and what implementation adds.

The strongest commercial disclosure located in this pull. Rates are published with the unit and the term: CHF 2,000 per user billed annually for a single user, CHF 1,600 per user billed annually for teams from two users, and a custom tailored agreement for enterprise from twenty users, all stated excluding VAT, with an annual and monthly toggle so a buyer can compare billing cadences. The unit is explicit and the vendor makes a point of it, stating that the price scales only with the people who use it and that corpus, models, agents and security are in every plan. The limb this axis asks for that almost no vendor answers is answered directly: implementation is not an extra. Onboarding, set-up, training and support are listed as included in every plan without asterisks, and the FAQ states that nothing essential is held back in a higher tier, with Team adding collaboration and know-how integration and Enterprise adding SSO, custom integrations and APIs. A fourteen day free trial of the full product requires no card and no commitment. Usage limits are published too, at up to 1,000 pages and 500MB per document with otherwise unlimited use. The only withheld figure is the enterprise tier, which the page explains is a scoping conversation about integrations and support rather than a different product. Verified 2 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on Firm and Practice CoverageSegment and practice coverage is described with substance, short of the boundaries: what is supported is clear, what is not is left open.

Firm and Practice Coverage

Who the product is actually built for. AmLaw, midlaw, small firm and solo, in house departments, government and courts, and which practice areas are supported rather than merely claimed.

Four buyer segments each have their own page and each is described in terms of the work rather than as a label: law firms handling research, drafting and review across mandates; in-house teams moving from contract review to regulatory questions; public administrations applying federal and cantonal sources; and insurers assessing claims against statute and precedent. Covering government and insurance explicitly is unusual and is borne out by the named references, which include the Swiss Confederation and a legal-protection insurer. Jurisdictional coverage is stated precisely through the corpus itself, with federal and cantonal decisions, statutes, official documents and literature counted by category. What is missing is the boundary. No practice areas are enumerated, and while the worked examples on the home page range across employment, tenancy and accident insurance law, that is illustration rather than a coverage statement. No firm size band is given beyond the seat thresholds in pricing, nothing addresses whether the product serves any jurisdiction other than Switzerland, and nothing states what it does not support. Verified 2 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published

Legal Signals

What each signal means

A signal records what public sources say on the date shown. It is not a grade and it is not a recommendation. Where a signal reads Not addressed, it means the index did not locate the material in public sources on that date, which is a statement about disclosure rather than about the product.

Confidentiality and Privilege

Client Data in Training

Can material a lawyer puts into this product be used to train a model?

Terms silent

No located term or policy addresses the question either way.

Checked the home page, product page, pricing page and its FAQ, the terms and conditions in full, the privacy policy in full and the trust centre index on 2 September 2026. Nothing addresses whether customer content is used to train or improve models, in either direction. The terms are silent: clause 7 covers data protection by reference to the privacy policy and deletion after contract end, and clause 8 reserves rights in the software, content, models and generated data to the provider without touching training. The privacy policy is expressly website-scope, stating that use of the application at app.omnilex.ai is additionally governed by the data protection terms of the licence, in particular the data processing agreement documented in the trust centre. That agreement exists as a licence agreement including a DPA template listed among the trust centre documents, behind an access flow, and it was not requested. Two adjacent statements point toward a protective posture without reaching the question: models are stated to be processed on Swiss infrastructure so that attorney-client privilege stays intact, and the licence is described as drafted to respect professional secrecy and auxiliary-person liability. Neither names training. Under the naming test the honest record is that the question is unaddressed on every public surface.

Source: Operator VerifiedAs of Sep 2, 2026

Prompt and Output Retention

How long does the product keep what a lawyer typed, and can that be set to zero?

Disclosed without a period

Retention is acknowledged in public materials with no stated period.

Retention is acknowledged in the operative terms and no period is attached to it. Clause 7 states the quoted position, which fixes an event rather than a duration: deletion follows the end of the contract, with no stated window for how long after, and with an open carve-out for statutory retention duties. Nothing states how long prompts, chats, generated drafts or uploaded documents persist during the term, and no retention setting is offered to the customer. The trust centre lists a data erasure item and a data lifecycle management control among the defaults, and the home page names data lifecycle management as one of the controls legal teams expect, but neither carries a figure on any surface that could be read. The one specific limit published anywhere concerns size rather than time, with the pricing page capping documents at 1,000 pages and 500MB. The data processing agreement that would normally carry retention detail sits behind the trust centre access flow and was not requested.

Source: Vendor PublishedData is deleted after the end of the contract unless statutory retention duties applyAs of Sep 2, 2026Evidence

Ethical Walls and Matter Segregation

Does retrieval respect the firm’s ethical walls, or can the model read across them?

Not addressed

No located public material addresses walls or matter level segregation.

