R
Rocket Lawyer

Rocket Lawyer is an online legal platform for individuals and small businesses. It sells document creation, RocketSign e-signature, business formation and filings, and Rocket Copilot, a conversational AI assistant that answers legal questions, drafts documents and reviews uploaded contracts, alongside access to attorneys. Rocket Lawyer Incorporated, a Delaware corporation based in San Francisco, states that it is not a law firm.

Legal advice and representation are provided under separate agreements by its wholly owned subsidiary Rocket Legal Professional Services, Inc., an Arizona Alternative Business Structure law firm authorised by the Arizona Supreme Court in September 2024, and by independent External Pro attorneys. Rocket Copilot was built with Google Cloud's Vertex AI and Dialogflow, according to the company's 2023 launch release. The platform is sold through a free account, per-item purchases and Rocket Legal memberships, with group legal benefits for employers. This record grades the software and Rocket Copilot, not the legal services.

Vendor siteSan Francisco, CA, United StatesFounded 2008
Last verifiedSeptember 18, 2026
Compare with other vendors

Capability grades

All 15 axes, graded from public sources on the date shown. Hover a grade to see what the letter means on that axis.

BB on AI CentralityThe models are the engine of a core capability, layered on a product that would still function without them as a document or workflow system.

AI Centrality

How much of the product is actually AI. Whether the machine learning is the mechanism the buyer is paying for or a feature layered onto conventional software, and whether the vendor is specific about which is which.

The models drive a core capability layered on a platform that works without them, which is the B band. Rocket Copilot answers legal questions, drafts documents and reviews uploaded contracts, and the vendor now describes it as the front door to the platform; underneath sit the document library and builder, RocketSign e-signature, business filings, registered agent service and attorney access, all of which function without the models. Verified 18 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
CC on Citation Accuracy and Hallucination DisclosureAccuracy is asserted without measurement, or grounding is claimed while output cites sources the reader cannot open and verify.

Citation Accuracy and Hallucination Disclosure

Whether the vendor publishes measured accuracy on citations and assertions, grounds output to primary sources, and says plainly what its system does when it does not know. Legal has a documented public record of fabricated citations reaching filed briefs, so an untested claim of accuracy is not evidence.

Grounding is claimed without sources the reader can open or any measurement, which is the C band. The September 2026 Copilot article says Copilot is grounded in legal information created and curated by in-house attorneys, tailored to the user's region and updated regularly. Nothing says that answers link to the statutes, cases or articles behind them, and no accuracy figure or test is published. The Copilot Terms say it is experimental, may give inaccurate information, and that the user is responsible for confirming accuracy. Verified 18 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on Autonomy and Oversight ModelA written commitment that the models work alongside a supervising lawyer, with real review surfaces, short of the full control structure: commonly the threshold at which the system stops or what happens after it is wrong.

Autonomy and Oversight Model

What the system decides on its own, what a lawyer must approve, and whether the vendor documents where the review point sits. A tool that drafts under review and a tool that files without one are different products and different risks.

A written commitment to route matters to an attorney, with a described handoff, short of a published threshold, which is the B band. The Copilot article says the AI identifies the boundary between legal information and advice, alerts the user when human expertise is needed and connects them to an attorney from the same conversation, carrying the context across; the Copilot Terms say it is not qualified to give legal advice and recommend discussing the situation with a Legal Pro before acting.

R124(2) was applied: the handoff is described, but no threshold or rule for when it fires is published, and no lawyer reviews Copilot output by default, so the user is the only check unless they choose an attorney. Verified 18 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on Operational and Outcome EvidenceReal deployment evidence with substance, short of full attribution or measurement: a named customer without figures, or figures without the named customer.

Operational and Outcome Evidence

Named, dated evidence that the product works in production at real firms or legal departments. Case studies with figures and identified customers count. Unattributed testimonials and launch announcements do not.

Named customers without figures, which is the B band (R122). The US customer stories page names founders and businesses such as Chosen Collective Consulting, Scary Plants Media, Southern Dwellings and Designs and MVP360 Management, one of them using Copilot for contracts, and the UK site lists more than thirty named customer stories. None gives figures for what changed, and the UK programme offers a free membership in return for a story. The claim of more than 20 million businesses and individuals helped has no stated basis. Verified 18 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
CC on Privilege and Confidentiality PostureConfidentiality is asserted in general terms, or the commitment lives only in a sales conversation and cannot be read in advance.

Privilege and Confidentiality Posture

How client confidences are handled: attorney client privilege and work product treatment, segregation of one client matter from another, whether client data trains any model, and what the vendor commits to in writing rather than in marketing.

Confidentiality is asserted in general terms and privilege is plainly disclaimed, which is the C band. The General Terms and Copilot Terms say communications with Rocket Lawyer and with Copilot are not privileged; the Copilot Terms let the vendor use inputs and outputs to develop and improve Copilot and own de-identified metadata derived from them; and the privacy policy says Rocket Lawyer can access attorney communications made through the platform for quality assurance and relies on industry-standard security.

Nothing addresses segregation between users, or what the model provider may retain. Candour about privilege is recorded; it is not a confidentiality commitment. Verified 18 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
AA on UPL and Professional Responsibility PostureThe vendor states plainly what the product is and is not, who may use it, and how it supports a lawyer’s competence and supervision duties. Jurisdiction limits are named and any consumer facing surface carries a clear disclosure.

UPL and Professional Responsibility Posture

Whether the vendor is clear that it supplies a tool rather than legal advice, who its audience is, and how it addresses unauthorized practice of law, competence and supervision duties, and jurisdiction limits. ABA Formal Opinion 512 is the reference point.

The vendor states plainly what the product is and is not, who may use it and how legal work is supervised, with jurisdiction limits and a disclosure on every page, which is the A band. The General Terms say Rocket Lawyer provides legal information and self-help, is not a law firm or lawyer referral service, does not apply law to the user's facts, and creates no attorney-client relationship unless the user signs a separate agreement with RLPS, its Arizona Alternative Business Structure law firm, whose required disclosure that it is owned or managed by nonlawyers is reproduced.

The Copilot Terms say Copilot is not qualified to give legal advice. Users must be adults; attorneys are offered only where authorised; matters under non-US law are excluded; contract attorneys work as counsel supervised by RLPS and External Pros carry their own malpractice insurance. The footer of every page repeats the position. Flagged for sampling. Verified 18 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
CC on AI Governance and Bias DisclosureResponsible AI principles are published without a mechanism, a testing regime, or anything a buyer could audit.

AI Governance and Bias Disclosure

Published governance over model behaviour: who owns it inside the vendor, what is tested before release, and what is disclosed about disparate output across matter types, parties, or populations.

Responsible-use statements without a governance mechanism for the AI, which is the C band. The editorial policy commits to using AI responsibly and transparently and says AI-assisted content is always reviewed by editors and legal professionals before publication, and a Vice President of AI is named as leading AI strategy and product development. That process governs published articles, not Copilot; nothing describes how Copilot or its agents are tested before release, who is accountable for their behaviour, or how they perform across users, states or legal topics. Verified 18 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on AI Safety and Data StewardshipSubstantive published policy covering most of the ground, short of the full set: commonly no named subprocessor list or no stated incident practice.

AI Safety and Data Stewardship

Retention, deletion, access control, and what happens to prompts and documents after they are processed. Whether the vendor states its subprocessors and its incident practice, or leaves the buyer to assume.

Published policy covering most of the ground, short of a subprocessor list and an incident practice, which is the B band. The privacy policy covers the platform, not just the website: it says what is collected when documents are prepared, that users can delete drafts, completed documents and personal information themselves, that the vendor does not delete customer information except on request but may delete free accounts, and that data is hosted in the United States.