Checked the home page, product page, pricing page, terms, privacy policy and trust centre index on 2 September 2026. Nothing describes segregation between customers, between users inside a firm, or between matters. The product is visibly organised around matters, with the interface showing named projects such as a share purchase, a due diligence, a litigation matter and an estate, and the pricing page adds team and project collaboration at the Team tier and know-how integration, so the structure for separation plainly exists. What is absent is any statement that it functions as a boundary: nothing says whether one user in a firm can reach another's project, whether ethical walls can be configured, or how tenants are isolated from one another. Access controls are published at the account layer instead, with SAML single sign-on, audit logs and IP allow-listing. The gap sits awkwardly against the vendor's own professional-secrecy framing, since conflicts walls are part of what Swiss professional secrecy requires of a firm.

Source: Operator VerifiedAs of Sep 2, 2026

Third Party Request and Subpoena Notice

If someone subpoenas the vendor for a firm’s data, does the firm hear about it first?

Not addressed

No located term or policy addresses third party requests for customer data.

Checked the terms and conditions in full, the privacy policy in full, the home page, product page, pricing page and trust centre index on 2 September 2026. Nothing addresses disclosure to authorities or in response to legal process, and nothing addresses notice to the customer if a demand arrives. The terms have no confidentiality article at all and no required-disclosure clause. The privacy policy lists legal obligations as a processing basis but is expressly scoped to the website rather than the application, and its recipients are website service providers. The question is therefore not reached rather than answered adversely. Two things are recorded so a later grader can weigh the gap: the licence agreement including a DPA template is listed among the trust centre documents behind an access flow and was not requested, and it is the document where a compelled-disclosure clause would sit; and the vendor's professional-secrecy framing makes the silence more conspicuous, since a demand for a lawyer's file is precisely the scenario auxiliary-person liability contemplates.

Source: Operator VerifiedAs of Sep 2, 2026
Accuracy and Authority

Primary Law Corpus Provenance

Where does the law in this product come from, and does the vendor have the right to use it?

Sources named, basis unstated

Sources are identified without stating the licence or rights basis.

The corpus is identified by category and counted to the unit, which is more precise than any other record in this pull: 797,321 court decisions, 222,525 commentaries, 22,181 laws and articles, 13,162 official documents and 2,352 pieces of literature, totalling 1,057,541 sources, described as federal and cantonal decisions, statutes, official documents and literature refreshed continuously. Cadence is therefore described and the composition is transparent. One category carries its own provenance disclosure and deserves credit: the Omnilex Commentary is the vendor's own, written article by article, and it is labelled as AI-drafted and cited back to statute and case law rather than presented as published doctrine. What is not stated anywhere is the rights basis. No publisher, database or data supplier is named for any category, and no licence, agreement or permission is described. That gap matters most for the 2,352 pieces of literature and for whatever underlies the commentary category, since Swiss legal literature is commercially published and is not, unlike federal and cantonal case law, free to redistribute by default.

Source: Vendor PublishedAs of Sep 2, 2026

Good Law Verification

Does the product tell you when the authority it just cited has been overruled?

Not addressed

No located public material addresses whether authority is checked for subsequent history.

Checked the home page, product page, pricing page, terms and trust centre index on 2 September 2026. No public material addresses whether a decision returned by the product is still good law. Nothing describes treatment flags, subsequent history, or whether a judgment has been confirmed, distinguished or departed from. The nearest claims concern the freshness of the collection rather than the standing of any individual authority: sources are described as refreshed continuously, and the product page offers to keep a user informed about the latest changes in legislation and jurisprudence at federal, state and cantonal levels. Those speak to what has been added, not to what has been overtaken. The question bites here because the product retrieves case law and its own commentary as the basis for cited answers, and because Swiss practice depends heavily on whether the Federal Supreme Court has since moved.

Source: Operator VerifiedAs of Sep 2, 2026

Refusal and Uncertainty Behaviour

What does the product do when the answer is not in the corpus?

Not addressed

No located public material addresses what the product does when it cannot ground an answer.

Checked the home page, product page, pricing page, terms and trust centre index on 2 September 2026. Nothing describes what the platform does when it cannot ground an answer, and no confidence, relevance or grounding indicator is described as shown to the user. The published answer to the same underlying risk is verification by the reader rather than abstention by the system: every claim is stated to be cited, the commentary carries the line that every statement is citable, and clause 6 of the terms places responsibility for reviewing and adapting all content on the user. The user can also restrict which source types are consulted, which shapes retrieval rather than describing behaviour when retrieval comes back thin.

Source: Operator VerifiedAs of Sep 2, 2026

Fabricated Citation Record

Does a public court record exist involving output from this product?

None located

No court order, opinion or disciplinary record naming this product has been located as of the date shown. This is a statement about the public record, not a finding about the product.

Searched the AI Hallucination Cases database maintained by Damien Charlotin, and reporting drawing on it, on 2 September 2026 on the product and corporate name Omnilex and Omnilex AG. No court order, opinion or disciplinary record naming the product was located. This is a statement about the public record rather than a finding about the product. One structural caveat bounds it: the database is heavily weighted to United States filings, its European coverage is thinner, and Switzerland does not feature among the jurisdictions commonly reported in it, so a Swiss product is less likely to surface even where an incident occurred. Swiss judgments are also published in three languages, which further limits how reliably an English-language search reaches them.