The editorial policy lists encryption at rest and in transit, limited access to personal data, and ongoing monitoring and testing, and the trust centre excerpt lists backup, segmentation, tested continuity plans and penetration testing. No named subprocessor list and no breach notification commitment was located. Verified 18 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
CC on AI Liability and RecourseLiability is addressed only through a standard limitation clause that disclaims the exposure the product creates.

AI Liability and Recourse

What the vendor stands behind contractually when its output is wrong. Indemnities, caps, carve outs, insurance, and whether any of it is published or only reachable through a negotiated agreement.

The AI output is covered only by a disclaimer and a standard cap, which is the C band. The Copilot Terms say Rocket Lawyer disclaims all liability for use of any output generated by Copilot and that Copilot is used at the user's own risk. The General Terms cap aggregate liability at the greater of $500 or the fees paid in the previous 12 months, and offer an enforceability guarantee on legal documents only where the user has not modified them; that guarantee attaches to the document library, not to Copilot's output. Verified 18 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
CC on Practice Systems Integration DepthIntegrations are listed as logos or marked as coming, with no documentation an implementer could use.

Practice Systems Integration Depth

How deeply the product reaches into the systems legal work already lives in: document management such as iManage and NetDocuments, Word and Outlook, contract lifecycle management, matter management, e-billing, and court filing systems.

Integration is referenced without documentation, which is the C band. The privacy policy says Rocket Lawyer licenses an API to business partners who offer its services in their own applications, Developer Terms govern that access, and a separate set of terms covers registered agent service for Stripe Atlas customers. No API documentation, named connector to accounting, storage or productivity tools, or description of what moves between systems was located. Verified 18 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on Deployment Model and Data ResidencyDeployment model is stated clearly with partial residency detail, or residency is offered without the processing location being addressed, or the tenancy model is stated on its own with no residency detail published.

Deployment Model and Data Residency

Where the software runs and where the data sits. Multi tenant cloud, single tenant, private deployment, on premises, and whether region of residence is a published option or an enterprise conversation.

Hosting location is stated without the processing location for the AI, which is the B band. The privacy policy says the service is hosted in the United States and that, where the vendor provides legal advice directly, tools in the United States and the United Kingdom are used; the vendor's 2023 launch release says Copilot runs on Google Cloud's Vertex AI. Where Copilot's processing happens is not stated, and no tenancy or regional option is published (R38). Verified 18 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on Security Certifications and Trust CenterCertification is real and stated, short of accessible evidence: a named standard without scope, date, or a way to obtain the report.

Security Certifications and Trust Center

Independent attestation a buyer can pull without a sales call: SOC 2, ISO 27001, penetration test summaries, a trust center with current reports and named scope rather than a badge image.

Named attestations in a trust centre that could not be read, short of dates or report access, which is the B band. The May 2026 release says Rocket Lawyer holds SOC 2 certification and points to its trust centre; the trust centre's search excerpt lists a SOC 2 Type 2 report, a PCI DSS SAQ-A attestation of compliance, GDPR and CCPA, and a control inventory. The Vanta-hosted page returns metadata only (R128), so no audit period, auditor or access route was read. CaseBlink precedent. Verified 18 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
BB on Model Supply Chain DisclosureThe supply chain is partly disclosed: providers named without change notification, or architecture described without the providers.

Model Supply Chain Disclosure

Which models sit underneath, whose they are, where they run, and whether the vendor commits to telling customers when that changes. A legal buyer inherits every dependency it cannot see.

The provider is named without the models or any change notice, which is the B band. The vendor's December 2023 launch release says Copilot was built with Google Cloud's AI tools, including Vertex AI and Dialogflow, and uses large language models through Vertex AI; the September 2026 product article describes a team of specialised AI agents. No model or version is named in the vendor's own material, and nothing commits to notifying users of changes. A third-party claim that Copilot uses Gemini models is not credited. Verified 18 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
AA on Commercial TransparencyA buyer can learn what this costs without entering a sales process: published rates, the unit being charged, and what implementation adds.