Source: Operator VerifiedAs of Sep 2, 2026Evidence
Professional Responsibility

Bar Guidance Alignment

Has the vendor engaged in public with the ethics opinions its buyers are bound by?

Generic reference

Public materials refer to professional responsibility in general terms without naming guidance.

Professional obligations are referred to directly but no authority or instrument is named. Omnilex states that the platform was built for professional secrecy from day one, that models are processed on Swiss infrastructure so attorney-client privilege stays intact, and that its licence agreement and data processing agreement are drafted to respect professional secrecy and auxiliary-person liability. Naming auxiliary-person liability is a substantive reference to the doctrine governing a Swiss lawyer's responsibility for third parties they engage, and it is more than most records in this corpus offer. What is missing is the source. No instrument is cited, with neither the Federal Act on the Free Movement of Lawyers nor the criminal provision on professional secrecy named, and no guidance from the Swiss Bar Association or any cantonal bar is referenced. Nothing addresses what a lawyer must do to satisfy those duties when using the product, as opposed to what the vendor has done to make it possible.

Source: Vendor PublishedAs of Sep 2, 2026

Billing and Fee Posture

Does the vendor address what happens to the bill when the work takes an hour instead of six?

Not addressed

No located public material addresses billing, fee or disclosure treatment.

Checked the home page, product page, pricing page and FAQ, terms and trust centre index on 2 September 2026. Nothing addresses how AI-assisted work is recorded, billed or disclosed to a client, and no per matter record of AI-assisted work was located. Unusually for this corpus, no quantified savings claim appears on any first-party surface either: the vendor's language is about being faster, more precise and dependable, and about winning the matter rather than the admin, without publishing a time or cost figure, so the weakest value is not made out. A third-party report attributes a 93 per cent research time saving to user reports; that is an excluded source and is not recorded. The raw material for a per matter record does exist in the product, which organises work into named mandates and carries audit logs, but nothing describes either as reportable against a bill.

Source: Operator VerifiedAs of Sep 2, 2026

Outside Counsel Guideline Readiness

Can a firm get this vendor through a client’s AI clause without a bespoke negotiation?

Subprocessors listed

A current subprocessor or model provider list is published.

A subprocessor list is published and reachable without an agreement: the trust centre legal section identifies Amazon Web Services and Microsoft Azure, and the same portal carries a data processing agreement item, a cyber insurance item and a licence agreement including a DPA template. The pricing FAQ confirms that a data processing agreement is part of every licence. That is enough for a firm to begin answering a client, which is why the bottom value is false here. It stops short of the top value on the limb this signal treats as decisive. The two named subprocessors are infrastructure, and infrastructure alone does not answer whose model saw the content: five frontier models are named on the home page as selectable, and not one of their providers appears in the list or anywhere else as a contracting entity. The forwardable material is also gated rather than published, with the licence and DPA sitting behind the trust centre access flow, so what a firm can hand to a client without asking is the subprocessor naming and the certification rather than the documents themselves.

Source: Vendor PublishedAs of Sep 2, 2026

Court Disclosure Support

If a judge’s standing order requires an AI disclosure, can the product produce one?

Not addressed

No located public material addresses court disclosure or verification certification.

Checked the home page, product page, pricing page, terms and trust centre index on 2 September 2026. Nothing addresses disclosure of AI use to a court or authority, and no exportable per document record of model used, sources retrieved and human verification is described. The product does leave a usable trail for the lawyer's own purposes, since every claim is cited and ready for the file, the commentary is labelled as AI-drafted, and audit logging is published as a standard control, but none of these is presented as a record of model use and none captures which of the five selectable models produced a given passage. That last point is the sharpest version of the gap on this record: a platform that lets a user choose between five frontier models, and that labels its own commentary as machine-written, is closer than most to being able to emit exactly this record, and does not say that it does.

Source: Operator VerifiedAs of Sep 2, 2026
Contact

Correct a record, or ask how something was graded

Every grade and every signal on this index is drawn from public sources and dated. If a record is wrong, out of date, or missing an artifact the index did not locate, send the source and it will be reviewed and the record redated. Vendors are welcome to submit documentation. Nothing on this index is for sale, including a listing, a placement, or a grade.

AI Legal Index

The AI Legal Index is an independent index that tracks changes to AI vendors in legal. It holds 61 vendors across 9 categories, each graded on the same 15 capability axes and recorded against 12 legal signals, from public sources. No vendor pays for inclusion, placement, or rating.

Index Status
Last index update
September 2, 2026
The AI Legal Index is an editorial reference. It is not a regulatory body, not a law firm, and nothing published here is legal advice or a recommendation to retain or avoid a vendor. Records are verified against published sources, bar guidance and public court records. Where a record reads not addressed, the material was not located in public sources on the date shown. See the Methodology page for evaluation standards and limitations.
© 2026 AI Legal Index
3801 N Capital of Texas Hwy, Ste E240 · Austin, TX 78746