Commercial Transparency

Whether a buyer can learn what this costs without entering a sales process: published rates, the unit being charged, what sits behind an enterprise tier, and what implementation adds.

A buyer can learn the price without a sales process, which is the A band. The vendor's own pages publish Rocket Legal+ at $19.99 a month billed annually at $239.88, with the first business registration free and half-off filings, and the UK site publishes £34.99 a month with a 7-day free trial; a free account gives Copilot contract review, and the General Terms set out trials, auto-renewal, downgrades and a 30-day refund window. Group legal benefits for employers are quoted on request and carry no figure. Verified 18 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
AA on Firm and Practice CoverageWho the product serves is documented precisely: firm segments, in house and government use, and the practice areas actually supported, with the limits stated.

Firm and Practice Coverage

Who the product is actually built for. AmLaw, midlaw, small firm and solo, in house departments, government and courts, and which practice areas are supported rather than merely claimed.

Who the product serves and what it covers are documented with the limits stated, which is the A band. Rocket Lawyer serves individuals, small businesses and employers offering group legal benefits, with document areas for business and contracts, real estate, and family and personal matters, plus business filings, trademarks, tax and immigration support for employers. The General Terms exclude matters under the law of jurisdictions outside the United States, matters involving an alleged violent crime by the user, matters where the user already has counsel, and matters adverse to the vendor or a sponsoring employer, and say attorneys are available only where authorised.

Firm-segment and government limbs do not bite on a consumer product (R15). Flagged for sampling. Verified 18 September 2026.

Source: Vendor Published
Sources on file

4 public documents

The public pages on file for Rocket Lawyer, with the recorded signals each one supports and the date it was last read. Open any of them and check the reading against the record.

Pricing

$19.99 per month, billed annually ($239.88)USD, as published, never converted

  • You can use Rocket Copilot's contract review on a free account.
  • The Rocket Legal+ membership costs $19.99 a month, paid as $239.88 a year.
  • Members get documents, e-signatures, a free first business registration and half-off filings.
  • In the UK, membership is £34.99 a month after a 7-day free trial.
  • Employers buying legal benefits for staff have to ask for a quote.

Membership, per person or business. Free account with Copilot contract review; Rocket Legal+ at $19.99 a month billed annually at $239.88, including the first business registration free (state fees excluded) and half off filings and tax services; UK Rocket Legal at £34.99 a month after a 7-day trial; group legal benefits for employers quoted on request. Sources: Rocket Lawyer membership page and UK pricing page (search excerpts), General Terms of Service (5 June 2025), August 2025 Contract Review release, read 18 September 2026.

Implementation: None for the self-serve plans. State filing fees and USPTO fees are extra; attorney work through RLPS or External Pros is priced separately at member discounts.

Legal Signals

What each signal means

A signal records what public sources say on the date shown. It is not a grade and it is not a recommendation. Where a signal reads Not addressed, it means the index did not locate the material in public sources on that date, which is a statement about disclosure rather than about the product.

Confidentiality and Privilege

Client Data in Training

Can material a lawyer puts into this product be used to train a model?

Terms silent

A published agreement or policy exists and none of it addresses the question either way, or the document that would answer it could not be read and the summary names the retrieval limit. The summary states which shape the silence takes: an improvement right granted that never names training, or no improvement right granted at all.

The published terms grant an improvement right that never names training. The Rocket Copilot Terms (19 November 2024) let Rocket Lawyer use users' inputs and outputs to develop and improve Copilot, and to own de-identified or aggregated metadata derived from them and use it without restriction. The General Terms let it use aggregated or anonymised information from user-created documents to research, develop and improve its services, and non-personal inputs to improve the services. The privacy policy does not mention training. No surface names training in either direction.

Source: Vendor PublishedWe may use Content to provide, maintain, develop, and improve Rocket CopilotAs of Sep 18, 2026Evidence

Prompt and Output Retention

How long does the product keep what a lawyer typed, and can that be set to zero?

Disclosed without a period

Retention is acknowledged in public materials with no stated period.

Retention is acknowledged without a period. The privacy policy says personal information is kept as long as needed for the purposes it describes, that customer information is not deleted except on request, that free accounts may be deleted at any time, and that users can delete drafts, completed documents and personal information themselves. Nothing states how long Copilot conversations and outputs are kept or whether users can delete them.

Source: Vendor PublishedRocket Lawyer will not delete customer information other than upon customer request.As of Sep 18, 2026Evidence

Ethical Walls and Matter Segregation

Does retrieval respect the firm’s ethical walls, or can the model read across them?

Not addressed

No located public material addresses walls or matter level segregation.

Searched the General Terms, Copilot Terms, Privacy Policy, editorial policy and Copilot product article on 18 September 2026. Nothing addresses separation between users' matters or accounts; the privacy policy says the vendor can access attorney communications sent through the platform for quality assurance.

Source: Operator VerifiedAs of Sep 18, 2026

Third Party Request and Subpoena Notice

If someone subpoenas the vendor for a firm’s data, does the firm hear about it first?

Disclosure addressed, notice absent

Published terms or policy address disclosure to authorities or in response to legal process, and no commitment or reservation regarding customer notice is located anywhere. The vendor has told the customer that data can leave and has said nothing about whether the customer hears of it.

Disclosure is addressed and notice is not. The privacy policy says personal information may be disclosed when the vendor believes the law requires it, such as a subpoena, warrant or court order, and the General Terms say documents may be preserved and disclosed to comply with legal process or government requests. No commitment to tell the user first was located.

Source: Vendor Publisheda lawful subpoena, warrant or court orderAs of Sep 18, 2026Evidence
Accuracy and Authority

Primary Law Corpus Provenance

Where does the law in this product come from, and does the vendor have the right to use it?

Sources named, basis unstated

Sources are identified without stating the licence or rights basis.

The source is identified as the vendor's own curated content, with no primary law sources or rights basis named. The Copilot article says Copilot is grounded in more than 15 years of legal information created, curated and reviewed by in-house attorneys, tailored to the user's region, with knowledge bases updated regularly; the document templates are the vendor's own copyright under the General Terms. Which statutes, cases or other primary sources sit behind that content, and how often it is updated, are not stated.

Source: Vendor PublishedAs of Sep 18, 2026Evidence

Good Law Verification

Does the product tell you when the authority it just cited has been overruled?

Not addressed

No located public material addresses whether authority is checked for subsequent history.

Searched the Copilot Terms, the Copilot product article, the editorial policy and the General Terms on 18 September 2026. No check of whether cited authority remains good law is described; the editorial policy says articles are reviewed and updated for legal changes, which concerns published content rather than Copilot's answers.

Source: Operator VerifiedAs of Sep 18, 2026

Refusal and Uncertainty Behaviour

What does the product do when the answer is not in the corpus?

Documented

The vendor describes refusal or abstention behaviour in public materials.

A stop-and-route behaviour is described. The September 2026 Copilot article says Copilot identifies the boundary between legal information and advice, recognises when a situation needs personalised advice, alerts the user and offers to connect them with a qualified attorney. This is a handoff at the advice line rather than a stated behaviour for questions it cannot ground, and no confidence signal is shown to users.

Source: Vendor Publishedproactively alerting you when human expertise is neededAs of Sep 18, 2026Evidence

Fabricated Citation Record

Does a public court record exist addressing fabricated or hallucinated legal citations in output from this product?

None located

No court order, opinion or disciplinary record addressing fabricated or hallucinated legal citations produced by this product has been located as of the date shown. This is a statement about the public record on that one subject, not a finding about the product, and this signal is not a litigation history.

Searched web and trade press reporting on court sanctions for AI-fabricated citations on 18 September 2026 for any court record addressing fabricated or hallucinated content in output from Rocket Copilot. None located. This signal does not record litigation history of any other kind.

Source: Bar Guidance or Court RecordAs of Sep 18, 2026
Professional Responsibility

Bar Guidance Alignment

Has the vendor engaged in public with the ethics opinions its buyers are bound by?

Generic reference

Public materials refer to professional responsibility in general terms without naming guidance.

Professional responsibility is addressed through a regulatory licence rather than named guidance. The General Terms and site footer reproduce the Arizona Supreme Court's authorisation of RLPS as an Alternative Business Structure and its required nonlawyer-ownership disclosure, and carry an attorney advertising disclaimer. No ethics opinion, court AI order or bar guidance on AI is named on the surfaces read.

Source: Vendor PublishedAs of Sep 18, 2026Evidence

Billing and Fee Posture

Does the vendor address what happens to the bill when the work takes an hour instead of six?

Outside the fee relationship

The product does not touch a fee between a lawyer and a client. It operates before an engagement exists, or it is bought by a team that bills no client for the work. Savings claims aimed at the buyer’s own cost are recorded in the summary and do not make the row a savings claim, because no client bill is in the loop.

The product sits outside a lawyer-client fee relationship. Individuals and small businesses buy the software and Copilot for their own matters and represent themselves unless they separately engage an attorney; fees for RLPS legal work are set in a separate RLPS Services Agreement and Order and are not the product graded. Savings claims are aimed at the buyer's own legal costs.

Source: Vendor PublishedAs of Sep 18, 2026Evidence

Outside Counsel Guideline Readiness

Can a firm get this vendor through a client’s AI clause without a bespoke negotiation?

Not addressed

No located public material supports a client side disclosure obligation.

Searched the General Terms, Copilot Terms, Privacy Policy and the trust centre's search excerpt on 18 September 2026. No subprocessor or model provider list, and no statement that one is available on request, was located; the privacy policy refers to vendors and processors in general terms and names Google Analytics. Google Cloud is named as the AI partner in a 2023 release, not in a disclosure list. The trust centre body could not be read (R128), and its excerpt shows no subprocessor section.

Source: Operator VerifiedAs of Sep 18, 2026

Court Disclosure Support

If a judge’s standing order requires an AI disclosure, can the product produce one?

Not addressed

No located public material addresses court disclosure or verification certification.

Searched the General Terms, Copilot Terms and the Copilot product article on 18 September 2026. Users can create documents they may file, such as eviction notices and settlement agreements, but nothing addresses disclosing AI use to a court or records which content Copilot produced.

Source: Operator VerifiedAs of Sep 18, 2026
Contact

Correct a record, or ask how something was graded

Every grade and every signal on this index is drawn from public sources and dated. If a record is wrong, out of date, or missing an artifact the index did not locate, send the source and it will be reviewed and the record redated. Vendors are welcome to submit documentation. Nothing on this index is for sale, including a listing, a placement, or a grade.

AI Legal Index

The AI Legal Index is an independent index that tracks changes to AI vendors in legal. It holds 61 vendors across 9 categories, each graded on the same 15 capability axes and recorded against 12 legal signals, from public sources. No vendor pays for inclusion, placement, or rating.

Index Status
Last index update
September 18, 2026
The AI Legal Index is an editorial reference. It is not a regulatory body, not a law firm, and nothing published here is legal advice or a recommendation to retain or avoid a vendor. Records are verified against published sources, bar guidance and public court records. Where a record reads not addressed, the material was not located in public sources on the date shown. See the Methodology page for evaluation standards and limitations.
© 2026 AI Legal Index
3801 N Capital of Texas Hwy, Ste E240 · Austin, TX 78746